« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 17

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by mike.d13 at 23:07 on 19 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    ok i think virgin media is rubbish i dont care what you rate this just read ... i have been with virgin media for 6 months now one wired computer alot of problem with that one wireless computer many problems cant view videos on youtube at times cause its to slow ( and the wired computer is not on at that time ) have a ps3 and with virgin broadband ha playing fifa 08 online be a pro mode what happenes cuts out says it loses connetion but the signal strengh is at 80 to 85 % ( any answers on what i can do please email me at [email protected] )

  • unhappy

    by SpamBot at 21:42 on 19 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    HAD to upgrade from 512 to 20k because I am working from home on an online application: made next-to-no difference so far. Marginally faster page loads but definately not instantaneous! Connection drops and I suspect we get capped: even after only being online for 5 mins!
    RUBBISH!
    I don't want to have to change, but they said that at the end of the month they are improving their 'nodes'. If I don't see an improvement then I'm changing to Be

  • happy

    by internet virgin at 18:54 on 17 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    i had a BT Internet and phone, sky tv, before i went with virgin media now the on-line package deal looked very good and happily it is i went for the 3 for £30, TV size XL, broadband 2mg, phone. i also ordered a extra set top box(£10) to be installed as well with all the discounts available for singing on on-line the first bill came in at £85 first month in advance and second bill £43.
    installation came round very fast with-in a week and the work was completed with little disruption to my self took about an hour as for the service i have had no problems as such but if you phone for a problem to be sorted it can be a lengthy call. as for value for money go for it well worth it, sky and virgin have fell out and so dont look for sky one with virgin!

  • unhappy

    by Tom Lewisohn at 15:39 on 13 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    I too am appalled with Virgin Media's services. NTL were running a fine service and my connection speed was reliable - fairly near the speed promised. Ever since the takeover my connection speeds (supposed to be 2mbps) have severely plummeted. Though online tests suggest I can just about achieve 200kbps download speeds, in reality files typically download at about 10kbps - slower than age old dial-up. It is infuriating when trying to browse a number of web pages at once due to the waiting time. If I want to download other content on top of this, connection speeds further hit trouble.

    Contacting Virgin Media about my problem would be good, but they now charge an extortionate price to phone them and I expect hold times are long too (though I cannot confirm this, this is purely speculation).

    I would not recommend this ISP for anyone.

  • happy

    by Been great. at 15:46 on 12 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    I was with Telewest, then the NTL and over to Virgin when they took over. There's usually always a connection and I find the speed great even with 4 computers running off it.

    Location: Gloucester

  • unhappy

    by Spike001 at 12:12 on 12 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    Like many others I used to receive a good reliable service.
    I began to play on line games on a 512 connection and this was okay. Upgraded to 2mb and again this worked well with CSS and pings 200.
    Spoke to technical support at 25ppm and the reverted me to 2mb connection and I was back to 20-30 ping which was great.
    Then it all went wrong on 10th December 07 when my ping jumped to 4/500 and really bad lag even if when my ping went down to double figures.
    To date, after many unanswered emails and several phone calls to customer services and reluctantly to technical support, I still am unable to effectively play on line games such as CSS and COD4.
    I donte see why should call technical support at 25ppm when virgin created the problem with their supposed "Improvements"
    They have screwed up big time.

  • unhappy

    by Howard44 at 22:05 on 9 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    Used to get good broadband speeds from NTL. Virgin are now capping speeds - I pay for 4Mb and am being capped to less than 1Mb. This is unethical and a rip-off.
    Super-fast We page refresh is not the main advantage of high speed broadband - it is downloads, radio, tv and video streaming.

    DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA.

    I have Virgin Media TV,Phone and Broadband package - I will be reinstalling BT telephone and looking at all other broadband providers.

  • unhappy

    by Alastair W at 1:10 on 8 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    Virgin Media customer service is appalling!
    When they disconnect servces that are paid for in advance due to what they call technical faults they charge extra on other services because they are no longer eligible for package discounts, this where they were not asked to disconnect a service they just failed to provide what was paid for but they take money from the customer to cover their own mistakes.
    DO NOT USE VIRGIN MEDIA.
    Please note, if the above appears in any way libellous it isn't, it is based entirely on fact and my terrible experience at the hands of this terrible company. If Virgin Media think this is libellous I invite them to take legal action, my name is on their database, they are the ones in breach of contract.

  • unhappy

    by RTA at 23:08 on 6 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    I too have been with Virgin ever since they started their internet service. 56k dialup - fantastic. A couple of years ago switched to 1Mb Broadband service - Fantastic. Switched to 2Mb service - Fantastic. Switched to 8Mb ADSLMax service - Fantastic. Then, late in 2006, my line speeds started dropping from the 6.5Mb I had been getting down to less than 56k dial-up speed. As if by magic, at midnight speeds returned to 6.5Mb. After 10 years, I made my 1st ever complaint to them. I supplied them line speed tests and was emailed asking for line speed tests. By my connection achieving 6.5Mb after midnight, it proved my settings were OK but was told it was my PC. Finally got 3 months payments refunded & the promise that they were improving things as fast as possible. A whole year later - 4k[!] connection & had to DIAL in to check for problems - 'none reported'. Enough is enough, I'm off. Three years ago I was recommending them to everyone. My sad advice now is to avoid like the plague.

  • happy

    by Sceptic at 16:23 on 5 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    As an existing VM cable customer I have been considering getting my broadband through them as well. Having read the comments on this site (95% negative) I could be forgiven for not wanting to further associate myself with VM. Then I wondered whether the aforementioned comments were a balanced/representative sample or do sites such as this only attract dissatisfied customers? Satisfied customers probably have no great motivation to write complimentary words about a service which they find reasonable.
    So with this thought in mind I checked out the uswitch.com site and to my surprise discovered that out of 2987 VM customers surveyed (note surveyed) overall customer satisfaction was 76% . Also from 2077 customer reviews, 579 were very satisfied, 960 were fairly satisfied and only 74 were very dissatisfied with the rest in between.
    Whilst I am sure that most comments in this site are legitimate I do feel that they might give a misleading picture to a casual reader.

  • unhappy

    by Gavinnexus at 22:15 on 1 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    After being a broadband customer of Virgin Media For 4 years on on all the packages I cant wait to change to another ISP. My Internet is a joke supposed to be 10mb/20mb can barely get 4mb if Im lucky. As I use Xbox live to game, this is now a nightmare constant lag and hangups. Calling customer services when they cant even understand what your trying to tell them, got my modem replaced was worse than the original chunky surfboard modem. Sending emails to them is a waste of time as well. Avoid like the plague.

  • unhappy

    by SS at 21:02 on 1 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    UNLIMITED DOWNLOADS? Bullsh*t. Sorry to burst anyone's bubble. Even though cable broadband is the best type of broadband around at the moment, they get excited when they cut your broadband speed just because you download more that your 'LIMIT': Which is i think 350MB for M package, 3GB for the XL package, as far as i can remember. Talk about SH*T. They expect us to just 'surf the web' and 'check out articles' on random f*cken websites. On top of that, they monitor traffic from a supposed 4pm to 12am. Which is probably a LIE because my internet slows down at random times (as well as my friend's) even when I HAVEN'T DOWNLOADED A THING. Can't wait to get away from VM man.

    ps. Excuse the language :)

  • unhappy

    by Sam Henderson at 13:27 on 1 Jan 2008 Report abuse

    Well i had no problems with NTL world, but now virgin media has taken it over, i have had problem after problem. My download speed was originally around 200~Kbs now for some reason they wont reach over 30~kbs. I am going to call them and ask WTF they have done to my internet. I am not a happy customer

  • happy

    by paul spencer at 1:22 on 29 Dec 2007 Report abuse


    NTL had a free phone line for ntl customers to report faults with their service,
    VIRGIN MEDIA requires its victims to call a 090 number which will cost 25 pence a minute. There is no way round it. You cannot contact them any other way. Try it, visit the VM website,

  • unhappy

    by SmartRRs at 21:53 on 27 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media is rubbish. They dont answer e-mails. And for a 20 meg (hohoho) connection I am lucky to get 3 megs. AVOID VIRGIN AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • unhappy

    by ExTelewest at 11:27 on 27 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I'm going to try to keep this short.

    I've been a Telewest (cable) customer for about 5 years, now I'm switching away from Virgin Media. Not too sure to whom yet, but away from this madness.

    Main factors

    1) Peek time capping that punishes 'normal' users whilst keeping their P2P fanbase happy.

    2) Call centre. I don't think I'm racist, but I'd just prefer the call centre to be in the UK.

    3) Cost. This would not be such a problem if points 1 and 2 did not apply.

    After noticing the capping I had a quick google. It appears that the capping has been around for quite a while. I guess it's just beggining to filter down to ex Telewest user now.

  • unhappy

    by james at 19:44 on 22 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    short n sweet.
    customer service is appauling(paying 25p a minute for the privelage makes it even more so) yet another UK company with callcentres overseas, ill let u guess where....
    "traffic management" is a joke, this wasnt used nor needed when the company was ntl.
    connection was unreliable at times but this is now becoming a trend

    VM should not be taking on more customers if they cannot provide the services advertised its an absolute joke, i will be ringing them up again tomorrow in the hope of getting a literate on the phone then no doubt i will be changing isp
    AVOID VIRGIN MEDIA

  • unhappy

    by badger at 13:03 on 22 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    The VM Blueyonder service I have here in the North-East is appalling. Thankfully I found this website when testing the speeds and now realize that it isn't just me having mega problems with the service. When it was Telewest I had no complaints, but having read the comments on this website I realize that I am not alone in thinking that the service has gone in to 'self-destruct mode' since Virgin took over, as no one will want to use it on its present performance.
    God help Northern Rock Building Society if Virgin get their hands on it.
    I had some respect for Richard Branson but he should be ashamed to put his name to Virgin Media on their present performance.
    I am looking to change my I.S.P. a.s.a.p.

  • unhappy

    by Crap crap crap and even crapper than a crap thing at 23:32 on 20 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I was on dial up with Blueyonder and then migrated to Blueyonder cable- even the dialup seemed substantially faster than being on cable with Virgin Cretins now. Blueyonder worked; it worked reliably and consistently and had excellent customer support generally. I am so hacked off with virgin idiots now that I'm going to pay for a BT line to be installed - any company that charges (using a premium rate line) to have a fault reported is completely unworthy of being treated as a real business. I spit on them for being so astoundingly useless and I wish nothing but bad luck and failure to the management that is organising this rape of the customer.

  • unhappy

    by Colin at 23:14 on 20 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I wud take a bet that most of the people saying they are ok with VM are NOT in crowded places. I am on the London road in Brighton and it is rubbish. I have seen in the BOX not 10 yrds from my door. It's crammed full of wires. 2-3 years ago there was me and about 6-7 others I pay £37 a month for up to 20meg & I am getting under a meg sometimes this is the 2nd review I have tried to post if it gets lost like the last one I shan't bother again it's too late now

    My ISDN with Cable and wireless was better. I use to play quake with m8ts in US now I can't play it at all too much lag and guess what!!! the ole net plug flashing on the screen like it used to Years ago. what a con they are.

  • unhappy

    by AlxUsher at 11:58 on 20 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Letter i just had to send to virgin, i think it says it all:

    I ordered cable broadband from you in August (confirmation e-mail ref)and eventually, after several phone calls had this confirmed in September (order ref) and shortly after you asked in a letter (ref) for a prepayment of £25, which cleared my bank on the 1st of October.

    A letter followed promising set-up in a matter of a few days, and then a PIN and serial number to assist with set-up. After nearly two months of frequent calling, I opted to go elsewhere and was connected within a week.

    I have now called to request my money back as you have failed to supply any service (despite a green cable box being within sight of my house and my neighbour being connected) and been told you cannot find record of my payment.

    You have held my money for two months (presumably earning your company interest) without providing any service and have cost me several hours in wasted time and telephone calls.

    Awaiting the response.......

  • unhappy

    by peter at 14:14 on 16 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    i have to say what was i thinking when i joined virgin broadband
    first the person that installed it was a moron managed to smash his head open on his van , gave me a install cd that wouldnt work on vista , had to call up support for 3 hours till i could sort it out
    download speed sucks , max i ever get is 260kb/s (2mb connection)
    mainly get 5-100 kb/s
    connection drops about 5-10 times a day having to unplug modem and restart my pc

    listen to me DONT GET VIRGIN MEDIA INTERNET

  • happy

    by WhiteEagle at 23:31 on 15 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    It seems I'm lucky then. I have 4Mbit VM broadband ("L" package) and my internet connection never brakes and the speed never drops. My download speeds are nearly always very close to the thoretical maximum (480-500Kbyte/sec out of 512KByte/sec (4096Kbit)) and so are the upload speeds (42-46Kbyte/sec out of 48Kbyte/sec (384Kbit)). I can even play online - I have just played Crytek Crysis multiplayer online...

    But, their customer service sucks! These people just can't speak English!!! Their vocabulary is limited to approx. 50 words, and they misunderstand everything. A usual converstation:
    You: - I have problem with the phone service.
    CS: - Sorry, please repeat, what TV package have you got?
    ...

    P.S. I'm NOT a VM employee :-))

  • unhappy

    by Monarovxr at 14:37 on 15 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I suspected I wouldn't be the only one who's tired of Virgin Media, and I can't say any more than has been said. Online gaming is impossible unless you're happy with it running like a pile of crap, streaming videos takes twice as long to load than it does to play and not to mention the download speeds not close to what they should be.

    Complete load of crap, Virgin ruined a good ISP.

  • happy

    by Ryan at 10:32 on 15 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I've had VM for the last week or so, its been good.. Just took around 5 hours to get a serial number, but all is fine now. All that happens rarely is my internet speed goes from 19mb/s to 8mb/s, but then all I have to do is restart my pc using TCP Optimzer.

    Thanks VM for your great service, I'm still using it and so far it is awesome.

    P.S. I suggest getting the XL package!

  • unhappy

    by dave at 18:08 on 14 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    i have just submted my review about my service and it has done it with errors on page that is somthing else i have noticed since the switch from ntl

  • unhappy

    by M Madacky at 16:18 on 14 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Slow and irresponsible bunch of people (if it is appropriate to call them that way). No wonder they are hiding their e-mail for customer services.3 months on, after being stupid enough to sign up for Virgin Media broadband and telephone like, I finally got the phone but no internet. Worst thing of all is that I can not use normal dial up and I am stuck with them for a year. BEWARE! Avoid Virgin Media whenever possible, they newer call back when they say they will and since they hide their e-mail contacts should be quite good clue that they have a good reason to do so.

  • unhappy

    by Jamz at 15:49 on 7 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Some more false advertizing on the official website... they say they are officially UK's fastest broadband provider, even though, and I'm not trying to advertise here, Be broadband do a 24mb... Isn't that better than virgin XL 20mb?

  • unhappy

    by Mad at 15:26 on 7 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    VM are complete and utter incompetent bastards.

    never mind the broadband service......just try and cancel your contract to find they will dip into your direct debit at the bank using different reference codes. so the bank cant stop it each time.

    If I did this I would be arrested!!!!!!!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Sean , Glasgow at 15:14 on 7 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Just got it yesterday and already utterly appalled. Was with iscali before and was getting 4mb adsl (8mb package though due to circumstances got speeds of 4) well anyway foned 2 weeks ago to change to virgin along with phone and tv, and as last week was before 30th November as stated on virgin site I could get the LARGE package for 12 months. After installing the broadband last night I noticed the pcguard app taht comes bundled (decided to use since my norton subscribtion xpired) said i was on MEDIUM. So I went on virgins site, signed in, and to my horror, MEDIUM PACKAGE £18 PER MONTH! Did spped checks and was getting 2 Mbs/s. About to fone virgin just now andI assure you head will roll for this. And if they dont fix this problem (ie LARGE package for £14.50 as I shouldve got) they will be told to shove their broadband up their ARSE ;) Why would I pay £18 for a service half the speed of my previos service which was £17.99. COMPLETE iDiOTS WORKiNG THEiR ;)

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: