« back to BT Broadband

BT Broadband Reviews | Page 9

  • happy

    by Dennis Mac at 11:11 on 22 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with BT for approximately 10 years, from the days of 'cutting-edge' dial-up, up through the 2mb barrier, and just recently, with some trepidation, signed up for the '8mb' Total Broadband. Because I was also changing calling plans, cancelling credit card payments, setting up direct debit and then altering the amounts that I would pay, I had to make several calls, using several different free phone numbers. Not everyone I spoke to understood my Canadian accent, or I theirs, but if they couldn't help me, I was always referred to someone else who could, or I was immediately connected to another department, saving me the aggro of going through 'options' again. I was always treated helpfully and courteously, even if some of the 'scripted' answers weren't adequate. (I never had to pay a national rate for a call to Scotland that was never answered because I hadn't subscribed to a 'sports channel'! -- and that company didn't have a broadband service my area anyway.) These many calls to BT resulted in a surprising call from them, asking if my problems had been solved and offering me another, more direct 0800 number to use, in the event that I had any more queries or problems.

    I then waited for delivery of my Hub, which failed to appear on the day--because I got the day wrong. It arrived the next day, exactly as promised in an email from BT. The Hub itself was easy to set up, and I connected with the supplied ethernet cable, and it didn't work. All the blue lights went on, but I had no connection. I intended not to install the CD, as advised by many forum posters, but I did run it far enough to be told that the setup could not find an ethernet connection. Further research, using my Alcatel modem (ripping along at a higher speed, because my connection had been activated exactly on the day promised) revealed that everyone who had an Asus motherboard in their PC, as I did, could not get the driver for the nVidia ethernet chip to install. Rather than monkey about with what looked like would be a complicated, all-day affair, I went out and bought a £10 Chinese PCI ethernet card and installed it. XP recognised the card immediately, and the Hub connected to the Net. On my second day, as I write, my speed is now 5.3mb, of the predicted 5mb speed for my area. (Can there be more?)

    All the many criticisms of BT nearly put me off carrying on with them. I expected the worst. But that hasn't materialised. Everything has gone perfectly, the service has been excellent, and the staff at BT couldn't be faulted. The delivery date error was mine, and the failed connection was down to my motherboard. How many more people haven't realised that their PCs are at fault when things go wrong? If they get the problem sorted, though, they don't come back to the forums to retract their comments about BT. BT is big, yes, but so is the NHS, which you do pay for, and you still get questionable and sometimes indifferent service, long waits and wrong answers. These things can be expected from large organisations. Less so, in small organisations, but you get them nonetheless. But, as with the NHS, when things go right, they go very right, and we're grateful. So from me, praise where it's due--to BT. I am one very satisfied customer.

  • unhappy

    by dingodango at 23:21 on 20 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Stay away!

    option 3 broadband up to 8 MBs with unlimited usage is in fact 1.2 MBs line and as soon as you reach 30-40 GBs downloads, ur capped to 1mB.

    Totally useless!

  • unhappy

    by henry clifford at 15:17 on 14 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Utter crap. Throttled to about 20kbps despite paying £25/month for a 8mb service.

    Horrible business model, they've just added more and more users without updating the infrastructure, and the end result is they can't deliver what was promised.

  • unhappy

    by rich at 20:20 on 29 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    BT broadband performance is at best very average and the tech support is nothing short of useless and an appalling waste of time. Avoid it like the plague.

  • unhappy

    by Geoff Payne at 23:25 on 18 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    A useless service. Meant to get 8Mb download speed, lucky if I can get 1Mb that's if I can get connected. Have been onto the help desk on numerous occasions who insist that they can cure the problems but the same old problems re-occur. Must change to another provider before I use a hammer to my bt homehub.

  • unhappy

    by Kim Sweet at 10:24 on 15 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    We have now been without BT broadband for 5 weeks. In this time we have had to chase their technical help desk (trade descriptions should get on to them for using the word help), calling them 5-10 times a day only to get an answerphone telling us that they are busy and will call back. No-one has taken responsibility for what is their problem. I have been patronised by pretty uninterested staff, have had engineers booked who haven't turned up - the fault for this being blamed on their system but absolutely no apologies given for the fact that I had to stay in all day, have been promised a new home hub which would be delivered in two days - it is now 5 days later and again I wasted a whole day on the promised day of delivery waiting for a package that never arrived. I have logged four complaints - one online and three with customer services. Again no response and no follow up. My funniest moment was being told by Customer Services that they would send me confirmation by email - I had to remind them that as I was unable to access either the internet or emails this wasn't the best idea - this was after sending 15 minutes going through the issue (yet agai with someone new). What is happening with BT? This is the worst experience I have ever had with a utilities company and that is saying something. I am looking to change broadband providers, to get rid of my landline telephone and never, ever have anything to do with BT ever again. This may sound extreme but having wasted hours and hours in trying to get a problem they have caused solved, receiving absolutely no consistent help or being designated one person to progress this until it was resolved, I have absolutely no desire to give them a penny more of my hard earned cash. I work from home so having no broadband is causing real problems - again this doesn't seem to be of concern to anyone I have spoken to. If I treated my clients in this way they would walk - which is exactly what I am going to do. If anyone reading this is considering switching to BT please take my advice and think long and hard before you sign anything - or be prepared to take time off work to sit around waiting for nothing to happen fast the minute you experience any trouble with the appalling service BT provide. I agree with the person above - BT (Open Reach, Broadband, technical help etc. etc.) absolutely suck.

  • unhappy

    by John at 12:28 on 12 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    The worst broadband provider I have EVER used. Connections throttled down to 1Mbit/s during peak times with sudden increase to 2Mbit/s at 11pm every day. P2P throttled down to 7Kbyte/s during the evening (!). The only way I could ever get any faster speeds was by using a VPN connection (OpenVPN) to my server. Only then I got 4Mbit/s at peak times.

    Disgusting, awful provider. I was on Be previously and the BT service is total, utter c**p!

    BT = Bloody T*****s.

  • neutral

    by Max Alfie at 15:14 on 7 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    BT is a great reliable provider. I get around 700Kbs from 12am till 5pm. At the peak times this can be reduced to 20Kbs to 50Kbs so just keep any big downloads till off peak times

    I don't mean to sound rude but those speeds are not what broadband is supposed to deliver. 20kbs? You might as well connect a hamster ball to your phoneline and get the little guy running, you'd probably get a better download speed.

    I live in the outskirts of Cambridge and can hand on heart condemn BT to eternity in hell. The technicians read off of a sheet in front of them. It's not their vocabulary that restricts them, it's their complete lack of initiative. The so-called "engineers" that are sent out run a quick speed check, repeat why the line connection 2 miles from the exchange about 6 times and then leave. The brutal truth is, BT keep increasing the amount of users, without doing anything to increase the speed. Fibre Optics would fix it, however BT are too greedy to convert some of their profit into this essential upgrade.

    AVOID BT OR SUFFER THE CONSEQUENCES!

  • unhappy

    by David Pollard at 13:32 on 4 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    Please take notice of these reviews and avoid Bt at all costs - Jamiec is absolutely right they do throttle the bandwidth between 4pm and 12am - after this its ok but really they should not be allowed to do this. Its really bad and the customer support is in India which I wouldnt mind if theya actually knew what they were talking about but the actually advised me to unscrew the phone socket at the wall and pull the wires out and put them back in again !!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • unhappy

    by ray potter at 15:14 on 3 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    I have asked for a Mac Code. The service and everything about BT Broadband is rubbish, they even have the gaul to charge me for breaking the contract of a service they did not or could not provide. Do not touch BT Broadband with a barge pole

  • neutral

    by Robert at 17:27 on 31 May 2009 Report abuse

    WORST ever internet provider. download speeds of 40KB up to 250 KB p/s...
    it took us (literally we arent joking) 2 whole years to get a technician out, to then find out he had 20 minutes to find / fix the problem. the "over the phone" help was useless; as they were reading from books (and im a computer technician so i know what i need / want)

    please, save your money and go to sky... apparently they are brilliant (even the technician said to me "leave BT and go to sky"; and im like ... er hello, arent you MEANT to be saying stick to BT ... so thats 2 technicians saying BT is the worst. it's up to you, but if your getting the internet for the first time or renenewing DO NOT i repeat DO NOT go with BT....

  • unhappy

    by david hargreeves at 17:31 on 30 May 2009 Report abuse

    I am not a fulltime user, but good service but £50+ pr month+phone is toooooo steep!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by jamiec at 9:56 on 29 May 2009 Report abuse

    Absolute Garbage.

    I can't understand why this product gets good reviews. It is not worth the money that I pay for it.

    I'm not a light broadband user but I'm far from a heavy user. My usage is based around working from home and that involves using my connection for video conferencing, managing servers and developing software.

    BT throttle my connection to the absolute point of it being unfit for purpose. Yes, they claim it is "up to 8Mb", but I'm lucky if I manage to get 20Kbs between the hours of 4pm and 12pm then it's a good day.

    The also excessively filter non standard ports which is a right pain because I do a lot of work on non standard ports ( git, scp, to name a few ) and these ports seems to get reduced down to 5kbps.

    The connection isn't fast enough to sustain iPlayer, 4OD or any other streaming service.

    Don't get me wrong, I'm not a super advanced user - I'm just lucky enough that my work allows me to be able to understand what BT do to the connection and they shouldn't be allowed to get away with it.

    I wouldn't recommend using BT Broadband to anyone - light user or other wise. I would highly recommend looking elsewhere - use as a last resort only and proceed with caution.

  • happy

    by Colin Brady at 5:04 on 27 May 2009 Report abuse

    Well, opted for BT home hub and broadband, in Aberdeenshire. I have to say I am surprised, but the service is excellent. The Hub/wireless works well arround my house. The broadband connectivity and speed generally is excellent.
    I have been using the service now for about a month, intensively using it at all times of the day.
    On 2 occasions only I suddently loat connection to the Hub and had to restart it to get connected aghain. So far I am very happy with the service and the price.

  • unhappy

    by si at 20:06 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    3 months of hell being throttled yet download virtually nothing, just got it agreed to cancel service by threatening to take them to court on numerous occasion

  • unhappy

    by James Milroy at 18:57 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    BT are a hopeless bunch of morons, customer service is an absolute joke. The technical team do not know what they are talking about half the time and the other half they are either lying to you or trying to pass you over to another department. Since I have been with BT I have had numerous problems with both the Broadband and Vision service. My advice if you can get another service where you live take it.

  • happy

    by not perfect but good at 14:30 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I had a miserable time migrating from my previous provider, but that was at least partly due to the chaos at Tiscali. BT weren't perfect, but without exception everyone I spoke to took responsibility and tried to sort things out. I got the sense that they actually cared about providing a good service, even if the system seemed to conspire against them. Once installed, the service has been first rate.

  • unhappy

    by W.G.C at 22:59 on 20 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    If you can speak Indian you will be OK for BT Broadband. If you are English do not have it.

  • unhappy

    by capewell at 22:51 on 20 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    bt broadband is crap

  • happy

    by Liam Hutbsy at 12:24 on 12 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I used to have BT but the customer service was second Rate and the service was third rate, but after being in the broadband wilderness for a few years going from provider to provider, I came back to BT in January and i have found they have improved alot, customer service deal with all my problems and the speeds are very very good. And i have found by excepting they have indian call centres and the fact i have to speak to them that over time i have learned to be patient with them instead of being angry with them, because i used to blame the first indian that came on the line and rant at him, but it was not his fault. So now i speak calmly and get results.

  • unhappy

    by Rob Adams at 22:04 on 10 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    "In reply to James: If you have been throttled twice I suspect you are abusing the download service. No doubt you are a torrent user and hogging the bandwidth during peak hours. have some consideration for other users and keep heavy traffic until 11pm - 6am. Before giving off about providers change your surfing habits!"

    Are you crazy? I pay for 'UNLIMITED' BT Broadband, and I agree with James and pretty much everyone else here; BT is pants. Unlimited means unlimited. End of. Yet I can only download at a reasonable speed of about 800k-1mg per second between 12am and 12pm. The rest of the time I canīt download anything and sometimes canīt even browse. Yes I am a torrent user. I download thousands of films and tv programs, xbox360/PC games and apps. Itīs not illegal in the UK, which is why the police donīt come to my house and arrest me. Or any of the other 5 million people doing it to some extent. Anything thatīs worth owning, I buy. But why would I pay for a movie or game that I might not like?

    Got a bit off point there because I hate people that imply thereīs something wrong with downloading torrents, but essentially Iīm saying BT is crap and donīt get it unless (like me) you have no realistic alternative. Get Virgin, itīs the nuts.

  • unhappy

    by Phil Lovatt at 0:17 on 1 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Having been a Sky subsriber I needed a BT phone line in my new home. I have always been with Sky internet and never had a problem. But due to the lack of availabilty in my area for my free Sky broadband and no Cable in the area, I was backed into the corner of BT Broadband as it seemed to be the best deal.

    Having worked in the IT industry all of my life I have never come across such a usless service. I had quicker internet speed back in 1998 when I was paying to use dial up! WTF! Then after calling technical support some Indian guy tries to tell me to use WEP as its quicker and more secure than WPA. Again.... WTF is this company talking about.

    Having run a BB speed check I am maxing out at a whopping 88Kbps! Wow!! I hope this uploads when I click as I only have 3 hours remaining on my laptop battery!

  • neutral

    by Jay at 15:47 on 28 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Quiuck start- huh- a whole morning getting 2 computers and printer wi-fi on line. Home phone now crackles but impossible to get through on their help line. Not impressed.

  • happy

    by misterpunch at 15:03 on 28 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with BT since broadband first became available in my area, 3 miles from exchange. Download speed is not always ideal but other than that they are excellent. With no cable alternative, we're dependent on BT landlines anyway. Recently signed up for longer and was offered various landline incentives plus cheap connection/free installation of BT Vision. Despite some people's criticism I can only say it's excellent and has changed our viewing habits.Far better than relying on freeview, cheaper than sky and cheaper than dvd rental even on one of those fixed price "unlimited" disc contracts.Technical support on the occasion we needed it was excellent, patient, friendly and helpful. I have friends who work for BT and slag them off but I can only speak as I find. Reliable and good value. My only suggestion Broadband wise - avoid their Norton bundle and their own browser set up also the onspeed offer, none of which seem much good. The latest BT Netprotect / McAfee product which we've just put on a new laptop seems much better.

  • unhappy

    by Barry Barcrest at 1:50 on 16 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Great... I could only get BT because of a lack of phone line and no virgin media in my area. I figured it wouldn't be to bad as i can see the exchange from my window. You know what, it stinks... It was only installed on friday and I figure i must still be in the cooling off period. Well they can have it all back... I'm getting full upload but my download speed is 56k, that is basically dial up speed. If i could go with Virgin Media I would, i have never had a problem with them. BT is the worst service I have ever had the mis-fortune to deal with.

  • happy

    by Mark at 12:28 on 13 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    BT is a great reliable provider. I get around 700Kbs from 12am till 5pm. At the peak times this can be reduced to 20Kbs to 50Kbs so just keep any big downloads till off peak times.

  • unhappy

    by Andy at 18:15 on 12 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Wont let me change my package plan from option 3 to option 2 or 1 without buying out of contract. they send out 2 bills without notice so you pay one and the other gets you disconnected and charges added, they fail to set up direct debits at the start of service then have the nerve to tell me its my mistake that i didnt set it up..... Everything is the customers fault and problem with BT i faught for a £500 refund and got it to have them mess me about in the exact same way again. i dont care about the throttle that makes my xbox unplayable during peak hours but to have such poor customer service and just a general lack of support and knowledge is shockingly bad. im paying 90+ a quarter for internet and 74 a quarter for my phone, i don't even make calls. but hey its my problem right

  • neutral

    by Rob at 18:42 on 6 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    In reply to James: If you have been throttled twice I suspect you are abusing the download service. No doubt you are a torrent user and hogging the bandwidth during peak hours. have some consideration for other users and keep heavy traffic until 11pm - 6am. Before giving off about providers change your surfing habits!

  • happy

    by Spencer at 12:50 on 3 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I've had BT Total Broadband for about two years, I live a couple of miles away from the exchange but still get between 7.5 and 8 Meg of bandwidth. Downloads just fly down the wire.
    I felt I had to give some positive feedback as the other reviews seemed quite negative and I did not feel it was representative.
    As far as I know the service has never been unavailable and I don'ty believe I have ever been throttled. The only issue sometimes is the speed that sites can send the content, if it does come slowly I just check another major site and it always seems full speed.

  • unhappy

    by Jason Daniel at 17:09 on 1 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Bt is the worst broadband and telephone provider you can wish for.

    Internet is always slow and when you want to call up and complain about their bad service they don't want to hear it even though it's bad.

    Also BT are living in the stone age because most of the other broadband providers are using fibre optic cables which are proven to be a 100 times better than copper but BT are too stubborn to realise this.

    Don't go with BT they will give you hell and that isn't what you need when we are in a recession.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: