« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 6

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • unhappy

    by Paul at 2:48 on 17 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I was happy with Virgin broadband (through standard phone line) for years, but now the connection keeps dropping & will not reconnect (sometimes for hours). It takes a long time to connect to some pages & often takes several attempts (I even tried several different DNS servers). They lowered my download limit from 40GB to 10GB without informing me & the price stayed the same even though the speed & download limits make it worth about half of what I pay (8mb/s, 10GB, £18.35). They block their customers from download sites & lie about it on a grand scale (apparently by misusing IWF censorship/monitoring filter). Their customer support is bad. There is a problem with the router they supplied & the settings cannot be password protected, but they won't replace it. Their website is very poor: hard to acess webspace, slow to open pages & info is often out-of-date. Etc.

  • happy

    by Josh at 12:59 on 16 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    10/10 I have the 50MBPS and I get on average 50.32 It'll sometimes drop below 35 on Saturday/Sunday evenings, Would recommend.

  • neutral

    by marc at 13:35 on 14 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    sky is the same customer service , they are rude

  • neutral

    by dan at 22:39 on 10 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin used to be good. Been with them for years, and the broadband used to be very reliable, the customer services used to be quick and efficient.

    Now the broadband speed is fine some days, other days it can take 5 - 10 mins to load a webpage with just one photo on it. I've signed up to e-billing, but when i log on, it can't show me my bill, as I am not the main account holder, which i find a bit strange cos i'm the only account holder and always have been. Have just phoned customer services to try and sort this out, spoke to someone who couldn't help, then got put on hold for 20 minutes whilst being played music which could only have been written to help bulimics throw up. They obviously just do not give a s**t about their customers.

    I want to change. Are there any good providers in the UK???

  • unhappy

    by Sev Lee at 23:59 on 9 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Terrible Customer service. We got their broadband Thursday and it hasn't worked since.

  • unhappy

    by Janet at 22:18 on 6 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I signed up with virgin Media in June 2011 and never got phone connected until August 2011.
    I wish to hell I never went to them, they gave me some money back towards the bill for the phone line not being on, but not enough. I had spent so much on my mobile phoning them and having to use mobile for work purposes. I had made calls that they charged so much for, then the price as gone up from £53.00 to £58.00 in just 3 months. What a con, you think you are doing well virgin, you are going to lose a lot of business. What happened to keeping your customers happy and stop trying to take money for nothing. Fed up with you all ready.

  • unhappy

    by Neale at 16:52 on 6 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I switched from BT only days ago. So far, I have spent 5 hours on helplines to foreign call centres asking me to do the same thing time and time again. There has been one box swap out within 48 hours, and a Virgin engineer that even said to my wife, and I quote; "Yes, you joined us at the wrong time. We just can't cope with the traffic." Oh. Oh. And oh again. Please folks, DON'T switch just yet. I signed for 30Mb, I get 3 fluctuating .5 and then, usually nothing. Great marketing. Terrible customer relations. They refuse to believe there is anything wrong with my line. Should we all contact Watchdog. You bet!

  • unhappy

    by Martin at 16:18 on 28 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    Sitting here waiting for an engineer appointment that is totally pointless as I have told Virgin's service desk that our supposed 20 Mb speeds drop to around 6 Mb at or around 6 pm most days now. They can't seem to grasp this. Unless I have a family of squirrels with very regular teatime habits running up and down the exterior cable, I can't see how it is going to be anything except the local network experiencing contention. I have also replaced my wireless router with a bang up to date model just to make sure my side of things is OK. I find this inability to listen and analyse carefully very frustrating. Hopefully this engineer will turn up. I took a day off work to wait for the last one and then they realised that in fact my modem, which they insisted needed replacing, was perfectly OK and there had been a local service outage. Unfortunately they didn't tell me they had cancelled the engineering appointment so I wasted a day off work for nothing. Poor remote diagnosis, poor customer service and a product that is not meeting its advertised performance. And I have been a Virgin broadband customer for around ten years. It used to be excellent. Now it is worse than average.

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 20:38 on 26 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    Without doubt, the worst service you'll ever over pay for!

    I've been with Virgin since April '09, I've made numerous calls to the technical department due to slow connection speeds and have never got anywhere.

    My router packed in after a year and they wanted almost £40 (full money) for a replacement.Even though I was still in my contract period.

    I live in an area that can only receive up to 8 meg broadband through the phone line, although i still pay the same as someone who can receive 50meg broadband.

    Its just gone up £5 a month but the service is as bad as ever.

    The best its ever run over the last 2 years is 5 meg, this lasted for about a week before dropping off to what seems to be a very common to Virgin 0.5 meg.

    To be honest,Virgin just can't provide the service they say they can.

    Well today I rang customer services for the last time...After 30 minutes on the phone I was told a new router would fix my slow connection speeds, however...i would need to sign up to a new contract to get the router sent out.

    Yeah...good 'un.

    I sign up to a new provider in a few days when my MAC code arrives (and wouldn't you know, it takes a week to arrive thanks to Virgins semi-trained apes), and I can't wait.
    Half of the monthly cost and with a far more reputable company too.

    Ahhh that's better.

  • unhappy

    by emma at 0:33 on 26 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    well i have just completely cut off virgin and do not care whether they try to claim money from me. minor adjustments to package ended up with me adding another 2 years onto my contract some how and my bill should normally be £32.50 and ended u being over £55 even though i have unlimited call package and never use out of limits. Also got a mobile from them and was ok for the first 4 months then all of a sudden just after richard bransons house burn down my phone bill comes in for £80 instead of the £10 approx i normally pay. apparently i have been calling india... well considering i do not know anyone in india this is pathetic and outrageous claim. Call the call centre and theres nothing i can do and it shows several calls made for long periods from my contract. i think it was rigged or something as there are no calls made to any india number on my phone log. had enough of virgin and can see everyone else has too. be glad when they cut me off and hopefully asap so i can have new services installed with a hopefully better company...

  • unhappy

    by Steve Williamson at 11:53 on 23 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    Been with Virgin Mobile and Landline for some years now, to be honest I upgraded to 50Mb in June and not too bad, though you very rarely get 50Mb. We had to move properties recently and decided to see what Virgin would offer for adding TV and Tivo Box (500Gb). Good offer I thought and went ahead, deciding to cancel our Sky HD. Virgin installed box etc on Tuesday,September 25th 2011 and we thought great, until that evening when the picture quality became poor and often pixelated. Then I discovered that the HDD film package that we had negotiated was not available. On-screen it stated that we had not subscribed to the channels which is untrue as I stated we wanted these, or what was the pioint of the HD box. There are hidden charges that person at the out of the UK call centre did not explain in detail, to be hones her Engklish was not good and I had to keep asking her to explain exactly what she meant (although she seemed to not be sure herself). Then to top it all the box crashed twice in one night and took about 20 mins to re-boot (I had to switch the power supply off and back on to get the Virgin box to re-set itself. To be honest I am going to phone them to tell them to take the box back and am returning to Sky, who aren't the greatest company to deal with, but far better for customer support than Virgin, who don't seem to care about their customers,Shame on you Virgin). I don't want to lose my Broadband but if I have to, I will, If more people stood their ground with Virgin, then maybe, just maybe they would care about their customers. Their TV Menu is rubbish and very slow, though they do show the series and epsiode number of all shows etc. but this is not enough to warrant keeping a terrible TV service.

  • happy

    by Paul at 12:49 on 20 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    At last (well, for the 2 years at least) I have found a good broadband service. I actually get the speed I paid for. Plus it actually works! a rarity with the BT line based product I had in the past (I never got even close, hell the same ball park, to the promised speeds with other services) .
    Just wish I had found them earlier rather than being hood winked by the alternatives. Now if I could only get my firm to move to Virgin we may get what we pay for there to.

    Customer service wise, my plus box for the TV service failed (possible due to heat) and it was replaced the very next day. Excellent.

    Why oh why did I waste my time with the non cable providers. Live and learn I guess

  • unhappy

    by Iain at 16:42 on 8 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    This company is not serious I want my money back
    They send wrong bills, ignore complaints, fail to return call
    I am frustraded with my telephone bills my packet is LX Unlimited, but is not work system
    I have call mobile virgin (incluse packet) Usage costs for telephone number
    show me dont have nothing Free call mobile virgin, I have change my bordaband 30mb for 10 mb it s terrible

  • unhappy

    by Fiona at 21:11 on 7 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    I received a letter this week telling me that my monthly charge will be increasing by £5 per month. This represents an increase of almost 70%! I am 6 months into an 18 month contract, and I have to pay cancellation charges if I transfer elsewhere. I have been unable to contact Virgin Media by phone - there is either no answer or I got cut off. Despite the fact that they supply broadband and I use Virgin email, I can't find an email address to use to complain to.

  • unhappy

    by Ian at 17:02 on 30 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Terrible broadband quality. I have the 50MB service and it goes through regular periods of being slow and unreliable for hours or days at a time. Whenever I call them I am always told there is a fault that will be fixed at 5pm (always!) and it never is.

    Installation is unreliable and customer service simply lies. One time I waited in all day and the engineer didn't show up. I called and was told there was no record of the appointment. Next day I got an automated letter confirming the appointment time.

    Worse than BT. Amazingly.

  • unhappy

    by Lucy at 13:10 on 22 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    I'm shocked to see just how many virgin customers are as angry as me!
    We've been with virgin for years yet our internet has been down for 3 MONTHS!
    Customer service is the worst I have ever experienced in my life, that's if youre lucky enough to speak to someone who speaks english.

    I would advise people having problems to get in touch with the chief execs- there's no overnight solutions but we are making slow progress and ive been guaranteed at least £200 in compensation.

    All in all do not join virgin!!

  • neutral

    by r4 at 14:58 on 18 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Today I am happy , relieved but also furious with those AMATEURS AND COWBOYS at Virgin media. I've been waiting nearly four weeks for an engineer to come out - YES FOUR WEEKS - no broadband ! They cancelled 2 previous visits without telling me ! I have made arount 6 phone calls , posted 7 letters to different people ... yet NO RESPONSE whatsoever , with a view to repairing my broken broadband. A bunch of 10 year old scoolboys could organise this better. To make it worse ,I've been with them around 10 years ... doesn''t stand for anything apparently. So today I give in and accept defeat ... but it was great fun to bin them & cancell the direct debit . They are happy to rob me of my money every month - but not provide a working service. What a shoddy organisation you are VIRGIN MEDIA ... Cowboys and scammers ....SCUM !!!!! I DONT recommend them folks ! Really dont ! Too much aggravation and frustration !Enjoy VM .

  • unhappy

    by pat at 11:34 on 17 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Been with virgin for 2 years want to go to sky but because i upgraded to xl in february when i phoned up to cancel i was told i couldn't because upgrading mean't i had taken another 12 months contract out. I wasn't informed at the time that it was another contract when i upgraded so BEWARE if you ever want to upgrade you will be taking another contract out with this dreadful company !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT A CON......................................

  • unhappy

    by Paul Fishlock at 23:39 on 12 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    What a waste of space. This company is branded "Virgin Media" . It is in fact Cable and Wireless". It is as. old and antequated as the name suggests. If you are lucky you will be in a fiblre obtic area, where their services are comparable with BT. If not you will get sub standard service. They rely on BT exchanges and have no real working relationship with them. You will be promised 4mb - 8mb delivery. You might get this for a month. In reality expect 2 or less. I got down to 0,11mb! FOR 2WEEKS. Dial up was better! Go elsewhere!

  • unhappy

    by Useless at 20:04 on 9 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    RUBBISH .......STAY AWAY!!!!

  • unhappy

    by thumper at 19:52 on 9 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Absolutely useless!! paying for 50mb and getting 10mb and often 0.5mb.
    Lie after lie!! Stay away.

  • unhappy

    by LT at 12:37 on 6 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    what a damn pathetic service im so fed up with them constantly changing fix dates

    i had a 30meg connection but over the last 6 months ive had it ive been lucky if i get even half that. Ive phoned numerous times and had a new hub sent out still not fixed, I run a small business from home so rely on my computer for this. They have said its because of a high usage on the network im on and so offered to lower my pakage to 10 meg so that i would get a constant speed and so it wouldnt be detrimental to my business. Guess what made no difference at all infact its worse and after phoning again im told it makes no difference what package im on because im still running off the same server.
    They said its a network issue and they have to lay new lines to cope with the problem ive been given a dozen dates for a fix so far and everytime i phone its changed fix was supposed to be in july now its mid september. con artists come to mind as they are still selling the service (to my next door nieghbour) even though they know they cant supply the speed promised surely this is false advertising and illegal?.
    When i complained and said i would be seeking compensation for loss of business i was told basicly tough s**t because i dont have a business account with them there is nothing i can do. Just fed up with the dammn excuses

  • unhappy

    by ray at 10:57 on 28 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    Why does Virgin insist on customers having a phone line?
    It's the only company that doesn't have to do this.
    I've been paying for 4 years for a basic virgin FREEVIEW box (no extra channels) which I dont need this was suppose to be free but now on the bill is classed as TV package.
    A mandatory phone line whicj I never use at £13.99 a month?
    I only ever wanted just unlimited broadband, virgin can do this but are just greedy forcing the phoneline on customers

  • unhappy

    by Sarah at 23:23 on 26 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    I have been a virgin customer 4 times & have cancelled 4 times as I have resigned myself 2 the fact that r never going 2 improve their customer service
    Everything is always ure fault, never thiers. On the last occasion I decided 2 give them another go I arranged an installation date & time,between 8am & 1pm..When they hadn't turned up by 1:45 I decided I had better get ready 4 work,the bloke turned up as I was leaving.His excuse was that the van had broken down,it amazes me that in their line of business they cannot contact u 2 let u know,I sent him away cos I had 2 go 2 work.When I informed my partner he rang 2 complain & 2 arrange another time where he was told they wouldn't arrange another time 4 a month & it was my fault 4 not letting him in.Was I wrong in doing what I did?They had 5 hrs 2 show up & then gave a lame excuse as y he was late.Would they b so understanding if I was late paying the bill.I don't think so.Every1 I've spoke 2 havnt got nice things 2 say about virgin,don't waste ure oxygen or ure phone bill on them.

  • neutral

    by David at 10:56 on 3 May 2011 Report abuse

    I have always had cable. I did not want to use BT and the other option was Birmingham Cable. They got taken over by Telewest who in turn got taken over by Virgin. I have a 10Mb connection. My connection speed is virtually always over 9Mb. I once got cut off but that was due to them connecting the new housing estate across the road. I preferred it when it was Telewest as I got to speak to someone in the UK if I had a problem, now it goes through to India. They are OK but to be honest they read from a script and don't really understand where I'm coming from.
    A mate of mine has Sky. Up to 20Mb - ha ha ha. He gets like 1 or maybe on a good day 2 (a very very good day). My switching station is across the road, it is a stone's throw away. My brother has BT and he says sometimes his will be Leicester or London - 100's of miles away. Same with my mate, the last time I look for him it was in Ascott or some place. The signal goes through that many relays it can never be fast.

    Cable is the best. In my experience it is always fast. It isn't anything much Virgin did, it is the guys from Birmingham Cable and Telewest. I can get 100Mb/s and it is blisteringly fast. The technician from Virgin said they are experimenting with 200Mb/s. The copper wires could never ever match that. I wouldn't switch to anything other than cable.

  • unhappy

    by james at 11:49 on 26 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin internet is the most stressing and unreliable ISP ive ever had and ive tens of them.

    Connection is intermittent and sometimes cuts off completely. This happens for days until i call them about the problem every third week. Is this a joke?

    They know the problem is on their side but they will just give u a list of things to do. Dont take none of it. Only when you insist enough will they send you adequate signal. It is frustrating and stressful like nothing else. And Indian advisers are atleast courteous and they try to do what they can. A Scottish advisor i talked with was just rude and ignorant.

    Virgin needs to sort their mess up sooner than later. Otherwise, customers like me will want to walk away. Huge thumbs down.

  • unhappy

    by Ben at 10:37 on 23 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    My whole take on Virgin Media as a broadband company is shocking. It seems to be a universal understanding that there customer service is the worst and you always come off the end of a conversation with them more annoyed and angry before you entered.

    They have now charged me £140 on top of my £24 service in late charges and payment handling even though I used e-billing(electronic) being the key word.
    I set up a DD with e-billing to only find out that apparently I didnt so for the past 2 bill dates that I have missed (clearly my fault) I have being charged more fees. Virgin were more then happy NOT to help me and when I went to cancel, I had this proper jobs worth who thought he knew everything to preach to me telling me that Virgin Staff need to be paid. I was treat like a right idiot , although he offered to take a miserly £10 fee off If I stayed however I said no and he said in that case I wont take any off and you'll have to pay a leaving fee of £80+ and your bill. My so called contract they didnt tell me about should have only cost me £250 for the year and now cost me over £300 and Im only 7 months in it.

    Thanks Virgin

  • unhappy

    by Brian at 12:59 on 14 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    Since 2nd March 2011 I have lost my Virgin Broadband connection12 times including the last 3 consecutive days. It always happens 1st thing in the morning. I speak to tech support but they insist it is always new problem on some occasions they have not even logger the previous day’s problem. They seem incapable of putting 2 & 2 together and see this is a serial problem in my area. I find the staff you talk to very pleasant but incapable of sorting the problem or passing on to higher levels; if you push it will offer a reduction on your bill. But Virgin Media seem no longer capable of providing a 24 x 7 broadband service.

  • unhappy

    by Brian Jones at 15:44 on 1 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    I have been on the phone for the last 82 minutes listening to the dreadful music while waiting to speak to an operator. When the phone was answered someone called Dave thanked me for calling Virgin Media then disappeared leaving nothing but music. A 5 minute message saying that there is a waiting period of x minutes would be helpful. I am really trying to report a TV fault but cannot really afford an hour and a half waiting to talk to someone. BT gets ever more attrractive.

  • unhappy

    by jennifer wallbank at 9:53 on 1 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    After many calls to virgin support staff I have come away very angry and frustrated and I am going to cancel my whole package.
    On two occasions I have not been able to understand the person on the other end of the line as there command of spoken english was very poor. I takes forever to actually speak to someone in person as the automated answerphone jus keeps giving you various options.
    So after many years of being a Virgin customer I think it is now time to look elsewhere.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: