« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 16

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by Stuart Bates at 11:31 on 22 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I signed up to the 4mb service, after a month was dismayed at the average 200kbps download speed I was getting so called to complain, they told me I was on 2mb service, so told them to change me to what I originally asked for 4mb, they did that, now my download speeds are an average 300kbps !?!?!?!?!
    I was getting over 1400kbps on my old copper cable from Plus net, I am now on fiber optic so the distance from the exchange and the contention ratio should have little effect, my router is the same make, my pc has been formated and set up afresh so why the low speeds!!!
    VIRGIN MEDIA ARE A FRAUDULENT CON OF A COMPANY AND WHEN MY CONTRACT EXPIRES IM MOVING BACK TO STANDARD COPPER WIRE - THERE SHOULD BE A LAW STATING THE AVERAGE KBPS YOU SHOULD EXPECT FROM A PROVIDER ON ANY SPECIFIC PACKAGE!

    VIRGIN MEDIA ARE RIPOFF MERCHANTS!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by The Ross's at 19:12 on 21 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Crap... Migrated into a crap service immediately it migrated to Virgin Media.

  • unhappy

    by Meenakshi at 17:02 on 17 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    oh well u cannot say anything about a service till u dont understand the type of connection that u have and the kind of speed calculation u r doing.800KB means 6Mega bits and downloads are always calculated in bytes may it be kilo bytes or mega bytes and the broadband speeds that u people have is megabits.And u are talking about people in india,Here a kid going to school would know how internet works and there in uk i have to explain an IT engineer what is a dynamic IP address.Indians too find it difficult to understand u people but they try and they are polite even if u say OH BLOODY INDIA.

  • unhappy

    by DARREN at 14:03 on 17 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Since becoming virgin media from blueyonder i changed to BT and although they state up to 8Mb i am recieving 0.5Mb where i live!!! They dont tell you this of course when they are taking the order. Used to get 3.6Mb with virgin but when playing online games the ping used to jump from 20 - 450 during gameplay which was unusable. On a good note although i only have a 1/2 Meg connection with BT the ping rate is constant at 50. So it is okay for what i need. Virgin Media are rubbish and shouls be avoided at all costs. their after sales is atrocious and after they have attempted to accuse you of having virus or spyware problems they will still do nothing.

  • unhappy

    by ians at 15:56 on 15 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I think Virgin Media Stinks to high heaven. I have had more out's ie. cannot get on line, phoning the hot line.( JOKE ) Is as frustrating as trying to get blood from a stone. First they make you dial this number, then press this then that then enter your phone number then press this option then another option, finally you get a recorded message telling you a load of old rubbish. Or you can phone a technician, for 10p connection charge and 25p per minute. I'm charged £35 per month for a package they are still advertising for £30 per month. Speeds of 2mb in this day and age are very slow. They said they were going to up grade the service. Two years on and we are still waiting. The price goes up and the service decreases. DON'T USE VIRGIN AS YOUR INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDER UNLESS YOU WANT SLOW UNRELIABLE INTERNET. I intend to find another provider.
    Ians.

  • unhappy

    by handy hints 2 at 2:19 on 13 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    sure wat to do contact your local cib or solicitor. and that apllies to ALL isp's not just virgin hope this helps you guys

    all the best

    tom

  • unhappy

    by handy hints at 2:12 on 13 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    ok guys some things 2 help you, if they say u get 4meg u got to have that otherwise offcom will come down on them, secondly if they are going to cap the service they have to write and give u 28 days notice (read the small print on your contract) also there are uk call centres for vm if u phone and u get through to india u can request that u speak to a uk advisor (dont worry about it if u think its racist because it isnt, if you simply want to speak to a uk advisor that you feel you would get a better service from them you ARE entitled to ask they should also give you a direct number for the uk call centres, be calm but firm with the advisor) also when you phone ask them to record the call as your complaint is going to offcom aswell and you want verbal conformation aswell as written. the bad news is guys vm have the right to charge you the money for the sevices weather you use them or not. and they could bring a ccj against you if you dont pay the bill. but if your are NOT

  • unhappy

    by nathan at 1:37 on 13 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I hate vm, ive had no end of problems with my billing, phone, tele, and broadband, AVOID AT ALL COST when i phoned vm coz of a problem with my bill i spoke to someone in india, i couldnt understand a bloody word the advisor was saying in the end i put the phone down, my contract is due to run out and guess what??? they renewed it without my authority, i payed late once or twice thru thier fault because they didnt put a pay by date on the bill i got a late payment fee, then when i payed the bill i payed approx £40 over the bill amount but yes u guessed it they ripped me off be cause i DOWNGRADED my phone package they charged me a partial months charge in advance and a whole month charge in advance respectivley, therefore wiping out the £40 i paid over, i pity anybody thinking of going with vm, dont go there find someone else!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

  • unhappy

    by Virgin, Axe merchants at 22:35 on 9 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    I was a happy Blueyonder customer from 2003. The customer service was patchy but my connection solid. I was steadily upgraded until reaching the 4Mb service.

    Since Virgin took over it has been awful. The last 4 months a joke Every day this week I have speed checked my connection in the evening. Before virgin I got 450KB+ down load speeds all the time. For the past 7 days my average has been 100Kb. Calling it 4Mb is misleading at best fraud at worst. How can they take a perfectly good service and screw it up so much is beyond me. Like other I find my connection capped whether I reach the download limit or not. And 700MB on a 450KB connection comes along very quickly. Want use the BBC I player ? forget. Want to play games with out lag, forget it. And I am paying £25 pound a month for an unlimited 4Mb

    I am voting with my feet and leaving. Don't believe the Hype the service is terrible and they have lost another Telewest/NTL/Blueyonder user.

  • unhappy

    by bushwacka at 4:20 on 8 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    virgin media is crap...like any other virgin product,by the way....
    Virgin Media does not care about their customers , just cares about the money...
    And you cant even pay cash!!!!!!! They charge you 5£.
    I dont anderstand why cash is worth less than cards ?
    Cash is cash...If i pay on time(and by the way a month in advance ie i have not use the service yet) why beeing charged for using good old paper notes in the shop?????
    Anyway, virgin media is ****>>>>>>>>.!!!!!!!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by nothere at 22:13 on 7 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    better hurry... my connection's going to drop in a minu...

  • unhappy

    by James at 23:52 on 5 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Like Weed below, I am only getting 25% of my correct download speed for several hours each night. I'm having to start downloading my files from midnight onwards to allow me to download at my correct speed, as i've bought a 3 month Rapidshare account, so need to make use of the downloading, however i'm being unfairly restricted by VM. This is completely unacceptable, i'm having to lose sleep to stay awake to download the files I want at inappropriate hours.

    Paying £25 a month, plus all the money towards the Sky Sports cable package, for a **** service.

  • unhappy

    by Weed at 20:44 on 5 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Yep, Virgin Media are crap. AVOID! Unfortunately I'm too far from my local BT exchange to be able to get fast broadband over a BT line, so i'm stuck with these greedy incompetents. I was with Telewest for 5 years, who were fine, but after getting taken over by Virgin Media, technical support is now on a premium line number, their performance is lowest of all the major service providers, and worst of all I get cut back to 25% of the advertised download and upload speeds for 5 hours every night -- this seems to happen as soon as my upload speed goes over 256Kb (I'm paying an extra 10 quid a month for a measley extra 128Kb upload which i really need). THERE ARE BETTER SUPPLIERS OUT THERE. IF YOU HAVE THE CHOICE, USE IT!

  • unhappy

    by Paul S at 19:48 on 5 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    James K below is wrong. 20Mb (Megabit) broadband should provide 20/8 = 2.5 MB (MegaByte) speed. 8 bits to the byte remember. So in kilobits I should expect 20000Kb (Kilobit) or 2500 KB (Kilobyte). I have 20Mb package from Virgin and get 15-18 during the day but in the evening it's down to 2-4Mb which is appaling. I'm not happy as under NTL I got damn near the advertised speed all the time. It's rubbish so complain.

  • unhappy

    by T white at 19:39 on 5 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media are a disgrace and run a service nothing short of being fraudulent. I am on the 20mb package and get capped everynight when i dont even use anywhere near what i am supposed to be using to be capped. All the garbage and rubbish virgin media spout about it only effects large downloaders is utter bull. They are capping everyone and we are all paying for it. NTL 10 meg an absolutely awesome service, one phone call in 8 years, virgin media about 30 calls since christmas alone, and almost everytime a guy in india who reads from a script on his screen who cant do anything or fix anything other than reboot your modem, or theres a problem with your modem we will send an engineer, and all the time it is virgin capping everybody. All you people that are concerned you have to stay with virgin for the yearly contract, check your rights, you are entitled to cancel the service at anytime, as virgin media have broken their contract by not providing you with an adequate service.

  • unhappy

    by Since taking over NTL it's gone to Hell! at 21:28 on 3 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    My now 2MB Virgin Media Broadband connection is still lacklustre!

    I had 10MB with NTL no problems, within a couple of months of Virgin taking over it's abysmal - getting 3MB max at any time of day!

    They give me the 'up to 10MB' bullsh**, no point arguing as the helpdesk had a limited vocabulary and couldn't give two-*****s if my broadband was slow or not.

    I downgrade to 4MB. I get the same speeds as I got paying the so called '10MB'. A few months later I'm struggling to get 2MB, averaging around 1.1!!!

    Now downgraded to the 'basic' 2MB not because I want to but Virgin will not provide any help or support, just standard customer service lies. I am paying for the 2MB service as even if I pay more I get NO increase in my download speeds!

    Virgin Media can go ************! I'm moving house soon and will NEVER be using any of there services again.

    NTL was spot on and other than a few minor outages it was always fast and reliable! Branson touches it and it goes to ****!

  • unhappy

    by james k , at 9:20 on 3 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    IS EVERYBODY STUPID?

    i am not defending virgin media in anyway, i have had way too many problems with their tv service and the useless customer care, the stupid foreigners that cant speak english who answer the phone etc

    BUT

    everyone seems to be confused......

    if you have 4 meg broadband which is 4000kb you should expect to get 400kb download speeds not 4000


    4meg = 4000kb.........expect to get 400kb download speeds


    20meg = 20,000kb.........expect to get 2000kb download speeds

    what ever broadband service you get, expect to get 10 times less download speed than stated

    THIS IS WITH ANY SERVICE PROVIDER

    YES ANY PROVIDER NOT JUST VIRGIN MEDIA

    the benefit of virgin media is that it is cable and the speeds dont slow down as much as adsl(bt, sky) when lots of users are using the service and also the service isnt affected by how far away you live from the telephone exchange.


    even that said, i have never had problems with a company before, but virgin media take the p**s BIG TIME!

  • happy

    by John Sparton at 19:46 on 2 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    My experience is something completly different. I ordered the Medium Size (4mb) service online when they were offering it for £17 per month and a £10 online discount.
    I got the installation, which I really didn't need, but they came over, sorted it out and it took less than 10 minutes. After that, setting it up was pretty easy, using the CD and manual with the information you need.
    I have two things to say;

    One- We had some trouble with the billing department when they try to charge us the full £25 for the service, and also try to get away with not paying us our discount. One phone call to somewhere not in this country sorted it out though.

    Two- I don't have any problems with slow downloads or disconnections. Most of the time, I get more than 4mbs, and this will only occassionally slow down during peak hours. I pay for 4mb, which is what I get- I can't say the same thing about many other ISP's *Sky*

    Overall, I would definitly recommended it, I'm glad I went cable instead of DSl.

  • unhappy

    by unhappy handbag at 15:47 on 1 Feb 2008 Report abuse

    Awful awful awful! Virgin Media = AWFUL ( I really can't say that word enough when it comes to VM) rotten Customer Service, chap seemed completely disinterested and bored, the internet speed is SHOCKING and I still don't know what I'm paying for TV wise....will be changing providers at the first opportunity.

  • unhappy

    by Cat at 19:28 on 25 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    For the past few months we have been getting randomly disconnected. I found out it is due to Virgin's DNS servers being overloaded with customers, so they have been doing things on the cheap and piling everyone on to the same server - of course it's going to go down!
    Are they masochists? Do they WANT everyone to leave them?
    At 10pm every night WITHOUT FAIL we lose our service completely until some time during the afternoon the next day. Throughout the day, it will disconnect and reconnect within a few minutes, but way too often for it to be not annoying.
    Wtf are they on?

  • unhappy

    by C.SERIOUSLY at 16:14 on 23 Jan 2008 Report abuse


    VIRGIN MEDIA ABSOLUTE WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY ! WILL BE CHANGING SUPPLIER AS SOON AS THEY HAVE TAKEN 1 YEAR CONTRACT SUBSCRIPTION AVOID AT ALL COSTS LITERALLY !!! AND DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT GETTING IN TOUCH WITH THEM WITH PROBLEMS PHONING WRITING NOTHING WORKS JUST BANG YOUR HEAD AGAINST A WALL NO RESPONSE NO HELP WHATSOEVER I AGREE WITH OTHERS THE GOOD REPORTS ARE FROM VM INSIDERS DONT SAY I DIDNT WARN YOU !!!!!!

  • happy

    by Nick at 16:12 on 23 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    I have been with VM since the inception of their broadband back in NTL days. I started on the 600k package and have been automatically upgraded through time to 4mb package. This gives me a healthy 450-500k download (Max theory is 512K). I do wonder if people understand the speed system? Most people dont. People might want to check their speeds correctly before ringing.

    I play regularly on xbox live and suffer no connection problems, other than xmas 2007 xbox live problems, but thats a different story.

    Like I said, been with VM for many years now (Originally NTL) and never had anything but a seamless service. Admittedly customer service was quite slow, but I have only contacted them twice in just under 8 years that I have used them.

  • unhappy

    by Andrei at 22:06 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    There is nothingt o add except that STAY AWAY from Virgin Media. I was with Ntl since the Net wasn't even out:) I joined their dial up then bb, always fast stable no lag whatsoever.... very very good... until Virgi took over. How can someone take a perfect infrastructure and destroy it beyong my understanding.

    I was promised a fix 3 months ago, still nothing, I have 100's of screenshot from 1 year go, only thing I can do now is contact OFCOM and see what they can do about it. I pay £37 for less then 3Mb, this is a joke.

    I worked fro Bulldog was one of their NOC engineers... so I do know my stuff, what Virgin does has nothing to do with line or the user, it is their stupidity and management software. Stay away from Virgin!!!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by To answer Bear at 22:00 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    You do realise 485kb's is actually less then 0.5Mb yeah less then half a meg mate, when I am paying £37 a month for a 20Mb connection... YES 20Mb which means 20480kb/s well of course I am moaning.

    What if you went to buy a nice new Ferrari and after you paid they give you a Mini Cooper and told you that's the Ferrari??? How would you feel about it???

  • happy

    by Bear at 18:32 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    I don't work for VM, was desperately unhappy with NTL and was considering moving. I now get regular 485 kb/s downloads and my bill has reduced to £31 per month for broadband, line rental, all my calls and 120 channels of TV. I can't see what the problem is or why so many are moaning here.
    Just a thought - are you blaming your software's problems on VM?

  • unhappy

    by parker1234uk at 16:42 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    VM are complete and utter rubbish, I have been with them since their dial up service and up until Virgin took them over, they had been fantastic. Since moving house and and signing up to their adsl service it is unusable. Online speed tests show after 5pm im connecting at 0.3mb, however before work at about 8am I can connect at almost 7mb. After a number of emails and calls to india, my phone line, pc and or distance to the exchange is faulty after 5pm ? go figure :) Only 9 months until I can switch providors. Lucky my neighbour happens to be a good friend and has set me up on his wireless, he's on bethere broadband and i can connect at 15mb with downloads at 1.5mb a sec. Happy days.. almost

  • unhappy

    by mahut at 15:54 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    As Telewest the service ahd improved recently and I hadn't rebooted the modem or called support for a long time. Since Xmas the connection has been appalling, often completely unobtainable in the evening but also at other times too. Download speeds are sometimes as low as 5 kbps compared to around 180 normally. No response to email and I too have no intention of paying to call them. Will write next but don't expect a good response. The 4mb service is one of the most expensive available and I only stick with it to avoid using a copper wire service so am in a monoply situation. Phone service too is poor and TV packages are inflexible. Will probably up sticks and move lock stock and barrel to Sky eventually.

  • unhappy

    by BobTheWidget at 15:06 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    The speeds are ok, except for a week when my 20Mb connection was donloading at 5Kbps. Usually download at about 1.9Mbps which i am happy with. Connection is reliable but i found it was better as telewest. Never had a problem at all in 2 years with telewest but have had 3 since it became virgin.

    The main problem is now they DO NOT offer free telephone support. This is a disgrace!!! I am paying £35 a month for broadband and if it fails i have to ring a premuim rate number. I never require technical support as i am very IT literate but if the line is not working this is way beyond my control. Very unhappy about this!!!

  • unhappy

    by Nigel J at 10:13 on 21 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    Yes the overall consensus is correct, "what a pile of garbage" Why can't we get it handed back to ntl, it was a wonderful service before VM got their very incapable hands on it, they are making a fortune out of us and without a mask.

    How do they get away with advertising fast service, Is someone getting a back hander?.

    Truth is there is slow, slower, creeping then VM "what a set of *******.

  • unhappy

    by silver at 22:57 on 20 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    20MB Broadband... Rubbish. In reality, the max. download speed I have ever received on my XL a/c is 5.2MB, with upload speeds that are astonishingly low. The past week, my speed has dropped to a fraction over 1MB between the hours of 8pm - 11pm, with no problems being reported on the connection helpline. This started out as a sudden drop in speed on the odd night, now and again - but now that this has happened for 7 nights on the trot, I suspect bandwidth capping is the actual problem. If you're thinking of using VMedia, don't be fooled by the cleverly worded phrase "up to 20MB", as you won't get close to that speed. What you'll actually get is between 4 - 4.6MB with the odd peak close to 5MB, and a drop in the evenings to as little as 1.4MB or less... that's my current experience in S. Wales - be warned! Branson - stop playing with Northern Rock and look at your Internet company, and invest money in server upgrades if there's a need for capping to maintain bandwidth.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: