« back to Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews | Page 2

Sign up now. Call: 0800 840 5386
  • unhappy

    by dale crane at 21:43 on 4 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    been with sky since 2012 on jan, but been a sky tv customer for almost 2yrs, my sky box dont work properly, and its suppose to be HD... but thats thier oppinion, anyway, first thing is when i first ordered the complete set. i only had the had tv and phone, NO INTERNET.. after loads of phone calls, i gave up! anyway the box the sky hd was in was ripped and sealed with brown tape, "alarms bells" i asked the engineer like you do, "is this a new box" yes he replied.. but i cant recored i cant get anytime, anyway i went with "TALK TALK, where i had no problems for 18months and it turned out quite expensive way of doing internet and tv and phone! cos sky never put in a phone line so i was just having so called hd! i decided to give them one more chance, so i ordered sky phone and internet, and start a new package, for finacial reasons! the accepted without any problems, remember i DID NOT CALL TALK TALK once for ANY HELP!!! within all the time i was with them, they called me once to tell me my phone wil be off for 15mins! something you dont get with sky! i have had this package now since jan, and been nothing but HASSLE, they dont listen to you, the cut you off keep you hanging on the phone for a very long time!
    fed up with sky i want TALK TALK back....... we all make bad choices in life SKY IS ONE OF THEM, please please dont waste your money

  • unhappy

    by Natsu Hirukawa at 17:23 on 27 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    SKY is a horrible company! I ordered my broadband last Nov.!!! , however, they keep missing my appointments without letting me know. One time, they said my appointment was on Feb.17, but when I confirmed my appointment on Feb.15, they said my appointment was on Feb.21, however the engineer showed up on Feb.17!! when I was out. So I told the company to come and visit me on Feb.21 as promised, but they said they cannot do it!!! Then I said, this is it, please cancel my order, but they suggested for Feb.24, and I decided to wait, but they didn't show up again!!! I am furious, and I want to sue the company for emotional and financial distress (I am a freelance translator, so having internet at home is crucial!!)

  • neutral

    by BristolSpur at 10:51 on 27 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    If SKY spent a fraction of the money they spend on their advertising on the product & customer service, maybe just maybe, their (above) ratings would escalate.
    With a rating of ONLY 71% reliability... (which is their highest rating!) and 55% for tech support, these figures are surely below what payng customers should be accepting.
    This is a high tech business isn't it? If they want to excel in this venture they must come down from the clouds and offer a down to earth service.
    Hey, you may even see that in future ads!

  • neutral

    by BristolSpur at 10:50 on 27 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    If SKY spent a fraction of the money they spend on their advertising on the product & customer service, maybe just maybe, their (above) ratings would escalate.
    With a rating of ONLY 71% reliability... (which is their highest rating!) and 55% for tech support, these figures are surely below what payng customers should be accepting.
    This is a high tech business isn't it? If they want to excel in this venture they must come down from the clouds and offer a down to earth service.
    Hey, you may even see that in future ads!

  • unhappy

    by Derek Marsh at 17:55 on 22 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    Tried to sign up for broadband and my basket amount was over priced. Tried to telephone the order and there was no option on the ordering phone number to order. So if it's this bad I will give it a miss.

  • unhappy

    by David Robson at 20:52 on 20 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    Sky broadband and phone line is terrible. If you have a problem good luck they are Ok with very basic problems. At one point I had no internet for 3 weeks. Then recently I had no phone line for 10 weeks and did they care did they hell. They need to stick to sky TV and leave the rest to the experts

  • neutral

    by Pat Hay at 21:55 on 14 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    Can anyone in this country provide a decent broadband service? I'd imagine most people are willing to pay a realistic premium for a reliable service. We're sick to death of crappy introductory offers and crap service. It's the usual rip-off Britain. This is like being charged for a loaf of bread and the seller saying you'll only get 2 slices and by the way there's nothing you can do about it. Ofcom are as useless as the Press Complaints Commission.

  • neutral

    by Nigel at 0:38 on 22 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    When an engineer from Sky arrived over two hours late on the 7th of January 2012
    to install my new televisioin satellite services, he informed the building was too high
    for him to install a new dish on the roof (we're not allowed dishes in eye sight in Westminster), as he needed another engineer to help him. So, after much
    persuation and explaining that I couldn't afford to loose another £117.00 if
    I had to book another day off work for a new appointment, he finally agreed, but
    there was a catch, I had to go up the ladder to cable tie the cable down the building.
    Hey Ho. easy come easy go.

  • unhappy

    by Violet at 15:43 on 13 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    I would discourage anyone from going with Sky, they have the worst rudest customer service I have ever seen. They cut us off for 64p and demand £5 instead of the 64p, last month they charged us over £100 and even though they admitted it was a mistake on their part they still made us pay it and we are not getting any of it back. i have went 7 weeks without any connection this problem has been goin on since april my wire is across everone window in my stair they send me engineer out who tell me there not risking there life theyb dont get paid to do this had one out today agin because of the weather they cant do it so there not cumin out till the 20th now a joke and there still taking the moneyb out of the bank my daughter is with virgan media and never had a problem think its time to change

  • unhappy

    by Stacey Marshall at 13:21 on 7 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    I would discourage anyone from going with Sky, they have the worst rudest customer service I have ever seen. They cut us off for 64p and demand £5 instead of the 64p, last month they charged us over £100 and even though they admitted it was a mistake on their part they still made us pay it and we are not getting any of it back. I am most disgusted and as soon as virgin is avaiable in our area in about 3 months we will be switching. Do not go with Sky.

  • neutral

    by jason at 0:45 on 21 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    the problem with sky broadband is....if you are short of cash...and want to get rid of the sky tv...you are no longer allowed to keep the broadband..
    i dont really use the sky tv....but i need the broadband so i have to pay 25 quid a month for tv when freeview would do me ....
    the other thing is i am getting sky at maximum 5 meg ....i know they can supply some customers at 20 meg ...but where i live is 5 meg max...and i am in central london.
    i HAVE TO STAY WITH THEM because i use my broadband for business and i know that when you change supplier...everything goes pear shaped and you may be without broadband for up to 3 months...but that is to do with the connection company ....i would go out of business....so they have got me....and i hate them.

  • unhappy

    by John Jones at 20:12 on 18 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    I want to go back to VIRGIN I should never have left them there up to 20 mb is absolute rubbish worst broadband on the market

  • unhappy

    by Alisha at 17:58 on 10 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Have been a sky customer for all of 11 days and opted for the tv broadband and calls the tv installation was ok however I requested multi-room and was told by the engineer if I wanted that I would have 2 pay £248.00 for him to attach a bracket outside my daughters window to get reception, I refused so only one box was installed I am a contractor so as you are all aware I dont work I dont get paid I decided to take the morning off today so I could have my broadband and phoneline installed as I was told they did not do weekend appointments and this was the earliest date available, so I waited in all morning to receive an email on my blackberry telling me "sorry in the delay in your order the engineer was unable to gain access to your property" so I took a look out onto the street there was no sign of sky neither was there a card left to say they missed me or I had not answered so I put £10 credit on my phone and called the dreaded 0844 number to cut a long story short...ish I had to call 6 times I was cut off 3 out of the 6 times I did not raise my voice or act unprofessionally in anyway by the 5th call I demanded to speak with the manager and was told they were unavailable I then requested the complaints address in which I the person on the other end ignored my question several times before answering "you need to go online I pointed out I would if the engineer had shown up! I was very upset by this point I had wasted £15 air time credit lost a days wages of £140.00 and had sat indoors all morning for a non existent engineer whom was to lazy to get off his backside and do the work! When being put through to cancellations they tried there hardest to butter me up even told me I could put in a claim for loss of earnings I had to politely tell the man that if sky couldnt even get an engineer out what on gods earth makes him believe they'll pay my daily salary really??? He agreed and changed tactics suggesting he credit £50.00 to my account I declined that offer as the next available date for the engineer booking was 28th November 2011 I had waited 2 weeks for the tv and a further 2 weeks for the phone line and broadband I wasnt waiting a further 2 weeks for further let down. It wasn't worth the time. He apologised and advised the engineer said he'd left the card.... I asked if he was trying to be funny he asked why I explained that I thought the whole reson I was through to cancellations was that the engineer COULD NOT gain access. With that I said good day and good bye! Made the rest of my day very unpleasant indeed wouldn't trust sky with a bag of salt let alone customers well beings do not join!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Shane at 20:22 on 4 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Thank to all for thier reviews. Tried with online chat to establish if I was able to get unlimited Broadband as advertised on TV. After about 20 mins of avoiding my questions with differant packages and that I could get only 40Mb download at speeds upto 8Mb due to the area i was in. A simple NO because 20Mb unlimited downloads available on IDSL lines only not BT Lines would have done. Hate to think had i signed up what they would do, going by other reviews they take yor money because you entered a contract.

  • unhappy

    by dan at 2:24 on 2 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    As tempting as a deal it may be, do NOT ever go to sky. Everything is fine when its fine, but as soon as they make a f**k up or you have a problem you can kiss goodbye to your money and any hope of getting an honest answer. We paid 30 quid and recieved a new card and router and was due to have an engineer out on monday to fit everything, we waited in all day but he never arrived. We call them on tuesday to be told that we had apparantly called on the sunday to cancell our service?!? Absolute load of lies. Why would we cancel our service and then wait in all day, even taking the day off of work. So we told them we wish to continue our subscription only to be told that we cant use their service because of an unpaid bill at this address (from previous tenant) which was £90, even though they had already agreed and taken our money and sent us a router and card. After 3 days of waiting for a call back from a manager we decided to call them and tell them to stick it, then one week later £ 90 was attempted to be taken from our bank account but was stopped due to insufficiant funds. I cannot honestly believe the arragance of this thieving lying company. They are the rouge traders of tv and broadband. Wev not even had so much as an appology.

  • unhappy

    by lee at 23:06 on 19 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    i was just wondering if anyone could offer me some advice or explanation? i have been with sky t.v for years but sighned up for skytalk/broadband 7 days ago...they broke my phoneline and told me i had to pay for a engineer which i dont think is fair seeing as everything was fine before they installed the new landline...i then rang them and told them i want to cancel and they told me i am in contract for 12 months. do i not have a 14 day period in which to cancel or anything? please could someone respond i desperatley need to get off sky its diabolical thankyou!

  • unhappy

    by mick at 15:44 on 19 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    never,never,never ever join sky apart from a crap sevice somewere along the line they will rip you off . agree with lots of other coments few staff members care about their job most deserve to be sacked , cant wait for them to go bump .

  • neutral

    by Ian Spencer at 15:05 on 13 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    Avoid at all costs.

    They are ok until things go wrong, then you will just be fobbed off.

    Some of their staff are really good, but the majority simply are not trained.

    Been without broadband for days on end and they simply do not care.

    Their help forum is just useless in itself, as if your issue gets too big they just walk away.

    I wish I had never gone with Sky, I really do.

  • unhappy

    by Gemdesignz at 10:47 on 28 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    signed up through a sales team based in town, they offered me a great deal package which would only cost me £31.75 a month which is what i would pay with virgin media except sky is much better for the tv which is why i decided to switch. He told me an engineer would be out a week later to install my tv and the broadband would be a week after that which was also great........until the engineer turned up, because i live on a ground floor flat our dish can only go at the front of the building which was fine until it was time for him to drill through the walls, he told me he couldnt drill through the walls because of the thickness of them and would need permission from the council to drill through them, which i thought was rubbish as plenty of people have sky on my street which have the same thickness wall, he left and the office called me to clarify i would need permission so i told them to cancel my tv (note i only wanted my tv cancelled), a week later BT openzone came out and installed my BT line with NO PROBLEM DRILLING THROUGH THE WALLS! after my line was installed i was expecting my broadband to be activated the next day as stated in my letter, the broadband was not activated so this is when i phoned sky and asked them why, they came back to me with excuse after excuse, 1- telling me i cancelled it all which i didnt only the tv, 2- i owe them £13 which i know i didnt i had only just signed up and paid my £30, 3- they cant activate broadband without the tv etc after many excuses and being put through to many different people they said they would put my through to the manager, which of course they kept me on hold until it automatically cut off, i had to call them back and explain the whole situation AGAIN, the person i spoke to told me i could get my broadband activated that day i just had to speak with the broadband team, which were closed at the time. I called the next day explaining to them that i phoned yesterday and was told my broadband can be activated today, one advisor said yes you can and had to pass me through to someone else, which then told me no i couldnt which i didnt understand, i stood my ground and told them that ive been told by a few advisors that i could and he was persistent that i couldnt. by this point i was furious and knew i was never going to recieve my broadband, so i decided to go with plusnet where i only had to pay £4.99 P+P for the router and thats it, my broadband was activated 5 days later and my phone will switch in 2 weeks time. I had no problem with them no excuses and no massive fee to pay, i recommend staying with virgin or go with plusnet if you only need broadband. Sky are just one big CON, when they have got your money they do not care about their customers!!!

  • neutral

    by Ste1981 at 12:48 on 25 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    I have had my Sky Broadband since 8th August 2011 and I have found it to be superb. I'm a current Sky World TV Subscriber and I have had a phone line and braodband installed for free and I'm only paying an extra £7 per month for unlimited broadband. The Broadand was online when it said it would be ready in my letter, and the router came in time for when the broadband went live. I live a mile away from my telephone exchange and I was told byt the customer service team that it was vital to keep my router swtiched on for the first ten days as they would be testing the line. My speeds started at 2mb, but now it is running at 16.5mb, and it is running very well, even at peak times. I use Sky Go quite a lot to watch the football, and not once has it stopped working for me, it is just like watching the TV. I know it is early days, buy Sky Broadband get 10/10 for me.

  • neutral

    by ELDON at 15:32 on 16 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Have to be honest BSKB Broadband service is terrible. I live in South Ealing and when first installed I was getting speeds of 0.10-0.5 Megs Download called them around 3 times and on the fourth time they got an engineer in to look at my internal connection and also from the box arond the road. The engineer tried very hard and speed went up to around 3.5 5 months. The speed this month has decreased to around 1.5-1.7mb. Which is not fast enough to view BSKB SKY GO TV properly. On the whole I wouldnt reccomend BSKB broadband. Used to live in Shepherds Bush and was on Virgin and was getting speeds of 15-18MB on Fibre. Unfortunately our new area is not fibre enabled.

  • neutral

    by Jon Milburn at 22:40 on 11 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Unbelievably Sky will not allow VPN on there broadband - the tech desk claim not to know what it is - then say sky is not a business package ?.

    The tech desk is utterly useless and if you want to change the router they will not give you log in codes, so you can only use the crap they supply, thus they "manage" what you can do..... Beware Sky is really poor ( and the price is not what they offer, when the first bill comes in it is way more than the advertised pricing)

  • unhappy

    by Bear Bear at 17:49 on 5 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    I am have been with BT broadband ,who are very good.SKYE ?Never had them but can endorse the fact that their Asian staff are very bad mannered. Three instances of phone calls to ask how my Skye box is. I then replied that I do not have a Sky box. Apology ? no way ! just silence after they disconnected!

  • unhappy

    by Stilts at 22:31 on 30 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    I used to be happy with sky, having been with them for 5 years with the full hd package / broadband. Since the last time i had broadband problems they have implemented this CST 72 hour call back service and i am HORRIBLY disappointed. 2 weeks later and i finally have broadband but download speeds of 0.4Mb. And they tell me there is nothing they can do about it! Worst support i have ever had the displeasure of dealing with and i've had some bad ones!

  • unhappy

    by Alec at 14:57 on 26 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    Sky is terrible. We had a great internet connection before and have been with sky for about 4 months now and its getting progressively worse. We went for an all inclusive package including Sky tv and between the router being absolutely rubbish, the service being rude and unhelpful and the connection speeds deteriorating its a nightmare.

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS

  • happy

    by ian hemmings at 1:32 on 24 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    ive got sky max upto 20mb and there has been no problems i live about 20m from the exchange and im getting speed of about 16 - 18mb with a new phone line installed.
    most of you proberly get problems because you dont leave your router on for 10 days when you first get it and your phone lines are crap thats a big part in drop outs and slow speeds also have some of you checked what network speed your computer can even handle the network speed if they cant it will be restricted and you wont get your true speed. before i had the new line i was getting about 8mb max with major drop outs since the new line no problem.

  • happy

    by colin scrutton at 19:30 on 6 May 2011 Report abuse

    I have to say I have been with sky for everythig since it became available last year in my area. I am totally happy with everything. The HD TV Service is second to none, the telephone is a great price and the broadband is amazing. I was quoted a max speed of 13 meg yet since the end of the 10 day settling period I have had a constant 16 to 17 meg and not a single dropout or reset required. I guess some people are just lucky and some are not. People dont often use these sites to praise a company only to air their complaints. One thing I would say is that Sky have a huge customer base, and if all their customers had a bad service they would all vote witrh their feet and move.

  • unhappy

    by Moh at 18:24 on 10 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    I have waited 3 months for Sky to install my phone and broadband and they still have not done so. It has cost me over £50 in phne calls and nearly four hours on the phone. I have been told three times that my order was being processed and given dates for the installation and three times the date has come and gone and I have then been told that they accidentally cancelled it. Customer services response is "SO WHAT"!!

  • neutral

    by John Abraham at 15:48 on 22 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    I am not a broadband customer of Sky. I had been with a broadband provider that had very poor bandwidth and once the service was unavailable for days. I called them, emailed them but none responded. They thought I was on a contract for 12 months and so I could not leave them without paying the penalty for leaving early. But, as soon as I stopped payment they kept on calling me and kept on sending accumulated bill every month. They also threatened me to take me to court. Nothing doing! I did not pay from the day my service was unavailable and told them that service contract is a two-way deal. It is illegal to charge someone without providing service. Many people do not know this and that is why they try to rip off customers. If need be take them to court but do not pay them if they violate their part of the obligation.

  • unhappy

    by Dee at 11:56 on 3 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    I used the Sky e-mail facility to cancel broadband and then the TV on separate option. They acknowledged that the broadband was cancelled as it is a legal requirement to issue a MAC code. The TV on the otherhand they denied receipt of the cancellation notice. I cancelled my direct debit after the payment was sent to cover my notice period and was then sent more bills to cover the service they continued to supply without my approval. I have now had a final demand before being referred to the a recovery agency! All this due to their own poor service. They are adament that they did not receive the cancellation for the TV and I have no way to prove this as it does not save these messages on the system but how is it that within minutes of cancelling one it doesn't accept the other. The answer is that they get more money from customers trying to leave their service. In fact we are being blackmailed to continue paying due to additional costs from a recovery agency.
    There is little wonder that they make so much money and the Government are looking at expanding their empire...I certainly hope not...they should look more closely at their malpractice!
    I do haved to say that I had been warned about their continued removal of funds after termination and that was the reason for cancelling the direct debit. There are still some people out there waiting for refunds long after their complaints!

    Aviod Sky...or use them at your peril!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: