« back to Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews | Page 14

  • neutral

    by Dean at 1:22 on 11 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    Plusnet is more than CRAP, its beyond the definition of the word CRAP! i upgraded from Home Unlimited to Business Option 3 Unlimited.

    I was incorrectly billed which took them more than 3 weeks to resolve issue and refund me the difference.

    I then started to receive poor down and upload speeds of at its worst nothing at all. Then when it did reconnect, it was poor. After countless calls and tickets into business CSC team it still isn't resolved and i still have a really CRAP connection. Its become impossible to work with this connection with speeds of 512Kbps down and 120Kbps up when my connection is on the 21CN network and should be getting speeds of 5 to 6.5 Meg down and 887Kbps up. No one at Plusnet appears to want to resolve this matter and while they want to sent out an engineer to the exchange to look at my line fault (which it took time to convince them that i had a fault) they are not however, even after being told that the line outside my property is showing clear signs of exposure of the inner coloured wires they say an engineer is not required to enter the property to fix this issue. But Plusnet keep telling me the fault is between my equipment and the exchange. I have told Plusnet where the issue is, i have also told them i am not the average user i have an extensive technical background. But they still feel the need to feed me with utter bulls**t when it comes to excuses. It would seam many others are having issues with Plusnet and i am among many of you hard-core users and gamers out there that find Plusnet are CRAP!

    Once i find another ISP i am off i can assure you.

    Plusnet are indeed complete garbage.

  • happy

    by ajgrimshaw at 5:28 on 9 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    I dont normally do online reviews but decided having just spoken to Plusnet to check my usage wasnt over the limit and had a helpful knowledgeable conversation ( I was well below my limit ) I've decided to make an exception.(I had to move provider as ukonline was being closed down by their parent company sky. I was offered a transfer to Sky but as I live in a rural area the Sky download limit was poor. I chose Plusnet as it had the best deal on a 60GB download allowance. The transfer was slick, when setting up I needed help with configuring the system, the call centre in Yorkshire answererd calls within 2 minutes and the service was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable ( praise indeed from a Lancastrian ). I've done the Tals Talk telephone service in the past and spent 30 minutes holding to speak to a clueless level 1 operator.Talk Talk dont do customer service.

  • unhappy

    by Tony H at 22:11 on 6 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    I was thinking of switching from TalkTalk to Plusnet but after reading these reviews I shall be staying with TalkTalk.

  • neutral

    by tony at 22:49 on 22 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Awful! had broadband set up for 2 weeks, couldnt get online, has taken them 2 weeks to cancel contract and still not resolved, very difficult to get hold of anyone to talk to. Not recommended.

  • happy

    by Pale at 19:24 on 20 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Until my line was 'Upgraded' to up-to 20 Gigs ADSL2+ or such like, I had a superb 6 to 7 Mbps connection with Plusnet which never failed.

    I got a free wireless router, free connection and have since recommended someone so get 50p off my own subscription each month.

    Since my service has been 'Upgraded', the width of my pipe has shrunk down to about 4Mbps.

    However, with the solid connection and friendy/responsive online Members Support area/forum, I am still more than happy with what I'm getting for my fiver a month.

    There IS admittedly a 10GB/month download limit but this does not hinder my household even though we are all constantly online. Our web activity is mostly browsing/light streaming/shopping. If I want to download any fillums I do it after midnight which is not metered at all. When I was first connected I enthusiastically downloaded about 40Gb one evening, no problem.

  • unhappy

    by Jonathan at 21:16 on 10 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Awful awful connection - lag makes online gaming impossible, and my connection drops frequently. I would NEVER use these guys. I can't even get through to their "support" team - which you should seriously consider trying to reach them before parting with any money - try it - 0845 140 0080. Utter rubbish - drives me wild.

  • neutral

    by Mike at 9:36 on 10 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    As you can tell from email address I am Plusnet user. I would say for the price they charge the product is acceptable - in the 2 years I have been a user I have had one outage for a day and a couple of speed drops but all of this is due to the local exchange and not directly under plusnets' control - all other broadband providers except cable based would have had the same issue. I have yet to exceeed the 10G allowance so again for £6.49 a month it seems reasonable

  • unhappy

    by Arthur at 21:21 on 4 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Plusnet is worse than crap. Give your money away, it's better value. During the day when they charge you per gig the speed is great, when the gigs are free in the evening they throttle the connection so that it's unusable. 15 minutes to load my usenet providers web page. Absolute rubbish.

  • neutral

    by steve at 16:04 on 21 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    thank god i read these comments if one person out of ten tells you something isnt very good then maybe there wrong but when its 9 people out of ten saty away I am.

  • unhappy

    by James Hallows at 13:59 on 4 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    Must be very careful working with Plusnet. They are not very professional. Support team is a joke. They will apologize for their billing errors but will never recompense you. Very disgusting behavior.

  • neutral

    by christine at 22:57 on 2 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    i am so glad i read reviews before committing i will look elsewhere.

  • neutral

    by Anthony at 11:15 on 2 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    I have been with PlusNet for many years - I can't even remember how long. On the whole, I would say they are GOOD at what they do. I am a computer tutor, and visit many people in their homes, and other providers - TalkTalk for example, are truly awful in terms of Customer Service. If you go for something just because it is cheap, and that is your only criteria, then you are asking for trouble. You get what you pay for, as in any other product or service. Are there problems ever with PlusNet? Of course there are. They are an organisation staffed by humans, and nobody is perfect - not even you! I have found them to be, on the whole, pretty good at what they do.

  • neutral

    by biglass at 14:00 on 1 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    well its been intresting i bought my landline and broadband together from plussnet n my phoneline got connected straight away with no problems then i paid my bill then got cut off n told it was becase of overdue bill so rang up n it got put straight bk on on 20th jan n i asked wen broandband wud be on n they said 27th 27th came n no broadband so i rang up n they said 1st feb as the person who took payment didnt send broadband request off i then got a manager call me bk n apologise and explaain to me what would happen next then i recieved a email saying it wud be 31st jan , no internet on 31st jan but today is 1st feb n broadband is on n 3 calls later to get log on details n were online but it is working very very well n i have no complaints on price or broadband quality just incompitant customer services but no change there

  • unhappy

    by Seth at 9:40 on 31 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Do not be tricked by the low price!!

    Hi all, just adding my 50 cents to these reviews...
    I have just cancelled my Plusnet, and with very good reason. I highly recommend you trust me when I say that the hidden extra charges and mercenary way in which Plusnet try to maximize their profits just makes it not worth getting hooked by the low price tag.

    For 1 month broadband with Plusnet I actually ended up paying considerably more than any other supplier...
    30 pound setup fee. + 6.50 extra because they don't accept cancellations in writing (despite what is written in T&C) + 15.00 extra charges for exceeding my cap limit (that I was never informed of) + 30 pounds cancellation charge.
    Guys, it's just not worth it.

  • happy

    by jeff davies at 0:08 on 27 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    i have been with plus net for almost 1 year,cannot fault the service but the cost seems to being going up month by month,recently discovered they are now owned by bt so that explains the price increase.at the moment looking for a cheaper deal elsewhere.

  • neutral

    by Andy M at 20:21 on 21 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    My whole freind group (6 locations) were going going to join Plusnet, but after all these negative comments regarding all aspects of the service we will not bother. It is difficult to find proper services at reasonable prices with good customer services nowdays.Plusnet just lost out !. I am grateful for these reviews.

  • happy

    by Sy Rawlings at 17:53 on 18 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Last post now, I have successfully organised a migration from Plusnet. Easily done and they only want the £40 back for the router. Best thing they have done in my short time as a customer.

  • unhappy

    by tony p. at 11:02 on 18 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    The service is not as advertised. I have still not received 4 e-mails which I have repeatedly requested. I have had to query as to why I have not received my three months free trial- now getting it but only after querying this. Basically I am not at all happy with this ISP and will be cancelling the contract as soon as it reaches its year end. Recommend it to some one else! YOU MUST BE JOKING!!!!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by R Rees at 18:33 on 13 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Poor company. They've charged me for a service I didn't ask for, and even though I have their own email agreeing this, its impossible to get them to do anything about it. Plusnet should come with a health warning. Their incompetence will drive you mad....so will their bland answers. If you are thinking Plusnet, think again

  • unhappy

    by Sy Rawlings at 17:36 on 13 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    There also seems to be a lot of downtime. I lose connection most evenings for around 2 hours at a time. Still very disappointed.

  • happy

    by Steve at 22:09 on 3 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Happy days. BB connected when agreed. £6.49 a month (plus £25 as I didn't want to be tied in for 12 months). Getting 7.2 Meg download. Service fine so far. Very happy bunny. Just wanted to balance the views a bit.

  • unhappy

    by Sy Rawlings at 16:08 on 1 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Poorly informed advisors, I was told my original 1st payment was not due until after my 3 free months, however they took the payment without informing me of the change which has incurred me a bank charge. They apparently cant find the original phone call to confirm this either. Poor technical support, I have more knowledge than their advisors. They just seem to want to fob you off for as long as possible. Not impressed at all, Im content to pay an early termination fee just to get away from them.

  • unhappy

    by gent at 20:41 on 22 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    I fully agree with R Rees
    and like others have just cancelled my plusnet phoone and BB too

  • neutral

    by R Rees at 14:11 on 20 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    Plusnet have a big problem. They believe their own hype about this friendly, honest Yorkshire company. It means they never face their problems, never really own up. That is dangerous. it means they will not improve. Advice, stay clear of them. They will drive you around the bend with their blandness. They rate PR higher than true customer care

  • neutral

    by R Rees at 16:47 on 19 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    Plusnet? No, wouldn't recommend them. they have hit on this wheeze about promoting themselves as an honest, Yorkshire company. Pure hype. When the chips are down they'll give you a load of old cobbles in excuses. If you want cheap, fine. If you want honesty, look somewhere else. They have a so called community forum. Only friendly boot-licking comments allowed. Criticise and you're out.

  • unhappy

    by Stephen Sales at 14:06 on 2 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    Not very happy about the huge hidden price increase caused by removal of the inclusive 300 minutes international calls on evening/weekend package. Just cancelled!

  • unhappy

    by leah treanor at 14:42 on 24 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    I ACTUALLY HATE PLUS NET! and what makes it worse is they're advertising on tv now, people need to stay away from them they seriously screw you over and most of all let other people know what a bad service they give. we have internet for a total of 2 days in our house per month then our limit runs out. its seriously ridiculous.
    more people need to join this group on facebook! so everyone knows how rubbish they are: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/home.php?sk=group_143614355688524

  • unhappy

    by delred at 0:00 on 23 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    moving from Sky they disconnected my line, so no phone or Internet for a week, they even told me everything tested ok ! when I informed them (via my mobile phone) the line was actually dead they wanted to charge me £120 for an engineer to come around a confirm it was dead, I said sure I'll pay for the engineer if the small claims judge agrees after I take them to the small claims court first, (no charge was applied) once I did get the phone and ADSL back the internet speeds are have dropped to a consistent 2.5 mb so a 10mb drop in speed from Sky, if you value your sanity look elsewhere.

  • unhappy

    by skungpoomery at 23:40 on 17 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Plusnet are indeed complete garbage. They initially just forgot to place an order for my broadband so I sat around waiting for nothing for a week and it was only when their phone service conked out that I rang up and found out - otherwise I'd still be waiting now. Speeds are also rubbish (less than half that advertised) and the customer "service" is just a glorified talking shop that gets nowhere. Utterly lousy in all respects - avoid like the plague.

  • unhappy

    by Lisa R at 13:03 on 9 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Definitely dont use. I want to know why they are shown as good customer service on this site when if you read the customer reviews overwhelmingly NOT providing good service. And dont try calling them to complain you will be stuck on the phone for 20 minutes or more before you can get through. Have tried to cancel one month earlier but happy to pay to end of contract however they are insisting on charge £80.00 which is more than my whole years fees. To add insult will not even take my notice to cancel now otherwise they will not provide service until end of contract even when Im paying for it. My mother also has plus net but never uses internet and she continually gets charged additional download charges so check your bills against usage very carefully!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: