« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews | Page 15

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • happy

    by Brenda's Lad at 21:27 on 26 May 2007 Report abuse

    I ignored all the bad press and took the Talk Talk plunge.
    Works perfectly, with a wireless modem giving access via both my 6yr old Windows98SE machine and my WindowsXP notebook.
    Had to phone customer support just once, via the freephone number listed on their wireless modem box, and had excellent helpful advice from a voice in India who knew exactly what was needed and sorted the problem.
    Well done, Carphone Warehouse.

  • happy

    by Ste H at 20:25 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    Phoned up on the 19 of Feb and I'm still not getting the product I requested today 22 May. Phone T T and get passed from dept to dept, absolutely useless. Ask them a technical question and they just say they don't support that. I'm going to cancel!
    DON'T DO IT, YOU'LL REGRET IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • happy

    by Steve h at 20:06 on 21 May 2007 Report abuse

    Talk talk is the worst company I have ever dealt with.

    Totally useless, broadband is painfully slow, have connection problems and customer service is non - existant.

    Yes they are cheap, but I wish I had paid the extra money and stayed with BT.

  • happy

    by Salim Putrus at 11:45 on 16 May 2007 Report abuse

    Dear everybody

    BE AWARE FROM TalkTalk

    I placed an order Talk3 International package on Jan 15th 2007. TalkTalk failed four times to connect my broadband. This is the fifth month since I signed up that order and till now my broadband service is not activated. I paid two bills and received a third with no broadband service. Each time they gave me a different excuse for their failure. TalkTalk's Customer Service is rubbish and their executive officer can do nothing. They are big liars, they know how to send their bills but do nothing to their customers' complaints.

    I have very bad experience with TalkTalk with a lot of inconvenience and frustration. I advise you to be away from their poor service. Their offer is very attractive but their service is very poor.

    Again, BE AWARE FROM TalkTalk.

  • happy

    by Salim Putrus at 11:42 on 16 May 2007 Report abuse

    Dear everybody

    BE AWARE FROM TalkTalk

    I placed an order with TalkTalk,"Talk3 International package", on Jan 15th 2007. TalkTalk failed four times to connect my broadband. This is the fifth month since I signed up that order and till now my broadband service is not activated. I paid two bills and received a third with no broadband service. Each time they gave me a different excuse for their failure. TalkTalk's Customer Service is rubbish and their executive officer can do nothing. They are big liars, they know how to send their bills but do nothing to their customers' complaints.

    I have very bad experience with TalkTalk with a lot of inconvenience and frustration. I advise you to be away from their poor service. Their offer is very attractive but their service is very poor.

    Again, BE AWARE FROM TalkTalk.

  • happy

    by fred at 21:04 on 15 May 2007 Report abuse

    PANTS - worst move I've made. Broadband hardly ever works, when it does it so slow or drops the line all the time only to say it don't have a dial tone to connect.
    Phone line went down for three day with out any reason
    Call display and ringback never works and customer service .........
    well don't bother.
    Sorry BT I take it all back

  • happy

    by mo55 at 11:07 on 14 May 2007 Report abuse

    I am self employed and need reliable access to the net TALKTALK is the worst decision I have made. Not one single time when I am on that the system does not breakdown. Their system has somehow managed to take away my ring tone from my landline and their customer service is only of any use if you can contact someone in this country who is not reading from a idiot board. I will be changing as soon as I can. style over substance. Mr Dunstone please take note

  • happy

    by John at 8:35 on 5 May 2007 Report abuse

    brilliant, brilliant, brilliant

  • happy

    by Susan Hamilton-Dunn at 23:53 on 25 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Talktalk is good as a no-frills basic service. Download speeds are fast. The installation CD is simple to use. Customer Services are very friendly, and try to be helpful. News server does not seem to exist, but what do you expect from a free service, that does give you an excellent telephone service at a much cheaper rate than BT? Hang on in there, things are improving all the time. There are bound to be teething troubles because the demand was so overwhelming. I was paying £14.99 a month for a dial-up connection before I joined Talktalk for free broadband, now that really did give me something to complain about.

  • happy

    by mattpearce79 at 10:29 on 25 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Shocking! avoid like the plague..switched from BT 2 weeks ago where i was getting 1-1.5mb download speeds constantly, but they were a bit pricy. Since swapping i have had download speeds of 74kb - 200kb on average..customer service is the worst i have ever experienced..i have spent every spare moment of the last 2 weeks telephoning TalkTalk, their indian call centres are the worst i have ever called. I finally cracked when last night i rang to speak to their 2nd line for about the 10th time and he told me to go onto the TalkTalk speedtester site...and guess what...THE PAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE!!! his silence was deafening. Switching back to BT landline May 9th and will shop around for a decent suiplier.

    Looking forward to spending some quality time with the wife and kids instead of TalkTalk!!!

  • happy

    by ash at 13:43 on 20 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Terrible - signed up on 1 Feb 07, was due to go live 11 March, still waiting. Finally gave up and cancelled today.

  • happy

    by barry at 19:35 on 19 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    An almost seamless transition from BT to Talk Talk.I have had 1 or 2
    small problems that have been sorted.My main gripe is the hours trying to get through to customer services and for those of you a little bit older that infuriating thunderclap Newman " Something in the air" song being continually played as you wait for the phone to be answered. However if you e mail customer services or the help line they respond quite quickly. Generaly speaking the internet and e mail side is good if sometimes slow. The telephone is very good and I have saved quite a bit.
    All in all I think the package is good

  • happy

    by RAY at 15:04 on 12 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    JOINED TALKTALK WHEN THEY FIRST STARTED THE "FREE BROADBAND" OFFER. PROBLEMS RIGHT FROM THE START SOME OF WHICH I MANAGED TO OVERCOME MYSELF AT EXTRA COST.
    THE CURRENT PROBLEM WHICH HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR 4 MONTHS NOW, SINCE MY LINE WAS UNBUNDLED, IS NO CALLER DISPLAY AND THE PHONE NOT RINGING PROPERLY. THIS THEY SAY IS DUE TO A SOFTWARE PROBLEM, BUT WITH NO DATE FOR WHEN IT WILL BE RECTIFIED.
    WHEN THE SERVICE WORKS AS IT'S SUPPOSED TO IT'S GOOD, BUT WHEN YOU HAVE A PROBLEM AND NEED ASSISTANCE, OH BOY FORGET IT, THERE AINT NONE!.

  • happy

    by josh at 10:34 on 9 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    waited 5 days for my connection to take place,after four calls to customer services they sorted it out.
    GREAT worth the wait.
    Anyone who takes up this offer for broadband should not use the USB connection as it has many problems
    I opted for the ETHERNET CABLE this is a smoother connection.

    I had 13 months of problems with BT paying for 2meg but only geting 576kbps, the only reply i got was upgrade for an extra charge.
    SORRY BT but you should look after your customers and not keep answering questions with price increases.
    GOOD UN TALKTALK.

  • happy

    by Charlie J at 19:58 on 4 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Started with TT Aug06 never got free broadband. Pissed off with thier non existing customer service costing me a lot of money I went back to BT jan07. TT still sending me bills for service I not had from them since Jan.They even threatened me with debt collectors and say my credit rating at risk. WHY because of thier incompetence and in-ability to contact them. I will see them in court.

  • happy

    by Penguin at 8:43 on 4 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    I ordered Talk Talk broadband in January, having been a telephone customer for about a year. My Go live date came and went with no broadband connection, and no news. When I eventually managed to speak to a Customer Services rep (beginning of March), they had no idea what was going on. I e-mailed with an ultimatum and was ignored, so phoned to cancel. At this point I was told that it was BT engineers that were dragging their heels over unbundling the exchange. As far as I was aware, this had already been done! I was offered a month free plus immediate connection on a different broadband service that Talk TAlk would fund until they could get me connected on the 8Mb service. However, I would need a MAC code from my current supplier (I had given them one in January). My current Broadband supplier then informed me that they would be offering a competitive product - 8Mb broadband, free anytime phone calls, and free line rental for £17.99 per month - Tiscali! AVOID TALK TALK!!!

  • happy

    by loudon at 18:02 on 21 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have my broadband service from talktalk.
    Recently, I have not been receiving some of my emails.
    For example, I was sent an important email last Friday at 2.43pm and I have still not received this email.
    If the same happens to previous 'lost' emails, I will never receive it.
    I have emailed talktalk to inform them of previous 'lost' emails but I just receive a standard reply apologising for server problems. They do not appear to attach any importance to the fact I have not received important emails.
    Does talktalk not have a responsibility to deliver my emails?
    Should I receive any compensation?
    I would appreciate any advice on sorting this problem with talktalk.
    Regards
    Ivan

  • happy

    by Piewacket at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    So far TalkTalk has been LiesLies. I signed up in November 06 and was told I would go live in January 07. Now mid March and still no broadband connection. Customer Services are polite but useless - based in India, they simply say what they think you want to hear i.e. your broadband package will arrive in the next five days. Lies which have been repeated over and over...and there's no way to speak to anyone with a more sensible response.

    It's a very nice advert and TalkTalk must have spent millions on it - but this money should be put to better use, like customer satisfaction.

    Avoid like the plague!

  • happy

    by Jeff (I hate TalkTalk) at 8:31 on 23 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Thinking of moving to TalkTalk.... DON'T DO IT If you, you will regret it. Broadband is completely unreliable. I have now gone back to paying a monthly subscription to NTL, just to get a broadband service thats there for more than a couple of hours a day.
    Caller display onmy phone line has not worked for weeks and TalkTalk say that owing to a software fault in their nre exchanges, it won't be working until at least May 07 (and I'm not holding my breath for that either).
    Whe I have complained about the Broadband the cheeky swines tell me that its free, so I can't complain.

    I HAVE BEEN CHEATED.... MAKE SURE YOUR'E NOT ! REMEMBER... TALKTALK.... DON'T GO NEAR IT.

  • happy

    by Liz, Kent at 8:30 on 23 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Getting talk talk was the worst thing I ever did too There are at least 2 downtimes a day.

    My email can take anything from 5 minutes to 8 hours to get delivered over the past 8 weeks. Web pages are generally taking 2 -3 minutes to load up.

    I am just tearing my hair out. Totally a false economy, don't do it !!

  • happy

    by JOHNNY D IN STOKE at 8:29 on 23 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Question?? are reviewers paid by 'BT' ? SINCE SIGNING up with talktalk, yes had 2 days a bit ropey!! mostly due to me running with no filter?? but on the most part still a bit slower than the 8meg promise but all fine, for me and all my known converters. not good for BT I THINK???

  • happy

    by andyst at 8:22 on 23 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Got phone line on ,broadband took 9 months to get up and running the phone service is excellent but dont bother with the broadband the pop3 server is constantly down and webmail suffers from the same problem every time you phone broadband tech support you might as well sto the teletubbies you will get more sense out of them they know nothing all they keep saying is POP 3 servers has problems and will be working in 24hrs they have been telling me that for the last 6 months the broadband is fine but do not reliy on talktalk email I have been having to use hotmail for the last 6 months because the POP 3 server is so unreliable I think their server engineers want sacking ( old saying pay peanuts and get monkeys ) I think they monkeys would be better qulified than their staff on the broadband side.
    I have always found staff on the telephony side of the network to be very polite and willing to sort problems out the broadband side dont give a monkeys about the customer.

  • happy

    by Alan at 16:09 on 16 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Joined a month ago. They sent my modem out but I never got it !! They said that it was signed for on the 06/02/07 but they can not tell me which courier they used or who signed for it. I have to pay another £29.99 for a new one or pay cancellation fees to get out !!! Not impressed

  • happy

    by Patience at 21:41 on 13 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Talk Talk free broad band conection didn't work for us for over a month. After making a number of phone calls to their customer service centre and waiting for many hours in total over the phone, finally sorted out our internet connection 45 days ago. It was working fine until yesterday. It is not connecting to the internet at all. When we did get connected to the 2nd line of support, they say that they have changed the profile and it would take up to 24 hours to change to the new settings. Thay have actually reduced our speed to 500 Kbps but it is still not working.
    We used to be with One Tel before but it never had any problems. It was slightly expensive but worth the money that we were paying!

  • happy

    by 1atmrn at 21:40 on 13 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    I subscribed to talkralk in May 2006 and was connected in June 2006 so that was good. My speed at the time was 2meg with an upgrade date of 'before the end of December 2006'. The upgrade happened on 7th Feb 2007, which wasn't too bad. My connection is now 6meg. I have used a few online speed tests and they report my speed at about 1meg, Not wanting to believe it was that bad I have done a few of my own tests and reached about 4meg transfer speed. Just to note; Adobe Photoshop CS2 (329MB) downloaded in about 19 mins and a simultaneous download from Adobe of Dreamweaver (59.7MB) downloaded in 5mins. I then downloaded Microsoft Expression Web Trial software whilst CS2 was still downloading. The Microsoft speed was about 1meg and when CS2 had finished Microsoft's speed increased to about 2meg. All in all I am very happy with talktalk and find it good value. I have had no probs with the phone although I did need to buy 3 extra microfilters (eBay £1 each) to connect the to other extensions.

  • happy

    by rose at 11:23 on 10 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Bad, bad, bad. If you want to pay out money, don't have a need for a house phone, but have a mobile to spend hours speaking to customer services on premium rate numbers, and have no need for broadband, then Talk Talk is the one for you!!! Talk Talk have expanded too quickly and whilst they continue to advertise, they don't even have the capacity to service existing customers - this I got from one of their own engineers! They're absolutely appalling, are treating their existing customers with contempt, and my advice would be "don't touch them with a bargepole"!

  • happy

    by Geoff at 20:06 on 6 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    I have had some hiccups with TalkTalk Broadband since getting it in July 2006, but it seems fine at present.

    I tried to use Wireless with a Buffalo Router passed on to me by my son. It worked for a while, crashed a couple of times, and then I even lost the broadband connection. I ditched the wireless, and went back to the TalkTalk modem, though still needed a phone call to India to get it all reconfigured and working again. The guy in India was quite good, and helped me delete all the stuff that was causing conflicts, but sadly I have no wireless.

    I am thinking of taking the plunge and buying the TalkTalk router, if only to get the instructions on how to set it up, since TalkTalk would not give help for other makes of Router. Reading the emails on this site suggests lots of people have bother setting up and keeping wireless networks going.

  • happy

    by Simon at 11:35 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Awful presently - had probs initially with changing from other provider etc. Then service was very unreliavble for a while. I bought my own modem as theirs is faulty and things for a while seemed good. They then decided to "upgrade" the local exchange yesterday and since then the servie is on for 3 mins, off for 30 and then on/off like this. It keeps disconnecting in the middle of downloads etc. Customer service - what customer service? Someone in India who hasn't a clue about how to sort out the problem isn't service! CURRENTLY, I'D SAY AVOID UNTIL THEY SORT THEMSELVES OUT. IT'S NOT WORTH THE HASSLE

  • happy

    by Dena at 11:35 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    BEWARE!
    Been with talk talk for 3 months now. Only had an internet connection for about 15 minutes all together. Customer Service was terrible, was past from pillar to post at least 10 times. Each call was getting longer and longer. Was disconnected on several occassions. One call actually lasted 62 minutes. Also if the internet was plugged in it would interfere with the phone line, causing a servere crackling on the line. Give this service amiss. i am now looking for a new provider.

  • happy

    by b8gtrain at 11:34 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    If you only ever take one piece of advice in your life, take this, DO NOT sign up to TalkTalk, i signed up in August 2005, when my broadband was ment to go live in November (2 months late) they managed to cut off my phone & broadband for 9 days, i then had no caller display for 2 months & now ive had no broadband for 8 days, dont bother calling customer support as they dont care, india is a long way away!!!!!!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: