« back to Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews | Page 4

  • neutral

    by Dave at 9:27 on 13 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    Ref Bob P
    Quote;
    "We do not ignore emails, [YES YOU DO] I've apologised for the call waits [Sorry is a meaningless word] and we do not make a habit of overcharging customers.[ I think you will find you do ask poor Martin another victim]
    I would class nearly forty pound a month for 1 phone call and a lame 7mb B/Band a extortion ! Give him a refund and future discount, your advert states £2.99 a month ?.. do I need to contact the advertising standard authority ?

  • neutral

    by Martian at 10:51 on 12 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    Hi Peter,

    This is a breakdown of my bill.

    1 Call charge - 28/10/2013 £0.60
    1 Plusnet Unlimited (Contracted) - Market 1 charge 28/10/2013 27/11/2013 £16.99
    1 Call Plan charge 28/10/2013 27/11/2013 £4.50
    1 Talk Anytime charge 28/10/2013 27/11/2013 £14.99

    Problem seems to be I am market region 1.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 16:22 on 11 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Dave - lots of people (around 50% of the UK) cannot get service from Virgin Media - try L20 4EG in their postcode checker. Also, lots of speed estimates / checks are well below 8 Mbps - try the map with broadband speeds from users of ThinkBroadband.com - you will find slow speeds from lots of different ISPs, country wide.

    You're lucky to have the choice, but lots don't have the option of Virgin fibre, and yes, phone lines are, in some cases, old and cause lower speeds, but that's going to affect all ISPs, equally.

    As for line rental, well, the simple truth is that they don't all charge around 15 quid - my rental is 5.99 with Primus, and many firms offer savings by paying a year in advance, dropping the cost to the equivalent of 10-11 pounds a month. My 5.99 charge is monthly, not based on annual fee.

  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 9:47 on 11 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    Hi Bob,
    firstly, they were not 'treading on each other's toes' they just ensured the job was done in double-quick time, please do not try to corrupt the good service I got away from the absolute shower of brown stuff that Plusnet called 'service'. The underlying provision may be the same for all providers, however, it is the efficiency of the overlaying service, the back office organization, which the CUSTOMER experiences, that counts.
    When you don't arrive when you say you will, when you book a further appointment and break it because someone forgot to enter it into the system - that is just poor service. A company that gives it's CUSTOMERS poor service does not deserve to be in business.

    I have put Customers in capitals because I think Plusnet have forgotten the term. We buy a service, it is a contract, the service should be delivered as contracted..... In my business, if I don't perform, my company is hit with penalties - I strongly believe that when you mess up, as in my case, costing me 2 days off work, you should have to compensate for the lost earnings.... that would soon focus your mind on your service, and the cost to your CUSTOMERS of what is an unfulfilled promise. When you make an appointment, it is a promise. My promise - I will never have Plusnet in my house or my business, my promise, I will go on dissuading anybody I meet, not to go Plusnet. That's my service.....

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 17:10 on 8 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Lynton,

    No idea why the level of service differed so much because ultimately we use the same ordering systems and enlist the same Openreach engineers that BT Retail do. Makes if even more confusing the fact they they seem to have stepped on each others toes!

    Anyway, sorry you had such a poor experience.

    @RRees, anything I can help with?

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • neutral

    by Dave at 17:00 on 8 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Peter on Merseyside...........What ?
    "Unlimited broadband was launched back in December 2012, and is under 15 quid a month". ..(my Virgin 30mbps fibre is £9 a month unlimited)...."If you have phoneline rental on top, that would add a bit"...yes just short of £15 (all providers which is being investigated by OFCOM) ..Oh and you need the landline to get a BT (P/n, or other ISP) All other than Virgin are BT lines old copper wire some over 30 years old that why they are all an average of 7-8mbps they use to advertise UP TO 20mbps (Impossible) now they claim 14mbps maximum but 7-8 is normal anything less you need to dump them ASAP.

  • neutral

    by RRees at 9:59 on 8 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    An earlier poster had it just right. Plusnet are no better or no worse than many ISP, but if something goes wrong, then boy have you got problems. Their service centre (an oxymoron) is no help

  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 9:51 on 8 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    You have read about the total cock-up with my installation of Plusnet...... I still laugh when their advert comes on the TV..... I ask, how is it that BT can make an appointment to install 'phone, broadband and TV all on the same day, not only stick to the time and date for install, but keep me posted to ensure I was confident of their arrival. Not only did one guy turn up, but another engineer arrived because he had finished a job down the road early and wanted to lend a hand..... that's service. Also, what made me laugh, after the BT engineers had left, about an hour later, a Plusnet engineer arrived, not aware that I had cancelled the service from them. The great thing is, three friends were on the verge of signing for a Plusnet service - convinced them that this was not the way to go and they went with alternative providers.... how does the old saying go - a happy customer tells, on average, 3 other people, an unhappy one tells 30....

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 2:00 on 8 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Martian - how is it so costly? Unlimited broadband was launched back in December 2012, and is under 15 quid a month. If you have phoneline rental on top, that would add a bit, but unless you make lots of calls or have fibre (or a very old account costing more than recent accounts) I cannot think how it is costing you so much.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 11:52 on 7 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Dave, I'm not fobbing anybody off, I'm offering to help.

    We do not ignore emails, I've apologised for the call waits and we do not make a habit of overcharging customers.

    Openreach, BT and Plusnet are *not* the same company from an operational perspective. Equivilence means that us and BT Retail have the same relationship with Openreach as do other ISP's who use BT Wholesale to provision broadband. This is something that's been forced by the regulators. I'm pretty sure I've explained this before though so I'll not labour the point.

    @John, thanks I've just taken a look at your account. The original phone line activation was scheduled for the 28th October and it was always the case that the broadband would be activated 5-7 days following the installation date. This was explained in an email we sent to you on the 7th October.

    As you're only too aware, the original engineer appointment did not happen or was delayed (something we were only notified about on the day itself). We rebooked an appointment for the first available date (4th November) and I the line was subsequently installed. We then placed the broadband order as we always intended to with a 7 day lead time. This is scheduled to complete on Monday.

    Unfortunately, as it was never the intention to install both services simultaneously, I can't lay blame with Openreach for the time it's taking to activate the broadband. I've therefore no grounds to request that things are expedited.

    Sorry if that's not the answer you were hoping for. To allay some of the hassle you've had, I've discounted the cost of your broadband service for the next 9 months. I'll drop you an email containing the details.

    Let me know if you need anything clarifying.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • neutral

    by Martian at 9:23 on 7 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    Although I am overall quite happy with Plus.net I am now finding the prices quite crippling. My bills are never below £38 and I only get 7mb. I am beginning to feel it is worth a change as there seems to be little to no incentives to remain a loyal customer.

  • neutral

    by Dave at 18:32 on 6 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    @Johnwho don't let Bob fob you off Plusnet have messed up once again good and proper. Just to confirm BT Openreach, BT and Plusnet (Owned by BT) are al the same company ! Although very disjointed, Bob loves to blame Openreach (The baddies) for as much as possible, he should be sorting out his own group of clowns not answering the phone for 20 minutes, ignoring emails, not sticking to install dates, messing up activation, over charging customers and as far as a £10 'good will gesture' is more of an insult to the injury, it should be £50 minimum and £100 for some of your more major 'cockups' and monitor your worst performing staff and get rid of them if they keep up this lame poor service. Bob watch your own adverts, people are sick of chronic customer service.

  • unhappy

    by JohnWho at 13:19 on 6 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    yoyescu is my username. I was offered the same day/within 24 internet activation just not to cancel the order with yourselfs. but as mentioned few days later was sent both text and email that internet will only be activated on 12th. Also when i called today was told that nothing can be done to make it faster and was denied the chance to talk to a senior adviser when requestet

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 13:00 on 6 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    HI John,

    Sorry to hear you've had so much hassle with the installation. I can't really pass comment without the full details but it sounds like Openreach might have let us down on that first visit.

    There's no reason we couldn't have arranged a simultaneous provision for the re-appointment though (broadband and phone activated at the same time). Bit confused why that wasn't offered.

    Apologies for the lengthy call waits. We've another call centre opening in Leeds shortly which will help significantly in this area (we've pretty much reached capacity here in Sheffield).

    Anyway it sounds like the broadband order is finally committed which is good. We *may* be able to expedite that and bring the date forward if we can prove the delay was caused by action on our supplier's part. Failing that, I'm sure a good will gesture of sorts could be arranged for your troubles.

    If you're able to provide me with your username or a recent support ticket reference from your account then I'll happily take a look and see if there's anything I can do to help.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • unhappy

    by JohnWho at 11:08 on 6 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    Moved to new flat and was advised by a mate to get broadband from plusnet [other options where sky and bt]
    so contacted them on 7th october and was told that i'll have it up and running in 28. 28th came and had no phone line installed yet as someone"forgot"to give my phone number to the BT engineer so he could not do his job.
    Called them, usual 20+ minutes wait just to be told that they made an error and i need to wait few days so they can give me another time for the phone line installation[STRIKE1]
    Ofc no contact[just an email saying that I need to pay the second visit????excuse me] so after another 3 calls from my behalf i got another appointment for the 4th of november and which point i was told[ONLY NOW STRIKE2] that for the internet activation i have wait another 5 to 10days. at this point i told them that this is a joke that i only find out this now and considering to cancel the order.
    So i got a call back[1st time they contacted me] on my mobile someone saying that yes an engineer will come on 4th and get my phone line in and they will make a 24h internet activation so i did not cancel[BAD JUDGEMENT FROM MY BEHALF]
    So after the line was installed, another day passed and i get an email and a message stating that internet will be activated on 12November {STRIKE 3, YOU'RE OUT}
    Called them again i think 4 or 6th time at this stage[and eyes every time i and to wait like 20 odd minutes just to talk to some1] and was told "nothing can be done"
    i beg to differ. firstly i will let every1 know abt the BS and lies they tell you. still need to figure out further actions that i can take against them.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 15:36 on 31 Oct 2013 Report abuse

    @Peter, I'm pretty sure I remember replying to bl00's post but perhaps I didn't (or it didn't make it through the moderation queue)?

    Having said that, I have been in touch via the ISP Review forum. To summarise, Plusnet's communication concerning the house move was admittedly lacking however the placing of the order and the provisioning detail itself was handled as it should have been.

    @bl00, hopefully everything's sorted now. Give me a nudge if you need anything else.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 16:07 on 30 Oct 2013 Report abuse

    For bl00 - am surprised not to have seen any comment from Bob Pullen of Plus.Net, but know there are staff that monitor comments in the forum on Thinkbroadband (.com)

    Incidentally, there's a news post on that site which indicates how Openreach (the section which deals with installations and internet services for *all* ISPs apart from KC around Hull, and VirginMedia cable), is due to be on Watchdog tonight 30/10 - might be a number of horror stories and earlier this year there was a piece about Openreach - see http://is.gd/OpenreachDelays2013

    Must add

  • neutral

    by bl00 at 8:02 on 8 Oct 2013 Report abuse

    I have been a plusnet customer for a long time (about 8 years), and it does seem that once everything is set up and running, if you never need to contact them or ask them to do anything, the service is fine.

    BUT, if you require anything else, they are very disappointing. After a house move, I have now been without internet access for four+ days: we contacted Plusnet 2 weeks in advance, provided them with all the details they needed to transfer the service (including a PIN number from BT) and paid them 65 pounds for the privilege of moving house. (Unlike every other utility provider, who just moved us as a service, plusnet would not do so without a new 12 month contract!).

    On the morning of the move day, BT transferred the phone line as agreed, with no issues. we were never without the BT line. However, for plusnet's simultaneous move, they did not do it on the agreed day. After the full weekend, yesterday they still did not process the move, or even contact me.

    So having contacted them two weeks in advance, paid them 65 pounds, given them the codes for a simultaneous move and posted to my "help assistant" page to explain the situation to them, there is still no internet (and worse no response at all!).

    This is really pretty shoddy service, and having coordinated a house move with all of our utilities, this has been the worst experience, and has left us without the connectivity we need to sort out the rest of the move.

    So, the connection is usually fine, but the service cannot be recommended. I don't have much confidence that they could sort out a serious problem if they can't process a routine house move without dropping my service entirely for 5 days.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 11:39 on 23 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    @dung, sorry you feel that way. Like Peter says, you'll find negative reviews about any ISP if you look for them. I think a lot of what you have to look for is how readily/quickly ISPs respond top such critisism (if they do at all). Just be sure to research whichever ISP you do decide to choose before committing to anything.

    @Lynton, The two guys who turned up to install your BT service are the self same Openreach engineers we use to provision service. The systems/process for booking the appointments are exactly the same whether it's Plusnet or BT Retail that are 'clicking the buttons'. BT Retail just seem to have been much luckier on this occasion that we were. It's frustrating that we've lost custom based on a lot of things that were almost entirely outside of our control :(

    I don't think you'll be surprised when I tell you we're not in a position to reimburse you £1600 pounds of lost income when we've no similar rebate from our wholesalers. ISPs would soon be out of business if they were to honour such requests. If we did take any payments for service/installation though then I'd be happy to make sure they're refunded. You'd just need to reply to the message I sent you over on ISP Review's website to let me know what your username is.

    @Ann, if you ever need to call us using your mobile then use our 0345 number rather than the 0800 one (0345 140 0200). This is treated the same way a call to a landline would be so can be used with any inclusive mobile minutes you may have. It's not unusual for it to take a few days to despatch an engnieer to resolve a physical fault with your service. You'll find it's the same for the majority of consumer ISPs. Regarding payment, I'll happily apply some credit to your account for the time you were without service if you can provide me with your username or a recent support ticket reference from your account?

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • neutral

    by Ann Lynn at 9:46 on 20 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    I swithched to PlusNet last week, I regret this decision. Last night when I got home for work the phone and the internet were not working. This meant that I had to use my mobile and hang on for 20 minutes before someone answered my call. This was expensive. I phoned on Thursday night and they don't expect the engineers to visit until Monday next week. A weekend without the phone and internet, which, by the way was what I am paying for. In short a very poor aftercare service to those customers who make the mistake of signing up to this service. I would not recommend this company.

  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 15:08 on 19 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    To Bob Pullen - if you want to do something - as a contractor myself I lost 2 days of work waiting for your engineers - at 800 pounds a day, that is significant lost income - pay me for my lost days! I know this won't happen.... just might make you understand that for some, time IS money... and you have not only inconvenienced me, disappointed my family, you have hit me where it hurts most..... in my pocket. Lynton

  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 15:01 on 19 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    Hi, in response... does not matter who the engineer was from - Plusnet or openreach...... the service stinks. In the end I went to BT - two guys turned up on the appointed day, at the beginning of the time-slot.... installed the service..... perfect job....

    oh... and to add to the PlusNet saga, on the same day, I got a call from PlusNet asking me to confirm their engineer was due at my house to install my service..... PlusNet - what a joke - and you see their latest add on TV - standing joke in the family

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 14:00 on 19 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    For dung - plenty of customers (over 700,000) would probably disagree with you... it's nearly always the case that a 'comparison' site is mostly visited when someone is unhappy with ISP X and is looking for a new one. So can only say you will probably find negative comments about any other ISP you look at...

    I'm a happy customer and joined Plus.Net in March 2003, yes, 10 and a half years ago. They're not perfect, and I know some customers will have had a bad experience (just the same as with other ISPs) but it must be clear they're doing something right with hundreds of thousands of customers!

  • unhappy

    by dung at 0:32 on 19 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    I was about to sign on line. After reading what people have gone through with plusnet, I have decided not to join plusnet. Thanks guys for your experience with plusnet.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 10:13 on 29 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    @Lynton, sorry to hear about the delay provisioning your service. I saw a similar review from you over on the ISP Review website and sent you a message. Give me a nudge there if you'd like me to look into things for you.

    @Dave, I'm happy to take a look at @boatboy's account and see if I can offer something in the way of a good will gesture for there troubles. I'd just need some means of identifying the account. Our early termination fees are not obscene, they're in-line with what other ISPs charge. FWIW, we calculate them differently compared to the days you were a customer.

    Openreach is *not* the same company as Plusnet. We have the same relationship with Openreach as any other provider that resells BT Wholesale's services. You can blame the regulators for that.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 16:38 on 27 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    @Lynton - so, for Dave's benefit (since he's using Virgin and seems a little out of touch about who is responsible for the engineering visits), was it an engineer from Plus.Net or Openreach who came (trust they did actually get to you) today ?

    Just remember, if it's a while since you switched ISP, that the router should be left on 24x7 (at least for the first 10 days, while the broadband equipment at the exchange finds out how good/ poor the connection is, and sets the regular speed for connection... switching off every night makes it look like the line is poor and will cause the equipment to set a lower speed.

    (Sorry if you're familiar, some people really do want to switch routers on and off each day.)

  • neutral

    by Dave at 7:48 on 24 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    @Lynton ......just sums them up, and anybody contemplating allowing a company like P/Net access to your bank account in an open Direct Debit or card agreement.....For the love of god ....DON'T ! They are moronic, incompetent extortionists and will fleece you for what can only be described as 'Shambolic' disservice.

    Just walk away and go with a professional company.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 22:06 on 23 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    Unfortunately, Openreach has had a bad record over the past year+ (getting fibre enabled at my local exchange was delayed from September 2012 to June 2013), and this newspaper article { see http://is.gd/OpenreachDelays2013 } from April reports on someone waiting from November for a connection who cancelled the order in February.

    I know it's no consolation that others had months to wait, but Openreach is the common denominator for all ISPs using "BT" copper wiring (so whether it had been Plus.Net or Sky or BT Broadband, you may have had exactly the same cancelled appointments).

    I can understand how it's a major nuisance but rather outside the control of the ISP, unfortunately.

  • unhappy

    by Lynton at 16:47 on 23 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    Wondered if you might be interested in my experience of Plusnet……

    What do you think of this service or lack of it.... Booked and paid for a switch to Plusnet …..2 August placed order – soonest install would be “21 August because our engineers are dealing with so many problems that the service would be disrupted if we scheduled you in any sooner”- did not fill me with confidence right from the start! 21 August - wait in all day, call at 1230hrs - will be with you in 30.... 90mins passes.... call him... been diverted to another job - another engineer on the way.... 1700hrs - call office (22 min on hold) - have to allow till 1800 - call us at 1815 and we will update you.... 1830 - call Office (16 mins on hold).... got cut off mid call.... I phone back (9 mins on hold)..... Engineer not coming today.... will re-book for 10 days’ time!!! No way.... ok they will call me tomorrow with new time/date.
    22 August - call at 1130hrs... can do install tomorrow, make sure your in because he will be definitely there between 1200hrs and 1800hrs....... 23 August.... call at 1130 hrs. - engineer will not be coming as they failed to book it into their systems! How about 27 August....

  • neutral

    by Dave at 9:21 on 20 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    @Bob > @Boatboy is just one more poor soul living the never ending Plusnet Nightmare........spare the poor guy and let him walk away (without the obscene exit fines) you should be refundring months of line rental and B/B payments for such a shoddy service for such a long period of time, the are no excuses or some how blame BT/Openreach as its the same company as Plusnet !

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: