« back to EE

EE Reviews | Page 10

  • neutral

    by Jon O'Connor at 15:43 on 4 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    After being an Orange mobile customer for many years, the changeover to EE has done me no favours; I originally was sold the deal on the basis of an additional 2nd line, plus broadband option.
    My mobile fees are now uncompetitive - and I've been fobbed off when trying to discuss an overdue phone upgrade; I've been told that my 2nd line service is now discontinued (with no change in fees); EE in recent weeks have been pestering me to offer a (more expensive) broadband option than I have now found with TalkTalk - installed and working within hours of the promised service time.
    And just to cap things off nicely - EE charge £30 for me to leave their service.
    Not likely to be a recommendation from me, then.

  • unhappy

    by vicky at 12:14 on 27 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    i am disgusted with EE, i joined EE broadband, when the day came to set me up, no turned up, i rung them saying my internet wasnt on because they had to put a phone line in, they turned round and said to me, you have already been connected, "what"? no one has bin here, no they got the wrong address, so they rearranged it i had to wait another 2 weeks for the guy to come out and fit my phone line in, all done and fitted....no internet again EE told me i would have to wait another 7 days for my internet to come even tho i have bin waiting 4 weeks. i cancelled everything they told me i would get £60 for all the hassle, i am still waiting for that money, been lied to over the phone about it, they even told me the bank could do something so i rung the bank and they even told me they were liein. am so mad, am sat here getting told aload of lies, telling me i wil get my money!!! EE are terrible. they took my bank details expecting money to go in, rung them up, no bank details on there they never even put them on the system.

  • happy

    by Michael Mulling at 11:18 on 27 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    I am a EE mobile customer so took advantage of the discounts on offer for home broadband. I chose the £5 a month, free for 6 months offer. I had friendly service on the phone from EE, and the usual set up times. I was changing from BT because of terrible service and speeds I got from them, usually around 2-4 mb download speeds ( I'm miles away from exchange) ,more often than not, it's was 2mb.

    I received the router on the day of activation which wasn't quite what the lady had said and set up was easy peezy. I've had it now 4 months now and have to say I am over the moon. I get a very consistent 4.81 down speed and it rarely fluctuates. I've had no problems and surf unlimited with no slow down or throttling. I've recommended to all my friends that were on T mobile and one in particular is happy too, he gets between 11-16mb download and no problems.

    I am so happy that I've ordered their fibre broadband for my other home which promises my line of 60 mb download. Obviously the nature of broadband can differ countrywide and even home to home. It all uses the same telecommunications network which is serviced by BT OPENREACH. I just happy I signed up!!!

  • unhappy

    by Vince at 23:11 on 24 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    I switched to EE ADSL Broadband on the 22nd of February after being talked into it by T-Mobile (my mobile provider) and I have to say that after such a short time, I am confident in saying it was a huge mistake. Different from other in the beginning, but the same issues later on. At the time of signing up I was told my line would be set at 9.5 meg download. Since then I have been pulling my hair out. As we are all aware, as a new customer we go through a 10 day stabilisation period to determin the most reliable speed our line can cope with. During those 10 days I had to move my router and factory reset it endless times as I kept disconnecting from the Internet on average 8 times a day, and the download speed was slower than my upload speed. Anyway, after the 10 days, I had monitored my speeds and 'loss of signal' to find that nothing had changed, my speeds were still all over the place and my Router had recorded over 23,000 Error seconds and a loss of signal 57 times. I called EE and after an hour talking to them, I lost my patience and told them I will give them 48 hours to sort it. After finishing the call I had a BT Engineer booked for two days later within 1 minute of hanging up. BT guy arrives and does all the usual checks and says I have a very good quality line with hardly any noise at all. He also told me I'm only 1.4km away from the exchange and can easily expect around 11meg Download within 3 days. Well 1 week later and my Ping is over 300ms download around 1.5 and Upload around 0.48 so I called EE and demanded an answer - and annoyingly according to them, I am once again in the stabilisation period. So I asked them why my estimated speed of 4.5 (but anywhere between 3.5 and 5.5) was so low considering I was so close to the exchange. I was told that my speed is capped. I asked if that was to compensate for other EE customers who were further from the exchange, and he said no. I asked where the rest of my bandwidth was and all he would say is 4.5 is the speed I'm allocated. Anyway. I have agreed to sit out the remainder of the stabilisation period and also made it perfectly clear that if my speeds fluctuate at all, I will be moving to a new broadband provider and EE will be billed for anything over and above my current monthly cost to them of £19. Apparently Sky have a ratio of 200-1 and Orange (EE) have a ratio of 50-1 so effectively my broadband should be al best 4 times better than Sky? Wrong! Sky speeds weren't fantastic, but I could stream a video on my iPad, use my Xbox for online gaming and Two Laptops all at the same time and never have an issue, but with EE I can hardly load a YouTube video on my iPhone without it buffering - so to sum it up.... I should never of moved from Sky. Saying that, if my speeds do drop after the 10th day, then I'm off back to sky for my broadband. More expensive, but that will be EE's problem, not mine.

  • neutral

    by gary young at 15:02 on 13 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    Sick to death of poor customer service from talk talk now my contract had finished i decided to call EE on 4th March, lovely lady very polite all seems brilliant, im a tmobile mobile customer so nice little saving. On the call his lady said it can take upto 10 working days for everything to change and your router will be with you within 5 working days. Next day 5th March a email saying thanks for joining all the usual stuff and at the bottom what happens next it says again we will have your phone line AND broadband up and running within 10 working days. All good so far. Today 13th March after a few emails over the last few days regarding direct debits and more thanks for joining there is one with account login details to track my order ect and another with your statement is available which i was happy was £0.00 or would have been worried. Anyways 8 days since placing my order no router, so i think ok slight delay and take a look at the track my order part on the account pages and it says order processed expected completion 18th March and this is where i thought hang on that dates ok but no router yet think i will give them a quick call. Before this i thought i read a few reviews with are very 50/50 with some ov the negatives starting with same situation as wat seems to have happened with me but most moaning about orange and i just think arh EE pretty new few teething issues alot ov resonable reviews some great i dnt mind waiting a few days but will call them anyway just to make sure the router was coming and all was ok. So heres were my doubts start. Call is answered quickly once i got through the options as i called from 150 on my mobile. Nice fella ok i will check for you sir no problems, I have tracked the router and it was dispatched yesterday and should be with you next tuesday, so i just asked why the lady who took my order said it wud be sent straight away and with me within 5 days meaning i shud ov had it yesterday max. Oh well i can see ur order was proccesed on the 11th so i said thats 5 days after i ordered, so when will it be on, well ur phone line will be on the 20th thats equal to 10 working days fair enough but 2 days longer than my online account says then it will take 7 to 10 days AFTER that to switch on ur broadband. So as u can imagine i asked few question and he really had no idea and just said thats the time scale nothing we can do to speed it up. I may be being a bit preworried and all could be fine but whats the point in saying something to a wanna be new customer then not sticking with or even letting them know. Im now a little worried this is gonna be 12 months ov another bad experience as i had with talk talk and whats more worrying is the women who took my order said you have 7 days to change your mind without penalty once your accounts set up so if thats from the day its processed then that is going to fall on the day my phone line is activated and im not even gonna know what the broadbands like. Everything may turn out ok but some reviews and how its panning out so far have me little on edge i wish i had taken more time to read reviews but i was so sick ov talk talks service i didnt want to give them another penny. I plan on keeping every letter, email ect as if this goes bad i will fight that i had no way to get out before it even began

  • unhappy

    by RA123 at 21:37 on 8 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    I have been with EE for 4 months now. My package deal is unlimited broadband and BT phone line, free evening & weekend calls etc.When I signed up, I was told I would not have to pay the £30 connection fee, get the first three months free, but I would have to pay for the engineer visit for £60, router was free also.

    It all started the first week after I signed up with EE. I was contacted by phone by a customer rep who told me that my engineer visit would have to be delayed by a week, and that I had been offered the wrong package deal (the cost per month) because I do not have an orange mobile so infact it would be £5 more per month. I told them what I agreed to and I have heard nothing of this since.

    The first engineer arrived from Kelly engineers and set up my phone line, but he messed it up, and I did not have a steady connection to the internet and my phone line was very noisy and static for two weeks until a BT open reach engineer came out and (apparently) fixed this. Well, I found out two days ago that it was not fixed, when I plugged a new phone in and my internet instantly disconnected and has been doing so regularly for the past two days and the crackling in the phone line started again. So I am now waiting for an engineer to come out and hopefully fix this.

    I was happy for the first short while, Internet speed has never been a problem it has always been at around 16mbps. That was until I looked at my online statement in the first month to see that I had received a charge for £29 (monthly charge). I thought this was a mistake as I was told I would get the first three months free, so I called up the customer support, and after around 40 mins of waiting on the phone (it has been this long a wait every time I have phoned), I spoke to someone in India I am presuming. After explaining the situation I was transferred to the customer service department who basically told me that I was going to have to pay that charge but the next three months I would get free. I told them flat out, No. I was not paying it as I was told I would get the FIRST three months free not just any months they decided to pick and chose. I then spoke to a supervisor (I think), who told me that the charge would go through but I would get the money back. I told her that I would receive a bank charge as I did not have the money in that account, so I told her I would remove the direct debit, and after the date, phone up and set it all up again. I was told I would get no charges for this and that everything was sorted. The woman told me that she had put all this into the notes on my account.

    So, a while passed, into the next month I received a call one evening while I was eating dinner, from a customer rep in the collections dept from EE who asked me if I was aware that my account balance was at £159 and would I like to make the payment now. After I stopped choking on what was a really nice dinner, I asked her to explain all the charges on the account. And the charges were £60 engineer visit, £30 connection fee, two x monthly charge at £29, two x £2 late payment fee and the phone call bill. I explained what happened previously with the customer reps and asked her to read the notes on my account, and she informed me that the customer rep that I spoke to the previous month had written on the notes that I had infact AGREED to pay the monthly charge when this was completely untrue, I had never agreed. I asked to speak to a manager, because I wanted to put in a formal complaint. It took me a while as I was told she was unavailable a certain number of times, but eventually I got the manager on the phone. I explained the situation, and I was informed that she would have to trace the calls to make sure that I was told I would not have to pay the £30 connection fee, but she was happy to remove the 2 x £29 monthly charges and the 2 x £2 late payment fees. As I was putting in a formal complaint, I told her that I would not be making any payments towards the account (£60 engineer visit) until the complaint had been closed and the charges removed from the account. The manager seems ok with this and I was told that someone would be in touch within 10-14 days so I was expecting the charges to be removed and in that time, someone would be in touch and I would make the payments as I had agreed.

    Five days later, I realized that I had no internet connection. I phoned up EE and after another 40 min wait, I was told that my line had been disconnected because of non payment. I asked to get transferred to the customer service department, and I asked for the manager (she gave me her name in the previous call). I was told that she was either on a long break or in a meeting, the lady was not sure, but she told me she would leave a note on her desk asking her to contact me, and that she would call before 9pm that night as that was when she finished so she would definitely call me back that night. I waited, no call, so I decided to call back at 7pm, and was informed that the manager had went home. I asked when be a good time to call back tomorrow, what time did she start tomorrow, I was told a time so that is what I done. Again another wait on the phone, finally got a customer rep, who told me that the manager was on her lunch break. I got fed up at this point as I had called when I was told that she started her shift. I was now very stressed because of everything going on and because I felt that at the time, action had been taking at the back of my complaint and I was not informed about it or agreed to close the complaint. I told the rep that I if I did not speak to the manager today, I would have to contact the telecommunications ombudsman as I felt EE were not keeping to their agreement or complying with complaints procedures and I was now without internet because of problems that EE had caused. About 20 mins later the manager called me back, who told me infact they were just going to clear all the charges, forget about tracing the calls to find out if I had to pay the £30 connection fee, and that my balance was at £39 but I would have to check my online bills to see this charge and then call back and set up my direct debits, and she also connected my internet back up again. The reason I had been cut off was apparently because the system just recognizes that there was non payment and automatically disconnects me, which I accept might be the case.

    I am unable to check my statements online as it keeps saying 'error', but because of my phone line, I cant phone them up until the engineer has been out.

    I think its fair to say I haven't exactly been happy with EE. I honestly do not know if I would recommend them as I have been with other providers and never came across these problems before but then again, I never had such a high connection speed with any of them like I have with EE.

    I feel most of the customer representatives were helpful, nice and were polite to me, and the manager has always been polite and nice as well and I feel she has tried to help me with these problems. I understand that they just work there in the customer service departments and they do not always have control over what the computer systems will do, so I try to keep this in mind when I talk to them on the phone.

    I am hoping that these problems will be fixed soon as I would like to stay with them for the rest of my contract.

  • happy

    by Clive Poulton at 10:44 on 3 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    I am, according to the majority of posts in this thread, a happy EE customer. There are some highly vitriolic comments from some of the contributors to this thread, indeed some contributors seem to be so angry they could probably qualify for anger management therapy. This is a shame as one of the main functions of threads like these is to share user experiences and problems so that others may benefit from this shared knowledge. Getting so angry that your comments degenerate to unintelligible rantings does not help. I have been an internet user since 1998, starting with BT dial up. Since then I have used NTL, Virgin, PO and finally EE. All have had their problems, be it using Indian Call Centres through to what package your provider has contracted from BT (now Open Reach).

    I have over the many years of experience found that the biggest fly in the ointment is BT. You should understand that BT build the network and all the other ISP companies merely rent their services. BT (Open Reach) are not allowed to use their advantage as the network builder to provide a cheaper service than the companies that rent their services and Offcom was formed to "enforce' the rules. This situation has led to newer ISP's having what can only be described as teething problems with their service. I recall NTL having lots of problems because they were one if the first ISP's to offer cheaper line rental and call deals. I have no proof that BT "sabotaged" certain aspects of their service but as Talk Talk also experienced the same problems when they rolled out their deal I could but wonder wether there were some grounds for thinking this.

    I followed the instructions from EE and waited until they informed me that I could plug in and connect the router, which arrived a few days before receiving the email telling me it was OK to connect the new gear. I was informed that initial line speeds might be slow but would improve over the first ten days. I never experienced any line speed problems and was most pleased to find that my line speed was blisteringly fast from the start. My local exchange is Carmarthen, South Wales and other people I know in my area who have switched to EE have no negative experiences with their service.

    Most problems I have had with line speed have been fixed by checking Firewall settings on the computer and router and using a dedicated port for certain services like streaming, file sharing and gaming. Using selective ports is also known as 'port forwarding' and it is worth reading some of the many online guides about how to do this. I have also found that turning everything off for five minutes and then switching on the router followed by the computer has resulted in improved line speed.

    I do hope those with problems manage to get them sorted out, and don't forget that shouting and screaming down the phone is probably not the best way to get your problems resolved. My own experience with EE has been OK and I am inclined to say give them a try. If they do not perform as well as their advertising statements claim you can leave at any time as they are at fault by not honouring the terms they initially claimed. If you have any problems with a company representative trying to tell you that you can not leave politely ask for their name and the name of their line manager. If they do not give that info politely let them know that you will be putting it in your letter to offcom!

  • happy

    by Clive Andrew Poulton at 9:33 on 3 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    I am, according to the majority of posts in this thread, a happy EE customer. There are some highly vitriolic comments from some of the contributors to this thread, indeed some contributors seem to be so angry they could probably qualify for anger management therapy. This is a shame as one of the main functions of threads like these is to share user experiences and problems so that others may benefit from this shared knowledge. Getting so angry that your comments degenerate to unintelligible rantings does not help. I have been an internet user since 1998, starting with BT dial up. Since then I have used NTL, Virgin, PO and finally EE. All have had their problems, be it using Indian Call Centres through to what package your provider has contracted from BT (now Open Reach).

    I have over the many years of experience found that the biggest fly in the ointment is BT. You should understand that BT build the network and all the other ISP companies merely rent their services. BT (Open Reach) are not allowed to use their advantage as the network builder to provide a cheaper service than the companies that rent their services and Offcom was formed to "enforce' the rules. This situation has led to newer ISP's having what can only be described as teething problems with their service. I recall NTL having lots of problems because they were one if the first ISP's to offer cheaper line rental and call deals. I have no proof that BT "sabotaged" certain aspects of their service but as Talk Talk also experienced the same problems when they rolled out their deal I could but wonder wether there were some grounds for thinking this.

    I followed the instructions from EE and waited until they informed me that I could plug in and connect the router, which arrived a few days before receiving the email telling me it was OK to connect the new gear. I was informed that initial line speeds might be slow but would improve over the first ten days. I never experienced any line speed problems and was most pleased to find that my line speed was blisteringly fast from the start. My local exchange is Carmarthen, South Wales and other people I know in my area who have switched to EE have no negative experiences with their service.

    Most problems I have had with line speed have been fixed by checking Firewall settings on the computer and router and using a dedicated port for certain services like streaming, file sharing and gaming. Using selective ports is also known as 'port forwarding' and it is worth reading some of the many online guides about how to do this. I have also found that turning everything off for five minutes and then switching on the router followed by the computer has resulted in improved line speed.

    I do hope those with problems manage to get them sorted out, and don't forget that shouting and screaming down the phone is probably not the best way to get your problems resolved. My own experience with EE has been OK and I am inclined to say give them a try. If they do not perform as well as their advertising statements claim you can leave at any time as they are at fault by not honouring the terms they initially claimed. If you have any problems with a company representative trying to tell you that you can not leave politely ask for their name and the name of their line manager. If they do not give that info politely let them know that you will be putting it in your letter to offcom!

  • unhappy

    by calgontablet at 15:32 on 27 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Just don’t. Trust me. I know the prices may look tempting and you may even think: ‘well, EE, it’s Orange and T-Mobile, right? Can’t be bad, surely…”? Well, it is. It’s very bad. Very, very bad. To give you a complete outline of my experiences with this dire, dire outfit would take pages and, in fact, when I eventually had to complain to them in writing (as of today, there’s still no response), it took three and a half sides of A4 to outline.

    To cut a very long story short, I moved from SKY to EE because of the price. From the day the connection began, the speeds were awful. And I mean awful. Streaming was impossible. 5 days passed and things hadn’t improved. I contacted their customer service team. This is an adventure in itself. You’ll typically have to wait 40-50 minutes to speak to someone and, when you do, the friendly person in India will likely be about as useful as a condom vending machine in the Vatican.

    You’ll be told to give it 10 days and things will improve. You won’t be convinced.

    Indeed, here’s the big problem. According to EE’s policies, after 7 days of your router’s arrival, you’re compelled to stay with them for the twelve month contract. So, as I pointed out to the both their sales people and customer service agents, if, on day 11, things are still rubbish, I can’t leave.

    In fact, this was where things got a little nasty and I suddenly realised I wanted to cancel with these jokers, even if, as they claimed, my speeds would suddenly rocket. See, when I told them I wished to cancel (on day 6, now frustrated by their complete direness), they told me I couldn’t and that I was contracted to them now. Not only was this completely wrong - I ended up having to read the agent their own terms and conditions over the phone to which she said “where are you getting this from?” - but it was an unacceptable way to deal with a valid concern – it was basically: “well, so what if things are s—t? you’re stuck with us now like it or not.”

    Anyway, I arranged for BT to take over the line and EE, finally agreeing to let me move on the condition that I send the router back to them following the date of the switch-over, meant I’d have to stay with these cowboys for two and a half more weeks. Well, I thought, at least I’d be able to see whether things really do get speedier after 10 days whilst I wait for a company hopefully a tiny bit more professional to come along! So, after confirming that, EE gave the all-clear and all seemed fine.

    Except, things got even worse. Despite their promises and assurances, on day 8, just over a week after the connection went live, EE shut it down completely. One morning I’m on the internet and then…I’m not. I contact India again (40mins wait) and am told “you don’t have broadband with EE.” I’m then put through to the UK centre – without being told – to which I tell the entire tale to an agent there who informs me that, yes, they have cut my line off and they won’t be able to connect it again for 10 days and as their s—t, they’ll give me £30 for the error.

    What? Do EE double-up as stand-up comedians as well? I explain that my fiancé’s livelihood depends on an internet connection and we now have two and a half weeks without one. The man clearly doesn’t know what to say. I ask to speak to a manager. I’m told “he’s on holiday for two days,” and then he corrects this to “I mean, she’s on holiday…” but he promises me that this he or she will call me upon his or her return. Needless to say, he/she doesn’t, and, on Thu, I write a long, longer letter to their customer service team and their CEO. In fact, even the jiffy bag they said they’d send to me has never shown, and, as for the £30, I’d imagine that’s gone the same place as my internet connection.

    Just avoid them. They’re f-----g terrible. I can’t think of a single positive thing to say. For instance, pick up the phone now and call their technical support team. See how long you wait to get through. If that doesn’t discourage you, then hopefully what I’ve outlined in the above will.

    Yeah, they may be cheaper than some of the others, but why join such a dire setup? Give your money to someone else.

  • unhappy

    by Daniel at 22:45 on 25 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Been on orange from start when freeserve then wanadoo now EE if your thinking of joining don't you will regret it before it changed i tried to upgrade from 8mb to 20mb said 10 days nothing happened its very slow still think i am dial up from 6pm its bad come 9pm its throttled even in day or early hours of morning its poor just my dad wont change or id be gone

  • neutral

    by Richard at 21:53 on 25 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Few days ago had letter from Orange telling me they were stopping the free second line (plugs into livebox) which allowed us free calls (UK and overseas). sugeested look at their new deal and gave a web address which would give details. This did not recognise my phone number/postcode [first questions asked] and still fails to work several days later. Having read poor revies of the orange sysem when you aso rent the line with them I decided to move to BT since our line is with them and I liked the idea of their wifi hotspots. Orange give you a phone number to request the MAC code. Wow what a system! After pressing a few numbers to get broadband service I was connected to Customer service, 'why did I want to leave etc' and we need to ask some security questions. I was passed (with long delays at each step and listening to music to Cancellation Dept (same questions) to broadband team (questions!), back to cancellation to "wrong dept(regrade team) who did not even know what a MAC code was, to technical dept to customer service who finally said they would deal with it 55 min later. To add further insult someone phoned me this evening to ask why I was leaving. Can customer service be worse at BT? we shall see but it is hard to credit that any other company can match such incompetence. and do not start me on the rubbish speed we have been getting from Orange!

  • unhappy

    by Steve Gadd at 18:08 on 23 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    After a couple of years of paying lots for intermittent broadband I decided to change to BT (I know that's how desperate it is) only to get ridiculed by the 'person' on the EE cancellation team who could have easily talked me out of it but instead has firmly convinced me that I needed to get away from the worst service I've experienced since Sky, BT, Virgin etc (lets be honest they're all s**te).

    The attitude is generally one of childish bloody mindedness, well if we can't have you then we'll spit venom at you and make it as hard as possible for you to go else where. This simple cretin just couldn't grasp that I didn't want to go to BT but because EE were so crap I had no choice, and to add insult to injury he didn't know that BT were going to be a fraction of the cost for a higher level deal, and BT are grabbing gets!! what a moron.

    Rant over.

  • neutral

    by Manish at 11:42 on 23 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Rubbish speed..... before joining the EE they check my line and told me that will get 8Mb/s and after joining the EE hardly i am getting 2Mb/s..regarding this i try to call customer service and they r not helpfull...i already spend around £20 in my phone bill in just first 11days...the technical team told me that my line is supporting the speed....then how they check my line before i joined??? before joining EE i was getting minimum 6Mb/s with sky. so funny....don't go for EE..

  • unhappy

    by calgontablet at 10:52 on 18 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Don't join them. Just don't. Have just written the following to them:

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    In January 2013, I contacted EE broadband and arranged for my broadband connection, then with SKY, to be transferred over to EE. The reason for my decision was purely to do with price; EE offered a cheaper subscription package and I was happy to take advantage of it. I was given a date of Monday 11 February for the account to go active. On the morning of this date, my SKY account closed and, later in the evening, the EE broadband and phone account went live.
    From the outset, the quality of the broadband service was poor. As well as continuously cutting out, particularly during the mornings, the speeds were dire. My Lovefilm account, always working well with SKY, had now become unusable; even a film in standard quality was now completely unstreamable and when the broadband service did work, it was intermittent with a speed quality that was very sporadic. As my fiancé works from home, having a reliable internet service is imperative, and, had we not had assurance that EE didn’t ‘throttle’ and would come with unlimited downloads, I would never have considered joining. However, the difference in broadband service quality from SKY to EE was immediately noticeable.
    Contacting EE’s customer service is a difficulty in itself. On the three occasions I have tried to get through to technical support, always at different times of the day, I am relayed a message stating that they are very busy and I will have to wait a long time for help. On Friday 15th February, at about 21.45, after waiting for around forty minutes, I was routed to a call centre where a man answered the phone laughing. It took me a while to get his attention - hopefully you might have our exchange recorded – once he established there was someone on the other end, he put me on hold several times without explanation. I would have considered hanging-up and calling back to hopefully communicate with someone a little more professional, but, given EE’s queuing-time, this wasn’t really an option. After I outlined the problem, I was told that my connection would improve within 10 days. I told him, for reasons detailed below, that this wasn’t helpful, and that I wished to close the account and that I’d return the hardware. He wasn’t able to provide much help here and I eventually gave up, opting to call the customer service team the next day. I did request, however, that he log a note on my account about my request and I took his details accordingly.
    This ‘please wait 10 days’ isn’t an acceptable policy and here is why: if, after this timeframe, the quality of service has not improved, the customer is now tied in to a twelve month contract, regardless of whether they’re satisfied with it or not. Therefore, your ‘cooling-off’ period does not give the customer even a miniscule period in which to consider their options .
    Indeed, I contacted the customer service team and after promptly outlining my problems, I was told that:-
    • There was no record of my having contacted the technical team (interesting seeing as I’d asked your technical support people to make a note of my call, given that I’d established by this point how dire things are with EE)
    • I couldn’t cancel the account as I was now in a 12 month contract and would incur a lot of cancellation fees
    • The quality of the service would improve after 10 days
    Prior to calling the customer service dept, I’d also spoken to a lady in your sales department who had also outlined similar information to me. I explained to the second advisor that she was entirely wrong on two counts and the third - that my connection would improve - was not a gamble I was willing to take, especially given the experiences I had had with EE Broadband so far. She repeated that I was contracted to EE now, so I promptly read her EE’s broadband subscription policy which can be read yourselves on your own website http://help.ee.co.uk/.
    “Once your items are successfully delivered, you have a 14-day cooling off period. So, if you have a change of heart, you can cancel your purchase. More information about how this works will be included in your 'details about delivery' package. Broadband customers get a 7-day cooling off period to return their kit and cancel their plan. Remember that if you do cancel, you'll have to pay the postage costs of returning your items to us.”
    Indeed, as my ‘kit’ had arrived on the previous Monday and connection hadn’t taken place until the evening of that same date, we can fairly reach the conclusion that I had been lied to/misled by both a salesperson and a customer service rep at EE. In any case, even if a customer were outside their cooling-off period, how dare you offer that as a response to an individual who has endured such an appalling level of service from you? If the cooling-off period has expired and the quality of connection is still dire, do you really think it is acceptable to simply tell the customer that they’re now contracted to you for a year and they’ll therefore just have to endure the quality of service and ‘customer support’ they’ve so far received?
    After reading her EE’s own policies on cancellation, the girl I spoke to went off to speak to her ‘manager’ and things then became even more amateurish; she came back and asked where I’d got this information from and quickly told me that she’d shut my line down straight away and my broadband connection would be cut off with immediate effect. Shambolic. I later discover, after speaking to BT - who I’d earlier organised my account to transfer over to - that they wouldn’t be allowed to do this. I sincerely hope EE record telephone calls so you can listen to the four I have had with your staff over the past few days – you should be ashamed of yourselves and I sincerely think EE should take a hard look at their present drive of taking on new customers – even a quick search on the internet about your reputation and level of service from some of your recent new customers suggests that there are a huge proportion of people out there having major troubles with you.
    As mentioned, I have now contacted BT and set up an account with them. My new phone and broadband line will go active on March 6. Whilst I have no idea how important such a loss of custom is for you, I would like to make one final point: if your customer service team had been willing to put in writing that the quality of the service would improve after 10 days and that, if it had not, they would be willing to either rectify the problem or agree to cancel my contract, the matter could have been easily resolved. Instead, however, their “you’re locked into a contract now, there’s nothing you can do,” response is antagonistic, unprofessional and completely inappropriate (indeed, in my case, it was also clearly in breach of your own contractual terms and conditions). I would therefore request that this matter be investigated.

    Yours faithfully,

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 11:36 on 17 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Never again,. Slow speeds, disruption in service. Router keeps crashing, wireless only works if your laptop or phone is in the same room. keep ketting told to wait and let thing settle as in time will get better. Kept telling me this time and time again just to stall you from pulling out of the cooling period., Now a year in, no improvments, paying for someting I cannot use, tied to a 18 monthr contract. Calling them is a waste of time. Put through to an Indian call centre, where they read from scripts and there answers are not even related to what you ask. May well be taling to a machine. I had to give up the fight and put up in the end, now trapped for the whole contracts paying for something I cannot use, Do your self a favour, and avoid if you are thinking of joining.

    Update on this. after paying for an 18 month contract not getting what I paid for and very poor service and poor internet contract has come to an end. The cheeky guys want to charge a disconnnection fee too to add insult to injury paying more for a service never received after trying to get a MAC code. They were very rude and flippant when we were talking about the issues even laughing at the fact we had been scammed by poor service. I don't expect a reply form them regarding this though. Will be complaining to Offcom this week.

  • unhappy

    by Jim House at 21:32 on 16 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    I have been an EE broadband customer since the swap over from Orange a few months ago. Since that switch over we have had LOTS of problems with the broadband speed and the only way to try and resolve this was via the EE Customer Service number listed on their website. Getting connected to the CS centre is very difficult, most of the time I cannot get through as it's too busy and of course it's a premium number so I have spent a small fortune so far and still have rubbish connection speeds. AVOID EE like the plague - their customer service is unbelievably bad, and if you’re not happy with it you have to write a letter and put it in the post box!!

  • unhappy

    by KAE at 15:00 on 12 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    SO FAR SO s**t-WHY I LEFT SKY I DON'T KNOW I'VE HAD THE BROADBAND FOR A WEEK NOW AND STILL ONLY HAVE ABOUT 0.2 SPEED A VAST DIFFERENCE FROM THE PROMISED 12MEGS. HATE THEM THEY ARE WORSE THAN THE FREE BROADBAND FROM SKY

  • unhappy

    by Nidgster at 20:48 on 11 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    After two hours on the phone of asking for my MAC code so I can leave this provider, I have been told they will send it by email within the next 4 to 5 working days. Well I just hope so! Slow connection service, an overseas call centre who don't understand English are just a couple of the reasons why i'm leaving. I first tried to leave a few months back and was 'bullied into staying. Took five hours that day and didn't get a MAC code. Had to cancel my order. Last Saturday was final straw. I work as a market researcher and need to synce my data through my broadband connection. "internet connection failed" came up on the screen, the data lost in cyberspace - thanks a bunch ORANGE / EE (whatever you want to call yourself). The broadband market is poorly regulated. There seems too many unhappy people as far as broadband is concerned. I know some people have a grudge against a company and blog several times. Just go on plusnet reviews to see that. However I'm trying Plusnet for a year - see if they're any better.

  • happy

    by Jags at 15:31 on 11 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    As an original Orange BB customer on 8meg connection, we decided to upgrade to the EE fibre 80meg service. BT engineer installed the kit and made sure the BB was working before he left - took less than an hour. Can't complain about the speed or the provided service, however, I can sympathise with those who have had issue with EE customer/technical services - they are diabolical.

  • Matt Powell - EditorEditor - Matt Powell

    by Matt Powell at 13:29 on 6 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    @Shane Parkins

    Run some speed tests over the next week or two, and if your speed continues to fall significantly lower than the estimate you were given on joining you should write to EE.

    Start off by asking them to check for a fault. If they are unable to find anything or improve your speed, ask them to either offer you a better deal or end your contract without penalty. Many providers are signed up to Ofcom's voluntary code of practice which says they agree to give you a lower price or end your contract if the speed you receive is significantly lower than the figure quoted when it was sold.

    If you don't get any joy this way, write a complaint to Ofcom and the ombudsman, which in EE's case is CISAS.

  • unhappy

    by Shane Parkins at 11:30 on 6 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    I have been told that my average speed is 0.7mps and they cannot increase it yet being sold it at 2.5mbps

    Absolute joke of a company EE Broadband Reviews

  • neutral

    by Brian de Snail at 11:24 on 5 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    I feel I have to add a further warning about this company. I ascertained there would be no cancellation charge when I left them well after my initial contact was up. Indeed not. But they tell me I have to pay a 'disconnection charge' of a few pence under £30! At what point does playing with words become stinking cheating? Never in a million years will I go back to them.

  • neutral

    by Chris Harris at 21:51 on 2 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Moved from Sky since their prices kept creeping up. After 4 days of total incompetence and lying on EE's part I've left and gone back to Sky for cheaper. The speed is slower than what I had with Sky, the router isn't all that good considering its a "n" standard. After 16:30 the internet basically becomes unusable for anything other than reading a few websites... if you want to download anything or watching Lovefilm/Netflix etc, wait till the morning. What really annoyed me was the sheer amount of crap the technical support spew... and since I work in IT myself, I know the difference. If you like to use your internet at night, STEER CLEAR

  • unhappy

    by yaku at 11:44 on 29 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    21st century broadband but I am getting lower speed then dial up connection slower then I used to have in 2002-2003. I ordered like before Chirsmas 2012 they said its going to take more then 10 days just to have my phone line even I already had working one in my home. Ok then it took another week to get my broadband almost end of month Jan 2013 still getting dial up connection. And you know waht evertime when i call the customer service it takes half an hour to reach and they cut u off.....and they do not bother to call you back..Also on 21th Jan we had a chat they couldn't fix our problem remotely so they said they will send enginners on 24th Jan from noon to 3pm and they didn't even bother to turn up neither they phoned to say that they couldn't come how disgussting. And since then I tried to call many times again same story .........They are not motivated to say sorry or they would come fix the line but they cut you off on middle of conversession. What a dessaster. DO NOT MAKE MISTAKE............... EE bradband crap ..........

  • neutral

    by Brian de Snail at 11:22 on 23 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    My not-yet-final experience with this ghastly company has been typical. I am trying to cancel my deal, well after the locked-in contract period. It has taken me two days of attempts to get anyone to answer at customer services (on hold, at my expense, of course). I am giving them a month's notice. Finally I got through, and was told that their notice period is exactly two weeks, and if I attempt to give more than two weeks they will cut me off early. So they expect me to go through all this again, exactly two weeks to the day before the cut-off date I want. They are totally inflexible and typically unhelpful on this. Never get involved with this company.

  • happy

    by Jim hedgehog at 16:17 on 22 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    Has no one got anything good to say about EE?
    they connected me up today and i must say 'simply excellent'
    650 download speed well impressed, i have only just moved in to this area but my previous max speed was 200

    i like it very much

  • neutral

    by Abdul Moore at 12:51 on 20 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    Do not switch to any ee package. Toatly incompetent. I signed up beginning of December and to this day I have no broadband or working phone line. I have rang and asked and they inform me there a fault with the main terminal. They seem unable to deal with this problem.
    STEER WELL CLEAR.

  • unhappy

    by hquk at 19:50 on 19 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    WORST PROVIDER EVER!!! They throttle youtube, iplayer, netflix!!! Throttling is one thing, but throttling to the point that you cannot even stream 240p is A JOKE!!!!!! I was with 02 before, I am defo going back!!!! This is an absolute JOKE!!! I only signed up to prevent others making the mistake i did.

  • unhappy

    by jands at 19:01 on 13 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    Avoid EE at all costs. I was connected to Broadband with them on 8 Jan and have signed back up with Sky now on 13th January. The speeds are worse than dial up and even although they say this will change in 10 days( too late for the cooling off period to cancel contract) the Customer Service is the worst I have ever come across. It appears to me they have a large amount of phone operators who talk to the customers and take them through a series of pre determined questions then when that does not solve the problem they have to shout for the attention of perhaps ONE person who does know about broadband and computing. You can actually hear them all shouting in the background trying to ask their question, trying to be heard,and you can eventually hear what the man says to the telephonist and then the telephonist repeats it to you... and so it goes on and on and on and on and on and on............
    . I wouldnt care if they had the fastest speed in the world because I could not go through that experience again in the customer service Dept
    AVOID !

  • unhappy

    by Zee at 9:49 on 9 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    I have signed up to EE unlimited phone and broadband in October. I mOved from fantastic Bethere to Orange. It's January now and my maximum download speed is 0.2mbps and upload if higher 0.3mbps. They have been trying to sort out my speed since October and keep sending BT openreach engineers. 3 visits so far and still not much difference. I have yesterday asked them for my MAC code in order for me to switch to BT infinity 76mbps unlimited. BT is expensive but I believe they will be much better then EE. Steer away from EE.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: