« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 20

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by ricksta at 0:30 on 1 Nov 2007 Report abuse

    well me and my family had been with telewest cable since it first came out with the cabe tv. i moved out and got a telewest package with very good internet. THEN virgin took over...internet has ben ok and i had nobreal reason to complain but 3 days ago i upgraded my internet speed from 4mb to 20...and its totally fucked my computer up. downloads r nothing...cant watch yutube anymore cos its too long to load and i did a speed test and it was 824kb! totally disopointed and pissed off....cant even load some web pages now and its soo slow......maybe i been put onto the 80kb package at 20mb prices. and customer support blame my comp for the prblems but admit my speeds r very slow...surely there r supplying the speeds? wish i went with "skys" "speak suf and se plan." i am most dispointed...i think when telewest moved out and virgin came in..the engineers threw all the servers away then had monkeys to rebuild them all...thats why we r all getting shit speeds. oh well...sky here i come!

  • unhappy

    by Ahsan at 22:44 on 31 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media is providing a crap service. I am suppose to be on UPTO 20 MB broadband and on average get only 500 KB/ Sec. You can't report a broadband fault till you dial 25 Pence per minute (VAT Excluded) primer line. Staffs don't give a **** which kind of service you receive. After signing the contract the only consistent service they provide is to take the money from your account by direct debit. Every time there is a fault 'they are aware of the problem' but can't do anything at all. Take it or leave it.

  • unhappy

    by The Dubliner at 20:58 on 31 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    VM BB is absolutely useless - when you need it. At night the speeds are fine. Anytime in the evening, it's down to 200-300 kbps, yes kilo bits, not bytes, on a supposedly 8Mbps line. Avoid at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by Louise Futcher at 15:49 on 30 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin broadband is a complete disgrace. We are paying £30 for 20mb broadband and aren't even getting 800Kb - 5% of what we're paying for. When you speak to them about it (paying 50p per min for the priviledge) they tell you it's your pc and you need to optimise the settings!! It's complete crap and I'm furious.

  • unhappy

    by ramsdenrik at 0:59 on 29 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I have been having a problems recently with Virgin when we first joined it took 4 days for the cable to go live which wasnt a good start, now to top it all off I the broadband seems to have gone to pot for the first couple of months we were getting our 2mb connection absolutly fine, now im lucky to 0.2mb out of it the speed is up and down like a Yo-Yo you phone and complain to be told there is a problem in your area 3 days later same response, its not good enough, i intend to do tomorrow and suggest everyone does the same, Don't talk to customer services waste of time, ask to speak to either retentions and tell them you are moving to sky, or phone this number 01256752000 this is head office ask for the complaints department they bend over backwards, the first month we were overcharged and put on the wrong package numurous calls to customer services did nothing to correct this, one call to that number and the package was sorted that day!!

  • unhappy

    by Daniel Rowley / Aion at 23:46 on 28 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I was happy with Telewest for years - They had been and always been stable. Everything has gone to hell since Virgin took over, and it's actually getting worst.

    I heard about the speed caps about a month ago and checked my connection, noticing it went down to 2MB for around 5 hours after downloading 750MB, which explaining why Youtube videos had slowed down so much. I wasn't happy.

    After getting somewhat used to not downloading during 4 PM-12 AM, my connection went down to 900kbps-1MB if I went over the stupid 750MB limit; a quarter of what I'm paying for. A fair few other people have had there connection go from being cut in 1/2 to 1/4 - I can only assume Virgin have an extra hidden weekly download limit in place.

    Phoning the CS seems pointless going on others experience and I can't contact them via email due to being unable to work out how to set up a virgin.net email account. I'm sooo pissed off....

  • unhappy

    by Tony at 14:58 on 27 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Such a shame.
    Was with Telewest for for many years and this idiot takes over and ruins a decent provider.
    Browsing is a nightmare at the moment, get lots of time outs when I try to open a page and 2 mins later try again and it appears.
    This is unacceptable and there is no way I will ring the helpline and get charged when I know the cock up is on their side.
    Next phone call I shall be making is to my bank to cancel their direct debit.

  • unhappy

    by neil40 at 14:16 on 26 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Since virgin took over from ntl i've started to have problems with my broadband connection. Been in touch with the helpdesk and still the problem persists. What's annoying is that they charge you for phoning the helpdesk even when the problem lies at there end. If things arnt sorted soon i'll change isp. Pity because with ntl (blueyonder) i very rarely had any problems and when i did they were sorted quickly.

  • unhappy

    by Seph at 23:09 on 25 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Is it possible to get out of the contract because of this rubbish broadband?
    TV lacks as well, program guide works when it wants to...
    So, how to get out? 20Mbit, never seen this.. atm: 400Kbit... tzzz
    Which means: bye bye to virgin! but how exactly? Tell me!

  • unhappy

    by JC at 21:56 on 22 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    We're paying for 2Mb with Virgin Media.

    Overall I'm happy with the telephone and free TV service, especially on demand. I'm concerned about the Internet speed though.

    It seemed slow so I checked the speed online and its just 312Kb - 350Kb. Can't believe it. Do I get a refund or something. That's a MASSIVE difference in what we're paying for and what we're getting.

  • unhappy

    by Herts at 14:11 on 21 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Really rubbish, customer services doesnt exist, got calls transferred countless times. Was on the phone for 3 hours and nothing was resolved. Really slow and rubbish.

  • unhappy

    by oldskool at 19:17 on 19 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    its very simple they only offer 20mb to get us in.
    and try and keep ahead of there competator's

    when i had a 512k line with byonder back ibn the day always got full speed,and the upload was a mear 64k games were pining at 12-20ms

    but since the upgrade's came more and more customers bought in,but now virgin have took over there offering 20mb,but the servers we all conect to, stuggled to give 10mb before the take over.

    when the UBR you are conected to get's overused then the speed slows to a crawl.

    virgin need to seriously pay for some ultra fast servers that can handle 20mb at peak times on full load,then we should all be happy with our speeds.

    is that going to happen? no way

    the next time they upgrade there shit,they will be offering 50mb service and the chain will start again.

    my tip to branson is drop it back to 5mb and put the upload up to 1mb.

    we can then game,download,watch streaming tv,radio ect with out slow down.

  • unhappy

    by virginmediasuckdonky at 19:07 on 19 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Having been a very happy customer of Telewest Broadband for a couple of years, Virgin Media have destroyed their previous excellent service. I am on the medium 2M package which has always been perfectly acceptable for downloading, email, web browsing etc. Recently during the evenings my connection speed has fallen to nothing with BBC News Low Graphics Pages taking 2mins plus to load. would say it is worse than dial up. I need the internet at night for looking up academic papers to help with studies. This is currently totally impossible. Can't even get through to customer services to cancel. have waited on national rate phone number for ages costing loads of money with no luck.

    Anyone thinking of taking VirginMedia internet. Just try calling the normal support number to see what it is like to try and cancel.


  • unhappy

    by Kat at 16:42 on 19 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Rubbish. Cannot watch vids on youtube, although we could do previously (with NTL). Paid for a speed upgrade via free phone (150). Internet crashed and I then had to pay for the privelidge of them putting their mistake right via the internet tech line....big joke. Also spent two separate phone enquiries on hold for over 10 mins. TV is also rubbish Virgin Central...waste of time. I am looking into sky...cant be any worse.

  • unhappy

    by legendb at 9:42 on 17 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    My experience with Virgin seems to mirror a lot of what others are saying. I signed up for the 8 mega bit deal on adsl last november and was pretty happy especially because I was not on a contract. However I have since had my opinion changed. I had a month of outage which took 3 visits from a bt engineer to fix AT THE EXCHANGE they kept saying they thought they'd fixed the problem, but nobody actually asked me if it was fixed, whilst this wasn't Virgin's fault their technical team didn't follow up I had to keep ringing them at my own expense to find out what was going on because nobody was keeping me informed. They won't give me any money back for the calls I made for non technical information from the technical team. They did write back and tell me that they had maintained their high level of customer service though and that's the reason I wouldn't be getting a refund. The poor adsl speeds top it off so I'm going to take the plunge with o2's new service when it's at my exchange.

  • unhappy

    by Jan at 21:53 on 15 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin is complete rubbish!
    I do not want to repeat all the horrible stories about slow broadband rates... today I queued into the long queue of people that paid for the help line and got some funny talk with "Indian peoples". Was there a help? nope! We were advised to wait for 2 days, maybe the problem might be solved by then... a likely story!
    The problem? 20mbit wanted, atm 154kbps receiving! Excellent connection, hope this review will be posted in the next few hours after having clicked on submit..
    Does anyone know where the terms and conditions can be found online, so I might revise them to find a chance for getting out of this contract?!
    The field service is not allowed to call a Virgin line or get any access to Virgin screens that might help the customers (so seen in the VirginMegastore); just an expensive phone number in calligraphy for me.

  • happy

    by Carl at 9:36 on 15 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media is the best broadband provider you will ever get, its faster and a lot more reliable as the service doesnt got threw a BT phone line, it uses the same cable as their TV service, when i got the broadband installed i wanted to get the tv service aswell but i didnt want two wires going up my wall (one for broadband & one for TV), so i just ordered the broadband but when the enginerrs came and i asked about the tv they just used the one cable and split it in my bedroom, i asked if it would make my internet slower NOW THEY HAD SPLIT IT but it seems to go faster than the 3MG but i only get 2MG so how does that work ?
    So if you are planning to get the broadband, order the tv service aswell and you will get faster broadband.

  • happy

    by Kevin at 19:49 on 12 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I've had no problems with Virgin.
    As an ex-NTL customer the service is no better or worse than before.
    There were a few wobbles at the time of the upgrade to 20Mb but other than that it's fine.

    It also helps to know about the speed capping if you download more than a certain amount at peak time (16:00-00:00), your limit will vary depending on the package, but your speed can drop if you pass this limit and will remain so for a number of hours.

    I've not found it to be a problem, in fact since the introduction I've found the service much more reliable and a little faster during peak hours.

  • happy

    by nistrum at 13:15 on 11 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    For milliwanilli, try getting in touch with them on their normal customer services number rather than the premium one. I've just discovered after a week of wondering why my new connection had got so slow that they'd signed me up to the 2Mb package instead of the 20Mb they quoted me. Getting a 1.5Mb/s download now, so it seems they can actually deliver what they promise, it just takes a lot of effort.

  • unhappy

    by milliwanilli at 19:34 on 9 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    20 mb my ass to be honest. I am sharing my net with 5 other ppl so u can imagine how much we relied on virgin to provide us with that 20 mb. the highest we get is 2mb is we are lucky, usually less. I cant even get thru to broadband help. We are just bunch of students so we cannot swap to other isp atm easily since we just opened account with virgin. One of biggest mistakes. THEY SUCK big time. Avoid at all cost

  • unhappy

    by Annoyed Customer at 19:31 on 9 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I think we should ALL get in touch with every newspaper we can regarding Virgin Media's incredibly inept services, bad customer support, and our experiences of being ripped off on phonelines at 50p a minute just to be told what we already know.

    As above, people are having their internet connections capped between the hours of 5pm and 11pm (for me it is 3pm - 12am). Virgin Media have absolutely no right to cap anyones' internet regardless of whatever balloon flying cretin owns their company.

    People have already contacted WatchDog and I would suggest again you all do the same. I hope this section of his company is run into the ground because not enough thought or work or customer support is being put into making it a worthy ISP.

    Take it to the papers. Get it sorted, get your money back, and get a decent ISP which we have all been paying for for months and not getting.

  • unhappy

    by J Wynn at 21:44 on 8 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Absolutely awful, like 99% of the rest of the posts here. Do not buy from Virgin Media. The download speeds are no-where near the advertised rates. Im getting 200kb/s on an up to 20 meg service. Call centres in Azerbyjan, unfriendly service, unhelpful advice. Absolute waste of money. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

  • unhappy

    by Dave G at 1:08 on 8 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Any company that wants to charge me for reporting a fault with their services is not having any of my business any longer than I can help. Telewest were a bit slow answering the phone but at least they had some helpful staff and a free telephone line. This lot want to charge me 25p a minute just to find out if there is a problem let alone help me resolve it. I'm off to IDNet (IDNet.co.uk.) Just check out their offering and see what a thoughtful company that obviously believes in customer service offers.
    Toodle pip

  • unhappy

    by nistrum at 17:54 on 6 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I used to use ntl a few years ago. They provided a great service technically but their main downfall was the job-disliking card-reading parrots on the support desk. Imagine that very same company but now in a state of flux and you can imagine what you can expect from Virgin presently.

    I had to wait from Wednesday through to Saturday to get my broadband activated due to a system upgrade (activated meaning switching off their walled garden - the service was already connected).

    I've made about 10 phone calls, their registration server has been down, I've recieved misinformation, been redirected fom number to number, and paid through the nose for their premium support line (which is where the actual techies can be found). Finally I am calming down after a tense day and have 7Mb from the 20Mb service. Seems faster than DSL anyway.

    Maybe it will improve as Virgin complete their upgrades but for now you need nerves of steel and a technical mind to deal with this company.

  • unhappy

    by alan at 23:18 on 5 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    After a first rate service from Telewest Virgin are gradually applying the screws to extort the maximum amount of cash from their customers while reducing the quality of their broadband and tv services. It's a slippery slope. If you're not with them already stay well clear. Internet speeds are ridiculously slow, and I can't even upload files over 500KB as email attachments without trying about 10 times to get them to send fully. Telephone customer support is expensive and useless, and they didn't even respond to my online complaint/query. Take the money and run is VM's motto.

  • unhappy

    by Hugh Janus at 18:37 on 3 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Ok I was seriously looking to switch to Virgin, but having read the frankly jaw dropping experiences of the folk on here I think I'd rather set fire to myself.
    I'm a realistic chap and expect to find complaints about companies when I check them out, but never ever so many so consistently scathing. Not just here but all over the internet and a few by word of mouth.
    If it's any consolation people, I can't be the only new business they won't be getting. I wish you all the best of luck getting your problems resolved. Your experiences on here can only harm their operation and as such may (one lives in hope) cause them to pull their collective fingers out (of each others backsides).
    Sir Richard Branson you should be thoroughly ashamed to be associated with an operation such as this.

    Big Hugh

  • unhappy

    by David Snowden at 9:41 on 3 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media have completely made a mess of my broadband. It became unreliable shortly after the transition from NTL and last week stopped working completely, apart from always putting you to the provisioning page. After going through the annoying telephone support system and finding that I have to pay 25p per minute plus 10p to speak to some Indian woman who was very difficult to understand. The upshot was then that my set top box wasn't working properly and that I should go through the telephone system again to get a cable modem. Despite there being no direction for this sort of thing I eventually got through to someone who could help, via the television support but it took about 15 minutes, most of which on hold. They then wanted £25 to install this cable modem. The absolute cheek of it. I am paying for a premium service which I am not getting through faults in Virgin Media's infrastructure or hardware. They can whistle for their £25. Another customer gotten rid of.

  • unhappy

    by david williams at 18:36 on 2 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    did you find this review helpful? Well NO actually.
    For a start , there was no response to clicking it .
    At present my TV channel can only get BBC & ITV and this has been going on for at least 24 hrs despite phone call messages that the fault was recognized and being dealt with.

  • unhappy

    by david williams at 18:13 on 2 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    I've just clicked on several of the "did you find this review helpful ?" buttons and what did I get -nothing! -Says it all really.
    At the Moment I'm paying for tv services but all I'm getting is BBC+ITV .
    The only conclusion is they "DON'T GIVE A DAMN"

  • unhappy

    by stephen leggett at 22:00 on 1 Oct 2007 Report abuse

    Absolute s*** dont touch virgin media with a bargepole. Before they merged with ntl i would get pings of -50ms while online gaming now they have a service which is obviously cant handle their infrastucture. Little test i've just done before posting - pinged google = 269ms & 1 packet lost not acceptable. If you like streaming video & online gaming forget it they are useless. ohh customer suport forget it they are morons that read the script fed to them by their stinking corparation "ohhh reset your router make sure ports are forwarded blah blah" I know how to configue my router properly im not an idiot!+ they charge you to call them pffff in total save your money go elsewhere! bad connectivity, bad customer service, and bad company :(

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: