« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by Aziz at 21:32 on 26 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    absolutely disgusting customer service, slow, no internal communication, so I had to repeat everything every time I got bounced off to another (sometimes irrelevant) department/team.

    their staff lied at every turn, and when I told them, they asked me to be more diplomatic! so, they know they were lying, but please be polite when you are frustrated about being treated like a retard! So I told them that what they do is the definition of lying, so there is no way to be diplomatic about it, unless they are just asking me to lie to them... so, yeah, let's just lie to each other, that's their first step in solving problems...

  • unhappy

    by mike Kefford at 17:38 on 19 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    I dont expect to wait 6 working days for an engineer visit or to be put on hold for for 25 minutes then a very nice customer care representative to ask for my contact details and then go on hold again!!!

  • unhappy

    by Sharon at 13:30 on 12 Sep 2016 Report abuse

    I would never recommend this company to nobody, because I don't understand how they can reconnect your services if you been restricted for how long just because you are leaving there company and then have a cheek to bill you for reconnecting you without telling you

  • unhappy

    by Becky at 21:29 on 12 Aug 2016 Report abuse

    5/8 box installed- technician went outside to check signal 'bad news' you need a repull ... Nightmare begins . He took all the equipment away , otherwise I'd have to pay from that day!
    12/8 technician turns up 9am and didn't know anything about repull . He out the box in and two construction men turn up to lay cables . I had 8-1 slit they promise a 4th chap would come the same day to do the repull .
    I rand virgin 5 TIMES that day , and been robbed off by advisors India and lied too to get me off the phone .
    Outcome - no service . Call 5 established that manager will call me tomorrow as repull has been rescheduled for 21st August!!!! What a joke this company is .
    Don't be drawn in by flashy adverts or prices as their service is very very bad , infact one of the. Worst I've ever experienced . 5th call today lady an hour and I've put in a complaint that could take 28days for a reposnse ! Shocking .
    Very person from virgin has lied or fobbed me off , wish I'd stick to BT

  • unhappy

    by jay at 20:24 on 25 Jul 2016 Report abuse

    i have virgin media top internet 200 mb and it suck moor like dial up do not buy from virgin media their broadband suck

  • unhappy

    by Alicia at 16:11 on 23 Jun 2016 Report abuse

    The service was okay while I was with them but when I went to cancel they insisted on the full cancellation fee even though I've been with them for 6 years. I thought there would have been some courtesy for a loyal customer, if nothing else just to ensure repeat business. I could have switched when I moved, and I should have done.

  • unhappy

    by Lynn Cunliffe at 19:29 on 23 May 2016 Report abuse

    Just got off the phone from yet another call to Virgin media about our useless internet service,treated like an idiot because we couldn't connect our computer physically ie via a cable to the internet,, yet we use wireless specifically because we cant use a physical link ,more judgemental comments because I didnt know how to do a speed check, without being told ,which I suspect not many customers do know how to do ,I had already had to reset the router while tea burned and I was running out of time because the internet was needed for work and I was seriously behind time so I refused to do the speed check and I got snotty response because " I should be doing it because they cant just send out an engineer until they know what the problem is,",strange as I assume most customers are probably not It experts and engineers are actually trained to find faults and it does not really take an expert to grasp that if your constantly having to reset the router its clearly not working properly,meanwhile the last engineer to call told me out broadband was slower than it ought to be ,we never use our allowance and the local area has good service so Virgin were clearly not supplying the right broadband service..

  • unhappy

    by slaw at 22:12 on 18 Apr 2016 Report abuse

    AVOID - Virgin media billed me for 3 months after leaving & they confirmed I'd switched providers

    Virgin media billed me for 3 months after leaving AND they confirmed in an email that I'd "successfully switched provider".

    My account was settled in full when I switched yet they chased for 3 months worth of bills and passed it to debt collection agencies.

    Hours on the phone with customer services, their billing department and the debt agencies still didn't lead to a correct account statement but then things went quiet.

    5 years later they pop up again through another debt collection agency.

    Now going through CISAS - awful awful awful awful customer experience -

    although staff are pleasant enough they don't have any information in front of them and so aren't empowered to fix the problem - they just apologise and nothing happens.

  • unhappy

    by danny at 22:34 on 24 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    ive been with virgin 18 months sometime internet is very good untill the last 6 months ....this being the problem to them upgrading there internet to 200 mb witch there are not ready to do so now i get 25 mb downloand not 150 mb like im ment to ..so i ring them every month they give me 10 pound of bill i said if i just had bb what would i have to pay they said 48 pound so i said if i just had bb then u would take 48 pound from bill? ha as if i would still only get 10 pounds from my bill so i would still pay 38 pound for a rubbish internet speed i could get from plus net for alot less ...DONT GO WITH VIRGIN

  • unhappy

    by Sachin at 9:30 on 20 Mar 2016 Report abuse

    The worst company in the world. I have to move out of the property because of the damp issues. I was happy to take virgin service with me to my new property . But they don't have the service in my new area. So i have to pay the termination fees. On the top it they need the box as well. Otherwise they will charge you for that. Because i have moved out and i dont get access to my old property again i will have to pay for this. Be careful with the hidden extras. They will not mention anything while you take their service. While you leave they will tell you to check terms and conditions. I had only 2 months left in my contract and I never made any default in my payments. Being a loyal customer I would expect them to keep me happy in some way since I was happy to take their service to my new house. If possible avoid virgin and go with sky or any other companies . Virgin don't have service everywhere. Its better to go with someone like sky so that you don't have this problem . Sky don't take their dish or box once u finish ur coN tract with them. They also look after their customers and always try to help them by adjusting any sort of additional payments. I am very unhappy and disgusted with virgin service and their customer service. They just want your money. They are so sweet and nice when you appreach them to take their service. But when you leave they don't care and they show their real face.

  • unhappy

    by Stuart at 20:05 on 26 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    I have been with Virgin media for three months and had nothing but issue. My phone has been blocked three times in one month despite me calling in every time to remove the block. I get told it is for my own protecting because my phone bills are high. Three times I have confirmed that the usage is verified and I can pay the bills and have been doing so yet they still bar it?

    Despite me not being able to use my phone I am informed that I have to pay £250 to get out of my contract?

    The service is terrible, the automated system is terrible and the customer services representatives when you finally get through are rude! I have never had these issues with Sky or BT, I have requested for my account to be canceled, I will not be recommending them and will make it known just how bad the service really is.

    Oh and my phone is still blocked, lets hope there is no emergencies!

  • unhappy

    by Yvonne at 11:41 on 18 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    There is nothing wrong with the broadband but the customer service from Virgin Media is appalling, one of the worst I have ever had the misfortune of having to deal with. Their staff gave me false information, they were totally dishonest, all to make sure I had a final extra bill from them when I ended my contract. I will never enter into another contract with Virgin Media again. Worse than Talk Talk and I didn't think anything could be worse than that. Avoid Avoid Avoid I would give Virgin Media -5 out of 5 if I could.

  • unhappy

    by colin at 1:46 on 8 Feb 2016 Report abuse

    Had slow speeds since November 2015 , phoned and complained they gave me £34.99 credit for december but still took the direct debit , i reversed this with the bank and got a refund had to then cancel direct debit , long story short phone again in jan 2016 received a further £80 credit only to discover virgin media impose a penalty of £5 each month because even they give you a good will credit they still tried to take money from bank incurring more £5 penalty charged to me , called them on 05/01/2016 to cancel with them , very rude staff and clueless

  • happy

    by Ruth at 19:49 on 27 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    I've never had any problems with Virgin's service it is quick and consistent, even when there are several devices playing music and videos (I'm on their 50mbps tariff) and they were really good when I first swapped back to them and I was having trouble with my router, running diagnostics, and finally sending an engineer around to sort things out. They start out competitive price wise, but are prone to putting their prices up every 18 months or so which is my bugbear.

    They did it again this year, and I decided to have a look around. I looked at changing to Vodaphone which was a total nightmare and in the end I cancelled my contract before I'd even gone anywhere, dreadful service and long call waits. I then looked at Sky who I thought were much better, but Virgin called me up and offered me a loyalty contract (I've been a customer for two years) at a price not advertised for their 50mbps broadband, unlimited calls to land lines and mobiles (a big deal for me as my mobile signal is woeful in my flat) and a promise to fix this for 12 months (on a 12 month contract) so any price increase will not affect me.

    I mainly like Virgin, I've been a customer on and off since Telewest, and compared to BT who I've also been with they provide me (in London) with the most consistent service. So I've signed up again, though I was annoyed that I'd had to go to all this trouble.. But better the devil etc - if something goes wrong with their lines, I've always found Virgin far more proactive than any company related to BT for getting things sorted out. Plus this new package makes such a difference for being able to call people with a clear line, brilliant. But maybe it's because I'm a Londoner and they need to sort their act out for out of towners..

    My advice for others, whoever you go with, you need to keep an eye on what you are paying, and raise it when you aren't happy and be prepared to leave. I do this with all my utility companies, as they all quietly put prices up!

  • neutral

    by jchatboard at 19:24 on 25 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    UK£50 off your invoice for referring a friend? :(
    Rather poor service and reps lack information to the customer's advantage?

    I recommended a friend to take on Virgin Media Broadband + Phone. I tried to get information on the site, but had certain problems with my various requirements for the friend.

    To my surprise a Virgin rep turned up when I was at their house and signed up the contract. Actually when I told him I recommended the person, he never mentioned about the UK£50 credit to my Virgin Media Account.

    Tried nearly two days to get any sensible reply to my many telephone request about the scheme and could not find a department that could help me with the inquiry, not to mention the repeatedly times I had to go through all the data clearance when I got transferred.

    Eventually getting through to a person who told me straight forward.

    TOUGH LUCK, UNLESS YOU ORDER VIA THE WEB (ON LINE ONLY) NO WAY OF GETTING THE UK£50.00p CREDIT TO YOUR ACCOUNT.

    THANKS VIRGIN....... Considering I have been using Virgin (Mobile) since 1997 and then the Broadband when NTL was taken over. NOT A HAPPY CUSTOMER ANYMORE.

  • unhappy

    by Andrii Kulikov at 15:42 on 5 Jan 2016 Report abuse

    I've got the awful and unpleasant experience with Virgin Media. The customer service is absolutely dysfunctional. I ordered the fibre broadband package on December 17th. I was told the installation would be done in certain time interval on January 5th. The technician did not show up in time. I called the customer service, but they seemed absolutely indifferent to the issue. I spent around 30 minutes listening to the music while they were deciding who/which team had to deal with my problem and I had to redial again after they dropped my call. Eventually, they proposed a new date - January 19th !!!! a month from the date of the order that is unbelievable and insulting. Despite it was 100% their fault, they did not even try to find a reasonable solution and kept mechanically repeating that the only date was January 19th. I cancelled the service with Virgin. I will never recommend Virgin Media to anyone. They seem to live in a different reality where the customer service and competition does not exist.

  • unhappy

    by david at 16:51 on 17 Dec 2015 Report abuse

    this is a bad company who just fob you off then tell you to leave if you dont like it
    i am getting 1 mb on a night from what is supposed to be 50 mb . i was getting 7 to 15 mb when i paid £72 for the 200 mb . three years of lies and telling me it will be fixed next month. discount given but i have to phone up and beg for it each month. i have now asked for a free upgrade so at least i can get 7 mb on a night .but its not there police to do this (keep the customer happy) they just told me to leave if i don't like it . what a crap way to treat people...........

  • unhappy

    by Michael at 11:17 on 29 Nov 2015 Report abuse

    Simply awful. I ordered Virgin broadband and phone. All arranged for the installation and they just didn't turn up. On phoning them I was told there was a 'construction issue'. Apparently their system doesn't have the right equipment near my house and it would be 4 to 6 weeks before it could be sorted. As I had cancelled with my previous provider to coincide I have been left with no broadband or land line, as well as waiting in all day for them. All they could say was that these issues happen. I pointed out that it was their system and that they should have known about this beforehand and informed me of how long it would take at the time of ordering. They offered no solution other than waiting for a unspecified number of weeks without broadband, which I need for my work.

    Only when I said I was cancelling the order did they tried to offer me a couple of months for free, but I declined as I wanted nothing further to do with them.

    I've now re-arranged with my previous supplier.

  • unhappy

    by Uzma Anwar at 15:07 on 15 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    Rubbish Interet, Rubbish and rude customer services. Disconnected internet and they were still charging us for phone line. Its customer agent promised to refund then second one said after few days. Stay away from them.

  • neutral

    by SOPHIE at 20:55 on 13 Aug 2015 Report abuse

    I got very frustrated with virgin internet very quickly. Their customer service in my experience was usually awful- several different times we were told conflicting information about our contract, their policies, and extra/hidden charges which we were not made aware of. In my flat the virgin box is in the living room, by the time you walk into the kitchen two metres away the signal is non existant. There is one wall and a corridor and I know that affects it, but in this day and age your broadband should surely be able to reach the main rooms of your house! It is not a large floor plan by any means. Aside from that we got caught out several times by trying to change the date or bank details of our direct debit- when they took the bill on the wrong date we got charged, no refunds, as well as bank charges etc. If our contract was not 18 months woukd have left it after 6 or so. Unreliable and unfriendly. So disappointed!

  • neutral

    by glen at 18:14 on 18 Jul 2015 Report abuse

    Had Virgin for 2 years - some days it works, some days it doesn't. Im currently giving up on it - while i do sometimes get 40mb connection the general experience is poor - in particular it seems like they have a lot of optimization for certain sites since latency is very bad on many sites.

  • unhappy

    by Jorge at 11:45 on 18 Jul 2015 Report abuse

    I have had Virgin 50 Mb broadband contract with for a year now, in North London. I have been unable to use internet several times a week, often for a whole day. Every time I complain I get one explanation or another, but it is unfortunately not solved. They do not even come to check, probably because they know what the problem is.

  • happy

    by Christopher Haden at 13:58 on 13 May 2015 Report abuse

    Since my last review I've moved and again I'm with Virgin

    Had a torrid time while using there netgear router but has now been replaced by something else I'm guessing non netgear. As a result reliability is far better for Ethernet and wifi connections and rarely plays up

    The connection itself isn't so bad, occasional half day dropouts do occur but not on a regular basis and when it's up the speed is superb.

    I object to there fair usage policies though. If I'm in a 30 or 60 MB unlimited usage contract I expect to be able to use it for long periods of time. On occasion I do use the most of the contracted bandwidth over the early hours of the morning. I.e non premium usage times. I do not therefore expect snotty letters through the post threatening to seriously reduce bandwidth and connectivity based on fair usage policies. I notice they don't also include a reduction in the bill at the same time. Basically they like the money but don't like delivering the service.

    Also note Virgin are actively blocking a hell of a lot of sites now. On the most part this doesn't bother me but depending on your intended download usage you should consider this.

    I've not had to call engineers out for a long time but in the past they have been notoriously unreliable at keeping to appointments. This is really annoying when you take days of work to accommodate them.

  • unhappy

    by Jessica at 23:07 on 12 May 2015 Report abuse

    Been a Virgin Media customer for 2 years, had very few problems. This year however firstly got disconnceted without warning, then shortly after reconnection internet started to become unreliable, dropping out a lot. Can happen at any time of day, tried phoning virgin and they claimed they'd found the problem and fixed it but no, its still unreliable.

  • unhappy

    by Csilla at 16:17 on 8 May 2015 Report abuse

    During the 5 weeks i waited for Virgin Media to do the broadband installation, i made several unhelpful and costly calls to see why my appointments were rescheduled from their side without my prior notice, but all i was getting were excuses and no solutions. So after 5 weeks of waiting for the service and needing to spend extra money for dongles and extra mobile data in order to be able to do my work (because they weren`t even able to provide me at least with a provisional solution since the fault was from their side) i decided that i had enough of their unprofessionalism and unreliability, so i decided to change to TalkTalk.

    Despite all the marketing strategies applied by Virgin Media to gain more clients by stating that TalkTalk is the worst network provider, TalkTalk showed reliability by installing the service exactly on the day they promised to do so (no waiting and no excuses)! The service they provide is much cheaper than the ones offered by Virgin Media, and the speed limit is nearly the same (Virgin Media - 50Mb broadband / TalkTalk - 40Mb broadband).

    So dear Virgin Media, instead of focusing on marketing strategies on how to bring other competitors down, rather concentrate more on providing the service and quality you advertise and aim for client satisfaction not numbers - more likely to build up a serious and loyal clientele ;)

    TalkTalk - reliable / helpful / professional - 5 (stars)
    Virgin Media - unreliable / unnprofessional / incompetent to provide the service they promise - 1 (star - and that just because you were able to fool me around for so long)

  • unhappy

    by Ben M at 14:22 on 22 Apr 2015 Report abuse

    Kept me hanging for weeks, when they arranged an install for the cable services then later rang me rang to cancel saying the property had be redeveloped into a flat and they would need to complete a survey of the property which may happen at a later date? wow Sherlock slow down! firstly obviously a flat i wanted residential cable installed and a later date? Great I will just hang around for you…. I thought BT had rubbish customer service, Virgin takes the biscuit.... wasted weeks of time waiting from them to get an act together.... then back to square one with not even a thank you. Totally useless, very disappointed would not recommend.

  • neutral

    by Spencer23 at 14:43 on 17 Mar 2015 Report abuse

    WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE AND ORGANISATION I HAVE EVER KNOWN!!!

    AVOID VIRGIN MEDIA LIKE THE PLAGUE

    They will keep putting prices up mid-term so the price you sign up to changes and keeps going up!!! There should be a law against it! I CAN'T WAIT TO MOVE PROVIDERS!!!! Sick of paying money to rude ignorant call centre staff.

    When I asked for an email for complaints I was told they didnt have an email!! What a bunch of jokers!

    FINAL WORD - DON'T GO WITH VIRGIN MEDIA!!!

  • unhappy

    by TD at 14:06 on 30 Jan 2015 Report abuse

    I was a long-term customer with VM and recently switched over to BT. I had agreed on a date to close my account with VM, with at least 2 VM personnel. VM subsequently sent a bill charging for services after this date, as they stated the account was closed on a later date. On phoning VM to explain the situation, the person I spoke to tried to waiver this charge but couldn't since I was no longer an existing customer, and advised I email their customer service, which I did. Two weeks later, I had a reply from VM to state that as they provided services to the later date, the charge was valid, and the money has been taken from my account. They therefore considered the situation to be resolved.



    This shows a complete lack of regard for customers and a flawed customer service procedure, ignoring the issue the customer is raising and taking their money before further dialogue! As someone who has to carefully budget constantly (buying this from ebay/charity shops, hardly ever buying new clothes for myself and my children, looking for supermarket offers during weekly grocery shopping), I resent a big corporate company like VM taking my hard earned money in this manner. Surely Mr Branson, you can do better than that!

  • neutral

    by Steve at 12:41 on 16 Dec 2014 Report abuse

    After receiving the contract price increase letter I phoned to cancel my contract. I was informed by Virgin that it would cost me £150 to cancel the contract as I had 8 months remaining and that the price increase clause was written into the contract.

    I would encourage anyone who is not happy with their contract price increase to be wary as if you do not accept Virgin will lie and try to use the threat of a cancellation fee!!!

    Got the contract cancelled (charge free) but I wouldn't ever use Virgin again.

  • unhappy

    by Martin . W at 17:35 on 9 Dec 2014 Report abuse

    Having received a letter informing of yet another price hike I decided to get rid of the never used land line and the M tv (which has one less channel than free view).
    I was told that for 50mg BB the price would be £25.50 pm.
    A few days later I contacted them to arrange this and was given a price of £31.50 pm, I told them I had been offered £25.50pm and they adjusted it to that price.
    A couple of hours later I received an e-mail confirming me of the changes and of the price which had now changed to £26.50pm..??
    I'm not going to quibble of one pound, I just can't see why everything with this company constantly changes and usually to the cost of the customer.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: