« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 29

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by TigerChan at 14:17 on 17 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Was with Telewest for years. I got got all the speed upgrades that they dished out and they were never once as fast as I was told they's be. But it was fast enough. Not that they've become virginmedia my connection doesn't even work properly. Most ot the time I get page cannot be displayed, or the page jsut hangs. Internet gaming is impossible for longer than 5min without losing connection and downloads from websites tend to freeze or cut off completely. I've been having these kind of problems for a ages, but it was sporadic and normally sorted within a few days. But now its EVERY time I turn the PC on.

    This is an absolute disgrace and as soon as I find an alternative I'm going to take it. Looking at doing one of BTs wireless options at the moment. I'm also reading lots of online reviews and forums. There are a lot of people who are dissatisfied since the merger!

  • happy

    by Paul at 7:57 on 16 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    When it's good, which is most of the time, it's fine. When there are problems, customer service sucks. Complain about email and you get told that email is free and they're providing it out of the goodness of their hearts. Have a fault and it could be up to a month before they concede that the problem is not at your end.

  • happy

    by steve at 22:46 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    ive had ntl for years now and i never get my full speed and the upload is terrible especially when trying to play on xbox live it is the worst connection for gameing

  • happy

    by Samantha Dreyer at 16:58 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I can honestly say I have not had a problem with the connection or speed with Virgin (I was telewest) for over a year now. I do wish the upload speed would increase though to say 1mg up, as I have 10meg down. I'm waiting for them to increase the speed in May to 20meg and then hope the upload will increase then.

    Overall - I'd go with them.

  • happy

    by Barry at 12:49 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I was with NTL broadband for about 5 years without any problems (with the broadband anyway...) and the handover to Virgin Media broadband has been pretty seamless. I've not noticed any difference in performance since.

  • happy

    by at 10:51 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have to agree with the general feeling VIRGIN SUCK BIG TIME!!!!!!
    was with blueyonder for four years and had no problems. Then about five months ago it all went pear shaped. Good speed during the days (when at work) then come 6pm the service is rubbish. Pointless opening any web pages cause it takes 5 mins to load if even it does cant use. Impossible to look at msn hotmail or ebay, upload speeds hit next to zero, at least the download speed can be ok, ok maybe not :-( . Then come 12ish on the night bang it works ok. phoned numerous times on 0845 numbers to speak to idiots in the tech support who just read of the same sheets. Folks at virgin tech if you read this try this simple thing READ THE PREVIOUS NOTES IT MAY SAVE YOU TIME. Now some of the workers you speak to cant even understand your A/C number or name,wasting more of my life. I will be changing in the next few weeks to a new cable its called a piece of string and two tin cans it maybe faster. STAY CLEAR OF THEM

  • happy

    by very slow at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    my 10 mb thinks its a 56 k, never downloads above 1.5mb -2mb at the max
    very slowwwww now and unstable , i have been with blueyonder since it started ,the good old days.
    things now with virgin are just getting worse,speeds drop by the week,connection timeouts,if you want a 10 mb package you would really need to aim for a 40-50 mb if available package from virgin to achieve the 10 mb speed !
    LET VIRGIN STAY A VIRGIN AND DONT TOUCH IT

  • happy

    by billyb at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I have had very few problems when it was NTL the odd outage say 4 in 5 years generally after thunder storms etc but quickly remedied. My 10 MB runs at around 8.5 MB so room for improvement there.

  • happy

    by chrispk at 10:50 on 15 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    absolute shocking, had a brand new installation a week ago, 3 ugly plastic boxes on my living room wall.
    had the tv/2mb broadband/phone package and the broadband is a joke.
    lucky if i get dial up speed and no chance of reading my hotmail emails as the page just wont load.
    BRANSON put your mobile number on here,i want a word with you!!!
    i previously had onetel 2 meg for 2 years and was far far superior but pricey.

    anybody who praises the virgin broadband service is obviously a virgin employee thats paid to boost the reputation.

  • happy

    by baddog at 10:15 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    CAN ONLY SAY THE SERVICE IS POORER NOW THAN EVER,WHEN THE TOP SPEED WAS 3 MEG, WAS VERY GOOD FOR SPEED & CONNECTING ,ALLEGED SPEEDS HAVE INCREASED BUT NTL/VIRGIN HAVE NOT INCREASED THEIR CAPACITY SO A LOT OF THE TIME DOWMLOAD SPEED IS RUBBISH ( 10 MEG HAHA LUCKY AT TIMES IF 1MEG )SO UNLESS YOU INTEND TO USE THE WEB AT SAY 2AM TO 5 AM TRY SOMEONE ELSE.OH AND I THINK TV SPAT WITH SKY JUST SHOWS HOW THE COMPANY IS SPEEDING UP DOWN THAT HILL.

  • happy

    by Robin B at 10:12 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    5 years with Telewest Blueyonder and no speed or connection issues... they were perfect. I didn't ask to go to Virgin but now I've been lumbered with average 750 Kbps when I'm paying 30 odd quid for 10 Mbps.... used to get about 7 to 8 with Telewest which was more than fair.
    The Security Package looks promising but why can't we have the speed???

  • happy

    by steve j at 10:12 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    virgin media is total rubbish my 8mb package runs at under 2mb from 9am to 6pm then 0.5mb to 00.00 then picks up to a high of 4.4mb around 0230 in the morning. When you phone them they are not interested unless your service is under 0.4mb. Then they will only pass the buck to bt .

  • happy

    by Richard Tarver at 10:11 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Very low speeds at peak times on all the provided speeds as I have friends who have different ones. Not worth the hassle.

  • happy

    by Carl Hudz at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I "Did" have a very good connection speed with Telewest on 2MB, as soon as it switched to "Virgin Media" nothing but DIAL UP connection speeds, Very Slow and very often loose connection!!

  • happy

    by Jola at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    It's been great!
    The BB is exactly the same (perhaps slow in the first few days but normal now). But on top of that the customer service is SOOO much better than with NTL. Also the added free ondemand tv stuff is AMAZING!
    THANKYOU!!!

  • happy

    by Carl Hudz at 10:10 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Telewest have upgraded my connection speed FREE, twice in the time i've been with them, Virgin Media seem to be reducing speed.

  • happy

    by gowebgo at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Was paying £17.99 for my broadband from Telewest. Received phone call from Telewest, Nov 2006, asking if I was happy with the service and giving me a free speed upgrade, one of many over a six year period. Without notice Virgin has been charging me £25:00 and as yet have not refunded the extra monthly cost. Can't get through on the phone since my first request for a refund was refused. Upgrading my broadband without my consent is surely illegal.

  • happy

    by gowebgo at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    After six years of great Telewest service and several free speed upgrades I was shocked to find that my monthly cost has, without notice, gone up from £17:99 to £25:00 (Check your bills)
    My request for a refund has been turned down and now i can't seem to get through to speak to anyone.
    My last speed upgrade was given late last year, probably October-November after a telewest employee called to ask about the quality of service I was receiving...wonderful was my reply. Things are far from wonderful now.

  • happy

    by Chacho Coudet at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Since the switch from Telewest to Virgin I've lost connectivity from one of my pc's (before I didn't use to have any trouble)...I've tried disconnecting the power cable from my modem but nothing happened. Not mentioning the Sky channels we've lost (sky news, sky one, etc) So far, I'm that chuffed with Virgin to be honest.

  • happy

    by Leah at 10:08 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    They are the absolute worst company I have evr had to deal with. I wish I never joined them but it seemed so appealing. Don't do it!

  • happy

    by Awful awful awful at 10:07 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Boo

  • happy

    by george anthony at 10:07 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Customer service is poor, if and when you can ever get thru to someone but does anyone else experience random and frequent periods of simply being logged off mid-session?

  • happy

    by gutterslutt at 10:06 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    i carnt understand it,
    just got the new package from virgin, everythiungs fine....... apart from the broadband and my x box,
    customer service's have been specially trained in diverting you to other departments and some special lady even managed to find the problem why i couldnt connect my x box was the fact that i didnt actually have a cable modem...............
    I HATE THIS SERVICE

  • happy

    by Mark at 10:06 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Had NTL (Now VM) for years.

    Broadband is perfectly fine. When we was on 10meg, We got around about 9meg. (downgraded for money reasons) 2meg has been running at 1.9meg.

    They've had their problems but who hasn't?

    Customer services have improved..

    Just give them a try, You have your 30 day money back. Check the website.

  • happy

    by button at 10:06 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    COMPLETE DISASTER. Broandband AND TV. Not a 'techie' so trying to figure out with new Virgin owners WHY my broadband is suddenly at a near standstill is very frustrating. First they blamed my router (ActionTEC 54 mbps) but speeds are same using USB cable. Then the 'have you tried to switch on/off' option. Then set me up with 6 or 7 different new IP adresses. Then blamed the firewall on my new(-ish) Mac (which is always set to OFF). Eventually (at 22:00pm) after an hour, speed got better - sure it's only because we reached end of peak hours. Next evening back to square one. As someone else mentioned; fine speed weekdays between 2-5 but evenings and weekends as slow as dial-up! Arrgggh. TV service is same. It is near impossible simultaneously watching one channel and 'paging through' the other channels. Very slow or no info given at all. The tv guide freezes most evenings. I will switch to a Freeview box, BT landline and serious broadband provider - any suggestions?

  • happy

    by Matt at 10:05 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    Very rarely had problems when this was Blueyonder. Virgin is a compeltely different story. Despite inheriting a broadband infrastructure that has worked near flawlessly for me for about 5 or 6 years, they've managed to balls up secure logins for most of Scotland. I can't access hotmail, ebay, msn messenger, or any site that uses any sort of secure login facility. This was supposedly going to be fixed "within 4 hours"...that number was given on Thursday. The virgin media site still says 4 hours, despite this being a "priority 1" case. I'd say priority one for virgin so far has been "lets **** everything up". The service is also generally slower since the changeover for both tv and broadband, not to mention the Sky fiasco (which, admittedly, was not wholly Virgin's fault, so I can't really hold that against them). I'd never switch to sky because, quite honestly, after researching them I think they're money grabbing morons...but that might be better than a service which doesn't work.

  • happy

    by davyboy at 10:04 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    The virgin connection symbol at the bottom of the screen shows 6.2 MB connection but my fastest speed test using thinkbroadband is only 3.8 MB and is quite often as slow as 300kbps am I being conned

  • happy

    by Laura Murdoch at 10:04 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I HATE IT, bring back Blueyonder, Terrible service, Cheeky on the Phone, Internet is SLOW.

  • happy

    by Angry Customer at 10:04 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    I am changing providers. I can't stand Virgin Media, Terrbible Customer Service, Internet speed is Shocking..

  • happy

    by Mark2 at 10:03 on 13 Mar 2007 Report abuse

    wireless has completely disappeared and one computer cannot connect to internet at all in any shape or form, other than that and the loss of the main channels on TV i.e SkyOne and Sky sports news what else could go bad .

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: