« back to Plusnet Broadband

Plusnet Broadband Reviews | Page 6

  • neutral

    by katoomba at 20:55 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Bob Pullen, for your information its you who wears the tin foil hat, its you who keeps contradicting yourself along with your buddy Peter from Merseyside, I was trying to make the point that if you cant take it dont dish it out some one called you a sado which I agree was over the top but your comments and nasty remarks made when representing Plusnet really are shameless and unprofessional , suggesting that some-one is a troll and now you attack me for pointing out that you are just as bad for nasty comments!. if you cant defend then attack along with your buddy Peter seems the pair of you get the oars in together says it all really,

  • neutral

    by Peter on Merseyside at 13:50 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @Adrian - one of my criticisms of Plus.Net is their lack of contact with customers when they bring out reductions. One area was the Market 1,2,3 pricing (they have been able to drop the price for Market 2 but didn't seem to tell anyone know, and only those who became aware - eg from following discussions on the ThinkBroadband forum - and then asked for a reduction, were given it).

    It's pretty much the same with the "unlimited" accounts which came into being on 19 Dec 2012... Those who look on TBB or the "Community" web pages and see the Plus.Net blog posts spot news of new accounts, and those who don't may never know new accounts exist. You've reminded me to let my sister and a few others to switch account.

    The only downside with changing to the new Unlimited or Essential accounts (and which a few argued about,) was the fact it ties one into a 12 month contract (or 18 months on Fibre products).

    Fibre was due in my area last September but my local cabinet might be enabled in the next 2 - 3 months. As a customer for just over 10 years, I will hope to get some sort of price match to get a deal for the first 6 months when I can switch, but know that new customers were able to save as much as 150 quid if they switched from other ISPs to Plus.Net phone rental and Fibre broadband back in January/February {there was a cashback deal mentioned on Hot UK Deals which meant Plus.Net was paying out 90 quid commission for new customers, and giving the half-price deal [for first 6 months] on their 'Unlimited Fibre' package (but no discount on the phone rental... which is not the cheapest at about 14 quid, unless someone pays for a year's rental in advance)}.

    I won't get 150 quid discount like new customers, but should be able to save 60. In fact I was hoping they might do the line installation cheaper (Openreach is offering a special deal for simultanous provision of phone line and fibre broadband, from start of January to end of June, but Bob replied that they offer below cost setup as things stand so it'd still cost me about 50 quid for a new phone line...

  • neutral

    by Peter on Merseyside at 13:33 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @katoomba - no, I don't work for PN, nor do I "back up" Bob - we disagree from time to time though as customer and staff member I hope we usually see eye to eye!

    I could just as easily suggest that you and Dave are one and the same person, but it would be just my impression and I've no proof (though BB Genie staff might be able if they could see the same IP address being used).

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 12:02 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @Paul, sorry to hear that and it's a shame to see you go. I've just looked at the offer you were requesting and it's hugely frustrating because I see no reason why we couldn't have honoured it. I even offered to take a look at things for you back in February :(

    @katoomba, I can categorically state that Peter does *not* work here so feel free to put the tin-foil hat away ;)
    Neither have I have had any recent discussion with Peter outside what is visible on this site.

    If you look over on our Community Site you'll see there are plenty of customers of ours who are willing to invest time helping others. In fact the moderators of our forums are customers to (and no they don't get paid by us).

    I'm not here to argue. If you don't appreciate my intervention here, or my approach then I'm sorry you feel that way. I'm far from ashamed about the time and effort I invested into helping that particular customer though. You'll note that I offered to call them to sort the problem out in the very same post. Needless to say they declined the offer.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • unhappy

    by Paul Buckley at 11:29 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    FTAO Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.
    Had been a customer of Plusnet for approx 8 years but point blank refused to match new customer deals for me despite raising a ticket and calling customer services. Have therefore moved my account. Was account greatcurtains if you would like to check history!

  • neutral

    by katoomba at 11:24 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    I fully agree with Dave, it appears that there is more than just the review writing that seems to link peter from merseyside and bob pullen i am of the opinion that they are colleagues at plusnet.

    re bob pullen your suggestion was that the customer was a troll thats what you meant to get across sow the seeds eh ! your comments were borderline defamation. and coming from a Plusnet employee you should be ashamed of yourself you are showing Plusnet to be just the same as yourself , if you dont like what is said you then get Peter to join the attack how convienient is that.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 9:57 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @Malcolm,

    Your engineer visit's finally been rescheduled for next week. I've also reviewed your billing due to the hassle you've had and the length of time it's taken to get things sorted. I've dropped you an email containing the details.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 17:09 on 17 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @w.j.young, that doesn't sound right to me. Our Customer Options Team quite often arrange offers for existing customer that match the promotional ones we advertise. Happy to look into it if you can provide me with some method of identifying your account (username or recent support ticket reference).

    @Dave, sorry to hear you had problems. Glad to hear they're no more though. Not sure where the claim we're expensive comes from. I'm of the opinion we're one of the cheapest. There are complaints across the internet concerning pretty much every ISP. Whilst we're by no means perfect, and mistakes do happen occasionally, we tend to come of pretty favourably if you look at the more popular comparison sites.

    Plusnet was not created as a 'sub-company'. We've been around as an ISP since 1997, floated on the investment market mid-2000's and were acquired by BT shortly after. We still operate independently to BT Retail to this day and have our own offices, operations etc. I've worked for the company throughout.

    Our fibre services are available to over 15 million premises and rising, which you have to admit is hardly a 'few scattered areas'.

    Thanks for the career advice but I'll politely decline if that's OK with you ;)

    @Adrian, if you've still not managed to get through to us then provide me with your account username or a recent support ticket reference from your account and I'll see what I can do.

    @katoomba, to clarify, what I said in reply to that particular customer was, "...your posts are borderline trolling." I did not call the customer a Troll in the derogatory sense. All of my posts and attempts to help the customer in question are still visible on page two of these reviews if you click the hyperlink to view them all.

    @Dave, the £25 fee you refer to is a cessation fee. It's explained on our website and for what it's worth is actually *less* than what we get charged at a Wholesale level to disconnect a customer's line (migrating to another ISP doesn't incur the charge).

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • neutral

    by Dave at 9:50 on 15 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    So > Peter on Merseyside < what you are saying is you totally agree with me Plusnet is just another arm of BT, you do often 'get in wrong' and you and Bob spend all your time fire fighting to mop up the mistakes of your poorly trained, minimum wage customer hindrance department. And my opinion is not just my opinion, it is shared not by a few hundred, but thousands of our Ex-customers that were ripped off even when trying to escape your YES very expensive disorganisation. £25 calculation fee even when you are out of your 12 month contract ? a massive artificial hype in the 'over your woefully low 60gb limit usage fee - just to try and milk the last drops out of a departing customer, Plusnet tried to charge me £95 !!! and for a £13 months line rental after I had switched to another company with my MAC code so were disconnected from Plusnet !Pete you and Bob are members of a disgusting extortion racket, not a professional well run business. So yes Very Expensive just like its parent company BT.

    Glad we all agree !

  • neutral

    by katoomba at 9:45 on 15 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Re Peter on Merseyside.
    so the guy called Bob Pullin a sado, bit over the topI have to say, but do I recall several months ago Bob Pullen calling another disgruntled customer a Troll on the forum which is every bit as bad more so when Bob Pullen is acting on behalf of Plusnet and making derogatory remerks himself.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 21:54 on 14 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    My last comment was in response to w.j.young (frustrated loyal customer).

    As for Dave's comments... where on earth do I start ?

    "Plusnet was created as a Sub-company to try and win back customers that would not touch the equally inept and hideously expensive BT."

    No, Plus.Net was bought by BT a few (6?) years ago, but runs separately and unlike the takeovers of Tiscali and Pipex by TalkTalk, had no form of "absorption" into the new owner's empire.

    I'd agree that BT is often expensive, but "Everything about your lame, expensive and inept Dis' organisation blah, blah, blah" Well, that your view, Dave, but while I'd never claim any ISP is perfect, and Plus.Net has its faults from time to time, I think it's pretty much the opposite of expensive, inept or lame. As for Customer Service, I'd hate to be with many other big ISPs, as time and again, Plus.Net gets recognition as having one of the better CS teams...

    "you Sad'o Bob has to trawl the many Broadband blogs to try and rescue your sinking company"

    A bit much to get personal, when you're sat at an anonymous screen, calling a guy at an ISP a "Sado" (and where on earth do you get the impressing it's a "sinking" business ?

    Fact is, there are many ISPs that don't bother to interact with customers apart from inside their own web forum, so for much of the time, complaints aren't out in public. At least Plus.Net takes note, and where possible, tries to resolve problems, offer a different level of support (Bob and a handful of others bend over backwards to try and chase faults and sort out a response for the customer. Yes, from time to time Plus.Net gets it wrong, and Bob is man enough to not just confirm that, but tries to offer some goodwill or assist the (soon to be ex-) customer, and if it needs changes in Plus.Net customer services, as they have said or done the wrong thing, Bob will educate CS and try to prevent it being repeated. That's the type of Customer Service that makes me happy to be with them - not one that jut says "sorry about that' in some half hearted way and carries on without correcting things for the future.

  • unhappy

    by Adrian Savory at 17:42 on 12 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    I've just discovered that I am paying £25/mth for unlimited broadband whereas new customers are paying a mere £9.99. I've been with plusnet for 10 years, wanted to switch to fibre, got put on hold/disconnected (twice!) until 30 mins later the lines were closed. I think they've just lost a customer.

  • unhappy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 20:06 on 11 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    I did switch to the unlimited deal, but can quite understand what you're feeling.
    When Fibre comes to this area (fairly soon), I'd like to be able to get the same deals that new customers get (back in January, some were getting the Fibre Unlimited at half price for 6 months, saving 60 quid, and then also getting 90 quid cashback from Quidco (I think), meaning they made a saving of 150 quid on the annual 240 pound cost (and many could also use the phone deal to get the installation free).

    As a customer who joined end of March 2003, I am looking to use a brand new phone line (installed into an upstairs "office") for fibre, but as an existing customer what discounts would I get... well, perhaps the Fibre would be installed for free, if I had Plus.Net install the line, but there would seem to be no discount for someone upgrading.

    As it would be an upgrade I'd have the full 240 to pay during the year. I don't really need the phone call package(I have unlimited [internet, texts, and] calls to landlines and mobiles on T-Mobile for 8 pounds a month), and Primus charges less each month than the "discount rate" Plus.Net charges, so I have no incentive to even use Plus.Net for the line (but that means I then would have extra to pay for the Fibre service to be installed).

    It feels like a kick in the head for already using Plus.Net!

  • happy

    by Dave at 17:50 on 11 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    To: Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

    Bob,
    I made the mistake of signing up with Plusnet (BT/ Openreach all one company with multiple names). Thankfully dumped you when the contract ran out, no problems ever since.

    Everything about your lame, expensive and inept Dis' organisation is summed up on these posts and your chronic dysfunctional customer service (should be re-named Victim 'fob off' and milk them for all they are worth Department). The fact that you Sad'o Bob has to trawl the many Broadband blogs to try and rescue your sinking company just proves just how bad its run. You blame BT/ Openreach >>> Plusnet was created as a Sub-company to try and win back customers that would not touch the equally inept and hideously expensive BT.
    Openreach are just another name for the lazy overpaid 4 day a week BT engineers ITS ALL THE SAME COMPANY MAN ! as you well know.
    As most broadband suppliers 'rent' BT exchange lines they are bound to be all as slow and unreliable as BT as they all use the same 30+ year old copper wire lines fine as human hair and covered in verdigris copper rot). BT's greed and lack of investment in the UK Telecom infrastructure has meant it has stagnated all through the 1990s, 2000s, and only just catching up in a few random areas. Nynex/NTL put down the alternative fibre optic network in the early 90s that Virgin use today with speeds of 30mbps and 60mbps and 100mbps, just a bit faster than your average 6mbps land line or even Plusnet fibre optic available only in a few scattered areas.

    All in all a total disgrace of a company and Bob old boy I strongly suggest a rapid career change, you are trying to polish a turd and trust me its impossible.

  • unhappy

    by w.j.young at 16:01 on 11 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Have tried to renew my agreement after 12 months to an unlimited deal but cannot get anyone to match there own deals for new customers so they effectivly push you out the door,called twice to get a mac code and waited over 25 min on each call untill I got it.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 9:28 on 11 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Hi Terry,

    The fibre set-up fees are typically waived if you move your phone service to us (or already have it with us). If you're hanging problems with your ADSL service though then I'd urge you to work with us to sort those out before you consider upgrading (or moving elsewhere).

    If you're using a wireless connection when you experience the problem then I advise seeing if you can replicate the issue using a wired connection. That should help narrow down whether it's the Internet connection itself or an issue with the wireless link.

    Either way, it's worth you heading over to http://faults.plus.net and completing the troubleshooter there so that we can run some tests on your line. If you do this and can provide me with the fault ticket reference then I'd be happy to take a look and see if there's anything I can do to help.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care

  • unhappy

    by Terry at 8:05 on 11 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    I have been with plusnet for some years now (i switched from sky)but over the last few months the internet service has become diabolical! I can not connect and and when eventually conected its painfull slow. (through my iphone 3G is much faster!)
    After calling customer service i was told to turn off router etc which i have to do most days now but does not seems to help.
    I had looked into fiber optic but with that comes exrra fees for set up etc.
    I can say if this continues i will be looking to change my internet provider. All i want is a goid internet service thst works.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 16:43 on 8 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Hi Malcom,

    I've just taken a look at your account and I'm equally as disappointed to see there's been little movement :(

    It's unfortunate you've found yourself in the situation you have. Orders don't normally stall like this and we're having to battle with BT Wholesale and Openreach to remedy a problem with their systems before we can progress further.

    I still have my eye on things and will be happy to offer something in the way of a goodwill gesture once things are up and running.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • unhappy

    by Malcolm at 21:03 on 5 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Plusnet are full of promise but unable to deliver.
    It's now been four days of trying to rearange a engineer visit but they are unable to do this very simple task.
    Tried to speak to a manager to get thing moving but the manager said he had no more power than the help desk, what a waste of time trying to speak to someone who should have the authority to get things sorted.
    Plusnet are not a capable company.

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 12:14 on 5 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @Malcolm,

    Sorry to hear that. It'll have been an Openreach engineer that was due out. Whilst we don't have a huge amount of control over their operations, I'm sorry you were inconvenienced.

    If you can provide me with your account username or a recent support ticket reference then I'll happily take a look and see if there's anything I can do to help?

    If Openreach ask us to re-book your engineer then there is a possibility it could be a week or so. Obviously we wouldn't expect you to pay for any period of time you've been without service.

    Of course you're within your right to go elsewhere however no provider that's dependent on BT Wholesale will be able to arrange an installation any sooner.

    Sorry.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • unhappy

    by Malcolm at 16:55 on 4 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Would not recommend at all, I was meant to have an engineer to install my fibre broadband on Tues, they called at 4pm to say engineer sick. I had taken the day off so cost me money, they could have called earlier so as I did not need to leave work.
    It's now two days later and they are still unable to give a date for an engineer revisit.
    I have spoken to a so called manager but he said he was unable to do any more than the help desk, (what the point of being a manager). they say the revisit will be around 10 day off. I think by then I will have cancelled and gone elsewhere. A total waste of time for a company who pride themselves on customer service. A complete joke.

  • neutral

    by Peter on Merseysie at 12:55 on 3 Mar 2013 Report abuse

    @Paul Buckley - I suspect you've been on the 'Premium' account or similar and see they now have the 'Unlimited' account available. I think it may be the case that Plus.Net didn't contact existing customers with news of the launch of the new account.

    I can see pros and cons - as even though it's a bit cheaper, it does lock a customer in for another 12 months, and some would not want that 'lock in'.

    Generally happy, but having seen the discount offer for new customers of half price when they joined PN on 'Fibre Unlimited', I'd like a similar offer to be made to loyal customers who've been with PlusNet for years! (and not just for a few weeks but at any time the existing customer upgrades to Fibre, as exchanges and cabinets are not all ready for users to actually get the fibre service).

    Loyal customers, who not only don't get the discount rate but could not take up the additional 90 pounds from 'Quidco' (making a saving of 150 pounds for new customers compared with anyone simply 'upgrading').

    It'd be enough to make me consider switching to someone else and then switching back to be a new customer! (unfortunately am now tied for 12 months on the 'Unlimited' a/c)

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 12:32 on 27 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Hi Lorenzo Lodi,

    I will double check however we've a reference number from our merchant account provider so I would be surprised if the refund wasn't successful. Please note that the refund was credited to the card you paid the £49.99 installation fee with and not necessarily the account you paid your regular subscription payments from.

    I have received your Facebook message so will arrange for a cheque to be sent out for the £9.60 difference in subscription costs.

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care.

  • neutral

    by Tano Da Morire at 10:44 on 27 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    @ Bob Pullen

    Thanks, however I don't see any refund dated 21 of January. Processed does not mean executed or completed probably. Can you please double check and make it effective?

    Thanks,
    Lorenzo Lodi

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 20:21 on 26 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Bob,

    It just seems there's no "joined up thinking" from Openreach. They've known what work was required since December. However, each little bit gets done in isolation rather than the whole thing being treated as one piece of work. It's just so frustrating

  • Bob Pullen

    by Bob Pullen at 16:48 on 26 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    @Nidgester, thanks for the positive feedback :)

    @Steve, had a quick look at your account earlier and was under the impression that things had progressed? The 'internal cabling' delay is pretty typical of the standard Openreach lead time at the moment. Openreach will only interact with their direct customers, there's no avenue for you to contact them directly I'm afraid. We have been chasing things with BT Wholesale on your behalf. I'm glad that there now appears to be light at the end of the tunnel and apologies again for the length of time things are taking.

    @Paul, it's not unusual for us to run promotions to acquire new custom, most telecommunications providers do. It does sound unusual that we've been unable to come to an agreement an existing customer would be happy with though. If you've a support ticket reference you can provide me with then I'll happily take a quick look and see if there's anything further that we can do for you?

    @Tano Da Morire, thanks. I've taken a look at your account and can confirm that we actually processed a refund for £25.37 against invoice 38025339 on the 21st January. The refund was credited to a VISA card, last two digits 67. The money for the ~25 days you were without service following your departure from your old house hasn't been refunded though. That comes to £9.60 however I have no means of getting the money to you now that your account is cancelled. If you message us over on Facebook with your new address then I can arrange for a cheque to be sent out - https://www.facebook.com/plusnet

    Best regards,

    Bob Pullen
    Plusnet Digital Care

  • happy

    by Nidgster at 9:51 on 26 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Thought I would put in a good word for Plusnet as there are many on here who have issues. Just moved to Plusnet today and I have moved from EE (formerly Orange). My internet speeds have seen a vast improvement from my former supplier so I am very pleased with my package.

    Hopefully I shall remain a happy customer in the future. I have had other suppliers past including Virgin, Eclipse, AOL and Orange so I have had my fair share of issues with the broadband market.

    As I say my intial thoughts are that the service is very good and I will send another comment later in the year, if anything changes.

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 20:46 on 25 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    Openreach were supposed to have completed the work by the 25th. Guess what? No sign of them again! Plusnet contacted me today to say that Openreach have now said the internal cabling can't be done until March 15th - 3 weeks after the external cabling was done. I didn't bother asking which year they meant. How does one contact Openreach directly? I'm not sure the Plusnet Housemoves team do an awful lot of chasing

  • neutral

    by Paul Buckley at 15:29 on 25 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    We have been a customer of Plusnet for 8 years!

    I now discover that new customers can get a better deal than me £78pa! This is topsy turvey and they will not match despite me threatening to leave.

    I will now have to change.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 14:00 on 24 Feb 2013 Report abuse

    @geronimo - no idea what you're on about, old chap. "wiped the floor with" ? Sorry, but I don't remember that. Have had some discussion with Bob Mathewson, who is happier to ave left PN, but no, geronimo, I'm not Peter Gill.

    As for PlusNet, I really am just a customer, but have clearly had fewer problems (not all of them caused by PN, quite easily demonstrated), than some posters, but it is bound to be the case that the majority of posts will be of a complaining nature, as there are few 'happy customers' looking for places to post a review.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: