« back to TalkTalk broadband

TalkTalk broadband Reviews | Page 6

Sign up now. Call: 0800 049 7866
  • neutral

    by JOHN at 16:43 on 2 Aug 2012 Report abuse

    Thankyou for your feedback on TALKTALK,was interested in signing up to them until I spoke to HIGH PRESSURE Salesman only wanted information he was trying to set a date for a visit!! Far to pushy ruins things and now I have read your concerns and problems I will steer well clear of TALKTALK!!!

  • unhappy

    by Peter at 12:44 on 21 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    Originally with Pipex who were ok and sorted matters efficiently. Since with Talk Talk unable to get correct email address, invoice on paper or on line, got cut off with no notice, 36 hours to reinstate. They're now too large to cope. We're off to BT or Virgin

  • unhappy

    by David at 18:13 on 19 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    If you want cheap prices then talktalk is the one, if you want connectivity then go elsewhere. Constant disconnections. You get what you pay for!!!

  • unhappy

    by kamran at 11:52 on 25 May 2012 Report abuse

    very bad service and speed. Kept promising that I will get fiberoptit in couple of months for a more than a year and never happened. dont fall for their cheap prices! there is a reason.
    I will never recomend it but to my enemies!!

  • unhappy

    by David at 14:54 on 16 May 2012 Report abuse

    Worst internet service ever!! went on talktalk about 1 year ago their internet kept dropping every 5 mins! i had to keep resetting the router...
    we called them and they said their is nothing they could do so we moved to sky broadband and it hasnt droped once plus faster connection f*ck talktalk!

  • happy

    by Neil O'Flaherty at 18:46 on 11 May 2012 Report abuse

    I've been with TalkTalk for almost two years now as they were the fairest pricing for what they offer (although the line rental costs going up lately is a bit of a pain, £14.50 for line rental now!) In all my time using them I've had no complaints about the service and when I moved home they were happy to help me move my connection into my new home and I was given no extra charges (even though the BT engineer had to climb up a few telephone poles in order to connect a line to the house). As of yet I've never experienced any problems with the service, although they did pester me for a little while to try and get me to opt in for their new mobile service.

  • happy

    by adrian katsikides at 22:38 on 8 May 2012 Report abuse

    in all my life most UNPROFESSIONAL company I've ever EVER dealt with. Will report to OFFCOM

  • neutral

    by Glauca at 12:02 on 16 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Best thing I have done was leaving TalkTalk. They are truly awful! I tell everybody I know to stay well clear. They are in business to make their customers' life a big nightmare.
    Good riddance!

  • unhappy

    by John Browning at 21:15 on 13 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    I signed up with Talktalk on the belief that they could take direct debits at the beginning of the month as I was monthly paid. What a joke that was, it just seems that they take it whenever they like and make me incur charges at the end of the month. When I call them they say it's my fault I ain't got any money in the account to pay. I saw their CEO on BBC news trying to justify the worst company I've ever had dealings with, and that includes BT!!!

  • unhappy

    by jason smith at 23:34 on 12 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    we used talktalk for 2 years.. PERFECT.

    UNTIL... we upgraded to unlimited plan as we used up bandwidth..

    we upgraded.. then .. .. no internet... internet is back.... oh no internet..

    for the last .. its so many months i lost count, our internet switches on off on off on off on a daily basis.

    talktalk do NOT know what they are doing on the phone, blaming that we dont plug the router in right???

    I have qualifications in IT and networking, and told them so, that i have tested the router and everything and the problem is down to talktalk.... then the call was cut off...

    called again.. cut off..

    so complained to watchdog. we are paying £15 for internet without the line rental.. something that we DO NOT GET!

  • unhappy

    by Euwan at 22:03 on 11 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    "by mark jones at 09:45 on 26 Jan 2012

    please please please do not use talk talk if you value your sanity,speed dropped from at least 4.5mbps to 0.05mbps fobbed off with pathetic solutions.My take is that they are sacrificing lower paying customers ie prioritising."

    I second this, our speeds have been gradually reducing since tiscali acquisition. Gone from 3mbps-->0.8---> 0.1mbps where it has settled. It has been a gradual, continuous decrease... VERY suspicious. Contacted to ask for help, they acknowledged our exceptionally slow speeds, and claimed to have fixed the problem the same day. They will not provide any more support until we purchase an approved router. We have tried several routers anyway with no difference.

  • unhappy

    by dave at 19:50 on 2 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    whenever i call talktalk i have to hang up a few times until i hear a voice that i understand, it's very difficult trying to catch what they are saying. ok i'm a brummie so they might not understand me but there you go. The only reason i stay with talktalk is because i can't find anyone who does free internet when you have a landline with them. if anyone knows different please let me know. thank people

  • unhappy

    by Tracy at 11:59 on 14 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    AVOID!! I can't agree more with all of the above! After nearly a year of fighting with Talk Talk I am still hitting my head against a brick wall! I was a Pipex Homecall customer happily going about my business when Talk Talk called me to tell me that they had taken over the company and I would be getting transferred over to them anyway so why not move over now for a better deal. But only if I left my broadband where it was as that would be more expensive. I agreed to begin with then changed my mind within a couple of days and called to cancel the order. They said they couldn't cancel because my phone line had already been transferred but this was well within my cooling off period. After hours and hours on the phone with both them and Pipex nothing was happening. Eventually we agreed to go over for a slightly better price than we were paying previously as a compensation for all the hassle etc. This was before Christmas and now, in March we find that they haven't done a thing and they are saying our line has been disconnected and the exchange is full! But we still have a service and are paying a lot more than agreed every month! They then tried to sign me up for a year's contract paying a lot more than you can sign up for online as a new customer saying that they will have to rent a line for us...But WE HAVE A LINE and are using it right now. I am definitely going elsewhere!!

  • unhappy

    by jason k at 21:54 on 29 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    why why why why did i make the mistake of changing to these jokers,currently in dispute over bill for not providing adequate service i paid for,they should be classed as broadband cowboys

  • unhappy

    by Linda at 15:16 on 28 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    I have had similar problems and at this moment i am sitting in my dining room using next doors wifi connection !!! i cant wait until May when my subscription with this awful company ends.The connection i originally had was hit and miss but it all went totally pear shaped when i bought a new laptop.The phone line was awful from the start in fact at times i couldnt hear anything except interference and even though the call centre staff admitted that there was a fault nothing was done about it.!!!! I even purchased a better router in the desperate hope that it would solve my problems but no such luck. I think the staff all just read from a sheet and are ill equiped to hold any kind of meaningful conversation.Talktalk are not bothered about customer service, once they have you signed up you are on your own.

  • unhappy

    by Dean at 14:18 on 27 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    AVOID TALK TALK!!
    I recently joined up to Talk talk on a basic package and i payed the full line rental for the year up front, the customer service guy was exteamely helpfull and told me i will have a technician visit my home in 4 days time...i waited and waited but surprise surprise no body turned up. i called Talk talk and after being racially abused by one of there indian call centre workers i was told to call another number..then another one after that, it seems to me that talk talk are more interested in stealing your money than giving good service, i feel any british company who sets up there call centre in a foriegn country is one of the main factors in this country falling appart. we need jobs here too!!
    so..getting back to my experience with talk talk..i spoke with a guy called JOHNNY, he was very rude and seemed to just want to keep wishing me a happy valentines day..i find this very rude! I was then told to wait at home for a second day and surprise surprise no one turned up to my home, so i called talk talk again and this time i was told that i would have a 'special technician' would be coming to see me.. what is a special technician? this was another one of talk talks bulls**t exscuses..there really are the top of the league when it comes to exscuses. it has been 4 weeks since talk talk took my money and i still dont have a phone line or even a date as to when it will be available for me to use. this is DISCUSTING behaviour and i urge anyone who is thinking of joining them to think again and use one of the many other providers.
    TALK TALK STOLE MY MONEY!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Mark Collins at 22:59 on 23 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    I to have just had customer services hang up on me after questioning them trying to sign me up for another 2 years. I switched from bt to talk talk 18 months ago but i am still using bt yahoo and still have a bt email address after several attempts to get them to switch me over. STAY WELL CLEAR.

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 15:11 on 18 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    Like so many of the reviews I have read on this forum..............I agree whole heartedly about the 'service' Talk Talk provide.
    No end of problems to which you telephone, initally, customer services. OHHHHHHHH dear!!!!! Sorry? What? Can you repeat that that please? The 'conversations' of trying to relay your problem to the respective customer service personnel who cannot speak clear English & find it very hard to understand a mild Midland/Aussie accent(god help the Scots & Welsh who telephone Talk Talk)
    I resulted to building up courage to telephoning customer services to resolve the ongoing & unresolved 'issues' recently & asked for a UK based landline to for me to so call & speak to a UK based advisor. I was told to call back(not being initially told there was no such line) Telephoned back immediately only to be informed that there was no such connection. I found myself lucky this time with the two phones calls being answered & the respective advisor actually introducing themselves. In the near past, upon telephoning & connection to customer services, the advisor who had answered has slammed the phone down or blared down the line that 'computers are down' before, again, slamming the phone down. I'm sure they do it so you do not have the confidence to telephone to make a troublesome enquiry or complaint in the future, once they know your signed up for the minimum contract period.
    I have been informed also that the customer services in far off India, have no control or sway over such a thing of reimbursement!!! Thats done from 'dear old blighty'!. Aren't they the one & same company????
    Have resulted in varying correspondence with customer service via email....just as bad & limited answers coming back to me & find myself dealing with a different advisor everytime instead of being designated an individual to fullly investigate my issues. I am seeing out the contract & moving with immediate effect(it cannot come quick enough!!!) I have informed them of my plans, but do they care????? No!! They have refused to answer my last forwarded email informing them I am to do so.
    I know many friends & business customers who are desperate to get away from Talk Talk.
    Vote with your 'feet' on your key boards, & dont go/get out of/to Talk Talk.
    Truely, truely awful company. Sign up at your peril & as afore mentioned in other comments, at your sanity too!!!

  • unhappy

    by Richard h at 12:20 on 18 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    I'm leaving. Poor service. No reply to queries. I had no phone line for a week and no follow up.. DON'T.

  • unhappy

    by Mohammed Rahman at 12:09 on 9 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    The WORST broadband service I ever had. Only joined them in October,since then, everyday the broadband connecion keeps droppoing. Had 3 engineers visit, router replaced, still broaband connection keeps breaking. My children's education at risk. They want to charge me for cancellation of the contract although never provided a service. NEVER NEVER NEVER use them.

  • unhappy

    by John at 14:42 on 3 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    please please please do not use talk talk if you value your sanity,speed dropped from at least 4.5mbps to 0.05mbps fobbed off with pathetic solutions.My take is that they are sacrificing lower paying customers ie prioritising.Currently trying to claim money back from non provided service, avoid at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by mark jones at 9:47 on 26 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    please please please do not use talk talk if you value your sanity,speed dropped from at least 4.5mbps to 0.05mbps fobbed off with pathetic solutions.My take is that they are sacrificing lower paying customers ie prioritising.Currently trying to claim money back from non provided service, avoid at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by mark jones at 9:45 on 26 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    please please please do not use talk talk if you value your sanity,speed dropped from at least 4.5mbps to 0.05mbps fobbed off with pathetic solutions.My take is that they are sacrificing lower paying customers ie prioritising.Currently trying to claim money back from non provided service, avoid at all costs.

  • neutral

    by colin at 0:38 on 17 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    like most people on here i have allso been caught i was with pipex and reasonably content untill i got my first bill from talk talk which was the first i knew that they had bought out pipex they have started charging for calls which were previously free on my pipex contract internet speeds are now slower than the old 56k service how do these companies get away with these sort of takeovers which allow them to alter youre terms of service with no prior notification because on there previous track record i would certainly of cancelled my account i will be switching provider asap dont ever even consider signing up to these sharks

  • neutral

    by Keith at 10:02 on 16 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    I have to say that after complaining hard I have had a settled broadband signal for some time now. I check speed regularly as I do download high res images from my computer to my website a lot. All I ask from TalkTalk is that I get what I pay for. I ask no more than that. Since my previous posts it has been fine, but that's not to say it will always be. I have come to the conclusion that all IP services are pretty much alike and there needs to be some industry watchdog keeping an eye on them. Trading Standards need to toughen up a bit and start fining IPs heavily if they fail to deliver.

  • unhappy

    by Eileen at 8:50 on 15 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    Took out the talktalk essentials package with *boost*for anytime calls, (my area cant receive plus)my phone went active on December 5th. broadband on December 13th, since that time I have had serious issues with the broadband, no connection most days and when we do get online its slow,I rang them this weekend(Jan 11th) and they guy took me through the usual rubbish(clear cookies etc) told me to change my channel number etc. and then said not to dowload anything for 48 hours, he also said we should connect using ethernet cable thats difficult as my main line is not feasible with a desktop set up. but we changed and tried it anyway, no change, and i havent been able to use laptop at all! i was told to do a speedtest 3 times a day for 48 hours, highest download speed? 0.91mbps. so much for high speed, so far as im concerned talktalk are breaking the contract of 12 months. I will be leaving!

  • unhappy

    by Jon at 10:38 on 12 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    Cheap, shocking technical service knowledge.
    Lost internet connection ISP end. phoned customer service. 'overseas' helper didn't have a clue, reading off a trouble shooter list. Claimed my router was incompatable (the one thats been working fine for years). Told me to get a Talk Talk branded one before they could offer anymore support. Internet resumes after 1.5 weeks of own accord (engineering works finished or something). Emailed to complain about service (lack of customer/internet service)compensation. Gave me £3 as they only calculated the time since I emailed them to complain, and not since I phoned/or actual time of loss of service.

  • happy

    by Richard Lacey at 21:32 on 31 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    Are there any positive reviews for Talk Talk?? !! I moved from SKY as SKY's download rate was rubbish and kept disconnecting. Talk Talk I can't fault, with one exception and that is the router they supply...This Wireless N router looks like it was made by a 6 year old boy with Lego..it is diabolical. It keeps crashing and when people on here keep getting disconnected they may wish to look at their router rather than the service. I changed it for a bought one and just set it up using the username and password Talk Talk give you. It now works without fault, and of course does not 'talk' to Talk Talk services or have them hack into your router whilst you are asleep! Believe me, SKY were the worst, and when I saw that talk talk did not offer me the online offer two months into the contract I called them and they were more than helpful and gave me the discount there and then. All in all, I am happy but will probably change after the 12 months if only to keep the providers on their toes..I would like a provider that gives me a static IP so will be hunting in July 2012..

  • neutral

    by Barb at 12:55 on 28 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    I was with Bulldog but than Bulldog joined TalkTalk and problems started.
    My phone line hasn't been working for the past 3 weeks. I called TalkTalk on 20 occasions on my mobile (bill over £30 already - that's more than my monthly bill with TalkTalk). First they told me that there was no case reporting my phone line being down. Then they said that because I hadn't answered my mobile on two occasions when their engineer called, they closed the case. I couldn't believe it. One would think that the case should be closed when the phone line is up and running and not when one didn't answer the call from the engineer especially when all the information should have been passed to him/her but apparently not with TalkTalk. Anyway they reopened the case and I was told that the phone line would be fixed within 24 hours. That was on Friday. Today is Wednesday and I still can't use my phone. Again someone from TalkTalk called me and left me a voicemail which I couldn't understand (as previously). I tried to call them and ask them why the engineer was calling me instead of fixing the phone line but I was disconnected. I have already tried four times today and I am on the brink of quitting. I decided to change the provider anyway.
    Ps. The TalkTalk customer service is awful. It seems sometimes that the lack of understanding is on both sides (and the language barrier isn't the only reason). When I complained about one rude operator I was told to be more understanding as there were ''a lot of angry and unhappy customers calling and shouting at us''. Well, I can understand that

  • neutral

    by Joy at 14:43 on 13 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    Awful service. I have been passed around from customer services to technical support and back for the past week. I finally got an appointment for an engineer to come today between 8 and 1. So I took a day off work and sat around and waited and he did not show. When I called in to complain they offered me another appointment - but could not give me a more specific time nor the engineer's phone number so that I would not waste another day waiting!!! They are very quick to tell you that you will be charged for a missed appointment - but offer no compensation for a day wasted waiting for their engineers. Now I am going to try to break a contract I took on a week ago!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: