« back to BT Broadband

BT Broadband Reviews

  • unhappy

    by me at 13:42 on 13 Nov 2016 Report abuse

    Guess what? Even though an installation was promised on the 25th October 2016, it did not happen. BT sent plenty of emails informing myself of the up-coming installation, and even that the engineer is on the property. But he wasnt. He was half way to the next appointment, as even though he appeared at the gate at the bottom of the hill, he could not be bothered to get out of his van to check whether the gate really had a padlock on it. I have been through their 'process' at least twice to inform them of the situation, and have also on subsequent calls asked whether I would be charged for a service I am not receiving. I was informed that I would not be charged on both occasions. Yet I have been. Not only that but I have found, from the aforementioned emails, that I have been mis-sold aka lied to about what I needed. They wanted to charge me an extra 130 pounds for installation, but from the emails I see that it is not required. It maybe that the price was reduced to 30 pounds. But all I need is activation, and that according to the front page of their site is free. You really cant not have a rational talk with them over the phone about the situation as they dont want to do that. All they want is to get what they want, at the begining of the call. Once they get that, they dont have to help you - do they?

  • unhappy

    by Violet Downes at 9:44 on 25 Oct 2016 Report abuse

    DONT GO WITH THIS BOTCH JOB COMPANY!!!! I got installed on the Friday with broadband, tv and telephone. The engineer left cables hanging off the wall unsafe and in my front garden all connecting to the top of my house and in the grass connected to nowhere. Plus my telephone line didn't work at all. And the Ariel engineer didn't turn up. And it took me an hour and a half to get any info from them on the phone. I billed £148 for services I don't have including an Ariel engineer. I'm not keeping these services at all. Still waiting for them to come an install an Ariel to get to services.

  • unhappy

    by Iain at 18:21 on 11 Oct 2016 Report abuse

    I have said all I am going to say about BT - just don't go with them EVER!!! Try ZEN; they are reliable and have great customer service. I've been with them for 6 months now (after BT) with absolutely no problem.

  • unhappy

    by me at 13:31 on 11 Oct 2016 Report abuse

    Signed up with this motley crew on Saturday. I have already found their customer service is appalling. Constantly trying one way or another to blag the caller into doing what the hapless call centre employee wants. Just like TalkTalk. But what can you do. I am running out of options. just goes tom show because they are all the same there is no choice.

  • unhappy

    by Sunny at 23:50 on 26 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    Worst ever customer service with a fustrating first line service without an exit loop. Never go with them in my life and strongly advise against using them

    It's been three weeks without Internet and still no resolution. It's has been hours and hours in calls, repeated tests, broken promises, engineers, and inability to get past their first line.

    Avoid BT like a plague. It's got to a stage I just want out at any cost. Attempting to break contract.

  • unhappy

    by Katy at 21:35 on 14 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    Worse company I've ever dealt with

    After 15 years of being with Sky I moved to BT and I have regretted it ever since. Not necessarily the products but they are con artists!!!
    I have been stung twice (stupid me) once was I was being charged wrongly for broadband so I called and then said 'yes I can see you have I can change it now'..... Didn't realise that meant tying myself in for 12 months for nothing.

    And then same happened with BT sports I called and said on the phone there was a problem they said they can sort it- I replied with 'this isn't going to tie me into anything is it, I've been stung before'...... Got a no and then found out today it did!!!

    BT found my call proving this was said by me BUT after the person recited there speel at the end of the call and I said yes to it, I was saying yes to tying myself in...... Couldn't make this stuff up.

    What is disgraceful is I have no option to take this further without huge headache and it's not good enough from such a large company.

    They should be ashamed of themselves!!!

  • unhappy

    by Vicki at 23:28 on 31 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    I am a bt customer at the moment and I tell u worst provider ever signed up when they had £125 prepaid card service went live so applied for card and had to wait 60 days to receive they amended my order without my say so generated a bill day after service went live of £98 no joke didn't put bt sport on spent 16 phone calls managed to do it my self and have tried taking £450 out of my bank in a month and a half for a bill of £8 they are hell customer service is awful they even called me a lier on more than one occasion do not go with them they are trying to charge me 3 months in advance word of warning ⚠ don't even entertain them

  • unhappy

    by Mo at 20:26 on 15 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    Worst customer service ever! my broadband went down, so after spending a lot of time checking the issue, they said that my router is faulty and they will send a new replacement in 7 working days which is completely unacceptable, so I got fed up and i cancelled my account. after a week I called back and after 50 minutes wait I found that they cancelled my order because I cancelled my account. Spoke to the manager and he promised that I m going to receive it in two working days. Of course I have received nothing! called again and they said another two working days and of course nothing. opened a formal complaint and they offered me £10!
    They got the worst customer service, dishonest and dont even care about sorting the issues

  • unhappy

    by Geoff at 21:11 on 11 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    I enjoyed twelve months excellent broadband with BT at the reduced rate of £7.99 when this expired it jumped to £24.99 so I rang to cancel and they agreed to a new rate of £10.99 which I accepted. When it was put through I was told due to a "glitch" on the system it had come out at £13.99 but a new email would follow with the agreed rate. When no email arrived I rang and asked what my rate was, I was told £13.99 so I requested it was cancelled. I was passed from one person to another and kept on hold, I assumed this was so I would give up and just accept it. After 55 yes 55 minutes on the phone I finally received a cancellation number and was told there was thirty days notice and an additional £5.50 charge because I did not have another provider to go to. They rang me the next day to ask which services I wished to retain!!! If I won twelve months free broadband from BT I wouldn't turn up to collect it. Would never deal with them again.

  • unhappy

    by Hall at 17:05 on 26 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    I have wasted too many hours of my life over the last six months fighting with BT, to leave a full detailed review. Just trust me and all the other many unhappy BT customers out there, that this company is best left well alone and I hope it will eventually die the horrible death it deserves! The customer service is the worst I have EVER experienced, the so called fibre optic broadband is slower that my old 'normal' broadband was, and most of the staff I spoke to were impossible to understand at best and mostly dishonest. Don't bother going to the Ombudsman about them either - they clearly work on behalf of BT and are as useless as a chocolate fire guard! Beware of PLUSNET as well; apparently they are part of BT, which explains why I had such bad service from them when I was with them a few years ago! You have been warned!!

  • unhappy

    by Phil Hall at 15:27 on 26 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    My initial experience has been awful. Twice my connection has failed to happen on Infinity 1. The first attempt was accidently canceled by BT. The second attempt they failed to connect me on the date agreed despite me receiving my Hub 5 on time. I have been told that I will have to wait until the middle of Jan 2016 before I can get connected. My wife spent two hours on the phone just to find out why we have no Internet as promised. I am not reassured that BT really was a good choice if this is the sort of terrible service they are going to deliver.

  • unhappy

    by Thomas at 20:17 on 17 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    BT experienced a system issue and rejected my hone line installation delaying by 2 weeks even though they're at fault. Guess I'm not going to be skypeing my family this Christmas, thanks BT!

  • unhappy

    by Jim Kelly at 18:15 on 5 Nov 2015 Report abuse

    BT customer support is shocking. Already this year took 4 months and approx 20 calls or emails to get broadband.
    Now went a week with no internet. Was told fault in exchange then 3days later told need engineer to come. Helpdesk is abroad and are repeatedly given incorrect information from Openreach.

  • unhappy

    by david makin at 7:58 on 23 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    bt are the worst company i have ever dealt with,ihave agreed discounted prices with them on several occassions they do not stick to agreements deny any knowledge of phone calls are IMPOSSIBLE to deal with am presently having a complaint investigated which can take up to 17 days unless you like banging your head against a brick wall DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • unhappy

    by Darren at 19:57 on 21 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    Unreliable, slow and a rubbish tv service which drops frames badly with the poor internet.
    Only recommend IF your are close (

  • unhappy

    by J at 14:10 on 15 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    BT offers the worst service and customer service I have ever experienced in any situation.

  • unhappy

    by steve brown at 18:53 on 8 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    when i signed up offered 1 year free bt sport ,£75 worth Sainsbury 's vouchers I have received nothing phone up and get an Indian run around

  • unhappy

    by Jason at 20:15 on 2 Jul 2015 Report abuse

    Joined BT broadband in may on the £12.50 that included BT sport1 BT sport2 ESPN all free for 12 months. Then today a letter saying I got pay extra £5 a month a complete lie to witch they advertise on tv and talk sport. They say now all I get is BT sport 1. Even thow it's in my contract just LIES to get you to sign up. Feel like I been scammed. All this cause they now got BT Europe I no £5 a month is cheap but not the deal I signed up 4 why don't they just charge extra for BT Europe and stick to the deals they offer customers in the first place

  • unhappy

    by Bush at 0:58 on 14 Jun 2015 Report abuse

    BT home hub 5 issues from day 1, no reliable wifi for 5 months. Over 20 phone calls and not once spoken with a uk call centre despite asking to speak with a uk manager in every call. Have asked for termination and MAC 3 times and not received, continuously lied to bt BT.

  • unhappy

    by Rosario at 17:51 on 28 Apr 2015 Report abuse

    After having an eviction from my sharing house, we all had to leave so I asked BT how much I would've faced to close the account earlier than the contract end. I've been told TWICE, in 2 different calls, that it would've been £30. The third time I called to close the account and I've been asked £93 plus a very arrogant advisor asking me why I was leaving and how stupid I was. I called another couple of times asking more help or to speak to a manager (which was always denied to me), and I've been asked £130 to close it the next time.
    I made an official complain, supposed to be answered in 48 hours, and nobody has called me yet after 96 hours. They called me after I cancelled the direct debit and still no help, had to talk with 5 advisors on the same call till I was able to close the account and now I will face a massive bill.
    Terrible customer service, no consideration for me at all, false information, advisors talking like robots and not really having conversations with you. I DO NOT recommend BT at all. Stay away, when you'll need help they will only have fun of you.

  • unhappy

    by Baz at 11:38 on 24 Apr 2015 Report abuse

    I was supposed to get my internet working on the 16 April 2014. its now the 24st of April 2015

  • neutral

    by Darren at 12:09 on 16 Apr 2015 Report abuse

    Expensive for what you get love to add charges to the bill rubbish customer service. who reviews the services and how much do they get paid to say they are best provider what ever year as i cant see bt winning any thing truly. in process of looking through the rip of deal available in this country

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 17:41 on 24 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    On the 5th of January I placed an order with BT on their website (Broadband and Calls). I was particularly attracted to this offer because of the Sainsbury’s gift voucher that was being offered as an incentive to sign up (Either £75 or £100). Having received confirmation by email, it was said that everything would go active on the 28th. That date arrived and I hadn’t received my equipment.

    I then phoned BT’s customer service, a 0800 number, which isn’t free on a mobile phone (EE Network, 20p a minute). After getting through I was told by an adviser that there had been a problem with their system and that although my order had been placed, another order would need to be submitted. At this point they told me that if they resubmitted the order for me, I would lose my entitlement to the gift voucher. The adviser then went on to say that if I resubmitted the order, (Again on their website and paying another signup fee), I would get the voucher. I done as advised and placed what I thought was the same order. This time the equipment arrived and I was for a short time happily connected.

    After reading through my order details, I noticed that I wasn’t on the same deal as I thought I was, and after speaking to adviser, it was confirmed. I then asked to be switched to the initial deal, and just cut my losses with the gift voucher. Because the initial order I’d placed required different equipment (Home Hub 5 Not 4), I sent all my equipment back and awaited delivery of the new equipment. In almost identical fashion, the going active date arrived and nothing had been sent through. I phoned them and was given practically the same excuse.

    I was then given a going active date. To my amazement this time the equipment arrived and I was connected to the deal I wanted. I forgot to mention that on nearly every occasion I phone BT, I was told by someone, of poor speaking English that I would be phoned back, due the department manager being unavailable, needless to say, 4 out of 5 occasions no one called me back. I was even promised by an adviser that someone would call me to talk about compensation. Obviously on that occasion I wasn’t called so again I phoned and to my amazement I was able to talk to a manager. After all my trouble all he could offer me was a £10 deduction on my next bill (Which was due in 6 days). So basically I was to continue to pay more money for a service I hadn’t received. Needless to say I declined and have now cancelled my contract.

    Here’s a summary of the bad service, 1. I didn’t receive a £75 / £100 Sainsbury’s gift voucher, (Can’t recall the amount but was still an amount of substantial value) because of BT’s faulty system 2. It took 44 days to connect me to the deal I initially paid for. 3. I spent a lot of money on phoning them, only to be ignored and lied to. 4. I still haven’t received a refund for the multiple orders I needlessly placed, I was told it could take up to 6 months to refund me. I WILL NEVER USE BT AGAIN.

  • unhappy

    by Cory at 18:14 on 23 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    Horrible customer service, do not care in the slightest about you. Charge you for anything they can find an excuse to charge for, and you'll receive less than half the speed you pay for.

    Avoid at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by S. Lloyd at 13:06 on 15 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    We moved to Littlehampton from Hemel Hempstead 18 months ago. At Hemel we had Virgin Broadband and 18 years of first class service. BT have the monopoly for broadband in the area and it is rubbish. Having a 'Smart' TV is a waste of time because unless you have a direct line connection it will not work all of the time correctly. The signal is so bad that we have a number of repeaters inside the house. I just hope and pray that Virgin consider laying broadband cable in this part of West Sussex. p.s. I do not believe that 9 our of 10 BT customers are satisfied.......really?

  • unhappy

    by Sean Raffey at 11:14 on 9 Feb 2015 Report abuse

    Overpriced and un reliable, for the cost its worth moving to other providers, they tend to all be piss poor with many aspects of service. However paying through the nose for nothing special is very annoying. Since cancelling the service it has 'magically' become totally un-usable, ping speeds and broadband speeds both up and down are still pretty good, no compliant there, however, the service drops randomly a dozen times a day or more often just briefly, just to mess everything up..... Another few days to go and it should be switched over, can cope with a few hassles in service provision if your not being ripped off cost wise....

  • unhappy

    by mary at 20:16 on 23 Jan 2015 Report abuse

    bt are a waste of time they tell lies about the prices also took payment twice from me I rang lots of time to complain never get the same person always someone saying something different avoid if u want less stress in your life canceled contract and gone elsewhere a lot cheaper

  • unhappy

    by Jess at 13:31 on 18 Jan 2015 Report abuse

    Worst customer service I have ever had the displeasure to deal with.

    We moved back home and decided to take our Infinity service with us, which we were told would be a completely seamless process. They cut my mum's service off quite happily but didn't set the Infinity up - eventually telling us that we would have broadband again one month after they had cut us off.

    If I hadn't called them upwards of 30 times, and spoken to over 50 people, then I would be surprised if we even had a connection now. They finally set us back up two weeks after being cut off, but if I hadn't been so insistent I doubt that would have been the case.

    Broadband service is fine, can't really cope with more than 3 people at once though.

    Please avoid!!

  • unhappy

    by john at 13:28 on 3 Jan 2015 Report abuse

    ubbish company rubbish broardband connection poor customer service with people in indian call centres that can hardly speak a word of english totally unhelpful ive reported b.t to ofcom and the ombudsman service dont waste your money with b.t use a more reliable service provider like sky or talk talk avoid b.t majorally

  • neutral

    by Barry Coleman at 14:38 on 16 Dec 2014 Report abuse

    Many, many, many years using BT dialup then broadband now fibre. I have noticed a big improvement since the early days of exceedingly frustrating so-called support. They are now, I think and hope, beginning to get it right. Support is pot luck but at least it is now possible, sometimes, to get real help on the phone from an English speaker. Fibre speeds are pretty much as expected unlike the old ADSL slow to stop to even slower. I think I'll stick with BT for a bit longer still.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: