« back to Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews | Page 11

  • unhappy

    by pamela16 at 18:12 on 14 Aug 2012 Report abuse

    My migration to Plusnet was messed up taking a week to resolve as Plusnet didn't raise the problem with Openreach correctly. On dealing with their complaints department, they do not read correspondence correctly, they have lied, they can be patronising and I have found them extremely unhelpful. Will move to someone else as soon as contract up.

  • unhappy

    by Marian Burbage at 16:07 on 11 Aug 2012 Report abuse

    Do not bother with Plusnet, My mother's phone line was disconnected due to none payment, My stepdad had passed away and his account was frozen. I tried to pay the bill was refused as I did not know his password. They point blank refused to help me in any way , Leaving my 84 year old mother without a phone, rendering her 'lifeline' pendant useless!! Had she fallen or needed help no-one would have known. Thanks to BT we had a phone again within 24hours.

  • unhappy

    by Eric at 11:49 on 31 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    I have thought about plusnet after a friend said how good they were. Having read a lot of these reviews now I'm not so sure. They all seem to be a carbon copy of my experiences with TT. I was with Pipex (aka Homecall) for about 7 years, no probs., a bit slow (1.1mbps) but adequate. They were taken over by TT last November, and the connection shut down. New router, and connection now goes down up to 10 times a day. Seems to me all isps are the same for service. Time Ofcom took the whole lot by the scruff of the neck and made them get their collective house in order?

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 16:10 on 19 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    Please do not sign into plunet. I have been the customer for nearly a year on a 30day contral. It happend to shif my house to another property, I contacted them and said that i am moving home and they charged me £49.99 for activating the line in my new property. I tried not to pay and get it done but finally they have no provided me any option so i have paid £49.99.

    Later relised that i should have gone to some other broadband services; so i contacted Plus net to cancel my connection instead of moving it. They asked the reason for moving and i said the you are charing so and so to move it and i dont want to continue rather than paying you. They immediately said the they will cancel the activation charge and we will move it for free.

    I still dont need to have plus net after this incident and i immediately asked to cancel the connection and refund. They said if you cancel now we will charge you cancellation of £25 which i could not see anywhere. And finally cancelled the connection and they refunded £24.99. Ideally waiting to get the balance back.

  • unhappy

    by dontdoit at 4:51 on 13 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    Just do not sign up to Plus Net - we have been without a phone line and broadband for three weeks, ever since we changed from another supplier. I telephone 3 times a day and email at least five, no help, same line 'we have escallated the problem'

  • happy

    by Chris at 22:35 on 5 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    I have been with Plusnet for a year and have had no problems at all. Service is brilliant. I was with bt before and they were next to useless. I run multipule computers, an android tablet, my mobile and my e-printer through the system with no problem. As my exchange is not LLU enabled this can't be bad. Would highly recommend Plusnet.

  • neutral

    by Hayley at 16:44 on 4 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    Plusnet resell for BT, you wont get an improved BB service.... not without going to an LLU network (TalkTalk) or fibre - best is Virgin.

  • unhappy

    by Rafael at 23:40 on 28 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    Plus net is the worst internet I have had. I work with property management and so far the worst service I have dealt with.
    Their customer service is useless (they managed to be worse than BT) and they simply do not do anything to solve your problem.
    yes, they do have an online service to help you to solve your problem, but how can you use this service if your internet does not work at all????
    Avoid Plus net as much as you can. use virgin. Far better service provided, customer service and overall better value for money.

  • unhappy

    by Chris Silverthorne at 10:53 on 27 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    Got connected to Plusnet today. Not a good experience so far. Cannot connect my wife's Asus Tablet (Android OS) because of a wireless 'authentification problem'.

    Customer service is not great either - mostly due to lack of technical knowledge. Feel they just pick up people off the street, get them to learn limited scripts, and that is it. No good having a UK-based help centre if nobody working at it has any real technical knowledge, is there?

    Did not have this problem with BT. So, best avoid Plusnet if you have an Android-based tablet.

  • happy

    by Jim at 22:09 on 19 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    I have been with plus net for 8 months & am really pleased. Connected in under a week & broadband speed is excellent. Have had no probs with their service and to be honest compared to my previous service from Virgin & talk talk they are a dream provider!!

  • unhappy

    by Adam at 0:04 on 14 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    Two months to get connected by PlusNet? Must have just been lucky. Mine took 11 weeks. And they charged for the connection they hadn't made. Then they duplicated the charge for it: yes charged twice, installation not done. They lied repeatedly that an engineer would be round 'tomorrow'. After three broken promises I finally got my fibre connection. But it's slower than before I 'upgraded' and they refuse to downgrade me. They shouldn't be allowed to refer to themselves as 'honest'.

  • neutral

    by Saxy at 13:36 on 10 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    I have been with Plusnet for a year and I will move soon. My experience with their servies is that the speed is slow and sometimes unstable. My view is that their adds are misleading. They claim to be a cheap provider but they are not. The monthly allowance is 10GB. It may look a lot but a bit of streaming and you get to the limit. Then they charge you 5 pounds for an extra 5GB whether you use it or not. I complained about this and their customer service was unhelpful. I would not recommend it at all.

  • neutral

    by Ralph Holland at 14:20 on 9 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    Plusnet are ok but my description would not include the word honest. If you do not stream much using youtube, netflix or Iplayer etc, you'll probably find Plusnet great, as their 60 Gb limit is under 2 Gb a day. Otherwise it is out of the question if you have a family, UNLESS you want to pay their extortionate costs of going over (£5/5Gb, this is where plusnet will fleece you). the only good part is there is no contract. If you have a family it would be better going with an unlimited company, as I am about to do !

  • unhappy

    by Phil at 18:58 on 4 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    My student daughter was told she would be able to leave PlusNet at the end of the uni year no problem. Now PlusNet is demanding a £90 cancellation fee or insist she has to complete the contract. And if she wants to transfer her PlusNet account to her new address they want £65 for doing it while other ISPs transfer for free. Avoid.

  • unhappy

    by Aditi at 16:38 on 28 May 2012 Report abuse

    Horrible Connectivity!!!

    We got plusnet having done careful research and plus net still managed to disappoint us... the connection keeps going out and it is extremely annoying as I work from home once a week and end up losing my work owing to the the router dropping the remote access connection each time it goes out.... grrrr... can't wait to move on.... DON'T BUY PLUSNET... THEY DON'T WORK OUT CHEAP IN THE END AS THEY ARE NOT EVEN WORTH WHAT THEY ASK....

  • unhappy

    by captain parrot at 11:15 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    We left Plusnet a few years ago, moving to TalkTalk with a then better deal. Our contract with TT ended and I declined their kind offer to renew but stayed with them. Curiously the internet failed and we were told that our router was no longer approved, the internet could be reconnected if we used a TT router (with new contract). TT eventually were taktalked into giving me the new codes for the old router. Then TT made an error with the direct debit and closed the broadband without prior notice. Having briefly moved back to the truly awful Plusnet I am now with SKY. SKY charge us for not having SKYTV. They all tell untruths, they all fail to provide promised bandwidths. If you have a problem raise an issue with Offcom, it will cost your supplier a lot of money. As for 3............

  • neutral

    by Bruce Pearson at 9:06 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    I moved to PlusNet about a year ago from AOL. The cheap rate seemed like a great deal. I didn't know how much GB/month my self and family used, but I soon found myself exceeding the low download limit and being charged more. I haven't saved money. I'm now paying the same as I was with AOL, except my downloads are capped so can't watch iplayer much. I will be switching back at the first opportunity. My advice would be only go with a provider that provides unlimited download!

  • unhappy

    by Bernard at 14:23 on 22 May 2012 Report abuse

    I decided to go with PlusNet on their “contract free” broadband package because I knew we would be moving at some time in the following 12 months (we were looking for a house to buy). Six months later when I tried to move the broadband to the new property, PlusNet came up with a three digit amount to have the broadband moved, so I cancelled it and went with TalkTalk which setup the phone and broadband for only £25.

    This is where my problems arose. For a “contract free” package I got billed:

    Deferred Setup £25.00.
    Deferred Hardware - Wireless 4 port router £40.00.
    Cessation Charge £25.00.
    Total £90.

    Frankly I would have paid less had I been on an annual contract with another provider. PlusNet should prominently display the maximum charge they would levy when you take out the broadband. Buyer beware.

  • unhappy

    by jan griffiths at 8:58 on 11 May 2012 Report abuse

    I agree with all the other complaints I paid nine pounds ninety nine a month then find they have put it up to eleven forty nine ,without telling me they had uped the price I had a computer chap to come in and sort out the speed ,he said it was running at half the normal speed that it should be !

  • unhappy

    by Stuart Hulme at 7:00 on 9 May 2012 Report abuse

    I'm not happy with plus net i signed up for unlimited broadband and have been charged £5 per 5 GB I've gone over my apparent 50 GB monthly usage, there was nothing in the small print about capping me at 50 GB.
    I've just been given a bill for £100 which i will NOT be paying.
    DON'T SIGN UP TO PLUS NET
    the speed is horrible

  • unhappy

    by Dave Shore at 22:26 on 30 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Be warned, the adds are funny and it looks cheap - wrong, poor line speed I live 120 meters from the exchange they promised 15-20mbps down - I got 6-7mbps a quarter speed (I'm in IT and have the top router, CAT5 shielded dedicated line, proper ADSL Master socket, always got 12mbps-19Mbs + with all other ISPs. When for the £3.50 half price deal, first bill was >> £60

  • neutral

    by angry at 9:43 on 12 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    i applied to plusnet thinking that i would have quick internet because they told me that i would be getting 10 mb per download but when i took a speed test i was running at 3 mb per download and as you can see there is a big difference between 10 and 3 my advice is to never apply to plusnet because they offer the wors service possible i am 13 years old and i need the internet for reasearch to help me attain good grades in my school but now i thanks to them i will propberbly get rubbish ones.

  • happy

    by Marnie at 9:30 on 11 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Trawling the reviews cos thinking of going to orange. Have changed mind (I think) will stay with Plusnet. Why are there only ever negative reviews on these places. Plusnet has been great. Only recently have we had a spot of bother with the download speed but I'm confident that will be sorted out when we do get around to calling Customer Service about it. The router has only reset itself twice since last June and when it froze Customer Service were quick, knowlegable and friendly. Overall 9/10.

  • neutral

    by Papi at 11:17 on 6 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    I requested my MAC to switch to Orange and they keep invoicing me for the broadband. How come? dodgy company.

  • neutral

    by Papi at 11:17 on 6 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    I requested my MAC to switch to Orange and they keep invoicing me for the broadband. How come? dodgy company.

  • unhappy

    by Simon at 10:51 on 5 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Attempted three times to get swopped over to Plusnet. Although I insisted that I kept my original telephone number, on the day the transfer finally took place I was handed a new telephone number. How difficult is it to ensure the customers request is accomplished? I was assured that the transfer would be smooth and no problems would be incurred! I wasted three days of my life waiting for Openreach to complete the transfer (Now there's a company that has a monopoly) only to have them reverse the connection back to my original supplier. Plusnet have reimbursed me all my money. My suggestion is to leave well alone - I warned you!

  • unhappy

    by Abbey at 18:26 on 29 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    PLS PLS DO NOT USE PLUSNET. These pole are not human at all. Their customer service is the worst ever, their broadband is absolute rubbish. AVOId

  • unhappy

    by M Spalding at 16:30 on 11 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    I was with vodafone at home. Notified I was moving and no mention of selling out to plusnet. Halfway through change over recievec a letter. Couple Of days later Phonecall from plusnet to say they would have to start request again and no line for 3 weeks. At home I have a Line but I had cancelled line that day as was told nothing was gonna happen. Then found out is was neighbours line. Plusnet refused to talk to me although I owned the line. Started new contract by other half. Bf now contacting me to install Line that I cancelled. Now have new line old number but not sure who owns it. Plusnet also canceled contract with other half because bt had connected wrong phone.

  • unhappy

    by Len at 11:57 on 7 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    Plus net? I have been with them for about 3 years, main problem at the end of the month the speed would drop, although I had only used a third of my down load package.
    The speed was around 2 to 3 meg, the best very was 3.5meg for aroung 4 months from August last year, jan this year the speed dropped to less than 1 meg and has been like that till yesterday. At the same time a the speed drop BT enabled my local exchange for infinity, although I am told I cannot get it!, I contated +net and they said that they would upgrade my connection to 3.5 meg!!!!!! Today it is back were it was 5 months ago!
    Wooooooo some upgrade. BT now tell me that they can give me a 100% 6 meg connection if I swop to them! This smacks of BT once again stuffing any one who is not on cable. Where or who do I go to from here??????

  • unhappy

    by joe bloggs at 13:09 on 6 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    not impressed, its a shame the staff that sell you plusnets products don`t deal with your complaints, what a really nice experience it would be..... not so! when you have a broadband issue you are directed straight through to the "unhelpful department" and despatched without mercy...beware.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: