TalkTalk broadband Reviews

  • neutral

    by Leyla at 09:53 on 23 Jun 2015 | registered | 1 post

    Trying to cancel my order I placed just this morning with talk talk for broadband and not reading reviews before hand tried which are 90 percent bad .. There calling service says it's closed but states there open from 8-8 .. Can anybody recommend another way I believe they are near impossible to get in touch with 🙈
    Thanks

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by chloesmum at 11:17 on 20 Jun 2015

    They're worse than useless. Appalling broadband speed, my smart tv picture keeps breaking up, internet keeps seizing up. My bills have almost double in 6 months since I joined them, when I queried it, via their India call centre, then their South Africa call centre, they kept reading a script at me which didn't answer my query at all.
    I'm now in the middle of moving home. They told me initially that I could transfer my contract to the new house, now they're telling me I have to pay £140 to end the current contract, then enter a new 18month contract. This isn't any use, as I'm moving again in a year's time. I've had endless calls to their India call centre, sent several emails, absolutley no joy at all. I spoke to their South Africa centre (I live in the UK) and he said he'd put a 'bar' on my line (???) I asked if he'd send a letter explaning and confirming - he refused, and acted like I was being unreasonable asking for such a thing. They're now refusing to release me from my current contract and refusing to cancel the contract on the new house, even though I cancelled within the cooling off period.
    I can't set up a contract with another company as talktalk are somehow blocking that, so I face - what? No broadband? No landline? I don't know what's going on, and nobody at talktalk will address the problem. The people I talk to on the phone just seem intent on persuading me to stay, even when I tell them VERY firmly what I want. Wish I'd never gone with them in the first place.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Ryan at 07:05 on 18 May 2015

    Where do I start! Had been with TalkTalk at an old property and had no issues. Moved to a new address and they said that transferring to a new address started a new contract and they sold me the package with TV services. Been in the property for over a year now and Broadband speed frequently drops to as low as 0.05Mb. On a good day it would peak at 2.5Mb, but very rare. Spoken to the Technical Dept who initially said that the speed was not right and they could get it up to about 5Mb. They carried out lots of tests and checks and then said that they had done all they possibly could and that there were no problems with the line or the setup and my connection was as good as it will get. I have since complained to the CEO office as they should not have sold me the TV service as that requires at least 3Mb to use the on demand bits. I've also requested to cancel my contract with them as 0.05Mb for a Broadband Connection was unreasonable and below what is in the contract. To my disgust they have replied saying that I will have to pay nearly £130 as I will be breaking my contract with them. They then went on to say that I had not given TalkTalk enough opportunities to rectify the problem, despite it being their Tech Team who told me there was nothing more they could do. So they state they cannot do anything else to assist, which to me suggests there is no point asking for further assistance as there is nothing more that can be done. Yet the problem is my fault somehow for not requesting further help from them? Anyone thinking of joining TalkTalk, DO NOT DO IT!!! Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere and you will save yourself a heap of trouble. Also, their 'Customer Service' is an absolute joke. It is virtually impossible to understand anything they are saying as it appears to be a call centre in India. Likewise, they struggled to understand what I was saying half the time. We recently had cause to call them about a mobile phone that had the SIM locked (Helpful toddler trying to put the pin in for us). We called them 4 times in total as the first 3 times they couldn't seem to understand what 'The SIM card is locked and we need a PUK code to unlock it'. Each time they passed us through to the cancellation department to get a PAC code to transfer our mobile number to another provider. I have never experienced a company that is as bad and unhelpful as TalkTalk. So please, for your own sanity, stay away from TalkTalk!!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Valentin at 17:52 on 14 May 2015

    Was trying to get a deal unfortunately can't get one. I wonder how and way u guys doing a business without any service providing from u .

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Omar at 11:32 on 12 May 2015

    IF YOU RECIEVED THE 'PRICE CHANGE' E-MAIL ON THE 11/05/15, YOU ARE LEGALLY ENTITLED TO CANCEL YOUR SERVICES WITH TALKTALK WITHIN 30 DAYS WITHOUT CHARGE OR PENALTY!

    I opted for the 18 month super fibre optic broadband package. It was perfect for the first 10 days but after that it was a nightmare. Constant disconnections, broadband never work most the time, speed decreased to 0.5 mbps! Customer service was rubbish - constant phone line checks etc. which did not rectify the problem. What did I sign up for?

    Thankfully I received an e-mail stating my price will be increased. I knew from past experience that I could cancel my services without any termination charges if there was a price increase! I phoned up TalkTalk and quickly confirmed I could cancel without any charges as long as the price increase was the reason I was cancelling. I cancelled immediately and felt a massive weight of my shoulder.

    You have 30 days to cancel from the date the email was sent to you - take advantage of it!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by will murray at 14:35 on 3 May 2015

    Terrible company I had them install my phone and broad band a few years ago....I never got broadband so I canceled within the cooling off period.
    They then said I owed. them £70 for canceling threatened me with court orders so I paid for a service I never received
    I found this disgraceful so hit back via a solicitor and got my money back leave well alone

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by John at 22:43 on 22 Apr 2015

    Been on talk talk for 6 months or so, was fine at first now for the last month it's pathetically slow but their website is saying nothings wrong..

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by joan borchardt at 12:01 on 18 Mar 2015 | registered | 1 post

    I joined talk talk 14feb 2014 had nothing but problems since then tv no reception kept freezing phone line not working no help when called rude staff the ones that you could understand.broadband has never worked was told by them if I cancel I have a fee to pay. would never recommend them to anyone.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Ms Collier at 19:03 on 11 Mar 2015

    I've been a Talk Talk broadband customer since August this year.

    I've had an intermittent connection issue for a couple of months now and today after 5 engineer visits I'm hoping the problem is resolved, as the Open reach engineer discovered that the crimps that hold the wiring together were corroded and this could of been causing the copper imbalance on my line. He changed the crimps.

    What I've learned is that intermittent connection issues like mine can be very difficult to diagnose and fix. I have made many many phonecalls to Talk Talk in recent weeks and I've found there customer service to be brilliant overall. Yes some advisers are more knowledgeable than others just as some engineers are more knowledgeable than others.

    Some reviewers point out that they can cut you off when speaking to you. This can sometimes happen when they are running test on the line, its not intentional.

    I believe my line problem existed when I was with Virgin Media as it was intermittent then and I was with them for 7 years. They denied there was a problem with my line and refused to even arrange an engineer visit so I just put up with it as I live in the country side and there wasn't many other providers to choose from. At least Talk talk have tried to get Open reach to fix my issue and hopefully it is now fixed!

    I will probably stay with Talk Talk forever more now as for me they have been the best and I would recomend them to anyone.

    I've had BT, Virgin Media and Talk Talk.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by david at 11:46 on 9 Mar 2015 | registered | 33 posts

    Talktalks motto, if they had one, would be 'win'. If the customer said black was white, TT would argue that black is grey. If the customer then said that black was grey, TT would argue that its white. If the customer, said that 2+2=4, then TT would argue about that. The customer always has to be wrong, therefor talktalk are always correct. They can not lose, will not lose. Argue, argue, argue. Contradict, contradict, contradict. Everything is seen as an opportunity for negotiation in their favour. They dont care about keeping the customer happy, only keeping themselves happy. Whenever they apologies it is meaningless, as they keep on doing something to apologies about. You can have a fault. You phone them and tell them. They ask you to repeat up to three times what you have explained. When you get tired of this and say you are no longer repeating what is perfectly clear (and should be by now) they say 'how can we help you if you do not tell us whats wrong?'. Get this for genius. 'We are not going to do what you want, as we want you to have a good customer experience'. This was a supervisor. I put it to one of them yesterday, do you suppose that if you successfully force the customer to do what they do not want to do, they are going to be even more happy with you, or even more unhappy with you?' The answer was basically an inferred if you dont like it leave. Talktalks idea of good customer service skill, is to force the customer to do what they want, or to beat the customer. Everything has to be argued about. youll also notice a tactic of answering a question that has not been asked, as a way of avoiding answering the question that has been asked. Switching subject in other words when they are losing or it seems like they are or could lose the argument. And yet they initiate the argument. In spite of everything they still will not let you go cleanly, because as i said it has to be done to their advantage. Letting you go and still collecting the money would be to their advantage, despite p$ssing the customer off completely. they still have to win. They lack social skill, shame and etiquette. They are like a half council brick thrown through a plate glass window. BTW just in case this is changed from angry - this is angry or red.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Jamie at 10:45 on 24 Feb 2015

    BEWARE MIS SELLING. After being directed to TalkTalk sales from Comparethemarket.com, I agreed a package by phone with one of their sales team, reiterating the channel selection as part of the bundle. After a fortnight te service was installed and a number of the channels were not present. A call to customer service to enquire resulted in being told I'd need to pay more for additional channels and that they didn't accept responsibility due to the package coming froma third party site (though they promptly quietened when I explained that the deal had been made by phone with a TalkTalk sales team member and that channels had been verbalised to confirm). I asked to raise a formal complaints laint and was assured I'd be called within 5 working days. I wasn't, so on day six, i called again to enquire as to the status - clearly nothing had been done and hence being put on hold while the operator went back to his superiors. I was told the offer would remain as issued. As a consumer not having a complaint followed through is really customer service 101 so to have to follow up myself and be told this really compounded the problem. So i cancelled my contract immediately. Just be very careful of buying by phone. If you look online you'll see that mis selling is not uncommon, and that Talk Talk especially have a somewhat chequered past in this regard.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Alma Beha at 20:28 on 23 Feb 2015

    i can not agree any more with these reviews. In each of them it looks like they are speaking for me as well. No wonder. This is what customers of Talk Talk are getting from their provider. Appalling, very low standards service, careless, nonsense and irritating customer service that aims to circle you around first line support answering to everything with standard repetitive answers without ever intending to find a real solution to your problems. The worse thing is that this is the policy of Talk Talk company itself not that of a bad adviser in particular because all of them have the same conduct code. After complaining many times for hours on the phones about dropping broadband every 15 min. intervals, and cheating advisers ( it is their companies policy) that promise things for free on the phone and then charge you afterwords. After 10 years of custom to Talk Talk I have decided that enough is enough. BT is offering to reimburse any termination charges if you switch from another ISP. I cant wait to leave them and leave behind the frustration, annoyance and irritation their service have caused me, just for the sake of good value which in reality is no value at all.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by lee at 13:45 on 19 Feb 2015

    Just joined talktalk because i was told they block all gambling web sites this is totaly untrue it only seems to block the big names like coral and william hill i clicked on betfair and that one still works plus loads more still work im not happy at all as i would have stayed with sky if i knew it didnt block all gambling sites so be warned before you dicide to purchase talktalk broadband.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by mike at 20:53 on 17 Feb 2015

    talktalk are complete jokers , they have no customer loyalty in place and couldnt care less about their customers , i was lied to and deceived and promised stuff by talk talk , only to me let down one after the other , then i told them i was leaving , they turned my services off , until i argued the toss with them , then i told them i wanted to downgrade to move to a better supplier and they took a week to turn off my fibre optic , i contact my future supplier and tell them right its turned off , go and do the take over , and low and behold talktalk 24 hours later turn fibre bk on again , so i couldnt leave ,then when i argue again with them , i tell them ok i will give them the benefit of the doubt , can u turn my fibre back on , they get all argumentitve and tell me no , because you have no direct debit set up , i explained i cancelled it months ago because i pay by credit card online , because talk talk never once , stuck to the direct debit date , so would try take the money out a week b4 or upto a week after , and that incurred me charges every single month , i was with them 7 yrs , every placed i moved to i took them with me , WORSE MISTAKE EVER , even with all the crap they have given me and the lies and the deceit , i offered 1 chance with them to buck their ideas up and their cancellations team come at me with an antagonising idiot of an advisor , this group of jokers are the worst suppliers i had to deal with , once you tell them ur leaving they act like stroppy children , i have contacted ofcom and made them aware of the problems i have had with them , hope they truly get fined for this ,,, they have lost 2 accounts in 1 go with me , i hope they lose thousands more tbh ....

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by annoymous at 00:31 on 20 Jan 2015

    TT The worse company you will ever deal with, all call centers are in another country, they have no clue what so ever as to what they are doing they ask the same questions over and over again, after nearly 2 hours on the phone to these idiots I had my say and hung up, It should be against the law for companies to put call centers in other countries, I hope that talk talk goes bankrupt because by god they sure don't provide a good service in any aspect at all, I would advise you to go with someone else !!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by steve at 13:07 on 2 Jan 2015

    talktalk, what can i say, awful, disrepectful, hard to understand, all of the above and more, had problems with my speed, when i complained my speed increased by 3 times, for about a week, then slow again, further 6 complaints about speed, same thing each time, last time they said they would send out an engineer, i said no as i know my equipment is fine, they insisted and said there would be no charge if the fault was not my end, engineer came, told me my end was fine and the problem was with talktalk, which i already knew, talktalk still charged me £50 for the visit saying that the speed issue was beyond their control, asked for better deal then, they gave me 3 months free broadband, but still charged me for it, so after months of calls and complaints i am leaving when my contract ends, i have been with them for nearly 10 years, i am (was) a loyal customer, they have no respect for this. avoid them at all costs

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by E E Singfield at 10:37 on 1 Jan 2015

    Once get back £50 they took for the 5th engineers visit unjustly will be changing to BT. Speeds of 0.01 to 7.2Mbs ~ how can that right?

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by m Shirley at 10:00 on 31 Dec 2014

    Just the same as all the other negative comments about this company. The worst company I ahve ever dealt with in my life. Same ongoing problems. Once I get the £50 they stole from my bank account for a engineers vist that should have been free (4 engineers and numerous calls to foreign lands) back chnaging to BT as speeds of 0.01Mbs are just not acceptable.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by vanee at 20:50 on 24 Dec 2014

    Never go for talktalk. Yes its cheap but always disconnecting and too slow. And once you upgrade and if you want to cancel later because of slow speed or disconnection, they will not cancel it even you phone them to cancel it under the time period. I have canceled my contract because too many problems and they ask me to pay over £500 pounds because of 24 months contract and I paid but still they are keep sending me the bills and they are keep saying this will be the final amount. I am screwed. Watch what customers says on youtube videos and you will know what I mean.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Michael kelly at 09:11 on 23 Nov 2014

    Nothing but trouble since moving house. Was lied to and told fibre was available at new address. Talk talk claimed we had to start on basic then upgrade to fibre, another lie. We now have the worst speed ever and the modem is always red and needs switching off then back on. Sent us a new modem, nothing changed. Fraud team investigating over money taken out of account and talk talk couldn't explain why.

    We have been to citizens advice over their absolute useless service but contract nearly up. Once we are out of contract they won't be receiving our custom ever again. Nothing in regards to compensation ever offered. I can't stress enough DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. We now have 4g phones and tether and it is fantastic.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Rachael at 14:08 on 11 Oct 2014

    Awful. I didn;t even go through with getting it in the end - loads of problems getting order/set up sorted, not helped by poor communication from them about it - they cancelled my order without telling me, leaving me waiting for it to be switched on! Equally poor customer service and repeated, long and expensive calls - I've chosen to pay a bit more but get decent service.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by david at 19:30 on 7 Oct 2014

    Worst customer service so far. They (ISPS) generally have bad customer service anyway, but TT this today really pushed the envelope. I am not even with them. I was just thinking of joining.
    a)Listen and allow the customer to explain why the telephone call. Then get the caller to repeat what has been said as the person was not listening and pretending that they were listening.
    b) Do not do what the person wants. Do not do what is asked. "You are not helping, so could you put the phone down. This would be the most helpful thing you can do". Reply "No. I am not allowed to put the phone down. But you can". Reply "Why is it more important that I end the telephone call by placing the phone down on you, rather than you doing what has been asked? Is that not rude - not doing what is asked?". Reply "No." Reply "Then if you cant put the phone down on myself then I expect you to still be here in 10 minutes time, or even is 6 hours time." Reply " Yes, I will still be here as I am being paid no matter what happens." So the phone is walked away from, but the call has not ended. Within ten minutes despite saying all that has been said about the phone cannot be put down by himself. The phone is indeed put down Which shows that the phone call could have ended by the request that was made a lot sooner and that he could at anytime put the phone down when requested.
    c)Turning the conversation around to not taking the blame for anything.
    d)Accusing myself of being awkward with them - after being refused my request.
    e)deliberately, not listening to not answer the question, and to change the conversation for their own ends.

    I could go on. The list is endless. I mean being charged 5 pounds for delivery of something which is not required, and tham saying they have no control, despite them sending the unwanted package. That router is just an extra barely disclosed cost. Their arguement is that the reciever is not paying for the router - just the delivery. So of course you are coughing up an extra five pounds to which they deny. Will I be five pounds better off I ask. To which the subject is again skewed in a different direction.

    Dont signup with talktalk. You can do better.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Peter L at 18:27 on 26 Sep 2014

    Having just left TalkTalk for Sky, I can honestly say that the stability of my broadband connection is now like day is to night. After multiple heart-sinking calls to TalkTalk's technical support (you just know that each time you dial the support number you are embarking on at least a 1 hour journey through the same scripted questions) I was prepared to discard the final month of my pre-paid line rental to get away from them.

    As for all these people on this forum complaining about charges, have they never heard of "The Direct Debit Guarantee"? All you have to do is inform TalkTalk in writing that they have charged you incorrectly, give them a reasonable deadline to correct it (say 2 weeks), then if there's no satisfactory action contact your bank and tell them that there's been an unauthorised charge on the direct debit. The bank will reverse the transaction AND charge the company a fee for doing so, too!
    I found myself invoking the Direct Debit Guarantee against my electricity supplier a few months ago; it mightily p*ssed them off, but reversed the situation of who owed money to whom instantly.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Mainy at 19:07 on 21 Sep 2014

    Where do I begin?

    Unable to set up an email account through Windows Mail.

    A technical helpline which can only be found after searching online.

    Connection problems during the four months I was with them.

    Clueless Indian call centre staff who promised me on four occasions my problem will be resolved within 72 hours. It wasn't.

    Being disconnected on the same day as receiving a letter wrongly telling me there was insufficient funds in my bank account to pay my bill.

    After four frustrating months I left them despite their attempts to coerce me into receiving fibre optic.
    Talktalk are the worst of the five broadband suppliers I've signed up with.
    I simply wouldn't touch these wasters with a bargepole.



    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Alan at 18:05 on 30 Aug 2014

    I left Talk Talk after just 4 days, when they blocked my phone no. after trying to report a problem. Thereafter, they agreed to talk to me 'but not about the problem.' Since; six-weeks of threats and runaround, demands for amounts of money they appear to have plucked out of the air and cannot substantiate when I ring them.
    They are obstructive and evasive, and, in at least ten contacts, include three letters to UK addresses, have not produced a final bill for the two-weeks before I moved to Sky, who, incidentally, have been excellent.
    Talk Talk - 'abandon hope ye who enter here.'

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by chris at 10:39 on 10 Aug 2014

    My partner and i signed up to talk talk about 2 and a half months ago,so far we have had 1 months worth of services from them as they sent us broken eqiupment, on my first call to them after waiting on hold for nearly an hour on hold from my mobile, was informed by a guy i could hardly understand that i was going to be charged £50 for a new box, despite wanting to use some foul language at the guy i just hung up cos the guy sounded misserable and i got the feeling he was getting some kind of sattisfaction from this, eventually i got through to somebody about five days later who then booked a guy to come and replace it about a week later, so far we've had about a months services (with only 1 extra add an) to be charged a £177, i fear to god what our bills will be like when our half price 6 months run out. Dont use talk talk!!!!!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Peter Mortensen at 18:19 on 8 Aug 2014

    How to describe TalkTalk without having to ask the kids to cover their ears... well, it's almost impossible. I have had internet problems with them for months and all I ever hear is an Indian or Philippine person promising me all will be well once we have gone through some tests, for the millionth time, during this, my millionth call to them. If ever there was a company that make you want to smash up your computer and your phone, this is it!

    I have tried everything, writing to them, calling them, online chatting to them... I have tried to complain, close my account with them, change my packages, ask for refunds, discounts and compensation but every time I get nowhere in actually getting the issue fixed. I am either not speaking to the right person or the right department, whoever I speak to, and sometimes they just plain put the phone down on me when they realise they can't help.

    A couple of days ago I actually had a service centre person ask me if I'd had lunch and he then proceeded to tell me about how important lunch is, before telling me he needed to transfer me to someone else. I guess he could tell how frustrated I was, although I always remain calm and polite. I have spoken to people in India, the Philippines and, I think, the UK and none of them had an original idea about fixing this issue. I have just been told yet another engineer has been booked. If he actually turn up he will be the 5th one. They all say the same thing; the problem is not at my end. I get the feeling Talktalk support does not keep records of their support requests because it's like starting from scratch with them every time you call.

    On their webpage, they have a page that explains how one can complain, but the link on that page that is supposed to take you to an email form actually takes you to their repair page. Typical for them.

    I am supposed to be on a discount, but when they sold me that one they forgot to mention that they were now telling me the prices ex. VAT. With VAT I am still paying what I was always paying and I am still getting very slow speed, 2/3 of what I was promised and what I pay for.

    I would love to find a different supplier but I am not sure how to cancel my contract with them without incurring ridiculous penalties. If anything, they should give me money back!

    To anyone who is considering signing up to Talktalk: I used to sing their praises and they are great as long as you don't have any issues. If you are unlucky and have issues that can't be rectified by a restart of the router or an upgrade of it's software, then forget it.

    In summary, Talktalk sell you really really bad service and worse products all based on sweet promises of reasonably priced quality, which they are wholly unable to deliver.

    I would not recommend them to anyone. They are entirely incompetent. I know because I work in IT and if I did what they do I'd be out of a job.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Lauren at 23:32 on 31 Jul 2014

    Really wish I had read the reviews on here before I took out a contract with this terrible company on 18/07/14 I have rang every day since we went live due to account problems,I have been fobbed off from about 20 different people being told it will take 24 hours,48 hours or 72 hours to sort. I have been hung up on 3 times and had to re-explain the issue several times as everyone seems to be totally stupid that works there. Today someone eventually rang back after both myself and husband ringing call centre constantly,online chatting and email all for the same problem and now they are saying it will take 28 days to change account settings,told them this was not good enough and I wanted to cancel and was stunned and disgusted to be told it would cost near £70 to do this. Their customer service is atrocious and I would not recommend anyone to go with them,you might think you are getting a good deal with them but the only thing you will get is a headache.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by david at 10:27 on 26 Jul 2014 | registered | 33 posts

    There is something that has dawned on me since looking for a replacement isp. There are at least two isps talktalk and plusnet (so far that I have found) that are sneakily charging extra, when you signup. In talktalks case they are forcing you to pay for a router, whether you want it or not. I have contacted them about this. They try to be coy by saying the router is free, but its the delivery that you only pay for. When pushed that this is in fact the cost of the router you get the reply but, but, but the router is free. Its a charge - an extra charge. I imagine they have bought a shed load of these measily routers, and they have to get rid of them. No matter what they claim they are making extra money from the router just like an ebayer will make money from selling a book at 1p but the delivery is 4.95 - get it.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Adam at 18:04 on 30 Jun 2014

    TalkTalk is the worst ISP I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with. Following months of dropouts and really REALLY slow connectivity TalkTalk expects to fix my issues with a £2 a month discount for 6 months or a new router, but only if I renew my contract for a further 18MONTHS!!!!! Stay away from TalkTalk at all costs. They will take your money, provide you with the bare minimum in service and never ever fix any issues should they arise. You have been warned.

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA