« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews | Page 16

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • happy

    by Geoff at 20:06 on 6 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    I have had some hiccups with TalkTalk Broadband since getting it in July 2006, but it seems fine at present.

    I tried to use Wireless with a Buffalo Router passed on to me by my son. It worked for a while, crashed a couple of times, and then I even lost the broadband connection. I ditched the wireless, and went back to the TalkTalk modem, though still needed a phone call to India to get it all reconfigured and working again. The guy in India was quite good, and helped me delete all the stuff that was causing conflicts, but sadly I have no wireless.

    I am thinking of taking the plunge and buying the TalkTalk router, if only to get the instructions on how to set it up, since TalkTalk would not give help for other makes of Router. Reading the emails on this site suggests lots of people have bother setting up and keeping wireless networks going.

  • happy

    by Simon at 11:35 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    Awful presently - had probs initially with changing from other provider etc. Then service was very unreliavble for a while. I bought my own modem as theirs is faulty and things for a while seemed good. They then decided to "upgrade" the local exchange yesterday and since then the servie is on for 3 mins, off for 30 and then on/off like this. It keeps disconnecting in the middle of downloads etc. Customer service - what customer service? Someone in India who hasn't a clue about how to sort out the problem isn't service! CURRENTLY, I'D SAY AVOID UNTIL THEY SORT THEMSELVES OUT. IT'S NOT WORTH THE HASSLE

  • happy

    by Dena at 11:35 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    BEWARE!
    Been with talk talk for 3 months now. Only had an internet connection for about 15 minutes all together. Customer Service was terrible, was past from pillar to post at least 10 times. Each call was getting longer and longer. Was disconnected on several occassions. One call actually lasted 62 minutes. Also if the internet was plugged in it would interfere with the phone line, causing a servere crackling on the line. Give this service amiss. i am now looking for a new provider.

  • happy

    by b8gtrain at 11:34 on 5 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    If you only ever take one piece of advice in your life, take this, DO NOT sign up to TalkTalk, i signed up in August 2005, when my broadband was ment to go live in November (2 months late) they managed to cut off my phone & broadband for 9 days, i then had no caller display for 2 months & now ive had no broadband for 8 days, dont bother calling customer support as they dont care, india is a long way away!!!!!!

  • happy

    by anthony at 13:40 on 2 Feb 2007 Report abuse

    i was originally a talktalk phone only customer but upgraded to free broad band package in august 2006 at first it was tickety boo for at least 5 months then it went wrong i kept getting error 680 no dialing tone phoning customer services was pointless because it is in india they don t understand you and you can understand them you get told to do numerous things to fix it none of them work spend pounds calling them. they actually cut us off even though the bill was being paid and they could not tell us why we had been cut off anyway have cancelled it now gone to ntl dont be fooled that you are stuck to your contract you can cancel it talktalk would rather lose business than suffer bad press TALK TALK IS MORE LIKE MUMBLE MUMBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • happy

    by karl1975 at 16:40 on 30 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    where do i start?
    started off having to phone customer support for my user name and password, ok not too bad , then 1 month down the line they upgrade me to 2 meg which would have been great had i not been miles from my exchange so couldnt connect, now every evening i disconnect every 2 mins or so, customer service is shocking, call centre is in india, this isnt the problem its the fact you are trying to explain a problem to someone i can barely understand or understand me, then they treat you like you have no idea what you are doing!! and get quite short with you !so basically the service is apalling and the customer support is next to abysmal, 1 good point is thei 2nd line support is excellent as you talk to someone in england who knows what theyre talking about , as the 1st line only has a script i.e restart pc restart modem other phone eqpt etc

  • happy

    by tid at 12:31 on 23 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I was happy with the service i got untill my line was upgraded to 8 meg on the 11 dec and then it went downhill fast. i found out the awfull truth about why they are so cheap. when you have a problem and call tech advice you are put through to indian and african call centres(even when you specifically ask not to be and are promised you wont be) and have to deal with people that neither care if your phone and broadband is working or know how to put it right if they did. the advice i got ranged from yhe ridiculous like "delete temporary internet files and cookies and restart your computer" to blatent lies like" a engineer will phone you back on your mobile within 48 hours"my broadband is still dissfunctional it never gets up to 3 let alone 8 meg and even worse it keeps on disconnecting which is great for my kids playing online game with thier xbox. i have gave up phoning the pathetic help numbers and have pursued my case via email and still get no joy. The last time i reported the fault i noticed that talktalk are now some thing to do with AOL? i filled out the questionair and it said some one will be in touch within 48 hours and would you believe it they havent and have done nothing again. I give up and am checking out other isp s. orange looks good. Talktalk talk the talk but dont walk the walk they are rubbish a shambles.

  • happy

    by PARTIALLY PLEASED at 11:27 on 23 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I switched to Talktalk from Tiscali to save money and I have. After an initial hiccup with the broadband connection I now find it reliable for the most part but fairly slow, no 8meg here. However, combined costs including the free overseas calls are good, saving on avg £15 mth, not to be sneezed at. If I was a serious, or business user I would stay away but for everyday, casual use....Great!

  • happy

    by Decoy 1 at 15:04 on 11 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I have been with Talk Talk Broadband for 6 weeks and wish i never changed from pay as you go with Wanadoo. I have had nothing but trouble with it and when contacting the customer services, well i might as well talk to my chicken in the garden, appalling service, passed from pillar to post and end up with nothing. I found out myself that my broadband will work perfectly when my phone is off the hook but when i hang up my phone it stops. I am waiting for the technical department to get back to me cause they have never heard of such a problem, I won't be holding my breath

  • happy

    by marianna at 15:04 on 11 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Well I dont know what the fuss is all about. I switched to talktalk from wanadoo and it is great! I get free UK and international calls plus free broadband. No problems. Highly recommended.

    I think most people who are satisfied don't post here, so it looks like the service is bad overall. Its not.

  • happy

    by boeing at 18:05 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    BEWARE!! AVOID!!

    Talk Talk looks like a great deal, but it suffers from appalling customer service. My phone line and broadband connection have completely died, and I have been three weeks without any service whatsoever. There are long queues to talk to a customer service representative and when I do get throught, they are still unable to say when they will fix the line! Meanwhile I am paying for a service that is not being delivered.

  • happy

    by sue at 18:04 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    my caller display hasn't worked for 2 months. internet connection only lasts 3 mins. rubbish customer service. avoid this like the plague. i'm currently trying to get out of it. i am also paying for a service thats not been delivered.

  • happy

    by christina at 18:01 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I have made the biggest mistake that has costed me a lot of money and time. Broadband last two minutes, although phone line works probably because it's bt. the broadband is actually not free i get charged for calling suport which is some where in india. their wireless router they sold to me won't work properly I have to run up and down the stairs to refresh it every 5minutes. the wireless support numbers don't get answered machine gives a premium rate number to ring thats mean huge phone bill.
    I never received my welcome letter. it was three weeks before i knew that i was connect but i rang all the time enquiring about it but given wrong info 'Wait for the letter' that never came.
    I got over charged on the wireless speed 54mbs and yet the same goes for half the price on the open market!SOME OFFERS ARE TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE THIS IS ONE OF THEM

  • happy

    by william at 18:01 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    2 defective modems, a 3rd modem did work. Numerous telephone calls to customer service and very long waits ebfore gettign through. On 2 occasions, I waited over 30 minutes at my expense ebfore being cut off! Custoemr service is awful. Broadband is unrwelaible. It works some days and not others. Fast?!.....it is slower than analogue! great package at a great price but it simply does not deliver. Very frustrating and very disappointing. I am looking elsewhere.

  • happy

    by epworth at 18:00 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    bit off a pain at first but now no probs just got a bill today £29.38 for everything.

  • happy

    by Cooldoc at 17:59 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Terrible. Broadband very very slow, then no broadband for 2 months. Not able to get through to customer services or if I do, there give widely conflicting information. Now they are "refusing" to disconnect me, citing different reasons. I'm not able to obtain broadband from any other provider until they disconnect me!I've complained to them and to Oftel. Still awaiting acknowledgement of my complaints, leave alone a resolution!

  • happy

    by Cooldoc at 17:59 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Terrible. Broadband very very slow, then no broadband for 2 months. Not able to get through to customer services or if I do, there give widely conflicting information. Now they are "refusing" to disconnect me, citing different reasons. I'm not able to obtain broadband from any other provider until they disconnect me!I've complained to them and to Oftel. Still awaiting acknowledgement of my complaints, leave alone a resolution!

  • happy

    by brianP at 17:58 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    Waited over three months for connection. customer Service is appalling - don't know the answers to the most basic problems, and it costs to access it. In the last week the email server has been down continually and when asked, I am told...thwe next 24 hours or ...by 10am etc. All fantasy. Carphone Warehouse should direct its effort and spend to ensuring the serbvice it offers is reliable and available rather than continue to spend on selling its services to an evergrowing number of customers that it hasn't invested the capacity to service.

  • happy

    by David Simpson at 17:58 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I signed up in June and yes talktalk was a mess although customer service is crap and they can't sort anything out between them It has cut my Phone line costs and its great for low usage I pay 19.99 And I get 8.2 MBPS on LLU my phone line went off for 2 days came back on and I was up and running. There are some great lad on Second Line in the North West who do a great Job.

  • happy

    by Bob at 17:56 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    This is probabaly the worst broadband package ever.For the main reason that everything about it is very poor.The broadband itself will only work when it feels inclined (less than 50% of the time). Then the customer service is abysmal and you have to actually pay to argue to someone who does not help your problems at all.Also they manage to tie you in for 18 months with a get out fee of around £70.Even if this was the last broadband package on the planet i would stick with dial up. They also claim it can go up to 20mg ,the highest i have had is a pitiful 2.

  • happy

    by Graham at 17:55 on 8 Jan 2007 Report abuse

    I joined TalkTalk broadband with high hopes....Unfortunately (like most people), I have to say that I have been let down. The total lack of customer service is my biggest gripe - Hour's and hour's on the (premium rate) number, only to speak to someone who knows less than me about computers and broadband. If you don't need reliable broadband and you never ever need to phone the custome service lines then take the risk - Otherwise AVOID AT ALL COSTS.....you have been warned!!!!!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: