« back to Sky Broadband

Sky Broadband Reviews | Page 5

Sign up now. Call: 0800 840 5386
  • unhappy

    by bill at 13:54 on 6 May 2009 Report abuse

    I was with sky broadband and the service was diabolical, with slow speeds all the time. i would suggest you get virgin media or even BT - avoid sky at all costs. now with virgin for tv and broadband and get brilliant service

  • unhappy

    by Andy Harvey at 17:03 on 5 May 2009 Report abuse

    Have had Sky Connect for one week. Download and upload speeds are OK (2 and 0.4), but cannot stream BBC iPlayer in the evenings (300-500 kb/sec limit due to the usage policy on Sky). That's quite an impact on my family! It's tucked away in the terms and conditions. All was fine with my previous ISP (I went for the all-in-one package) - wish I hadn't changed!

    Oh - and the range of the router is significantly less than my previous router - and you have to use the Sky router.

  • unhappy

    by Martin at 11:29 on 28 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Why is Sky still trading?
    After three months of trying to get someone, anyone at Sky to help with my installation problems, I have given up any hope of getting a response. Countless e-mails remain unanswered. Hours waiting on the phone for someone to speak to, listening to that "Music". When you do finally get to speak to someone (twice in three months), they can not help and fail to phone you back when promised. Even getting through to someone at the head office is a strain, today i spent over 30 minuets on my mobile waiting for someone in the complaints department to pick up the phone. The cost of telephoning an 0800 number on your mobile is frightening.
    How can a company who offers such poor service remain in business?
    What do you have to do to get someone to deal with the problem?
    I have now cancelled my direct debt, in the hop that this might prompt Sky into action, but no, all that happened is they suspended the only one of the three services they had managed to connect, still no contact, still no resolution. I am left with a Sky HD box that is no use to me, cost £49.00, three months old, no much use.
    Is there anyone out there that has any advice of who I can go to get this problem resolved?

  • happy

    by Robert at 12:56 on 10 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I have had Sky for 6 months. it preforms well at 2mb connection(max for my area). No problems with service and it is a cheap deal.

  • neutral

    by james at 18:51 on 7 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    i haven't really had any problems with sky bb i mostly use it for gaming, im on the mid package but am considering the max.im only getting1697kbps download and 353kbps upload I ve already phoned sky to have the maximum delay reduced but the games still seem laggy you shoot at someone watch the replay and you dont seem to even pull the trigger. Would upgrading to the max make a difference to the gaming capabilities i know i cant increase the download speed because of my location but would it increase the upload speed to make a difference to my gaming?

  • happy

    by HappyWithSky at 20:14 on 29 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I have been with Sky since last September - having had the worst experience in the world with 4 years of lack of service/intermittent service from AOL, you could imagine that any new provider would be better in my eyes. Well, the honeymoon period's well and truly over and I'm still very happy with Sky and will (and do) heartily recommend them to anyone who asks. Easy to install (insert cd into computer & plug in provided router - takes about 5 minutes total), service connected at the time they said it would be, totally reliable, no gaps in service, quick. Gets my vote anyway ...

  • unhappy

    by mememeemem at 8:46 on 26 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I was going to buy sky bb max but after reading all these bad recommendations im not. Sky have just lost £15 of my hard earned cash.

  • neutral

    by Flames at 17:08 on 21 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I'm with Virgin at the moment and im currently looking for a new ISP. I'm not with sky but im giving it some serious consideration as i know someone on sky and says it works really well. He has moved house too so its worked fine in 2 different locations.

    As for Virgin, its like a relationship. When u 1st get with them everthings fine and the download speeds are brilliant! then i got a problem, and i tell u this now.... they won't take any responsibility at all! I'm so annoyed its unreal. Their customer service is abysmal! My connection constantly cuts out :| even when im connected directly in two the modem. this modem's brand new, 5 days old as they sent me a new one an said my connection problem was the modem... lies! I'm directly in to the modem now an sometimes websites dont load etc and I have to keep refreshing the page and sometimes "limited connectivity" appears at the bottom right of my laptop screen. I have a ps3 too and I'm constantly gettin signed out, its a joke. When i use my router its even worse! yesterday i was connected to my modem an there was no connection!

    Yet when u fone up virgin, they read "notes" off of a screen made by the other idiots u spoke to previously when u foned complaining and got nowhere and they say ur connections fine when it isn't. So when that happens they say they can't send an engineer out unless you pay! Yesterday i rang up the department where u go when u want to leave virgin. I told her what the problem was and she went thru to the tech department which is where i usually ring up about my broadband. She told them the exact same thing i usually do except now for some reason they decide to send out an engineer. See how they dont take u seriously?

    when it works it is good, really good. however when u have a problem they wont fix it, then they try an charge u £70 for an engineer to come out. after months of tryin to get it fixed i've finally got an engineer comin out on monday, if its not fixed then im joining sky to get the tv and the broadband cos im totally sick of it. absolutely sick of someone called "rocky" from india in an offshore helpline telling me to restart my modem and pull out wires - aagh! (he actually said his name was rocky).

  • unhappy

    by Adrian at 0:34 on 12 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    sky broadband. should be giving me 8mb truth is more 0.2kbps another un-happy customer. what a rip off. anybody reading this dont get Sky Broadband!

  • unhappy

    by Ali at 21:09 on 8 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    Dreadful; avoid like the plague. These jokers advise you that you're buying an 8mb or better connection. You'll be lucky to hit 0.5mb after 8pm every single evening, and anything better than 2mb during the day. This is what loads of folks I know say, and is my same experience. If you phone the customer support team based in Venezuela or somewhere like that they're very friendly to you, but they read a script and the moment you have anything out of the ordinary they just can't understand you. They'll tell you to buy up to four different microfilters for a problem which is obviously nothing to do with your line or microfilter, and more to do with their capacity as an ISP. I'm less than 1km from my exchange and used to get great speeds and reliability with my previous ISP (I moved because I was getting a good deal - ha! what a mistake!) and this is a disaster. They don't listen to a word you say and if you have any technical insight to offer (I'm a Unix Systems Engineer based from an ISP background) they completely ignore you. They'll promise to phone you back, but never will and they close your case without telling you. Do yourself a favour, don't be seduced by the cheap cost or the bundle deals Sky do, it's a complete shambles from start to finish and will only make your blood boil. The worst ISP I've ever dealt with, and believe me, I've dealt with some shockers before (ntl come close second bottom)

  • unhappy

    by Richard at 14:39 on 5 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    I have recently moved house and signed up for the sky world package. This included the 3 month free trial for phone and broadband. After 2-3 weeks I finally got my phone line activated today yet I am told it will take another 2-3 weeks to get my broadband up and running. What is the point of having a free 3 month trial if it takes 2-3 months to get it up and running? I to will be cancelling my subscription after the free trial and changing to another company who can actually provide the service they say they will!

  • unhappy

    by Debbie Devil at 22:11 on 3 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    Do not do it! I was sold Sky on the basis of cost, being cheaper than my previous provider. I believe I was misold to, I have incurred two hundred pounds in expenses, for a wireless receiver, ethernet home plugs, visit from computer engineer, mobile phone calls. I have lost track of the hours I have spent on the phone, repeating the same tests night after night, which never solved the problem anyway. No-one owns the problem, when you try and complain managers won't speak to you and never call back as promised. I had no phone for over a week, no internet for about 8 weeks and even now the connection is intermittent. They just do not want to know - if I could get out of the package I would, but it has taken so long to get internet access that I am now out of the trial period! It is just not worth it. Huge disappointment, customer service stinks!

  • unhappy

    by Kev at 10:05 on 3 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    Over 18 months in and still having to use BT Connect for broadband at £17 a month on top of the bundle charge. Not really the offer we were looking for and indeed mis-sold (sky agreed this was the case!). We were told two months max before the exchange was unbundled.....er, still not done! Sales people and customer services were very poor in dealing with our complaints and said it was our fault ('our sales team would never have said that' - well they did!). If they had just been honest from the start we would have looked to use a separate b/band provider.

  • happy

    by Arthur Mount at 6:15 on 23 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    Unlike many providers SKY do not ask you to call back {TALK TALK perfect for fobbing you off] but escalate any problem via one call. It may necessitate in you being a wee bit patient but worth it. Plus you do get a follow-up call within 48 hrs checking if problem resolved. For the cost of a package well worth it and easier having various services with one company.

  • happy

    by ROBERTLAIRD at 22:14 on 22 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I have Sky Broadband along with TV phone package,i am a long way from my exchange and never had a problem, i think maybe some customers need to learn how to use it properly.

  • unhappy

    by avia at 12:58 on 21 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I had SKY broadband at home for one year. It was OK until we got problem - we missed a payment to Sky, so they disconnected TV and Broadband ( i would never ever suggest to take a package as you will be cached up). after we paid, Sky reinstalled TV, but not broadband. So we had no internet at home for 3 weeks, and finally we had to change provider, because customer services was not able to sort out the problem. We been calling them every 2-3 days ( to get customer service on the phone takes min 15 min and it is not for free). Every time it was answer, that we have to wait 2-3 days to get internet or to wait, and they didn't know how long. Customer service is horrible, unprofessional, dishonest. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND NOT TO TAKE SKY INTERNET AS ISP, you will be in trouble. They even resisted me not to issue the MAC code (when i spoke to a manager), and explained that SKY have IT problems, they have to contact diferenr department, there is no conection with them ,i cannot get MAC code, because they have to cancel all services. I heard so many stories from them, but never the answer, when i will get the internet back, because Sky didn't know - it is what they told me, keeping me without internet for 3 weeks and it was still unclear when it will be back. So i was just pushed to change, nothing else i could do.

  • unhappy

    by Kate at 20:45 on 20 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I have Sky Broadband mid range package, which has been fine untill my son bought an Xbox! I now cannot get a web page to load the same time as my son is playing Xbox Live, and have been told it is the sky router, but Sky won`t admit it is there problem. I shall be cancelling asap!!!

  • unhappy

    by George at 10:10 on 11 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Shocking service and unbelievably unreliable. technicians hav not got a clue what they are talking about. there just reading off of a screen. Within a week the broadband will drop out several times usually right in between an intense online game of call of duty on the ps3. Im moving to O2 especially now they have increased their prices by £5!!!

  • unhappy

    by Don at 21:55 on 7 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    When I moved house I had problems with broadband dropping, I contacted SKY and the service was rearly poor, I had to repeat every test and try the same thing over and over again. They are also very difficult to get on the phone. Eventually the problem was identified by BT with my telephone line, we live a long way from the exchange. As the problem had gone for several months without a service, SKY offered us a full refund (we could not use the internet), this refund would be given when we were satisified with the service. Eventually BT made a difference, still not very good, but a lot better. However when it came to the refund SKY refused to pay up the full refund promised and only gave us 50% of what was due. There has been several emails to and from SKY but they have lost the early file notes and the staff who we now speak to only refer to the notes they have and refuse to pay what was promised by other staff. My advice is to go with somebody else and not with SKY.

  • unhappy

    by Bri at 11:45 on 10 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I'm on the Mid (8mb) service and it's terrible! Alot of the time the page expires before it loads up, i often get "this page cannot be displayed" on screen then i have to refresh the page a few times to get it back. It's Slooooowww. I NEVER get above HALF a meg download speed no matter what time i surf the net. Sent service message yesterday, still no reply! Almost at the end of my contract, CANT WAIT!. Been on almost all the main ISP's and this is by far the worst ever. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!

  • happy

    by Lorraine at 23:43 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Have just left Bulldog/Pipex/Tiscali! What a relief, have joined Sky, absolutely brilliant service.

  • happy

    by hj at 12:44 on 7 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    every1 go for the virgin broadband as they offr it on fibre optic cable..
    Rock on! love the gaming on the net.

  • happy

    by Scott Edwards at 14:28 on 24 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I have Sky Mid (8mb) and am very happy with the service. I get an average of about 7mb out of it and it is very stable.

    If you are a gamer you can request that they reduce the "Max Delay" to improve pings. My pings in most games are below 30ms and in some UK servers below 20ms.

    Before you blame the broadband provider - check your extension wiring and your filter. I work in IT and constantly get asked around to friends/family to sort their connection out. In most cases a high quality filter has improved the speed vastly and BT do an "iPlate" which can sort problems with extension cabling out.

    All in all, it is a good service and I recommend it (especially if you fancy their TV package)

  • unhappy

    by Jordan at 15:03 on 6 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    I have had sky broadband for ages now and at first it was great but now my internet keeps going down every 2 minsutes and taking 10 minutes to get back up my router is just in next room and my sisters has no problem and she is further away i dont know what it is but i would highly suggest u do NOT go with sky as for months it has been like this with no change and for 10 pound a month it is a absoulte waste

  • happy

    by HR at 1:44 on 31 Aug 2008 Report abuse

    yea for the people that have problem getting into the router the default name and password is

    Name: admin
    Password: sky

  • unhappy

    by Bandwidth Throttling at 11:05 on 21 Aug 2008 Report abuse

    Just wanted to mention that sky seem to be throttling my bandwidth now to around 2mb......have called three times about this with different excuses each time. The first was there is a line management program on my line that caused it, the second time it was due to adsl 2 being put on my line and was taken off.......the third time they said it was because someone put on adsl 2 on the line?? ......Didnt they take it off the second time?? Like I believe anything sky tell you now lol Did get a new router (3rd one) out of them though within a few days but I dont know if I can endure going through the process of explaining it to some call center for 45mins each time it happens. (seems to be weekly now) Going to check my speed again later so maybe another call coming up!!

    Sort it out sky.

    Last word: Demand to be put through to their Tier 2 or 3 department (thats there technicial department where everyone speaks english and knows what they are talking about)

  • unhappy

    by Andy at 10:55 on 21 Aug 2008 Report abuse

    I've had the 8mb package for around 16 months which I can say has caused me many problems on and off. Where do I start, couldn't connect from the off, then the router died after a few days....called sky who said they would send another router out but didnt, called back a few times getting put on hold for 45mins+ NO notes had been added or even the new router request was logged so had to wait for another wk or so before it finally arrived. Got that working after some time but then found out your username and password are embedded into the router so you cant use a third party router of your choice.......of corse you could hack the router and get this information out but then your break their terms and conditions!! Oh did I also mention the ports were mostly blocked on the router so you have to setup port forwarding etc. Overall for the price I pay I cant really complain but then I work in the computing industry so have alot of knowledge to get me through.Now they throttle ur bandwidth to

  • unhappy

    by Yogi at 22:53 on 30 Jun 2008 Report abuse

    SKY insults british. Its internet services are comparable to least developed nations. It is taking back britishers to pre internet era as peoplewillget disecnhanted with internet when they subscribe to sky internet. shame on sky shame on me shame on british regulatory authority for allowing sky to cheat britishers.

    shame on employees of sky for working for such lousy company.

  • unhappy

    by David at 18:46 on 4 Jun 2008 Report abuse

    I've just came off a live online chat with SKY sales advisor. Glad I read these reviews. What a load of crap he is talking, he's still online. Promised "up to 16mb" and when i challenged him on the "up to" part he could not give me a straight answer.

    Quotes taken from online live chat;
    Vusa: You can get up to 16 Mb in that area :-)
    Vusa: How does that sound?
    You: ahhhh, "up to" again
    Vusa: I understand
    Vusa: The system states it that way

    "Vusa: The BT line usually determines the speed you can get ,
    Vusa: and we use BT lines for our broadband service
    Vusa: However..
    Vusa: our broadban speed is guaranteed,
    Vusa: plus if you switch to SKY line rental..
    Vusa: you get the full service and speed quality far much better and quicker than BT
    Vusa: and that is guaranteed"


  • unhappy

    by sick of sky crap at 13:59 on 23 May 2008 Report abuse

    ANY ONE ELSE NOTICED THIS ??????????????

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: