« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews | Page 10

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • unhappy

    by Peter Howarth at 17:38 on 29 May 2010 Report abuse

    I have had an order with Talk Talk for Broadband since Feb 2010, its now July...I am fed up with being fobbed off with another 8-10day delay. If you find yourself in this situation CALL AND INSIST ON TALKING TO A MANAGER and ask for a confirmed installation date. You will then be told -if the manager is being honest - that the ops department is not giving dates for installation and it will be 'much longer'. If you want internet access dont go with Talk Talk. Choose another supplier and you might actually get a response from someone who cares....and the hardware to connect. Oh, all calls seem to be routed to Indian and Malaysian call centres so sometimes difficult expressing your dissatisfaction and still being understood.Please avoid Talk Talk....

  • unhappy

    by Pandora at 19:03 on 26 May 2010 Report abuse

    I'm so glad I've seen all the reviews on-line (on this web-site and others). Luckily I'm still within the 14 day cancellation period but trying to cancel is incredibly difficult - no-one answers the telephones unless you're a new customer. I've regularly been on hold for a minimum of 15 minutes (not ideal when you've only your mobile phone!). When I've pretended to be a new customer, just so I can actually talk to someone for once, everyone who answered the phone put me on hold for some reason (to get a phone number / email address which might work), and I was then cut off after a further 7 minutes on hold. This sort of service is appalling. Good luck to anyone who joins Talk Talk!

  • unhappy

    by Christine at 13:24 on 20 May 2010 Report abuse

    Have been with TalkTalk since last September and have not had internet access since started with them. I just buried my head in the sand about this for a while because I wasnt sure what to do -called helplines but after trying everything was told to call back in 24 hours everytime. However called them in January and they agreed to send an engineer out for free. Engineer came end of March, not sure what he did because I wasn't in at the time but still no internet access after he went. I have, this month, received a bill for £150 - they said that this was my usual bill for £20 plus £130 for engineer! I have asked for transcript of the call where they had told me the engineer was free but they have asked me to send cheque for £10 and wait 40 days for it. I feel like crying about it and am stuck with them until next April with no internet unless I pay another £70 to get out of contract. I now know i should of cancelled in 30-day trial but was just moving into house and thought it may just be teething problems. What a mug! Seriously, someone somewhere is getting very rich becasue of this and it isn't fair.

  • unhappy

    by Noel O'Donnell at 23:36 on 17 May 2010 Report abuse

    The worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with.

    Had a mobile phone as part of the package and for nearly 3 years they never actually added the top ups that I had paid for. They still owe me £310
    Broadband may be free but it is poor. i get 1/2 mb, far too slow for Iplayer etc.
    Lots of unhappy Talk Talk customers out there, do not touch

  • unhappy

    by Bhagavan Boyinapalli at 22:24 on 15 May 2010 Report abuse

    I've joined talk talk (previously Sky Customer) for Telephone and Broadband, and when they activated my Broadband the telephone stopped working for 4-5 days and the speed is horrible for Broadband and then later when they fixed the telephone line broadband I had speeds around 3-4 mbps. I was told that I would get 24 mbps for Talktalk pro customer, but the max i have always seen is 5-6 mbps, occasinally, but most of the time the speed was less than 4mbps. and hence beware of joining talk talk if you think of joining. I have reported the problem and even after 2 months they were not able to sort out the speed issue and now I am in the verge of cancelling my contract with them.

  • unhappy

    by Bhagavan Boyinapalli at 21:52 on 15 May 2010 Report abuse

    I've joined talk talk (previously Sky Customer) for Telephone and Broadband, and when they activated my Broadband the telephone stopped working for 4-5 days and the speed is horrible for Broadband and then later when they fixed the telephone line broadband I had speeds around 3-4 mbps. I was told that I would get 24 mbps for Talktalk pro customer, but the max i have always seen is 5-6 mbps, occasinally, but most of the time the speed was less than 4mbps. and hence beware of joining talk talk if you think of joining. I have reported the problem and even after 2 months they were not able to sort out the speed issue and now I am in the verge of cancelling my contract with them.

  • unhappy

    by helen rhodick. at 10:23 on 14 May 2010 Report abuse

    i have been having a problem with my landline.an engineer was to com to my home on the 17 feb.apparently he was at my house and tried 2 phone my land line and mobile.he did neither.i do have a doorbell which he never rang.he left a card but it was not my name on the card.it was somone elses.i still hav the card to prove it.i am being charged £99.88p for an engineer visit.my point is that if ther is the wrong name on card he must have phoned her number not mine.i have made numerous phone calls to talktalk.wasting my time as they are not listening to anything i am saying.

  • unhappy

    by angela mollard at 11:03 on 6 May 2010 Report abuse

    talk talk charge services on your bill that you havnt asked for.Also my mum and sister are with them and had problems with there charges on there bills also you cant understand them and my sister got charged with the bank through them

  • unhappy

    by Dave Swallow at 10:48 on 28 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Talk Talk is cheap but beware, the service you get when there is a problem is terrible, I was without a phone for 19 days and did not get any reaction until I went into a Carphone Warehouse store after which I was contacted every day. It seems though for an customer it is impossible to get any explanation

  • neutral

    by Bob Bobetson at 12:28 on 27 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I've been with Talktalk for several years and I find the services amazing. Any query I have is answered swiftly and with the minimum of fuss.

    I cannot fault the service I receive.

  • unhappy

    by wayne taylor at 19:00 on 25 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Worse service providers by far. Every stage has been a disaster. Ordered the router in Jan and received it mid April. Stared my DD twice and still they disconnected my main residential phone line because they said I hadn't paid my bill!
    Now that router is installed the speed for downloading has slowed to a snails pace. All I get is promises from 3 or 4 different departments but nothing changes. I am leaving them soonest.

  • unhappy

    by wayne taylor at 18:59 on 25 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Worse service providers by far. Every stage has been a disaster. Ordered the router in Jan and received it mid April. Stared my DD twice and still they disconnected my main residential phone line because they said I hadn't paid my bill!
    Now that router is installed the speed for downloading has slowed to a snails pace. All I get is promises from 3 or 4 different departments but nothing changes. I am leaving them soonest.

  • neutral

    by thanuja at 16:43 on 23 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    i like this broadband

  • unhappy

    by Gaz at 20:58 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Having recently joined Talk Talk I can honestly say that I'm not overly impressed by their service - within a week the router they sent me stopped working and they said it was faulty (the Indian man was notably rude) so I had the messing about of waiting for another one to be sent to me, which touch wood is still fine after a month.

    The speeds in the morning and early afternoon are fine....not fantastic...just fine...even though I can get 8mb....it's from about 4pm when things get really slow when even BBC news and Google are timing out and You Tube videos take an absolute eternity to load, I can honestly say that when I had dial-up about 6 years ago it was sometimes more reliable in the evenings than this - Google or BBC news never timed out! ridiculous really considering I'm supposed to have broadband.
    So overall shocking customer service and a below standard connection.

  • unhappy

    by Tracey at 17:23 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Appalling customer service. The broadband is not free if it doesn't work - I am now so sick of this that I am going back to BT.

  • unhappy

    by Val Bourne at 15:53 on 20 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Only been with Talk Talk for 6 days and loads of problems, now being told that I need a better router and will have to pay extra for it!! Refused and been given £60 credit to buy my own!! I have told them that this is there last chance and if this doesn't work will be cancelling contract. I am researching other providers as I write!!

  • happy

    by Keith Towers at 9:37 on 17 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I am using a router which has wireless and ethernet connections. I choose to use the ethernet connection. Anyhow, I have been away from my computer for a week and just fired up. All seems well since TT adjusted my phone (so they said).

  • unhappy

    by Jim at 17:48 on 15 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Talk Talk Broadband - Appalling service, utterly dreadful.
    I moved house 2 months ago, it took 1 month & to connect the phone, & 2 months later & I still have no broadband. Every few days I call up to ask some clueless bloke reading off a prompt card why I’m not connected yet on the date they promised, & they give me a new date 2 weeks later.
    Lost count of the no. of days wasted, staying in waiting for the package to arrive, only to find they have moved back the install date without telling me.
    Furthermore, I am told I have no grounds for disputing the bill as the broadband is classified as ‘free’. Give me paid for broadband, if it works!
    One last irony - the ‘cooling off’ period where you have 30 days to back out of the 24 month contract if you are not happy with the service - has already expired before the broadband is even available. So I am locked in to this **** for 2 years.

  • neutral

    by Keith Towers at 8:49 on 5 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Well. Talk Talk did listen and they adjusted my phone line to receive the speed I was paying for. It all seems well at the moment, so I will just keep my fingers crossed and hope for the best. If anyone has similar problems it's best to shout loud or you might not get heard with all the other din going on around you.

    With all the other bad broadband reviews going about, I'm not sure any company is fully up to the challenge of providing a five star service.

  • unhappy

    by derrick at 19:13 on 4 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    talk talk, poor customer service, to expensive for what you dont get, being charged for product you dont have, hours ''talking'' to someone trying to sort out concerns made by them.
    dont bother

  • neutral

    by Terry Davey at 21:40 on 3 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    In answer to Keith, can you tell me, are you using a router or modem??

  • unhappy

    by Keith Towers at 9:37 on 3 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I am beginning to hate Talk Talk. I have just connected up my new computer and have started to experience very erratic Internet connection speeds even though tests prove to be that speeds are normal. What's going on? Frustrated with trying to decipher broken English from telephone services people from Bombay, I am on the edge of negating my contract with them and letting them try to sue me. Maybe that's the only way to get a proper response from this company. If TT want to run a business that is concerned about its customer base, they should listen up.

  • happy

    by Terry Davey at 14:40 on 27 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    What a great service Talktalk provide. I have two lines on Talktalk, signed up the day they announced the service and have never had any problems. The speed is great on both lines at about 7,5mbs against the 8 advertised. Lines never drop. Also get free calls 24/7 including to the USA. If you are not on Talktalk you must be mad. Best value ever

  • neutral

    by mike at 21:12 on 21 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    thank for reviews, i will never use talk talk until dementia sets in.

  • unhappy

    by Harry at 19:28 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Please - If anyone is on here looking for advice because they are even contemplating a service from TALK TALK then stop contemplating it now. They are certainly the cheapest, but I have had my credit rating damaged, had days without broadband or phone, been shouted at and repeatedly argued with by their incompetant and rude staff and even got to pay for the pleasure. The reason behind all this? They failed to set up my direct debit, but still requested the payment, then failed to notify me that it hadn't been taken - cutting me off with no warning and then telling me they couldn't reconnect it for days. On top of this,the broadband speed is shocking anyway....Stay well away......

  • unhappy

    by Kerry Meaden at 13:49 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Very disappointed. Offered a good deal from TalkTalk, for phone and broadband package. They didn't contact me for my M.A.C..When I contacted them was told the deal was for the full package, and much higher quote given.

  • unhappy

    by Edward Jones at 17:47 on 9 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I never had any problems with Tiscali now it's absolutely diabolical since it was taken over by talktalk,ive been doing speed checks all day and they range between EIGHT (yes 8) kbps and 270kbps and i'm paying for up to 8MB.Its unbelievable that they can get away with this abysmal service

  • happy

    by Andrew at 10:17 on 3 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I've been with Talk Talk for years and have never had a problem with them - ever!! The broadband speeds are consistently high (can drop a little in the evenings). They are must better than any other ISP I've used.

  • unhappy

    by Bob at 18:17 on 28 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Dear All,
    I was contacted by Talk Talk by phone. I was told that they could give me a better service than my present ISP and at a much cheaper rate. When I signed up I found out that they had miss sold the package. I also found out from a friend that she had the same experience. When I contacted them they babbled facts and figures and would not let you get a word in. They were very unhelpful and I would advice anybody thinking of signing up to them to give them a wide berth. In my case to gave me nothing but hassle to return to my previous ISP.

  • unhappy

    by Eloi at 3:00 on 27 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Terrible ISP, I'm an old Tiscali customer and since Tiscali got bought out by TalkTalk my service has gone for the worse, price has increased by £3, got a monthly download limit and because I originally signed up with Tiscali I'm unable to get services that original TalkTalk members can, such as ADSL 2+, my line is limited to 8mb whereas they can get up to 24mb speeds, can't use the Broadband Boosts, the TalkTalk Members forum etc. All this even though they say they've aligned Tiscali into the TalkTalk Group, this isn't a group, the only thing they've aligned is the price increase, there are no benefits for us old Tiscali members.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: