« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 18

  • neutral

    by Dave at 2:34 on 28 May 2009 Report abuse

    3 (depending on your area) can be very slow
    They recently upgraded their software to BL77 - better for account access and SMS etc, but the problem with 3 is their modems will still not connect to the base signal GPRS (General packet radio service) - the standard mobile phone network signal normally used for voice and text calls.
    Using GPRS to access the net is slow, but at least you CAN connect and use the internet!
    Vodafone broadband can connect using GPRS, as well as 3G (higher speed) and HSPDA (high speed packet data access) - which is the fastest mobile network signal you can get. If a vodafone mobile phone works, which most do, (even in remote rural areas) then you will be able to access the internet too.

    Until 3 works on GPRS, it's likely you will have no constant access ability....and even when connected to 3's 3G signal, (Lowestoft area) it's slow downloading, and uploading is also really slow at 7kb/sec or worse! whereas vodafone in the same area was much faster.

    However I've heard that some areas ARE fast, so it pays to visit the 3 shop (and any rivals) to demo their product BEFORE deciding.

  • unhappy

    by bob at 12:02 on 27 May 2009 Report abuse

    With the latest update from 3 the connection application hijacks your browser and takes you to the 3 website so they can peddle their less than adequate wares to you. Preventing this will result in an error and failure to connect. Pay as you go service is terrible and frequently unavailable even though you pay three times the price on pay as you go compared to contract. The application itself is full of flaws and fails to detect a signal often without unplugging the dongle, waiting a while and resetting the applications settings to the original configuration. 3 staff are unhelpful at best and blatantly rude the rest of the time. As for speed, i would recommend a carrier pigeon before i would recommend 3 mobile broadband.

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 22:33 on 22 May 2009 Report abuse

    I really do not recomend 3 mobile broadband to anybody. I live in the dublin area and my service has been very poor. The 3 helpline was of absolutely no help whatsoever. All they could tell me was that there was ' a problem with the network in your area, and our technicians are working no the problem' this went on for 6 weeks at one stage and i still got a bill through the door from them, even though i hadnt been able to conect to the internet. Not once! All i can say is go to O2 or vodafone! you may a little bit more with these providers (i dont know) but you will get much better coverage, and much,much, better customer service.

  • happy

    by B SYDDALL at 18:24 on 20 May 2009 Report abuse

    I have had my mobile dongel for 3 weeks now: got it for
    hols in Norfolk nr yarmouth the broadband works ok and it works ok out in the sticks 7 miles from chesterfield. Be sure to download the new software update.
    I would give it 7 out of 10 at the moment, but you still need
    landline broadband at home.

  • unhappy

    by Abdul Kalam at 12:39 on 15 May 2009 Report abuse

    I won't recommend 3 broadband to anyone. I bought my dongle in November, the service was ok for two months. Now, it wont connect at all. The signal speed has dramaticly fallen in the bishop auckland area. Bishop Aucklanders stay well clear, ignore the hot looking salepersons who is only interested in making the commision with a product that is destined to fail in a few months after you have purchased it.

  • happy

    by Brian at 9:02 on 15 May 2009 Report abuse

    My girfriend purchased a 12-month prepaid 3 dongle about 12 weeks ago. She is a student living in rented accommodation which has no direct access to fixed line broadband. So far the service fom 3 has been fantastic. Instant connection, great response. She studies Law and needs access all day. Only slight problem she tells me is when weather is bad, the connection deteriorates, but overall 3 have been great, so consider these comments before making your judgement. Prepaid suits her from a cost-control point of view. Access is fine. Speed seems good. She lives Glasgow area. Excellent product. Give it a go.

  • unhappy

    by mark at 15:20 on 14 May 2009 Report abuse

    please could give me the email address for allan mclukie

    as ive tired the one on here?

  • unhappy

    by Andy at 13:36 on 14 May 2009 Report abuse

    I have used 3 mobile "broadband" for a few months now, mainly in central Manchester.

    I would not recommend it. At best the service is intermittent - it can not be relied upon to provide a connection on demand. When it does choose to connect speeds tend to be low, more often than not painfully so.

    I'm looking for an alternative and as soon as I do so will never use 3 again.

  • unhappy

    by Darren at 14:21 on 13 May 2009 Report abuse

    3 has managed to gain itself a terrible reputation, the one mobile providers to steer well clear of.

    If you enjoy being overbilled, being missold multiple contracts by devious overeas sales people with access to your personal information, and then spending months trying to sort it out and get your money back - even going to court to do so, then look at 3. Otherwise, stay well clear.

    After 7 months i now have three mobile phones from 3, and am owed i do not know how much in money taken from my bank account through misselling phones i never ordered (they just arrive and some sales person in india claims i agreed to them).

    Trying to cancel them is near impossible. They actual argue with you over why you ordered them in the first place (even though you didn't). It then takes 30 days to process the cancellation, and you have to prove you did not order the phone to get it through without having to pay off the entire 18 month contract.

    It really is a clever scam. Any sales person seeking a quick commission can use your data, say you agreed, and get a phone despatched to you.

    Avoid going with 3, my experience has been that personal data is not safe with them.

  • unhappy

    by Notrelevent at 20:47 on 12 May 2009 Report abuse

    Wow, I am so glad I read thes reviews. It was only a week ago that I was seriously thinking about taking 3 on board for my business, the whole packages, on the basis of their promotions/advertising, that their services had improved dramatically, even though it is common knowledge that 3 are the worst service ever. But judging by my own research and reviews on 3, you'd think that 3 would sort it out and use their revenue to improve their services. I am seriously going to stay well away from 3, it sounds like its more problems than they are worth. so 3 is a def no go. Any suggestions of others I could consider? of course, again, I would review the others in the same way, and hopefully there will be at least some good reviews from other companies and not all bad like they are with 3. any advice?

  • unhappy

    by Martin118(Swansea) at 20:43 on 12 May 2009 Report abuse

    Guys, send your complaint emails to Allan.Mcluckie -at- three.co.uk (Director of Customer Services). I had my 18mth contract cancelled without penalty. :-)

  • unhappy

    by George Thomas at 19:05 on 12 May 2009 Report abuse

    I brought a 3 payg dongle and found that the intruction for loading on credit was beyond me, Even after going back to the store asking for help and the shop assistant couldn't understand my problem, I just one week before i did get connected I went thro £100 not including the cost of the dongle.

    I rang customer services and asked them about the problem and all they said in so many words was we can't offer a refund even though you had rang us about 6 times and asked for help in our store's.

    I found that 3 network customer services was not helpful or understanding, In fact the customer services told me i was in the wrong and not the company, I still fighting 3 network and find that they just say it's nothing to do with us or it's not our fault and what do you expect us to do about the problem, Don't they have customer services in this country except in africa as everything i do get thro it's always someone in africa.

    I just hope no one else has had these problem with this rip off company. What the point have faith in a company who just like to rip the public off with very poor customer services who's not prepared the except responsibility for there error.

  • unhappy

    by Leslie at 8:15 on 12 May 2009 Report abuse

    Total waste of money, don't ever buy mobile 'broadband' from 3. My analogue modem 15 years ago was more reliable and even faster. Trying to use this crap since last October, usually it works quite well between 1 and 5 AM, but unusable the rest of the day. But come on, nobody told me that I can't sleep because that's the only time when this 'broadband' may work... It's a joke.
    It connects all the time, but 9 out of 10 times I don't receive a single byte, so I have to reconnect or onplug the USB dongle. Even when it works usually it just stops suddenly after some time, so I can try again to reconnect. Very annoying, made me angry a lot of times.
    Now they overcharged me saying I went over my data usage limit, their counter shows twice as much data download than I can see at my modem's Traffic Summary. So it seems they want to rip off their customers every possible way...
    I will try to end my 18 months contract, but as I read the previous comments it is almost impossible.
    Bottom line, I absolutely do NOT recommend 3 mobile internet to anybody!!!

  • unhappy

    by Baz at 21:24 on 7 May 2009 Report abuse

    I took a 12-month contract which expired in March. For most of that time, the service was intolerable but got a bit better around March. I was told that the service would be getting a lot better as Three are combining resources with another big company. On that basis, I signed up for another 18 months.

    What a huge mistake! It has got worse than it has ever been. Usually takes forever to connect to the service and even when it says I'm connected, I get timed out loading webpages. And even when I do get to use it, the connection is lost after a very short while.

    Mainly, I use the service at home in Beckenham (postcode BR3) and the comments relate to that. Sometimes I visit Plymouth (PL2) where matters are far better - in fact, up to now I've been impressed by the service when I use it there. However, I cannot move home just on the basis of Three service!!

  • unhappy

    by Elaine Gunn at 12:57 on 6 May 2009 Report abuse

    Really really unimpressed with the 3 mobile broadband service. At least once a day I lose connection and get "Internet Explorer can't display the webpage" messages, despite being fully connected and having full signal.

    I'm in the process of logging all these faults so I have a chance of getting out of the contract - unfortunately my 14 day cooling off period has elapsed.

    I would recommend anybody considering this service to think again carefully - getting tied in to 18 months of rubbish service isn't worth the £15 a month they charge.

  • neutral

    by J. Goodfellow at 21:11 on 3 May 2009 Report abuse

    I bought a 3 dongle for £97.00 for 12 months access at 1 gb a month and was told that I had good reception in my area. So far, I've had quite a lot of trouble getting on line. The 3 information box tells me that I am connected but internet explorer tells me that it cannot connect and takes a long time to get online. It's only been a week so I can't pass judgement yet, but it would be nice if the sales people were more honest about expected signal strength.

  • unhappy

    by not a happy bunny at 0:52 on 22 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    well been with 3 only 2 days when i rang up i was offered 5gb for £15 when on there website today found that they were doing 15gb for £15 why the hell was i not offered this?? 3s answer was to put me through to 4 different people including technical support when i finally got through to broadband he told me i had 2 go back 2 the begining and ask customer services if it was availiable then ring them back and they would change my tariff funilly enough he couldnt do it internally.... well after my 2days of crap service mines going back and im going elsewere!!! lucky i had 14 days and found this out before they were up!!

  • unhappy

    by Not for Mac at 14:02 on 21 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    The E169 dongle is terrible. It crashes my macbook if I dare close the lid. Even if I shut down the connection the dongle won't go to sleep and drains the battery in a couple of hours. There's no way to update the driver.

    As for 3 it's next to useless. Voice on skype isn't blocked but is unusable despite having connection speeds that would work fine on fixed line broadband.

    Skype: useless
    Youtube: useless
    iPlayer: useless
    LastFM: Only if you don't browse the web at the same time.

    Connection speeds are usually low. I was persuaded by the 5G limit but you couldn't get though 5G if you tried all month, 3's network is just too clumsy.

    Not happy that 3's marketing arm repeatedly phone my mobile then and hang up when I answer (08003584845).

    Altogether better choose someone else.

  • neutral

    by HAPPY (Swansea) at 17:53 on 15 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I have been most critical of 3 mobile broadband for the past 10 months. lately however they seem to have got their act together, my modem speed has gone up from .237 mbps to .946 mbps which I am happy with. WELL DONE, keep it up and I will renew my contract.

  • neutral

    by More info helpful at 13:57 on 15 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    As 3 takeup increases in areas cells become more "congested" and both reception coverage and download rates "shrink". What would be useful would be for these reviewers to give a rough idea of their location. E.g. is this a phenomenon in areas on edge of cells, or in city-centres where use is growing?

    Thanks for any info. Have tried a 3 12G starter dongle of a friend. It worked fine, but he hasn't had it long. Would be interested to know circs under which performance may detoriorate.

  • unhappy

    by Laura K at 13:36 on 15 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I've been with 3 mobile broadband for 18 months now.. just coming up to the end of my contract and deciding where to go next.

    Have to say, unless they offer me the deal of a lifetime it probably wont be 3! My modem has been back for repair twice in the last 12 months. Connection is haphazard: some weekends I get absolutely nothing, other days it works fine. The variety of error messages is quite admirable, the dongle has a vocabulary that rivals the average adult.

    Major plus point: when sent to Wales on business the dongle decided to spring into action and I experienced close to the maximum advertised speed. Never before or since has it come close to 2.8 m/bs.

  • unhappy

    by Angry at 17:54 on 11 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I've been using three broadband for a year now and if not a contract, I would have cancelled a long time ago. The connection and speed is very bad and nearly every day instead of surfing, i'm just waiting for the web to open. My problems started a few months ago and I've called customer service loads of times since. They could not resolve my problem. Unfortunately. In the same time I pay £15/month/3G. Bad deal. Expensive for the little 3G and when you exceed they charge you fortune for every little byte used. It happened to me that i had to pay £60/month.
    I would NEVER EVER recommend Three broadband to anyone. It was a big mistake to sign a contract with them and I'm looking forward to November when my contract ends...

  • unhappy

    by Andrew at 23:14 on 8 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    Very poor connection and when it does stay connected the download speed is only approx maximum of 40kbps when its at its best. Constantly disconnects and technical support haven't helped even through ive rang 5 times so far (in the first 2 months) so I will end up cancelling this contract due to not providing the advertised service if this continues

  • neutral

    by Mark Richardson at 17:07 on 7 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I've had this service since January 2008 and I have to say I'm very pleased with the service. I don't seem to suffer disconnections any more although I did for a couple of months around 6 months ago. I'm attaining speeds of around 1.5 megs download and 350 kbps upload in central Manchester.

    The speeds at home, 1mile from the city centre, are slightly disappointing at only 350 kbps download and 100 kbps upload.

    Will I renew my £25/7GB per month contract when it expires in July this year? Probably not but only because the price of mobile broadband has decreased significantly during the length of my contract. I'm tempted to opt for a T-Mobile pay as you go option so that I can use the T-Mobile hotspots as well.

  • unhappy

    by Graham Lukes at 12:34 on 6 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    I have been using the "Dongle" for about a year now and the download speeds have been steadily dropping - The dongle gives slower speed access to the internet than the old fashioned dial-up modems did with speeds regularly 10 to 20 Kb/s (Not M/bs) - The old modems could usually manage 3 times this speed

  • unhappy

    by Russell at 9:57 on 30 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    I got my 3 broadband connection in November 2008.Till today i am calling the customer service team about the slow speed.Every time i call them, they say that the issue is under investigation.Its been 5 month, i got the connection.Still no improvement in the speed and their investigation is not finished yet.

    When i wanted to withdraw my account.They said that i have to pay early termination fee which is £500+.

    They know their service is poor.Then why they take bill from my account every month?

  • unhappy

    by John, Leeds at 18:06 on 26 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Same problems as others. I have 2 years worth of pre-paid data on a Three SIM and it will not stay connected for more than 5 or 10 minutes. Tried SIM on different USB stick on different computer, get the same issue, so not hardware/software related. Put in a Vodafone SIM and rock solid connections, never drops despite being a weaker signal!

    Support are hopeless and just do not want to know.

    Also their mobile internet USB sticks will not browse to a 2G network, so coverage is very patching when on the move.

    Avoid at all costs.

  • unhappy

    by pjs at 0:20 on 25 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Yep, useless service nowadays. I'm around 250m from one of their masts and for past 11 months it has been a decent service. 1.5-2Mbps was the standard. But last 3wks+ it has been 250-400kbps. Shop staff know nothing, and their Indian CS staff even less. They may (or may not) be upgrading their masts in my area - nobody really knows or cares. Contract period is finished so I should be able to cancel with these clowns - pity though, as their new £15-15Gb deals look really sweet if their service still worked(!). They might as well offer £1 for 100Gb download per month though, as at their slooow speed you'd never get though more than a few Gb per month anyway....

    Their phone contacts are even worse. Tried to get my PAC number last week (end of 12 months on this too) and it took over 20min to get this from a professional p*ss artist who was trained to do everything to avoid me canceling my account.

    NEVER will I use these sales monkeys again. Great when it works, screwed when it doesn't.

    PS the 'security code' to be typed in for sending this post was 'full sacks' - hmmm... :-)

  • unhappy

    by Paul at 15:05 on 24 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Hopeless. I've tried this useless Three "Broadband" (are they joking?!) service in many different parts of the UK, but the speed is nearly always way slower than dial-up! That's when it connects at all.

    Normally, to keep a web page loading, I have to load up another webpage and continually refresh it to get the first page to load. If I had dial-up, I wouldn't have this problem. It really is slow, bad and unreliable.

    I also have a friend who is cursed with Three mobile snailband, and she has exactly the same problems. Do not sign up for this service!

    For example, it would be faster to write a letter to Google USA, requesting that they perform a search for, say, "elephants", then post the relevant responses back for you to peruse.

    I have tried running Broadband Speed Tests on the internet (I managed a not-too-shabby 0.16Mb/sec recently! A personal best!) but normally the crappy thing just gives up halfway through the test and reports 0kb/sec. I'm not joking.

  • unhappy

    by Les Cullen at 22:17 on 23 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    Beware before buying 3 broadband!

    I went into the Neath Branch of 3 Mobile network (Tel: 01639 642972) on Friday afternoon (14:30) 20th March and bought a 'Pay as you go' mobile broadband package (HSDPA) for £58.71. I bought this for a young man, a Mr. Jones who tends to my gardens and could not afford the HSDPA device. I had given him a computer and was trying to help him along in life. I was told by the salesman Gwyn ( ??? ) at 3 Network in Neath there was a 3 working day return policy which meant if we could not get reception we had 3 working days to return the goods (I thought the public had 14 days the cancel/return goods and services). We tried Friday evening, the whole of Saturday without success.
    Mr. Gwyn or whatever his real name is, told us blatant lies about the 3 Network and its coverage in an effort to secure the sale (I suspected otherwise). Despite the 3 network coverage footprints showing that this service was available in Mr. Jones's area there was in reality zero service available there. After speaking at length to the 3 customer help call centre after doing a manual search the only network that showed was Orange.
    On Sunday Mr. Jones and I returned to the Neath shop and found it closed. I returned the device to the Neath shop today, Monday to be told that my 3 days had expired. This abrasive individual Gwyn was adamant that my 3 days expired and pulled out a company policy dossier to show me. He has zero tact and not the faintest clue about customer relations. I suspect they are desperate for business.
    After finding the Neath shop closed I drove all the way into Swansea but sadly Mr. Jones had neglected to include the outer packaging in the 3 packet. It was too late to drive to Pontardawe before their closing time. The entire packing was with me when I returned to Neath today.
    Don't believe a word these guys tell you.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: