EE Reviews

  • unhappy

    by Jack at 15:48 on 29 Jun 2015

    So 2 months ago I decided to make the biggest mistake by signing up for home broadband from an EE store who told me at the beginning of may 2015 where they and I arranged for on engineer to come to my house and install my broadband on the 11th of may between 8:00-13:00 so I took the day off work to find no one was turning up until the 5th of June which I was not too happy about then come the 5th of June I take another day of to the have the same problem as before so I call EE again and they tell me there is nothing they can do until the 29th of June (2 months later) so today I have another day off work and finally an engineer has arrived to then tell me he can't help me because he's not qualified to carry out the work needed barring in mind at the EE store they informed me I live in a gold area(good connection no hassle) so he leaves and I ring EE and they say we will give you a call in a few days to so they can try and sort out another date which tbh I'm just waiting for another excuse I definitely not recommend EE home home broadband to anyone!! I'm absolutely discussed with the service I have or haven't received :/

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Bill Quinlan at 13:25 on 28 Jun 2015

    Everything Everywhere should change their logo to "Nothing Anywhere"! Totally useless. After being with this "service" since Freeserve days and all its mutations I've had enough. My speed is now down to 0.3Mbps! - slower downstream than up!! I can't stream even musical tracks from iTunes or Spotify without re-buffering every few seconds. Not fit for purpose.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Paula at 23:26 on 22 Jun 2015

    What more can I say... EE is total waste of money and time. First problem was after purchase the broadband- in shop they promised it will start after few days- it took around 16 days to start the connection. Then after 3 months of using it started to be slow, sometimes no connection for 2-3 hours 3 times a day. But the real problem started after moving house. We moved in on 12.06, 19.06 the engineer has come, the line was working for 20 minutes after he left. Two text messages that the broadband will start working on friday (19.06) midnight. It's 22 almost 23.06 and it's not working. Customer service is rubbish, people can't speak there english, they didn't help at all. The told that they are doing some tests and the line will start to work on Monday. It wasn't. Second call- they told that it will start shortly after this call. 12 hours later it's not working. I'm going to find a new provider because it's some kind of joke. I used to have broadband at home in Poland since 2004 and never had situation like that. In three days after purchase you have the engineer and everything's set up. No further problems for some years and now with EE in UK is some kind of nightmare.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Michelle at 22:01 on 18 Jun 2015

    I've had EE broadband and phone for 10 months. Got them as the deal was such a steal. Despite the bad reviews broadband was fine for six months. For the last few months it has slowed to a crawl, I'm better using my 3g mobile reception then the unpredictable wifi speed. Avoid avoid.

    I also get hundreds more junk calls than with any other previous network, somehow my number has been sold on (by ee?) So bad, I have bought a new phone to block withheld numbers (a service which costs £3pm from ee).

    Coming to the end of my one year contract I phoned to cancel and was told that the international number add-on I accepted when cold called was actually a new one year contract. This was never mentioned by the smooth sales man of course.

    If you like fast reliable broadband stay away from this company at all costs.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Francisca at 18:04 on 16 Jun 2015 | registered | 1 post

    I have been an EE cliente for over one year and until I moved house I was very happy. I moved on the 17th of May and already had a letter waiting for me telling me that the service would be connected on the 19th while funny enough they had made an appointment for an engineer to come to the house on the 20th. Nothing happened on the 19th of May, on the 20th the phone was working, no Internet. When the engineer left the phone was not working either. Many trips on foot to the EE shop in Queens Street Cardiff, carrying my laptop and finally got everything conected on the 22nd of May but... that was only the start of a nightmare. I had only 7 weeks to find a more permanente place to live, which should have been possible if it wasn't for the fact that on the 8th of June the Internet was disconnected (in the meanwhile I got a £10 rebate from EE for being such a good cliente). When I complained about the lack of broadband I was told first that my service had been cancelled so it would take 7 working days to be reconnected (????) then that there was a problem with the line so the phone would be disconnected at midnight. Half way the afternoon I had no telephone and no Internet. since then, it is now the 16th of June I have neither. Everyday the service was going to be connected at midnight but nothing happened. I am in an awful situation alone abroad, on heavy medication to be able to cope and EE couldn't care less. They now connected me to a mobile Internet connection which would be topped up but they have now refused to do it. Last Friday they finally made an appointment for an engineer to come today, the 16th. Nobody came. The call centres are useless, they speak litlle English and the connections are so bad that you can hardly make out what they are saying. As no one came today I went to the shop again this time they told me to lower my voice and to leave the shop. Completely disrespect, even for a lady like myself, nearing 60. Half way the afternoon I called them only to be told that no engineer would be coming and that as I moved house I will only have a connection on the 23rd of June (I moved on the 17th of May) then an engineer will come or else it could come yesterday (?????). In the meanwhile my chance to find a place to live are almost gone, al the people I should have been contacting won't be able to do anything for me anymore and I will be left in the streets. EE? They couldn't care less. The guy who was dealing with the problem today just left as it was his time to go home. They don't care!!! This is the worst provider ever!!! Think long and hard before you ever get mixed up with these people!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Fiona at 16:30 on 16 Jun 2015

    One thing that has not been mentioned here. BT is due to acquire EE as soon as the £12.4bn deal receives regulatory approval. BT will buy all Orange and EE shares.
    Oh joy...Two companies with the most notoriously bad customer service will merge. Lord help us all !!!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Freddie Paragas at 13:48 on 16 Jun 2015

    Runnnn before it's too late!!! Worst customer service ever. Don't listened to EEs offer...too good to be true. Moved from sky to EE because of the good offer-but end up us without internet connections, EE customer service lack of knowledge and professionalism. Dealt with 9 customer representative and none of them fixed the problem- and imagine in 2 occasions asking me if I got a screw driver and DIY fix and open the phone socket ...what a d**b. I insisted a visit from engineer - the customer service rep was so reluctant to book an engineer ...why??? but later she agreed. On the day of said appointment - I followed up rung the engineer the progress of the visit and in my surprised he won't be coming to the house because he said that our phoneline was already cancelled!!! EE changed our landline number without our consent and the dumb on it- they gave the engineer the old number.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Sai at 19:08 on 15 Jun 2015

    I have had several different broadband providers throughout my life and most defiantly this is one of the worst broadband service ever.. Slow is not the word half the time we have to reset the router which is so annoying as takes time to switch everything back on.. I have tried to call EE many times but this has not helped I keep being passed from person to person and no on cam help I wouldn't ever recommend EE broadband to even my worst enemy

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Chris at 23:23 on 11 Jun 2015

    Save your time and money guys and girls. This is by far the worst internet service provider ever, speed is so slow its worse than 56k modem days. Its intermittent and when you contact customer service they treat you like your a fool who has no knowledge of pc's or the internet. I would strongly advise against going to EE they are the worst i have ever had the misfortune to use.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Sheila Dent at 19:27 on 9 Jun 2015

    well, thank goodness I have read all these good peoples' views, what an eye opener! Had seen what I thought was a good deal in EE shop in town, so purely by chance landed on here, and thank goodness I did. Really sorry all you guys, what a pile of **** their customer care is. Pleased to say I'm staying with lovely English based Plusnet.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Brian Pastore at 15:27 on 8 Jun 2015

    It doesn't matter who you get your broadband from any technical work needed is done by BT, I have now got sky broadband but the line will always belong to BT as they charge other companies to rent their line,so any work on line is done by Openreach ie BT

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Fiona at 20:44 on 2 Jun 2015

    I joined EE few months ago for my mobile account purely because of an iPhone upgrade with Orange and EE offered me a new iPad which I was going to purchase anyway. Yesterday I got a cold call from EE asking what I pay (BT) for my broadband and they offered me a package for £19.35...I am paying BT £35. Well it was a no brainier. However the conversation went on and I was offered a TV package (I have basic free view channels presently) which would amount to the same price I'm presently paying BT. I explained that I have a B&B so would require an EE box for all 5 TVs in the house. I was told they offer 'multi room' boxes and when she passed me on to her colleague to tie up the deal he also said they offer multi room. But they couldn't tell me if there would be additional charges but that customer services could tell me and that I have a 40 day cooling off period anyway (which in a later phone call was told it was 15 days) When I called customer services I actually got a clear speaking English person ( for a change!) who told me immediately that EE allow only one box per household and that I'd been misinformed. So the mission begins...
    I'm now trying to cancel the order but as it has not gone through yet with a reference number I can't do so yet. However they offered me just broadband for £17.35 which I accepted as it is half the price I'm paying now. My main concern was if there were any problems with the changeover and I would possibly be left with no internet for days ( or weeks!) which would affect my business big time as I take all my bookings on line. I decided to see what people are saying on line about EE broadband. I'm struggling to find a good review! So thank you all for what you've told me and I just pray that I can get my order cancelled without hassle and I will be cancelling my mobile account with them at the end of the contract!




    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Carole white. at 18:04 on 2 Jun 2015

    This company has ripped me off. The broadband service has never worked. Just got being told it was blocked. Service is non existent. They simply pass you around non UK sites and refuse you access to customer services. It cost me £146 to cancel a service I never received. Please do not deal with this company. They are dishonest.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by guy at 17:34 on 28 May 2015

    i wonder if olaf swantee likes being lied to to and patronised? i guess not i imagine if any one in his team lied or insulted him, he would sack them on fthe spot. But he is happy for his staff to lie and patroninse his customers while he takes a fat bonus
    way to go
    what a shameful and deplotrable company
    i am mad and cross as hgel but happy to make this comment on ine of i can put off just one future customer
    we have now changed supplier but i kind of exect the techno companies are all the same - i hope to be proved wrong

    ee you are the pits of humanity

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by p argent at 00:33 on 26 May 2015

    ee customer services are completely rubbish I brought an ee eagle tablet from the Blackpool church st store on sun 24th Aug 2014 at 3.50 pm it cost me£209.00 pounds it is rubbish on ee alone its cost me to top up on ee £270.00 Pounds to much I bet it does'nt cost the queen that much to top up if she has a mobile on any network ee does'nt want to leave the network they are soft soaping me buy giving me free data and free minutes to stop on the network they say I am one of their priority customers I used be three when I bought the egale tablet I rang customer services on eqe on sun 24th Aug he said why do'nt you come off three and come onto our network we have got all you can eat data as well on pay as go they they are lie ing I used to be on three network the customer services is a lot better on three than we on three for £15.00 pounds a month you get 3000 Minutes 500 Texts and All you can Eat Data on we you get boger all they keep giving me free 500KB Data and so many free minutes to me on their Network I think I am moving back to three soon any way you spend half as on three as you do on EE I must need my brains washing out moving from three onto EE

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Paul Athey at 11:30 on 24 May 2015

    Leaving EE after 14 days - they now have only a 7 day cooling off period, but t be honest I was so sick of the lack of consistency of their service I had to cancel. When I was on to support I managed to get 3.75mbps (rural area) but about half an hour later it went back down to less than 1mbps download )often dropping all together or below 0.4mbps). Just paid the cancellation fee to get rid of them and gone back to my previous supplier - stupid and costly mistake - AVOID - my speeds are already back up to 4.6mbs. To be fair customer services were ok once they realised I was going to accept nothing else apart from cancellation.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by lynn at 14:27 on 23 May 2015

    i am happy and relieved to have read the above reviews as i was about to change to EE this has saved me a lot of stress,i wont be going anywhere near EE and thank all the reviewers for their comments and wish them a better time soon.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by stevie at 15:52 on 20 May 2015

    have been with EE since freeserve days - mainly because can't bear hassle of losing business email address. Have today finally got upgrade to fibre connected. To be fair, they have done everything they promised, itemised details of charges/upfront/discounts etc emailed immediately - you do need to read these, folks! - new router arrived next day. Slight delay - for which they apologised - in upgrade, but done this morning as promised. I have found their local helpcentre staff are polite and helpful - they rang immediately in replay to an emailed query - but do have to agree with everyone else - their technical support in India is dire and impossible to understand or hear - interference on line is dreadful. So far today can't complain - they've done what they said they would, and as soon as plugged in new router everything sprang into life again. I can't expect truly wonderful service as in semi-rural area at end of unmade lane - ancient copper cable from fibre box huge distance away - but it has to be better than current! Am waiting to see what happens in 10 days time after 'settling in' period!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by tim at 12:25 on 18 May 2015

    The worst company I have ever dealt with.

    Messed up our original order and left us with no internet for 3 weeks ( at which point I changed over to sky broadband). told account would be closed with no charges as they had messed up the order, 6 months later I received a letter from a debt collection agency for £551.85 owed to orange home services. So mad that words cannot describe it, permanent blemish on my otherwise good credit report and endless time and money wasted phoning the worlds worst customer support centre. As long as I am alive I will never have another EE product or service and I advise anyone else to do the same.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Richard at 08:49 on 18 May 2015

    DO NOT USE EE.

    Agreed to contact providing fibre broadband. The speed is 50% of what I was promised. Phoned to cancel but had to pay£400.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Iain shilliday at 16:56 on 15 May 2015

    I already have a post about how unhappy I was with EE customer service, after being very frustrated about my lack of landline and low broadband speeds, both have now been resolved and EE have compensated me with 2 months free service which I thought was a nice gesture considering my services were off for around 3 weeks
    I believe if a company does a good thing that should be spoken about on here as well as the bad stuff
    I am a very happy bunnie now

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Gintare at 12:07 on 15 May 2015

    I have 3phone contracts and 1 home broadband .
    But they treat me like s**t . I lost internet , i was calling them for tree days nobody pick up , after they pick up , told me to wait 7 days after 7 days again 7 days . They are the worst company ever

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Debbie at 18:59 on 9 May 2015

    DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! BE WARNED THEY ARE THE WORST AT BOTH BROADBAND AND CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!! £30 FEE to disconnect even after my contract of 12 months has expired!!!!!!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Iain shilliday at 18:50 on 6 May 2015 | registered | 1 post

    Got fibre broadband and home phone From EE nearly 2 years ago. Fibre speeds are very debateable, you definitely do not get the top speed they estimate.last week my phone line went dead, I called them I was on hold for around 20 mins I finally got an appointment made, engineer came diagnosed fault as water damage and it was fixed. Trouble was now my fibre broadband has slowed to less than 1 mb.About a dozen phone calls later the escalated my complaint to open reach after me sitting talking to an advisor for around 1 hour on my laptop adjusting router settings, a complete waste of time as the signal was low due to a fault on the line to the exchange. The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced, the staff are all Indian and they seem to have very little understanding of the English language outside the script in front of them. They can't answer simple questions and also book open reach engineer appointments without even asking you if its suitable. Mind you when the open reach engineer fixed my phone line due to water getting into the cables due to the plastic cover not being sealed against the wall, I have noticed there is a gap, which water will get in and damage the cables again unbeliveable!!!!!
    I will tell you about excellent customer service. The company is the computer people Apple. Amazing mind blowing customer service, an example, I purchased a song on their iTunes site for 59p , there was an issue with the download so I contacted them, answer the phone virtually straight away, resolved the download issue and gave me a song credit worth 99p for my inconvenience, plus sent me an email asking if everything was ok. Don't forget I only spent 59p originally. With EE I am spending £30 a month and they can't even be bothered answering the bloody phone!!! And when they do they are useless!!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Kevin Johnson at 16:19 on 2 May 2015

    **WARNING**PLEASE READ BEFORE SIGNING UP TO EE**WARNING**

    My flatmate and I recently decided to sign up to EE Home Broadband and EETV. We were of course very interested in such a competitively priced TV and entertainment package.
    Having spoken to a couple of friends, who had heard very negative comments about EE in general, I was a little wary so had a look online, including this very Facebook page, to see what the feedback was. I saw mostly angry customers voicing their frustration online, seemingly due to them being unable to get anywhere with EE's customer services.
    I always take online social media comments with a huge pinch of salt, and I figured we had a 50/50 chance in things working out so decided to trust in what we had been told by the store salesperson and went ahead.
    Well I can only say I truly wish I had trusted my own instict and stayed away.
    We are now over 3 weeks with no broadband whatsoever. You get told that you will be up and running within 10 days of activation, and that you may experience an 'intermittent service' during that time. So far we have had nothing at all!
    I work from home, and my flatmate also runs a small company from home too so the internet is vital to our day to day work activities. This is of course not EE's problem, and 10 days without service relying on our mobile data was something we were prepared to do, however over 3 weeks without it has now resulted in us having to pay a lot of extra money to repeatedly increase our mobile data.
    During this ordeal, we have made repeated calls to EE's customer service line. We have managed to successfully speak with them 8 times. Numerous other calls were made but after waiting for an average of 40 minutes, and on a couple of occasions over one hour, we had to give up.
    Of the 8 conversations, 5 were with the technical team, who each time went through the same checks and advised that for some reason our account was 'locked' and they needed to submit a work order to another team. The first person advised that it will be unlocked and working within 48 hrs. 2 days later the next person advised word for word the same thing, only this time it would be working in 24 hours. 1 day later, another person repeated the very same info and advised it will be unlocked and working in 4 days! 5 days later we were advised the account was for some reason locked, but they will submit a work order to another team and it will be unlocked and working in 48 hours!!!
    That was 3 days ago, and I have now been speaking daily with the cancellation team, as they seem to answer their phones, asking for our contract to be cancelled as we no longer have faith that EE are doing anything to fix this. I was also then told that they had set up the account incorrectly in the first place.
    I have explained all the above to 3 different people in the cancellation department now and literally pleaded to cancel the contract as they have completely breached their side of it by providing us with no broadband and absolutely no service whatsoever. They had also said we wouldn’t be charged, however they HAVE taken the payment from us for a service we are not getting access to.
    I am now being told that even though EE have provided no services whatsoever we would have to pay a cancellation fee to come out of the contract. Clearly a very clever way of taking money from people for nothing in return.
    The current status with our account is that we have to wait another 3 days for them to ‘speak with BT’ to see what is wrong. This is after another 2 and a half hours on the phone this afternoon to them.
    I believe that our experience is not a one off, and is in fact very common but I guess most people prefer to just pay the fee to be rid of them. I think that the way we have been treated by EE has been utterly disgraceful. I cannot believe that in 2015 a company can be allowed to operate like this, and I truly hope that more people might stand up to air their full and honest experiences here with the aim of saving many people time and money in the future.
    If you are, like I was, feeling 50/50 feeling about signing up, GO WITH A DIFFERENT PROVIDER! Unless you are prepared for the amount of time you will need to spend on hold, or repeating the same checks over and over again.
    I genuinely wish I had never started this process and will NEVER have anything to do with this company again.
    I work in customer service myself and am utterly appalled by the lack of care or interest EE shows to their customers. I have requested to speak to a customer services manager but they will not put me through. I have requested call backs but nobody ever calls back. I have been hung up on 3 times, and not through myself being aggressive. As I mentioned, working in customer service I understand that it is not the fault of the person on the other end of the phone, so have remained perfectly polite throughout.
    This experience has caused nothing but stress, time wasting, additional costs and possible loss of earnings due to being unable to work as normal.
    I have successfully stopped 1 person from signing up with EE already, and I truly hope that this information helps others in moving away from EE.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by ben at 23:48 on 1 May 2015

    Further to my previous review post I am now unhappy to report that after 2 months of messing about I finally have my superfast fibre connection that I signed up for...oh wait, no it's actually ADSL and..gosh...2Mb download speed....what a joke...EE is absolutely atrocious...AVOID AT ALL COSTS.....never should have switched from Plusnet.....pure snake oil

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by valcus at 23:30 on 1 May 2015 | registered | 2 posts

    just so so unhappy!!...they are rubbish

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Sarah Callingham at 09:26 on 1 May 2015

    Avoid EE at all costs.

    Was absolutely fine, great internet speeds and never needed to ever call them...until we decided to move.

    I read on their website it could take 4 weeks, so we let them know long in advance. Finally got the switch over date to be middle April. They said we'd be connected that day as they'd sent out an engineer to connect it that morning. Midnight came and went, no internet. Called the next day to ask why and after a while on the phone with non english people that could barely understand me, it seemed like they'd sent the engineer to the OLD address, although they denied that when we quizzed them later. On hold for 50 mins with no answer, being hung up on. These are all the things you'll expect from an EE customer call centre.

    On one occasion we were told we were out of contract so tried to cancel and then they gave us a MUCH cheaper deal if we signed up for another 18 month contract which did tempt us, so we said we'd call them back after we'd through about it. Decided we'd rather go somewhere that actually gave us good customer service even though it was such a cheaper deal, and they then denied we were out of contract and tried to get us to pay £100 for breaking contract and £30 for deactivating the service. I wish we'd just cancelled straight away as they couldn't have done anything about it then rather than going away to think about it. So we're stuck for another 6 months.
    After getting nowhere they explained that the bt engineer had to come out again, suprise suprise (because in their error they'd sent one to the old address before) giving no real reason to us at all, and he's just finished today, so I called them and said we should get internet before midnight tonight now? (as that's what they said on their website) and the guy in the home love department said no, it's booked in for 15th of this month. After asking why we had to wait another 2 weeks as we had a phone line now, he finally had to agree with me, and put a request in for tomorrow. I doubt we'll get it though, as they promised we'd get it middle of April and still nothing.

    For all you people who are stuck in contract, EE have 30 days legally to connect you so if it's been longer than 30 days they've broken contract and you can get out for free. They told us this when we tried to leave, so they conveniently put the connection date on day 29 (middle of May) of us having no internet. How convenient!

    Also to stop loads of waiting time we got a direct number to home move which has no hold time at all. It's 02890446554.

    Avoid EE at all costs, the cheaper prices are not worth the hassle. We didn't plan to move but circumstances made us and now we've been without internet for half a month because of their incompetencies.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by tim at 20:22 on 28 Apr 2015

    ee what a joke they should be closed down for being not fit for purpose appaling customer service palmed me off with no broadband and crackling phone line for 3 weeks and still no closer to being fixed so cancelled as out of contract and stopped direct debit avoid these clowns at all cost just read every email here they all say the same thing it some shape or form

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by valcus at 04:09 on 26 Apr 2015 | registered | 2 posts

    Ohhh gawd ..I am now past my 14 day cool off period & my broadband has dropped from 17 to below 8 ...surely if everyone is right something should be able to be done?

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA