« back to Talk Talk Business broadband

Talk Talk Business broadband Reviews

Sign up now. Call: 0800 5422261
  • unhappy

    by David Horner at 21:10 on 9 Nov 2014 Report abuse

    Both my phone and broadband are provided by TalkTalk business,
    I didn't sign up with TalkTalk, my services were provided by pipex (fab company) but I ended up here through acquisitions.
    On Sunday afternoon (2nd Nov 2014) I noticed my broadband sync was intermittent. On checking my phone I could just about make out the dial-tone hidden within the clicks hiss and pops. I could dial out but on answer couldn't hold a conversation with the other party. When calling in the phone sometimes rang or sometimes went straight to answer phone. I reported the fault to TalkTalk noting that I would be charged for the privilege. During the afternoon the noise on the line got worse and the broadband gave up the ghost. I suspect I know the cause of the problem Openreach are in the process of replacing all of the roadside cabinets in the area in preparation for fibre to the cabinet. My issue however is the complete lack of customer service from TalkTalk and what looks like a cynical attempt to make fault reporting and fault tracking as difficult as possible. I am a self employed IT contractor specialising in networking. I run my business from home. Luckily for me at present I am working away from home during the week and have phone and broadband access. My wife however reported to me on Mon (3rd Nov) that the phone line was now dead, no dialtone, nothing. I called TalkTalk, again being assured I would be charged for the privilege to report this change in symptoms. The chap was polite and could see that openreach were investigating but couldn't provide any-more info.
    Now my gripe really starts. Despite having my e-mail address and my wifes phone number at no time has TalkTalk attempted to contact us to provide an update on the fault. Having heard no more and still having no dialtone on Wed 5th Nov I decided to see if I could get an update without occurring call charges. The TalkTalk business web site seems to be designed to ensure it is impossible to do that. Although I have a fault reference there is nowhere to get an update. The is a "send us an e-mail" system but it doesn't work. It allows you to fill in the fields and then when you attempt to submit it decides to ask another question and scrambles the data moving it into other fields. You can then re-write the fields and again attempt to submit but it does the same again. After half an hour (and three different browsers) I gave up. I did eventually find an e-mail address for customer services following a web search it was in a pdf called "Small Business Complaints Code of Practice". So I composed an e-mail providing account number fault reference and asked for an update and info on when my contract was due for (non) renewal. I received confirmation of reciept within seconds and have heard nothing since despite resending the mail twice. So here we are 7 days later, no phone no broadband and no communication of any sort.

  • neutral

    by Surinder at 12:44 on 13 May 2014 Report abuse

    Waste of time and resource. Find someone more reputable

    Since placing order 4 weeks ago; Customer services have had umpteen attempts to process order to get router delivered so that I can be switched over to fibre optic and this morning we are back to square 1. To cap it all got email to say that unless the engineer visit is made and I am switched over to fibre optic broadband the order will be cancelled. Spent hours on end to get the issue resolved but customer services and complaints department are incapable of resolving the issue.

    IF YOU CAN AFFORD TO I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU STAY AWAY FROM TALKTALK

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 23:37 on 1 May 2013 Report abuse

    Note for * sean in County Durham *

    "for some barmy reason using tracert/traceroute reveals and always has, that my line runs through a server/router in London being getting on the public internet. I live in County Durham the other end of the country so this makes very little sense..."

    Sean - it may not seem that sensible, but the vast majority of internet services from customers across the UK terminate in a number of big data centres around the M25 and in inner London.

    There's a thing called LINX - the London Internet eXchange - which is where most of the traffic between UK ISPs, web hosting firms, and links to Europe, North America, and elsewhere is 'exchanged' at very, very, high speeds (1000s of Mbps).

    I'm on Merseyside and use a different ISP, whose main servers and customer support are in Sheffield but traffic to their servers also goes via London.

    Simple fact is that a good part (maybe 35 mSec of your 40 mSec latency) will be local, between you and the exchange. People on fibre are now getting 10 mSec (and data still goes to London etc) but the local link is still the slowest part of the chain, just between the house/office and the local exchange (though of course on international links some router or major inter-connection such as in New York, might get flooded with data and slow everything down from that point on).

    Do have a look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/London_Internet_Exchange for information on LINX

  • unhappy

    by James Roscoe at 17:34 on 22 Jan 2013 Report abuse

    Awful broadband service. Awful customer customer.

    I was a customer of Talk Talk for too long (~2 years). The broadband connection was so intermittent I found it easier to rely on my mobile phone for using the internet.

    After moving to O2 the connection hasn't dropped more than once in a month. However, incompetence by Talk Talk (that they have now admitted) in being unable to effectively transfer the account to the new ISP has left me having to go through seemingly unending tedious correspondence regarding the final bill.

    Talk Talk: At least improve your customer service and maybe people would be a bit more forgiving about the below par service provision.

  • unhappy

    by Alec Tritton at 11:47 on 21 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    Don't do it - don't change to Talk Talk
    Two months ago I was persuaded to change my phone line to Talk Talk - what a mistake! Earlier this month I had a problem with lots of noise on the line and after many calls to support in India who kept telling me there was nothing wrong, I eventually persuaded them to send out an engineer (once i agreed that I would pay if it was my problem). Anyway to cut a long story short and after numerous phone calls, and a further visit of the Talk Talk engineer who confirmed exactly the same problem, eventually a BT engineer came and found the fault was on a telegrapgh pole 200m from the house. Problem solved EXCEPT I have been charged for the original visit - now I am going to have to spend hours again on the phone to India to get the charge dropped - I am not staying a day longer than I have to with this useless company

  • neutral

    by Tom at 13:55 on 15 Nov 2012 Report abuse

    DO NOT TOUCH WITH THE PROVERBIAL BARGEPOLE!!!!

    I was with Talktalk Business for several years and the service I got was very average. My line speed would go down over time, I'd phone up customer support, they'd investigate and report that they couldn't find anything and then my line speed would go up. Basically I think they tweak the line speeds based upon complaints/people phoning up.

    What's worse is that I eventually gave up with them a couple of months ago and changed provider. Two months later they are still charging me. I've just rung them up again and they say that in a couple of weeks time, at my next invoice date, they'll give me a refund. I'll believe it when I see it!!!

  • neutral

    by sean at 21:54 on 21 Oct 2012 Report abuse

    I'm coming to the end of my 2 year contract with talk talk business (TT) and think i should pass on my experiences.

    Customer Service/Tech Support : 5/5
    Ongoing Service: 3/5
    Package Deal: 5/5

    Customer Service, I've had a few hiccups caused by BT working on the lines, for the most part TT have helped to "resolve" the issues. At one point my line was down for over a day due to BT and although i sync'd over 3mbps my throughput was under 20kbps, calling TT support and requesting the reset my SNR target TWICE to get my out of the IP Banding ( which BT used to call this but TT support had no idea what it was ) resolved the issue. Most ISPs wouldn't of done what you the end user ask them to if its not written as a solution on their screen.

    Ongoing Service, for some barmy reason using tracert/traceroute reveals and always has, that my line runs through a server/router in London being getting on the public internet. I live in County Durham the other end of the country so this makes very little sense and i blame for having an average latency of 40-60ms but its an acceptable service overall. The loss of 2 points is due to being unable to recover after BT screws up the lines, even if TT have equipment in the exchange they aren't allowed to mess with the fibre/copper that go's to the premises as that's owned by BT.

    Package Deal, TT as far as i am aware are the only company providing an unlimited (FUP) package that has a static IP for less than £15, TT's is only £10. Therefore full marks for an un-metered, unlimited, un-throttled, without traffic shaping service for just £10.

    An additional note that's worth mentioning, you aren't technically to my knowledge allowed to run a public web server, email server, etc on a residential connection. As this is a business service you are allowed, which is another bonus. Not that many people care as they run them anyway.

  • happy

    by Sarah at 21:39 on 17 Oct 2012 Report abuse

    I was a long time BT customer and was recommended TalkTalk business by a friend, I called there sales line and spoke with Adam (Great scouse accent) was a change to get through to an English call centre, he was really professional and straight away put me at ease as I was nervous about changing, he really seemed to do everything he could to help me. Recommend asking for him if you thinking of joining, So far the service has been first rate and would recommend

  • unhappy

    by adlam321 at 18:36 on 25 Aug 2012 Report abuse

    I was a Nildram customer for years with no problems. Then we moved to talktalk business, and i was offered to migrate my phone to them also for a bundled deal. I signed up and heard no more till recently when I was called and told that I didnt have a line with them . After lots of calls they then "admitted" i did have one and it was a billing error. Since this billing error, i have not had a bill which makes any sense. I get a bill which shows me i am £400 in credit and then next day get my next bill showing i owe them £9. I still get all these marketing calls but once i explain what i mess they have made of my account they put the phone down. What a shambles! Any company can give you a Broadband connection, the value of what you get comes when you have a problem and you find out they are clueless. I don't blame the staff, they openly admitted to me their billing system is a mess. Shame they took a good service and killed it.

  • happy

    by Nigel B at 16:19 on 22 Aug 2012 Report abuse

    With so many bad reviews I have to add a Good one to give anyone considering changing to Talk Talk Business Broadband some genuine unbiased information.
    I have just completed a change to Talk Talk business. The switch went perfectly to time with about 2-3 mins downtime, the router arrived early, communication about the sale was perfect and Support answered the phone quickly and reacted to a query instantly. All this and it's the cheapest too.
    I'm sure some have problems but for us, a straight switch was easy and perfect.

  • happy

    by grahame at 16:45 on 30 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    I THINK YOUR ALL LIEING

    Ok it can take time to get to an agent but you have to understand a business of this size can not pick up every call with in 2 mins. These guys do work hard and fair point in the past things have not gone smooth also bb speeds i see people crying over having 4 megs man up the adverage speed all over the uk works ou at 1.25 meg...... so when you see on tv speeds of upto 40 meg the UPTO bit is important as the speed all depends on a large number of elements like distance from the exchange the thickness of the walls in you property and so on.

    MAN UP everyone and get on with your lifes rather then finding problems with and shreing them no one shares a good experance only the bad

  • neutral

    by andy at 17:25 on 4 Jul 2012 Report abuse

    Never ever sign to Talk Talk, apart from the bad customer service, your contract will be renewed and when you try to leave they will charge you a £200 cessation fee, even if you do not pay, bailiffs will try to hard roll you at your door for the money. STAY AWAY FROM TALK TALK

  • unhappy

    by Thay are the absolute worst at 18:14 on 12 Jun 2012 Report abuse

    I was a loyal Nildram customer but it was when this mob took over all went wrong. I closed the account about a year ago and in August they conteacted me to say there was a balance on the account. I paid this and was assured it was closed. In November they contacted me again, i missed the email they sent (no letter) and the next thing was i had a debt collection agency chasing me. I settled up again and was assured I was in the clear. Today 12th June i got a text message to say i owed them money again. Turns out my account had a £6 charge added in December (6months ago). Needless to say I'm less than impressed.

  • unhappy

    by Helen D at 18:49 on 21 May 2012 Report abuse

    Don't touch this company with a bargepole! I was with Nildram and have stayed loyal for many years, but I have been completely conned by Talk Talk Business. They disconnected my broadband by mistake, then tried to charge me a fortune for reconnecting even though they told me that if I stayed with them there would be no cost involved and even offered me £23 as a gesture of goodwill for their error. Then to add insult to injury my speeds are slower than ever before! Even worse, instead of the 12 month contract that should have ended in Feb 2013, they have tried to start a brand new 24 month contract which won't end till May 2014!!!!!

    Buyers BEWARE - be WARNED!!!!!!!

  • neutral

    by Simon Williams at 20:21 on 20 May 2012 Report abuse

    Former Pipex customer transferred to TalkTalk Business via Opal. Average download speeds halved from 8 mb/s down to 4 mb/s over past year. Unimpressive to say the least for a business package.

  • unhappy

    by Len Webb at 16:31 on 27 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Talktalk should be renamed Waitwait, I was persuaded to take on a business package and I was conned. My download speed is only 9 Mb and the upload figure is less than 1 Mb. Even the grandkids are complaining. Will not renew, how do I get out of contract, it's rubbish.

  • happy

    by TalkTalk Business Staff at 23:24 on 11 Apr 2012 Report abuse

    Dear Customers.

    Thank you all for the comments and feedback both Negative/Postive this will all be taken on board with the correct area's of business. If you are currently having issues with your TalkTalk Business service then please contact us at [email protected] or 0800 083 3003, I work with in the Customer Service Department and understand that their can be issues from day to day.

    If you are one of these customer please contact us and express this, I will be more than happy to help you and provide an answer for your issues.

    I hope this helps.

  • unhappy

    by kryspian at 10:26 on 29 Mar 2012 Report abuse

    talk talk worst customer service ever- reasonably cheap but hard work to deal on the phone- next time will go for another provider

  • happy

    by Charles Rapson at 14:22 on 3 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    Switched one of 4 sites to TalkTalk from BT after dreadful service from BT. Have no complaints whatsover with TalkTalk. Service good, pricing very competitive, after sales good and they do what they say. The only issue we had was down to a BT Open Reach engineer messing up

  • happy

    by Mango at 16:50 on 14 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Please dont, dont dont dont try talk talk or have anything to do with them. Requested for boradband and telephone from them, only received telephone without broadband and they keep on charging me for the service they did not supply. Now they send debt recovery service to me. My qustion is; why should government still allow this kind of oppression in 21st century?. the great and mighty are trying to destroy the ones that are trying to come up. we all need to stand up for this, however I will contue with this untill everyone get the HIGHT, BREATH AND WIDTH of this problem.

  • unhappy

    by Ray Waters at 13:29 on 14 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    On 13 September I found the Talk Talk Customer Service really awful. They kept trying to transfer me to different sections and totally refused to get someone to call me back. I will transfer to another provider as soon as possible, I don't think Talk Talk understand the concept of customer service and the people they employ are very unhelpful. If anyone from Talk Talk cares I can provide the names of the people who were so unhelpful.

    To be fair I telephoned today to ask for my MAC code and it was dealt with efficiently. Two very different experiences but I will still transfer.

  • unhappy

    by manuel at 12:18 on 29 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Do not ever go into a contract with OPAL or Talk Talk because it will cost you several months to close the service and they will keep charging you, the same aptitude happened with C Warehouse and they know.
    I cancel my contract after several years with fredon2surf that was taken by opal, by phone to their support sevices they keep charging me 2 more months by direct debit, I phoned again and they seem to forgot to mention i need to send an email to confirm this, after doing it, not only they not return the money paied in exceess but they tried to keep charging me , now they have send the debt collector and we will see...... I need to spend time to prove them i close my account several months ago.
    Do not touch them they seem to work like thiefts...

  • neutral

    by tony at 8:52 on 26 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    talk talk business give a faster upload speed than many. they also give me 100Ghz bandwidth per month as opposed to many others who only give you 40Ghz. (many providers say unlimited but of course that is not the case). the longest i have waited on the phone is 3 minutes. the biggest advantage is that you can speak to an english person!!!

  • unhappy

    by Owen Mc at 18:16 on 16 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    STAY AWAY FROM TALK TALK AND TALK TALK BUSINESS

    I would say talk talk business are the worse company I have ever had to deal with. I used to be a very happy Freedom2surf customer untill talk talk business took them over back in January 2011. Everything was alright until talk talk business started messing up my monthly credit card payments with there mixed up crap system. After that I found they send you nasty disconnection letters for no reason other than they have messed your card details up. Then you have to mess about calling them waiting 30 to 40 minutes on hold to get to speak to them about the problem they have made for you. Then when you think you have the problem sorted a few months go past and they do it all again.

    SO YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED STAY AWAY AS ONCE THIS COMPANY GIVES YOU PROBLEMS WITH THEIR SERVICE AND BILLING YOU WILL BE MESSED AROUND IN A BAD WAY !!!

  • happy

    by t at 0:29 on 2 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    impressive service.. just renewd my contract

  • unhappy

    by jem at 13:31 on 14 May 2011 Report abuse

    speeds of 248k when i should have 6 meg
    still sat waiting for them to answer after 35 minutes

    AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • unhappy

    by Gemma Reston at 14:30 on 11 May 2011 Report abuse

    Talk Talk Business are an absolsute joke - avoid like the plague!

    Poor and rude customer services advisors, inconsistent information. I would be embarised if I would for a company with such a bad reputation at this!

  • unhappy

    by Mark C at 12:50 on 6 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    They are beyond useless: customer service is nonexistent - they never answer the phone - 4 days waiting 20 minutes a time and I've given up. I will be cancelling my account and stopping paying since they're not keeping up their end of things. AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • unhappy

    by Ian Young at 17:31 on 29 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Their customer service is totally incompetant. 20 minutes everytime to speak to someone! I shall be moving when I can cancel my contract.

  • neutral

    by Neilx at 4:09 on 25 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    ** I think there is a REAL issue here, that most UK ISP's fail to understand! **

    Broadband Connectivity is not just about download/upload speeds; but more about reliability, which to many people - especially Business Customers - presents itself in the form of Contention Ratio!


    I concur 100% with the comments of 'David', 'Darrell' & 'Ade' and other Ex (ironically) PipeX Customers, who once were provided with an understanding service for Broadband Connectivity.

    Initially, a few years ago, I signed-up to PIPEX as a Home Business Customer (as I work from home quite often.) The package guaranteed a 20:1 contention ratio (instead of the usual

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: