« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 29

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by Arthur at 15:46 on 22 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have 10 meg broadband from Virgin, and i get about 12megs out of it when i download via Bitcomet. And i also use a wireless router and have 4 PC's connected to it. I just LOVE IT!!! Never had a connection loss and never even knew the helpline number as i don't need it!!!

  • happy

    by Moots at 15:05 on 22 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Had a few problems while i was with blueyonder but nothing serious. The problems were usualy fixed within a few hours or a day at the most.Now virgin media has been forced upon me my broadband has slowed down so much that dial up would be a godsend at the moment.I think it may be time to find another isp.
    I pay for broadband so i should have broadband...0/10 for virgin media >.>

  • happy

    by Kate at 12:16 on 22 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Total rubbish - since Telewest was absorbed into Virgin Media my speed has slowed to nothing. Incompetent support (no knowledge of Mozilla) and, although not the worst BB provider (that was Bulldog who I went to Ofcom about) I'm definitely taking my business elsewhere. Luckily we don't have the TV package so can still watch Lost!

  • happy

    by Paul Wood at 22:04 on 20 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Was very happy when I subscribed just over a year ago and couldnt understand the bad press........until they became virginmedia.
    I took advantage of the free upgrade to 8mb but learned that my max line acceptance was 2mb, so no fault with Virgin there. However there is no excuse for less than 56kb (sometimes) and a current maximum of 128kb!
    Ive never had any success contacting anyone there by phone from day one, so Ive gone straight for the email option. I have a feeling I will be looking elsewhere within the month.

  • happy

    by AC at 21:29 on 20 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    AVOID!!

    10Mb service runnning at 400k to 4Mb best for £35 a month ???
    No customer service.
    Reporting them to OFCOM is the only way to get out.

  • happy

    by Richard Reade at 14:07 on 19 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    NTL/VirginMedia were awful. I ordered an installation in December. Was given a date for early Feb. That was bad enough but:-
    1. Could not install early Feb so rearranged for late Feb
    2. Turned up late Feb but could not do anything
    3. Re-arranged for March but did not turn up...
    The left hand did not know what the right was doing. Problem was with the installation manager who Virgin had subcontracted the work to. Virgin did not manage the process at all.
    THIS NEW BEAST IS UNWIELDY AND INEFFECIENT - PROCEED WITH GREAT CAUTION or just go to Sky/BT.

  • happy

    by labtec at 23:59 on 18 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    with ntl for years no problems,this virgin media is the pits,i think they are using india for there support callers ,phoned twice and each time it was very hard to understand them.having router problems but you can only phone for support ,no emails so am reluctant to phone.got the vbox and were having problems and they were sending engineers who had never work on them before,so i would not reccomend this company to anyone,comeback ntl

  • happy

    by Awful at 21:41 on 18 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    This is well bad, the speed is slow and web pages take like 5 minutes to load...

    Cant even get through to speak to anyone about it!

  • happy

    by angry at 2:20 on 18 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    packet loss is upto 20% in manchester at present 3 weeks ..stll going on

    cant game at all on it

    tech say nothing wrong till i take it higher eventually after numerous promises and no call backs, i got one and they admited its oversubscribed , why didnt 1st line tech know this, why insist its my router etc

    when i work in IT and know its not

    yet again no date for fixing.

    no info on service status page yet they know its a problem

  • happy

    by TigerChan at 14:17 on 17 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Was with Telewest for years. I got got all the speed upgrades that they dished out and they were never once as fast as I was told they's be. But it was fast enough. Not that they've become virginmedia my connection doesn't even work properly. Most ot the time I get page cannot be displayed, or the page jsut hangs. Internet gaming is impossible for longer than 5min without losing connection and downloads from websites tend to freeze or cut off completely. I've been having these kind of problems for a ages, but it was sporadic and normally sorted within a few days. But now its EVERY time I turn the PC on.

    This is an absolute disgrace and as soon as I find an alternative I'm going to take it. Looking at doing one of BTs wireless options at the moment. I'm also reading lots of online reviews and forums. There are a lot of people who are dissatisfied since the merger!

  • happy

    by Paul at 7:57 on 16 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    When it's good, which is most of the time, it's fine. When there are problems, customer service sucks. Complain about email and you get told that email is free and they're providing it out of the goodness of their hearts. Have a fault and it could be up to a month before they concede that the problem is not at your end.

  • happy

    by steve at 22:46 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    ive had ntl for years now and i never get my full speed and the upload is terrible especially when trying to play on xbox live it is the worst connection for gameing

  • happy

    by Samantha Dreyer at 16:58 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I can honestly say I have not had a problem with the connection or speed with Virgin (I was telewest) for over a year now. I do wish the upload speed would increase though to say 1mg up, as I have 10meg down. I'm waiting for them to increase the speed in May to 20meg and then hope the upload will increase then.

    Overall - I'd go with them.

  • happy

    by Barry at 12:49 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I was with NTL broadband for about 5 years without any problems (with the broadband anyway...) and the handover to Virgin Media broadband has been pretty seamless. I've not noticed any difference in performance since.

  • happy

    by at 10:51 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have to agree with the general feeling VIRGIN SUCK BIG TIME!!!!!!
    was with blueyonder for four years and had no problems. Then about five months ago it all went pear shaped. Good speed during the days (when at work) then come 6pm the service is rubbish. Pointless opening any web pages cause it takes 5 mins to load if even it does cant use. Impossible to look at msn hotmail or ebay, upload speeds hit next to zero, at least the download speed can be ok, ok maybe not :-( . Then come 12ish on the night bang it works ok. phoned numerous times on 0845 numbers to speak to idiots in the tech support who just read of the same sheets. Folks at virgin tech if you read this try this simple thing READ THE PREVIOUS NOTES IT MAY SAVE YOU TIME. Now some of the workers you speak to cant even understand your A/C number or name,wasting more of my life. I will be changing in the next few weeks to a new cable its called a piece of string and two tin cans it maybe faster. STAY CLEAR OF THEM

  • happy

    by very slow at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    my 10 mb thinks its a 56 k, never downloads above 1.5mb -2mb at the max
    very slowwwww now and unstable , i have been with blueyonder since it started ,the good old days.
    things now with virgin are just getting worse,speeds drop by the week,connection timeouts,if you want a 10 mb package you would really need to aim for a 40-50 mb if available package from virgin to achieve the 10 mb speed !
    LET VIRGIN STAY A VIRGIN AND DONT TOUCH IT

  • happy

    by billyb at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have had very few problems when it was NTL the odd outage say 4 in 5 years generally after thunder storms etc but quickly remedied. My 10 MB runs at around 8.5 MB so room for improvement there.

  • happy

    by chrispk at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    absolute shocking, had a brand new installation a week ago, 3 ugly plastic boxes on my living room wall.
    had the tv/2mb broadband/phone package and the broadband is a joke.
    lucky if i get dial up speed and no chance of reading my hotmail emails as the page just wont load.
    BRANSON put your mobile number on here,i want a word with you!!!
    i previously had onetel 2 meg for 2 years and was far far superior but pricey.

    anybody who praises the virgin broadband service is obviously a virgin employee thats paid to boost the reputation.

  • happy

    by baddog at 10:15 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    CAN ONLY SAY THE SERVICE IS POORER NOW THAN EVER,WHEN THE TOP SPEED WAS 3 MEG, WAS VERY GOOD FOR SPEED & CONNECTING ,ALLEGED SPEEDS HAVE INCREASED BUT NTL/VIRGIN HAVE NOT INCREASED THEIR CAPACITY SO A LOT OF THE TIME DOWMLOAD SPEED IS RUBBISH ( 10 MEG HAHA LUCKY AT TIMES IF 1MEG )SO UNLESS YOU INTEND TO USE THE WEB AT SAY 2AM TO 5 AM TRY SOMEONE ELSE.OH AND I THINK TV SPAT WITH SKY JUST SHOWS HOW THE COMPANY IS SPEEDING UP DOWN THAT HILL.

  • happy

    by Robin B at 10:12 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    5 years with Telewest Blueyonder and no speed or connection issues... they were perfect. I didn't ask to go to Virgin but now I've been lumbered with average 750 Kbps when I'm paying 30 odd quid for 10 Mbps.... used to get about 7 to 8 with Telewest which was more than fair.
    The Security Package looks promising but why can't we have the speed???

  • happy

    by steve j at 10:12 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    virgin media is total rubbish my 8mb package runs at under 2mb from 9am to 6pm then 0.5mb to 00.00 then picks up to a high of 4.4mb around 0230 in the morning. When you phone them they are not interested unless your service is under 0.4mb. Then they will only pass the buck to bt .

  • happy

    by Richard Tarver at 10:11 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Very low speeds at peak times on all the provided speeds as I have friends who have different ones. Not worth the hassle.

  • happy

    by Carl Hudz at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I "Did" have a very good connection speed with Telewest on 2MB, as soon as it switched to "Virgin Media" nothing but DIAL UP connection speeds, Very Slow and very often loose connection!!

  • happy

    by Jola at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    It's been great!
    The BB is exactly the same (perhaps slow in the first few days but normal now). But on top of that the customer service is SOOO much better than with NTL. Also the added free ondemand tv stuff is AMAZING!
    THANKYOU!!!

  • happy

    by Carl Hudz at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Telewest have upgraded my connection speed FREE, twice in the time i've been with them, Virgin Media seem to be reducing speed.

  • happy

    by gowebgo at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Was paying £17.99 for my broadband from Telewest. Received phone call from Telewest, Nov 2006, asking if I was happy with the service and giving me a free speed upgrade, one of many over a six year period. Without notice Virgin has been charging me £25:00 and as yet have not refunded the extra monthly cost. Can't get through on the phone since my first request for a refund was refused. Upgrading my broadband without my consent is surely illegal.

  • happy

    by gowebgo at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    After six years of great Telewest service and several free speed upgrades I was shocked to find that my monthly cost has, without notice, gone up from £17:99 to £25:00 (Check your bills)
    My request for a refund has been turned down and now i can't seem to get through to speak to anyone.
    My last speed upgrade was given late last year, probably October-November after a telewest employee called to ask about the quality of service I was receiving...wonderful was my reply. Things are far from wonderful now.

  • happy

    by Chacho Coudet at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Since the switch from Telewest to Virgin I've lost connectivity from one of my pc's (before I didn't use to have any trouble)...I've tried disconnecting the power cable from my modem but nothing happened. Not mentioning the Sky channels we've lost (sky news, sky one, etc) So far, I'm that chuffed with Virgin to be honest.

  • happy

    by Leah at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    They are the absolute worst company I have evr had to deal with. I wish I never joined them but it seemed so appealing. Don't do it!

  • happy

    by Awful awful awful at 10:07 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Boo

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: