« back to EE

EE Reviews | Page 11

  • unhappy

    by Griff at 15:25 on 24 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    I have been a customer of Orange, now EE, for nearly ten years, which included use of the anytime VOIP phone. Towards the end of November. I placed an order for my account to be upgraded to the EE package that included unlimited braodband, anytime + calls to mobiles, and also to switch my landline from BT to EE. From that date until the present, EE's handling of my order and their customer service has been a catalogue of disaster.
    The first thing they did after a week was to prematurely cut off my original VOIP phone service, and they explained that had been a mistake, also that they had lost my order, so the new phone service would be delayed. I rang a week later to check progress, only to be told they had again made an administrative mistake and my order for the landline had not been processed. I emailed a complaint and was rung by a lady claiming to be a complaints manageress, who said she would sort things out, but the landline would be a further two weeks, but would be switch by 21st Dec at the latest. That did not happen, and I still am having to pay BT for calls I would otherwise have had free. They say it will now be a further 10 days after Christmas before I get the line.
    In the light of my experience, which seems far from unique, I suggest anyone thinking of moving to EE changes their mind and uses another provider.
    Obviously EE has over sold its ability to deliver, so I am contemplating making a complaint to Stading Standards about misleading advertising.

  • happy

    by Clive Poulton at 12:11 on 14 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    Update on my experiences with EE

    I have been an EE customer for about a month. When I signed up by telephone I was given the opportunity to ask questions about the service I was likely to get from EE. As a prolific down and up loader I naturally wanted to establish what speeds and data limits I would receive. I was assured that I would receive up to 800kb/s down and up to 250kb/s up.

    I was informed that it would take up to 14 days for the line to be 'optimised' for best speeds and that up and down speed might be very slow at first. This was indeed true, the initial speeds were frighteningly slow as described by other EE customers in this thread. I was also informed that once the 'optimisation' was complete there would be no limit to the amount of data up or down and that the speed would remain the same 24/7.

    I can now confirm that this has turned out to be completely true and that both up and down speeds are blisteringly fast for my location. I hope I do not have the experiences that have befallen others, so far so good!

  • unhappy

    by Miles at 10:04 on 14 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    We've been with Orange for about 18 months and experienced no issues. We could even stream movies direct from LoveFilm and more recently Netflix. Since the EE merge the service has been intermittently on par with dial-up. Now and again I do actually get broadband speeds. The timing of all of the problems seems quite clear to me. But not to EE. You phone up customer services and they follow the usual script. The last time they wanted to reset my router to the default (thus wiping out all settings, passwords, and mac addresses). Of course I declined. They then suggested replacing the ADSL filter. I did this since I had a spare to hand. This made no difference. I'm not investing any more time with them and have signed up with BT again.

  • unhappy

    by Sissi at 22:49 on 13 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    I joined EE through TMobile 2 weeks ago. They sent me a USB Key to get a mobile broadband which finally didn't allow me to stream and watch simple short video, use Skype or even listen to the radio online. They then gave me a router saying that it would be better bla bla bla. The whole thing is a nightmare. I can't even surf on Internet properly. I then discovered that I will be charge an extra £3 per day if I go beyond my allowance which is only 1 giga byte. I was quite surprised to hear that as I never been told that when I took the contract by phone. When I try to speak to a manager to complain - I called maybe 6 times in one day- they told me that 'if I was not happy I should cancel the contract'. I am very upset and shocked at the way TMobile deals with its customers. That's a shame!

  • neutral

    by sbdeco at 19:54 on 13 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    UPDATE to 6 Dec entry below: EE asked me to suggest a specific time for them to phone me. I have given them two 2 hour time slots and they have not phoned me in either. Thank goodness I have mobile broadband as back up when, every evening, EE becomes NA for me – Nothing Anywhere. I will update.

  • neutral

    by Alex at 23:06 on 11 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    Am going to dump BT (Bombay Telecom!) in January.

    The above comments have been ever so useful. Hutchison group have proved to be a pain in the ar*e in the past, so I will be keeping well clear of EE.

    If they didn't upset customers, they wouldn't need to change their name. Says it all!!

  • neutral

    by sbdeco at 11:10 on 7 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    I should add that the reason I now want EE to phone me is so that they can arrange for somebody qualified to sort the problem to speak with me (see posting below). Each time I phone them I have to get through layers of deflection. They continue refusing to deal with any matter by email.

  • neutral

    by sbdeco at 10:02 on 7 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    UPDATE to 21 Nov entry below: I have now been with EE (formerly Orange) for over two months. Every evening the speed becomes so slow that I cannot download web pages and EE have failed to remedy the situation. They do not answer questions and refuse to give me a time range when they will phone me about it. I have already spent hours phoning them going through the same irrelevant details over and over again.

  • unhappy

    by Ultimark at 23:20 on 5 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    Signed up to EE broadband a fortnight ago. 19.99 L/R & unlimited broadband @ 18mb P/S. a great offer I thought to myself...not great I'm afraid to say. When ordered I was advised it would take 3-5 working days to Receive new router & would be contacted before or just after notifying me that the connection has been activated. Well 11 days later my router turns up. Unboxed the very basic router, which boldly states "plug me in when we've told you your broadband is ready" so I wait! 14 days pass & surprise surprise I've been cut off. I was notified by my previous ISP that they require a 14 day notice. So EE have failed in every way possible for me at the moment & they have already issued me a statement for the first month. I've yet to speak to any representatives yet. But I think I might as well just cancel & go back to BT :(

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 17:43 on 4 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    EE are absolutely HORRENDOUS. So, we've had £5/m Orange Broadband for years because it was cheap, it recently switched to EE and then we fancied the Fiber broadband. Ordered it, the box came and we got a date for the setup.

    We get told that we will be able to have the box wherever we want, so instead of the living room, we ask for it to be a few feet away in the hall - wouldn't do it! Then we ask if he will just set it up where it is, on the floor in the living room. He said he can of course do that, but needs to DRILL IT TO THE WALL?? For HEALTH AND SAFETY?! Are you kidding me? If we want a router on the floor, behind a sofa and coffee table we damn well will!!! We just had the whole house redecorated and I'm not having some amateur drilling things into my walls.

    He then had to ring his brother for advice on what to do, what the actual F***? And then went on to tell us that they didn't send us the right wire so it couldn't be set up anyway.

    So, on the phone to EE, got put on hold for 30 minutes, then some horribly rude lady told us we couldn't cancel or change anything (WRONG! Statutory right to cancel within 14 days!!) Unlucky for her though, she had left her mic on loud and her manager heard how rude she was. We said we wanted to cancel the fiber broadband, not the £5/month broadband, yet then put us through to cancellations for the whole thing?!

    Needless to say, an official complaint has been made, I expect all of the money back from them and will definitely be finding another provider ASAP.

    We also found out from the (Stupid) set up guy that apparently we were supposed to set up most of it ourselves, and that EE are the only company that don't offer full set up!

    I'm going for PlusNet, and as soon as my phone contract runs out I'm getting away from EE completely! They were never like this when they were Orange.

  • happy

    by Craig at 19:44 on 3 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    Internet is too slow and it doesn't work. BUT I LIKE IT! AHL TAK THAT!

  • happy

    by Clive Andrew Poulton at 10:13 on 1 Dec 2012 Report abuse

    I have to report that so far I have not had any problems with EE. I am a recent new customer having given up on the Post Office which got so bad I began to refer to it as Post Orifice. My upload speed has gone from 37.5 kB/s to 120 kB/s. Download speed is around 700 kB/s, which is what I used to get with the Post Office until they started throttling the speed, which is why I left.

  • unhappy

    by Sameer Khosla at 15:06 on 30 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    EE have the worst imaginable customers service, keeping you waiting for over an hour, constantanly passing me between handlers, and worse still pretending they cant hear you on the phone when you say you want to cancel. I was stubborn and stayed on the line as they cant hang up, and eventually they had to speak to me. I was calling to tell them my Internet service was very slow and i would like more time beyond the 7 days trial period to test the service (they say it takes 10 days for speed to optimise, yet only give you 7 days to cancel). Eventually told them i will cancel as i dont ever want this customer experience again rather than have an extension. The previous call i made was worse than this one - i was disturbing an office party at a call centre in India no-one wanted to talk to me and the advisor was being harrased to hurry up and Party (i understand Hindi and understood clearly) awful experience

  • unhappy

    by mark buckley at 18:32 on 29 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    EE customer service is the worst i've experienced. before orange OK now cannot get through. i don't think there is even anyone there. i will be moving when the contract finishes. really displeased customer. Yes EE, i am a customer. i pay money for your service!

  • neutral

    by Chris at 22:24 on 28 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    Orange broadband has been ok for the last few years, we have had 'free' broadband linked to a mobile account. This recently stopped, which is fair enough. I signed up for a contract to continue over the phone as the deals were still cheaper than most and the BB was unlimited which I require for my business.
    Since ee took over the customer services has gone to pot, from being nice and helpful (to a degree)
    I've just spent over an hour waiting to get through, and been cut off. Not a happy customer, and will be moving mobile and broadband and landline away at soonest opportunity. Tired of wasting my time to save a few pounds a month.

  • neutral

    by sbdeco at 18:44 on 21 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    Every late afternoon / early evening and at weekends, my EE broadband, which delivers no more than 2Mbps at the best of times, becomes so slow that I cannot download internet pages. This is even the case if I have only one device attempting to access the web via EE. After failing to resolve the matter over a period of nearly 7 weeks, EE are now implying that if I don’t like it I can leave, but it will cost me “a cancellation fee of £61.70 as you are still within your 12-month contract”. I have suggested that it is they who are in breach of contract.
    I will update.

  • neutral

    by sbdeco at 19:47 on 20 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    Before signing up to EE broadband I suggest it would be a good idea to read the reviews at Orange broadband.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: