« back to Direct Save Telecom

Direct Save Telecom Reviews | Page 3

Sign up now. Call: 0800 2802027
  • happy

    by Paul Tremble at 8:45 on 1 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    I’ve been with DST for about 2 years. They contacted me in August as my usage had exceeded 180Gb in each of the previous 3 months, they warned me again in September and it was clear that they’d charge me if October was the same. I contacted DST and it turned out that my son was using some shareware software and much of it was upload. My usage in October was down to 25Gb, I’m glad they warned me.

  • unhappy

    by Miss E Taylor at 17:59 on 19 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    i have been with DST for 3 years now, and no problems until this year, my contract was for unlimited BB between midnight and6 pm, but they have changed this without informing customers, and now unlimited BB = 40gb! so not unlimited!
    am in the process for changing to BT unlimited, which surprise, surprise is ....unlimited!, OK price is a little higher, but having just paid an £100 for a 1 month period with DST, so be it
    i will be taking legal action and reporting DST to ofcom

  • happy

    by T E Price at 16:12 on 4 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    I have been with DST since 2007. I am currently signed up to their Option 4 Broadband and Telephone account. I have not had any problems. They answer the phone promptly. I get a download speed of about 2-3Mbs, but as I am at least a mile from the exchange that is probably as good as can be expected with simple ADSL. BT are supposed to upgrade the exchange to ADSL2+ sometime!!!!. It cost me about £26 per month, which includes line rental.

  • neutral

    by Sid P. at 21:18 on 14 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I have the problem that I can get the internett befor 7pm but after it gets very slow, after 7.30 it can take 15min to change a page, and after 8pm forget it. If this is good service I do not think so. Sid.

  • happy

    by Dave at 9:15 on 12 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I have been ith DST for a couple of years and have had absolutely no problems whatsoever. My broadband speed runs about 6mb. They answer the phone when you need to speak to them. With regard to the warning by 'Anonymous' about the £50 penalty charge this was the same as when I signed up and was clearly in the contract. DST is good value.

  • happy

    by mark at 15:18 on 7 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I have nothing but praise for this company i have the best speed on my computer better then all the other companies i have been with.Great customer service they are there when you need them and UK based. I would recommend them to anyone.

  • unhappy

    by frank at 21:00 on 24 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Please do not use this company as they will only let you down. Problems too numerous to list, but a big mistake which I will not be making again

  • unhappy

    by Anonymous at 20:01 on 23 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    This company has no commitment to customer service and their technical support is amateurish as I have learned through bitter experience. The rolling 28 day contract looks too good to be true and is. Cancel before the end of 12 months and you'll be hit with a £50 penalty charge. You have been warned!

  • happy

    by asim at 23:37 on 18 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    I have nothing but total praise for this company. They installed the phone line for half the price of BT. I just can't understand these negative remarks about this company. Their customer service is clear and to the point. Calls don't keep getting transferred from one department to the other. Usually the person who answers the call is the person who deals with all kind of enquiries and information about all the products and pricing. I also got broadband from them. The activation was 2 days late, but since then it has just been brilliant. Sometimes I have suffered minor loss of connection, but it was isolated and never lasted more than a minute. I recommended it to many friends, and 4 of them got their phone line and broadband from them. No one has faced any problems whatsoever. I would highly recommend this company to anyone. A little word of advice would be, not to jump on the phone if your phone line or broadband activation is 2-3 days late. Just be a little patient. Once everything starts working, you won't have a single complaint.

  • unhappy

    by Gillian Cash at 18:04 on 3 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Absolutely fuming while typing this message as this company has taken over my account without my confirmation. The have also taken £89.84 out of my account which includes a set up fee, which they did not tell me on the telephone. I told the salesman that I was not going to confirm a changeover until speaking to my existing provider. I have just sent them an email and if they don't cancel it I shall be taking it further.
    G Cash

  • unhappy

    by annonymus at 22:25 on 7 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    crap company, horrible people, good for nothing manager mr charles dont go near this company

  • happy

    by mr b mann at 22:48 on 26 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    very warm company i was very happy with the deal i recieved free call all day for just £15 lovly sales person ruth hudson sold me the the package, just liked to say that they should employ more staff like ruth with a nice and polite manner and who actually listened

  • unhappy

    by jodi at 22:38 on 26 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    this company is awful, had problems from start, my broadband was not sorted when it should have. customer service is really bad, i was told i would be called back regarding my broadband, nobody bothered to call back had to chase them day after day. i would think twice before switching over to this awfull company.

  • unhappy

    by Consumer80 at 15:08 on 21 May 2010 Report abuse

    I wish I'd done some research before I went with these cowboys for a phone line installation. Their customer service is appalling, they never keep to their own schedule. I asked for a new line install and asked if it was a BT type line, as I wanted to move my O2 broadband over, they confirmed it was. Line got installed but I could not move to O2, why? the idiots had put me on their LLU line, and O2 will not migrate me after paying DirectSave Telecom circa £120 for the install upfront. They then had the cheek to tell me that on their website it says they "may" install a LLU line, and that I have to pay a further £40 to change to a BT type line, taking a further two weeks and bringing my total to £156.30, definitely not cheaper than BT. During all this I'm still paying line rental, which is also taken a month in advance. I've had to pay the extra and as soon as it's almost completed, I will be sending them my cancellation notice, I only hate one thing more than a thief, and that's a liar, and DirectSave Telecom are both. If anyone is considering this company avoid like the plague. If just one person can avoid the expensive pitfall I now find myself in, this post will have been worth it. I just wish someone had done the same for me. So, I will be telling all who I come across at home, out and at work, to unequivocally avoid DirectSave Telecom.
    Another thing, read the fine print, read the fine print, read the fine print!!

  • neutral

    by Adam C at 16:47 on 14 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    My name is Adam and I work for DirectSave Telecom
    "In response to Jenna's recent post"
    Unlike many of our competitors we keep all our customer services UK based in order to provide the best possible customer services. Direct Save as a company always put the customer first, I am not aware of any outstanding issue's however if you have a genuine issue then please bring this to my attention and I will investigate this for you. Many thanks, Adam C.

  • unhappy

    by jenna at 1:42 on 11 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    this company is crap dont go near its full of lies and very bad customer service.

  • neutral

    by Adam C - [email protected] at 16:32 on 12 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Hi, I work for DirectSave Telecom and stumbled across your review. I am disappointed you have been experiencing problems with the broadband connection and would like to help you if i can? Could you supply me with some contact details so i can get in touch. Thanks

  • unhappy

    by Waste of money at 19:40 on 9 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    I am averaging speeds of 0.3 Mbs using Eclipse and am cancelling too. The people in the flat above are averaging 10 Mbs with Virgin for the same money. It takes ages to open sites like Amazon because they have a lot of pictures and streaming audio or video is impossible. Fortunately, it is only a one month contract.

  • happy

    by Peter at 13:43 on 21 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    I have just transferred my telephone line rental and broadband to Direct Save. The transfer required numerous phone calls and patience, but was succesful in the end. The technical support I received when my new modem would not work was very professional.
    This company provides the cheapest broadband bar none. I am saving £100 per year compared to my previous package. Its worth perservering.

  • unhappy

    by edmond at 18:46 on 14 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Rubbish company, terrible service. they keep promise saving your money, In fact, cost your more. Just set up a contract with them, already been charged 80 pound for nearly two months phone and broadband fee. I dont understand why they promoted as one month contract but charge you two. today is the internet connection day, they promised post the router before the date. however, I not even see a little part of router. phoned them, the girl said 6pm be arrived. nothing come. i will cancel the service tomorrow.

  • unhappy

    by Petter at 8:51 on 25 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with them for 9 months now. After initial setup when first bought, things were somewhat ok. Then I needed to move house and problems started mounting. They said moving would be ok but there would be a charge. I had to agree. Then I specified a date when the move would take place, and miraculously enough the phone line was transferred on that date, but despite promises the broadband took 2,5 weeks instead of the one week promised.

    They also initially promised the security deposit back after 6 months of initial contract. I have had to chase the deposit back for 2 months now and every time I call them I am getting the same promises that they will sort it out 'today'.

    It doesn't end there, though. Their customer services always promise things and then do them in a completely different way - for example they sent me a bill which had 2 months of future broadband costs in it. I called their billing dept and they said the bill was wrong and gave me a new total they would debit. The debit day came and the original steep sum was debited. When I called and asked what to do next as they caused my account to go in the red, they just said there is nothing we can do now. That is also called stealing. They said the next bill would then be in credit, but I have strong doubts over this.

    Steer clear of these thieves!

  • unhappy

    by Sophie at 18:27 on 25 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    The company told me information over the phone 1. Free to start to service, 2. No minimum contract, 3. No exit fees. I asked the questions several times to completely clarify where I stood. The information was given to me in a clear and concise way.

    I opened the account in September 2008. When the paperwork arrived I noticed instantly there was a set up fee of £40, I phoned them up feeling cross and ready to cancel, they negotiated a reduction to £25 - which I felt unhappy about. When we had very poor service consistently (it was barely usable), I canceled the contract in December 2008.

    Over the phone they rude and undermining and didn't acknowledge preivous conversations. They charged me £50 and carried on taking the direct debit from my account until May 2009, Direct Save Telecom wouldn't help me, so I asked my bank for an indemnity claim against the wrongly taken direct debit. They are now pursuing me through the courts for £428.05 pounds (including an additional fee on 5th August for £50 for cancelling the account again).

    I strongly advise you stay away from this company!

    They have told me lies, been inconsistent with their information, put excessive fees onto the account for no apparent reason, not replied directly to any letters. I have sent and have given me a complete headache. I wish I had never dealt with this company, an absolute nightmare. We are seeking leagal advise and talking to the Ombusdman about their practices.

  • neutral

    by George at 14:24 on 12 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with DST for over 2 years, after dumping Tiscali. I have option 4. I have never had any problem with them except some minor configuration settings which were quickly and politely dealt with by their efficient staff. It is even a free number to call them and answered withing 5 rings always.
    The only downside is that there is no web space which in this day and age I find puzzling.
    For those that have indicated that it is web based mail only, you are wrong. The mail can be downloaded by Outlook, Outlook Express and even the new Live Mail by Microsoft. I am willing to show you how to set up Outlook Express if you want to contact me?

  • happy

    by Stephen at 17:55 on 5 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    I've had no problems with dst. I used the company because bt made a complete pigs ear of trying to connect me. Also you aren't tied down to a 12 month contract. I get a good connection speed but it seems torrent download speeds are capped for some of the day, I get best the speeds in the morning and late at night. Would recommend them.

  • unhappy

    by Yvonne at 18:11 on 18 May 2009 Report abuse

    The phone only was OK; Problems started when I joined broadband, Nil Service; big problem in that none of the passwords sent to me actually worked - were consistantly refused; male staff are rude and aggressive and insist the problem must be with the customer's useless computer. After six days of arguments I intend to cancel and contact the Ombudsman for the return of my £91.

    Previously I was for years with NOW, who were absolutely brilliant!

  • happy

    by Imp at 16:13 on 11 May 2009 Report abuse

    Been with DST for about 18 months now, used them because I am renting and was stung by BT because I had to move before by 12 month contract expired, and had to continue to pay it.

    My speeds are typically 3Mb, I only ever had one problem with the service, which was resolved with a quick and helpful telephone call.

  • unhappy

    by John Bray at 22:37 on 1 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    I moved into a rental property where the landlord wanted me to pick up the telephone while he continued paying for the broadband. DST claimed this was possible when it was not. They also promised that as I was starting from a cleared line it would take 48 hours, whereas it took 2 weeks. They also broke promises to ring me back at various times.

    Avoid, avoid

  • unhappy

    by Anonymous at 17:17 on 23 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    Don't touch them with a barge pole. We were charged extortionate cost for international calls. We tried resolving the issue, sent letters and got no response. Eventually left them in July and still getting letters asking for money for services after we left. International calls still not resolved 6 months later. One of the customer service staff particularly rude - that was after hanging on for 15 minutes for my called to be answered!!

  • happy

    by Rich at 10:45 on 2 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    Been with DST for a couple of years, had 1 problem a while ago and phoned customer services, call answered within 6 rings by very polite and helpfull person, problem sorted straight away.
    Customers are only on a 28 day contract, so should you have problems for any reason youre not tied in and free to move on.
    Thumbs up from me.

  • unhappy

    by dude at 17:00 on 16 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Terrible company been with them 6 months service fluctuates. They are not available weekends. they must have only a couple of people running the phones because whenever you call, "It appears you have called at a particularly busy time for us" and held for about 10 mins minimum.

    The staff are both rude and incompetent. If you try writing to them they NEVER respond no, not once

    These guys are amateurs dont touch them the little money you will amount to nothing when you consider the hours you will waste picking up the pieces

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: