« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 24

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by help me! at 21:18 on 15 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    Unbelievevably crap! I have been a NTL customer for about 3-4 years - NO ISSUES! Great service, great speeds and no hassle! This crappy Virgin Media has taken it all away - down to 100kb continuously - when on NTL I would get 400kbs all the time! Definitly moving providers - anything is better then this rubbish - £25 a month for what?? Richard is just out to make money - no way is he taking mine! DON'T GO WITH VIRGIN MEDIA!!

  • happy

    by George H at 20:05 on 15 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    I have been checking my download speed for weeks now and it is averaging about 250Kbps in the evening (when I want to use it) and 4.5Gbps in the morning (when I don't use it). I have finally taken the plunge and I am migrating to Gofast. I don't really want to as I quite like Branson and it will screw me up for a while with emails but it is Virgin's “don't care” attitude that has finally pushed me over the edge. Whenever I have been it touch with their technical or customer support I just get the same “cut and paste” answers and they infer that it is not their fault and it is due to a small minority hogging the bandwidth. I'm sure that if that was really true they would have been kicked off ages ago and we good users would have had our speed back. When I asked for my MAC the Virgin rep asked me if I was getting a better package because they had some super deals going. I told them that the package I was signing up for was actually not as good but it works!

  • happy

    by spuggie at 20:19 on 13 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    What absolute crap Virgin Media are, first we lose x number of tv channels then we go back to dial-up internet but get charged for supposed 2,4 or 20mb broadband lines. I thought I had problems with my router so went and bought new one, had same slow speeds and drop outs so check Modem (old surfboard 4100) with V.M but was told there are no problems with it, they claim its my set-up on routers told them I followed the NTL set-up guide still they claim its my setup. Have since borrowed my mates modem, behold a working service (slowish),ring V.M told them "you cant do that it wont work" were their words but it has I said "put your old one back on they say "I cant its not here", "we cant do anything for you till you have your own on". Enough on crap internet service,the WORST thing about them is they speak to you LIKE A ******* 2 YEAR OLD WHO KNOWS NOTHING ABOUT THE INTERNET. Anyway like many others I WILL be sending both V.M and Ofcom some interesting reading. GOD I FEEL BETTER ALREADY.

  • happy

    by Wyatt at 19:24 on 9 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    We Have Been With Cable Sinse It was Layed In Our area in 1997 with tv and phone and then swiched to the 3 4 £30 deal when telewest took over and sinse 1997 we have never had one single probled broadband top notch and then VM took over the past 4 bills they have over charged us my broadband is an apsolute wast of space i get my music/films threw the net and also a beta tester for microsoft and getting the latest beta updates taked ages to downlode not very happy at all used to recomend but now all i can say is dont bother thinking about swiching to sky or aol broadband

  • happy

    by Kerry H at 10:58 on 8 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    Got a 'Quickstart' package. Box arrived, phone didn't work, TV didn't work properly, broadband didn't work. Virgin 'help' line just take you through the steps that didn't work before & are obviously just reading off a card/screen. V'H'L said it was my ethernet card. Got new one, no joy. Tried a USB/ethernet adaptor, no joy. Asked V'H'L if I could try a USB cable into the modem. V'H'L said they no longer offer this. Could I get a cd to get modem talking to pc. No it is 'plug & play'. 2 weeks & 3 visits later engineer finally got phone working. Was waiting for a new TV remote, as was sent wrong one, luckily he had one & offered to try broadband, no joy. V'H'L said it was my pc & I could phone their premium rate phone line or pay for another engineer to visit. Got Ibook from work - that would not 'plug and play' either. I told V'H'L, they said 'every computer is different' precisely I said. V'H'L said they'd send me a cd. You do a cd? Yes it will be there in 3 days... 4 days & counting

  • happy

    by wayne at 10:35 on 7 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    While Branson is happy to promote Virgin Media in public and bash it main rival the Murdoch family. behind closed doors he is dissatisfied with the companys strategic plan. it lost 46,900 cable customers on a net basis during the first quater and is likely to increase due to its pricing dispute with sky Virgin Media is not making profit..and whats this about selling part of it off??
    Looks like BT is going to be one to watch out for Piped Tv down the internet guess that has to be pretty fast to that huh all i ask for is an honest reliable services that doesn`t cut you off oh and why does the v+ box need a firmware upgrade is this more problems to in counter.....very poor service i hope your reading these Sir Branson

  • happy

    by marc at 1:05 on 6 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    my god, how I miss NTL.

    My speed has dropped so low, my service is dire, the customer support was reasonable although to be honest, i'd perfer to step away from this mess that should be sorted out!

    trafficing speeds with virgin media users was the worst idea Branson has thought of. Its done nothing but infuriate thier customers.

    the house cant afford expensive broadband, but this seems to be just taking the mick of the users integerity.

    I hope Branson and Co read these comments, and try to get thsi mess sorted before the end of this year, or me and the rest of the unhappy customers would be out!

    the reason behind the slow download speed is trafficing and this should be stopped!

  • happy

    by Warnsey at 22:25 on 3 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    What an appalling provider. I had formerly been an NTL customer for 5 years , never having a problem always good spped

    suddenly out of the blue i am told virgin media are now the provider, i did not choose them. Ever since the speeds have been appaling, continually in the 300-400kbps range often dropping to 100kbps !!

    Try phoning their support and all you get is a load of flannel from some disinterested call center temp on the other side of the world

    total total total joke steer clear

    luckily i am moving house in a month or two at which point i will gladly be cancelling my virgin account

  • happy

    by leec at 23:51 on 2 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    speeds are badly throttled. so currently, for the price of the new 20MB, (this was just added to our bill, even though we don't get it) our speeds are limited as if it were 5MB.

    5MB for £37. this is improving ntl's 10MB for £35?

    i read an article about virgin expecting more compaints from broadband customer, a 'senior Virgin staffer' said 'he attributed this not to a dramatic dip in service quality but a greater expectation upon the Virgin brand from consumers.' this is clearly total rubbish, if that is what senior virgin staff actually think, they should loose their jobs.

    i would advise people to stay well away from virgin media, they are not out to provide good service, they are just interested in your money.

    oh and don't forget, if you choose virgin media and then find out the service is terrible, you'll have to pay a heafty cancellation charge!

  • happy

    by Kurt Munro at 22:22 on 1 Jun 2007 Report abuse

    I was using Telewest Blueyonder before it merged with Virgin Media and it was flawless. Now I'm having trouble accessing certain websites including websites that are rarely broken such as youtube and other google websites. Youtube pages load but the video does not download. Someone else I know is having the same problem.

    I can't even access ANY blogspot.com (Google Blogger) blogs at all.

    I heard they half the speed of your modem after you've downloaded 750mb. So if you're on a 4mb like me they slash it to 2mb, which seems true after taking online speed tests.

  • happy

    by peteryam at 22:03 on 30 May 2007 Report abuse

    virgin or more like virmin media will get 1 more month subscription from me,there broadband service is an absolute disgrace,i'll be looking for a new service provider, and as i suspect so will thousands of others

  • happy

    by ace at 21:48 on 30 May 2007 Report abuse

    ntl was great fast reliable down loads . but since richard whats his face as taken over i can only download at crappy speeds on a 10mb ..what a wast of money. i WILL be looking for a better intenet provider.

  • happy

    by S Pau at 16:18 on 30 May 2007 Report abuse

    Absolute Nightmare. It was all nice with Telewest. Virgin rolled out on bandwidth throttling without prior consent. In addition, we experienced 3 weeks of intermittent service (and no service at the evenings) due to an "area problem", which "would be too technical" to be explained to us. Customer support was rubbish, lines get cut off immediately after the robot says "We are currently experiencing high volume of calls, please try later. You have not been charged for this call". Virgin monopolise the cable internet market and make us take it because we have no choice... Why is no one regulating them!

  • happy

    by darran at 22:07 on 29 May 2007 Report abuse

    absolute rubbish,in a nutshell had 2mb connection with telewest and was superb.got advertised speeds and ping in online gaming was superb.virrgin media take over and i get less than 1 meg and ping increased drastically.i"m off!but was upsets me most is i was really happy with telewest,then these chumps take over and screw it all up!

  • happy

    by Chris at 15:40 on 29 May 2007 Report abuse

    Used to be an excellent service when it was telewest, would get max speeds all the time, now that it has changed to virgin media i get around 0.5 meg connection while i'm paying for 4 meg, i do get full speeds but this is only during the middle of the night, i should be getting at least somewhere close to 4 meg all the time

  • happy

    by Very happy with Blueyonder Virgin are rubbush at 20:53 on 28 May 2007 Report abuse

    Unless Branson reolves this mess soon the Virgin Brnad name that is soooo highly valued will be damaged with no return.

    Sort it out Dick or for ever suffer the financial consequences.

    Its not too late but the clock is rapidly counting down!!

  • happy

    by Pissed off customer at 17:44 on 28 May 2007 Report abuse

    Since virgin media have taken over, and even before they decided to start throttling like idiots, we've been getting incredibly poor speeds. This is not 10Mbps, this is less than 2Mbps. Either sort it out or continue to lose customers.

  • happy

    by Lefty at 17:24 on 28 May 2007 Report abuse

    Reallly bad, they start to cap bandwidth now.

    For users with the 2mb broadband, they can only download 350MB between 4pm and 12am. All this talk about illegal p2p etc.. is pure ********. What about the users downloading the newest linux iso's etc..what about legal filesharing/videosites. In this day and age, 350MB is nothing!

    NTL never did this. Virgin Media punks get on my nerves, I'm moving within the next month and sure as hell won't take virgin media with me.

    I was not even told that the throttling exist with virgin media, only had to find out myself yesterday after download a new linux distro.

  • happy

    by Anonymous at 15:19 on 28 May 2007 Report abuse

    I don't know what yo people are complaining about, my bill comes up to around £150 a month, i give them a lot of business, i've got the top of every of their services except tv where ive got skyt hd and hardly have any problems, i am supposed to be on a 10mb connection, i was told to go to the game files website and download something, i am supposed to get 1.00MBps but i got 67.23KBps this is absolute bull in my opinion, Richard Branson ****** up damn telewest, which was perfect, everything about it.

  • happy

    by Nick Rees at 21:46 on 27 May 2007 Report abuse

    Being on Blueyonder - I was proud to say I was a loyal customer. Being on Virgin Media, 10 meg connection. I barely receive a meg on internet! What more can i say...

  • happy

    by BigMac at 15:37 on 27 May 2007 Report abuse

    My 4 mb ex- ntl connection works - but it has become slower. So I thought I would check it and find that it is now 2mb. Has this got anything with me threatening to leave and them having the cost of my internet to £12.50 to keep me? Or am I being cynical??

  • happy

    by honeyrose at 12:57 on 27 May 2007 Report abuse

    We have had cable broadband almost since its inception - Telewest etc. It was always reliable and a good service. Now we have been transferred to Virgin Media. We pay £25 month for L Broadband (4mb) but speed has dropped dramatically - and we are never above 2.4mb, sometimes only 1mb and often the connection drops altogether in the evenings and we have to restart.

    I download music and vids a lot, last night a 42mb file took over 20 minutes to download.....

    The Virgin M broadband service is for 2 mb, the L is for 4mb. We are getting just over 2mb at least some the time, so I imagine we are not be eligible to complain.

    Honeyrose

  • happy

    by oakey at 21:30 on 24 May 2007 Report abuse

    All i can say is Day light robbery. £35 for 1.8 meg.. we have sky upstairs free 2meg, its faster than my so called 10meg. Ntl was excellent speed wise, wtf have they done ??? Please complain to watchdog....lets get some help.

  • happy

    by George at 18:08 on 24 May 2007 Report abuse

    DREADFUL DREADFUL DREADFUL..................my husband and I play an online game and this requres a fast speed, we were with blueyonder/telelwest for years and years and years.......no problems that I can recall that we couldnt get fixed. OMG its now so slow its snail pace we cannot play our internet games withoput interuption, i recall a sunday when our internet was contantly up and down and up and down and we had no end of problems from customer support who were as useful as a chocolate teapot. Our tv box went down but Virgin denied it, we insisted someone come out and despite threats to charge us if they found nothing we were adamant they come and on techicla inspection we had had in total 92 internet interuptions and 50 box faults................NO APOLOGY, NO EXPLANATION, NO CUSTOMER SUPPORT...................Virgin you have NO CLUE what you are talking about I suggest MR BRANSON you fix it soon. We are moving to sky asap to get away from this CRAP

  • happy

    by rugbyho at 22:03 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    Thank god I found this thread. I thought I had done something to my p.c/modem. 10-12 MB lol. What the hell are they talking about? I've been getting speeds of around 350/500 kbps for a while now. Sometimes it's like I'm running a 56k modem again. Sort it out virgin. Or you're going to loose another customer. I can't even think about it to upgrade it any more! never Virgin again!

  • happy

    by Ben at 20:58 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    they throttle speeds in the evening. I'm leaving, and I wouldn't join if I were you.

  • happy

    by Eric Williams at 20:22 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    Was with Pipex, Virgin screwed up th migration so I lost connection for 5 days. The day of the connection came and went with no broadband. Rang up and was told that the order had never been actioned. They actioned it days later.

    THIS IS THE IMPORTANT BIT SPEED TEST WITH A PIPEX 1MEG LINE= 1

    VIRGIN 2.5MEG LINE ACTUAL SPEED = 0.1MEG.

    DISGRACE AVOID.

    I AM LEAVING THEM AFTER 1 DAY

  • happy

    by Lee Harris at 20:02 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    Pretty much what everyone has said here, absolutly awful, we pay £50 a month, yes £50, £25 for the broadband which is supposed to be 4mb and £25 for the phone in which the package gives us free evening and weekend calls, the phone is perfect, no problems with it, the internet however isnt, it was fine when NTL were in control but ever since Virgin have come along, we barly even got 2.5mb, and they still made us pay £50 a month, luckily we had powercuts in our area which fried our modem, which then made us think about what we were getting for our money, so we decided to try going for a BT phone line company, only to find out that the exchange is 5 kilometeres away, meaning that with all those companys out there, we can only get a maximum of 1mb, which is like 56k in todays terms, and therefore leaving us with the only avalible cable company in the area, Virgin, WONDERFUL

  • happy

    by John at 12:52 on 22 May 2007 Report abuse

    Cancelled Virgin last month and moved to TalkTalk (mainly for price reasons). Virgin cocked up and charged me for an extra month. Endless emails and calls to customer services yielded nothing. Call centre staff are rude and unhelpful. Ended up having to report the payment as fraud to my bank! PLEASE STAY AWAY FOR YOUR OWN GOOD.

  • happy

    by Keith W at 21:07 on 21 May 2007 Report abuse

    Like many other people I have been having problems since Virgin media took over. I had blueyonder for years and only ever lost my connection about 3 times. I loose it a few time a night now and they want to charge me £75 callout to check my modem. Why should I pay that. I rent the modem from them I don't own it shouldn't they come take a look and replace it if it's faulty. Every time I ring all I get is a system outage or the bloke telling me to unplug the modem (like i haven't done that a million times) it's been 2 months now and still it's getting worse. I'll give it a little longer then I'm changing ISP and my phone line. if anybody is looking at virgin media I would say look else where

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: