« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 8

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • neutral

    by jolly roger at 20:10 on 20 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    i would advise to go else where after being with them for years they are probably getting complacent -hard to contact-and hard to understand when you do

  • unhappy

    by Mr Bilch at 16:14 on 17 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    Beware the hidden charges like a 12p connection charge on calls to mobiles and broadband instalation charges. As for trying to resolve any problems with Virgin you can forget it! I have wasted hours of my life trying to get through to anyone who is interested. I have been cut off mid conversation several times. They may (appear to be) cheap but its not worth it.

  • unhappy

    by Sandy at 14:06 on 31 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Virgin broadband connection is very slow for most of the day, but has spurts of speed - if you are lucky!! Sometimes - often the connection stops! and virgin search page finds much less than other search engines. I'm goiong to change - soon.

  • neutral

    by Amir Shahzad at 13:19 on 19 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    i am not describing my emotions, i want to solve my query that is someone told me virgin media has waived the set up price which is 35 ponds and in some of your ads you stated 15 ponds and in some ads 20 ponds per month charges, and 2nd is if i change my home then re-setup charges i have to pay or not. i am interested to bye home broadband package.

  • neutral

    by Martin at 19:07 on 17 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    My experience is exactly the same as Abi's (10 July2010). The only thing I can add is that is if you are unfortunate enough to deal with this company I strongly recommend you record all your calls. They will renege on any agreement and use Virgin staff to pretend to be debt collectors with the threat of court proceedings/CCJs.

    Stay well clear.

  • unhappy

    by ryan t at 1:55 on 9 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    i am on virgin 1.5mb or 2.00mb connection
    my connection is slow from 6am till 12.30pm when i am on youtube or bbciplayer are some times very hard to browse the internet.

    i use my ps3 on live and it jumps are does not connect because it is too slow.

    i think it is because my area is all on virgin saw i am not getting the speed i pay for saw i am going to go to sky because i have been on it before and it is faster in my area and it is alot cheaper :)

  • neutral

    by Ray at 20:03 on 22 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    I have been a customer from the very begining (cable tel). I have always had good connection and service however my bills have been wrong and i find costs generally expensive. I have threatened to leave 3 times and have managed to be persuaded to stay by promises of cheaper deals. I am now considering to leave again but I am not sure who too.

  • neutral

    by Sustainable Help at 10:35 on 22 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    Help please!
    I’ve tried to find an e mail address to write to Virgin Media but failed, also phone their help line/sales line – no help there either. I would appear that Virgin is reluctant to commit any information to hard copy.
    Can anybody help me please?
    I am situated in Birmingham in the Kings Norton area and am aware the area has Virgin cable installed, but also hear the area is oversubscribed with very slow speeds being the norm.
    I won’t bore everybody with my questions but if anybody can give me a name and e mail address to write to it would be greatly appreciated. I will let you know how I progress
    Many thanks

  • unhappy

    by abi at 10:13 on 10 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    I just want to echo what Sylivia (above) has said.

    Virgin has the worst customer service I have ever experienced ( and I include RyanAir) and having been a customer for 12 years (shame on me) I have now cancelled all my services without putting anything else in place.

    I don't care how bad Talk Talk is, or Skye or BT...or any of the others.

    I have been lied to, insulted, lied to again, (which even their customer service people acknowledge)

    Sylvia wouldn't recommend it to her worst enemy - but that's because she's obviously a nicer person than me.

    Virgin is exactly who'd I'd recommend to my worst enemy, so that they can waste their time and money chasing non-existing services, talking to useless muppets in call centres, and waiting in all day for things that never arrive.

    Worst service ever. Don't do it people,

  • neutral

    by lastmadrich at 18:59 on 9 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    lol after reading all this i now feel even more depressed il start at begining 3 or 4 years ago at old address had connection issues with bb xl (20meg at the time) i used to play a lot of online games when every day my connection would repeatadly drop out contacted vm tec and they first told me your pc too old replaced with a new 1 still the same then they told me it was my router causeing the proble so i replaced with he best money could buy at the time still same prob then 1 of there ofshore call centres let it slip i was being capped as i was useing %80 of my band width bear in mind i was paying for this service,i left and went to sky thinking slower speeds but no capping but how wrong i was in my area was just as bad since then moved home and for the last 18months had an ongoing fault with low signal the tec guys have bein doing there best to resolve it but dont seem to be getin anyway but accourding to there polociy you are intitled to compantion for loss of service from the time you first report the fault till the time it resolved yea right 18months i bet il be lucky to get 1 month free my advice is there network is great provided they can get it to work right dont mess around with customer service deal straght with the peep on the option you are thinking of leaveing us they are a much more oblidgeing lot and love to throw money at you refering back to my issue wich has angerd me they repulled the cable to my prop killing the grass on front lawn new modems new cable boxs network tecs and god knows how many hours on the phone my advice stay clear if you can get b.ts 20meg service hope this helps

  • unhappy

    by RReed at 1:50 on 12 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    You wouldn't believe that Richard Branson is such a nice guy yet he own's Virgin Media. I have never been more disgusted with the way a company treats it's customers. Their broadband service is tempramental at best or completly offline at worst.
    I'm embarrased to say that I have been with them for about 2 years now but this is only because they offer the fastest connections and I need the high speed's. If i had a choice to use other ISP's I wouldn't waste another second with Virgin Media.

    I warn anyone thinking of signing up with them to think again, it's really not worth the headaches your going to get. They will be the nicest and friendliest bunch of people in the world while their selling their service to you but once your a contracted customer prepare for the lies, the fob offs and the rude staff as well as a poor service.

    When I first signed up I got their 20Mb package but the highest speed I got was 8Mb even though I live only one mile from the exchange. I would lose my service at least once per month so each time I had to call their PREMIUM number to speak to a tech guy to get it fixed. I would say it would usually take 3 or 4 different premium rate calls for any one issue and when you've done this as much as me you start to notice a pattern. I am convinced that Virgin Media support staff have been told to tell customers anything to get them off the phone because every single time I have had to deal with them, I always find one member of staff is saying something completly different to another member of staff. I've lost count of the times I caught them out on a lie and when I complain about this I'm told that I am the liar. Shocking isn't it!
    I have no idea why I then went up to their 50Mb package. My thinking was, it was all new technology and their providing brand new equipment so I took the risk that this would be better. It actually got worse.
    I'm now on first name terms with two people in the Virgin Media CEO office. These guys are actually very helpful but I suspect they have little respect from their staff because they are forever making excuses why something wasn't done.

    In six months of service, my 50Mb connection has been okay for 2 months and this is a generous estimate. Even so I am still forced to pay for the FULL service. As I write this my connection is down. It has been running at 0.10Mb for the last 48hours and they say it will be working tomorrow but I'm not expecting it to be.

    I've already filled a claim with the Small claims court to get back all the money spent on support phone calls and for a refund of the times I had no service as well as loss of earnings as I need my internet to work. My phone costs for ringing support over and over again in the last two years adds up to...wait for it.. £1.563.03p I was shocked when I added up all my itemised bills to virgin. Shocking isn't it?

    Well as you can see I'm not going to recommend you sign up to Virgin. In fact I recommend you run in the oposite direction and never look back. If you ever see, meet or talk to Richard Branson tell him to sort out Virgin Media. because of my experience with VM I will never use another service or product offered by Virgin because if this branch of the brand acts like this, I'm not going to risk my money with any other branch.

    You have no idea how much I have helpped you if you take my advice.

  • unhappy

    by annika at 14:48 on 9 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    I find them exctremely unreliable, I asked to transfer my account for the date of my move. 1 month before the move was due to take place I got an e-mail saying the account was going to be closed that day. Virgin admitted they had made a misstake, but it took another 10 days (!!!!) to get the bradband back again. It was back on for a few days when suddenly there was a technical fault and I was without braodband again for days. I must have spent at least in total a good day or more to find the right person to speak to (I think I have spoken to most of the virgin staff) as I constantly got passed on to another departmend. To top it, they tried to charge me for the disconnection that they had admitted was a misstake.

  • unhappy

    by Sylvia Phillips at 14:35 on 9 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    I'm in a current battle with Virgin(on the rediculous) At the beginning of May I called to get help with my router, sounds fairly easy doesn't it. Well it wasn;t a Virgin owned one and as they couldn't have been more unhelpful if they tried, I spent the weekend brooding on it and on the Monday I phoned to make a complaint about the lack of service in their customer service department. By way of apology I was offered a free router and I was thrilled.....then the fun started. Now unfortunately they don't record calls so I have no way to prove what's happened, my broadband has been upgraded from M to the XL at an extra cost of £17 a month. I called to tell them that I didn't ask for an upgrade all I alled about was to complain about the stroppy mare that refused to give any advice and see if I could get my router working. I was told the onus is on me to prove I didn't ask for the upgrade, so I immediately stopped my DD with my bank. I then got a satisfaction questionaire which I filled out IN DETAIL and was rewarded with a call from some CS manager promising me that I could keep the router and my broadband would be reduced to L as they no longer do M. Still I have a cost of £5 more which isn't much but that's not the point. I've been trying to pay the bill ever since and I'm currently in reciept of 5 different balances which have to be paid before they can reinstate my DD. I WANT to pay my bill but their incompetence is making it impossible to do so. All my emails have been ignored, I've been promised countless return calls which have never happened and I'm currently waiting for a call form the muppet who gave me his line and ext number in case I had any more trouble. He's one of the people who promised to call back and didn't last week and probably won't again today. The very second I get this bill (however much it is) settled I'm leaving. I don't even care who I leave to just as long as I leave Virgin. They now also think they're going to chanrge me a handling fee of £28.91 becasue the dd was refused, even though they knew it would be as I'd told them it had been stopped! Absolute idiots I wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy!

  • unhappy

    by Krystal at 18:26 on 8 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    I would not recommend Virgin Media to anyone. I canceled my account with them in May 2010... well tried to cancel with them. Shortly after I disconnected, I received a call from an employee offering me a lower rate, I said that she could sent information regarding the offer. I have yet to received any information. Today I rang to see about the offer and just to cancel it ...and was told that I was in a new one-year contract and would have to pay £167 to leave! Virgin Media is a disgrace and customer support is appalling.

  • neutral

    by Carlos at 14:17 on 2 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    Virgin is absolutely useless, the biggest mistake I made was to change to Virgin from AOL about a year ago. Can’t wait for my contract to end.

    Be careful if you go with Virgin, they will say or do anything to get you to sign up, once there, they will conveniently loose any records of “3 months free Internet” etc. …and will add as much as they can to your bill. Be prepared to be charged 3-4 times as much as was advertised.

  • unhappy

    by Redsparkles at 14:42 on 11 May 2010 Report abuse

    I called Virgin Media in March after it became apparant that I was paying well over the odds for what they offer new joining customers for the same services. After heading on a round the world tour of customer services departments, I finally spoke to a fairly switched on sounding chap, who said that he could guarantee me the fixed rate of £18 a month (excluding non contract calls) for the following 12 months if I committed to staying with Virgin over this period.

    I thought this sounded reasonable so agreed. However, in April, they put their prices up on all accounts including mine.

    I called Virgin about this, and they conceded that prices had gone up on all accounts and while they were very sorry nobody stated it to me, that was policy. In addition they said that I'm still tied into the account and would have to pay £160 to leave them!! So I'm tied in until next year, having been missold a product.

    The comments about customer services are all true, they are very pleasant in a "we are not going to help you" type way. I've had to remonstrate with Virgin about my account charges a couple of times, they quite happily shove them up otherwise, and don't contact to advise of changes either.

    Overall, when things are good they are fine. However their actions have shown why they are not trustworthy as a service provider. I wish that I had seen the signs a couple of years ago.

    BT and PlusNet or Talk Talk next time, which can't come soon enought.

  • unhappy

    by jimmy giles at 19:22 on 10 May 2010 Report abuse

    I enquired aboutan upgrade that would put my bill up to £89.50 from £83.50 to which i'm paying now, when i got onto the sales i thought everything was all in the price until they started talking. Then came the add-ons like £35 installation charge which doesnt get explained properly and then you try to read the small print you need binoculars to read it. I have been with virgin for a long time but now its about time i started to take my good earned pennies elsewhere. I am very dissapointed with the customer service thar the loyal customers get treated when others join up first time and get the earth.

  • happy

    by Charlotte at 13:37 on 23 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    The whole of my family has found virgin media very good, the people who installed our tv were friendly and professional and whenever we've had a problem they sorted it, our tv remote stopped working properly so they sent a new one no questions asked then when our internet was slow and the reboot didnt work they sent a new, better router, very happy with the service

  • happy

    by Frank at 12:14 on 21 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    Generally I find the Virgin Media service very good, the broadband especially far exceeds what I have experienced before from other providers in both terms of reliablilty, and speed.

    Granted, sometimes dealing with the offshore call centres can be a pain, but I very rarely have had occasion to do this.

    As for limits, the XXL 50 MB package currently has no limits, the "Traffic Management" that is in place on the other packages is totally transparent and is documented at the following link :

    www.virginmedia.com/help/traffic-management.php

    Unlimited storage with the XXL package also means no worry about finding space for backing up files/photos etc.

    On pure performance and reliablilty of the Broadband itself, Virgin Media is the best provider I have used.

  • unhappy

    by amby at 16:20 on 13 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I am currently with Virgin media and I am extremely unsatisfied. Me, my mum and my boyfriend all use the internet frequently as we are gamers. We get a disconnect every day, more then once. My mum is currently on the phone to them, doing the same routine (unplug the modem, switch it back on after a minute, have it plugged into only your computer, restart the computer. Basically a load of tripe read from a script). We had an engineer out a few weeks ago that got another engineer to try and fix the frequency outside our house which has done crap all. I am just so angry with everything about them. The connection always drops and their customer service can be rude and sometimes hard to understand..

    Also the price isn't exactly great for what we are getting... My mum decided it was to expensive, paying inbetween £45-£55 a month, so we asked to just have broadband and phone. It still costs £32, and even though she has payed a month in advance they cut the TV off that same day.

    To me they are just money grabbers and they only offer anything worthwhile to new customers just to lure you in.

  • neutral

    by James Roy at 23:57 on 31 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    My experience is that Virgin Media are unable or unwilling to fulfill their orders. I have been waiting several weeks to have a telephone, broadband and TV package installed. They have delivered the quick installation pack and they say;

    ‘All you need to do is sign to say it's arrived, then follow the instructions to get up and running. You'll be enjoying your Virgin Media services in no time!’

    This turns out to be untrue because you can follow the instructions to the letter but if they have not been to install the wiring and connect you, then you will be ‘running’ nowhere. Maybe you can ring them and talk to their ‘expert team’. Nope! Because if you have ordered their telephone package you will have no telephone and the free phone number does not apply to mobile telephone calls – even if you are using a Virgin mobile. So only call if you are prepared to wait in a cue and incur substantial call costs. They ask for a contact number from you when you sign up but do not expect them to use it – unless maybe it is something to do with billing because they are very efficient when it comes to setting all that up, you will get plenty of communications from them on that issue.

    If you have access to email from some other source, don’t bother emailing them because they simply will not respond which suggests they are not in the position to supply installation dates because they are unable to handle orders, which is not good but the worst thing is their cowardly handling of inquiries ie simply ignore them!
    Would I recommend them – yes but only to my very very worst enemies.

  • happy

    by lee millar at 22:32 on 29 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Hi I checked out a lot of review sites before signing up for virgin and had my doubts.
    But on the day of installation the engineers were booked for a 1pm to 6pm slot.
    They turned up at 12.30 yes early. We signed up for the whole cable package tv, broadband and telephone.
    The 2 guys came in and were fantastic very helpful and obliging they would not leave until everything was running the way it should and we were happy. The V+ box is wicked well easy to use and play with really responsive and it takes an hour max to get used to if you have had sky the remote is very similar so you should have no problems. We went for the 20mb broadband and we get between 18 to 20mb constant.
    I can only speak through my own experience but virgin is fantastic as far as we are concerned. Also must mention the 2 engineers they took care of everything were very clean tidy and did a very professional.
    So am so sorry for the ones who have had a bad experience with virgin.

  • neutral

    by Kathy at 11:18 on 24 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I used to be very happy with Blueyonder - and then they joined with NTL and rebranded as VirginMedia. Since thne the service has really gone downhill- most notably their attitiude to customers and customer service. The "support" call centre is now offshore and staffed by what appear to be poorly trained opertives who cannot understand or speak English, and can only read from a script. Time for fault fixes has increased so that you can be left with no Internet connection ofr a week while you wait for a new cable modem. Email is now outsoured to Google and often works poorly unless you use it as webmail - POP3 and IMAP don't work as expected and the spam filter (which cannot be easily turned off) hides many real emails. Although Virgin advertise unlimited broadband, this isn't true in the way most people would understand it. Speeds are cut by 75% during the day (until 9pm) if you download a failry modest amount (considering the connection speed) - a programme on iPlayer for example. If you exceed a secret limit known only to VM, they will send you a letter (which still doesn't say what the limit is) and then, if you don't manage to work out what the limit is, they'll disconnect you. The limit isn't documented.

    Recently, the usefull and disabled friendly newsgroups were closed in favour of a support forum with accessibility challenges and where negative comments and some questions seem to be ruthlessly purged - making support very difficult for the hard of hearing or visually challenged.

    And they've announced a price increase.

    Having said that, where I live, the speed is usually close to what I pay for and I've only had a day or two downtime over the last quarter.

  • happy

    by EWAN at 23:04 on 23 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Been with NTL and then VM since 2001 in Luton LU2 area, very satisfied with their customer service and 50mb line which is very reliable. I dont work for VM. My bill is about £70/month and I dont mind paying it because it is excellent value for money.

  • unhappy

    by anthony wadsworth at 17:58 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    trash trash trash vm. if you want to play online gaming dont bother unless you like to loose 20meg 0.78 upload garbage i even had 50meg installed with 1.5 upload oh deary me they are penny pinching in my opinion i had them for a year complained every week about the speed and line i asked them to put a new cable in they said its not cost effective well it isnt now ive not renewed my contract with them how cost effective is that ive gone to BE bband less download but more upload see what happens cya.

  • unhappy

    by trac at 1:58 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    just switched from sky to virgin today (and might i add, not my idea but hubby's). so anyway, this morning a virgin media man turns up to install us with phone, tv plus and broadband. lets start with the phone... he left the wire trailing off the wall outside, no phone socket, hence, no phone. the tv control feels dodgy compared to sky's. its a bit like holding a brick. the box looks cheap and plasticky. the menus i was told to use to set up my tv constantly freeze and hang. broadband? well after a maximum of 5 seconds online we lost connection. we rebooted both the modem and the computer to no avail. after some time on the phone to some woman and arguing the toss with her about the disgusting service on day one, she offered a technician to visit in a weeks time. at that stage we told her we wanted them to take the installation away and after much more arguing she said she would send someone out tomorrow to fix our internet connection. to be honest, after reading reviews on the net, all i want to do tomorrow is cancel the service and stay with sky. day one and already getting hassle. worst of it is that we're actually paying more money to virgin and yet the service is terrible. if u want a decent internet connection, go to sky.

  • unhappy

    by terry dunn at 16:17 on 13 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    As I write this review I am looking to switch away from virgin media to a better supplier. I think their service sucks. There are so many problems I don’t know where to start.
    Lets start with the bill. It’s been going up, little by little, for many months. Yet the service is no better. Infact, it’s getting worse. This is a very sneaky tactic. They are gradually taking TV channels away and the cost of phone calls are rising. And the broadband! Where do I start with the broadband problems? For a long time the cable modem and then the wireless router would hang. This usually happened in the evening and Sunday afternoon when the service was very slow anyway. Rebooting both would fix it for a short while. It took 4 calls to tech support before they would agree to give me a new cable modem. Their Indian call centre staff are about as useful as a chocolate teapot.
    It takes up to 10 or 15 minutes to get through. They don’t listen. I often cannot understand them. They blame my network equipment when I know it’s not the cause of the problem. They argue with me. Then they promise to escalate it to local engineers, but nothing ever happens. Their broadband network is heavily congested. When I tested the network response during an all-day episode, it was shocking with intermittent timeouts and, frankly, an unusable service. It seems to me they are cramming far too many people on the same network. I’m suppose to have 10Mbps bandwidth. Well, you could have fooled me! I don’t recommend their service to anyone.

  • happy

    by Monkfish at 13:42 on 13 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I've been using Virgin Media Broadband since I signed up with NTL years ago. I've had two problems in that time. One was when the connections broke down in the green box in the street. The next was when my modem didn't work any more. Both times the engineer turned up the next day and the problems were fixed in five minutes. So overall I'm extremely happy with my ISP especially the horror stories I here from work mates with their ISP. Totally recommend Virgin Media :)

  • unhappy

    by Peter Fisher at 2:08 on 11 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Absolutely horrible ISP, pay for a 10mb connection, get a 2mb connection or less the majority of the time, upload? 40kb/s on a good day.

    I would NEVER recommend Virgin Media to ANYBODY.

  • neutral

    by LAG at 22:56 on 8 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Completely agree with phillip prattley on the language issue. Free helpline which is good but never can get anyone who understands me or who I can understand. Wheres the sense in that?! Other than that good service. No issues with broadband speed. Try for offers when renewing contract and they usually are helpful.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: