« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 11

  • unhappy

    by belinda mccarthy at 19:46 on 7 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    joined 3 in jan 08 was not impressed with the connection at all, but as i had a 12 month contract just thought i would put up with it. I tried to cancel my contract at the end of the 12 months but after being held on the phone for about 3 hours gave up. eventually they gave me a free upgrade telling me it would work a lot better, it didnt and i am signed up for another 18 months.. have now gone with talk talk, loads better and a lot cheaper too. only trouble is im still paying 3 , i think i will go and cancel my direct debit and let them take me to court...they are complete utter rubbish , dont use them

  • happy

    by Dylan George at 13:29 on 4 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    I have had this 3 mobile broadband for about 4 months, because where i live there is no chance of getting broadband through phone line.
    Pros: so far, very immpressed. so far the biggest allowance at 15gig, be even happier if that doubles to 30 tho. the speed is reasonably good. when the dongle is hitting its fastest speed i can download a gig film in about an hour, which is flying as far as im concerned. easy to use, plug it in, built-in software does it all for you. can check how much allowance you've used. in comparision buy far the best value for money with the download limit.
    Cons: would like a larger download limit, but it is the biggest so far. at my fathers house plus some other areas, i get absolutly no signal at all, but im guessing most networks would be same. the call centres are all abroad, british jobs lost. the company isnt british, yet all arnt any more, e.g. Orange -French, Vodafone -Spanish. Also lengthy contract at 24months.
    *THUMBS UP* from me.
    All that, i say, if you can get three signal, this is definatly the dongle to buy.

  • unhappy

    by shaun at 19:45 on 3 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    DO NOT USE 3 MOBILE!! They are total rubbish as far as i'm concerned :( Had nothing but slow slow speeds ever since I signed up and its getting worse. As others have said, they have a totally saturated service and I would never use them again, ever :(

  • unhappy

    by Mark at 17:54 on 2 Nov 2010 Report abuse

    Well over 2 years on now since this service launched and nearly everyone who reviews this service is still ripping 3 to bits. The reason is quite simple, service has got worse not better. This is a company who have knowingly and irresponsibly sold too many packages to too many customers, crippled a network which cannot cope as a result of this and has customer services in another country because nobody at 3 in this country wants to speak to you about their terrible service. They get away with being the worst network because the regulator lets them get away with it. 3 are full of themselves and very arrogant. Do not be taken in with the hype. Avoid this like the plague.

  • unhappy

    by Obmit at 11:22 on 28 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    Well I'm lucky if I can get 250 Kbps. And that is during 3's so called off peak time, during their peak hours (which would appear to be basically ALL day) they throttle your connection in favour of MOBILE PHONE users, and I am VERY lucky if I can connect at all.
    Absolute rubbish. All they care about is profit, the end user can go **** themselves it would seem.
    Oh and I dont live "in the sticks" I live in the South East of England, approx. 20 miles from London. My signal strength is good, usually 4 out of 5 bars. To say I was sick of this company would be an understatement. And as for their "customer support" team,,, it's like a stuck record,,, "We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems, but it can't possibly be a problem with our network, it's a problem with your PC.". In that case the other dozen PC's I have tried it on ALL have the same problem,,, and that problem is that I was attempting to use 3MBB. Pathetic company, avoid like the plague if you value your sanity. The sooner this company gets investigated by OFCOM/OFTEL or whoever it is thats supposed to be on the consumers side, the better.

    *THUMBS DOWN*

  • happy

    by Les at 20:02 on 27 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I signed up with 3 last month. The service is fast - 4.26 Mb/s tonight, and I have the ZTE 112 dongle in a 3g router, so wifi mobile broadband all over the house. The first dongle became intermittant, within a fortnight, 3 shipped me a free replacement and knocked a fiver off the next bill. I have 15 gig a month for £15.00 . Happy? You bet. There have been no problems, no connection hiccups, and no unusably slow networks.

  • happy

    by Lucy Saunders at 17:29 on 26 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    3 dongle is infinitely better than my BT Business Broadband service has been since July this year. now i've just got to work out what the number on it is and how to increase the credit - its been so long since i bought it for an emergency i have no idea where the paper work is ... just grateful its still doing the connecting.

  • unhappy

    by Tichro at 12:54 on 23 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    3 MBB summed up in three statements:-

    1. Over subscribed network.
    2. Under funded network.
    3. Over rated.

    In conclusion, utter rubbish, avoid.

    And who's pockets got lined to get this ?
    "Survey claims that 3 Mobile is the UK's best mobile broadband provider"

    I haven't laughed so much in a long time.

  • unhappy

    by Martin Sellers at 15:01 on 21 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    If you want to have to constantly disconnect and reconnect to be able to browse online, have most of your downloads not complete and therefore waste your allowance, always have to repeat your situation when speaking to 3 because nobody made a note of the conversation so you wouldn't have to, experience regular throttling because your service provider has knowingly and irresponsibly oversold to too many customers and feel the need to constantly bang your head against a brick wall when dealing with a useless, lying, under-resourced, inept and incompetent provider then 3 mobile broadband is perfect for you!

  • happy

    by emma shawcross at 14:26 on 17 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I got my 3 dongle in 2008 when they first launched the free laptop deal. I got an amazing deal £35 a month for 2 years with a FREE 17inch HP DV9700 (which was about £900 at the time). The laptop I am still using now has been fantastic, and the dongle was great. My dongle was only 1gb a month, but I had unlimited with my phone, so when I was going to do any big uploads/downloads I simply put my phone sim card in the dongle and used it off that, so my 1gb wasn't used. It worked perfectly well for all those 2 years. My internet would sometimes go off, but not often and it would reconnect quickly. I liked being able to send text messages via the computer and the connection speeds were ok. If I wanted to do any seriously heavy stuff, I would wait until I got home and do it off my home wi-fi (mobile internet is not really cut out for streaming etc). But my contract is over now and I would go back to them, the dongle did the job and got me on my uni site/email/facebook on the train, coffee shops, lectures etc. No real problems at all.

  • unhappy

    by DT at 17:15 on 10 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    3 Mobile has got to be the worst globalised company in the world. They mis-sold me a phone which could be used as a modem as well. When it arrived it most definitely could not be used as a modem. I have now called this company about twelve times, spent at least 25 or thirty hours being transferred from one department to another and holding on listening to grot music. All you can get through to is Bombay in India. They talk the polite speak but they do absolutely nothing to help you. When you call too many times, they simply cut you off. They have never heard of "the customer is always right". they have never heard of "the goods must be able to do what they are sold to do". They are an utter liability

  • happy

    by Mike giles at 14:55 on 6 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    A few years ago I travelled pretty much the whole UK over a period of about 5 months. I used the 3 Dongle regularly and I have to say I was pretty impressed. As long as I was near a main town I got reception and it worked well enough, and that included some pretty intense uploads out in the wilds of the Lake District. I now use it as a backup at home as our broadband is not that reliable. I was surprised to see so many negative comments about all the providers but I would recommend 3 on the basis of my experience. It is not perfect by far but has generally worked where I could reasonably expect it to.

  • neutral

    by Sick of 3 at 20:29 on 29 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    Not a day goes by where there are no issues with 3. Most evenings it's unusable. All the problems stem from 3 selling to too many customers and the network cannot cope with too much traffic. Then 3 go and make it worse with throttling and traffic management. Awful service from an awful company. And they won't change. The same problems have been happening for over 2 years now. The internet is awash with scathing reviews of 3 and it's easy to see why.

  • unhappy

    by keith mckane at 3:11 on 29 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    my phone was faulty ,a fella called stewart in 3 shop Belfast thought it funny to send my round to the 'repair experts' in 3 shop round the corner who sent me back to the shop I bought it in where sheepish Stewart who turned out not to manage the shop sent me to the carphone warehouse fuming I went and am waiting on getting my phone back and will then be able to claim that time back off monthly rental- not automatic like O2 plus I am still trying to cancel a sim I am being billed for which i didnt ask for was told was free and turns out was credit checked for - there has to be some sort of conusmer comeback on this rubbish reception outside Belfast terrible customer servcie and shop staff making fun of you and wasting your time .. help.....

  • unhappy

    by Marc Emmett at 15:52 on 28 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    This mobile broadband service was complete rubbish. Never worked properly for the three months I had it and then I got told at the end that it was because I was in an overlap zone with the mast 25 meters from my house ! There is something fundamentally wrong with this technology and this provider.

  • unhappy

    by Hopping Mad at 16:35 on 23 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    stll getting rubbish service, disconnections all the time and when I do get a connection it is so slow it is not worth having despite having a transmitter around the corner from me.

  • neutral

    by Marsh at 14:48 on 23 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    After a problem with a faulty sim I finally got connected using a payg sim. On the plus side wheresas my 'normal' (ADSL) broadband on goes to about 700 Kb I was pleased to get about 2200 kb with Three.
    On the negative side why does it take so long, on average five minutes, just to get on line.
    Another negative, reliability is poor, connection holds for between 5 mins and an hour at most.
    This is mainly intended as a back up and for when travelling, hopefully it might be adequate as I have little choice due coverage of other suppliers.

  • unhappy

    by Hopping Mad at 12:55 on 22 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    First I get disconnected 18 times in 30 minutes, now I do get a connection but the speed is so slow that the screen keeps freezing and 3 mobile says it could not possibly be their fault and must be my computer that is faulty (standard reply) despite my computer being only 6 weeks old. When will 3 mobile employ people who know what they are talking about and not read from some script?

  • unhappy

    by Wayne Stackhouse at 1:11 on 20 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    Well if 3 broadband's supposed to be the best I hate to think what the rest are like! It's rare you can have more than an hour or so without the connection failing, usually it's every ten minutes given the sensitive little thing can't seem to cope with too much 'furniture' appearing! Can anyone recommend one better, I'm not that arsed if it's a bit slower to get there just as long as the soddin connection stops failing!! and no, I don't ;live in the Highlands of Scotland but inner city Brum!!!

  • unhappy

    by Mark stiles at 23:22 on 17 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    The the pay as you go micro sim and tried to get on to gaydar which as far as I know is not porn it's a gay dating site but was no access so tried fit lads recon and several other sites all denied, but I managed to get onto every straight dating site going who is monitoring the sites the pope ,not happy at all may have to take this further I mean it's the land of the free isn't it or is that america

  • neutral

    by Hopping Mad at 16:28 on 17 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    I have been disconnected 18 times in the past 30 minutes, if this is what you call a better service you can keep it, PS why do I never get a 3G signal only HSPDA

  • unhappy

    by Roddy at 16:48 on 10 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    As an existing 3 customer I chose to upgrade my account from a dongle to a laptop package. I have never had such a terrible customer experience. They got the delivery address for the laptop wrong not once, but several times. Each time I complained they repeated their mistakes, failed to call back when promised and I was repeatedly referred between them and their couriers. On one occassion I was treated with downright rudeness with no apology for their error. Their support manager himself said it was the worst example of customer care he had ever seen. I don't recommend them at all.

  • happy

    by Matthew scott at 15:26 on 6 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    i have been a 3mobile customer since 2008. being an existing 3 customer i was offered 5gb of data allowance for 7.50Gbp per month. what a bargain. usually get 2.2mbps speeds which is really all i need. although sometimes it takes a few minutes to get connected i think it is one of the best 3G providers out there. as with all mobile services it depends where you live as to the signal/connectivity, so make sure you check it out first! so, with my great experience of 3 im gunna get me a new laptop and upgrade to 15gb data allowance. they even chuck in a free MiFi! ;)

    happy surfing.

  • unhappy

    by seekem at 15:18 on 5 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    3Dongle remains useless, I am so tired of spending ages just getting the 3page to load. When I try downloads it drops the signal and I have to start again. Last month I used £75.00 just to download four video lectures of 45 mins each (Yale Lectures). I have also noticed that the service runs smoothly just before I run out of credit and that once I again topup the service returns to s**te....NO WAY can this be considered a service the UK public is always being ripped off and 3 Dongle is the latest.

  • happy

    by Dave at 16:47 on 2 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    I have been using the Three iPad payg microsim for the past 2 months - it has worked very well indeed. I get 3G signals in places I can't even get an Orange phone signal.
    I can surf the web quickly and watch BBC iplayer too ( goes thru my data allowance quickly though).
    Highly recommended.

  • unhappy

    by ms. Salesh at 4:15 on 23 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Got 3G with Vodafone here in Fiji called Flashnet. Worked okay at first but now i can only use it in early am. Drops, pages won't open. SLOW. They deny it is affected by traffic but it all went south when their sister company Inkk started specials like talk for five minutes then get the rest of the hour for free.

  • neutral

    by Trev at 14:30 on 21 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    I have just started thinking about mobile broadband, glad I found this site because I think a disaster has been averted, I am not going anywhere near 3.

    Big thanks to all you guys who left a review and saved my r'ce from the nightmare that is 3 :-)

  • unhappy

    by marion at 22:06 on 19 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    I had a 2 year phone contract and decided to re new with a different phone, got an Experia mini which would not hold a charge phoned 3 and was advised it was a known softwear problem with the phone!! and they would replace it with a Samsung Galaxy, this phone arrived a week ago and has not worked properly since receiving it, The 3 shop told me to return the phone as it is a faulty handset. After contacting 3 and informing them I do not want another exchange and do not wish to go ahead with the contract, I have been informed that due to the first phone being delivered just over a month ago, I have no choice but take another exchange and complete the 2 year contract. I cannot believe a contract starts on the day you receive faulty goods. 3 Have been less than helpful and the P.R. does not exist...I will never have another contract phone as Trading Standards inform me mobile phone contracts are notoriously difficult to get out of....and 3 are the worst in my opinion.

  • neutral

    by Johnnie322 at 22:51 on 18 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Bought my 3 mobile dongle from Tesco........spent hours patiently touring round trying to get a signal.
    Realised I'd wasted £40!
    Tried Orange.......fantastic.....brilliant coverage........anyone can have my 3 for free !

  • unhappy

    by Amy Wai at 18:53 on 16 Aug 2010 Report abuse

    Had a modem for roughly four months on a 30-day rolling contract and was promised 7.2 mbps couldnt complain at first as it hitting nearer the 8.1mbps which is super fast for my little net book, and now its more customer service is dreadful and useless, its impossible to cancel although a 30 day cancellation policy and the speed has dropped to 1.2, and thats at its best during night time in a city centre location. During peak times i'll be lucky to get 0.7mbps and all customer services do is mock you for having no intelligence and avoid in anyway possible to give a half arsed decent solution. Thank you, 3, but i'll have you know OFT and OFCOM aren't going to be very happy...

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: