« back to Virgin Media broadband

Virgin Media broadband Reviews | Page 9

Sign up now. Call: 0800 276 1162
  • neutral

    by Kathy at 11:18 on 24 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I used to be very happy with Blueyonder - and then they joined with NTL and rebranded as VirginMedia. Since thne the service has really gone downhill- most notably their attitiude to customers and customer service. The "support" call centre is now offshore and staffed by what appear to be poorly trained opertives who cannot understand or speak English, and can only read from a script. Time for fault fixes has increased so that you can be left with no Internet connection ofr a week while you wait for a new cable modem. Email is now outsoured to Google and often works poorly unless you use it as webmail - POP3 and IMAP don't work as expected and the spam filter (which cannot be easily turned off) hides many real emails. Although Virgin advertise unlimited broadband, this isn't true in the way most people would understand it. Speeds are cut by 75% during the day (until 9pm) if you download a failry modest amount (considering the connection speed) - a programme on iPlayer for example. If you exceed a secret limit known only to VM, they will send you a letter (which still doesn't say what the limit is) and then, if you don't manage to work out what the limit is, they'll disconnect you. The limit isn't documented.

    Recently, the usefull and disabled friendly newsgroups were closed in favour of a support forum with accessibility challenges and where negative comments and some questions seem to be ruthlessly purged - making support very difficult for the hard of hearing or visually challenged.

    And they've announced a price increase.

    Having said that, where I live, the speed is usually close to what I pay for and I've only had a day or two downtime over the last quarter.

  • happy

    by EWAN at 23:04 on 23 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Been with NTL and then VM since 2001 in Luton LU2 area, very satisfied with their customer service and 50mb line which is very reliable. I dont work for VM. My bill is about £70/month and I dont mind paying it because it is excellent value for money.

  • unhappy

    by anthony wadsworth at 17:58 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    trash trash trash vm. if you want to play online gaming dont bother unless you like to loose 20meg 0.78 upload garbage i even had 50meg installed with 1.5 upload oh deary me they are penny pinching in my opinion i had them for a year complained every week about the speed and line i asked them to put a new cable in they said its not cost effective well it isnt now ive not renewed my contract with them how cost effective is that ive gone to BE bband less download but more upload see what happens cya.

  • unhappy

    by trac at 1:58 on 18 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    just switched from sky to virgin today (and might i add, not my idea but hubby's). so anyway, this morning a virgin media man turns up to install us with phone, tv plus and broadband. lets start with the phone... he left the wire trailing off the wall outside, no phone socket, hence, no phone. the tv control feels dodgy compared to sky's. its a bit like holding a brick. the box looks cheap and plasticky. the menus i was told to use to set up my tv constantly freeze and hang. broadband? well after a maximum of 5 seconds online we lost connection. we rebooted both the modem and the computer to no avail. after some time on the phone to some woman and arguing the toss with her about the disgusting service on day one, she offered a technician to visit in a weeks time. at that stage we told her we wanted them to take the installation away and after much more arguing she said she would send someone out tomorrow to fix our internet connection. to be honest, after reading reviews on the net, all i want to do tomorrow is cancel the service and stay with sky. day one and already getting hassle. worst of it is that we're actually paying more money to virgin and yet the service is terrible. if u want a decent internet connection, go to sky.

  • unhappy

    by terry dunn at 16:17 on 13 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    As I write this review I am looking to switch away from virgin media to a better supplier. I think their service sucks. There are so many problems I don’t know where to start.
    Lets start with the bill. It’s been going up, little by little, for many months. Yet the service is no better. Infact, it’s getting worse. This is a very sneaky tactic. They are gradually taking TV channels away and the cost of phone calls are rising. And the broadband! Where do I start with the broadband problems? For a long time the cable modem and then the wireless router would hang. This usually happened in the evening and Sunday afternoon when the service was very slow anyway. Rebooting both would fix it for a short while. It took 4 calls to tech support before they would agree to give me a new cable modem. Their Indian call centre staff are about as useful as a chocolate teapot.
    It takes up to 10 or 15 minutes to get through. They don’t listen. I often cannot understand them. They blame my network equipment when I know it’s not the cause of the problem. They argue with me. Then they promise to escalate it to local engineers, but nothing ever happens. Their broadband network is heavily congested. When I tested the network response during an all-day episode, it was shocking with intermittent timeouts and, frankly, an unusable service. It seems to me they are cramming far too many people on the same network. I’m suppose to have 10Mbps bandwidth. Well, you could have fooled me! I don’t recommend their service to anyone.

  • happy

    by Monkfish at 13:42 on 13 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    I've been using Virgin Media Broadband since I signed up with NTL years ago. I've had two problems in that time. One was when the connections broke down in the green box in the street. The next was when my modem didn't work any more. Both times the engineer turned up the next day and the problems were fixed in five minutes. So overall I'm extremely happy with my ISP especially the horror stories I here from work mates with their ISP. Totally recommend Virgin Media :)

  • unhappy

    by Peter Fisher at 2:08 on 11 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Absolutely horrible ISP, pay for a 10mb connection, get a 2mb connection or less the majority of the time, upload? 40kb/s on a good day.

    I would NEVER recommend Virgin Media to ANYBODY.

  • neutral

    by LAG at 22:56 on 8 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Completely agree with phillip prattley on the language issue. Free helpline which is good but never can get anyone who understands me or who I can understand. Wheres the sense in that?! Other than that good service. No issues with broadband speed. Try for offers when renewing contract and they usually are helpful.

  • happy

    by Andy at 19:40 on 1 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    Have been with Virgin Since NTL started..Only ever had a problem with Internet's when Broadband was first coming out..since then never had any problem On the 20meg atm getting 50 on Thur never have felt a decrease in the service during the day..or any-time

  • unhappy

    by tony wadsworth at 13:41 on 27 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    virgin media are how can i put it TRASH i play xbox when i host games i have to come out of it because of lag and with 19.8 download 0.78 upload i host most games. ive had their joke technics out they put a modem in i know it is something to do with the cable outside my house they wouldnt put a new one in not cost effective it would have been if i stayed with them but yhey can stick the broadband right up richards a**e ime going to try be broadband does anyone know what they are like thanks

  • unhappy

    by SAC at 17:06 on 26 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    What can i say! i have been a cable customer since the Telecential days. VM is ok so long as you don't have a problem! For a communications company they have a lot to learn.

    Save yourself a phone call to their Tech support and reboot your router, modem and PC. Personally as technical consultant hate being spoken to like a child especially by someone that is reading from a crib sheet!

    The only way to resolve issues is to get access to there CEO's office its the only way you get some action, get through to the right person and your laughing. Alternately, get through to there customer retention department, to do this just say you have had enough and your moving to another ISP.

    I wont bore you with the problems like them not migrating my mail account properly and the speed issues, but to add insult to injury i have just received a letter apparently because of "Detrimental use of your Broadband connection". Basically you can have 20mb broadband but you cannot use it between the hours of 9am to 9pm. They are now enforcing there "customer education program" so beware. My view is if there selling 20mb "Unlimited" broadband it should be just that. If their network cant cope in any particular area with the throughput of traffic then its their responsibility to update the network so it can, and not punish the end user. Most of us are already paying for a service were not getting. Now they want to shove the onus onto the user because of the inadequacy of their network.

    Good: When running OK
    Poor: When you have a problem
    Customer services: Terrible unless by chance you get the right person

  • unhappy

    by philip pratley at 18:44 on 25 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    have great difficulty connecting to the broadband, probably due duff modem. Help line no good due staff with poor working knowledge of English combines with heavy duty foreign accent. Letters ignored.....at my wits end. want out but cannot contact anyone who I can understand to do so.

  • neutral

    by matt at 3:16 on 25 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Just got 20Mb virgin broadband and its averaging between 3-10mb. Taken them over a month to address problem - I live in Buck, UK. There is not communication intergrity in virgin, its a weak brand based on my 3 years exp of them.

  • unhappy

    by Delwyn at 20:03 on 22 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Virgin Cable Broadband is the worst option you could go for. I have the 10MB and I am quite close to the exchange (Can get up to 8MB) but 90% of the time I only get around 2MB with 24KB upload. This is after restarting everything (computer, router, etc), no torrents being downloaded. Better of with anyone else.

  • unhappy

    by Martin at 8:27 on 19 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    In my house we have had cable as long as I can remember. Since Virgin Media took over things have gone downhill. Existing customers are overcharged paying the same amount for a 20Mb/s connection as a new customer pays for a 50Mb/s connection. In addition to this my computer suddenly wouldn't connect to the router or the modem. After 3 calls to VM Tech Support an advisor said my computer's MAC address had been cloned. I have had to change the motherboard as the NC card was built in. I find theit customer service to be disgusting.

  • neutral

    by John Mason at 20:31 on 17 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Overall, I'm very satisfied with V-M's broadband service, but don't get sucked in by the freebees.

    V-Stuff's an incredible offer, except it takes hours to upload 25 decent resolution photos to get the free prints, and you could back up documents faster with a quill pen!!

  • neutral

    by Drew Courtney at 13:11 on 1 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Just sacked Virgin Media as the supplier of my Telephone, Broadband and TV after being with them for many years. the first problem I had was that, when signed up for Direct Debit payments at the start, they would take odd amounts of money out of my account, (seperate to my normal bill), with no explanation of what they were for. As a result, I ceased paying by direct debit only to find that I was then charged for using a diferent method, (unfair in my opinion).Then slowly but surely I had more and more problems, overcharging, poor BB speeds, a rediculous fine for late paying and finaly they took 6 months to fix the phone when it went down. They tried several times to charge me more than I should have been paying, when I started up with them it was £18 a month all in, my bills near the end were up to £60! When I refused to pay the inflated bills, they fined me for late paying and were still trying to charge me for the services they had cut off. Unfourtunately they have the same ethics as other service providers seem to have adopted in that they will try and overcharge - if they get caught out, they're not too bothered but I suspect a lot of the time, they don't get found out and people just pay the bills without checking.Crooked and untrustworthy in my opinion. Rant over!

  • unhappy

    by Ed McCarson at 18:14 on 31 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    I am not here to add a review. I want Virgin to provide a map of where their 20 Meg Broadband and their 50 Meg Broadband are available. Some people will choose where to live based on the availability of these services. It is foolishness not to provide a coverage area map!

  • unhappy

    by john drysdale at 21:05 on 29 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    been with virgin 2+ years, 1st year fine, this last year steady deteriation in service reps are very polite but unhelpful.Modem became faulty mid dec last sent wireless router and then spent almost 5 hours trying to get it to work with no result.n the15th jan a second router arrived and was promised that i would be called between 2 &2.30 that day to assist in connecting to the net.today 29th jan. I rang them and asked for my MAC no. and was told that yes I could have this BUT it would cost me £95. As I have not signed a contract since September 2007 I find this difficult to understand.This is not the first time they have let me down with service problems.I could not recommend them as a providor .

  • neutral

    by unbehavable at 13:42 on 29 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    ive been with vm for 2 years . 20 meg was rock solid highest adsl in my area is 2.5mb .Ive been on 50 meg since october 2009 and its amazing i usually get 52.6mb on speedtest. You guys have probally had your mac address cloned or are on a node with lots of dodgy boxes .

  • happy

    by David Abbott at 13:25 on 29 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Nothing but praise for all of virgin services. The broadband 20 meg service is spot on, and the tv and phone services are great. I have been with sky, and virgin comes out best.

  • unhappy

    by harry at 13:36 on 27 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    when it works the internet is superb but if anything goes wrong then prepare for a long and frustrating waste of time dealing with their customer service. Their TV service is awful, have had 3 boxes and still the TV lags a stutters constantly.
    Awful service (worse than old school BT), awful TV, good internet (assuming it works), but not worth the hassle even for fibre optic.


  • unhappy

    by John Hanger at 12:02 on 15 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Ordered a package on 11th Nov 2009, just had the 4th appointment missed. Whilst the normal installation crew sometimes arrives, the construction crew does not.
    Have spent hours on the phone trying to get someone to take ownership of the problem, but to no avail. Have asked for a "decission maker" to call me back today, but have been advise that that is unlikely to happen.
    Have the name of the Area Manager, but he seems too scared to call.
    Customer services are very polite, but are powerless to help.
    Have complained twice on email complaints system, have recieved acknowledgement of reciept advising replys normally within 5 days, but no response after 50 days!!!!
    Wrote a letter on 14th December, which was delivered by Special Delivery on 15th December - still no response and "not on the system".
    It will be too easy to give up, so I am looking to see if OFCOM can help.
    If you have no patience - not not even consider Virgin as a supplier.

  • unhappy

    by Darren Davies at 12:43 on 6 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Took new contract with them is December 2009, and had nothing but constant issues, support team that didnt no what they was doing, varying speeds at any time of day, lowest speed was 0.38kbps less than dial up! and avg high speed of 800kbps, despite them saying i should get 2.5mbps, constant drop outs, changed and checked everything, spent hours on the phone to them, hours via there online chat and still nothing, now they tell me they have 'escalated' the isssue and to expect a call in 5days, asked to be put through to cancellations, only for them to guarentee me a call back in 4 hours, we'll see....... Useless so far, technically gifted, i dont think so and a service thats so bad we need a new word to describe it.

    ps when my line was activated on 8th december they hadnt sent me a router, and when i called to query this they said one wasnt due to 30th dec!, still took them 4 days with guarenteed next day delivery. Avoid like the plague, id recommend anyone above these jokers

  • unhappy

    by daniel at 19:49 on 5 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    rubish. one word says it all. i've always been with bt. 50 meg. ooohhhh! that's for me. it's not even as fast as the medium package from bt. tried and tested. bought two new computers. dell xps one and macbook. their internet is so slow. in march is gonna be one year of nightmares. i'm so going back to bt.
    ps: always check your bill from them. i had so many refunds.

  • unhappy

    by the_dogg at 14:22 on 30 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    I have made recently a contract with Virgin Media for internet braoadband 10Mb, and i don't understand why they tax me 11 pound per month for phone line rental, when the internet connection is on optical fiber? can somebody explain me pls.

  • neutral

    by Colin Kitson at 18:34 on 28 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Only had 2 technical issues, first time the support team were great, second time when the same fault occurred they did not have a clue.

    On the whole, no problems with the TV/phone side, but I find the broadband to be not up to the mark when it comes to gaming on the PS3. Download speed is fine, but the upload speed is too slow. I doubt I'll be renewing my contract when my time is up.

  • neutral

    by Mike Swift at 10:45 on 23 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    I have been following this thread for some time now and i think its about time someone in Virgin stood up and responded to
    1. Poor service delivery.....paying for 8/10Mb/s and receiving up to 2Mb/s if your lucky.
    2. Non existent customer service (have you noticed its a breeze to upgrade but I dare you to cancel or complain).

    Whilst I admire Richard Branson for his achievements I think its time he came down out of space and sorted out the monster here on the ground that he seems to have a stake in.
    The executives in Virgin Media I would no doubt are being payed huge salaries....now its time to sort this crap out. Where does the buck stop? Has anyone got the balls to reply?........I doubt it.

  • unhappy

    by Justin at 14:35 on 22 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Worse customer service EVER. In the nearly two years I have been with them they have not gotten one thing right on the first try. They have over charged me massively on my account and it took 4 months for them to even credit it back to my account. You can never get the same answer out of two different staff (even the ones who accents you can actually understand) and most staff will just claim they can't help you and try and forward you to someone else when you have a problem.

    The acctual product provided isn't terrible, but in my 12 years in the telecommunications industry, working for and using service providers across the UK, US and Australasia Virgin are the least competent and the hardest to deal with.

  • unhappy

    by Neville Hughes at 20:14 on 15 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Having been a Virgin Media customer for seven years with no major gripes I expected a smooth transfer of services when we moved house three weeks ago. However that couldn't be further from the truth. After giving Virgin three weeks notice of our move I expected there would be no problems on the installation date, only to find when the engineers arrived they could not proceed due to a 'construction' issue (which should have been picked up in a pre-installation survey which they forgot to schedule, and admitted to). I complained as I felt we had given sufficient notice but I had to chase constantly for three days to get another installation date, which was two weeks later. The customer service during this period was atrocious. I was never once called back and must have spoken to 20 people during this period, having to give my account number each time despite being transferred internally within Virgin. What struck me was that no-one was accountable for my service and no-one was empowered to own my problem, instead simply passing me to the next individual. Even after I raised a formal complaint I was still never called back.

    Because we wanted to maintain our email address we decided to stay with Virgin and waited the two weeks for the next installation. In the intervening period I tried to access our personal email via their browser interface but was told our account was locked because we had moved house and the new installation had not been completed. Despite it being very clear this was not my fault, they refused (and seemed to be unable) to reactivate the account, leaving our personal email in limbo.

    Today is the date of the second install. Again someone arrived and left without installing it. My wife took a day off holiday today and again no-one called to explain why. When I finally reached someone at 7pm I was told there was a 'construction' issue and the pre-install work hadn't happened (again).

    I could excuse the installation incompetence if the customer service was good, but it has been as poor an experience as I have had (and I've dealt with the Woolwich!)

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: