« back to Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews | Page 17

  • unhappy

    by Unhappy Switcher at 11:50 on 29 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Just switched to Plusnet today using a MAC code, now I have absolutely no connection at all.

  • neutral

    by Nyder at 20:38 on 28 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Their service is garbage, they throttle all data, can't even make a skype call on their so called "broadband service" I get better speeds on my iphone using a skype app on the EDGE network.

    Pathetic.

    Jeff

  • happy

    by S Warren at 15:46 on 26 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Just to follow on from my previous post, must admit I'm impressed with PlusNet - all up and running within a week, no problems so far good communications and speed,order tracking up to date and easy to set up.

  • neutral

    by Stephen W at 12:30 on 20 Jul 2009 Report abuse

    Firstly I would like to say what a nightmare tying to find a provider for my girlfreind with a free wireless router that does not get a bum review somewhere along the line. I myself are with ZEN who are brilliant, after reading review sites apart from O2 (Who can not give us the best deal due to the exchange) and ZEN who do not offer a free modem, PLUSNET seemed to be the wise choice. Not happy with the 18 month contract or the fact they are owned by BT as I hate them, we made the choice to go with PLUSNET. So far so good easy to set up an account and prompt contact emails, they are currently running more tests and sending the equipment out and no conecction fee for a new user. Fingers crossed I hope to god we have made the right decision, time will tell. Why cant all ISP providers be stable without letting people down, I did not think it would be so much hard work trying to choose!!

  • happy

    by ralph at 11:53 on 29 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with plusnet for over 4 years and have had above average service, few loses of service, no billing issues and pretty good speed even though I live 3.5 miles from the exhange. Highly recommended, hope they stay this good now they are owned by BT.

  • unhappy

    by Ashley at 15:50 on 22 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    Have been using PlusNet for about 6 months. The service has been ok, but be warned: They charge an 89.99 fee if you cancel before 12 months of service. I'm moving overseas, so don't have much choice in the matter, but this cost seems ridiculous, especially since I offered to return the router, which should be their biggest cost.

  • unhappy

    by Fatemah at 9:50 on 16 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

    I'm having numerous problems with Plusnet, I'm getting 56k speeds at times, regular disconnects, when I'm paying for the 10mg connection (my line supports 4.5mg), and Plusnet are useless. I've been using their ticketing system (useless), been told todo things that I've already told them I've done, they try to blame BT but when I've gone to BT they report no problems on the line. When I telephoned Plusnet tech support, I got through to a guy who was admittedly clueless about how to help me and told me the only tech guy there was on a break. When I mentioned getting out of my contract because I'm not getting what I'm paying for, he got very rude and told me they only guaranteed speeds "upto" my line limit and therefore I couldn't get out of the contract. I've written a very curt e-mail to the Customer Services Manager and if they don't release me from my contract, I'll be seeking legal action. Wish I'd never moved from O2, although my ping with them was a bit rubbish.

  • unhappy

    by mostly at 22:24 on 15 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    pretty pretty poor. Over charged for a couple of months, very slow to refund. Speeds around 56k 80 % of the time even though I'm on their 'pro' package. Teach me to leave Zen.
    Cant get through to support, even though it states monthly contract it costs to migrate away.
    AVOID

  • unhappy

    by sam johnson at 9:20 on 15 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    Having been with AOL for ten years, decided time for a change, mainly due to the fact of their Indian call center, some times was impossible to understand what was being said, after been drawn to Plusnet by its 'UK Call center' i was most dissapointed to find i was speaking to people that were definetly not English, this morning i have had to call them as my pricing plan was wrong, i was put through to an asian sounding lady who introduced herself as 'Tiffany'... yeh right, have noticed so far all the operators that don't sound English are using English names, its almost laughable. This was the main reason i left AOL and am slightly peeved ive been conned into thinking im talking to a UK call center.

    Apart from that, have had no major problems with connection etc, not that fast but no different to AOL with everything, who incidently offered to drop my unlimited rate of £10 pm to £5,99 if i stayed with them, i used PLusnets £5.99 deal but exceeded my usage within 2 weeks so have upgraded to the £15 unlimited, stuck with them now for 18 months, wish id stayed with AOL, would have been cheaper and better the devil you know.

  • happy

    by Alasdair at 11:46 on 2 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    I've been with PlusNet for two years now, after a very unhappy time with virgin.net. I've had my faith in British ISPs restored by this company, they've provided me with a reliable service all the time. I've never had a problem with them. On top of that, I love the feeling of transparency - the company is totally upfront about their services, and there's loads of technical data available if you've got any queries. Great for geeks! But for non-geeks, basically an economical, reliable service. I'm on the 'pro' (gamers) package which also is great for Skyping my family around the world as PlusNet have really low latency (ping) which is a must for gamers and really helps skypers. OK, going to stop gushing now.

  • happy

    by Steve at 17:01 on 18 May 2009 Report abuse

    I have had a number of ISP's in the past including Orange, ADSL 24, BT and AOL and I have to say that the service provided by Plusnet is at the top of the tree (along with ADSL 24, whom I left purely to take advantage of Plusnet offering the home phone package). As for the other providers I have mentioned, well they stink.

  • unhappy

    by James at 18:15 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Plusnet - currently absolute s**t and I'm doing everything I can to get away from them......nuff said.

    Slow download speeds (at all times of the day), poor customer service responses and general dissatisfaction in the way I'm being treated as a customer.

    Granted, very few companies treat existing customers well, so on that basis I'll take poor customer service providing in exchange for a proper connection speed and not the Mickey Mouse 150Kb service I currently have.

  • unhappy

    by Fergus Cameron at 2:07 on 6 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I live in mid Devon and have had good speed and no dropouts with my new isp., Post Office. Not the case with PlusNet sadly. Slow speeds with disconnecting. Initially two days late in connecting and did not honour one month's free connection for switching customers. Cut off abruptly and totally two days before migration date and 8 days before contract end. When I applied for MAC my connection suddenly went from 178 kbps to 2.2 mbps; and so it stayed for the final month without disconnections! Many times I had to go thru the hoops while PlusNet pretended to fix the problem. No, PlusNet I found to be less than honest.

  • happy

    by Tim at 21:44 on 11 May 2008 Report abuse

    Been with Plus.net for 4 years, they've not been perfect throughout, but for the most part, no complaints. The last 2 years I've had no problems at all...not even any down time. Very fast, great customer service (although I rarely have to call them). Would I recommend them? Without any hesitation at all.

  • unhappy

    by Nige at 23:31 on 29 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    Good service but watch the charges! Morons at BT cut my phone off so I added plusnet phone, they wanted £38 to reconnect the phone then £40 to re activate the broadband. I took the 1 month notice/no contract with free hardware option. If I cancel it within 12 months they want £90! Either way I'm going to get stitched up. READ THE T&C's VERY CAREFULLY

  • unhappy

    by Michael at 5:30 on 8 Sep 2007 Report abuse

    HIGHLY DISHONEST SERVICE.
    I am currently stuck with Plus.Net until my one-year contract finishes!!
    Here is the deception. First, if you are new to broadband, you might think that 1GB is enough. Well, the simple viewing of web pages counts as a download (and even upload I believe)!!! Therefore, if you view a few videos from news sites for three or four days, you are done with your 1GB. If you do not view videos, you will be done way before the end of your one month with this ridiculous 1GB. And you pay £9.99 for only 1GB!!!
    When you INEVITABLY reach the 1GB, they basically put you with a speed so low that even a dial up network connection seems better!!!
    They know the 1GB is not sufficient to even view simple web pages for a month. So, then they contact you and ask you to upgrade!!
    As soon as I am done with one year contract, I switch in a hurry to something else, nothing less than 40GB per month to make sure that I will never ever be trapped in this 1GB trap again!!

  • happy

    by billy at 20:43 on 17 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    I Have been a plus net customer for 12 months now and must say the service is exelent.I was recomended by a another satisfied user,I have already passed on details to several other friends who likewise have enjoyed having a good broadband experience.The connection is always there,download speed exelent, i don't think you could get better value for money.
    UNLIKE MY PREVIOUS PROVIDER WHO FAILED TO PROVIDE A UK CUSTOMER SERVICE TEAM THAT SPOKE ENGLISH Can't put the name for legal but you get the idear

  • happy

    by Dawn at 14:53 on 21 May 2007 Report abuse

    Fantastic ISP. Never used the email system so never experienced those problems. As a student, have changed ISPs rather a lot due to mvoing in with new housemates. We chose PlusNet for its (then) 9-month agreement and had very few problems. When we moved into a new house, myself and my partner remained with PlusNet and the only fault we had was a few connection issues to start with, some major renovation work on their system shortly after we joined and a faulty BT faceplate. Their tracker told us we were on less than 1GB a month so we downgraded. Only problem will be when we move house and take it with us: £40 'moving' fee which apparently works out free after 12 months... Hidden charges are there, though, so be careful.

  • happy

    by Andrew at 0:15 on 12 May 2007 Report abuse

    I like the previous writer am surprised with some of the negaitive comments. I have tried many suppliers in the past and I have to say that PlusNet is far better than any of them. They are always happy to help, especially the technical team, being that I am a bit of a novice. Any problems I have had have been dealt with speedily.

  • happy

    by skm at 16:50 on 11 May 2007 Report abuse

    Since signing up to plusnets broadband your way three weeks ago i've had absolutely no issues at all. The speeds I'm getting are much better than those I had with Pipex before and when I called Customer Services with a query about their home phone product they answered the phone within just a few rings. I think that they have recently upgraded their email service, but since joining I have had no problems with downloading or sending email at all. I also think the honesty and detail on their website and in service status messages is something other broadband companies could learn a lot from.

  • happy

    by arlehaven at 12:48 on 29 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    I have been a Plusnet customer for nearly 7 years and have had no doubts in recommended their products to friends for both home and business use. I have had many a positive comment from these users since they joined Plusnet.
    I have had the odd problem since I joined, however minor, and have had these problems dealt with efficiently and promptly. Their product support is second to none and better than any ISP that I have ever been with.
    Like any other ISP as they grow they encounter problems but I have found Plusnet to be very open and honest to their customers and explain in detail the changes they are making. While we all hate change, Plusnet seem to be changing in all the right directions and offering their customers tailored products to suit every customers needs. I thank Plusnet for giving me such an excellent product.
    I rate this ISP highly.

  • happy

    by embarkell at 1:28 on 29 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    I have to say that I was a bit shocked when I read some of the reviews about Plusnet on this site.

    I have been with them for 6 years and sure they went through a rough patch last year but from what I have seen in the last 6 or 7 months, they are right back where they used to be. A superb ISP.

    Excellent products, competitive pricing and customer service and support second to none. Call waiting times are now averaging at 2 mins and their trouble tickets are answered in a couple of hours.

    No hesitation recommending PlusNet and I do. Family and friends alike are with them and Plusnet pay me a referral bonus every month for each of the accounts I recommend. Its nearly like a commisssion. You couldnt beat it.

  • happy

    by director at 22:55 on 19 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    After many problems over the past year, they have persevered and despite thier difficulties now provide a super service, I have been with them since thier inception as Force9 and through thick and thin It has paid me to stick with them, most knowledgeable and helpful, and quick on the answer unlike many providers I could name!!!Loyalty and patience has really paid off.

  • happy

    by Slipmat at 15:04 on 11 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I have been with PlusNet for over 3 years and have never had a problem until they introduced traffic management. If you you want to use the internet for e-mails, and general browsing then Plusnet is for you. If you intend to use P2P then look elswhere. Their policy not only restricts P2P speeds, but also effects online gaming, FTP and streaming video. Furthermore the customer support is very poor, recently taking 3 days to reply to my query...and it still was not answered.........My advice:- KEEP AWAY from PlusNet

  • happy

    by Col at 18:01 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Customer care very poor, I could tell by replies to my emails that they were not read properly, they didn't want to resolve the issue only to fob you off with replies that showed little empathy or understanding of my problem. I am now looking for a new ISP

  • happy

    by ken at 18:00 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Please beware when signing up, make sure you ask for cancellation charge. Because you will be tight up for 6 years, if you want to cancel with in 6 years, you have to pay cancellation fee.

  • happy

    by Al at 17:59 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I've been a customer for 2 years. Over the past year services has become poor. My 8 MB upgrade has resulted in a slower more erratic service. E-mail system frequently has problems with no service and lost messages. Looking for another provider.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: