« back to Post Office broadband

Post Office broadband Reviews | Page 3

  • neutral

    by boo at 4:44 on 2 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    I've never had a bad service but most of these comments are laughable.

    Obviously you're going to be peeved if you've had bad service but the way half of you talk is as if as soon as you call you expect to know what's happening there and then and fixed straight away. These people didn't even know who you were when they woke up they just got out of bed.... went to work and took calls and sorry to burst your bubble but unfortunately sometimes things do take a little longer than expected to resolve. Its technology, its unpredictable and things go wrong..

    Also, to those complaining about not being able to download music or films.. That's illegal anyway! Buy your own music and films! Seems as if you're all expecting everything for nothing.

    Queue the "im guessing you work for PO bla bla bla..." No, i dont. I looked up reviews because im thinking of joining and so far have the impression that you lot lead very boring lives to constantly post negative comments on a thread to try your hardest to make people think this company is rubbish OR that you have a naive mind to expect everything to run perfect at all times, and to end this i'd like to express how sorry i feel for you.

  • neutral

    by professor at 17:36 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    @Malcom - Once again wrong again. Why do forum anoraks claim to know what I think or prefer? P.O. Broadband never has been my favorite bait, just better value than Plusnet and a few others and not as bad as painted by some.
    You are quite correct in that the bottom line is what customer service is like. That is why my favorite bait is Freeola - loved by it's customers and a service that offers much more than most, but not the cheapest, but I expect many will now find fault with that. So now you can spout my favorite bait in the knowledge you are right.
    Their unlimited starts at 7.00 p.m. and covers ALL weekends.
    http://freeola.com/broadband/

  • neutral

    by Malcolm at 17:21 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    Oops, just realised that with effect from 11.43 today, PO is suddenly no longer the favourite bait with you. The bottom line in all this, whatever the provider, is what the customer service is like, and that's what most people here are occupied with. Personally I couldn't care two hoots whether a service is rebranded BT Wholesale or not. In theory, every ISP that uses BT Wholesale should all have the same amount of downtime, low speeds, etc. That is obviously not the case.

  • neutral

    by Malcolm at 16:59 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    Dear Gruff,

    >What is it about the antagonistic pond-life within fora, that
    >despite knowing bu**er-all about the facts of a subject,
    >they never let that get in the way of bias or spite.

    We're all waiting with bated breath for you to tell us!

    The fact that seems to escape you is that a lot of people have had no end of trouble with the Post Office. If you wish to continue acting like a pike, that's up to you, but I'm going to stay on the bank and heave a great sigh of relief that you are going back to the Post Office. You are eminently suited to each other.

    And to think I only came to this forum because a friend was with the PO and I was interested to know what the general verdict was.

  • neutral

    by professor at 11:23 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    I have dropped any idea of returning to the Post Office for Broadband or phone, as it is now switching from being a managed B.T. Wholesale product, to an ISP I would not touch with a barge pole.
    http://www.fujitsu.com/uk/news/pr/fs_20120525.html

  • neutral

    by professor at 9:38 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    Take a look at my drops with Plusnet - PO or PN it is all B.T. Wholesale, drops and all!
    http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/2808/connectionspeed2012may0.jpg

  • neutral

    by Tony Robinson at 8:49 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    My broadband line was dropping a couple of times an hour. I've asked the PO to lower the line speed in the hope of making it more stable. It seems to be slightly more stable now but there's been no reply to my request. It's mostly usable but I'm still going to switch when my 12 months is up.

  • unhappy

    by professor at 7:57 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    @Malcolm
    I assume you are stupid also. If you care to check a few posts back, you will see I state that "I am suffering the horrors of Plusnet". I also state it is the ONLY ISP where I have suffered downtime, AND I am seriously thinking of saving a tenner and returning to the Post Office. What is it about the antagonistic pond-life within fora, that despite knowing bu**er-all about the facts of a subject, they never let that get in the way of bias or spite.

  • happy

    by Malcolm at 7:36 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    Dear Billy Goat Gruff,

    If Plusnet are so good, why don't you champion them in the Plusnet reviews section???

    There's something very strange about your contributions here. You flame people who dare to complain about the Post Office - whose service you don't use - but seem content to let people complain about bad experiences with Plusnet, which you do use.

    Don't come trip-trapping over my bridge, you old goat, as I don't think you'd taste very nice.

    Signed,

    Hungry but happy Troll

  • unhappy

    by vls at 20:36 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    Well so far the Post Office have royally annoyed me...a month ago we ordered the broadband extra and calls package for our new home and they said you will receive your router in two weeks, two weeks passed and we had nothing so we called them up. They said the broadband hadnt been ordered...kept my cool and just believed it to be miscommunication so they said it would be the next week we would receive it. A week later we still hadn't received it...so we called AGAIN and they said it hadn't been ordered AGAIN! So we are threatening to leave then they pull their finger out and another week passes before it arrives...now we have been sat here watching the router since yesterday morning waiting for the internet to go live...been on the phone yet again and they say it will just turn on at some point before midnight and its out of their hands! Not even got a connection and we have been through so much rubbish don't know what to expect ans don't think this will be a long relationship!

  • neutral

    by professor at 19:23 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    @ steve jarvis. Were you born stupid, or did you study at college? - Or possibly you just act stupid and insult people for fun.
    I DID NOT SAY the P.O. was part of B.T. I stated that Post Office Broadband is simply resold B.T. Wholesale Broadband (While Label) and that it is completely managed by B.T. apart from the P.O. customer service.
    Visit Specavers, then read up. You will find P.O. BB is B.T Wholesale broadband.
    https://www.btwholesale.com/pages/static/Managed_Services/White_Label_Managed_Services/White_Label_Managed_Services.htm
    http://point-topic.com/content/operatorSource/profiles2/post-office.htm

  • unhappy

    by steve jarvis at 16:54 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    Well professor, BUSTED but also wrong again!

    If you think Post Office is part of BT and therefore the service can be no worse than that BT offer............WRONG!

    Whilst I was with Post Office I tried for weeks to get a phone call answered by Tech support, (I use that term Tech Support very lightly here) they promised to call back but never did. I tried writing to the name of a person I was given in one call, this was sent recorded delivery, they never answered it, but worse many months later when I threatened to take them to court they denied receiving the letter!

    I then found out the name of a very senior person at Post office and wrote to him, giving all the dates I had called Tech Support and providing a copy of the letter I had sent to them, this was again sent recorded delivery and I know the date it was signed for at their end. He ignored my letter and then when I reached the end of road and threatened to sue them for `non contractual performance` somebody at last rang me, but denied receiving this second letter and the first!

    They agreed to let me out of my contract early provided I didn't take them to court, to save the hassle of court proceeding I agreed, they waived any early contract cancellation fees, these were about £125 from memory. It then took me over a month to get my PAC code from them, I emailed them every day until they gave me this.

    After I finally left them, they then sent me a bill for £125 early cancellation fees and didn't take off the months free broadband they had offered me for all of the trouble I had had. Luckily I keep all paperwork and emails and managed to persuade the accounts department they had agreed to release me early from my contract without penalty. It took several months and several letters before I finally received a refund from them.

    I am not party to any information that Post Office is part of BT, but I can tell you from the experience of many members of my own family and many friends, that the service from BT is YES more expensive, but it works and that's the point, a good product that works is worth more than a cheap product that doesn't work.....SIMPLES! If it goes wrong one call to their Tech Support gets if fixed, that's something else worth paying for.

  • happy

    by professor at 10:40 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    Dear Trolls,
    A search back through my posts will show I am far from a serial abuser. They will also show I was once a Post Office Broadband user who moaned about the mail server being down every evening for years and that the customer services virtually never answered emails. That said, you can use other email. In my case, I have my own hosted service along with my website. Their Broadband service, despite being only a 8Mb service was reliable and the U.K. phone based customer services were one of the best I found. As I have stated many times, Post Office Broadband is a B.T. White Label service. In other words, they are just reselling B.T. Wholesale that is totally managed by B.T. So the broadband itself can be no worse than B.T. or any other resold BTW product. I realise B.T. are not loved by many, but my main point has always been that they are no worse than B.T. but half the price, with many extras such as no line rental tie-in, a shorter than B.T. Broadband contract, free calls to mobiles and 40 countries at weekends and no penalty for not taking direct debit.
    As I said, I had a perfectly reliable service with them, but I realise there are good and bad experiences with all ISPs, just as there are those with an agenda who slag an ISP off at every opportunity, but they are a decent low price no frills service that will suit many.
    I left specifically to get anytime calls, which is something they have recently added. I am now suffering the horrors of a limited Plusnet service at £10 per month more expensive, which rather cancels out the anytime calls and a faster ADSL2+ service. I was getting a steady 6.5Mb down with the Post Office 24/7 and unlike Plusnet, never had an interruption of service.
    So. I am not with or employed by the Post Office, but possibly you can see why with the anytime calls they have now added, I am seriously considering returning and saving a tenner.

  • unhappy

    by steve jarvis at 8:58 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    Well said Malcolm. I didn't realise Professor was a professional abuser!

    We now live in an era where poor service seems to be the norm from most companise, not excellant service from the many with just a few offerring crap service.

    Whether I want a decorator or garage or any service, I only do that by asking for personal reccomendation from friends before choosing a service provider. Just look at Yellow Pages for instance, in the industry I work in, the largest full or half page ads in this publication, with all the membership of trade assosications etc prove to be the biggest cowboys, but on face value these are the companies you would call in when you want something done.

    As they say "Be Careful Out There"

    Regards

    Steve

  • neutral

    by Malcolm at 8:01 on 24 May 2012 Report abuse

    Steve, have you noticed how 'Professor' is quick to rubbish other providers? I mentioned in November that I am with Utility Warehouse and got flamed by him when he'd looked at the link I gave. If you want statistics, they say a recent survey showed that 96% of their customers would recommend them to a friend. That's a little better than 77%! My view is that even the best will have problems from time to time, but what most of us want is those problems sorted out promptly, not to be fobbed off all the time.

  • unhappy

    by steve jarvis at 9:23 on 23 May 2012 Report abuse

    To all readers of these pages in trying ti decide what ISP to use, don't even read the comments of Professor, he thinks that anyone who comes on these pages reporting problems and terrible experiences in using Post Office are Trolls, i.e anyone who doesn't agree with his views that Post Office are a fabulous company!

    I`m not going to respond to his last post by saying what ISP I`m with, because that could show me as using these pages to push one particular ISP, my current supplier is quite expensive, but then they give fast speed and tech support when it goes wrong, which is all you need. All I say to anyone thinking of going over to the Post Office is to click on the link above `show all 427 Post Office Broadband Reviews` to see the awful experiences other people have had with this company going back all the way to 2007!, then ask around amongst amongst friends and relatives to see what ISP they use and then perhaps you will be pointed in the right direction. Look at further post since the Professors last one and here we have even more posts showing unhappy customers, surprise, surprise, this guy obviously has a personal agenda, which I am sure most people will be able to see through.

    Forget the Professors cry to "look at the statistics on the right", anything can be proved with statistics, but other peoples experiences of good or poor customer support are what really count.

  • unhappy

    by Roger H at 20:54 on 19 May 2012 Report abuse

    NO SECURITY AND EXTREMLY SLOW - NICE TECH STAFF but ineffective at the moment.....I've been with the Post Office for 2 yrs .. my download and upload speed is seriously slow and KASPERSKY has 'run out' on one of my machines [I am paying] so there are no updates possible "we've a problem with them but it will correct in the next week or so" - I ask you!!. My other machine has a virus which Kaspersky sees, reports, deletes then it's back again when I restart. I'm not at all happy - can't safely use either machine - about to ask for my MAC code and jump ship.

  • unhappy

    by Conor at 14:10 on 18 May 2012 Report abuse

    I didn't have any problems with Post Office broadband until like a month ago, usually my d/l speed would be 6.5 but it dropped right down to a 0.07 for days at a time. I phoned them to tell them what was wrong and they just said we had an average of 3.1 so there wasn't a problem. I don't pay money for a speed of 3.1 nor am i getting that, they were very very unhelpful and i still have very slow internet from thursday til tuesday.

  • neutral

    by professor at 19:57 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    @Steve Jarvis Troll. Firstly I don't work for the Post Office. Secondly, Post Office Broadband is resold B.T. Wholesale and it is managed BY B.T. all at half the price. BUT, most importantly, take my advice and look at the red survey results at the top of this page. You will see that the P.O. broadband scored an "Incredible" 86% for reliability from actual users, while 77% of them would recommend to a friend. That is much more meaningful than any old post here from people like you with an agenda. Tell us which ISP you work for and use!

  • unhappy

    by steve jarvis at 19:04 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    Yes Professor Troll its easy to get post warnings, all you have to do is click the little box at the bottom of the page `Notify me when somebody post a reply to this thread` SIMPLES!

    What are the wages like working for the Post Office by the way?

    Suggest you take my advice and click on `Show all 423 post Post Office Broadband reviews` to see some of the terrible stories for yourself that people have posted on this site about dreadful non existent service and appalling non existent support from Post Office.

    By the way when I was with Post Office for just a phone service they were great, but as soon as I got Broadband from them that's when my troubles started. Around 6 hours to download for an album of about 10 songs, that's totally crap! My present Broadband supplier does the same now in a few minutes, but its a lot more expensive.

    It depends what you want a service that's cheap, but doesn't work and you get no Technical Support, or a service that does work but costs a lot more. You pays your money and takes your choice.

    Anyway back under my little bridge now to wait for that Billy Goat!

  • neutral

    by professor at 17:12 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    Obviously the trolls have a positive post early warning system.

  • unhappy

    by stmartinsdiver at 15:09 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    I posted a note on 9th April following problems with the Post Office failing to respond to issues they earlier admitted they had with their POP3 server. To date, I have never received any acknowledgement nor update - not even from their com-plaints department.
    Steve Jarvis is absolutely right about their customer and technical support being appallingly bad. If nothing else, it is just plain ignorant to ignore communications from customers with problems - I was polite and factual but still got ignored not once, but several times.
    If you use the Post Office and the service works without any problems for you, then consider yourself fortunate as it is only when things go wrong you can comment objectively on whether they are good, bad or indifferent.
    Oh yes - their POP3 server still falls over during the evening - not as often it is true, but then as the service is reasonably priced I suppose some would say that is ok.

  • unhappy

    by steve jarvis at 14:10 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    To anyone thinking of going with Post Office or for that matter any other broadband supplier, can I suggest particularly in the case of Post Office that you click on the link towards the top of the page `show all 420 Post Office Broadband reviews`, only then can you truly decide whether this company offer an absolutely appalling service, with the numerous customers with reviews supporting this view, or decide to go with Post Office with the couple of occasional suspicious reviews from people who I suspect are either Post Office employees, or someone connected with Post Office in another way!.

    I suggest before tying yourself in, that you click on `show all 420 Post Office Broadband reviews`, then go through all of the reviews and look at the terrible experiences people have when signed up to Post Office. I used this company for a time had a terrible experience, couldn't get any Technical Support and had to threaten to go to the small claims court and then managed to leave them. I now use a different supplier, (will not name them, because I could be accused of trying to push that company) I pay a lot more for my very fast connection, but it has only let me down once and one call to Technical Support fixed the problem FANTASTIC, but it`s not cheap like PO, where it didn't work for me and I couldn't get any help to fix it.

    CHECK ALL THE COMMENTS FOR EVERY SUPPLIER SHOWN ON BROADBAND GENIE AND ASK FRIENDS AND WORK COLLEAGUES WHO THEY USE, BEFORE SIGNING UP TO SOMEONE AND GETTING POOR SERVICE AND NO SUPPORT.

  • happy

    by professor at 12:51 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    If you are looking for a real clue to how good the Post Office Broadband is, make a note of the survey star ratings to the right of this page, then compare them with B.T. Plusnet, or any other leading ISP name. You will see the P.O. are regarded much higher. Ignore the Trolls.

  • happy

    by professor at 12:50 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    If you are looking for a real clue to how good the Post Office Broadband is, make a note of the survey star ratings to the right of this page, then compare them with B.T. Plusnet, or any other leading ISP name. You will see the P.O. are regarded much higher. Ignore the Trolls.

  • happy

    by Professo at 12:44 on 17 May 2012 Report abuse

    I have never seen so many Trolls slagging off an ISP as there is here rubbishing the Post Office Broadband. The latest joke is someone complaining about foreign customer services they cannot understand. A real customer would know the PO customer services are U.K. based, and for that matter, that Post Office broadband is no more or less than B.T Wholesale Broadband that is actually managed by B.T. Just like Plusnet or any other BTW ISP.

  • neutral

    by Brendan123456 at 20:55 on 16 May 2012 Report abuse

    the internet keeps freezing, it wont work you phone up they do nothing. it keeps cutting out, or other times it wont work, when u do phone its never an english person that you can understand, i would not recommend them

  • happy

    by Tanya Hansen at 11:19 on 7 May 2012 Report abuse

    I have also have had the Post Office broadband for a couple of years now. Touch wood I have had little problems till his day. Whenever that I have had trouble with the internet I have managed to find someone fix the problem for me.

  • neutral

    by Len at 11:15 on 23 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    i must have a very rare Post Office broadband, i've been with them for over 2 years now and have had very little problems. Yes there have been a few hiccups but i've always got through to the right people and in general my probs have been sorted. I'd like to have a faster download speed but what i get is OK for my needs. So no complaints from me.

  • unhappy

    by Steve Jarvis at 9:14 on 23 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    I find it staggering to read the above under `Broadband Genie Home Broadband Awards`, when you read the absolutely incredible negative comments if you take the time to look at all 413 customer reviews going back through 14 pages of comments going back to 2007. The comments now are almost the same as in 2007 when Broadband Genie started monitoring Post Office customer responses. To StMartinsdiver and Shaun. I had similar problems, during all the time, (very short) I was with PO. I rang Tech Support, (Hah!) on several occasions and sent recorded letters to them explaining my problems. All were ignored. In the end I was going to take action against them in the small claims court for `Breach of Contract through non performance of contractual obligations` and they finally sat up and took notice! They let me leave my contract early, without early cancellation fees and the one guy I then found to speak to was very good, we communicated by email and I kept all of these, this was a good thing because having left them my problems carried on for months, because their accounts still tried to charge me an early contract cancellation fee.

    As well as the small claims court you can email all of your experiences with Post office to BBC Watchdog on [email protected]`, or BBC`s Rip Off Britain on [email protected]`, or BBC`s Dont Get Done Get Dom on [email protected]

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: