Direct Save Telecom Reviews

  • unhappy

    by James Knight at 12:49 on 20 Jan 2014

    One word ..... Disgusting ..... On all accounts a complete waste of space excuse of a company, no wonder they operate out of a crummy office in a retirement residential village ''Carpenders park' avoid on all accounts it's fortunate that I have experience deal ting with comms companies could have been trapped in a contract, reported to of com , when I challenged their advisor on the poor customer feedback, their reliance was 'well dir have tho read the poor review on bt , Virgin, ,talk talk' AVOID!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Da BozBoz at 17:48 on 29 Oct 2013 | registered | 1 post

    Where do i start with this lot?..............................................
    !!! WARNING !!! AVOID DST !!! AVOID DST!!!
    Having received 5mb/s with my previous ISP for 3 years solid , ( IDNet - excellent provider but not the cheapest) i foolishly decided to try and save a few quid.
    Been with DST for five days only and its been a total nightmare. My speed when good is a 1/16 th of what i had before and when its bad , i get dial up speed at 50 kb/s. Cant watch youtube, takes forever to load a page, its like going back in time ten years. They have had £90 off me already.
    Whenever i phone them its one naff excuse after another from staff who obviously dont give a ......;...
    They have lied to me repeatedly, not only about the service i'm supposed to get but also the reasons i aint receiving it, trying to tell me its due to line faults. They can have the £90, just let me get back to my old provider.
    My friend in London had the same experience with them
    !! AVOID DST........IT WILL END IN TEARS !!!

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 10:38 on 25 Oct 2013 | registered | 10 posts

    re Mair Fear,
    Sorry, do not want to appear rude, but this is user ignorance - you have not lost anything and DST were correct in their advice. You can access your emails and all contacts via bt.com, but you MUST do this at least once every 30 days or BT will close your mail account - see http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/13140/~/[email protected]t-broadband%3F

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Mair Fear at 18:01 on 24 Oct 2013

    I suppose you reap as you sow. I was courted into changing my provider, while my greatest concern was loosing my e-mail address and all contacts that I had. I was assured that this would not happen. I lost incoming call facility and no e-mail availability for 24 hours. (1 hour after the new router was delivered. I have lost all my saved e-mails from my BT account and all my previous contacts from work. I am a retired nurse. I have lost all my saved e-mails that have dealt with a complaint. (Cost of £3,000 ) I had all my contacts regarding the charity organisation I work with and have to organise all of the above by delving through files. OK I wanted to save money. . .but I asked whether anything needed changing and or backing up and was assured it was not a problem. I am not angry as asked in your comment, but I am sincerely disappointed as I really believed that was considered.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by James Turnbull at 19:14 on 26 Sep 2013

    After reading the review i risked it i joined DST and I'm very happy the same speed i was getting with bt but for a fairer price

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by JM at 13:56 on 21 Sep 2013

    I have been with them for 3months, and I have been enjoying internet for only 2weeks.. Now I have requested to cancel my account a week ago, and it's still not done.. " phone calls and 6 chasing emails, and my account is still not closed.. The worst customer service ever.. Telling you that it's cancelled then nothing is done.. Don't trust them, just a bunch a liars.....

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Peter_B at 10:29 on 17 Sep 2013 | registered | 1 post

    Just a post script to my comments below....An envelope from DST dropped through my letter box this morning. They've charged me £19.50 admin fee for leaving them.......When I rang DST to find out why they've made this charge I get a message that their customer services are closed, so presumably they've removed support from me. I don't accept that, and I'm going to persue this admin charge because it's not in their terms and conditions...............still no emails

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Peter_B at 20:52 on 16 Sep 2013

    OK this is a long one, but you REALLY need to read it to get the message on this ISP.....

    September 16th 2013. Just 6 months after the last email outage, (reported below), DST have done it again. I haven't been able to receive emails for 4 days and here's the story: Friday 13th Sep (had to be didn't it), emails dried up. Ah well, lets see what tomorrow brings. Saturday 14th still no emails. Ring DST, spoke to chirpy young man who, for me, was too full of himself. Can't receive emails, I told him. Yes, he said, we've had lots of calls on this one let me see if I can help you sir, you need to change your browser, try Mozilla Firefox. .... I am on Firefox, I tell him. Oh, he says, short pause, then have you tried Internet Explorer he asks...... Yes I tell him, but then I put him out of his misery......Look, I say, I can't get emails from your email server either on Firefox or IE or my tablet or my laptop, or my daughter's computer or on your own DST Web Mail, so this is a DST problem, not my problem, could you please acknowledge that. Silence....Just a moment sir, let me consult a coleague......Hello sir... Yes I'm still here.....actually this is a customer services issue so you'll need to ring them on Monday morning, he says. Does that mean I'll have no emails over the weekend, I ask. Silence. You'll need to ring customer services on Monday morning he says. OK Thanks, I said, goodbye.

    I then rang another ISP and signed up with them for the same phone + broadband package for half the price, and a fixed price at that.

    Sunday - no emails.

    Monday morning. The phone rang....Hello this is DST, we've been contacted by anbother ISP to tranfer your account to them, but we've heard nothing from you.....Why should you have heard anything from me, I said, I've just changed my ISP and I have no obligation to contact you first. Silence.....well could you tell us why you've left DST. Yes, I said, because I haven't had any emails since last Friday and after ringing you, you haven't done anything about it, it's not the first time this hasd happened so I'm changing my ISP. Silence.....well email is a free service, (no sir now), you don't pay for it you know and I've lost my emails for two weeks before now, (yest he really did say that). Well then, I said, your expectations of your ISP are much lower than mine and I hope you're happy with them, but I'm ditching you. He then tried a few more tricks to get me to stay, but I made it clear I was off. The conversation ended at that point.

    Monday afternoon 2pm, phoned DST again. Any forecast on restoration of my emails, I ask. We're working on it sir, was the reply. That's not what I asked, I said, can you tell me when I am likely to get my emails back. Er, well, we're working on cease work today sir....Does that mean I'll have my emails back by 5pm today, I ask......silence.....We're working on 5pm today sir.........It's now 9pm ....still no emails from DST

    Good bye DST..........you're losing the plot, and if there's any justice your customers too, like me

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by MrT at 14:47 on 23 Aug 2013

    I have been with DST for over 6 years. At first they were great. The past 18 months have been terrible. Incorrect charging, service drop-outs, inconsistent advice for customer services. I have requested on-line billing (many times) and they still can't seem to manage that (I still get paper copies!). I have asked for my MAC code twice and am still waiting. Excuse after excuse. The sooner I can leave the better.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Richard at 10:06 on 23 Aug 2013

    Be very wary of this company. I switched my broadband to this provider after years with Easynet.
    I was told I would be on a 1 month rolling contract at £14.95 p.m. They sent me a router which failed and left me down for a week, they sent a second router which also failed so I switched back to my old router. All this cost money for an engineer to sort out connections/network etc. so DST agreed to reduce my monthly charge to £9.95 as compensation. The first months bill showed £14,95 and when questioned about this they now say there was no such agreement and that the 1 month rolling contract is actually a 12 month contract
    Sharp Practice would be the best description for this.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by RobC at 18:33 on 5 Apr 2013

    Let me say that I've been with DST now 6 1/2 years. The service has gone down the pan of late, I suspect that as they are buying broadband bandwidth from other providers that it's the contention ratio that is affecting their service (I think talktalk in my case). Had enough and moved on to a cheaper package with all the same provision (free calls, broadband + line rental). Spoke with customer services today (obviously they panic'd when the new provide told them of the change, customer services were really missing the point of the word "customer" in the discussion I had. Could learn a few pointers in politeness, even with a departing customer. Then again an occasional check up with you customers to see what they think of your service would be good too and if they are having problems with the broadband connection would help. I've sent a few emails complaining of poor connections and loss of broadband in the past + having to reset my router, and never received a reply. For the cost, I'd suggest you compare and look elsewhere, if I was paying peanuts for the service I'd expect monkeys, but £35/m is a fair amount for broadband, over 6 1/2 years.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Peter_B at 11:00 on 13 Mar 2013 | registered | 4 posts

    March 2013. Got up, switched the computer on checked emails, a few came in all OK. Grab a cup of tea, write a couple of emails that need sending......can't send. Error message blah, blah..'Relay Not Permitted'. Oh no please, not DST email problems again, how many days is it going to be this time. Phoned DST spoke to a charming young lady. She didn't know why I should be getting that error message and she'll investigate and call me back. Four hours later no call and still no email send. Call DST again. Spoke to a different charming young lady. Please go to your email account, she said. Did that. What's your SMTP address she asked. The same as its been since I first signed up with you 3 years ago I said, I've never touched it since that very first day and it's smtp.directsave.net. Ah she said, it should be smtp.directsave.org. But I've never altered it since day 1 with you I said, when did it change? Oh it hasn't changed, she said, you've just got the wrong smtp address there. But I have been receiving emails perfectly well up until this morning, apart from the odd 5 day gap inserted by DST that is, so it must have changed I said. No it hasn't she said, and she was getting teasy with me now. OK, I said, I'll change it to .org. Did that and my email send came back. I don't know whether to love 'em or hate 'em !!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Jim Walker at 10:31 on 13 Mar 2013

    I think that the old principle of you get what you pay for, applies here. It is a very similar situation to that where you see on a television programme, passengers of a certain budget airline, demanding the same level of service as they would get far more expensively, from a non budget airline.

    It is a good general rule that usually works, but the exceptions that exist, seem to be mostly among broadband and telephone providers. I was with BT for 41 years, but got utterly fed-up with the frustration trying to get someone with a limited grasp of the English language, to understand and therefore fix, my broadband or telephone problem. So five years ago I switched to Direct Save Telecom.

    The only real problem that I have had since, is that I have to reset the router every couple of weeks or so. It is an easy job to do and is no more than a five minute inconvenience. The few times that I have had cause to ring them, have been stress free and promptly productive.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by HP Pavilion Laptop G6-2279SA C6G57EADavid Parker at 19:22 on 12 Mar 2013

    In February 3013 I had a total line failure involving both voice and broadband lines, which subsequenty proved to be due a BT line fault. Despite contacting DST twice daily on their premium help line from a remote mobile phone ( since there is no mobile reception where I live) it took them 12 days to repair this line fault, although they promised daily that the fault would definitely be rectified the following day. Altogether this cost me over £50 in PAYG mobile phone charges, in respect of which, including having been totally off-line for 12 days, DST offered me a total compensation of £32.
    Subsequently the line worked for 3 weeks than failed again. When I reported this to DST they, once again, claimed that they could not trace any fault in the line. I can, because a section of it is lying on the ground near my house!!

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 19:38 on 13 Feb 2013 | registered | 10 posts

    Hey Craig - DST are not an Internet company, only a providor of third-party phone broadband etc. DST can no more improve your broadband speed than BT/Openreach themselves can - it all depends on your location & number of others using broadband on your section at any given time. Ask them to investigate - I've always found them more than willing to help if you have a problem.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by craig at 18:48 on 13 Feb 2013

    this is this possibly the worst internet company i have ever been with it lags all the time it disconnects all the time people dial up is better then this company

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by David Edwards at 18:39 on 7 Feb 2013

    My brother finally persuaded my 81 year old mother to try broadband, and unfortunately she ended up with this shower. For 6 months she had no sort of service. There were problems that were obviously external to the house, but DST wouldn't get BT to resolve them unless my mother indemnified them. So my mother decided to move to BT, whereupon DST stiffed her with £180 worth of additional charges. Which she gladly paid to never have to deal with them again!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by John Hope at 12:02 on 6 Sep 2012

    Although DST may be cheap, and they seem able at least to take payments without problems, if you have a problem with your phone or broadband, the service is, in my opinion, commensurate with the Third World. There is evidently inadequate communication between different departments within DST, and even worse communication between BT OpenReach and DST. Ten days ago my phone was not working, but the broadband was. An engineer made a temporary fix so that the phone was working but he disconnected the broadband. Ten days later it's still not reconnected, despiute my calling DST twice a day. DST has not been sufficiently proactive about fixing this problem.
    After hours there's nobody around to take your call except some poor receptionist, for whom I feel truly sorry. All calls are routed to her but she's not in a position to be able to do anything about anything.
    In summary, I honestly could not recommend them at all.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Matt at 15:09 on 29 Aug 2012

    No real problems with my home connection at all. Always polite when i need to call and try everything they can to solve any issues. I have more problems using my hotmail account and online banking than i ever have had with Directsave.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Dave at 07:11 on 30 Jul 2012 | registered | 1 post

    Yet another weekend without emails. I have been with DST for four years with no problems but this last few months have been a disaster. I would change provider tomorrow if it wasn't for all my clients knowing my email address. My advice, stay clear of DST they couldn't care less about your days of lost emails and without even an appologie.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 12:56 on 6 Jul 2012 | registered | 10 posts

    To Peter B;

    If this has happened before Peter, you could always solve the problem by using a web-based mail service such as Googles Gmail, Microsofts Hotmail, or BTs Yahoo mail. These rarely "go down" for long periods.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Peter_B at 11:52 on 6 Jul 2012 | registered | 4 posts

    DST email server down again.........told yesterday it would be 24 hours, told this morning it would be 24 hours, I have no doubt whatsoever I will be told tomorrow it will be 24 hours. Last time this happend it was five days, I wonder if DST will break their own record this time

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by citroenv at 20:24 on 18 Apr 2012 | registered | 1 post

    Direct Save Telecom - it was once a good company.
    I signed up with DST 2 years ago for a line at work, and was so impressed that when I built a new house I got them in to do my new line & broadband. However the company has changed from what it was and the line/broadband is now very poor indeed and the customer service is not good at all.
    I have gone from recommending them to people to thinking that they ought to give up and get proper jobs.
    2/10 at best. Less on a bad day.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 22:55 on 30 Jan 2012 | registered | 10 posts

    Re Tom
    Yes, agree with you (see my last post) it all depends on the day! I just like to give praise where it's due, and luckily, I've had no reason in 4 years to complain!
    Best of luck with your new contract!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Tom at 14:57 on 30 Jan 2012

    Re: Peter B's numbers
    You fail to note that 20% of the positives on DST are from the same poster.

    Ian,
    My own experience when I had an outage was not nearly as positive as yours.
    All 9 houses in my road were affected however 8 of them were returned to service reasonably quickly without any trouble from their respective service providers.
    DST however spent days on end being evasive and unhelpful even when I had the direct contact number for the manager responsible I had to constantly chase. I never had proactive contact from them.
    When I cancelled service sometime later it took weeks and multiple emails from me to get anyone to accept that they had erroneously charged for cancellation without notice when in fact notice had been given. They even threatened County Court Summons for non-payment of the spurious invoice.
    I found them unhelpful and unpleasant to deal with in the extreme.
    I'm very pleased for you that you have had no such difficulties, I hope it continues.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 12:13 on 30 Jan 2012 | registered | 10 posts

    re Peter B;
    No doubt a difficult market, but look at all the "top" names - they always come in the bottom sector when it comes to customer satisfaction. I've been with AOL, BT and Virgin and all 3 are diabolical for customer service AND they're expensive!

    I can only speak as I find, and having moved house 3 times in 4 years, can only say that DST have always handled things brilliantly.

    Not long ago I had an outage, so rang DST who answered the phone promptly, investigated, found a fault and informed me that they needed to contact "engineering" (Openreach?) to get the fault in my local exchange fixed. Later on that day, I got a phone call from DST telling me that the problem had been a failure of a piece of equipment that had now been replaced and my service was back to normal - how many other providors would have rung me back? Their staff genuinely do seem to want to provide a good service.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Peter_B at 11:14 on 30 Jan 2012 | registered | 4 posts

    Hmmmm..........total of 60 reviews, 31 good 29 bad, (don't count the angels and devils, read the words. Lots of the bad reviews have angels for some inexplicable reason!!), so only 50% customer satisfaction. Do you want to buy into that?

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian Boothby at 09:46 on 30 Jan 2012 | registered | 10 posts

    I've been with DST for years and always found them quick to answer the phone and swift and efficient at fixing any problems. You never have to wait twenty minutes before being answered by an "idiot-card-reader" in Mumbai! Their confidence is in their rolling monthly contract - no other ISP offers a contract with no tie-in. Their prices are amongst the lowest out there too! What more could you want? They obviously resell other providors packages, but have just upgraded me automatically to another providor because they have installed new equipment in my local LLU exchange. My broadband download speed has now increased by over 20% - brilliant service!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Peter_B at 14:35 on 27 Jan 2012 | registered | 4 posts

    I've been with Direct Save for several years. Initially they were pretty good, but I think they've got complacent recently. They seem to be OK as long as everything is working OK, but if they have server problems, watch out, you could have a long wait.

    They've had several server problems over the years, and you could count their recovery times in days not hours, but this latest one takes the biscuit, and has convinced me that I need to ditch Direct Save and find another ISP.

    This latest problem started 4 days ago when I lost my emails, could'nt send or receive. I phoned them and they said that their mail server was down and they were working on it. To cut a long story short, it's 4 days later and I still can't send or receive emails. I phoned them this morning and their Internet faults desk told me the email server had been fixed and I should have my emails back. It's not fixed, I told them. The faults desk then passed me over to customer services !!!!! The customer services girl told me that the email server was fixed. It's not fixed I told her. She asked me to hang on and she'd check with Internet Faults !!!!! Over 2 minutes later she came back to me and said no, sorry it's not fixed and she didn't know when it would be, is there anything else she could do for me. I resisted the temptation to answer that last question the way I would have liked to answer it.

    So It's bye bye Direct Save telecom, you've lost the plot, and you deserve to lose all your customers too...I definitley would not recommend this ISP to anyone.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Mendez at 14:12 on 19 Nov 2011

    I could be filling this page for a long time...!!! to cut the history short, AVOID THEM!!, Too typically whilst your direct debit keeps rolling out to them "no problemo", but... when you need help with any problem.( & believe you me, you will.) That is something else!!
    Unless you are prepared to wait and do as you been told, that is...

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA