« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 18

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by Jamz at 13:46 on 7 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Note: A good ISP that's really good to look out for is Be Broadband

  • happy

    by Russell Wade at 10:46 on 7 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    At the risk of being shot down in flames, I do wonder if a lot of people on here are mixing up their bits and bytes when looking at download / upload speeds. The rated line speed (eg 20Mb/sec) refers to megabits, whereas the download speed shown by Windows when downloading a file is in KB/sec (kilobytes). Since there are 8 bits to a byte, it means you must multiply the figure shown in Windows by eight to judge it against the rated line speed. The actual figure depends on many factors outside the control of your ISP, mainly the speed of the website server's connection to the internet and how busy it is. But on a major site like Microsoft I typically get a download speed of 400 - 420KB/sec on my 4Mb/sec Virgin line. That equates to at least 3.2 megabits/sec, which I think is pretty acceptable.

  • unhappy

    by VirginMedia SUCKS! at 17:16 on 6 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    People that say they are happy with VM service either VM employee or just recently got connected and have no clue what's the real good broadband is.

    I used to be with Telewest for many years and in my opinion Telewest was the best ISP in the world. But since VM took over, they've fucked everything up completely! And they don't want to admit it.

    I'm on so called 20Mb broadband now, but I feel like I'm back to dial-up. The speed is not even the main issue, but the latency. Many websites simply don't load due to timeout, or you have to wait for minutes to open 15 – 20 KB webpage

    I'm looking for an alternative ISP and I'll stop direct debit to VM as soon as I find one. If VM continue like this, they'll loose thousands of customers, especially those who used to be with Telewest.

    I miss my Telewest, it was a dream…

  • unhappy

    by Jamz at 10:34 on 5 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I was a NTL customer before VM, and never had bad service. However, now my internet is slow and has a constant latency of 200+ (Horrible for playing xbox live) even though my 4mb/s connection is supposed to be fully compatible. I get a maximum of 500 kb/s download and about 50kb/s upload, even though I'm about 2km away from the server(?). I have triple checked my system, including a belkin wireless g router that works very well when hooked up to a friends BT broadband, and a fully functioning xbox 360, and have concluded that the problem can only be to do with either the set top box, which containts my modem and actually slows down my internet when the TV is on, or the cable internet service. This problem is then mutliplied by the expensive and useless foreign customer service staff that insist the problem is my own. Sort it out VM!

  • happy

    by sharpen at 19:45 on 3 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    I have plusnet into my home on a seperate line and use this for my work - it is faultless, never falls down and consistantly provides 2M. Virgin Media comes in on my other line and I pay to have 8M on this connection. I have not had more than 300k and I just ran the test on this site and got 120k!!!! my upload is 400K - this is totally unacceptable, both lines come from the same exchange so what else can it be other than mis-selling by Virgin; and I will be closing the account as soon as I find a better deal - lets face it that won't be hard!!

  • unhappy

    by ljf1410 at 19:36 on 2 Dec 2007 Report abuse

    Poor browsing speed since virgin took over from telewest. shows hig connection speed but browsing time are poor and connection is very unstable. its that bad i now have SKY Broadband which seems to work perfect. again its a sunday and virgin broadband is very slow like a dial up (im broadband) keeps hanging on web pages, Come back telewest all forgiven. What they care another customer going!

  • unhappy

    by MW at 22:28 on 29 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I was previously a customer with Blueyonder/Telewest and had no problems whatsoever with them, since Virgin took over however the service while having few problems outside of peak times has become increasingly poor during peak times. With a 20mb package I'm lucky if I get even half of that speed for downloading, many websites take minutes to load and on sites such as Youtube videos take at least twice as long to download than what they run for. Customer service was also a sham, with the bloke on the other end of the line giving useless advice and eventually claiming that the problems with my connection were a result of ongoing maintenance in my area that would be fixed "soon". And yet 3 months later and several more phone calls and there has been no real fix.

  • unhappy

    by Robbie McCorkell at 21:42 on 29 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Abysmal speeds, going down to 0.07mbps.

    Impossible to stream music or video.

    Gaming is impossible, and voice chat is unintelligible.

    And I can't even quit the contract.

  • unhappy

    by Rob Mac at 19:30 on 29 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Please do not sign-up to Virgin Media for broadband - the service is dreadfully slow (I get 300k but I'm paying for up to 8Mb). There support team are not very helpful. I decided to switch to another ISP and had a hell of a job getting my MAC code out of Virgin - they try to make you phone a premium rate line to get it. After I threatened to report them to Ofcom they eventually gave me the MAC code. Then almost immediately my internet connection got worse (if that is possible) - not it is virtually unusable, and I can't access my GMail, so I'm not very happy with Virgin. They are a company that puts up an ethical public persona but I think it is a facade, and they do not treat their customers very well.

  • unhappy

    by Patrick Francis at 18:09 on 29 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I don't have a complaint so much about the internet, phone or tv, but about the service when talking to customer services and what not. When I spoke to a person at virgin a couple of months back they assured me that the services I had would be cancelled. Four months later I get a bill asking for £80 because my services were still connected and I had cancelled the direct debit. Why the hell weren't the things I cancelled disconnected!?!?! Needless to say I had no choice but to pay £122. Yes, up from £80 because apparently the internet is billed seperately, which doesn't make sense because I only ever got one bill a month. Needless to say I am very annoyed.

    I wouldn't advise anybody to go with virgin, save yourselves the hassle.

  • unhappy

    by darekp at 0:00 on 28 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I will never forgive them what they have done to me and I will never use any of their service .
    Poor speed (up to :) 70kbps instead of 8mb) and supprt, slow response on complaints, expensive and unuseful tech support calls - I do not see any single positive factor in VM service.
    AVOID IT - do not waste your time.

  • unhappy

    by mike at 9:36 on 26 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    It has to be said as per all the other comments listing complaint after complaint for VM i have now have had several run in's so to speak with them over poor service on the broadband side and their so called capping. I am only on 2mb and when capped get a miserable 917kbps, so i asked if i only get half the download speed then why should i pay the full price? they could not comment and could not see my view, it's not my fault they cant handle the net with the platforms they got, instead we get capped to save them bandwidth so they can squeeze more and more customers in at our expence, i always thought a company grows with pride and success on a good service provided as they get better and offer better performance and service not by ripping of long term customers i have been on cable since it was called cable the first time round and always had a cracking service till now. I fully undersatnd everyone should have a chance on the net at peak times but surely as a company who knows how the net is used more and more day in and day out knowing that people are doing more and more downloading it's the in thing in case no one had noticed, so surely it should be them making better upgrades to the service in order to keep business rather in pushing customers away with crap like this.No one just seems to care if it was my company i would be trying the best to gain and keep customers not lose them. so instead i am off looking for a better deal a i would rather pay bt the £124.99 for a phone line then find another internet cable provider forwhich O2 looks promising for me at £15 a month and a decent speed with a fair use policy that suits. my gain your loss!!!!!
    yours truly
    a very disgusted customer yet again.

  • unhappy

    by Richard at 9:49 on 22 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    RUBBISH

    If you want Internet for looking at few pages of text and emails then you will be ok.

    If you want to do all the things Internet is good for Media Streaming, Online Gaming, Music then DONT go with VIRGINMEDIA.

    They advertise 2MB but they CAP you if you are downloading between to 4pm -12pm. When CAPPED your download speeds will drop to half or even less. IF you are unlucky to CAPPED just before 12pm then you will be restircted all the way to 4am. In reality you pay for 2mb connection but you only get this for 12HRS then the rest is at 1mb well even saying that is optimistic as i have never recieved a 2mb service anyway.

    YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED SAY NO TO VIRGIN MEDIA!!!!! The only way i would join again is if i haggled to pay less. around £5 as that whats the service is worth.....

    Dont be fooled by Postive comments as there most likely VirginMedia Employees. I'm current stuck with VirginMedia until March :-(

  • unhappy

    by Manuel at 20:08 on 20 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Has to be one of the worst internet service providers i have ever incountered atm im getting a ping of 4000 ping to 12000 ping which in my opinion is like having a horse with no legs it just isnt on. my step father has had the connection with virgin media for 7 months now i moved in about 3 months ago and noticed the lack of speed just looking at websites. To be honest this is as bad as stealing from a blind man. If i didnt move in he would have never known that it wasnt running at 8mb connection, also we phoned them up the other day trying to sort the connection issue without saying anything they put the phone down.

    just want to get the money back and them to admit that the service is not up to standard.

  • unhappy

    by Mark B at 19:19 on 20 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I have been with NTL prior to them changing to Virgin media for over 10 years!

    NTL was fine. Now it's Virgin media, it's all gone tits up. Connection keeps dropping, they've changed their network settings so everyone is on the same WAN. Absolutly terrible download speeds during the evening and the weekend.

    Can't even use XBOX live as it's too slow! Would someone at Virgin media with any brain cell look at these posts and do something about it! We, as the customer find it a real cheek that you charge us 25p a minute to tell you your service is Sh*t. I will be changing service asap.

    SORT OUT THE THROTTLING!! Not everyone on your network only looks at one web page and then never uses the net for another week! GRRRR I hate Virgin media!!

  • unhappy

    by DCFC at 11:22 on 18 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    What can i say! Virgin media is well poor. I upgraded from the 4mb service to the 20mb and what diffrence in speed do i get ? an extra speed increase of 4mb at best :( I would have thought i would be getting 14mb at worst, but noooooo, a poor 7-8mb for £36!! your having a laugh Virgin Media. Stay well clear people.

  • unhappy

    by Frank at 8:45 on 18 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I don't need to say any more than has already been said. Get it sorted Virgin you useless "%"^£%^.

  • unhappy

    by Kevvy at 20:12 on 17 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    virgin media speeds are totally rubbish i suppose to be on 20meg and i am getting less than 1/2meg down but my upload is 721k which is normal strange!! there tech support is useless choose another provider!!!

  • happy

    by David at 18:12 on 17 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Maybe I'm one of the lucky ones, but I'm in Leeds on the (up to) 2mb service and the speeds are always spot on for that, allowing me to download music, video and play MMORPG games. I very rarely have disconnection - the only time it happens is if the power goes out in the street and it takes the whole connection with it.

    The fact it's always on, has sufficent speeds for what I want to do and doesn't need an ASDL modem (which I've used and hated with a passion!) means the service for me is fine. It might be different if I needed a higher speed, but as I don't it's fine. From the reviews on here, I might be one of the few.

  • unhappy

    by chief con at 14:29 on 16 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Ok, so we know the service is rubbish. But what can we do about it? I'd like my money back, but I doubt that's going to happen - locked in a 12 month contract paying for something I'm not getting. It's £200 down the drain. Can anyone suggest how to cancel the contract without incurring huge costs?? Or an alternative, satisfying solution if getting a refund is not an option?

  • unhappy

    by virgimedia at 20:49 on 15 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Virginmedia adsl is the worst adsl service i ever had the misfortune to use! They are stingey with downloading limits and their latency is terrible. Forget online gaming if you enjoy being kicked all the time, even on uk severs im getting 200ms+ (tracert to bbc.co.uk 200ms+ as well).My router is configured correctly, no virus and no spyware. They were good before they merged/bought out other isp's (eg NTL) when they were vigin.net I had no problems. This uk intenet service provider should be avoided at all costs 'false economy'-they are cheap but are just not worth the hassle. Bad customer support, technical staff are just call centre monkeys who just read from the same script and imo virginmedia have expanded too fast for their own good and really dont have the infrastructure to serve customer needs. Avoid Virgin media's adsl internet service at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by John Saxby at 10:34 on 14 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin media is failing. NTL was ok, I never had any trouble with the broadband service untill Virgin took over and now my connection drops out every few mins. I think they are tring to deliver too much data down the same optical fiber that they installed years ago as Comcast.
    It seems that they have got a bottle neck problem. I rang 151 from my Virgin home phone only to be directed to a premium rate number!
    Please mr Branson sort it out or sell it on.

  • unhappy

    by RD at 20:22 on 13 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I too am *** off with Virgin media. It used to be reasonably good with Telewest and now recently I'm finding that I either can't connect to the internet or it is so slow - it is like having gone back to the early days of the internet when you had to wait for ages for any web page to load! What annoys me most though is that I just can't access certain web pages including my own business web site. And I have tried accessing the website from other networks and it loads fine - so it is definitely a problem with Virgin Media not the web page. I am looking for an alternative provider now. But its just so much hassle because it takes a while to get a new connection organised and in the meantime I'm stuck. Anyone reading, don't try Virgin Media and if you are with them leave now!!

  • unhappy

    by dave_1965 at 23:56 on 12 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    I have 20 mb virgin media broadband package and tonight I tested it. Download speed was 126 kbps !!! Upload 233 kbps !!! I will have to change the provider asap. If you are considering virgin broadband, don't walk away from it, run !!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Richard at 20:25 on 12 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    BAD BAD BAD vm have messed up and judging by the posts here and on many other websites the feedback is 98-99% negative, i have vm 20meg vm line AND a 8meg BT line, the BT line totally dominates in download speeds, quite amazing really that vm`s 20meg cant even get close to my other 8meg speeds, i have been with vm aka ntl aka diamond cable since the start, never have i seen such a fuck up to a very very good service until now, way to go branson, i like your style (not)

  • unhappy

    by User in Milton Keynes at 9:20 on 12 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    The absolute worst company I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. After months of poor connection speeds, another issue where my connection was dropped every 12 minutes precisely, and terrible cuctomer service I decided to move to SKY. Even then VM could not get the transfer sorted out smoothly. They claimed that SKY had not used the MAC correctly and as a result billed me for an additional month to cover my notice period. OFCOM are aware of these antics and have advised that this practice is illegal - I am currently trying to get the money back from VM.
    My advice - STAY WELL CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY, UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES GIVE THEM YOUR BUSINESS, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEIR COMPETITORS ARE IN A DIFFERENT LEAGUE ALTOGETHER.

  • unhappy

    by virgin makes me sick at 21:24 on 11 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    VIRGIN SITE

    "Broadband Size: XL - up to 20Mb

    It's here! Our fastest broadband ever for XL customers!

    Our flagship XL broadband service is now up to a supersonic 20Mb. Even though the existing 10Mb service was already four times faster than other industry players, we've decided to step on the gas and double the speed. We've even increased our upload speed to 768Kb!

    What does this mean for customers?

    To give you an idea of the new speeds, our Broadband Size: XL customers will be able to download an MP3 track in 2 seconds, a full album in less than 30 seconds, or an episode of their favourite TV show in just two and a half minutes.

    The faster upload speed of 768Kb means that customers will be able to send emails or upload photos even faster than before.

    © Virgin Media"


    WHAT A LOAD OF RUBBISH.. HOW CAN THEY SAY THIS RUBBISH

  • unhappy

    by Sco at 20:47 on 11 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Results of 2MB service via CNET


    You 1051 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 7.438 sec
    You 723 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 10.813 sec
    You 1029 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 7.593 sec
    You 985 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 7.937 sec
    You 807 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 9.688 sec
    You 663 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 11.781 sec
    You 687 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 11.375 sec
    You 790 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 9.89 sec
    You 768 Results 7816 kbits downloaded in 10.172 sec

    (Yes this is crap like being forced to watch Dawson's Creek)

    Come on this is a no brainer issue, imagine the infrastructure is there and imagine it's been working great for ages NTL/Telewest days………..

    Now imagine some bright spark decides lets provide everyone with on demand TV mass scale and in the basic passage and pump it down the same pipe, yikes now you will understand what is hogging all the band width for heavens sake there is only so much band width.

    I don't see the problem going away either so it looks like a suck it and see job, personally I think it could be the end of super fast broadband and we will feel like we are at work in our overstretched infrastructure that is simply too expensive to upgrade.

    Answer: make do with bated breath or go the evil BT Landline route.

    (Gutted).


  • unhappy

    by The Public at 17:12 on 11 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    How can a company fail in its service at every level? and how do Virgin media get away with it? I've had problems with them since the ntl takeover like everyone else and thought it was just me - been paying £37 a month for 20mb service that has never once been over 6 or 7mb and is less than 1-2mb most of the time and every time you call their premium number to complain, they tell you that they're aware of the problem and are planning to fix it. Well, whoop de fuckin doo, I'll just keep paying for nothing then shall I? Can't cancel either, no no, gotta pay off the rest of the contract that they trapped you in with.

  • unhappy

    by Stan Potts at 19:31 on 10 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    Oh dear. I had telewest broadband as part of an introductory deal: BBand, Phone, and TV for £30 a month. After years on dial-up, 512 kbps was a godsend. I was then upgraded to 1, then 2 MBPS. Ntl and telewest merged. Nothing changed except the name. Virgin buy ntl:telewest, and look what happens to a ping, one of the most simple forms of web communication: (I pinged google from command prompt)
    Ping statistics for 66.249.93.104:
    Packets: Sent = 8, Received = 1, Lost = 7 (87% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 29ms, Maximum = 29ms, Average = 29ms

    Events like the above occur at least twice a week. Yesterday the connection was running ridiculously slowly (think worse than dial-up) and then went offline completely for 20 mins. And looking at other reviews, I seem to be lucky! Before VM took over, I only had about 6 connection problems in 2 years. I am seriously considering moving to a different provider. Only problem is we live in a bad freeview area.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: