« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 12

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by dave youlden at 23:48 on 27 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    virgin treat long term customers badly - new ones get better deals. BT are doing deals, got to check them out.

  • unhappy

    by Wydene-Gill at 20:51 on 23 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I've have the broadband and telephone combined package ADSL at 8 MB.

    I was using it to download on their newsgroups connection during the off peak times were their is supposedly no limit but I'm now been throttled at 60 kilobytes a sec during 12 to 4 and at 8 Kilobytes a sec during peak times (4pm to 12 am) there is no mention of this throttling(on Newsgroups) in their fair usage policy, when I email them there is no reply when I telephone them they dont know anything about the newsgroup connection, I should have gone to Demon, I will do so when my 12 month contract is up.

  • happy

    by che bramley at 20:17 on 23 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    do you guys ever read how traffic management is enforced? well if not here we go. traffic management will only affect the top 5% of downloaders this means in simple terms people who download 24/7 ie film after film after film. People say virgin to not mention this on tv yes they do it's subject to terms and conditions which are then sent to you with your contract, if you don't agree to anything simple do not sign it. Also terms and conditions are subject to change although virgin media should write to you about these changes.

    Secondly Virgin Media is not owned or run by Richard Branson, it is still NTL/Telewest, all that's being used is the virgin brand name, most of you are to keen to attack him saying how bad his company is, simple rule here get your facts right.

    Virgin media do nothing different to other isps at the end of the day, live with it.

  • neutral

    by Gary at 2:11 on 22 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Nightmare from the very 1st week when I had Virgin installed. At the time of my installation (Jan2008) I initially opted for Broadband, TV and phone, not knowing that Virgin was having an offer of all 3 services for £30.00. When I rang to question why I was not given this offer I was told that I should of mentioned it at the time of me joining. I told the Customer Service guy, that I work as a Waiter and if my Boss has a promotion on drinks, then it is my job to inform the customers of this promotion. The guy then said it was not is job to inform me, I have to tell them. I immediately put the phone down and called back to speak to a Manager. Once I explained what happened, she apologized and upgraded my TV package from a M to a L at no extra cost. Because of this and other problems I have had throughout the pass16 Months, I now get £20.00 discount per Month for life. I pay £31.00 for XL-TV, 10 mb Internet and my phone.

    There will always be some type of problem with any company. It's how you deal with it is the issue. Don't take s**t. Service a bit better now. I will never opt for Sky.


  • unhappy

    by Mujaharr Ramdah at 8:55 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I called Virgin Media yesterday and they called my mother a turkey headed buffoon over the phone due to her inability to set up the modem. I was most upset.

  • unhappy

    by Paul Young at 1:26 on 16 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Got this yesterday from Virgin - Be warned


    Hello there,

    We’ve noticed recently that you’ve been using your Virgin Media Broadband connection to upload and download a lot more than we’d expect.

    While we’re pleased that you’re enjoying using our broadband service, when someone downloads an unusually large amount of information over a long period of time, it can slow down the internet speed for other users. So, to make sure our service is fair for everybody, we’ll need to moderate the speeds of your service as mentioned in our Acceptable Use Policy.

    If the amount that you’ve been downloading is affecting other Virgin Media users during peak times, we normally only reduce your speeds to 512Kbps for the rest of the day, and this is usually enough to help us make sure that everyone can enjoy a speedy broadband connection. But, if your use is higher than normal during the peak times of the week, and doesn’t seem to be getting any less even with the reduction to 512Kbps, we’ll eventually reduce your broadband speed during peak times to 80Kbps – and that’s for the rest of the week.

    How this affects you
    Because we have seen prolonged high usage on your account, we’ll be moderating the internet use during peak times for the rest of this week (until Sunday night).
    This means that from 4pm to midnight from Monday to Friday, and 10am to midnight on Saturday and Sunday your broadband service will be 80Kbps (that’s just faster than a dial-up connection). During these times you might want to stagger your use, so that you’re not doing everything in one go. Outside of these times, you’ll be able to use your service as normal, with speeds of up to 8Mb. If you’d like to find out a bit more about why we do this just click here.

    Keeping track of what you’re using
    To avoid this happening again, you can cut down on the amount you’re downloading at peak times and, after Sunday, we’ll put things on your account back to normal. To help keep track on this, there are lots of handy tools available on the internet which can tell you how much you’re downloading over a specific period.
    If the next time we look at our users we notice that you’re still downloading more than we’d expect, we’ll just apply the usage restrictions again and let you know what’s happening.

    Want to know more about our Acceptable Use Policy? Just click here to read the whole thing.


    The Virgin Media team

  • neutral

    by susie at 18:47 on 13 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin are hopeless. I have been with them for 3 years and have noticed on 3 separate occassions theyhave just added on things like mobile international calling of £1.50 and international calls £1.50 and when questioned they said i saked for it...... wrong they just added it. when asked ot remove it and decrease my package you get cut off and advisors say sorry i can only help you if you wan to upgrade then you call again only to find that the advisor it totaly putting obstacles in the way so that you think you are on a better package. totally fed up with them and going to BT. Goodbye Virgin i thought Richard Branson was a decent bloke is really has got htis all wrong. Start thinking and treating your new customers better to keep them and then focus on new ones Richie!

  • unhappy

    by mike at 0:31 on 8 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    The truly sad part of VMs broadband packages at present are their not-advertised traffic management policies, since this first came out over a year ago now it has gotten progressively worse and ever more draconian.
    The only package not to have stm is the new 50mb package, even VM knew that would be suicide, but CEO Neil Berkett has already confirmed that 50mb will have stm later this year.
    So all in all VM do indeed have fast BB the only problem is this supposed "unlimited" service is only unlimited currently after 21.00.
    Whats the point in having a sports car if whenever you use it an engine governor kicks in to slow you down to Ford Escort speeds.
    Once was a good product, but now the overloaded network is creaking at the seams....I really wouldn't bother.

  • unhappy

    by Mr Lewis at 23:46 on 1 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin Media have been a complete nightmare!! They wont let you leave and keeping changing prices and generally messing you around by sneeky price contract increase. Dont use this dodgy lousy company - go elswhere.

  • unhappy

    by CJ at 15:16 on 1 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I was paying £10/mnt for 2meg broadband without any tv/phone. They are asking me to pay £18/m to go to their new package, but if u say thats too much, they do a 'S' package for £15/m that they DONT ADVERTISE.

    I still think that this is too much for a 'restricted' service.

  • unhappy

    by mal at 21:52 on 31 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    If you pay for 10mbspeed @ 163;35 a month you should get 10mb. What a joke this is.

    Virgin Media to trial traffic management

    21st April 2008
    Virgin is to trial some traffic management to help with the network efficiency. (JOKE)
    Virgin Media are to run trials in Preston, Wigan, Blackpool, Camden, Dalston, Enfield and Haringey to try some traffic management that will aim at making the network more efficient.
    Virgin Media Broadband to trial traffic managementWhat Virgin Media are trailing is different download and upload limits between different time periods of the day and also based on what package you are on with them.
    Once the cap is reached then users on the M & L broadband packages will have their download speed reduced to 1Mb and upload speeds to 128Kb, .
    It is likely that this trial will eventually result in a rollout across the Virgin Media network of these new traffic management restrictions.
    So whats the point in having a high download speed,Virgin don't say anything about cutting your speed down when advertising on tv. (What a joke)

  • unhappy

    by Susku at 23:43 on 30 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Since Virgin took over from Telewest its gone from bad to worse, - VM is a total nightmare! They cannot provide the speeds they are supposed to, and it makes me angry to see how they are advertising the same service to my neighbours for a cheaper price. They should first make sure that their existing customers are getting the service, before trying to get even more people to use their overly congested cables.

    My retired parents get a better BB service in Spain! Why are the English consumers allowed to be ripped off? These big companies can get away with anything.

  • unhappy

    by Craig at 1:20 on 30 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Im using VM's 20mb BB and to begin with it was brilliant. I was getting between 10 - 19mb bandwidth nearly all of the time. However last year in september i was online when i suddenly lost connection for about 10 minutes for no reason, when it returned i tested my bandwidth only to realize it was only 2mb. I called their custome services and was told that my bandwidth was crappy due to my online gaming. I thought at the time that it was a fob off by them and now im 100% positive that it was, since then i have been checking my bandwidth nearly every day, have stopped downloading and online gaming just to see what difference it would make (if any). 6 months later with constant checks of my bandwidth and i still have not seen my bandwidth above 5mb, most of the time it is a lousy 1 or 2mb. If i knew VM was this bad i would have told them to stick it where the sun doesnt shine, i say forget about joining VM. im stuck in a contract with them so my next step is trading standards to sue them for breaching the contract. Should be fun!

  • unhappy

    by stuart at 15:19 on 24 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    If it's the last thing you ever do, do not go to virgin! for the last 8 months i have battled with their useless customer service team who "never" admit they are wrong. i have been over billed on 3 occasions, upgraded and charged without my consent and the offer you see printed in the paper is full of add on charges. for the last 3 months they have taken money out of my account at different times and on one occasion it cost me a £30 bank charge. they dont have a clue on how to run a media company. Save yourself a lot of grief and give these jokers a wide berth.

  • unhappy

    by steve at 10:14 on 24 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I am trying to get out of my Virgin broadband contract but they wont let me, even though I am not getting the speeds I agreed to. Also I think if you sign a contract then the price should not go up during that 12 months. Now we have zero inflation yet Virgin spent a packet printing glossy flyers to tell me my speed was being "upgraded" soon from 2mb to 10mb. Great, until you read a separate letter informing you that it is going up £2 a month. I originally signed for a 2mb unlimited download contract, subsidised by me switching my phoneline over to them. It turns out that if you use 500mb....yes...just half a gigabyte....your service is capped (or "managed" as they describe it!) for 24 hours without warning.
    I was accused of clogging-up the network for everyone in my neighbourhood! What...half a gigabyte on a 2mb fibre-optic line...when they sell a 50mb package as well....good grief they think we are all stupid. I wonder how many people are unaware of this - test your broadband speeds people! You are paying the full price for less than half the agreed bandwidth, or even a tenth of the agreed bandwidth on a 10mb contract. If this was gas,electric, water, food, then people would be up in arms...so why not with broadband?
    With a wifi router and 4 kids the service is virtually unusable when being capped...just about all you can do is email...not download or stream video...certainly not voip/skype....so you have to use the virgin landline instead....how can all this be legal???

  • unhappy

    by Justin at 8:05 on 23 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin provide the worst broadband "service" I've ever used. The supposed 2MB speed is rarely above 0.5MB and is often sub dial-up speed. The "customer support" is unhelpful and only provide stock answers. We've been told the slow speed is due to routine maintanence, but it's been like this for several months now, just awful. We're going back to BT. Don't use Virgin!

  • unhappy

    by Eileen at 14:04 on 19 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I have the XL Virgin Media package. Up until last September 08 everything was fine but now I am lucky if I can use the internet at all. Like others, my son and I have gone through all the motions of talking to their helpline, had engineers out etc. Nothing wrong with our set up. Its the location, lots of new student customers and insufficiant capacity. Yet they are rolling out the 50mb soon.

    I am reluctant to change but am paying a lot of money for the package and not getting what I pay for. Do I hang fire and see if it gets resolved or do I change now? I don't want Sky TV as this in itself has its own problems. Maybe freeview/free sat, BT line and BE Broadband? If VM are monitoring all these complaints,perhaps they would like to do something about customers paying for something they are clearing not receiving!

  • unhappy

    by Jond at 19:57 on 17 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Like other reviewers I have found Virgin's customer services a complete waste of time. They refuse to accept a simple fault report, only sending a DIY check list implying the customer has a faulty set up. I now have a new router and all new filters etc between my router and the BT socket, total cost circa £90, and it has made no difference. A visit to the Virgin site's 'help' revealed that they have been aware of the problems that I am suffering - slow speeds and intermittent service up to 2 hours - for at least two or three weeks and don't seem willing or able to sort things out. All they seem to want is for me to transfer to cable, which I am not prepared to do as it would involve taking up a large section of block paving which would probably not be reinstated to it's original condition.
    My next contact with Virgin will be a request for a MAC code.

  • unhappy

    by J-Dog at 15:36 on 11 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I was saddened to come against such fierce resistance with Virgin media's customer service department. I'm a Computing Science PHD student and rely on constant and speedy conenctions for all sorts of data transfer-related work. I'm also well versed in the use of networks and the jobs ISP's Should be doing to provide services.

    In a previous address Virgin was providing a solid 6-8mb on a 10mb connection, occasionally peaking at 9.5mb mid week and slumping to a low of around <3mb on Sundays (commonly reffered to as the 'sunday lag' with my housemates). Recently however, after moving in with my partner, whose also on a Virgin media package; I can say that customer service has been downright awful.

    Disregarding problems related to not providing OnDemand services, Virgin had the gall to deny technical problems on their end relating to service provision. Awful speeds of 0.4mb download, and less than 0.2mb upload were addressed by their customer support as 'being my own problem.'

    Only through the usual dance of the 'I'd like to cancel my services...' phone call has any action being taken and rectified (download now around 1.6-2mb, upload 0.5mb). For a company that advertises the mother of all broadband services, I can only rate them as the mother of all pain in the necks. I'd recommend user avoid any Virgin media packages, you are much better off finding an independant broadband-only company than locking yourself into any long-term contracts.

  • unhappy

    by Martin at 10:21 on 5 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I have been a Virgin customer for over three years and had acceptable if not earth shattering service and speeds.
    That was until Virgin so kindly undertook to update some element of the exchange at the beginning of 2009.
    This invisible upgrade has now resulted in nearly two weeks, !! yes,two weeks of total loss of internet connectivity, this comes four service failures in four weeks prior.
    Each day I call the Virgin 10p per min customer service number and go through the routine.
    It tookthem over 1 week to actually attend to the fault, they then said it was repaired it when it was not.
    I am doubly heartbroken as I lost my job recently and rely on the internet for opportunities, I am sending this from the library!
    Virgin have been appaling in putting it right, if anyone knows who to sue in this situation please post some info.
    As soon as practical I will switch to BT; it seems stupid to not use the organ grinder, all the monkey does is pooh in my hat.

  • unhappy

    by Andrew at 7:00 on 4 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    VM's broadband service has been the most infuriating waste of time and money I have ever experienced with a utility. Their customer support is as elusive as a slippery eel and about as much use at fixing problems. So glad I've left them - I now have an internet service using BT's old copper wires that is more than twice as fast as VM's fiberoptic cable and yet is half the price. How daft is that?

  • unhappy

    by Jason at 22:00 on 27 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    I have swapped and changed my broadband provider loads of times; whenever my contract ran out I was always on the lookout for a better deal. Virgin Media offered a good deal so I went with them.
    12 months of painfully slow internet!
    I have since moved away to another company , I use the same computer on the same phone line (everything is the same), but now my speeds are fast and relyable. Virgin Media gets my vote for worst ever ISP.

  • unhappy

    by Sam at 16:00 on 27 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    This is the WORST company and telecom service I have ever come acros. The lousiest customer service. They are so unhelpful and offer crap services. When you contact them, their staff dont now wats going on and take you round in circles. they never give you what they promise! Stay Away!!!!

  • unhappy

    by dave at 11:41 on 22 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    been with virgin since telewest
    telewest was great virgin is rubbish keep clear of them
    i am paying £25 a month for unlimited 10Mbits
    lucky if i get 1Mbit
    so slow i can't even check my email at night

  • unhappy

    by NN at 14:05 on 21 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    PLEASE stay away from these people. I have had a FAULT now for over one month and they do NOTHING about it.

    They are quite simply the worst providers out there. You cannot imaging how bad the customer service and technical support. This has got to be the worst experience I have ever had.

    You have been warned.

  • happy

    by Nick at 22:45 on 19 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    Got 10mb get around 8-10mb constant, no issues.
    I think people with 10mb getting only 2mb you really need to look at your optins
    eg. Firewalls, security etc.
    Set up your pc correctly and you will get results.

  • unhappy

    by James at 13:05 on 18 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    If you're considering going with Virgin, one word...don't.

    We're on 20mb package...takes 10+ seconds to load google, download speeds of roughly 50kb/s or less (should be 2000kb/s).

    I'm currently uploading at 0.5kb/s, should be closer to at least 500kb/s.

    They promise engineers will be sent, they never arrive. Customer/Tech support over the phone is practically non-existant, they simply hang up if they dont know what the problem is.

    Will be taking legal action against them...

  • unhappy

    by J.Butler at 13:00 on 16 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    The worst service of any company I've ever used.... EVER!

    Simply staggering how bad both their product and customer services are. You would have to be trained to be this bad.

    As for the package itself, abysmal. Never had anything even approaching 1/4 of the speed they're contracted to provide. All their guff about cable not slowing down is a nonsense. They simply don't have the bandwidth they're trying to sell their customers.

    Truely the worst product and support I have ever experienced.


  • unhappy

    by FAC at 1:22 on 14 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    The worst customer service ever
    Dont get involve with this people

  • unhappy

    by scotty at 15:10 on 13 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    VM is rubbish very bad service you dont get half the speed your paying for if you complain your computer is the problem

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: