« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 7

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • happy

    by Matt at 14:36 on 15 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    We were devastated that we had to leave Virgin when moving house. We had an impeccable 10Mbps connection that didn't have a single glitch in 18 months. Instead we got absolute disaster with a poor ADSL2+-connection from BT. We had to restart it 5-10 times every single day. Support didn't help much despite numerous calls. After a while we bought a new filter but it didn't help either. After moving again after 18 months we also moved to Sky. For quite a while we had issues again but with time it settled and now works quite well - at quite a low speed though. Looking forward to getting a 100 Mbps Virgin fiber as soon as they are available here.. :D

    BTW - did anyone notice that Quality of Service is not one of the 5 main factors to be measured in the gorvernment's "Best broadband connection in Europe" vision for UK? Is the lack of interest for Quality symptomatic for the UK or what? Should something like "choice of service" be more important than the QoS.. What a joke!

  • neutral

    by unhappy with vm at 11:00 on 9 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    No good experience from virgin media broadband. Speed is not anywhere near the stated, routers are faulty and customer service is virtually non-existent. Any other broadband provider is better.

  • unhappy

    by nathan ritchie at 9:34 on 8 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Please avoid virgin at all costs!!!.. I had an awful experience.. I joined just over a month ago.. within a week i'd had a 2 engineer visits and a new "superhub" ( read craphub ) , to try and remedy my slow performance ( even on my 50mb line ) , every day at 6pm the internet became unusable, no streaming media or radio, no online gaming due to their awful ping speed and jittery service. after 4 weeks and 2 "area faults " i decided to cancel my contract.

    because I was just 5 days over the 30 day clause they are asking for £180!! just to cancel .. what a bunch of con artists. They care nothing for customer service, simply about money. I was told lies by various "managers" over the phone. Please record everything that is said, what time you call, who you speak to and what they promise.

    document everything !!

    i've just paid a lot of money for the 'privilege' of having 35 days of useless, unusable, slow tripe of an internet service with the worst customer service i've ever received.

    AVOID AVOID AVOID !!

  • unhappy

    by J at 22:54 on 23 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    Absolutely useless pile. Do yourself a favour and get someone else

  • unhappy

    by Khaled at 14:15 on 21 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    I absolutely agree with all people who experienced such crap service from Virgin Media. I have been with them for 2 months, paying £21/month for 10/mb speed but in reality, I get an average between 0.5 and 2.0mb between 6:00pm and 1:00am, which is the time I need to use the internet and the time where all people come from work and start using the service. When I first talked to their customer services-based in India-we went through all the issue re the utilisation and the aspect ratio of connection and they guaranteed that I'll get at least 8-9mb during the evenings. I took their words seriously (my fault) and agreed. Here we go, for more than a month, I have reported this ridiculous slow connection almost twice-three times a week to no avail. The service desk, like with other desks based in India, don't give a toss about anything and all what they know is how to lie to people. In fact, they haven't got a clue about anything and they even don't log the tickets or calls into their systems. Everybody tells you different things and non one knows what other said etc. However, they all agreed that the issue is caused by the high utilisation and they are working on it. I was told that 2 months ago and still have the same problem. VM said they invested $50 mil. on improving their crap service but it seems that their invested the money on how to make it worse. If you speak to the cancellation team, they are rude and useless. In fat, they make you -immediately- hate the moment you joined. If you speak to the billing dept., they are bad as with all other departments and they even don't communicate with other departments so you are left on your own to chase your problems and get some updates, if you are lucky! I won't go through more details as they are disgusting. I can't leave them now because they will charge me the cancellation fees. If you ask for compensation or if I say that I'm getting 0.5mb speed because you failed sorting out the problem at your end and you don't care of fixing the utilisation issue, they will say we only refund if you get totally disconnected for over 3 days. If you say "but you said in the past" that I will get 9-10mb at any time, the answer will be (kind of) "take it or leave it mate ... sue us" !
    I definitely will leave them the time my contract ends and move to an ISP that provides me with 2mb stable connection for £7/month ... at least better than their 10 or even 50mb rubbish and untrue speed they claim.

  • unhappy

    by Dave B at 17:02 on 20 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin media are certainly the worst i.s.p. I have ever had. Since joining in October 2010, I have had nothing but trouble. Broadband speeds are unusable during the evenings. Their customer support in India seem only interested in reading their prepared script and moving on to the next call, their U.k. complaints dept. live in denial and their maintenance dept. is beyond a joke. I have had 3 separate fault numbers for my problem of high utilisation, the fix dates for the first two fault numbers came and went without any noticeable change even though, at first they tried to insist the fault was fixed. Only after their own engineer confirmed my issue was still ongoing, were the prepared to give me a new fault number and the promise of a future fix (but no set date). Avoid Virgin Media at all costs (and don't be fooled by the VM workers who regularly leave post on rating sites like this, claiming VM are fantastic, it's a known act of desperation).

  • unhappy

    by Pete at 20:58 on 17 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    Unbelievable service from day one. I telephoned just to find out costs etc., and specifically asked if there were any charges such as a 'ceased line' or connection - I was told NO.. So I went with them... They wrote and told me that an engineer would call between 8.30a, and 1pm on Nov 2010, and that I would be charged £103 if I was out when the engineer called - so I stayed in (after turning down some work).. 12.45 - still no engineer, so I telephoned them (on an 0845 number - which is expensive from a mobile) to find out what was happening - "he's definitely on his way".. He never showed at all..

    So, I installed the hardware myself, and wrote to their complaints department - asking for the removal of the £35 installation fee, and two months line rental as compensation for my lost work (very reasonable considering the £103 fee they would've charged me if I had been out).. Quite a while later I received a letter stating that Virgin 'aims' to contact everyone who complains within two weeks - never heard anything.

    So, I wrote another letter (stating that I would only correspond by letter so I had proof as to what they said)..

    still, nothing except another letter stating that they 'aim' to contact everyone within two weeks..

    This continued for over a month - meanwhile I noticed that the broadband was failing constantly - everyday, sometimes every five minutes.. I then checked my bill online - and they had added a 'Ceased Line Fee' - the very same fee they said would not apply..

    So... I wrote yet another letter (I don't know how many I've written) - telling them about the failing broadband, and asking them to remove the ceased line fee - in addition to the line rental & installation fee, and if it was not done by 24th Dec 2010, I would cancel my direct debit and go elsewhere..

    Still no reply..

    Then - in January (approx two months after the engineer hadn't shown), I received a letter stating that they were unable to offer any kind of compensation, but would remove two months line rental "as a good will gesture" - no mention of fixing the broadband then.......

    The two months line rental was never removed - the broadband continued to fail - they kept telling me to call 150 from my Virgin landline (I do not have a landline telephone).. Absolute terrible service - both broadband and customerwise.. I cancelled my direct debit hoping they would do something - ANYTHING!

    I then wrote to several Virgin departments stating that I would give them another month (to Jan 27th) - if nothing was done / refuded / fixed, I would consider my contract over (despite it being formed under false circumstances due to the ceased line fee etc)..

    I then received a letter saying they had informed me of the ceased line fee - by email and letter.. I checked my emails and letters - they hadn't..

    Since then i have received countless calls (which i refuse to answer since I have always insisted on written correspondence).. Letters from their accounts department demanding that I pay.. I haven't used their broadband service since 27th January - and have ALWAYS kept them fully informed by letters - which they never sem to read, and which contain information which they seem unable to communicate between departments.

    The latest letter (and emails) informs me that they are stopping my service on 2nd March.. "Great" I replied "even though I had told you to stop it on 27th Jan) - I received a reply saying that continue with my service I should call their customer services department and make payment.. Unbelievable..

    I have also consistently told them that I refuse to pay for a faulty service - would they pay for a rented car that broke down every ten miles??? Of course not..

    So, if you are reading these reviews so as to help make a choice about whether to go with Virgin or not - my advice is AVOID THEM LIKE THE PLAGUE - it is also the advice of several of my friends - one of which also had a similar non-appearance of the engineer - and also had his hardware delivered to the wrong address.

    As Virgin (having ignored my letters) are now threatening me with a 'disconnection fee' and the possibility of passing the debt to a debt collection agency, I am now searching through the internet trying to find legislation that will cover me.. There is plenty.. But if anybody else has any advice with regards to this - please let me know - thanks..

    I repeat

    DO NOT GO WITH VIRGIN MEDIA BROADBAND - THEY ARE TOTALLY USELESS

    Broadband supply - terrible
    Customer service - even worse.

    I am now switching to BT as I have only heard good things about them..

  • neutral

    by Lee B. at 16:31 on 3 Feb 2011 Report abuse

    As an exsisting customer and after being told by a Virgin rep that i COULD have a wireless router modem, i phoned up Virgin only to be told... i could not!

    So when the day came of my contract needed to be renewed (which Virgin was quite happy to let roll by for months without even telling me, sly baskets), i thought as i am renewing i could negociate a wireless modem into the deal and was told that I COULD have the latest wireless N router which has a stronger singal and further range!!!! SOLD!!!

    Yippee, 2 days later i get the package open it up to find..... its a D link which has a seperate power supply and needs to be plugged into my existing router. Now anyone who is into computing and has loads of extension plugs can see that this is a pain in the butt.
    I explained that i wanted the all in one modem wireless router, and was told'''only if i pay for £30 it'''.
    I explained that they are giving them away to new customers and to cut a long story short.............
    After being with them for 7/8 years, they would rather me go elsewhere and come back in 3 months as a new customer than give me an all in one wireless router.
    Now talk about company that is full of themselves who need a good kick in the trollops or what.

    P.s, goodbye VIRGIN.

  • neutral

    by Steve at 23:00 on 28 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    If you live in a built up area steer clear of Virginmedia.

    They have oversold their service and their network can't take the strain in many areas. They continue to oversell as their saturation levels of advertising clearly demonstrates.

    I've been told they're working on upgrading the system but this should have been done before it became an issue.

    I've got virtually no internet service between 4pm and 1am and this problem has persisted for months. Their tech support is useless, they just fob you off with what you want to hear ("engineers are working on it now") their customer service will tell you a whole variety of fix dates for when the service will be as advertised, and none of them have meant anything so far. Still an unusable service at peak times.

    I don't usually complain about things, but this issue has persisted beyond the extent of my patience. What makes it worse is that it's a widespread problem with many postcodes across the country suffering with the same problem. Their tech support forums are full of the same complaints.

    I wouldn't recommend Virginmedia to anyone. It's really not worth the risk of finding yourself in one of their many, many service blackspots.

  • unhappy

    by Olivier at 20:55 on 17 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    I've been with virgin Media for 4 years and my opinion is that the service is CRAP!
    Hope you'll never have to get in touch with the support because it's a nightmare, very very long to answer, many multiple options before to be able to talk to someone...
    Also there were several service disruptions...
    And there price never stop increasing from the beginning: I signed for £27/month and ended up paying never below £50 the last year!
    Finally, fed up with them, I had to pay £100 to quite them because they've managed to renew my contract on one of my calls when I was not happy with the bills...
    Anyway I just left them for Sky, to be fair I haven't go the service yet, so I won't be telling my opinion on the quality of the service, but I can already tell you that they are offering a lot more for a much cheaper price!

  • unhappy

    by T. McWilliams at 17:22 on 9 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Been with NTL since the start and it was a fantastic service. Soon as Virgin Media took over the service plummeted through the floor,as did the download speeds. On today and so far the connection has been lost 8 times in the past hour. Seems to be doing this more often than not now. If they have any hopes of catching up with BT customer base, then they need to pull their finger out.

  • neutral

    by Megahun at 6:42 on 6 Jan 2011 Report abuse

    Re: delbhoy 'who taught the guy below English'.
    Did you mean.. Who taught English to the guy below.

  • happy

    by Douglas Smith at 11:24 on 24 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    Ive been a Virgin Media customer for about 6 years now and really everything has been really good, put it this way ive no complaints and with 20meg speeds can download in excess of 2000kb per second ( 2 meg - 2.5 meg so a film is really really quick if needed. customer support is top notch, phones cheap as chips + the only thing thats a little dear is big package tv, but then again i dont watch much tv. i wouldnt go with another broadband/ tv / phone company as long as things stay this good.!!!

  • happy

    by John House at 18:35 on 15 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    Hi.. we have been with virginmeadia for the 4 years ir more and have no complates the sevice has been ist class and had no problem with them at all. may it last.

  • happy

    by delbhoy at 10:09 on 15 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    virgin ok - not bad value - who taught the guy below English? " It get worst" lol Very good Ibrahimi !

  • unhappy

    by ChenMcGen at 4:51 on 9 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    I hear of people complaining about when their service goes down to 2.5MB/s WOW! I get exited when I get 40kbps. I don't bother to call the help center because I know it will achieve nothing. It can take up to 27minutes to watch an average Music Video on Utube. If you wanted a faster service you could save your data as a voice message in loop on a solar powered MP3 player and strap it to a goats back and for a better customer service you could crawl behind the goat and talk to the back of it..

  • happy

    by james at 16:57 on 6 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    From all these reviews Virgin dont sound to good. Was gonna join but from reviews i just stick to broadband or sky.

  • unhappy

    by Ulrich Landbeck at 16:14 on 29 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    I signed up for a Virgin Media package 50MB Broadband + Phone Line. This should have cost £35/month. Instead I received Broadband + Phone + Television although I hadn't ordered the latter. The total package price is now £55/month and I can't proof that this is not what I ordered as I ordered on-line. I am being ripped off. In addition the first bill was over £150 for reasons that I don't understand. Be warned! High Street Robbery!
    50MB Broadband speed is ok though. I measure 47MB download and 3MB upload.

  • unhappy

    by Ibrahimi at 19:36 on 26 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    one of the WORST broadband i ever had.

    we are with virginmedia for the last 6 years. it was better when it was under telewest, since virginmedia takeover NTL and telewest, it get worst.

    they changing plan and price without letting know their customers.
    and their customer severvice is very poor, no manner at all.

    for those who are deciding to choose virginmedia PLZ DONT.

  • neutral

    by tom cantwell at 19:58 on 22 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Currently getting 512Kb but paying for the maximum 8Mb. Always very slow and never near 8Mb. Sometimes speed is less that 100Kbps. With Virgin for years, loyal customer but endless complaints, letters, emails, phone conversations with tech support it never changes. On the occasions when I get 2MB or even 4Mb I can at least work but when it's slow (every evening) it's just unusable. And i'm on the most expensive broadband package that they do.

  • unhappy

    by Derek at 15:35 on 16 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Most fustrating & in-direct support mechanism on the market.
    If you like being passed through numerous departments, fobbed off with further numbers to call & wait in a queue. Just to be passed to someone else. Been 2 weeks since I logged a problem & am no nearer a solution or anybody at Virgin who can help.
    Total time burners.... AVOID!

  • unhappy

    by John Stephens at 18:25 on 15 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    "50mb broadband" For the last two months I have had nothing but trouble from Virgin, I have had to deal with non stop lies and empty promises, wait around all day on two occasions for engineers to call that never did, and today "still with no internet" it ended in me canceling my account with them,

  • happy

    by Steve at 14:53 on 11 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    I have been a virgin customer for my broadband for the last 3 years. I had 10 meg then 50.

    I have never had a single problem with the service, it's always been consistently good and fast, it's dropped signal maybe 4 or 5 times in the entire 3 years I've used it, and it always comes straight back up.

    I have also noticed that the speed is always slightly higher than they estimate (for example my 10mbps service used to get about 12mbps on speedtest dot net. My 50 meg service often reaches between 51 and 53, however it's never gone below 44 and there are usually between 3 - 5 computers using my network at any point in time.

    I have also had no trouble at all with the customer service team, who I've found to be friendly and reasonable. My last house move, it only took them 3 days to come and reinstall my broadband (even though they quote 2 weeks, they rang me to see if I was free earlier).

    I have no problem paying the £35/month for my broadband connection whatsoever. Totally worth it, and I think that most of the people on here must have just had a couple of unfortunate experiences.

    And I can also verify that it works fine on Linux (one of my rigs runs Ubuntu), and that you don't need the software installed at all.

    Hope this helps

  • neutral

    by colin135 at 10:31 on 24 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    Looking at the review from redbaron101 i can totally agree with all of his comments i to have had no problems with virgin,but you must insist on talking to the correct person about your individual query.As for using linux i know quite a few users that are constantly using it with no problems,it also obviously helps if you have the use of a good anti-virus software and you keep up to date with defrags etc etc.Happy Browsing

  • neutral

    by redbaron101 at 22:50 on 12 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    i have been the ntl / virgin media about 11 years. The actual broadband service (at least for me) has been consistantly good over the years and our family have been sharing internet even in the dialup days. Customer services is also very consistant - notoriously rubbish. I am a technical user and work in the IT field; their first line support in India is incredibly inept, I dont think they could even tie their shoe laces. Seriously I rang once to tell them their DNS servers were down and after prying the call centre guy from his script he insisted my problem was that broadband wouldnt never run on Linux after I accidently answered one of his persistant questions, even though I had happily been running it at least for the last four years before that call, then he stuck to it must be a virus, yeah right! There is a hidden second line support in India and if you insist enough to get yourself put through to them, most of those guys will actually know what they are talking about. Balance your choices though - although broadband and TV service is reasonable, telephone is ultra crap, or maybe I have just been really unlucky over the years!

  • neutral

    by Brian Flower at 0:36 on 10 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    The broadband service offered by Virgin is the worst service I have ever had. Having moved quite frequently I have gone through various internet providers and none have made me as frustrated and regretful as Virgin. The internet service will sometimes cut out completely without warning and if it doesn't cut out then everything takes ages to load. When trying to stream music and videos the site sometimes doesn't load at all. For example, I've been on this web page for 3 minutes now and it still isn't completely finished loading. My router is downstairs, about 30 feet away, and I'm lucky if I can find enough service to load a simple e-mail. Not only is it incredibly slow but the customer service line is frustrating to deal with and whilst I try to explain my difficulty it seems as though no one is actually listening to my problem, instead attempting to placate me so I don't call back again. I would warn anyone to steer far clear from Virgin broadband services.

  • unhappy

    by Jane at 13:48 on 6 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I've recently had Virgin Broadband installed but my Big Issue is with the free package of Virgin Media Security that came with it. It's available to buy for about £26.00 but as a broadband customer I got it free.

    Once it loaded I was amazed to see that my entire Outlook file had been quarantined as a virus. I had enormous trouble in getting this massive file un-quarantined. Why couldn't Virgin Media recognise Microsoft Outlook? Two days later, after making a copy of Outlook, the software did another scan and promptly quarantined Outlook again!!!

    I did some research and found out that Virgin know about this problem and have continued to see their crappy product. When I phoned to complain I was told that maybe Outlook did have a virus. I asked if that applied to the thousands of customers who had had Outlook quarantined and he said 'probably'. I could have throttled him so it was probably good he was in India.

    I got rid of Virgin 'security' immediately - and installed Kapersky instead. Don't buy the Virgin security software. It's slow - it doesn't do a thorough job and you could easily lose years of work in Outlook. Have a look here for more information:

    http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Internet-security/Virgin-Media-Security-Total-and-Outlook-pst/m-p/81776

  • unhappy

    by iveta at 12:18 on 6 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    We have been customers with Virgin for 4 years and their customer service went down. We have spent days on the phone in order to sort technical problems with our broadband and I can tell you it was the waste of time. We didn't solve anything. We have met pretty uncompetent customer service staff who changed their minds whenever it suited to them. One minute they are saying yes it is possible and in 5 minutes they say no we can't do it. Regarding the technical issues, we have been trasnfered somewhere to India and spoke on the phone with people who didn't know anything about the matter. We are really appauled and we don't want to have anything to do with Virgin.

  • unhappy

    by Tomcat at 15:07 on 2 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    Don't bother, been with them for over ten years and their level of service has gone down the pan, Just spent four days trying to speak to their cancellations department, each time being told I would be on hold for a minimum of 30 minutes. Eventualy got to speak to someone only to have him arguing with me about down load speeds etc...bunch of idiots. I will never use them again.

  • happy

    by andrew at 21:47 on 30 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    Any one there knows the fastest and most reliable brodband in the uk is supplied by virginmedia over a fibre optic network. All the spatics on here slagging virgin why not try another company and check your speed. I'm on 20mb and get 19 every speed test no matter what time of the day!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: