« back to Talk Talk Business broadband

Talk Talk Business broadband Reviews | Page 3

Sign up now. Call: 0800 5422261
  • unhappy

    by David Williams at 15:35 on 10 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Opal broadband - appalling service. It's OK when it works, but the office service is awful. Pipex were abysmal - probably my worst consumer experience ever (20 hours on the phone trying to rescue my business's broadband after our move). So 'appalling' is in fact an improvement. Currently I am being told that my account is overdue, but they don't send invoices and the documents are not available because the online account info system doesn't work. This is an internet service provider! Life is too short to use Opal or complain about them, but I'm hoping the power of social media will kick them up their answerphone and get them to sort it.

  • unhappy

    by Alun at 9:18 on 29 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    Having been a happy f2s customer for years, I recently replied to one of the dozen or so emails I was getting from Opal every few days, offering me line rental at £6.50 per month for my first year. Bargain. The small print states that the full price of £13 will be charged and the difference credited every 3 months. Fair enough. So I phoned up and ordered. My first bill was fine £10 or so for a part month. My second bill however was for £49 - you can imagine I was a little surpised. I had been billed for line rental, business broadband, calls, caller display and some kind of 24/7 customer support package. I phoned and complained and they said they would look into it. Long story short - they admit it was all a mistake - except for the calls. Despite there being no mention of transferring my calls to them when I placed the order by phone, because it states in the reams and reams of T&C's that were sent to me through the post that I have to have calls as well as line rental, I don't have a leg to stand on apparently. Legally - maybe not, but ethically - completely out of order. I've requested a copy of the call for evidence, quoting the Data Protection Act, which I'm still waiting for over a week later, despite being told it would be emailed to me "in a couple of days". Once (if) I receive it I'll be demanding my contract is cancelled without the £300(!) cancellation fee or taking it up with Ofcom.

  • unhappy

    by Andrew at 10:59 on 9 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    We've had several broadband lines with Nildram for years. On the odd occasion (maybe three times in total) when there had been a problem, their technical support was helpful and knowledgeable. They were actually techies that could do something. One time they cleared a problem via remote access to the exchange equipment and we were back online during the support call!

    Now that Opal have taken over, service levels have dropped through the floor. They are the epitome of clueless call centres.

    Front Line support appears to be staffed by emotionless, scripted automatons who could not care less about your problem, let alone resolving it.

    My home line has not been able to sync for the past four days. No matter what time of day or night I call the IVR informs me that they are experiencing high call volumes and there will be delays in answering. Well, at least that's accurate - about 30 mins on average.
    On my first call, with a lot of prompting from me, they "ran tests"; the second of which failed. I was promised an update the following day. Needless to say, that didn't happen.

    I called again the next evening only to be told that an Openreach engineer would be attending my premises on Saturday. What? Why? Nice of you to tell me?

    Saturday arrived and at 9:30 the Openreach engineer rang from the exchange to tell me that the exchange wiring/settings were all fine; it was the provider's equipment at fault; it was affecting multiple lines; the provider was aware; and no he wouldn't have required access to the property anyway.

    Another call queue later, I spoke to the most apathetic individual who said the information had not been fed back to them so there was nothing he could do. Although I pointed out that I had indeed just fed it back to him myself, this made no difference. It couldn't be treated as a multiple line issue as he was looking just at my line...now.

    According to the individual:

    (i) there are no supervisors or managers available
    (ii) if there were, they wouldn't have any additional ability to progress the issue (??)
    (iii) it's a weekend so there are very few staff
    (iv) Front line support are self sufficient

    I disagreed with him on the last point, as he was not self-sufficient enough to do anything about the problem.

    His best, well in fact his only, option was to add a note to the support ticket that would be forwarded to Second Line Support; this could take up to 48 hours. When I quizzed him how it could be UP TO if there were no staff in over the weekend, he denied saying there were no staff - rather they come in from time to time and would see their In Boxes.

    By now I had heard enough and demanded a MAC code to move to a more competent provider. With not even a trace of emotion he asked me to give him a minute before reeling off the telephone number to call for requesting MAC codes.

    It's such a shame when decent companies providing a quality service at competitive prices get bought out and dragged down into the incompetence of the buyer.

    I will be moving all our ADSL accounts as soon as possible, and will not deal with the organisation ever again. I concur with the majority of comments in this thread:

    If you are looking for a provider - avoid Opal like the plague.

  • neutral

    by Grumpy Ben at 22:31 on 28 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    I was previously an f2s customer and was satisfied with their service. As others have said, since the company has switched hands the quality of service has slowly deteriorated. Since Opal took over recently the service is now abysmal; during the evenings my broadband is practically unusable. I will be cancelling my service tomorrow.

  • unhappy

    by Jonathan Okuda at 8:20 on 27 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    Shortly after moving into a new property this January and setting up a BT line, I was cold-called by a sales company on behalf of Opal (though the person I spoke to implied he worked *for* Opal). He told me that as a previous Pipex (home) customer, I was eligible to get Opal broadband for *just* £13 per month, plus a £10 line rental fee per month. He seemed to have details of my old contract with Pipex at my old house, so this didn't sound suspicious.

    I wanted my broadband ASAP, and as BT said that they'd be about 5-10 working days, I was eager to get something sooner. The guy said that the Openreach engineers would be checking the line for BT at the same time as they'd be checking for Opal, so there'd be no difference in my connection date; I'd just get a much better service with Opal, for less money.

    As I'd just paid £125 to have a BT line put in, I didn't want to pay another wad of money to connect with Opal. No problem, the guy said: Opal would connect me free of charge, and I'd not have to pay an early cancellation fee to BT! At this point, this seemed perfect for me. He'd been telling me about how they were using 21st century technology to have superfast connection speeds across the country, and that there was no traffic shaping, so the speed would stay the same throughout the day. I relented, and got him to put my Opal order through ASAP - he claimed he'd do what he could to get my line sorted quickly, and took my details. At this point, I wish I'd taken his.

    About a week or so later, I called up Opal to check on my order, as I'd not heard anything. They said the order hadn't made it through to the system yet from the sales team, so if I made a new order, they'd cancel whichever one was slower, which I think they did (assuming the first order ever came through). It took about a month of calling every day before I finally got my Opal line. When I got my first bill, I was shocked to see that the price they'd quoted me was ex VAT, so the least I'd be paying each month was a little over £27, which was more or less what BT were asking for in the first place. BT then sent me a bill for the early contract cancellation fee (I think it was *another* £125), so I contacted Opal to find out how I'd get this money back. They claimed that they'd never say I wouldn't have to pay it.

    I am very disappointed with the lies that they'd fed me, and the quality of their customer service. For the months that I've been actually using Opal, they've been good - about 5-6000k most of the time, though my router (Thomson TG 585) does seem to restart itself about five times a day at random. I've recently moved house, and have found that I have to pay another £149 to move the line to my new house. *sigh* I recommend you avoid Opal.

  • neutral

    by Anon from Essex at 16:54 on 28 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    I feel like i've been had over. I signed up to a Pipex business product only 2 months ago, paid a premium for it but needed a guaranteed upload for some software we rely on. Everything works fine and we were getting a decent 16 Mb throughput week on week. Having read these posts I have been checking and I now get 9 Mb - I could live with that. I then rang Pipex (and Opal answered) as I need another line and another broadband in the same building and am told we have now only 2 choices - "On Network" and "Off Network" we she stated was to do with capacity at the exchange (but when pushed didn't sound very confident). I asked her to check what I was on now as I was concerned what I had been migrated over to and she said there was nothing about an enhanced service that I was paying for. She even offerred to move me to their network while on the phone which would be cheaper ? - I asked how can you move me when you tell me you are one of the same only the name has changed, what moving is there to be done ? - I asked about enhanced uploads and she quoted I would get the best line speed possible which was predicted to be about 8 Mb - I asked how that could be when the Pipex Product was up to 24 Mb and I used to get 16 Mb and now the "name had changed" I could expect to get 8 Mb - There must be throttling involved ! - Now it's worth at this point declaring that I am a serving police officer and after 22 yrs I can tell when someone is waffling / bulls*itting / lying and all 3 were present during our coversation. Interesting, if you look at the (fairly) new Fraud Act 2006 (Section 2) - They are probably committing a criminal offence ! - When I get time I shall be doing a TRACERT and comparing it to an old one to see where in reality my data now moves from and to. - Not happy !

  • unhappy

    by Grumpy Old Hector at 10:32 on 15 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    Grumpy Andy - this is exactly the same I am experiencing except now ere are down to 0.1Mbps download in the evenings.

    Totally unacceptable!!

    I await their resonse!!


    Grumpy Andy ....
    Originally I was with pipex business service with a 20:1 contention ratio. I am out in the sticks but was very happy with a constant 6000+ kbps.
    Then it was taken over (apparently in name only) by Opal but within a week at 6pm exactly the speed dropped to 1mbit. Now it has got even worse, I get between 512k and 1mb all day. Yesterday I had no service for most of the day (straight after I asked for my MAC, am I paranoid?). When I have complained (4 times) they just ask me to log the times and speeds which I do. I ring back and they ask me to carry on doing it. Yesterday I was told there was no record of me ringing in at all and that they are not concerned until the speed drops below 400kbps. Of course, they blamed BT as well which is the standard cop out. When I suggested it happened straight after pipex became Opal I was informed in no uncertain terms that they are all the same staff and equipment and the only thing that has changed is the brand name. Yeah right!
    The thing is, I am paying them £24 a month and now they tell me there is no such thing as a contention ratio and hasn't been for 5 years. However, when I point out that they sold me that service a year and half ago advising me it will make a big difference they immediately said ‘well Opal do not deal in contention ratios’ and I am like “Ummm, but you said you only changed the brand name so surely you are the same people who a year and a half ago told me I needed this 20:1 stuff!” It falls on deaf ears though. They are trained to ‘broken record’ you, to just continuously stick to the script they have been passed down from their bosses.

  • unhappy

    by marc at 20:45 on 14 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    Can only agree with what is mentioned below, absolutely dreadful connections in a previously perfect freedom2surf served household, I can almost see the exchange from where I live. The promised 12 Mbps never materialised, did get about 8.5 at some point a few weeks ago. Downhill since, now getting 0.5 Mbps (woohoo!) most of the day except in the morning when sometime I get 4. Will cost 300 pounds to get out of the contract which actually sounds appealing at the moment.

    Don't ever be tempted to go with Opal!

  • unhappy

    by kash at 16:06 on 9 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    have line and broadband with opal one advice for all business user if you want to have make your life like hell have opal connection you will be sorted very soon you gona loose every thing ,thats what these people are.

  • unhappy

    by Grumpy Andy at 9:28 on 7 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    Originally I was with pipex business service with a 20:1 contention ratio. I am out in the sticks but was very happy with a constant 6000+ kbps.
    Then it was taken over (apparently in name only) by Opal but within a week at 6pm exactly the speed dropped to 1mbit. Now it has got even worse, I get between 512k and 1mb all day. Yesterday I had no service for most of the day (straight after I asked for my MAC, am I paranoid?). When I have complained (4 times) they just ask me to log the times and speeds which I do. I ring back and they ask me to carry on doing it. Yesterday I was told there was no record of me ringing in at all and that they are not concerned until the speed drops below 400kbps. Of course, they blamed BT as well which is the standard cop out. When I suggested it happened straight after pipex became Opal I was informed in no uncertain terms that they are all the same staff and equipment and the only thing that has changed is the brand name. Yeah right!
    The thing is, I am paying them £24 a month and now they tell me there is no such thing as a contention ratio and hasn't been for 5 years. However, when I point out that they sold me that service a year and half ago advising me it will make a big difference they immediately said ‘well Opal do not deal in contention ratios’ and I am like “Ummm, but you said you only changed the brand name so surely you are the same people who a year and a half ago told me I needed this 20:1 stuff!” It falls on deaf ears though. They are trained to ‘broken record’ you, to just continuously stick to the script they have been passed down from their bosses.
    In the end I am changing, I can’t be dealing with a company like that. They tried everything to stop me leaving, but I bet people are leaving them in droves. I have been waiting 24 hours for my migration authorisation code now, a code that is automatically generated in about 2 seconds dead. I expect this time next week I still will be.

  • neutral

    by Lesley Fraser at 11:51 on 2 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    I originally joined up with freedom2surf, who were great. Then the company became part of TalkTalk, then Tiscali and now it's called Opal. The previous excellent service seemed to deteriorate with each change of ownership - slower speeds, frequent breaks in connection that seem to take a long time to fix and ever decreasing customer service. At one point I had regular mail outage over a period of 5 months which they insisted was caused by my router. It wasn't - they eventually had to rebuild my connection, but it was rather like pulling teeth to get it done. They seem under-staffed and those that are there seem under-skilled. In my opinion, avoid this company if a reliable connection and consistent level of service are important to you.

  • unhappy

    by Nima at 11:45 on 1 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    We have subscribed to Opal in May and after nearly 45 days we have had 10 complain submitted 3 engineer from openreach and no internet.

    The internet disconnects sometimes more than 30 times a day (according to Opals technical support) the telephone lines are so noisy that you cannot hear the conversation.
    called for cancelation they ask for £300 they have told us that you can cancel in 7 days but they installed the line after 21 days so you have no choice to test their crap service as far as I understood they are catching fishes they give you a cheap price as a bait once you are in their hook they give you crap service and if you complain they say you have a contract and you can’t do nothing, but you can .
    do not pay them if you are not satisfied with you service because if you are bridging the contract by not paying them they are doing the same thing by not giving you the service that they promised tell them that you want the court to decide and as soon as the judge hear they name he will put them off.
    Please do not go for their services let them sort their problems out first, look what talk talk have done they did not have what they required to support peoples but they spent all their money in advertising instead of improving their services and at the end we have all paid for what they had to do at the first place

  • neutral

    by Konrad at 20:27 on 6 May 2010 Report abuse

    I'm generally fairly happy with Opal's service apart from the fact that in the evening and weekends my line is very slow or even intermittent - annoying if you work from home or are doing overtime. I wonder if we're just on the same line as talk talk and they get overloaded in the evening...

    We kept the same number but have lost 1471 very annoying - I think you have to pay extra for this! And our number comes up as 'number witheld' when we phone out which isn't great either.

    We're paying a little less (but not actaully that much less) than we used to but all in one easy bill so at least that's one thing. I think their addon packages are not cheap.

    Now for the positive - their support is second to none - you can get through easily and quickly and speak to someone in the UK (Hoorray!).

    Overall not bad, 3.5 out of 5 I would say, I wish they would sort out my complaints and it would be 4.5 out of 5.

    Hope this helps!

  • neutral

    by Neil McK at 17:04 on 28 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    It used to be a good service, with almost never an outage - this has changed recently and since I work from home it is a major inconvenience. My service was out for most of the day yesterday with the ludicrous statement of "stale sessions" requiring a 30-minute shutdown of router - I work in telecoms and know this is nonsense. It was great as an independent outfit, OK under pipex, about the same under Tiscali and now poor under talk talk. We're not in an LLU area so kind of stuck. It was impossible to get through to technical support so am thinking of switching, fortunately not on a 12 month contract - will do it when I'm on holiday in the summer.

  • happy

    by Millie at 18:29 on 23 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    So far so good!
    I have Talk Talk at home and satisfied wth it.
    I chose OPAL for new office (charity) as had so many problems with Broadband connection from BT and their refusal to upgrade the modem which was poor quality and only had one ethernet connector. I was frustrated with BT in that one can never get back to the same person, unlike with OPAL.

    So OPAL connected when promised and the sales rep Richard was more than helpful even after his job was done. When the modem got sent back as I was not around, Richard sorted out the delivery for me. Just awaiting promised refund of some connection fee that was promised. I can call Richard if I am unsure of anything and he tells me who to get in touch with. Have not tried the OPAL Internet Security free anti virus yet and wonder what that is like.

  • unhappy

    by Chris Mackness at 10:29 on 8 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I applied to go on Opal last September. The router turned up a few days later but that was it. A bt engineer finally turned up at the end of October and mucked around with my Bt line and then left. (My Home line has nothing to do with it they were suppose to fit a new line) We then contacted opal as without the new line we had no broadband and they totally denied they were at fault and started billing me for a line that i didn't even have. Every call to opal made out we were at fault. Anyway 3 months went by with the bill mounting up and eventually we went to trading standards and they visited and contacted opal on our behalf. They finally came and corrected there fault and the line was fitted in March. All they did was wipe 2 months of our bill which we wasn't liable for anyway as the line hadn't even been fitted with no additional compensation even though they said at the time there would be and not even a sorry. Now I am the problem where I love voice and broadband for a few hours nearly every single day. I am stuck in a contract btu avoid at all costs, My business suffered and so will yours,.
    Chris

  • neutral

    by Charly at 17:16 on 31 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    We to have had a horrendous experience with OPAL. We have two contracts with them where we pay monthly rental for an WLR, and last week to our horror they converted one to LLU without our consent, we lost our BT Broadband on that account. We were told by BT that Opal had taken over the internet service. When we called OPAL it turned out that we had also been stuck in a new two year contract! After over 16 hours of calls / administration, by myself and staff at my company it emerged that the two year contract was in fact for another customer, and OPAL had accidentally put the other customers new contract details under one of our accounts.

    Our contract with OPAL on that line is now void, and we are moving back to BT - but it will cost £125 to do so. OFCOM have advised that to LLU the line without the customers permission is totally unacceptable, they advised it is called SLAMMING. OPAL are fully aware that once your line has been LLU'd you will no longer be able to access BT Broadband. We also learnt that they tried to to do this to our other line, but we have instructed BT that under no circumstances do we give our permission for this to proceed, and have also instructed OPAL.

    I am now seriously considering cancelling the contract with them on our other line - it will cost £125.00 to get out of the contract, but if they LLU the line, it will cost us the same to get it back to BT. Don't expect any compensation, I was informed today that under OPAL's Ts & Cs they do not offer this, only a gesture of good will.

  • unhappy

    by James Dennis at 15:01 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Opal? They are terrible, nearly 3 years ago we signed up with talk talk enterprises, to be fair they were ok. Then everything started going wrong in July, we have had intermittant faults since then over and over again. Last week we had a total loss of service (voice and data) I personally have spent over 8 hours talking to them (my boss has also been talking to them for some time). They have refused to put us through to managers, have refused to talk to us on one occasion and have failed to fix the problem.

    Having just spoke to them again for the second time today and having driven several hundred miles to get into the office to meet with the BT engineer they promised would be here between 8am and 1pm (who hasnt shown up) they have denied the conversation that took place with them yesterday at 11:58am ever took place. It certainly isnt listed on our account. Thankfully they phoned on my mobile (well seeing as how we have no voice it is probably a good idea to call on that) so it is logged in my recieved calls.

    I have now spoken to TTE and my account manager is now trying to chase them up as well...

    I will keep you posted.

  • unhappy

    by neil at 16:19 on 3 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    terrible service through and through, got connected, then disconnected, different reasons given everytime, no one takes responsibility for issues, terrible routers, avoid at all costs

  • neutral

    by Christian Thomas at 9:52 on 14 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    A disaster from start to finish. The Talk Talk reputation for lousy service isn't going to go away like this. First of all the advertised free business line didn't materialise (not in your area!), then no free router so the first bill would have been higher than with BT. Then a telephone call that was supposed to be "in 10 minutes" comes back 4 hours later. Then an engineer arrives unannounced and fails to call my mobile while I am 10 minutes away. He disappears, never to be seen again. Then an unhelpful call to Opal in which I warn that I am thinking of cancelling. The assistant gives so little assistance that I cancel there and then. She doesn't ask why and just says OK. Then a letter saying "Welcome to Opal..." Then another letter saying an engineer will be calling - with all the dates and times left blank - and saying that I will be charged if I am not there. Finally a telephone call following up my original enquiry asking if I would like to sign up to Opal. I explain what has happened but no apology and no suggestions on how to put it right. A shambles from start to finish. And from what I have read I seem to have got off lightly.

  • unhappy

    by Peter at 19:46 on 11 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I had a horrible time from the beginning till the (still not quite finished) end. I wanted to get a line ran to my house so I could get phone and internet. They came and ran the line, they turned on the broadband, and I got my router. It all took far longer then it should have and everyone you call is terribly inefficient. I ordered everything at the beginning of October and It finally worked at the end of November. At that point I only had broadband for three days then the whole line went dead. I called and they said it would be fixed in a few days. When that did not happen and they told me that the line was turned off and that they did not know why. They said they would have to run a new line. I was at this point finished with their nonsense. I have tried to get my refund and canceled the order but that is proving to be difficult. I only had internet for three days since October and I will be out a out 100 quid. I switched to BT. It is more expensive from month to month but it always works and the people are nice.

  • unhappy

    by Amber Sound 107.2FM at 11:28 on 2 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    The routers supplied are crap, constantly disconnecting and wireless dropping every 4 hours - customer service seem to think this is ok and acceptable - it isnt.

    We have two lines with this company, when they are connected they are fine but every day this is getting on my nerves!

  • happy

    by emma boardman at 21:19 on 12 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    I would like to thank OPAL for there brilliant response to my complaint - the problem is now solved and we have excellent broadband again

    Thank you very much OPAL technical support

  • unhappy

    by Emma Boardman at 13:37 on 8 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    We seem to have very poor internet connection since we went with opal, the new name for talk talk business.

    They are also very unresponsive at dealing with any faults,
    generally unhappy with the service

  • happy

    by Susan at 12:18 on 13 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    My broadband was connected and everything has been excellent, I'm saving approx £40 a month with the FREE Broadband and call savings. I would be the first to recommend Talktalk to my friends.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: