« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 15

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by Jon at 17:57 on 20 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    I get 200kbps off-peak.

    Enough said.

  • unhappy

    by Darren at 17:28 on 19 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    Had NTL for years and always had a good fast and most importantly reliable service up until about the start of the year I had pretty much the same service from Virgin then from about the end of January things have rapidly gone down hill.

    I've constantly been suffering from the following with streaming content, games and torrents the connection starts fine then after a short period it completely drops out then comes back, this happens a few times then it'll drop out completely yet the lights on the modem will say I'm still connected (backed up by my router still having an IP) but it won't send or recieve any data. The only way to fix this is to switch off/on the modem and wait for it to find a new IP which under NTL would take seconds but under virgin takes ATLEAST 10-15 minutes. this is an absolute disgrace.

    Called the tech support and got put through to india where the woman told me to reboot and turn the modem off and on. priceless advice.

    Moving shortly and defo won't be using VM

  • unhappy

    by Noise at 16:12 on 19 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    Today i turned on my computer and what happened?? I got instant terrible speeds!!! It would appear that they just like to cap people all day long and piss people off!! Usually i do get good speeds (4MB) but today im barely getting 512KB and my ping is 450ms!!! Say goodbye to youtube!! We should all pick a day this month and cancel all our direct debits and see how those fuckers enjoy the inconvienience!!

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

  • unhappy

    by Mcmaster at 12:43 on 16 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    I have never seen a isp this bad. If you download 300mb they limit your download speed to 512kbs, which basically means you wont even get 10kbs download speed. What the hell kinda fair usage policy is this. AVOID VIRGIN AT ANY COST.

  • unhappy

    by Daavviid at 10:57 on 15 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media is cleverly advertising its high broadband speed while effectively the data stream (flow of data) is hampered not to permit any customer to watch movie nor play game on-line but you can check your email paying for 20MB!?!!. It is the only company that provides Internet through a CABLE (ADSL needs BT line). March 2008, they have introduced a restriction on download limits that hamper the DATA STREAM not the broadband SPEED which most of you are complaining. And to get rid of your complains about slow connection" they have increase the customer service call to 25p/m.

    What a clever way to make profit out of ignorance customers!

  • happy

    by Reality Check at 9:27 on 12 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    I have to respond to the guy who was complaining that he only recieved 200k from a 4 meg line.

    Dude if anything your only suppose to recieve 400k tops form a 4meg line after considering the line constraints & so on. You were talking about previously recieving 3900k when NTL were in charge very unlikely, dude that would have meant that you were working with a 40meg line get real.

    I've got the larg package 20meg line & i recieve 2.34meg down constantly & i'm happy with the service.

  • unhappy

    by dhl1 at 10:40 on 11 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    Last year I was having nightmare problems with the broadband, I was signed up to their 4mb service, the simple task of opening a webpage was akin to loading a game on a spectrum 48k !

    Bearing in mind this was around july/august 2007, so virgin media were up and running, in other words any decisions made were by virgin media and not ntl.

    I telephoned to complain and terminate the account, things had got that bad.

    When I called I was offered a free upgrade to 20mb for 12 months.
    I had a letter from them some 4 weeks ago saying that I was not paying enough for my telephone service, which is odd as I am with BT.
    I emailed them and told them I am not with them for phone and asked them to explain.
    They replied that a 1 month discount was applied to the account 2007 but this had run over.
    I replied that I was told 12 mnts, then they called me and the agent said the file said 6 months !
    I made it clear I would not have agreed to that.
    The case is now with cisas.
    Avoid.

  • unhappy

    by anon555 at 0:57 on 5 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    I used to be a Telewest customer and the service was briiliant just before Branson took over I jump ship to SKY BB they were offering 16mb for £10pm I Live close enough to a exchange to be getting 12mb + couldn't be happier it's cheaper more reliable while I haven't been a Virgin Media I do have many friends who are or have been Virgin Media and deserting in droves due to speeds as slow as dialup to the connection dropping 25p a minute Indian customer support centre

    From what I can tell they're giving bandwidth priority to new sign ups and slowing old loyal customers down one friend whose been a Telewest/Virgin media customer for 2+ years has seen his speed virtually stop since Virgin Media connected up 4 new customers in his road yet Virgin customer support say there's no problem and he must have spyware or viruses on his pc (more bull) I wiped his pc and did a clean install of windows xp still the same speeds they also like traffic shape between 4-9pm

    RICHARD BRANSONS THE PROBLEM

  • unhappy

    by susieee at 14:18 on 2 Apr 2008 Report abuse

    i was with telewest which was fantastic for me , since i have been with virgin , im disgusted with them , poor service all round im in the middle of watch footie with my son , zapp gone , i try to get other channes ahh if im lucky tut , poor speed on intetnet ( yes i know about speeds ect ) no mainline phone saturday sunday and monday looks like i will leave i pay £ 70 a month a lot of money for nothing tut come on branson sort it out before you have no costumers tut ( sory about spellings im not happy )

  • unhappy

    by nibbler at 19:06 on 31 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    Why no decent email response to queries ?
    Customer service stinks

  • unhappy

    by andy 1 at 21:26 on 30 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    Totally crap ! , bordering on fraud ! ! . I have their "so called" Elite 20Mbit service @ £37 mth but am luck if I get 4Mbit download speeds ! !

    Terrible customer service ! , managed to give all my services to a new customer by mistake !! ,only found out when I could'nt access Web or phone . took them almost 1 week to fix ! ! - Am almost definatly going to cancel if these spivs dont buck their ideas up !. do yourselves a favour - A V O I D ! ! !

  • unhappy

    by mr cooper at 21:22 on 30 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    this is my speed with virgin media
    Type Speed KBPS
    56k modem 56
    256k DSL 256
    512k DSL 512
    1Mb DSL/Cable 1024
    2Mb DSL/Cable 2048
    4Mb DSL/Cable 4096
    8Mb DSL/Cable 8192
    You 32
    Results 816 kbits downloaded in 25.707 sec
    post office would be quicker suposed to have a 2048 conection and only getting 32

  • unhappy

    by Andrew at 0:29 on 28 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    DON'T DO IT TO YOURSELF! Terrible ISP, they were ok before the merge but now are not worth bothering with.

    I have another line on BeThere and its faultless, don't use VirginMedia

  • unhappy

    by Charles K at 17:48 on 26 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    I've been a Telewest/Virgin customer for just over 8 years now and I can honestly say that this is the first time I've seriously considered ditching my cable connection. The service under Telewest was generally pretty good, my connection speed was fast and on the whole reliable. Since the Virgin take over however things have rapidly gone down hill. The speed of my connection has dropped, it's supposed to be 20Mb but its now slower than when it was a 10Mb connection. And as for the new "Fair usage policy" all I can say is that it's an utter disgrace, and the ruination of what was once a good service. Whats the point of offering a 20Mb service and then limiting it's usage to a total of 3Gb of data in the 5 hours of peak time? How can that be called an "unlimited" service?

    And as for charging 25p per minute for their usless tech support line, that's just outrageous and a complete rip off!

    Unfortunately I don't have a BT line or else I'd be gone like a shot.

    Location: Gloucester

  • unhappy

    by Foxy at 17:26 on 24 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    Oh dear.. I get no internet connection in the early mornings - upto 0830am - and Virgin Media haven't a clue why.
    Time to move on to a more professional outfit I think.

  • unhappy

    by ONE-WAY-SYSTEM at 20:30 on 21 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    first off i will be amazed if this gets posted before i get cut off, what a joke vm are, branson needs a good kick up the arse for letting this happen in the first place. ntl were great for years i was with them, so when the switchover came i spoke to virgin and they said, i will be running 6 times faster than what i was with ntl? great i was well happy! thieving, lieing, is all i have to say to that. wtf and how do these people get away with it? i shall be terminateing my account and will be more than happy to a court apearance and to see the scumbags locked up for good. i see richard branson in a new light these dayz! with a stocking over is head robbing

  • unhappy

    by michael at 12:54 on 19 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    What can i say - spent all weekend on the phone to India at 25p a minute after my connection failed. Virgin blamed my router, despite the fact it's been working fine for more than two years. Had my router tested by D-Link, and they proclaimed it fine. Back to Virgin India, who claimed it was a problem with my settings. Having determined my settings were fine, the operator had no more technical know-how than an average ten year old. After asking for a reference number for the problem (he couldn't give one), i rang again to ask if they had been unbundling at the exchange. The new operator changed his tune and said yes, there are problems with broadband at the moment, but wouldn't tell me what they were or when they would be fixed. It's now day six, and i dont know what the problem is, when it's likely to be resolved or who i'm supposed to talk to about it.
    Steer well clear of Virgin Media - fine when running, but woe betide anyone who wants to talk to someone when it packs up.

  • unhappy

    by Mr C at 21:46 on 15 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    I am an ex NTL customer who cut a discount broadband and phone 'loyalty' deal with Virgin on the anniversary of my renewal after making it clear I wasn't going to stick with them.

    What a mistake.

    I've barely been able to use my cable internet due to slow server and dropped lines in the last week - seems slower than dial up although its supposed to be 8mb. Even when its working I cant get more than 3mb.

    In my opinion, the company's download speed claims border on the fraudulent. Surely OFCOM should be doing something serious about this.

  • unhappy

    by SRH at 15:51 on 15 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    I've been a VM customer now for 3 months and the initial contact with their customer support was helpful although it takes a while to get through. I have taken VM television, telephone and 20MB broadband service. I've had problems with the television set top box not providing television programme information about 20 % of the time, really irritating when you hope to get additional programme information. Anyway I have had the engineer out just when the set top box decided to work properly again and he informed me that this problem was common and it happens sometimes but didn't offer any solution to it. My broadband speed should be 20MB and I'm averaging 3 4 MB which is way off the mark. Again after many times on the support line, oh dear what can I say, they sent an engineer out who gave me the answer that my area is being upgraded on 13th March 2008, this time has come and gone and my broadband speed, you've guessed it, remains at 3 4MB. Thanks for the bullshit Virgin Media,

  • unhappy

    by Lewis Ferguson at 21:47 on 13 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    Had great connection from Telewest until virgin took over... it was ok for a few months but lately it has been utter **** to say the least... After having a speed upgrade from 4Mb to 10Mb, i can download small stuff faster, e.g. an MP3 file. But when it comes to something like the PS3 Update files, it looks away at first sight... Would recommend to stay away from them!

  • unhappy

    by Nicholas Boswell at 11:49 on 9 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    I am new to this hole pc and broadband stuff but however only ever been with virgin I cant say a lot.But my friends on the other hand do know there stuff and are saying what am paying for is not what am getting.I pay for XL 20mb BUT ONLY GET less than 1mb.I've had them out to look at my modem,lines the lot.when the guy came around he checked my speed and it showed 23mb and on avg it was saying 18mb not bad.1 day later and back to 1mb not a happy chap at all.

  • unhappy

    by none2 at 23:33 on 6 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    The customer services department is utterly useless. Nobody responds to emails or reads your letters properly; and I had to cancel my direct debit, and threaten the directors of the company with service of proceedings at their home addresses, before the file was transferred (two months later) to someone intelligent, who was actually willing to make an effort to restore my telephone service. Fine if you are litigation lawyer, with a second BT line, and it costs you peanuts to make their lives miserable through the courts, if necessary (they came within two hours of that). But if you are not, choose someone else.

  • unhappy

    by David Homfray at 20:40 on 4 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media are the worst company I have ever dealt with, they are totally useless and make me bloody angry. I have the VIP package which is supposedly 20Mb and HiDef telly. The cable TV keeps cutting out and stuttering and stopping. I know the broadband download speed is slower than stated but I could send letters by post quicker. It is no point phoning and complaining because some dude in the middle of nowhere has no knowledge and no ability to change or manipulate any outcome so all it does is cost you more money. I supposed to spend a fixed amount as I pay for all sort of VIP extra's and I never use the phone but there is never a month goes by where I don't spend another £20 or so. If anybody is thinking about moving to VM don't, don't, don't

  • unhappy

    by Mr Marks at 21:34 on 3 Mar 2008 Report abuse

    R.I.P NTL. After about 8PM (If im lucky) Internet struggles to even load simple web pages. Playing games online became a Definate "No No!"
    This has been happening on an off ever since the switch. Also, the connection speed fails to reach even 1/4 of what its expected to be. Like many others i fail to connect higher than 200kbp/s. 50kbp/s is a Decent speed for me. Not quite 2 MB?
    (Other people in my town have the EXACT same problem)

  • happy

    by Nick Cooper at 19:53 on 28 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Well ive had virgin bband since oct 07 it started off so quick i was amazed,i have the XL package,it seemed to b downloading off the xbox marketplace site extremely slowly and i thought it was all down to virgin but im pretty sure its the microsoft servers being used in abundance since the mass influx of xbox subscribers in the last few months,anyway i ran a few tests on the speed and its fine and evrything is running fine so im happy anyway.Its a shame for you lot the r having problems because it seems that if you have probs with one the next provider is no better anyway.good luck trying to sort out your problems :-)

  • unhappy

    by James Henderson at 18:38 on 28 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Not a great service, when I was with Telewest Broadband I had no problems, my broadband was speedy and if there was any problems or if service was slow Telewest would fix this problem almost immediately and send an e-mail of appology. However since Virgin has taken charge it has been to put it kindly pathetic, I pay for 2MB broadband which isn't really great I know but it raley runs at over 500KB, I clocked it at 249KB the other day. I have considred upgrading to 8MB broadband and then perhaps there will be a chance my broadband will run at 2MB ?
    Anyway I have had very poor service from Virgin and I would not recommend them to my worst enemy so if you are considering joining I advise you not to.

  • unhappy

    by Peter at 10:33 on 28 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media are a bunch of robbers, my internet keep dropping out, its slow, and the customer service shocking, I've already cancelled the TV, and they are still charging me for it!!! I'll be cancelling the lot shortly, but who can I use instead??

  • unhappy

    by Foreigner at 22:45 on 27 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    what do u think about upload speed? my mate sent me some mp3 file trough skype from abroad yesterday and the speed was about 200kBps and today was sending it to other friend who lives here in peterborough. the speed was no more than 12 kBps :(

  • happy

    by James at 20:57 on 22 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I have been with Virgin for over 6 months now and its been great. There has been some down time but you get that with any provider, and its normanly fixed within 2 hours or less. I have been with 4 other providers in the past and Virgin has been the best..

    Oh and by the way, i dont work for virgin..

  • unhappy

    by Stuart Bates at 11:31 on 22 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I signed up to the 4mb service, after a month was dismayed at the average 200kbps download speed I was getting so called to complain, they told me I was on 2mb service, so told them to change me to what I originally asked for 4mb, they did that, now my download speeds are an average 300kbps !?!?!?!?!
    I was getting over 1400kbps on my old copper cable from Plus net, I am now on fiber optic so the distance from the exchange and the contention ratio should have little effect, my router is the same make, my pc has been formated and set up afresh so why the low speeds!!!
    VIRGIN MEDIA ARE A FRAUDULENT CON OF A COMPANY AND WHEN MY CONTRACT EXPIRES IM MOVING BACK TO STANDARD COPPER WIRE - THERE SHOULD BE A LAW STATING THE AVERAGE KBPS YOU SHOULD EXPECT FROM A PROVIDER ON ANY SPECIFIC PACKAGE!

    VIRGIN MEDIA ARE RIPOFF MERCHANTS!!!!!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: