« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 25

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by tarbas at 21:46 on 14 May 2007 Report abuse

    Hello i must need help, my place the Bordband is very terrible , my boss always bother me & the ting is this vigan media is bad, they curs me when i phone, i pray to allah that these people change

  • happy

    by Chris Gould at 15:49 on 14 May 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media aren't the company they were (the service was much better when they were Telewest), but I doubt you'll find an ADSL service that comes close in terms of performance. I've recently seen Sky broadband in operation and on the 8meg service the download speeds were less than 400KBs (i.e. half of what they should be). Similarly, Bulldog's 8meg service ran at 5-6meg in the centre of a major town. Don't even start me on Orange (formerly Wanadoo/Freeserve).

    While I have experienced a number of speed issues in the past three months (after 6 years of use), these have eased and I am now able to download at close to 1.2MBs from most sites and using a download manager helps to improve speeds. I'm not defending Virgin's terrible customer service (outsourcing to India what a great idea), but on the whole it's still the best broadband service available. If you are unhappy with your service then it pays to complain to the retentions department as they will reduce you bill considerably

  • happy

    by hoipolloi at 12:48 on 14 May 2007 Report abuse

    Like many others, I had Telewest broadband for around three years with virtually no problems at all - the speed was always around what I was paying for and on the rare occasion there was a problem it was sorted quickly. Since Virgin took over, my 10Mb connection has slowed to a crawl and any tech support calls are routed to an offshore callcentre where is a total mutual lack of understanding. I phoned Virgin today to tell them I was planning on migrating to BT - the guy I spoke to said that the current capping policy was temporary and was imposed because Virgin have "too many customers"! Anyway, the upshot was that they've reduced my broadband bill by half "until the problem's sorted" - whenever that might be... Better than nothing I suppose....

  • happy

    by John at 21:35 on 13 May 2007 Report abuse

    STAY AWAY FROM VIRGIN MEDIA!! Me and my partner were fine with Telewest for 2 years. Only the odd down time with them, which could be sorted with trained, UK based staff. Since Virgin have taken over as our ISP, every night we lose internet connection COUNTLESS TIMES!!! I have been on the fone to Virgin many many times, with no joy. All you get is an asian/indian call centre, with people you can hardly understand, reading "solutions" from a screen. One suggestion from them (nothing wrong their end ofcourse!) was to turn off my firewall!!!! omg! Think we'll be Joining Sky. Steer clear of these cowboys! You have been warned!!

    Ps, report to watch dog!! If we all make the effort..........

  • happy

    by Sue at 19:39 on 13 May 2007 Report abuse

    I was originally with Virgin on dial up, which never caused me problems aside from the fact it was obviously slow! Due to the trouble-free nature of the service, I opted to stick with Virgin on the move to broadband and originally, that too was fab. Until recently - because now all I seem to get is slow connection speeds no matter what time of day, and even slower speeds on evenings and weekends - even to the point where literally every ten minutes or so (sometimes less), I am kicked completely off the connection full stop. I have been here now, for example, for merely 20 minutes, and already had to reconnect myself to the internet 5 times. Appalling considering the money I am paying for the service, and having read most of the comments here (glad I'm not alone in having these troubles) I have finally decided that now is probably the best time to go elsewhere.

  • happy

    by Dougall Marshall at 0:07 on 13 May 2007 Report abuse

    I live in the Falkirk Area of scotland and i have not had any properly problems with Virgins take over of the broadband services (2 periods of downtime that lasted less than 8 hours total.. wich is ok).

    My speeds about the same when im downloading from a site as it was before. Though i do make a point of NOT using spedd testers as they are very unreliable... i much prefer downloading a 1gb file and comparing the Kb/s downloads i get.

    As i say much the same as before.

    Now im just hoping that Virgin carry on with Blueyonders intended plans to double the line speed again to 20mb for the top users (wich according to the last letter i got in the post they are.

  • happy

    by Damo1 at 8:09 on 12 May 2007 Report abuse

    I've been with Telewest for ever and a day - since Virgin took over my 10mb connection runs at dial-up speed. Funny thing is in the morning its fine - at 3pm ish it just dies. I believe I am being traffic managed. I wouldn;t mind this, but 10mb down to dial-up. thats unacceptable. Hours spent on the phone to their 'so called' technical support was to no avail - so after years of flawless service with Telewest - now looking for a new ISP.
    They are apalling - wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

  • happy

    by dan at 17:09 on 11 May 2007 Report abuse

    crap service.... and this packet shaping! LOL.. you gotta be kiddin me.. im off to find a better ISP.

  • happy

    by Mr concerned at 21:37 on 10 May 2007 Report abuse

    Been with ntl/telewest for few years everything fine, last month or so (I have 4mb broadband) has been running at 250kb or just over. It appears to work fine during day. Had conversation with friend who has contacts within Virgin Media and the IT world and apparently virgin media has imposed a throttle on bandwidths. If you download over 750kb between 4pm and midnight they reduce your bandwidth. As I say I have 4mb should be around 4000kb and getting 250kb what a joke! what's more they have not notified anyone and customer services just lairing and making excuses. This should be classed beech of contact. Along with losing basic Sky channels from tv package Virgin Media what a **** take. No offer of reduction and can be even bothered of the restrictions they impose to notify customers. How many people have wasted hours messing with settings when they lie and blame equipment or settings. Its a disgrace all complain to BBC watchdog site I cant believe they have just gone and done this!

  • happy

    by Brenna Smith at 16:38 on 10 May 2007 Report abuse

    I have one word-SHOCKING!
    If you can avoid going virgin media then do so, avoid it at all costs.

  • happy

    by Anthony at 16:07 on 10 May 2007 Report abuse

    Thank god I found this thread. I thought I had done something to my p.c/modem.

    10-12 MB lol. What the hell are they talking about? I've been getting speeds of around 350/500 kbps for a while now. Sometimes it's like I'm running a 56k modem again.

    Sort it out virgin. Or you're going to loose another customer. I'm going to complain here too.

    http://www.ofcom.org.uk/complain/internet/isp/other/

  • happy

    by pipheyes at 7:45 on 10 May 2007 Report abuse

    I have been complaining for literally months to Virgin Media about my poor very poor download speeds (supposed to get 10MB) and poor return for my money, finally customers services person told me I could save money by switching to Virgin Media VIP. This I have done, however, while satisfied with all other services my Broadband Speed has never exceeded 5MB, this is nothing short of a con. I like many others will give Virgin Media a couple of weeks and then I am off.

    Virgin Media my area is Preston UBR3 Cable 3 4/1

  • happy

    by Lee Ford at 1:27 on 9 May 2007 Report abuse

    Absolutely crap was on ntl before virgin took over, everything was fine, now having major speed problems, 2 meg line runnin at 400kbps? shocking. also online gaming total nightmare gettin loss of 30 constantly between 5pm and 11pm evenings? deffinately be changing my ISP after a 2 hour phonecall to virgin , telling me my connection is fine? isit ****

  • happy

    by BeLGaRaTh at 21:51 on 8 May 2007 Report abuse

    Absolutely abysmal, forced to use them after moving home, was advised that I would be getting 10Mb service which would be around 1200k download (roughly the same as on my old DSL connection from Bulldog) but I would be upgraded FREE on the 1st May to 20Mb (I was installed on the 24th April). Noticed straight away was getting max 50k download and around 20k upload. Spoke to support (asian call centre) who advised there were email problems in the area? WHAT? he didnt understand I had slow speeds.

    Called back again next day and spoke to someone else who said it was because I had Vista installed, so advised that I get the same speeds when I use my laptop with XP. They backed off at that and said that it was because I was using a router, are they having a laugh?

    Third call and was advised to monitor it and call back in two days, called back still the same, told to call back in two days again, have been doing this for two weeks now with no joy.

    Sorriest thing I ever did going to Virgin

  • happy

    by Suri at 16:45 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    I live in Burnham and i had Telewest broadband service for last 3 years and i was getting real good speed. But after Virgin Media takeover the speeds have gone down. I have been observing this for last 4 weeks. Rubbish Service from Virgin Media. I will have to change provider.

  • happy

    by Bernard Peel at 15:29 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    Terrible,absalutely disgusting,i have a four Mb connection i am lucky if i get above 890kbs.Stay well away from this broadband dealer.IT STINKS

  • happy

    by Disgruntled Individual at 14:58 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    Following my last update on here, i had engineer NUMBER 8 (!) arrive at my house. The engineer also had an appointment across the road to sort my neigbours broadband out. This engineer has viswited me a few times and we are now on first name basis. He popped across the road to see my neighbour, and realised that he just like me is suffering the exact same problems. So it has now become a network issue.
    I called tech support shortly after- THE INDIAN CALL CENTRE VIEW?
    Its your computer-when i pointed out i have 4 pcs all running off the network-Virgins response? ITS ALL 4 PC'S.
    Thats it. I have been messed around to much by this. I have given them ONE week to sort it-Then i walk.And when i walk i take all my tenants in the building with me-Total?21 accounts.
    Watchdog know about this.PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PEOPLE TAKE 5 MINUTES TO FILL OUT THE FORM ON WATCHDOGS SITE. THEY WILL ONLY ACT IF ENOUGH PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THIS.DONT JUST GRIPE ABOUT IT HERE.LET THEM KNOW SO WE CAN NAIL THEM.

  • happy

    by Warlord2000ad at 14:17 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    I'm a bit shocked by the negative views above.

    I had plenty of issues with NTL, from increased prices and connection problems with the modem. After lengthy and expensive phone calls i did get ti sorted.

    But since Virgin got involved i have had no issues. Bills from dropped from £50 to about £25, due to free TV and no line rental + a £5 saving for having telephone and broadband its great. Also the phone calls to Virgin are free, something like 450 to dial them.

    I just hope Virgin carry on which the plan to finally support 50MB broadband!

  • happy

    by VERMIN_CAT at 11:24 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    THEY SAY NO CAPPING
    WHAT ALOAD OF HORSE WALOP
    THEY YOUSE THE TERM TRAFFIC MANAGMENT
    I THINK THIS IS A BREACH OF CONTRACT..????
    THERE TECHINAIAL SUPPORT LIES ABOUT THIS
    THAY DON`T KNOW A THING ABOUT THE SERVICE AT ALL..!!!!

    THEY GIVE YOU THE RUN ABOUT...!!!!

    THEY SAY WNEN IT WAS NTL IT HAD A FAR TO HIGHT CAP LIMIT NO PROBLEMS..!!!

    KNOW THEY HAVE DROPED THE CAP LIMIT EVERY BODY IS GETTING PROBLEMS ON 10 MEG AND YOU PAY A PREMINUM FOR THIS 35.00 A MOUNTH....

    THEY SHOULD LOOK AFTER THERE CUSTEMERS..

  • happy

    by Georgetheporge at 11:05 on 7 May 2007 Report abuse

    I use Virgin 10mb at home and share a BT 2mb at work and the BT is way faster than the Virgin though i do feel a bit sick complementing BT!!! It seems that if you are hitting servers in the UK then Virgin are pretty quick as I get an average 4000kbps on uk based servers. Go anywhere alse in the world and it will be ranging from 2000kbps down to 256kbps when i hit the states. Imust say I am a heavy user and understand that capping must happen to give everyone a fair stab at bandwidth but this is ridiculous. I am thinking about moving on now and the only thing holding me back is the Virgin ondemand and Replay service as well as the hasstle too.

    If you are Considering Virgin, I suggest you stay away as there claims are ringing pretty hollow for me.

  • happy

    by Branson Jr. at 23:20 on 6 May 2007 Report abuse

    Up until Virgin took over Telewest I was making quite a lot of money downloading movies from various newsgroups, burning to discs and then flogging them at car boot sales. Since my dad bought the company the a*** has dropped out of my earnings. He makes me pay for 10meg download speeds at 35 quid a throw. It's now 11.15 on a Sunday night and I am averaging 2.5 meg, tosh tosh tosh.
    He seems to have forgotten that he started out by selling bootleg tapes from a barrow. How am I supposed to make my first million with this going on. I don't like Australians much but it looks like I'm gonna be giving that fat Aussie my money from now on.

  • happy

    by GY at 15:47 on 6 May 2007 Report abuse

    I thought there was something wrong with my home network but after plugging a PC straight into the NTL/Virgin Media modem, my supposed 10Mb speeds are still down at 2.5Mb and they have just put the price up to £37 a month!! NTL were ok, if lacking in decent support but Virgin have managed to mess up a perfectly good service. One more month to get it right and then I am off and Branson can stuff his "get your TV and phone and mobile and everything from me" up his backside.

  • happy

    by cheryl at 9:57 on 6 May 2007 Report abuse

    Been an NTL customer for about 10years and always been happy, rarely had problems and if i did i would phone customer services and they would sort it immediately. Recently have had no services at all for 3 weeks due to a cable being severed accidently by workmen, customer sefvices no help at all! Engineers arranged but don't turn up, not once but twice!! Finally get connected and was given a reduction on my bill for all the trouble, only to find they have overcharged me for this month, tried to ring customer services for NTL custoemrs(as you can't sort out NTL problems with Telewest call centre). I always get through to Telewest call centre they transfer me to Telewest faults, they transfer me to NTL faults who transfer me to NTL customer services only to be told all the computers are down and could I call back later. 37 minutes and 40 seconds it took me to find out this information!!!! Bloody awful services, have already switched to Sky for TV am about to bin the rest of NTL.

  • happy

    by bill at 8:17 on 4 May 2007 Report abuse

    i get 10mb and when i checked speed is up their so dont know what all fuss is about and as for pound a minute calls sure your not calling some funny chat lines lol

  • happy

    by awful at 23:53 on 3 May 2007 Report abuse

    so, let me get this straight. I pay 37 quid for a service that is turned off/down to me because I use it? Sod that. I'm cancelling my subsription tomorrow and heading over to Sky. I never had this poblem with Telewest or Blueyonder.
    Awful. I encourage people to switch, too.

  • happy

    by angry customer at 12:49 on 3 May 2007 Report abuse

    I have always been an NTL customer and eventhough they were a bit unorganised, but things seemed fine. I just moved house recently and sorting out the Virgin Media's landline and broadband had been the most stressful thing I'd ever dealt with.

    It took them 3 whole weeks to figure out what's wrong with my landline, and the number I got given actually belonged to someone else, they switched it in one night. I had to put up with all the phone calls which weren't for me. Worse still they charged me for the phone calls I didn't make (How ironic is that? My phone wasn't even working!) The customer service staff doesn't seem to have any common sense, everything was a mess. Without the phone line, I had to call them with my mobile, and they only refunded me £30 (which £10 is the landline that I couldn't even get access to!) My mobile bill went off the chart and they refuse to do anythi about it. A waste of my time and money, and I have to put up with all the prank calls from now on!

  • happy

    by Kirk9 at 23:06 on 1 May 2007 Report abuse

    This service is a disgrace. They know they are doing it to.

    I complained a few weeks ago and my speed mysteriously went up to 2mb (I pay for 4mb), but this lasted for about one week, it is now down to about 300kb (yes thats right 'kb' not mb', it is 10% of what I pay for), and has been like that for ages.

    ADVICE TO ALL THOSE WHO ARE PISSED OFF AS ME>>>>

    Document your speeds every day, once in the morning and once in the evening. Just in case you don't know how to document you speeds, here is what I'd advise:

    Go to:

    http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest?flash=1

    and print your screen by pressing the button PrtSc, mine is near F12. Then go to paint, and paste your copied screen, then save the image file in a folder, I SUGGEST NAMING THE FOLDER "DAYLIGHT ROBBERY."

    Keep fighting, I've documented my service for a few month now and, I'll keep doing so, and I will get the money they are stealing off me back when I complain

  • happy

    by grey haired john at 20:20 on 1 May 2007 Report abuse

    Absolute rubbish. Supposed to be 2 meg, most evenings 300-550k !
    Wonder why Virgen adverts look glossy ? cos daft lads like get me get ripped off. Keep well clear of this of this garbage, if you subscribe, you're just paying for another Branson jolly in his balloon and spaceships or subsidising some new subscribers mobile phone package.

  • happy

    by Angela1986165 at 1:50 on 1 May 2007 Report abuse

    For those of you out there who are complaining about your speeds going down since the change from NTL to Virgin, think yourself lucky. As well as speed problems, I can't even get on the internet at all most of the time!! Or if I am lucky enough to establish a connection, it lasts for about 5-10 minutes then proceeds to completely f*** off until I unplug my modem, plug it back in again and repeat the whole process.
    It is not acceptable.I am past the point of caring what anyone at Virgin says and sick of trying to work out why it's not running as it should.
    Frankly, as customers, this isn't something we should have to be even thinking about. It should just WORK.
    And don't even get me started on the call-centres and the "help" they're apparently providing...

    So goodbye to Virgin Media.
    And I would advise anyone considering signing up with them to steer well clear.

  • happy

    by SeanLaad at 20:17 on 30 Apr 2007 Report abuse

    Virgin Media non-cable is brilliant! 10/10
    Can be a bit slow when it is busy!!!
    Well worth it though!!!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: