« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • unhappy

    by adrian at 10:52 on 20 May 2016 Report abuse

    This is my experience with talk talk . Beware and avoid them
    at the end of April I've contacted Talk Talk to have my landline and internet moved to my new address from my old address. talk talk estimated it will take approx 13-15 days and assigned a an engineer to arrive on my new property on 16.05.2016 between 13-18 o'clock.

    Monday the 16th I get a call from my partner telling me that our business landline and internet are not working, and customers are unable to contact us.

    I call TALK TALK for explanations,asking them if they haven't made a mistake and removed the wrong connection.

    I end up spending a total of 4 hours and 10 minutes on the phone. First call lasted 1st hour and 33 minutes . After the initial recognition of the company's mistake I am passed through 8-9 departments ending up talking to the voice mail and starting the whole procedure again. Each department unable to help me . At the end of that time Mr. Debayan gives me the following phone number: 08000 833 003 telling me not to mention the whole problem just the fact that my that my business line is down despite me telling him that I've already been passed to that department business department (Them being the ones who initially returned me to the queue/ voice mail).

    My second phone call went for over 2 hours and 37 minutes, starting with a 10 minute wait after which I am answered by Mrs/ Ms Myers At my own turn I follow the advice of Mr. Debayan, it turns out that my fears are true, since Mrs. Myers is about to start the whole loop ( department - department- department) all over again. I insist to be helped, she tells me that within 30 minutes my problem will be solved because she understands perfectly what happened and she passes me to Mr. Ben

    Mr. Ben politely tells me that such mistakes are not typical to Talk talk , how ever my landline is down will remain down for five working days since this is the law. He asks me to make a new contract. ( i need the landline for my business) for 18 months, telling that unfortunately for 5 working days I'll have no landline and that my previous phone number is lost and can't be recovered.A new number will be assigned to me. I am making him aware that I am losing money since my customers are unable to contact me and this number is on all my media outlets. Plus I am losing reputation and star points .That affecting me my business in a direct , dire and in on the long term.He says he understands my position and if I wish he can pass me to the complaints department.
    I'm am passed to the complaints department where I need to spend another 1/2 h to make the staff understand the mistake and the fact that I will be losing over £15,000. I'm put on hold and then offered £10,00 compensation.
    thus ending my 4 hours with TALK TALK ... still no landline.
    At the present moment I have no landline, a new number was assigned to me. My customers ( over 2000 that have my old landline ) + 10,000 business card all listing my old phone number. The same number is present on Yell ,Yelp etc. No one will be able to contact me on my landline for at least 5 working days this resulting in a potential loss of business of over £15,000 plus the loss of our reputation since by by having a landline that does not work it makes us look unprofessional and unreliable in the eyes off every possible customer.
    In parallel to the conversation I was having to Talk Talk , while waiting to be moved form department to department I contacted Talk Talk on Facebook, same result .

  • unhappy

    by zero at 10:12 on 16 May 2016 Report abuse

    Talktalk has to be one of the most frustrating utility companies to deal with. I vowed never to use them again after my last experience. Stupidly, I tried them again. I spent ages setting it all up and signed up for the free SIM. They then sent me an email saying that they are cancelling the order as they couldn't let me keep my existing line number (which I wasn't particularly bothered about). So they lost our business when a simple phone call could have kept us on. To rub salt into the wound, they then kept the SIM account open and I spent ages on the phone trying to cancel this with promises to phone me back which never happened and then of course there was the final demand letters - An absolutely appalling service and we will NEVER use TT again. SKY has been so much easier to deal with and Straightforward people to speak to who actually do what they say they will do and no awful call centres with people who can't even find your account details and can't get your address right. The TalkTalk CEO needs sacking. Of course my feedback will not get to the right person and TT will carry on loosing customers and seemingly not caring about it!! Hopefully this last call centre person managed to successfully close our SIM account (which we didn't even want and haven't used).

  • unhappy

    by DAVE at 2:01 on 5 May 2016 Report abuse

    Anyone considering joining crap crap/talk talk, consider this, slow broadband speed which drops out for hours on end only returning between midnight and 7a.m, only to disappear through the day! Technical support is appaling and if you ask them questions which don't appear on their script they lie to you and do nothing to resolve any issues you may have, they will try to blame your machine ( that old and feeble excuse again!). I have 3 devices on the useless router and they all say the same-no connection. In short STEER WELL CLEAR OF TALK TALK!! The customer support is appalling, the staff very unhelpful, rude and cannot be bothered and to top it all the service, if you can call it that, is dreadful. I cannot wait to leave talk talk and will never recommend them to anyone.

  • unhappy

    by michael at 18:14 on 8 Apr 2016 Report abuse

    talk talk are complete liars ,as others have said ,they will offer you the world and give you nothing ,smoke and mirrors ,I only have 5 months left with these amatures and cant wait to go ,I would leave now but don't wish to pay penaties ,so much for offcoms new ruling that if your not happy with by your service provider you can leave without penaltie ,really ? anyone tried ? I have been with this company for years and was with there sister company aol for years before that this counts for nothing ,talk talk you are a disgrace ,and soon will be history ,cant wait !

  • neutral

    by Sandbag at 16:36 on 28 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    I have been with Talktalk for two weeks. I have to say, as an ex Sky customer i am saving lots of money with Talk Talk. Plus i got a great incentive to switch to them - £120 shopping vouchers, which arrived without me having to chase them (unlike Sky). I have noticed the broadband speed is slower. Skys was much better. I sometims have to switch wifi off to use by mobiles 02 network which is significantly faster loading up web pages. This doesnt bode well for TalkTalk. Their customer service is not great. I called them once since contract started, and they couldn't help me because their systems were down. She then ended the call by asking 'is there anything else i can do for you today?' So i responded with the most obvious answer 'well not very well if your system isnt working'. When signing up i was put in hold for 5 mins and eventually called off. It didnt leave me with much confidence in them i have to say. However, my contract is so cheap at £17.70 (compared to £49 with Sky) thats is hard to grumble and if after a year they dont please me then i'll move on. My thoughts are that they need to brush up their act after such a disastrous reputation from last year. I guess only time will tell.

  • neutral

    by Sandbag at 16:35 on 28 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    I have been with Talktalk for two weeks. I have to say, as an ex Sky customer i am saving lots of money with Talk Talk. Plus i got a great incentive to switch to them - £120 shopping vouchers, which arrived without me having to chase them (unlike Sky). I have noticed the broadband speed is slower. Skys was much better. I sometims have to switch wifi off to use by mobiles 02 network which is significantly faster loading up web pages. This doesnt bode well for TalkTalk. Their customer service is not great. I called them once since contract started, and they couldn't help me because their systems were down. She then ended the call by asking 'is there anything else i can do for you today?' So i responded with the most obvious answer 'well not very well if your system isnt working'. When signing up i was put in hold for 5 mins and eventually called off. It didnt leave me with much confidence in them i have to say. However, my contract is so cheap at £17.70 (compared to £49 with Sky) thats is hard to grumble and if after a year they dont please me then i'll move on. My thoughts are that they need to brush up their act after such a disastrous reputation from last year. I guess only time will tell.

  • unhappy

    by sandra at 15:16 on 24 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    Absolutely apauling, was originally with AOL (their sister company) which I'd been with for years, no problem, then with the carrot of a deduction for moving to their sister company I bit :( like sum sisters chalk and cheese. Up graded to fibre with them as was assured that the dropping and buffering wud ceas. Signed up 6th December 2015,promised delivery 16th December, sed that wud be great a I was going to receive a couple of new devises for Xmas, and was looking forward to experiencing them using the fibre broadband. I didn't receive my router on the 16/12/15, I was continuously chasing the router, excuses like stuck in the post, my router not posted to me as order stuck in the system, were two of the excuses fed to me. The router finally arrived 16 January 2016. Whew I thort an end to my problems - how wrong I was broad band no better than the ordinary bb, constantly dropping, buffering etc. Constant battling with th, who even tried to blame my brand new equipment. Then it was txts, first saying a break on the line, not Their fault, then water on the line, again - tt sayin not their fault, n updates txted to me extending the resolution time. Called tt said I wasn't prepared to pay the full package price as I wasn't receiving the full service. Tt,s response "if you'd like to discuss compensation, this couldn't be discussed or looked at until issue is resolved" no clear advise of when the issues would be sorted! I told tt that I wasn't tied to the contract as tt hadn't kept to the agreement so there was no contract and would be researching other providers. Also signed up for updated via txt due to work commitments, received them but continued to receive calls at random times of the day or evening to tell me the information I'd recieved via txt. No one takes ownership each department blames other departments, no consistancy in service, rudeness at management level, including being hung up on , being misadvised. Raised up to now three escalations, all of which have received no response. AVOID TALK TALK LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • unhappy

    by Dave at 10:53 on 17 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    I have been with TalkTalk since moving from BT in 2011, had the tv/fibroptic broadband/phone and sim deal with them, no real problems, any issues i have had have been dealt with quickly. I have not been keeping an eye on my payments though, and when i did a comparison check last month i found i could get an equivilent package from BT at £15 less, so i rang TalkTalk to see if they would match, they would knock me ten pounds a month off but that was it, so, lured by the cashback incentives i took out a contract with BT.
    The beginning of my problems ! Having taken out the contract it was a minefield to get my account up and renning, eventually got that sorted after three days of me having to constantly ring them, and them not ringing me back as promised. After five days i looked at my status to see everything had been cancelled, apart from the sim which i had activated and BT sport (free so i took it, i dont watch spotrt though!), after two days of me again ringing BT and them failing to ring me back i got another order raised (bearing in mind i have paid £311.25 up front for line saver rental and delivery setup charges). Again nothing for two days the status never changed, when i eventually got through to them i was told it was all sorted and on its way, another day and it was cancelled ! ME ringing them again, to try and find out what was going on, i was told TalkTalk would not release my phone number and i would have to get a new one, this was a BT number before i moved it. I will not get a new phone number as i am an emergency callout responder with various old people who are afflicted with alzheimers and suchlike, i will not take the risk of missing someones n=umber and the possible consequences. BT are adamant that i will need to get a different number, why? I have lived at this address almost fifteeen years, it is my home with my mortgage and this number was here when i moved in, why should i have to change it?
    Meanwhile my cashback has beed declined and i have £311/25 that has been paid to BT that they are keeping, on top of which because i am not a BT customer i am now being charged full price for my sim. A complete nightmare which i could do without as a low income single parent.
    Rant over !!

  • unhappy

    by anne at 19:35 on 29 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    Can't wait to get away from TalkTalk, had problems with connection dropping out, and can't get any joy from anyone there, even wrote to the head of Complains @Talk Talk and just was told to ring again....no way, no more! Their new email was the last straw, it's so very frustrating,m so slow, won't change page, won't delete. Changing to Virgin in the next couple of weeks, it can't come soon enough. Been with talktalk for a few years, but really really gone downhill!!.....soooooo frustrated!

  • unhappy

    by david at 12:33 on 27 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    @Ryan - I agree about the sanity breaking of customer services at talktalk.

    @Mia - About putting the phone down. Funny thing is if you told them to put the phone down they would then spend as much time as they thought it would take trying to bluff you that they cant put the phone down. But if you dont tell them they put the phone down out of the blue.

    @Phil - I called them quite sometime ago when I discovered that they were using unencrypted passwords aka plain text for email checking. One of the idiots told me that it was ok as 'its a password'!! They dont understand the concept of security. The password is the same for email as it is for logging into myaccount. So if the unencrypted pain text password is intercepted whoever is into the system.

    Also, and this goes for every company on the planet, as far as security is concerned they have no idea - not a clue.

    When someone calls no matter how many questions are asked it still remains someone calling. They dont check to see who is giving the answers. All they want are correct answers, and considering that publicly available information is asked there is no point in asking the questions for security. They have no security as a consequence.

    Also if you call from the phone that is registerd with them ie your landline they automatically have your information on the screen. They also automatically have access to the account. Yet how long will they try to bluff that this is not true.

    Argue, argue, argue. Contradict, contradict, contradict. Quibble, quibble, quibble. Everything you say is wrong. If you said black is black they would claim it is grey. If you said 2+2=4 then it would be 3.99 or 4.01.

    Never give a straight answer - never say yes or no.

    I have also cottoned on to the many forms of lying that is practised. Changing the subject is lying. Answering questions which have not been asked is lying. Getting the customer to forever repeat themselves while pretending you cannot hear or understand is lying.

    Many forms of putting the phone down as well. Placing the phone on hold or mute indefinitely is putting the phone down. Making an excuse for oneself to put the phone down is still putting the phone down on the customer. But everything is done for the recording, hence the recording is used to make sure their job is covered.

    And why is it that they want 'moar'? They already get money for internet/phone/customer-service, but thats not enough. Because their customer service, even though they already know who is calling, and cant prove who is calling anyway, forces you to answer questions before they will do anything for you, and even then there is no guarantee that after the questions have been answered that anything will be done. Its a carrot and a stick situation, and they do beat you. Always making sure that they get up front everything they need to keep their job.

    In reality they are not there for anyone who is not themselves. Everything is done for there one benefit.

  • unhappy

    by Jackie at 18:41 on 9 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    Avoid at all costs. Appalling service, emails and several 2 hour phone calls and still no resolution to a faulty service. Was told it would be 28 days before a replacement part could be sent.

    When you contact them no one seems to be able to make a decision or deviate from their standard script. The most frustrating company I have ever dealt with and counting the days until my contract ends.

  • unhappy

    by John at 17:58 on 8 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    We have been with TT for 2 years but their service has gone from average to appalling. In the last few months we have experience frequent loss of connection to the internet. We were persuaded to renew the contract on the basis that they would provide a new router which would be the solution. It was not.
    Have since twice reported it as a fault just go through the same frustrating process every time :-
    - spend 7 or 8 mins on the phone to get an operator and then around 30 mins while they go through their basic script about wireless faults, They are incapable of understanding that it is not a problem with the wireless connection between my pc and the router but the connection between the router and the internet;
    - eventually they say it has been fixed or will be fixed by their technical experts;
    - try the interent and the problem is just as bad.
    Unfortunately I can not find any way to escalate this issue by to anyone with responsibility for customer service.

    In a nutshell an appalling service and no effective way of getting it fixed.
    -

  • unhappy

    by kaz evans at 16:54 on 7 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    talk talk should be called crap crap. avoid this company like you would the plague. used to be with this pathetic excuse for a company for broadband and phone until they were hacked. got out of there pronto wish i would have done it sooner and as for there call centre's may as well be on the moon for all the good they are you have been warned AVOID

  • happy

    by Diane at 9:50 on 25 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    I left Talk Talk last year and am now with Sky! It's much better than Talk Talk. Better speeds, great customer service and the TV bundle is fab! It does cost me a little more but well worth it!

  • unhappy

    by Mike at 19:33 on 22 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    Dismal service, I have to say I have never never had such a poor service from any supplier either personal or commercial. When you talk to the customer services team (not what I would call them) all they want to do is blame your PC/home setup etc even when advised its all been tested.
    The offer of an engineer in 5 weeks time when all systems have been checked didn’t go down very well so voting with my feet and moving on as fast as I can.

    TalkTalk =avoid at all costs

  • unhappy

    by Lawrence Patterson at 22:05 on 8 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    IF YOU BUY Talk Talk they will MESS UP YOUR LIFE.

    They lie on the phone; force you to take 18 month contracts with no alternatives. They hound and chase for money and are impossible to contact on their website (which is unavailable for months since the hack in October 2015), meaning you lose hours of your life in stressful pointless phone calls to their hopeless call centres. Staff in the call centres literally lie and cheat you and have no concept of how to actually respond to a customer.
    Talk Talk are disgusting I wish they would go bust and never come back

  • unhappy

    by steve bagguley at 14:35 on 7 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    Talktalk must be the worst provider out there, I finished my contract and swapped to virgin media in august 2015 Talktalk disconnected my phone and broadband on the 19th September I know this as virgin messed up my install on that date and our landline had been disconnected leaving us without a phone for 3 weeks,

    As virgin had done all the cancellation work I thought I had heard the last of Talktalk and cancelled my direct debit a month later October ,in November I received a bill from Talktalk for 29 pounds thinking I had made an oversight I phoned and paid now surely that's Talktalk finished with .

    No today 7/1/15 I received another bill for £10.00 and no explanation as for what on phoning I was told it was for late payment of the previous bill .what I called and paid it off and no mention of a late payment was made then . After 45 mins of argument with a call center in india I reluctantly said I will pay then I was told this payment was late and another bill for £10.00 will soon be hitting my doorstep so I had to pay £20.00 .

    Talktalk are a nightmare to deal with and seem to hound and charge people who used to be customers .My advice to anybody looking for phone and broadband is look elsewhere and stay away from talktalk .

  • unhappy

    by Colin James at 11:13 on 7 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    Got to agree with all the complaints on here about Talk Talk. Rubbish broadband, useless customer services. Worst company I have ever had the misfortune to be associated with. My advice to anyone is avoid signing up with them. They cannot provided the broadband speeds they advertise and the routers are useless. They even admit this themselves!

  • unhappy

    by Mia Yeldham at 16:35 on 23 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    Omg, TalkTalk are pathetic, I reported a fault 10 days ago, they raise a fault ticket then close it the next day, Why do they close it? Because they cant ring me, yep thats the fault you can not ring into me, I can ring out but no one can ring in.This has happened every day since the 16th.
    They have told me in four different calls ( AS i keep getting disconnected) today that unless I can give them another number to contact me on they are unable to carry on with the "fixing" of my line, not only can you not ring in but if I pick up my house phone it disconnects the internet.
    As soon as I mention I would like to make a complaint about the customer service I am receiving they disconnect my call to them, it's been a constant 4 hours today of trying to get them to understand that I have no mobile as there is no mobile service where I live, and if they fix my line they will be able to call me as they keep saying they want to.
    DO NOT TOUCH TALKTALK, even British Gas has better customer service.and that is saying something.

  • unhappy

    by Mihai at 1:15 on 20 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    Horrible service it's a nice way of describing it. It's been 2 weeks since my go live date for Internet and still no service. I spent over two hours with them on the phone so far on my money and still no fix yet. In the mean time they've issued the first bill and they expect me to pay for it even though I've never received any service from them. An engineer should come in about 1 month and try to fix the problem. Overall extremely poor service I definitely don't recommend to anyone, loss of time and nerves.
    First thing in the morning, call them and cancel this joke of a contract.
    Mihai.

  • unhappy

    by John A at 10:03 on 18 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    Put me on a contract without my approval and tried to charge nearly £400 for cancelling it.

    I was getting pretty fed up with broadband constantly dropping out and dreadful customer service. As my prepaid line rental and contract were due to expire I called TalkTalk to see if they would make me a really good offer not to leave. After much haggling they did, including all calls to UK landlines and mobiles, and fibre at 76Mb/s.

    After my line rental and contract had expired I called again to see if they were as good as their word. No chance! I was told that phone calls would cost extra, and fibre was only available at 38Mb/s. I said that this was not what I had been promised, so the person I was speaking to said he would check and phone me back the next day.

    No phone call was ever received, just an email congratulating me on having signed up to a new 18 month contract. I then spent two hours on the phone, including once being disconnected by an Indian call centre, before I got someone to accept that I had never agreed to a new contract and I wanted it cancelled immediately.

    This was the last straw. I immediately took out a contract with another provider. As a result I received another email from TalkTalk saying that I owed nearly £400 in contract breakage fees.

    If I detailed everything that happened over the next two months it would be too long for anyone to bother to read it, but sufficient to say that after many hours on the phone, sending emails and writing letters I eventually got TalkTalk to accept that I owed them nothing. Fortunately I'm retired. If I was still working I would never have had the time to sort this mess out.

    My advise to anyone thinking of joining TalkTalk is not to be seduced by special offers. They will do anything to get you to sign up, and then make it as difficult as possible to leave. Also the standard of customer service at all levels is utterly abysmal.

    My advice to anyone with TalkTalk who wants to leave is to download a phone recording app onto your mobile phone and use it for all calls to TalkTalk. They are remarkably reluctant to put anything in writing, and they Put me on a contract without my approval and tried to charge nearly £400 for cancelling it.

    I was getting pretty fed up with broadband constantly dropping out and dreadful customer service. As my prepaid line rental and contract were due to expire I called TalkTalk to see if they would make me a really good offer not to leave. After much haggling they did, including all calls to UK landlines and mobiles, and fibre at 76Mb/s.

    After my line rental and contract had expired I called again to see if they were as good as their word. No chance! I was told that phone calls would cost extra, and fibre was only available at 38Mb/s. I said that this was not what I had been promised, so the person I was speaking to said he would check and phone me back the next day.

    No phone call was ever received, just an email congratulating me on having signed up to a new 18 month contract. I then spent two hours on the phone, including once being disconnected by an Indian call centre, before I got someone to accept that I had never agreed to a new contract and I wanted it cancelled immediately.

    This was the last straw. I immediately took out a contract with another provider. As a result I received another email from TalkTalk saying that I owed nearly £400 in contract breakage fees.

    If I detailed everything that happened over the next two months it would be too long for anyone to bother to read it, but sufficient to say that after many hours on the phone, sending emails and writing letters I eventually got TalkTalk to accept that I owed them nothing. Fortunately I'm retired. If I was still working I would never have had the time to sort this mess out.

    My advise to anyone thinking of joining TalkTalk is not to be seduced by special offers. They will do anything to get you to sign up, and then make it as difficult as possible to leave. Also the standard of customer service at all levels is utterly abysmal.

    My advice to anyone with TalkTalk who wants to leave is to download a phone recording app onto your mobile phone and use it for all calls to TalkTalk. They are remarkably reluctant to put anything in writing, and they don't seem to like it at all if you tell them that you're recording a call. Also, if in desperation you write to the head of complaints at the CEO's office don't think that you're talking to anyone important. There seem to be several people who use this title, and I suspect they're nowhere near the CEO's office.don't seem to like it at all if you tell them that you're recording a call. Also, if in desperation you write to the head of complaints at the CEO's office don't think that you're talking to anyone important. There seem toPut me on a contract without my approval and tried to charge nearly £400 for cancelling it.

    I was getting pretty fed up with broadband constantly dropping out and dreadful customer service. As my prepaid line rental and contract were due to expire I called TalkTalk to see if they would make me a really good offer not to leave. After much haggling they did, including all calls to UK landlines and mobiles, and fibre at 76Mb/s.

    After my line rental and contract had expired I called again to see if they were as good as their word. No chance! I was told that phone calls would cost extra, and fibre was only available at 38Mb/s. I said that this was not what I had been promised, so the person I was speaking to said he would check and phone me back the next day.

    No phone call was ever received, just an email congratulating me on having signed up to a new 18 month contract. I then spent two hours on the phone, including once being disconnected by an Indian call centre, before I got someone to accept that I had never agreed to a new contract and I wanted it cancelled immediately.

    This was the last straw. I immediately took out a contract with another provider. As a result I received another email from TalkTalk saying that I owed nearly £400 in contract breakage fees.

    If I detailed everything that happened over the next two months it would be too long for anyone to bother to read it, but sufficient to say that after many hours on the phone, sending emails and writing letters I eventually got TalkTalk to accept that I owed them nothing. Fortunately I'm retired. If I was still working I would never have had the time to sort this mess out.

    My advise to anyone thinking of joining TalkTalk is not to be seduced by special offers. They will do anything to get you to sign up, and then make it as difficult as possible to leave. Also the standard of customer service at all levels is utterly abysmal.

    My advice to anyone with TalkTalk who wants to leave is to download a phone recording app onto your mobile phone and use it for all calls to TalkTalk. They are remarkably reluctant to put anything in writing, and they don't seem to like it at all if you tell them that you're recording a call. Also, if in desperation you write to the head of complaints at the CEO's office don't think that you're talking to anyone important. There seem to be several people who use this title, and I suspect they're nowhere near the CEO's office. be several people who use this title, and I suspect they're nowhere near the CEO's office.

  • unhappy

    by Phil Atkinson at 20:59 on 1 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    AVOID SIGNING UP FOR WHAT SEEMS LIKE A CHEAP TALKTALK HEADLINE DEAL.

    I have been a TalkTalk customer for a few months. Since the data breach in October I would like to exit my contract without any penalty. They have confirmed that my bank account data has been stolen but I still cannot leave; furthermore, they have just upped my prices which I find a disgrace. I no longer trust TalkTalk with my banking information, which they have already shared with parties that were not authorised by myself; I have therefore just cancelled my direct debit. If this was the first time there was a data breach I would be much more understanding but this was the third time in 1 year; extremely disappointing.

  • unhappy

    by Milena at 13:53 on 26 Nov 2015 Report abuse

    Very unhappy with this company been with them for 2 years always paid by direct debit never missed a payment yet when I moved house I had no connection although they were informed about my move a month in advance. I didn't have any connection for 3 weeks and had to chase up a few times a week for someone to visit my property. At last when I had an engineer come out I was told I will be charged £60 if the fault was from my end. The problem was fixed in August and I wasn't told anything about getting charged. A few months passed and I have a bill come through to say I will be charged £91 on the 1st of December. I have tried to sort out this problem with the customer service I spoke to 4 different departments and spent over an hour on the phone and they refused to help me.

  • unhappy

    by Tanya at 11:19 on 17 Nov 2015 Report abuse

    These clowns are a waste of time and money. They promise you different things on the phone and then when you phone back up none knows what the he'll you're talking about. - this is because they want to get you to sign up to their 'services ' so they spew a load of tosh at you. I've racked up over £50 talking to these idiots in September /October- when I first signed up they said an engineer would come over FREE OF CHARGE to install the broadband but then they cancelled the engineer and just sent the box for us to do ourselves. Well the 7 didn't work. They were unsure what the problem was when I rang up so they said they sent an engineer out and we're going to charge me I refused to pay and said I would just cancel the contract so they sent it for free. After the engineer visits he said it was sorted. Waited another week. Nothing! I have now cancelled my contract because I could not handle talking to these *@#][!![]'#[@#]!* on the phone anymore and getting know here. I cancelled my contract and I refused to pay them any fees because I have had nothing but stress, problems and NO INTERNET. They said this was okay and it would take 30 working days to cancel. I had to recall the direct debit that they took out of my account and cancel my direct debit ( even though they told me not to) why would I want to keep my direct debit so these money grabbing monkeys can take more of my money?!!! I have had two contradicting letters sent to me. One saying that I will not be charged for cancelling my contract and the other asking me why I've cancelled my direct debit and NOW a text saying that I owe them money on my account!. Well you know what? I'm going to throw your useless wifi router in the river because you still haven't sent me a prepaid box to send it back. TALKTALK, YOU ARE A BUNCH OF USELESS MONEY GRABBING MONKEYS WITH SH*T BROADBAND AND YOUR COMPANY WILL GO UNDER. I have now signed up to virgin who are million times better with super fast Internet for the same price.

  • unhappy

    by lee at 10:11 on 16 Nov 2015 Report abuse

    AVOID TALK TALK.
    I signed up to TalkTalk in October 2015 (phone, broadband & tv package). On connection we found our broadband speeds were very low (1.5mb) so I called TalkTalk (overseas call centre) on two occasions to upgrade to fibre broadband. I was assured that I could get fibre broadband and was promised on both occasions that someone would call me back to complete the upgrade but no one did. On my third call I was told that I could not get fibre in my location. I informed them that I was not happy and that I wanted to cancel as I was still within their cancellation period. Their advisor suggested I speak to their engineering team to see if they could improve the broadband speed and foolishly I agreed to give them the opportunity to put things right. I was promised a call back but yet again it never materialised. I called again the following day to cancel, only to be told that I was now out of their cancellation period and so there would be a charge. I was then transferred between several advisors and continually put on hold. Eventually I was put through to someone in their UK centre who was generally rude and arrogant. In total I was kept on the phone for over 1 hour, after which I was left feeling extremely angry and frustrated with my whole TalkTalk experience. I then signed up to BT but to make matters worse, TalkTalk then disconnected my services a week early leaving me with no phone and broadband and they even refused my transfer saying that I had given them my wrong post code! Fortunately BT sorted things out for me. I would not use TalkTalk if they offered to provide their services free of charge and would strongly recommend avoiding them at all costs!

  • unhappy

    by Oskar at 20:42 on 8 Oct 2015 Report abuse

    TalkTalk are Rubbish, the company is an absolute load of scheming money grabbers who will stop at nothing to take your hard earned cash in exchange for a ridiculously poor service, slow speeds, disconnections, frequently having to switch the router off and reset it, phoning the customer service is a pantomime, the customer service is foreign based and is frustrating beyond belief because of the language barrier and their lack of knowledge, lets face it when you are having problems which is usually the case when you need to contact customer service the last thing you need is someone on the other end of the line who cant be understood,
    I WAS a customer with TalkTalk for over 10 years, and believe me there is absolutely no loyalty from this ISP, I am now free from this incredibly Dodgy company, don't get me wrong they used to be ok, they offered a reasonable service with no hidden charges, I used to pay the same amount each month, The past year with TalkTalk pushed me into leaving them and going elsewhere, the monthly payments kept increasing until I was paying the best part of £40 a month for a service which was very un-reliable,
    as a customer with this outfit the worst thing I found was because they had my bank details they would take out what they wanted when they wanted sometimes being charged twice in the same month,
    I will never return to TackTack even if it was offered to me for free, because in reality it would not be free, there would be some dodgy small print hidden somewhere which allows them to fleece me,
    Realistically what decent company which is Good at what they do and have built a Good relationship with their customers and have a impeccable reputation Need to offer Freebies like £100 shopping vouchers to attract new customers,
    Because its a Trap like a spider catching its prey,
    my elderly parents have also recently binned these jokers for over charging them, they phoned and explained they were being charged for Broadband which they did not want or even use, TackTack denied they were being charged for Broadband even though their monthly bill clearly told them they were paying it, My parents had been with them around 7 years (again no Loyalty to long standing customers)
    Be Warned They are a Seriously Dodgy Unscrupulous Outfit and I am Amazed they are allowed to conduct business in this country

  • unhappy

    by Ian Davenport at 17:04 on 21 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    Avoid these cowboys at all costs. I cannot wait to get out of my contract. I have tried 4 speed checkers today. I have had download speeds of 3.9, 4.1 and 4.7. TalkTalk's checker reads 5.9 so they tell me nothing is wrong. My broadband drops out 3 or 4 times a day. I tried to watch a clip on YouTube earlier and it kept buffering - to the point where I gave up.The engineers know absolutely nothing proven in their community forum where there are hundreds of complaints about this problem They want £50 to get an engineer out. The cost of the broadband and phone had nearly doubled in 2 years and they say it is to improve the service which couldn't be any worse.

  • happy

    by Pete at 15:31 on 14 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    To be fair there's nothing wrong with the actual service I've received from Talk Talk though they do have a nasty habit of putting up the prices without telling you about it. It's only when you call customer services to try and get them to sort out the price hikes that you run into trouble. They manage quite skilfully to be extremely sympathetic, to agree to anything you say, to "look into this right away", to "get you a better deal right now sir" and to actually do absolutely NOTHING. They even write down notes of the things they haven't done and of the new price you've been promised but haven't actually got, so that when you call for the seventh time all the information is there waiting for you.
    ANNOYING TO THE POINT OF MADNESS.
    JUST DON'T!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Andy jones at 12:19 on 6 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    Package deal 38mbps actual speed 2.8mbps .phoned talk talk they argued internet speed varies on how far from centre you are how old your router is etc etc.
    I asked talk talk if he thought it was acceptable to have a speed of 2.8mbps he just repeated the scripted speech.
    In the end I hung up very angry no apologies .
    Also have been charged for engineer call out even though it was on there end.worst customer care service ever.

  • unhappy

    by vick at 14:28 on 30 Jul 2015 Report abuse

    talk talk are a COMPLETE waste of time and money. Never resolved anything properly in 18 months. At present a telephone line you can hardly hear on when talking and internet speed of less than 1.0 (IN THIS DAY AND AGE) - the the price is the same when they KNOW they cannot provide the speeds you are paying for 5 miles from the exchange

    managed to swap our telephone line to cable phone number for 4 days. numerous times the telephone and internet has been off for days. I'd stick with reputable a company who can actually provide what you are paying for because talk talk can't !!!

    should you EVER need technical or customer service you WILL be sorry you ever changed to talk talk

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: