« back to Post Office broadband

Post Office broadband Reviews | Page 17

  • happy

    by Graham Bleakley at 18:41 on 28 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Thansk to this site and ML, got my mum's post office email up running with Outlook and incredimail.

    Absolutely no info on website or with package to tell you how to do this, very disappointing.

    goto Tools/Accounts (right at the bottom of the menu)
    then "add" a new account the the majority of the settings are fairly obvious the problem ones are the server settings and username format

    set outgoing server to be pop3.mypostoffice.co.uk
    sey incoming server to be smtp.mypostoffice.co.uk
    use the full e-mail addres for the username [email protected]

    do not select "Log on using secrue password" or "my server requires authenitcation"

    Hope this helps you all.
    And this is a very useful site, keep upthe good work.

  • happy

    by Derek Newport at 12:20 on 26 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    All happend on time! Nice people, Good service. lots of help with any problems, and a fast connection.
    Very happy keep up the good work,
    and a happy new year to Mypostoffice.
    But do get your site sorted out. its your shop window and looks a bit amateur, and the site is slow. but its early days.

  • unhappy

    by tina at 12:07 on 26 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    have had broadband and home phone with the post office for nearly a week, although i got connected ok i cant use the email address and password they gave me as i get the message saying they dont recognise my email address, so, perhaps it takes a while for it all to register, and internet explore still puts me into my old server (tiscali) as my home page , so i dont know whats going on, but at least i'm on the net so thats whats important to me, lets hope i dont get a horrid message from them saying i'm abusing their service. lots of teething problems i think. as for the customer service, well, dont get me started!!, is anyone there.

  • happy

    by ML at 16:54 on 20 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I have had Post Office broadband since the 10th. No major problems but a nightmare trying to get through to their technical dept. I get my mail through Outlook Express. They give me the following details
    pop3.mypostoffice.co.uk
    smtp.mypostoffice.co.uk
    Hope that helps

  • unhappy

    by capone at 1:09 on 18 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    do not go on post office!!!!! its 100% rip off did not have e mail 3 mouths all so ther say you have 50megs off web space that is 100% lie you only get 20meg ther selling someing that is not 100% true.

  • unhappy

    by me at 14:21 on 12 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    DO NOT GO ON IT IT DONT WORK!!! you dont get 50megs off web ther selling someing ther can not give when you phone tham it takes over 2hrs to tham to ans the phone....its not any cheep when you have to keep ringing tham PLZ avoid!!!!! YOU WILL SAVE BYE NOT GOING ON HERE (POST OFFICE BROADBAND ) 100% RIP OFF

  • happy

    by froze at 18:37 on 11 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    have broadband with post office it is fantastic excellent speed we get around 6meg even at peek times - make sure microfilters are attached if a phone is being used - the more phones u have in house the slower you get

  • happy

    by George Owens at 12:34 on 9 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I've got the standard broadband package. Seems to work well and the speeds are good as well. However, they don't supply the ADSL user name and password with the standard netgear router, so if you're thinking of upgrading to a wireless router then you will have headaches, trust me. I've tried getting hold of customer care but i sit on hold for over 10-15mins then give up. Tried emailing them and no response. The only way so far is to daisy chain the modem and the wireless router, which works after fashion, but they should be supplying the ADSL user name and passwords to connect to their service (BTW this is not the user name and password supplied in their welcome pack).

    In short if you're happy to use their standard netgear wired modem then its a good service.

  • happy

    by Steve at 9:01 on 9 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    My Post Office Broadband & Home Phone started 26th November as promised the router arrived two days before, very easy to set up , just plug it all in & it works, the only problem i had was that 3 of my new e mail addresses did not work & i got no help fom technical support , but everything works well now.
    To me its a great sevice as you can pay in cash at the post office, as i do not have a bank account i could not get broadnand with anyone else & managed with BT Dial up for years.

  • happy

    by Adrian at 17:38 on 30 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Just joined the People's Broadband service courtesy of the Post Office (great line, guys) and am very impressed. It works a treat and was simple to set up in the first place. Now just need to get my post delivered before 4pm!

  • unhappy

    by cliff at 17:22 on 19 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    The kit arrived but the service did'nt start when it was supposed to. Tried phonong their so called "support" but totally unable to get through, constantly left waiting on the line (50 mins last time)Written Two emails to tech support and complaints dept. Neither have responded 3 days later. ABSOLUTELY APPALLING. So I can't contact them , dont know if I am being charged because the website "portal" gives no information .Hopeless in the extreme. If I ever get thu I will be cancelling.
    BTW connected the supplied Netgear router up and tried to get access to it via its IP but it is password SECURED and the password is not provided. How bad is that?

  • unhappy

    by Justin at 11:27 on 17 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Dont buy this. The post office are having appalling problem with delivery and computer systems resulting in huge delays in activating peoples service and getting kit out. This is by thier own admission. I have been waiting weeks and weeks. It is near on impossible to get them on the phone for reasons that I cant comment on, however, it seems fairly obvious what the real story of bedlam and dissarray is. You are probably better off going to Pizza Hut for your broadband. I have allowed contingency for another months waiting by buying, at considerable cost, a GPRS T-Mobile modem to get me by. If you want all your hair to fall out and to resort to the land postal service (ironically) then sign up for Post Office Broadband. Serously folks - dont go near this provider until they have sorted out the fallout from thier infrastructure and industrial relations issues.

  • happy

    by pharell williams at 1:59 on 17 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    its not that bad as i have 8mbs and for some reason i was getting 1mb download speed which has gone lowered to 500kbps which is turned my frown upside down cant complain though its was still cheaper than my 1mb line i was paying before and x5 faster.

  • happy

    by del at 16:52 on 16 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Having been a Homephone customer for the past 18 months, and very pleased with this service, I ordered up Standard Broadband.
    Everything arrived as they said it would, start date was when they said.......All o/k so far.
    Started install, router self-configure worked o/k, but NO broadband connection.
    I knew this was a BT line problem, so spoke to Tech Support (all Irish) nice people !!. (No Indian call centre...Brilliant).
    Tech support are polite but not deeply technical.....explained the problem.....said they would log a call with BT....(but i've heard this one before)....No response for 24 hrs....rang again...They said it had been overlooked, they would log call again....Nothing again for 24hrs, so decided to do my own BT line troubleshooting.
    Found a wiring problem in my roof, hence BINGO Broadband up and running..........and it works well !!!!!.
    Just to recap, all "Broadband ISP's" tech support is poor because they are all under so much pressure in this modern world.

  • unhappy

    by David Evans at 13:50 on 12 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Involved setting this up for a friend. They have had a lot of teething troubles in early Nov 2007, some of which at the time of writing have still to be resolved. From my experience you can forget the tech support line in the evening as they are swamped with calls and obviously oversupscribed and undermanned. As a computer professional I found the tech support to have little technical (network) knowledge. Email (secondary names dont work) appears only to be web based as they don't supply any POP3 or SMTP server details. Looks excellent value for money IF your install goes smoothly - great if it does, lord help you if it doesn't !

  • happy

    by chappo at 19:36 on 7 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    really pleased. post office homephone broadband at £21.95 per month - I'm getting free evening and weekend calls and line rental included in charges no extra charges. so much better than BT phone plus pipex charges!!

  • happy

    by mick2404 at 14:28 on 16 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Well, i've just ordered broadband from the post office for my grandad.

    It's an extra £15.00 a month on top of the standard post office line rental for the "unlimited" 8 meg service with a wireless router....

    More details to follow when the router turns up and the line is activated. !! :)

  • unhappy

    by ken smith at 12:16 on 3 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I have my phone now with the Post Office at the moment I will certainly sign up for their broadband.
    My brother has just gone onto talk talk bundle and is comment is rubbish

  • happy

    by sun uk at 20:21 on 19 Sep 2007 Report abuse

    I am a branch manager at a Post Office and I can assure Post Office Broadband is coming, I am going on a traing seminar on 5th October 2007. More details will follow. The phon service is better and cheaper BT. I believe broadband will also be cheaper and better.

  • happy

    by Amazing Grace at 13:39 on 30 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    With BT treating its customer so arrogantly, the Post Office could net the BT fall-out - and I would be there if Post Office had broadband. Unfortunately at the moment, BT have it. Come on - wipe up the market!

  • happy

    by Amazing Grace at 13:38 on 30 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    With BT treating its customer so arrogantly, the Post Office could net the BT fall-out - and I would be there if Post Office had broadband. Unfortunately at the moment, BT have it. Come on - wipe up the market!

  • happy

    by ines cudna at 16:50 on 24 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Nice site.
    Thx
    ines cudna
    :-)

  • happy

    by cel at 21:40 on 13 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    I live in hope that Post Office Ltd will soon offer broadband as I would expect it to be less expensive (along with better customer services) than Orange or BT, (what have you done SKY?) This will hopefully be combined with my present phone service (PO) to offer me an honest straight forward service. May you rule.

  • happy

    by Marlene Parnell at 16:45 on 30 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I would love the Post Office to offer Broadband, I am thinking of going back to BT or other Broadband connection. I don't wish to because the Post Office I find very helpful and cheaper than BT.

  • happy

    by Julie Hawkins at 18:02 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I am finding it impossible to get broadband through a Post Office phone line at all, or any info on Post Office broadband at all!
    Its a shame because I have been with the Post Office for a while now.. but I'm forced to go back to BT!! Sorry!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: