Tesco broadband Reviews

  • neutral

    by rob perrie at 17:37 on 24 Apr 2014

    I have had Tesco broadband for 1 month,in the evening it's impossible to use , during the day sometimes, I have spoke to the tech support team every day,they just fob me off,so I'll review Tesco broadband on every site there is so I hope other people choose someone else, I have never known this bad of customer support,

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ian at 18:31 on 13 Mar 2014

    i took tesco broadband as they where the cheapest out there at first they where shockingly slow after phoning them they sent a bt engineer out in 2 days after this they have been really good they estimated 11mbps im getting 15.54mbps and never had a drop out so i assume most people complaining must just be to arsey when they phone cause mine was sorted in 2 days (just so you know i live 254metres away from exchange)

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Lillybritto at 12:59 on 6 Mar 2014

    Saga of tesco - I have had six engineers - one specialist all from BT/ also independent / the problem is down load speed /fine during the day hard wire test to BTwholesale is about 9mb/from 1600hrs it gets slower throughout the evening/can't watch films to much buffering /total rubbish with customer care and technical help / problem since dec 2013 /still ongoing / I know what it is the throughput / have had lift and shift / new crimp outside / new split box to wall / 3 modems / lines have all been upgraded by BT am 300 yards from box and 400 yards from exchange / have been fobbed off /excuses made and a million apologies but NO fix / will keep you posted as to when it fixed / but am in the eternal triangle TESCO and BTWHOLESALE and me the end user

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Annoyed by Tesco at 16:10 on 2 Mar 2014

    Currently lucky if we receive 1MB, generally 0.8 - cannot download ANYTHING or do anything. Phone line is also awful, crackly and echoing.
    Called and emailed Tesco on numerous occasions, 4 engineers been out and they 'cannot find a problem' - even been told there is no fault by one man!! They want to send another engineer out, but its crazy - although they try to be helpful, nothing works (had a problem for years now). Can't even be bothered to complain any more!
    Think they should just stick to selling baked beans

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Robert at 20:13 on 20 Feb 2014

    Endless throttling (unlimited package). In the last year it's got really bad. I leave my computer for twenty minutes - it's throttled. I work for a couple of hours online - it's throttled. I'm a light user but have to flick the router switch on and off 4 or 5 times a day. Sometimes it only takes five minutes to reconnect. Sometimes it won't reconnect even after I restart my computer. And sometimes I just have to turn everything off and walk away for an hour or two.
    As for their complaints procedure - there's a character limit of about 124 characters if you use their form to email them, you try making a complaint in 124 characters. Clearly don't want to know.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Philip at 21:30 on 31 Oct 2013

    My own story with this bunch of wasters is thankfully short. Unfortunately, I will have to live down the shame of suggesting them in the first place to my partner. We started with them in September and although the phone was fine the broadband lasted a whole 30mins before dropping out completely. Cue long, increasingly desperate calls to first line support, second line support, customer service , and finally the "are you thinking of leaving us" crew interspersed with visits from engineers. Ultimately, I did threaten to leave after two months of this. The guy put me on hold and went away, a few minutes later he told me there was nothing else he could do...I left and am much happier at Plusnet - a proper internet provider

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Ben at 02:08 on 23 Oct 2013

    TESCO BB is the worst provider by a mile. Been with them for 12 mths & just can't wait to leave them once I get time to order another provider. Where should I begin? I took Tesco coz they were the cheapest (£2.50/mth) and for sure now I know why they are soo cheap. My service constantly drops off & reconnects ,at least more than 20 times a day. This makes online gaming a nightmare as I have lost numerous FIFA 13 season games by failed connection. It's got to a point that I no more play online .At first I called them and they reset my router and assured me it will work only to start dropping off again literally an 1hr after the reset. I then called them again and they said they will arrange an engineer visit to my house to which no one ever came , only to receive a message on my mobile saying the eng had done a remote fix and that was the problem resolved. It didn't take me a week for the service to start dropping off again. At this point I had had enough, in work full time and the last thing I want is to get home and constantly call them to fix the same problem yet am a paying customer who has never defaulted on my payments. The last time I called them they said it was the filter which was faulty & they sent me a new pair but this didn't fix the problem .Personally Tesco should stick to supermarkets and leave technically stuff to the experts. To anyone thinking about joining Tesco BB , my best advise is DONT !

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Tim Haskell at 15:36 on 30 Sep 2013 | registered | 2 posts

    Tesco's web host, Synacor, has now been blocked by SpamCop, an increasingly popular spam blocker used by a number of domains. It detects individuals' e-mail from Tesco.net and rejects them, as it sees them as spam. I have reported this to Tesco some days back and still do not have an answer. In the meantime, my mail continues to be rejected by the servers of people that I really need to reach!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by transistorman at 10:31 on 30 Sep 2013

    Tesco is the worst one of all calling me at 23.30pm to tell me my fault is fixed waking the hole family up and to do i find out that when they log telephone calls eg the phone number they also store the numbers u enter on telephone banking showing my telephone pin numbers and account numbers which i was told this is the way they do it how un safe...

    I am sure bt talktalk and sky dont store other info only the telephone number called for billing reasons

    Bewarned

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Anthony at 21:51 on 22 Sep 2013

    Had very little problems with Tesco BB but until recently very slow.
    The only major problem was when my wife was persuaded to change to Talk Talk at a supermarket, they TT uncoupled my BB line without my permission and with me asking them to cancel the transference and without the BB code. We were without BB for a month, the problem being solved by a lady at OFCOM giving me a direct number at TT and a complaint ref no, this seemed to make TT stop their filibustering, and once this was solved Tesco got me back on line.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by moody at 04:15 on 15 Aug 2013

    this wireless is rubbish i reset modem 10 times aday its very annoying and once contract is over am not going back with tesco! its a nitemare!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by frank at 11:24 on 14 Aug 2013 | registered | 4 posts

    I moved to tesco a broadband phone+broadband anytime call package and I have tried a few and these are the worst imaginable, two weeks without a phone, cost me a fortune, it cant be diverted , just line dead, people thought I must be too and were coming round to check, no one on their support can actually do anything to help, totally powerless, mega expensive call charges to those numbers not covered by anytime, my call charges have doubled, agreed discounts have changed, after daily 30min mobile calls to them when the line was out i can fight them no more, dont learn the hard way, but you do get tesco clubcard points, wow.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by PAJ at 17:24 on 27 Jul 2013

    After 18 months of misery and what I suspect is one of the longest complaint records with Tesco BB technical services I thought we'd sorted things and had a quiet few months with few drop outs . Last 2 weeks a nightmare - culminating in their saying I would be sent a new router which would be with me by Weds. Appears they that they 'have been having some problems with the Thomson routers!' Needless to say here we are on Sat without a new router. Rang this morning - apologetic young man says it hasn't been sent because it needs manager to authorise. Will do today and should have it by Weds. My own fault - I have been reluctant to change an e-mail address I have had for more than a decade and I can't take it with me.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Oscar at 19:10 on 25 Jul 2013

    Agree with the other complaints here. Have had no phone line and broadband for 2 weeks. Daily calling to premium no from mobile has resulted in no action. I'm now not expecting any resolution before I leave the service in 2 weeks. Even had a sarcastic customer support person. Luckily they give their name so at least I'll know who to complain about (not that they'll take any notice). During my time with tesco I've had numerous wireless drop outs. I am surprised that tesco aren't more concerned about this because it is damaging their reputation - it's certainly changed my view of them. They obviously don't care about their customers but there also seems to be no line of responsibility. As others have said: AVOID AVOID AVOID.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Paul Wadsworth at 09:57 on 1 Jul 2013

    Ian
    Sorry to hear about the problem that you are having but I can assure you it WILL NOT GET ANY BETTER.
    My advice is to change to Plusnet its flawless and they informed Tesco about the change.
    (Although I did send Tesco them a courtesy email)
    Plusnet sent the same router as Tesco supply but it works fine with them,
    Tesco will send you an older version of the router that you already have and that will drop the line all the time too
    I didn't lose the internet or phone for long while the transfer was made, I was advised to never turn off my router, so i don't.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Ian at 16:14 on 28 Jun 2013 | registered | 1 post

    Been trying for a week to resolve issues with the Tesco Broadband connection I set up for my elderly parents in 2007. Big mistake was to set it up in my fathers name (Ithink we had to as he was the name on the phone line), although the e mail address that came with the account was in my name. Last week had a call from aged mother to say that they had a letter saying the account had not been paid - it is paid on my credit card. Called service centre friday 21st june, after interminable delay finally got to someone who decided that could not speak to me as not the account holder - despite them taking money from my account every month. Asked to speak to supervisor, not possible, but will get a manager to call me back. Still waiting for that call!

    Visited parents on Tuesday 25th - discovered the letter was a notice of service disconnection if bill not paid, and service had been disconnected. Called call centre again, better experience in that still could not discuss with me, but did allow me to pay a chunk of money which would clear arrears andd pay some in advance(the operator was not allowed to tell me how much was owed) but by then I had dug out credit card statements and discovered when they had stopped taking payment. Whilst on the phone my father, who is very ill, was being taken back to bed and was able to get him to say a few words on the phone to operator, and have me added as an alternate person to speak to. Was assured that service would be restored within 48 hours. Still no service yesterday evening - 60 hours after that call. called service centre again, tried turning off and on etc, still no service, would all be sorted by midnight. Today, still no service. just spent 45 minutes holding and speaking to call centre again. Bar still not lifted on line. Operator cannot explain why, but she has escalated it to the provisioning team, who will deal with it on Monday 1st july - its the weekend you know!!!!! Her supervisor not available, and her supervisors supervisor not available, and does not know who is in charge above that, and even if I got to talk to them, they still can only put it in the system to be dealt with on Monday. This from a company advertising a service used 24/7,. and offering a call centre staffed 08.00 - 22.00 7 days a week.

    Not sure how much it is just staff not doing the job properly, or whether the Tesco just do not care about the customer experience. For my elderly, and in the case of my father, very ill, parents the internet is an important lifeline. I appreciate that I should have realised sooner that due to a re-issue of card by the bank I should have updated details, and my mother failed to realise the significance of the letter received initially, but it should not be this difficult to pay for and receive a service. This falls way below the standard I expect of a household name like Tesco

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by liz at 16:29 on 10 Jun 2013

    Am so fed up, tesco have promised me for two weeks a new router am still waiting

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Plate at 12:19 on 8 Jun 2013

    After my previous posts on this god awful broadband service, tesco both texted and emailed me yesterday asking for payment and threatened to suspend my service if I didn't pay. Given I'm with BT now I'm keen to find out how they plan to do this. I replied telling them my payments team will endeavour to contact them within 48 working hours.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by khan at 20:57 on 4 Jun 2013

    Very very very bad worst customer service I have ever dealt with no buddy is able to provide u right information I have ordered my broadband weeks back they said they will come to fix line 24 may 2013 engineer came n tried his best but he said it cant be fixed today n engineer wil come n fix tomorrow and after 5 days engineer came n he said line is ok ur internet provider will do this I been cslling snd cslling but they only know 1 word which is unfortunately they dont know any thing im still waiting n nothing beed done yet now they give another dste 14 june but they csnt feel that im without internet

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by rwindsor at 05:56 on 22 May 2013

    good service so far happy with it only problem is when u sign into ur account when tesco give u password never seems to work

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by mattherw at 20:54 on 25 Apr 2013

    USELESS Tesco bad customer service broadband works then cuts off all usual excuses sent engineer if even said Tesco are useless

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by cath at 18:46 on 24 Apr 2013

    My 70year old mother bought a ipad for her birthday. Got tesco broadband as it seemed like a good deal. It worked for 1 week then went off I am sick to death of phoning them they say they will call back on a certain date or within 24 or 48 hours we have had 2 rooters changed the filters , took the damn box (phone socket) plate off twice . 9 days now with no Internet then tesco tried telling me there was something wrong with the ipad. Told me we need to borrow a p.c to connect to the phone socket as ipads are wireless and its th wireless thats the problem ......doh most people have wireless now welcome to the 21st century u set of useless idios . I am still waiting now for a manager to call me bk if its not sorted by the end of the week im contacting trading standards soooooo mad. My poor mother is very upset by whats happening I thought getting her the internet at home would be a great thimg but its just been nothing but grief .Shame on you TESCO

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by wpaulgp1 at 06:39 on 20 Apr 2013 | registered | 1 post

    Hi All
    I have been on Tesco Broadband for many months now and have had my share of dropped line (losing connection) like most of you.
    I have been through all the (unplug your phone, Remove faceplate while we check your line routine), I had received their wireless router and quickly realized that it was the router causing the problems, I insisted on a different router and was sent the old version of the one that I already had and again same problem?
    I then bought my own Belkin wireless router and requested the manual settings from Tesco broadband customer services by email, It took a bit of setting up and the speed stays at a maximum of 6mb/s but I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS SINCE!!!!!!
    Why do Tesco still supply these crappy Thomson routers if they supplied different ones I am convinced that they would get a lot less grief from unhappy customers.
    My only other concern is that if you email them then it takes 48 hours to reply and this is unacceptable in my opinion.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Mike at 22:16 on 15 Apr 2013

    Been on Tesco 5 days and have had enough it is shocking losing connection 15 times today. Rang them up several times keep giving me the speel about sockets etc. Never had a problem for 3 years with sky yet they try to say my sockets might be faulty. Told them to forget it gone back to sky and got the 6 months free and the latest new router so there's a silver lining.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Well unhappy at 19:33 on 4 Apr 2013

    Please, Please, Please do not go with Tesco, it is absolutely pants. I started or should I say should have started on 12th Feb this year but line went dead two days before and stayed that way for a further 8 days! Constant ringing and no help what so ever. For the last two weeks I have had no broadband and very poor phone line again phone call after phone call and still no one wants to help. All you get is it will take another 48 hours to fix but never does. I have totally had enough now and they can shove their 12 month contract where the sun don't shine! I have just registered with Plusnet. Let Tesco dare contact me and tell me there is a get out payment or penalty and I will glady see them in court, the whole package is not fit for service and they are themselves very much in breach of their own contract. My advice, simply stay away from them and go with someone with an actual history of providing this kind of service.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Paul Cockayne at 19:26 on 29 Mar 2013

    Stay away - Tesco BB is rubbish. Cuts out - reboot equipment constantly - can't wait to be out of contract

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Plate at 18:10 on 11 Mar 2013

    Update on my experience. BT due to go live tomorrow, should never have left them for this awful service. When Tesco ring for payment I'll be informing them that my payments team will contact them within 48 hours etc like they did to me with their technical support. Basicially, I have more chance of winning the euro millions five times on the bounce than Tesco have of getting a penny put of me

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Rhys Tucker at 14:06 on 10 Mar 2013

    Useless standard of service and useless tech support. I have 2 months remaining of my year's contract and I'll be gone.

    Everyone here seems to have the same experience.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by frustration and anger at 21:05 on 6 Mar 2013

    tesco broadband is literally rubbish cuts out all the time and shocking customer service

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by mark at 15:03 on 4 Mar 2013

    Let's face it, it's crap - yes you get what you pay for. I'm having to put up with the line dropping everyday. Particularly the free Thomson TG580 router is poor, the signal from the router is appalling, I can't even sit in the next room without worrying I'm going to lose my connection plus I have to reboot it several times a day, which is annoying when I'm working from home. My advise is spend a little more and get some decent service.

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA