« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews | Page 10

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • unhappy

    by Bhagavan Boyinapalli at 22:24 on 15 May 2010 Report abuse

    I've joined talk talk (previously Sky Customer) for Telephone and Broadband, and when they activated my Broadband the telephone stopped working for 4-5 days and the speed is horrible for Broadband and then later when they fixed the telephone line broadband I had speeds around 3-4 mbps. I was told that I would get 24 mbps for Talktalk pro customer, but the max i have always seen is 5-6 mbps, occasinally, but most of the time the speed was less than 4mbps. and hence beware of joining talk talk if you think of joining. I have reported the problem and even after 2 months they were not able to sort out the speed issue and now I am in the verge of cancelling my contract with them.

  • unhappy

    by Bhagavan Boyinapalli at 21:52 on 15 May 2010 Report abuse

    I've joined talk talk (previously Sky Customer) for Telephone and Broadband, and when they activated my Broadband the telephone stopped working for 4-5 days and the speed is horrible for Broadband and then later when they fixed the telephone line broadband I had speeds around 3-4 mbps. I was told that I would get 24 mbps for Talktalk pro customer, but the max i have always seen is 5-6 mbps, occasinally, but most of the time the speed was less than 4mbps. and hence beware of joining talk talk if you think of joining. I have reported the problem and even after 2 months they were not able to sort out the speed issue and now I am in the verge of cancelling my contract with them.

  • unhappy

    by helen rhodick. at 10:23 on 14 May 2010 Report abuse

    i have been having a problem with my landline.an engineer was to com to my home on the 17 feb.apparently he was at my house and tried 2 phone my land line and mobile.he did neither.i do have a doorbell which he never rang.he left a card but it was not my name on the card.it was somone elses.i still hav the card to prove it.i am being charged £99.88p for an engineer visit.my point is that if ther is the wrong name on card he must have phoned her number not mine.i have made numerous phone calls to talktalk.wasting my time as they are not listening to anything i am saying.

  • unhappy

    by angela mollard at 11:03 on 6 May 2010 Report abuse

    talk talk charge services on your bill that you havnt asked for.Also my mum and sister are with them and had problems with there charges on there bills also you cant understand them and my sister got charged with the bank through them

  • unhappy

    by Dave Swallow at 10:48 on 28 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Talk Talk is cheap but beware, the service you get when there is a problem is terrible, I was without a phone for 19 days and did not get any reaction until I went into a Carphone Warehouse store after which I was contacted every day. It seems though for an customer it is impossible to get any explanation

  • neutral

    by Bob Bobetson at 12:28 on 27 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I've been with Talktalk for several years and I find the services amazing. Any query I have is answered swiftly and with the minimum of fuss.

    I cannot fault the service I receive.

  • unhappy

    by wayne taylor at 19:00 on 25 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Worse service providers by far. Every stage has been a disaster. Ordered the router in Jan and received it mid April. Stared my DD twice and still they disconnected my main residential phone line because they said I hadn't paid my bill!
    Now that router is installed the speed for downloading has slowed to a snails pace. All I get is promises from 3 or 4 different departments but nothing changes. I am leaving them soonest.

  • unhappy

    by wayne taylor at 18:59 on 25 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Worse service providers by far. Every stage has been a disaster. Ordered the router in Jan and received it mid April. Stared my DD twice and still they disconnected my main residential phone line because they said I hadn't paid my bill!
    Now that router is installed the speed for downloading has slowed to a snails pace. All I get is promises from 3 or 4 different departments but nothing changes. I am leaving them soonest.

  • neutral

    by thanuja at 16:43 on 23 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    i like this broadband

  • unhappy

    by Gaz at 20:58 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Having recently joined Talk Talk I can honestly say that I'm not overly impressed by their service - within a week the router they sent me stopped working and they said it was faulty (the Indian man was notably rude) so I had the messing about of waiting for another one to be sent to me, which touch wood is still fine after a month.

    The speeds in the morning and early afternoon are fine....not fantastic...just fine...even though I can get 8mb....it's from about 4pm when things get really slow when even BBC news and Google are timing out and You Tube videos take an absolute eternity to load, I can honestly say that when I had dial-up about 6 years ago it was sometimes more reliable in the evenings than this - Google or BBC news never timed out! ridiculous really considering I'm supposed to have broadband.
    So overall shocking customer service and a below standard connection.

  • unhappy

    by Tracey at 17:23 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Appalling customer service. The broadband is not free if it doesn't work - I am now so sick of this that I am going back to BT.

  • unhappy

    by Val Bourne at 15:53 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Only been with Talk Talk for 6 days and loads of problems, now being told that I need a better router and will have to pay extra for it!! Refused and been given £60 credit to buy my own!! I have told them that this is there last chance and if this doesn't work will be cancelling contract. I am researching other providers as I write!!

  • happy

    by Keith Towers at 9:37 on 17 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I am using a router which has wireless and ethernet connections. I choose to use the ethernet connection. Anyhow, I have been away from my computer for a week and just fired up. All seems well since TT adjusted my phone (so they said).

  • unhappy

    by Jim at 17:48 on 15 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Talk Talk Broadband - Appalling service, utterly dreadful.
    I moved house 2 months ago, it took 1 month & to connect the phone, & 2 months later & I still have no broadband. Every few days I call up to ask some clueless bloke reading off a prompt card why I’m not connected yet on the date they promised, & they give me a new date 2 weeks later.
    Lost count of the no. of days wasted, staying in waiting for the package to arrive, only to find they have moved back the install date without telling me.
    Furthermore, I am told I have no grounds for disputing the bill as the broadband is classified as ‘free’. Give me paid for broadband, if it works!
    One last irony - the ‘cooling off’ period where you have 30 days to back out of the 24 month contract if you are not happy with the service - has already expired before the broadband is even available. So I am locked in to this **** for 2 years.

  • neutral

    by Keith Towers at 8:49 on 5 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Well. Talk Talk did listen and they adjusted my phone line to receive the speed I was paying for. It all seems well at the moment, so I will just keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best. If anyone has similar problems it's best to shout loud or you might not get heard with all the other din going on around you.

    With all the other bad broadband reviews going about, I'm not sure any company is fully up to the challenge of providing a five star service.

  • unhappy

    by derrick at 19:13 on 4 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    talk talk, poor customer service, to expensive for what you dont get, being charged for product you dont have, hours ''talking'' to someone trying to sort out concerns made by them.
    dont bother

  • neutral

    by Terry Davey at 21:40 on 3 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    In answer to Keith, can you tell me, are you using a router or modem??

  • unhappy

    by Keith Towers at 9:37 on 3 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I am beginning to hate Talk Talk. I have just connected up my new computer and have started to experience very erratic Internet connection speeds even though tests prove to be that speeds are normal. What's going on? Frustrated with trying to decipher broken English from telephone services people from Bombay, I am on the edge of negating my contract with them and letting them try to sue me. Maybe that's the only way to get a proper response from this company. If TT want to run a business that is concerned about its customer base, they should listen up.

  • happy

    by Terry Davey at 14:40 on 27 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    What a great service Talktalk provide. I have two lines on Talktalk, signed up the day they announced the service and have never had any problems. The speed is great on both lines at about 7,5mbs against the 8 advertised. Lines never drop. Also get free calls 24/7 including to the USA. If you are not on Talktalk you must be mad. Best value ever

  • neutral

    by mike at 21:12 on 21 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    thank for reviews, i will never use talk talk until dementia sets in.

  • unhappy

    by Harry at 19:28 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Please - If anyone is on here looking for advice because they are even contemplating a service from TALK TALK then stop contemplating it now. They are certainly the cheapest, but I have had my credit rating damaged, had days without broadband or phone, been shouted at and repeatedly argued with by their incompetant and rude staff and even got to pay for the pleasure. The reason behind all this? They failed to set up my direct debit, but still requested the payment, then failed to notify me that it hadn't been taken - cutting me off with no warning and then telling me they couldn't reconnect it for days. On top of this,the broadband speed is shocking anyway....Stay well away......

  • unhappy

    by Kerry Meaden at 13:49 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Very disappointed. Offered a good deal from TalkTalk, for phone and broadband package. They didn't contact me for my M.A.C..When I contacted them was told the deal was for the full package, and much higher quote given.

  • unhappy

    by Edward Jones at 17:47 on 9 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I never had any problems with Tiscali now it's absolutely diabolical since it was taken over by talktalk,ive been doing speed checks all day and they range between EIGHT (yes 8) kbps and 270kbps and i'm paying for up to 8MB.Its unbelievable that they can get away with this abysmal service

  • happy

    by Andrew at 10:17 on 3 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I've been with Talk Talk for years and have never had a problem with them - ever!! The broadband speeds are consistently high (can drop a little in the evenings). They are must better than any other ISP I've used.

  • unhappy

    by Bob at 18:17 on 28 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Dear All,
    I was contacted by Talk Talk by phone. I was told that they could give me a better service than my present ISP and at a much cheaper rate. When I signed up I found out that they had miss sold the package. I also found out from a friend that she had the same experience. When I contacted them they babbled facts and figures and would not let you get a word in. They were very unhelpful and I would advice anybody thinking of signing up to them to give them a wide berth. In my case to gave me nothing but hassle to return to my previous ISP.

  • unhappy

    by Eloi at 3:00 on 27 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Terrible ISP, I'm an old Tiscali customer and since Tiscali got bought out by TalkTalk my service has gone for the worse, price has increased by £3, got a monthly download limit and because I originally signed up with Tiscali I'm unable to get services that original TalkTalk members can, such as ADSL 2+, my line is limited to 8mb whereas they can get up to 24mb speeds, can't use the Broadband Boosts, the TalkTalk Members forum etc. All this even though they say they've aligned Tiscali into the TalkTalk Group, this isn't a group, the only thing they've aligned is the price increase, there are no benefits for us old Tiscali members.

  • unhappy

    by Jacqui Enright at 19:19 on 26 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I have never experienced such appalling customer care as I have from Talk Talk. My mother recently moved home into sheltered housing at the age of 78 . She is also suffering with cancer. She has been trying to get Talk Talk to install a phone line for over 2 weeks with numerous promises of an engineer calling with no show. She has missed hospital and doctor's appointments over this but feels obligated to Talk Talk because she has agreed to a contract. No one shows any concern, empathy or sense of urgency when phoned and she has spent over £40 on mobile calls trying to sort out the problem. She is now feeling very stressed and considering going to the doctor's to get tablets to help! I would advise anyone to go to another provider so that any problem they encounter will at least be dealt with.

  • happy

    by sami at 11:12 on 23 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I have been with talktalk now for over 2 yrs,
    I HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM THAT WASNT RESOLVED IMMEDIATELY,
    i have always been passed to the correct department and though i agree it takes some time on the phone, the result has always been good.
    I think ones temper shouldnt allow you to run away with your true opinions,but oh believe me, im the best of whingers and complainers when its valid.
    However i have to promote the services of talktalk as i sincerely have never had a problem with it,
    i do not agree with customer services departments being based in countries such as india an bangladesh, however i have found that on the whole, the person on the other end of the phone is generally alot more thorough and concise, though their quite robotic, this is something we tend to ignore.
    whereby someone from this country will generally be likely to have a percentage of attitude and intolerance an not afraid to use patronising behaviour and cockiness?.
    Its like i said before, if youve had a bad day, then you will allow to release steam and often exaggerate the situation, we all have limits, and boradband etc means a hell of alot to us, me included, but ive learnt that the best way you are going to get any work out of the folk on the other end of the phone, is by being nice to them, otherwise they will wee in your soup, so to speak,

    please also realise one other thing, i owe talktalk nothing, but should they in future treat me like you all say u have been treated, i too will protest, but with honesty.
    gbye all,
    by the way.............B.T. are robbers.

  • unhappy

    by Warren at 13:24 on 22 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Was supposed to have been upgraded to Talk after being transferred by Tiscali. In fact they cut off my broadband due to a 'system error'. After hours on the phone they said it would take 5 weeks to reconnect me!! and even tried to charge a reconnection fee. They also deleted my email account and misinformed me that my phone was to be disconnected. Appalling, confused, incompetent customer service. Going to Otelo to get compensation. Worst customer service I have ever encountered. Even worse than the CSA.

  • unhappy

    by Odette at 18:13 on 19 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    We decided to go for the bundle package with TalkTalk at the beginning of Jan 2010, What a mistake!
    All was fine until our 'Go live date' came and went, we spoke to many different advisors and none of them had a clue what was going on!
    We were eventullay told the New date would be 31st March for us going live!!!!!!
    we called to cancel and ask for a returns bag, the next day we were called by a different member of staff who didnt even have a clue we requested to cancel, it turned out we had to cancel both phone line and broadband at the same time before they could do anything!
    Very upset with service and definatley would NOT recommend to anybody!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: