« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 5

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • neutral

    by HappySkyChappy at 11:41 on 11 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    I took out a Sky broadband package in September 2011 - At the time they estimated a speed of around 7MB/S - I actually get 6.7 - This is constant, never interupted and extremely reliable and only costs £17 approx including free evening/weekend calls and line rental

    Sky is like a 500% improvement on the Virgin cable line that is installed elsewhere in the property - I could type hundreds of lines of text here complaining about Virgins Customer service (A service that was once reliable for me when it was NTL), but I have already seen repeated so many times here from other people

    Conclusion: SKY = Excellant - Virgin = Sh*te

  • unhappy

    by shaun at 1:58 on 9 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    virgin have twice now failed to offer me basic internet, each time going on over 6months. faults faults and more faults, non of the hubs with built in wifi work ie no wifi, i actually have to turn the wifi off and plug a router into it then all my connections etc, bloody rediculous, then i look to cancel early i get this, oh we dont see that we broke our contract to you even though we failed to give you an acceptable level of service, total dk heads!, i have sky being installed on 16th and have to wait till 1st may to give notice. my problems started this time after i accepted a deal of lower prices in order for them to keep me, a week later totally rubbish service 3 modems later same modem was monitored for one hour had 166 modem faults T3 timeouts they said, more a network problem id say. also bit of nfo for you all in october last year they virgin were ordered not to use the best internet ever in there adds and admited they were not the most reliable providers when it came to gameing etc. il not touchthem again and i go back to eurobel days of being a customer then telewest and virgin blabla, just pointing it out so we understand even long term customers are packing there bags as so to put it, all i can say is very good luck to those who stay google how many customers they lost last year!! you be suprised, well im not lol :)

  • unhappy

    by rodolphe fleury at 14:14 on 6 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    Do not get Virgin Media at any price, it's internet is erratic, their customer service is appalling (unfriendly, useless, unhelpful)

    I've been in two different flats and it's always been completely rubbish (they already had it in my second flatshare, I definitely didn't choose Virgin Media twice)

  • unhappy

    by Tony at 17:23 on 4 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    Virgin Internet absolutly the worst Rubbish on every level cant even get there billing right wrong email address, wrong Bank details for D/D Call center a joke, 150 service another Joke 30 minute wait and then they say you have pressed an invalid key so cut you off. Speeds up and down all the time, uploads no coment as cant send item at times Anybody thinking about VIRGIN THINK AGAIN YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • neutral

    by cloudsosmoke at 20:12 on 30 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    @cal 14 dec
    me too - very slow downloads .. so far

  • unhappy

    by mark smith at 23:29 on 17 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    Here is the transcription from online chat when my installation was cancelled. I was trying to contact the helpdesk. I was just getting music so I thought I would try the online chat on the virgin website:
    Emma: Hi, welcome to Virgin Media. Is there anything I can do to help you with your order? Just type your question below ...
    Emma: Please let me know how I can be of assistance.
    You: yes, I have been waiting on the phone with you about my installation for 20 min. Can somebody call me.
    Emma: Welcome to Virgin Media.
    Emma: Do you currently have any active Virgin Media services?
    You: It is about my installation scheduled for monday. I am a new customer.
    Emma: Do you currently have any active Virgin Media services?
    You: no
    Emma: Thank you for the confirmation.
    Emma: I am sorry that we do not have call back facility here. However, it is a online sales team.
    You: If you don't call me back I will cancel my order.
    Emma: I understand about your concern. But you have initiated the chat in the online sales department. If you call to call our customer care you can be provided with the solution.
    You: I have been waiting for 25 min and I am just getting music.
    Emma: However, we ask that you give us at least 7 to 14 days from the time you order to actually have an engineer come and install your services. So, whenever is best for you after that is when we can get you set up.
    Emma: I suggest you call our sales team by phone on 0845 840 7777 or 150 from your Virgin Phone. They have your account information on hand and can talk you through offers for existing customers that aren't available here online.
    You: I am on this number at the moment and have been waiting for 26 min.
    You: I have my order number. Can you check on the status?
    You: Are you still there?
    Emma: Yes I am here to help you.
    You: My order number is nnnnnnn. It was scheduled for Monday 19th for installation. I have had a message to say that it has been cancelled. Can you clarify why and when it will be installed?
    Emma: I request you to call the customer care no. on 0845 840 7777. They will transfer your call to appropriate department.
    You: I have already told you that I am currently holding on this number and have been for 30 min, but nobody is answering.
    Emma: I understand that can please disconnect the call and redial.
    You: Why, will that be any faster?
    Emma: However, it seem like false call.
    You: how long should I wait for?
    Emma: I sorry, but it could be some technical issue with the operator side.
    Emma: You do not have to wait any longer.
    Emma: Can you please which number you have dialed?
    You: 0845 840 7777
    Emma: Okay that's the correct number.
    You: The number just hung up on me this time
    You: said it was too busy
    You: and would take longer then 30 min
    Emma: Just let me check some more details for you, if possible.
    Emma: I am sorry that it's taking too long.
    You: Can you pass a message for a callback to the installation department.
    Emma: I understand that but we don't have call or call transferring facility available with us.
    You: you must be able to send an email
    Emma: However, this is an online sale team and we just have to entertain new customer. Those who are willing to buy Virgin Media Services.
    Emma: I completely understand about your call back concern and I would love to offer you a call back. However, I will not able to offer you a call back at your convenience.
    Emma: As I am bound with Virgin Media Policy.
    Emma: I think you can understand.
    You: ok, This is a really poor service. I am going to copy this conversation and post it to one of the forums that discusses service quality from different TV services in the UK.
    You: Do you want to add anything else before I do this?
    Emma: However, if you visit our website. At the extreme right had side you will able to see and TAB "EMAIL".
    Emma: Just click on that you will get some email on which you can send your queries.
    Emma: Or you can also click on "Contact Us" at the bottom central.
    You: This is no good as I don't have a vrigin media email address yet as I am a new customer.
    You: I have tried the contact us and that is how I got the phone number.
    You: I currently have no way of contacting virgin media other than this chat service that I am using.
    You: and you cannot help me.
    You: Can you accept my request to cancel my service?
    Emma: I understand please contact our customer care.
    Emma: Thank you for visiting us today.

  • neutral

    by Cal at 8:50 on 14 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    I have Virgin 50mb i pay £80ish a month for internet and tv and phone.

    at first fantastic but virgin have changed the rules and terms and now have traffic shaping in place which basically means unless you surf and download the middle of the night your 50mb will actually download slower than 500kbps because of the traffic shaping, there internet is horrible for network gaming ie ps3/xbox too much lag makes good game play near impossible.

    All of my Virgin user friends are having the same issues.


    AVOID don`t let the ads sucker you in.

  • neutral

    by linda at 13:58 on 7 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    been with Virgin since aug .... they cancelled my installation without notice
    complaint after complaint since then as they just randomly cut my line off Broad band is dire
    constatnly calling 150 and told i different amounts of bill yet never tallies
    send payment then they cut me off again
    staff at call centre sooooooo rude
    all i want is a phone line

  • unhappy

    by Karl Limacher at 19:25 on 6 Dec 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin media have had an issue in my area for the past 7 months, to date they have done precisely nothing about and intend to do nothing in the future. they are not willing to tell me why even though know exactly.

    the last laugh is on them however, i have just cancelled a 3 year business deal worth over £10500 a year because they are useless. the salesman (who is on a commission) basis is obviously very unhappy ... TOUGH!!

  • neutral

    by David at 12:35 on 30 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin show nothing but repeats on the TV there daytime phone calls are expensive and the broadband nearly grinds to a halt at peak times.

  • unhappy

    by farida at 23:12 on 24 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    on the phone now been 62mins when i was advised15mins waiting time aaahhhhh
    !

  • unhappy

    by sham at 14:26 on 23 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Changed from Sky about 6 months ago...wish I had not. Signal gets "dropped" at least a couple of times a day. Sometimes a whole day I have no wireless and each time I waste 30 mins to 45 mins on the helpline (which is very good by the way, they try their best). I would recommend you never sign onto broadband from Virgin - it is unreliable, and if you were running a business from home you are asking for trouble.

  • unhappy

    by Gregg Wallace at 0:52 on 22 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin internet is terrible in our area, we are on a 20mb deal and it frequently drops to speeds of 0.15mb/s - 1mb/s.

    Would not recommend.

  • unhappy

    by Qualo at 20:15 on 9 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    I have had problems with Virgin Media regarding broadband and Tivo Box installations. They have now missed two appointments and have given all excuses. I have been on the phone to them throughout the year trying to rectify problems and issues. They lie all the time about installations, turning up and their service is absolutely appalling. I have been with Virgin Media ever since they took over the previous company I think it was called Blueyonder. I have been with this and previous companies since about 1998 and am now absolutely fed up of them. If you want a stress free life, don't take up their services you will be on the phone to them endlessly. The more services you take the more problems you will have. If you have lots of time on your hands and want to spend a lot of time listening to music and being fobbed off and want to waste some money on their services join them. The service used to be good in the past but no longer

  • unhappy

    by Onkar Singh at 6:50 on 8 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Hi,

    I switched my broadband to virgin from talktalk a month ago "THE BIGGEST MISTAKE I HAVE EVER DONE IN MY LIFE"....they say high speed 20MB broadband but infact it takes 4-5 mins to open google home page..But most of the time there is no Internet signal at all...can't wait to get my life back..i dont think anyone wanna use mobile to surf net like me when they have so called high speed broadband....my area is london...

    Avoid Virgin

  • unhappy

    by John at 20:12 on 2 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    I think Branson should really think about how his global brand is serioulsy impacted when clients have an average call hold time of 20 minutes to report a simple home telephone fault. It will not be long before people stop respecting everything Virgin do as a Robin Hood act and consider him and Virgin as ruthless and wosre than the existing companies that he proports to shake up.
    that means, we stop flying Virgin, we stop buying whatever he gets into next. And we the UK consumer certainkly do NOT open a bank account just becuase Robin Hod Virgin has set up a niche. If he sails under teh personal flag for his brand and claims to be a posiotyive client focused global brand, then he will probably die by that sword when he fails to invest in simple things like client support. I knwo lots of Virgin home boroda[=n=band users and we all now hate Virgin and incidentally i fly globaly with BA over 100,000 business miles a year now. BA at least they stick to their core product and fly to serve.

  • neutral

    by hergestamarok at 10:41 on 28 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I am with Virgin and consistantly get 9.25+mb download speed which I pay for, the connection is generally good but sometimes is artificially slowed down, all providers do this. customer service takes you straight to the sub continent unless you call retentions to tell them you are leaving at which point you will get Sctoland Ireland or NE England varies I think. been wanting to cut costs not necessarily leave as reading reviews from all the others I see no difference. if you are having problems no matter who with the customer service and any engineer solutions will be mostly poor. no company comes out on top I looked at a download speed comparision for my area the most consistant for me is virgin the highest in only one zone was bt and the very worst was talk talk at something like 0.6mb you cant win even by changing providers just hope to hell that you have the fewest problems while dealing with them. they are not charities they don't give a damn about your days off work or lost connections or anything else. they want your money, they will screw you where they can and give you the least service possible any company don't care which. I think you got to put up with one of the big three chose the deal you think best and ride the bronco of disappointment that comes with it. good luck I'm speaking to Virgin in a couple of days or so to save some money ah ha so I'l end up -paying more for the same service no doubt once my brain has been turned to jelly by the various offers, ce la vie with internet/phone providers.

  • neutral

    by ben gray at 9:14 on 27 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Richard just cancel your DD mate, not alot they can/will do. I had massive issues last year. a 25 a month contract actually ran up to 400 over the year. Nevertheless they never got 80 pound off me lol. Your paying for up to a certain speed,10mb? it all depends on your area but you arent paying for '10mb'.

  • neutral

    by RICHARD WIL at 0:03 on 27 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    arghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh I just want to leave virgin as they lie, speed they say is a lie......I do their speed cheek v.good, then check with independent checker and it is almost in rewind, they say will phone back........5 times and never have. I just want to leave can I do this without charge as have another year eft on contract?

  • unhappy

    by Karl at 17:05 on 26 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Well I have my internet connected through an ethernet cable,and since I joined 6 years ago when they were NTL,but speed has dropped,but the price has gone up quite a lot,Virgin's customer services is appalling and whenever I get problems I have to visit my local C.A.B to get them to resolve the matter as it's to expensive to phone them 0845 costs a lot on a mobile or phone box and they don't recognise my login details either,this company frequently stops my service because I haven't payed my bill even though I set up a direct debit with them years ago,to which they totally deny even though I did it at the C.A.B and they have records,so far I have had to set it up 10 times and each time they have no record of me setting one up,I only use them as I don't have a phone line and to be honest I am on the verge of giving up my internet connection.

  • neutral

    by nicola at 23:05 on 23 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    which is best mobile broadband router fast?

  • unhappy

    by jon at 11:11 on 23 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Oh dear. Just joined virgin from talk talk and expected better; not so far! Superhub for 30MB broadband workes perfectly, up to 8 feet away. In the next room signal is 1 out of 5 and download speed fluctuates around 500k. Apparently their superhub has an internal aerial with a weak output signal. And its prone to interference when sited near the V Box - engineers have allegedly been told not to do it, but they do it anyway. But the real issue here is the customer service. I don't really blame the poor people you get to speak to but the system has been designed to be so rigid that it is more or less impossible for them to help you. This is a problem of management and leadership. I hope Sir Richard gets to read these comments (one hears on the rumour mill that he still cares about the service that is provided in his name....). If he does, I hope he'll decide he needs to get closer to this bit of his empire and remind his senior managers what they are supposed to stand for.

  • unhappy

    by ken at 1:09 on 21 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin broadband has issues which keep cropping up. Sometimes ZERO connection.
    Then it comes back ok. No explaination no apology. They should keep pps informed. We pay for CONTINUOUS connection. What we get equates to Breach of Contract, so we should not PAY. Cancel direct debits

  • unhappy

    by Chuck at 4:35 on 19 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Ive been with Virgin media for over 7 years & been very happy with them until this June....

    In June I started to get bad ping & high packet loss so I called virgin media & they told me if I upgraded from my 20mb to 50mb it would sort out all my issues. i got the 50mb & it seemed fine for the 1st day but then came back the bad ping & high packet loss.

    To cut a very long story short since June I have called them at least once ever few days tellig them nothings improved & every time I call them they give me the line "it's currently being fixed if your still have problems in a few days call back". Its now October my 5th month with a service that don't load let me stream media or use any kind of voice program like skype msn messenger etc and last but not certainly not least let me enjoy my gaming addiction.

    Those mentioning Watchdog i got banned from there help and support forums for posting a link.

  • unhappy

    by Charlie at 18:22 on 18 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Signed up to virgin 50Mb + TV, and it has been an utter disaster. They couldn't get it to work during the installation, and said they would be back the next day. That was a week ago and we are still waiting for them to return after numerous calls to complain. Our connection is appalling, it comes and goes, and at its best takes a good 1m30s to load a single page, and watching tv programmes online or youtube is an absolute JOKE. A friend with 10Mb said his connection speed is faster with a different provider, and pays 1/5 of the price. As for the TV, the only channels that actually work are 1,2,3,4,5. We could get these without paying for the Virgin package. ALL other channels either do not work full stop, or freeze for about 5minutes every 20-30 seconds. Needless to say we are cancelling the contract as soon as we have found a replacement.
    Therefore, in conclusion, awful connection, awful customer service, awful TV service. I would never recommend anyone to use Virgin.

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 2:48 on 17 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I was happy with Virgin broadband (through standard phone line) for years, but now the connection keeps dropping & will not reconnect (sometimes for hours). It takes a long time to connect to some pages & often takes several attempts (I even tried several different DNS servers). They lowered my download limit from 40GB to 10GB without informing me & the price stayed the same even though the speed & download limits make it worth about half of what I pay (8mb/s, 10GB, £18.35). They block their customers from download sites & lie about it on a grand scale (apparently by misusing IWF censorship/monitoring filter). Their customer support is bad. There is a problem with the router they supplied & the settings cannot be password protected, but they won't replace it. Their website is very poor: hard to acess webspace, slow to open pages & info is often out-of-date. Etc.

  • happy

    by Josh at 12:59 on 16 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    10/10 I have the 50MBPS and I get on average 50.32 It'll sometimes drop below 35 on Saturday/Sunday evenings, Would recommend.

  • neutral

    by marc at 13:35 on 14 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    sky is the same customer service , they are rude

  • neutral

    by dan at 22:39 on 10 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin used to be good. Been with them for years, and the broadband used to be very reliable, the customer services used to be quick and efficient.

    Now the broadband speed is fine some days, other days it can take 5 - 10 mins to load a webpage with just one photo on it. I've signed up to e-billing, but when i log on, it can't show me my bill, as I am not the main account holder, which i find a bit strange cos i'm the only account holder and always have been. Have just phoned customer services to try and sort this out, spoke to someone who couldn't help, then got put on hold for 20 minutes whilst being played music which could only have been written to help bulimics throw up. They obviously just do not give a s**t about their customers.

    I want to change. Are there any good providers in the UK???

  • unhappy

    by Sev Lee at 23:59 on 9 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Terrible Customer service. We got their broadband Thursday and it hasn't worked since.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: