« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 13

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by Blacktemplar at 22:03 on 26 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    Have been with Virgin for some time now, and am on the XL package with 20Mb broadband. We are on cable and a wired modem, close to the exchange and yet we rarely see more than 3-4Mb download speed. Ping times often run into the hundereds of ms, and at the moment (9pm) I'm getting 3-400 kbps download speed. When I'm paying a hefty premium for the higher speed service, it's a bit hard to swallow when the service is this poor. I can appreciate that there are times when net traffic is high (ie now) but to drop back to speeds I could get on dial-up 10 years ago is just not good enough. The simple fact is that Virgin (and NTL before them) were greedy and took in too many customers without making the corresponding investment in technology and hardware. Wouldn't recommend VM to anyone thinking of changing to get a "better" broadband experience, though to be fair I haven't had too many Customer Service problems with them recently (apart from the inevitable half-hour wrangle on the phone with some muppet in Mumbai that is....)

  • unhappy

    by pipes at 0:28 on 25 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I cannot possibly reccomend VM broadband. It's slow most of the time, in the evenings we are talking dial up speeds or worse, there DNS servers are widely regarded as dying on there arse.

    When you are getting the speeds your paying for then your likely to hit the STM limit within an hour or so, at which point you'll be s***listed for 5 hours and get ping times so bad the internet is effectively unusable. Speaking of ping times VM are consistently bad, I've had >4 seconds (!!!) between 2 VM connections in the same city, I've also seen VM ADSL take 12 hops to get to a datacenter 6 miles away.

    They love there headline grabbing speeds but you won't see them, the network isn't up to providing existing customers with what they paid for and DOCSIS 3 hasn't turned out to be the magic bullet VM apologisers hoped for.

    Oh yeah and it isn't fibre optic either.

  • happy

    by hammerboy at 17:32 on 10 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    have vip package on fiberoptic system and would recomend to anyone who can get it, over 19mb download and scince they took over from ntl

  • happy

    by Sparkatb at 22:47 on 9 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    Been with Telewest, VM for about 15 years. Had broadband ever since it came out, always upgraded to the next fastest speed. Now got 50Mb. Cutting a long story short, their customer service are mostly clueless about pricing and 50Mb stuff, their only down fall.

    Ive got a really good line signal, yet live real far from the local cable office/ubr, and i live in a large built up area. Nearly always get maximum&sustained download speeds, it baffles me at the amount of peoples reviews i read on the inet about VM speeds.

  • neutral

    by Baz at 13:48 on 8 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    xl package, tv ok. phone ok. 20Mbit varies between 45k to 800k. I think they ought to get their act together and sort the bband out. The above speed is for downloads.

  • neutral

    by Tom at 20:55 on 3 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    I am generally an advocate of Virgin, and thought I would sign up to Virgin Media until I read the reviews. It seems that Virgin have a long way to go before their customer service philosphy and culture has been adopted by the resident NTL team.

    I think I will stay with BT for now!

  • unhappy

    by Ilia D'Questi at 16:58 on 2 Jan 2009 Report abuse

    BB & phone facilities excellent - BUT ADMIN, BILLING SUPPORT ARE CRIMINAL!!! They stole money from my bank account, so I cancelled the DD, and they had the gall to charge me £5 pcm for protecting myself against their thievery! For the greatest part, Customer Service, from lowest to highest, even in CEO's office, are the most ignorant, obstructive, rude, dishonest abusive creatures I have ever encountered - bar none! When I refused to pay their extortion, they cut me off, so I paid up and deducted the amount from my next bill payment. Next thing I know, they tell outrageous lies about me, between themselves and their departments, on the phone to me, and in writing to me, accusing me of being aggressive and abusive - LIARS! And I have the proof in my extremely detailed records, including recordings of the phonecalls! So, I had enough of thier criminality and currently have a legal claim against them. However, because I dared to officially challenge them they notified me their going to terminate my services! Liars, cowards, thieves, abusers, and generally unprincipled, dishonest scum!

  • unhappy

    by DAVE at 12:23 on 29 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    THEY SAY THEY CAN GIVE YOU UPTO 50 MEG DOWNLOAD, ID LIKE TO SEE HOW WHEN THEY CARNT MANAGE 8 MEG, THE LINE I HAVE INTO MY HOME HAS NEVER BEEN UPDATED TO CARRY THE DATA, ID WANT PROOF THAT IT CAN BE DON BEFORE i SIGN ANY CONTRACT WITH THEM, JUST CHECKED MINE, IM PAYING FOR 8 MEG AND NOT EVEN GETTIN 2 MEG

  • unhappy

    by brian atkins at 13:27 on 18 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    we had virgin put in over a week ago and we havn't had a day where we havn't gone off line you phone customer service and get no where especially the indian call centre, who are quite rude in there attitude, plus i cannot get my laptop on the net for more than 2mins and this morning the phone went down they have sorted this (i think) people where phoning us it was ringing once and then going onto the answer machine, which as you can imagine is very annoying especially when your waiting for an important call. i wouldn't recommend them to anyone. STAY WELL CLEAR!!!!!!!!!!

  • happy

    by Paul at 10:22 on 18 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    The customer service seems to be a lot better than it used to be. I told them my TV and phone weren't working 2 days ago and they immediately fixed the TV remotely, and have just sent someone round to fix the phone. I've never had any problems with the broadband and I've been with them for over 5 years.

  • unhappy

    by bob..smith at 16:28 on 14 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    I signed up for NTL. The girl selling the servics said I'd get NTL. Turns out Virgin took over the next day, didn't even tell their sales people they were changing. They gave me an NTL set up disc which, of course was no good. Took me over a week to get up and running but , as they had just swapped to Virgin I gave them the benefit of my considerable doubts. I'm supposed to get 10mb, best I've ever got on ANY test is3.8. The service is lamentably poor and goes down frequently. On top of this they have decided to "cap" your use. I purchased this product so I could get some heavy use from the net so I am feeling very let down, especially when you bear in mind the amount they charge. Surely if they sell me a product that should work at 10 meg they should be able to provide that. I'm giving them a little while longer to sort it out and then I'm considering going to law to do them for at least miss-selling the service and at worst whatever else my law people can come up with. Instead of rationing my use of the service they should spend some of their huge profits on ensuring there is enough bandwidth, their servers are up to the job and providing decent customer service. If you have any choice as to where you get your broadband (at the time I didn't) DO NOT GO NEAR Virgin Media they are ****!!!

  • unhappy

    by Geoffers at 19:36 on 12 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Constant cut offs on broadband, slow speeds. 20MB? rubbish - no-where near that ever.1 Set top box stutters and they refuse to swap. When I ring they just reset both boxes.

  • unhappy

    by ray at 21:47 on 10 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin media Broadband XL
    Hi all well been with VM for 3yrs at have really had enough time for me to go tv phone bb all have had major issues over this year. The 20mbir which we pay for through the nose and its very slow. Slower than the chap next door to me who is on a BT line but think hes on adsl2 at 5.6mbit dl and it zips along faster than the crap i got off VM. And he pays a fraction of the price so am going via his route think BE or o2 cant wait to get off this rubbish VM service. Hope people take this on board do not buy VM services they lie, give you poor service. If you see Mr Branson please please kick him in the nuts feel sorry for the people who take calls from irate customers.

  • unhappy

    by gilly at 12:52 on 10 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin 20Mb is a load of ****!!!! Why limit normal downloads yet let peer2peer work normally?you'd think it would be the other way around

    REALLY BAD customer service!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Had enough! at 14:50 on 5 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    It's nice to know I'm not alone, but then I'm not surprised, given the abhorrent customer services at Virgin Media.

    Last December, without our permission, VM cancelled our direct debit. The first we knew of this was when they cut off all of our services because we hadn't paid our bill for 2 months. They refused to take responsibility for cancelling our direct debit, insisting that they would never do that. Yet they did.

    We noticed that the bill around this time also seemed very high - over £100 more than normal for the month. Worryingly, no one at VM could tell us what this extra amount was for. We made it clear that until we knew what the extra was for, we would not be paying it.

    This has continued all year. Each month we get the bill and pay what is due less the amount being queried. And each month we've gone through the same story - you cancelled our DD, leaving us in the red... then an amount appeared that you can't tell us what it is for, so until we know the answer, we'll not pay the full amount of the bill.

    Each month we get the same reply - we wouldn't have cancelled your DD, oh no way would we ever do that.... the extra amount seems to be charges carried over... umm...(from what they couldn't say).

    Several times this year they have cut all of our services due to the fact that we have been 'in the red' for many months now. What they don't do is listen or look at the complete story and see that it goes back to their cancelling our DD, that the amount in the red has been the same for 10 months yet we pay each months new charges on time.

    Due to a medical problem I fall over without warning. When I am alone at home I wear a special pendant that I can press if I need help. It is linked to our phone line, and I felt reassured when VM sent a form for my GP to verify the need for the phone line. This meant that they would give me notice of any works involving the cutting of the phone line.

    5 times this year they have cut all of our services and I have never had any warning. Last month I phoned to ask why they had cut the line without telling me first. The moron that I spoke to got very short with me when I asked him to explain his answer again. I told him that I have some brain damage and could he please be patient and help me understand why they did this. His reply was that I had taken up too much of his time and that he was going to end the call. I asked if he could put me through to the section that helped customers with special needs, and he hung up on me.

    I was so angry and upset. It's hard enough doing day to day tasks without being treated like that. VM couldn't give a damn about their customers.

    Last friday we received our bill. On Monday night they cut our services again. When I phoned customer services I went through to the Indian call centre. Before I had even explained what the problem was, the operator said very patronisingly "I'm very sorry to hear this".

    I'd had enough. She didn't know the story, she doesn't know me. I asked her why she was so sorry and her reply was "can you hold on for 2 minutes?" I asked why, yet she put me on hold anyway. I hung up and phoned back and was put through to the UK customer services.

    Virgin Media haven't just shortened my life, they've also put me in physical danger, they've patronised me and they've treated me like a second class citizen because of my disability.

    I can't wait until we move in a few months time when we will leave Virgin Media for good.

    Don't touch them with a barge pole! They'll do your head in!

  • unhappy

    by Asare Bediako Addai at 9:30 on 5 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    I'm supposed to be on upto 10mb Virgin Media broadband and alledgedly in the best location to receive this service. Current service supply tested is 4.4mb

  • happy

    by Anthony (Lancs) at 17:17 on 3 Dec 2008 Report abuse

    Have been with Virgin/Telewest for about 5 years now and can honestly say ive never had a problem that wasnt sorted out the same day. as for their broadband no problems there either im on 20 Mb and thats exactly what i get from quality web sites (Microsoft,Playstation network etc), works out at over 2MB/sec, if your not getting this i sugest you check the modem they supplied is still up to it as some of the old ones max out at 10 Mb.

  • unhappy

    by Jan Jacey at 13:54 on 22 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    DONT BUY VIRGIN MEDIA !!! I am on the fastest speed, supposed to be 20mb, most evenings its running at 250k, yes k !!! a quarter of a mb. I have called and called and the Indian help line is a total joke, they will tell you anything to get you off the line. They have admitted that this area is oversubscribed, So, they are selling broadband packages that they cannot provide, my next step is to contact watchdog and trading standards. I also noted on their website they are introducing a faster speed.. another joke, !! they are not anywhere near providing what they advertise now...

  • unhappy

    by p****doffoxford at 1:39 on 21 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    i feel totally conned!!!! on the XL package, but max ive ever got is 14mg and most of the timie getting bout 800kbps......its stupid really, heaven only knows how they get away with it!!!!!

  • neutral

    by QUEEN BATAA. at 19:41 on 19 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    IT IS NICE TO HEAR REVIEWS ABOUT THIS COMPANY, BUT I HAVE BEEN WITH THEM FOR MANY YEARS AND I NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM, WELL I HAVE A FEW MINOR ONES THE MOST PROBLEMS I GET IS WITH MY T.V THERE IS ALWAYS SOME THING WRONG IT FREEZES A LOT, SOME TIMES IT DOES NOT COME ON FOR DAYS I FOR ONE I DONT WATCH T.V MUCH SO WHEN AM READY IT NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS.

  • unhappy

    by Mike at 20:42 on 18 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    If you don't read all of this review then that's fine, just read the last line.

    Prepare to waste hours of your life, emailing, on hold listening to awful music, being passed around from person to person so you can explain your problems all over again. Billed incorrectly, changed my package without my knowledge, slows speeds, terrible customer service, (1 hour 12 minutes to sort out a billing issue to be told to write to head office) Emailed a complaint to get an email back saying "sorry about this, why not get in touch via our website or customer services"
    Over 1 hour on remote support to be told "you have a line fault", ok I said, report it to BT, Sorry they said, don't have that facility, phone in on this number. Start again to be told something else by someone. Virgin Media has shortened my life. You have been warned.

  • unhappy

    by mark gloucester at 22:06 on 12 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I have reviewed already but forgot to say that according to my software my so called super fast optical fibre braudband keeps disconecting at an alarming rate!

    stay away virgin needs to look at what its selling as its not what they say it is.

  • unhappy

    by mark gloucester at 22:02 on 12 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    been with virgin ( telewest ) for some years now, But have recently noticed a drop in braudband speed, pages slow to open internet shopping a nightmare.

    I pay for 10meg and get at best 5 meg off peak times and peak it virtually stops!

    Indian call centre is a joke, unless you get the right person you cant understand the brocken english, What they dont advertise is the fact they limit your speed at peak times when you most want it!
    All they say on the adverts how its the fastest because of optical fibre guess that true from a technical point of view, but in reality its not true as they have slowed most of us down when we most want it.

    Instead of telling us that its our fault for using to much they should own up and say they have over subscribed there system and can only keep going by robbing its customers of bandwidth and still taking a premium of money from us. I am now activley seeking a new supplier!

  • unhappy

    by Tom at 8:48 on 12 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media, the self proclaimed "Mother of all broadband". Quite some boast, however the only mother I would compare them to is one that only works 2-3 days per week part-time and not a chance would they ever consider working at weekends!

    Easily the worst Internet Service Provider I have ever had the misfortune to use. People, you have been warned!!!

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 17:29 on 11 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Not a good service have been with them for a long time and im not impressed. I have recently developeded a problem with my broad band speeds. considering im surposed to be on the 20meg package my speeds drop as low as 150k at peak times and packet loss can cause disconnects at the worst moment. After several calls to the foreign call center and an engineer who says there is nothing wrong with my speed as he visited at 8am i will be forced to cancel and try another provider. Shame really all was good while it lasted

  • unhappy

    by Juganault at 20:57 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    i pay for an 8meg connection, and at best i get 2meg, which is now limited to 512 as i am a 'heavy user' ! tell me, how can i be a 'heavy user' when i cannot even access 75% of the bandwidth i pay for ?! waste of time.

  • unhappy

    by dont do it at 21:11 on 7 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Ive just signed up with Virgin 8mb £7.50 for 3 months then £15 for the remaining 9 months.

    i wish i hadnt got near the beard :(
    the first day i was very happy with over 8mb d/l speed,now i get 450k yes K.

    what a heap of ****...DONT DO IT.
    and i thought BT were bad.

  • happy

    by matt at 14:26 on 7 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    i dont know what u all moaning about i have had no trouble in the time i have been with VM my speeds have been consistent customer services have always been good i just think u all get yourselfs upon the bandwagon and moan moan moan YAWN i know people on sky- virgin is ok dont believe the hype

  • unhappy

    by Mike Bateman at 13:52 on 7 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I have just read all of the above reviews and wonder if Richard Branson has?

    I must agree with all of them, but even more. The BBand service is a joke and never performs well. It is often off line and their call centre says there is no problems. The phone is more failed than working lately and we have recently been blessed with another telephone numbr but didn't know it! All of the calls we made, some other poor soul has paid for and we are getting billed for someone elses's calls! Call centre claim this is inpossible - but we have it here. Mr Branson please call round and see for yourself. Finally we get to Television service. What service? Digital to me means little blocks of data running over the screen with strange noises like failed fireworks. We get all of this for £90+ per month!!! Pure bliss!

  • unhappy

    by D P Simmons at 18:16 on 6 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I cant stand them, my 2meg connection is always dropping to a misely 1meg because I may download content from XBox Martketplace and then I get a letter warning me of illegal downloading, what a bunch of Jokers, stupid beardy weirdy branson makes me vomit.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: