« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 2

  • neutral

    by sam edwin at 8:01 on 6 Dec 2014 Report abuse

    The internet never works so you are waisting your money is unlimited but 15 hours a day is not connection so you are waisting your money.

  • neutral

    by sandy at 17:06 on 17 Oct 2014 Report abuse

    Absolutely awful where i live (s40 1hp) . although i always get a good signal, i often have trouble getting my dongle to connect, & when i do connect the data just stops. I often buy 1gb for £10 a month on payg, but it's so bad now that i can rarely use more than half of the data allowance. I have also been using giffgaff (on o2 network) & i have to say that it is better (not alot) & it is cheaper, so i think i'll be sticking with that for now !

  • neutral

    by Craig Morgan at 17:46 on 8 Oct 2014 Report abuse

    The service is absolutely dire here in North London. I live in Bounds Green and I get 0.21 download at peak times. No 4G in this area and it is now nearly 2015 in one of the biggest capital cities in the world. 3 are clearly not investing money in their network as you can't even get 4G in London let alone other parts of the UK. For this reason i'm out.

  • happy

    by Peter at 14:24 on 9 Sep 2014 Report abuse

    Hi, same problem here been using mine at the same location for 5 years and been slow the last couple of months sometimes only 512k.

    Its picked up again 5mb plus in the daytime, one time 12mbs. The dongles do go I have had several just buy a new one off eBay.

    I am in a very bad area and have an antenna on the roof.

    Overall I have been very satisfied as BT only gives 512k in my area.

    Also I use Google for D.N.S - I.P. 8.8.8.8 which is better for sites with lots of links.


    Pete

  • neutral

    by Peter - Merseyside at 21:58 on 8 Sep 2014 Report abuse

    For Katherine - if you continue to get problems, get on the phone, or perhaps better to go to the store and ask to speak to the tech support staff at Three.

    A few months ago I was having problems with calls cutting out, texts not being sent, and internet sometimes intermittent. Three refunded a month's contract fee to me (and if I had not had my second phone also on contract, stolen, I'd have requested a refund on that month's payment too). If you are getting poor service because they are doing things with the masts, then you can at least ask about compensation in the form of a refund (or ask for an 80% reduction until the work they are doing leaves you back to as good a service as you had before).

    I got a replacement SIM for the one lost in the theft, and my data usage the last few days has been 1030 MB, 1879 MB, 1952 MB, and 2627 MB today.

    Hope service improves for all of you. If you still get problems, then complaining via BBC "You and Yours: or Consumer Association (Which? magazine/ website) might get some awkward questions asked by the media to Three, and get them to take more notice.

  • neutral

    by Chris P at 13:07 on 15 Aug 2014 Report abuse

    I live in Chailey in East Sussex and after trying 3 mbb for three months ditched my unreliable landline because Openreach don't want to dig up the 100ft concrete path that covers their defective multi pair copper cable from the nearest pole to the cabinet. All was well until the end of April when 3 became slow. Its got progessively worse and now although the connection is rock solid, after downloading the first page it all locks up.Interestingly, when I enter a web address in Chrome, the upload wheel spins endlessly which suggests that there's a DNS issue (see Derek B below), as ping tests are fine. If I can ever get to the webpage, file downloads run at a reasonable speed (2.5Mb). The Three bozo in India told me my problems were due to an issue affecting all wireless devices in the UK (yes folks, really: Putin must be jamming us) but he would get back to me in 48 hours. There's seven left and I'm not hopeful. As there are many of you here who feel cheated, anyone interested in launching a Class Action against 3? While we all moan individually on forums like this, nothing will get done. Don't get mad, get even.

  • neutral

    by john mulder at 9:58 on 28 Jul 2014 Report abuse

    Been with three since 2008 mbb customer, now also phone as well. Though I am a happy customer I think the claims of coverage are way overrated and seem to change from week to week. I check my speeds regularly and they can vary massively from day to day.

  • neutral

    by katherine at 22:12 on 17 Jul 2014 Report abuse

    I have used Three B/B dongle very happily for five years - until four weeks ago when it became impossibly slow to download all usual items. The on-line tech team said I needed a new dongle; this did not improve speed. Checked with Three store who immediately told me my local mast had been degraded four weeks ago at just the same time my reception went down. Three has no idea when, or if, the mast will be restored, or replaced for 4G. Said the Tech Team should have told me this when I phoned. Very disappointed.

  • neutral

    by Peter - Merseyside at 0:34 on 17 Jun 2014 Report abuse

    @Rob - sorry to read you had poor experience. I am on One Plan with unlimited data and very happy with it. Had to get T-Mob to cancel contract part way through as they had switched masts from T-Mob to EE, and that was with no penalties (and they had sent me a 100 quid signal box earlier on, too). Whole 6 months cost me nothing as I had a cashback deal through TopCashBack.

    I was using Three for data on contract (15 GB for 7.50 a month) from October 2008 to September 2012 (first in N Wales, later on Merseyside). Only cancelled the contract as I had broadband on landline after I moved here.

    Now on One Plan I use up to 60 GB of data month, as I can use the mobile as a portable wi-fi router. Will be getting a 4G mobile in next few months which will give higher speed connection for my laptops, tablet and iMacs.

  • neutral

    by gertrude banger at 20:46 on 14 Jun 2014 Report abuse

    firstly i have to say the people i have to spoke to at three are very apologetic, and to their credit they did reduce the cost of my service 50% after i complained about the slow speeds ive been receiving on their mobile broadband service.

  • neutral

    by gertrude banger at 20:44 on 14 Jun 2014 Report abuse

    firstly i have to say the people i have to spoke to at three are very apologetic, and to their credit they did reduce the cost of my service 50% after i complained about the slow speeds ive been receiving on their mobile broadband service.

  • unhappy

    by Rob at 20:27 on 23 May 2014 Report abuse

    Absolute rubbish!!! I had 18 months left on my contract and succeeded in getting Three to cancel it with NO PENALTIES. When I researched mobile broadband they came up as the best coverage for the area I am in. Totally false. I was constantly being disconnected, I was 150 yrds from the mast, and could not get work done unless I went on late at night. Basically they were not honouring the contract by providing me with what I was paying for. I was losing money due to constantly losing connection. I would never recommend these and will certainly never spend money on anything to do with Three again.

  • happy

    by yipee doo at 0:33 on 1 May 2014 Report abuse

    Get a 3 pay as you go dongle. Get you 3 payg dongle sim, and put it into a 3 mobile phone, call 444 and top up the phone with £15, then select the all in one 15 top up. You now have unlimited internet on your dongle for £15......bonus.

  • happy

    by Simon at 7:46 on 26 Mar 2014 Report abuse

    I have been using three for the last two years on a contract with an Ipad2 and it has been faultless. Never any problems and very good coverage, better that EE/Vodafone/O2 etc. I have now signed another two year contract and now have an Ipad mini too, happy bunny.

  • happy

    by Peter on Merseyside at 11:27 on 5 Mar 2014 Report abuse

    Think there are major variations in CS and signal...

    While I'd agree CS can be hard to deal with (and accent issues are at the heart of it, though sometimes it's Three policies that cause the problems). I had a problem getting a PAC to move my number to T-Mobile about a year ago, and needed OFCOM to put pressure on Three.

    However, signal from T-Mobile became unusable (they switched 3 masts to give EE 4G coverage) in June and I went back to Three.

    My Sister and Brother-in-Law are with Three and I have two contracts (SIM Only "One Plan" which allows unlimited data including tethering, so can be used for laptop and tablet too, 2000 minutes, and so on, and another with a phone and limited minutes, but still unlimited data).

    Have previously (in N Wales and here) used their internet data SIM with a low cost contract £7.50/month for 15 GB, between October 2008 and September 2012. Every month I used the full 15 GB and have had no problems whatsoever (my business depended on using the internet on Three while I had no landline at a property).

    Still happy with them overall, and still happy to recommend them!

  • unhappy

    by RPG at 2:37 on 1 Mar 2014 Report abuse

    To make this horrible story short; Three is Utterly dreadful,total confusion and bunch of liars douche bags.. and finally 'NEVER EVER AGAIN'!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Yasmin at 21:54 on 7 Nov 2013 Report abuse

    OK you think you guys have got it bad with this incompetent money grabbing company. I have been a loyal customer of 3 Mobile Broadband for 2 years now, paid £37.40 a month for a contract with a laptop, in which was paid on time in full every month. Not a single late payment. This August the contract ended as it was 2 years of being up. Correct me if I am wrong but the contract should end automatically unless you renew it or upgrade, and neither of the two did I do. In the month of September I received a bill for £91.76, I thought F*** me how did that happen. So I phoned them on 20th September straight after receiving the bill and asked what this bill was for. They told me it was for the usage between 10-09-13 and 09-10-13. Considering I personally hadn't used this dongle since October 2012 (after I moved into my flat and got BT broadband) I immediately said now the contract is up please can you cancel it. I thought this had been done. I know I lent my dongle to my sister but all she was using it for was Facebook so I'm not sure how there was 15,360 MB over used on the 15GB!! Either way I agreed to pay this but would need to speak to my sister first as she was the one who was using it and wanted to get her to pay it as she was the one using it. Anyway I kept on receiving calls from them so on 27th October I took the call and I paid £5 off as this was all I could afford. At that point they told me the contract was still going and I said to them there and then I cancelled this in September, I then said to them please make sure this is cancelled because I cannot afford for any more charged to be added. They told me it had been cancelled. Today (7th November) I receive a phone call from a debt collections agency ATD to be precise telling me that I now have a bill of £123 something, and I was like how the hell did this happen this was supposed to be cancelled in September so how have the charges risen and they said because the broadband had been used between the last bill and this bill. I said how could it have been, I cancelled it back in September. Surprise Surprise they have no record of me cancelling it, knowing deep in my heart I done this twice already!!!! Finally the man on the phone said to me that he had cancelled it today but it takes 30 days to process the cancellation and would not take effect until 7th December!!! THAT IS THREE MONTHS AFTER I HAD ORIGINALLY CANCELLED IT!! I know for a fact and I will swear on the bible that I have not used this amount of data but to get them off my back I offered the debt collection agency £10 per month as that literally is all I can afford, I have £35.63 left over from my wages each month after paying the bills and that money is for food, either way I offered £10 out of my measly £35, but did they accept it....NO! they told me this was not enough and I should try and pay on a credit card. I DONT HAVE A CREDIT CARD..."Maam do you have family or friends who could pay this for you?" Err no, its not their fault 3 have ripped me off royally. I don't understand how they can get away with this!!

    I am going down Citizen's Advice tomorrow because this is just daylight robbery. So so unfair that they can just say well you haven't cancelled it because we do not have it on file. Bulls***. I will request for them to look through and listen to their "recorded calls" and know that I cancelled this!!!

    Please anyone who doesn't have money to just burn and waste on such a corrupt company please do not ever go with them.

    If anyone has any helpful tips to get me out of this mess I have been put in please contact me :(

    VERY UNHAPPY 3 MOBILE BULLs**t BROADBAND EX CUSTOMER!!!

  • happy

    by Martin at 14:50 on 20 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    Have been a mobile broadband customer for years now and I live in the highlands of scotland ,the reception has been extremely good compared to the other networks my friends have , many have moved over to 3 . The customer service is a problem though due to the accents , Scottish and Indian don't really mix , it takes forever to get even a simple question over , but everything else is excellent , price is reasonable coverage is very good and I would recommend and have done . Best of the bunch !!!!

  • unhappy

    by Mark Bower at 20:29 on 18 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    I live and work in central Nottingham and can rarely get broadband reception. Call and text reception is also very poor. They might be cheaper than other providers but their service is truly appalling. Calling customer service is an absolute ordeal. I'm moving!

  • happy

    by Pete at 11:07 on 9 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    I've been with three for 4 years.Phone and Broadband dongle. Been brilliant. My wife also has had no problems.

  • happy

    by Geoff at 10:02 on 8 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    I must have been lucky on the few occassions I've had to call customer services as they were very helpful and quick to respond to my issues, I have a mifi contract with them and so far it's been great everywhere I have been (Uk only), KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK THREE, you could really teach orange a thing or two about meeting the needs of it's customers.

  • unhappy

    by Gary at 10:12 on 5 Sep 2013 Report abuse

    Very angry that 'Three' provided no assistance with a moblle that was never activated and therefore never used and was returned. They now claim it was not returned and my bill to them is almost £500 ???
    Work that one out. I won't be paying these guys and will take them to the cleaners if need be.

  • unhappy

    by Gerard at 21:02 on 14 Aug 2013 Report abuse

    Can not wait for my contract to end!.
    Will never again be taken in by them, the worst customer service you can get. Constantly talking over you and then repeating the same thing over and over.
    I complained that my phone would not work overseas, I had international roaming set up and the phone waspicking up the signal but would not work.
    Their solution? next time I go abroad call them?? so they can check the phone!! What part of the phone will not work did they not get?
    Another one told me that I was fibbing and yet another told that the mast in that areamay not have been working that day?? So that means that where ever I go in Europe the mast suddenly fails and as I move around so dose this failure?? What planet are these"Customer service" guys on?? Someone at 3 HQ wrote to me with his phone number but when I called I was told that it was only a switchboard and did not take calls unless you knew the ext no.
    Stay well away from this bunch of clowns and take your custom/money to a company that knows what customer service is.

  • unhappy

    by Olivia at 18:11 on 7 Jul 2013 Report abuse

    Terrible customer service with this company! I rang them to cancel my mobile broadband, and was passed through THREE different advisers before being assured that I had reached "the person most qualified to deal with my call" From there it was a struggle to get this person to accept that I wanted to cancel my account. He interrupted me constantly to offer different options which he thought might "help save me money" all of which I struggled to get a word in edgeways to decline. He insisted that he was only doing his job, trying to keep me as a customer... and so I had to sit and listen to more information about offers I had no intention of taking up. 20 minutes later I finally got off the phone, thankful that I'd never have to call 3 again..But...although I cancelled my contract with 3 that day, and they had informed me that I'd still be charged until May, which I accepted, however, I have recently found out that they charged me for June..After all that rigmarole with them to get cancelled in the first place, I dread having to make the call to tell them that the owe me money!! Ridiculous!

  • unhappy

    by Mal at 12:23 on 18 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Worst customer service I have ever known. They even make it difficult to top up.

  • unhappy

    by Joe at 23:52 on 17 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    I have one of these Huawei mifi devices with Three. I live in a big town centre and always get full strength reception, have also tried using the device around London, Leicester and Birmingham. What I find is that the download speeds are decent when I first connect but for most of the time they are absolutely abysmal, certainly not fast enough for streaming video, and often a simple page like google search will take minutes to load. It should not be called a broadband service, more equivalent to patchy dial-up. This has been the case ever since I got the device six months ago. The rates for bandwidth are also astronomical and the fact a top-up expires after 30 days is a total scam. Three customer support is dire. I'm going to ebay my device in the coming weeks and I feel really sorry for whoever buys it from me.

  • unhappy

    by steve at 10:09 on 15 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    3.what can I say thay don't care after you singed there contract . customer service what customer service put on hold 4 ages time and time again nothing gets done about my complaints about paying 4 a service thay just don't give I feel like iv been scammed my advice save your time and money look else were.

  • happy

    by Mike G at 21:44 on 9 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    Been using 3 dongles of various types for 4 years as our location is rural and too far away from an exchange. We do have a land line connection but this is intermittent and runs 300/400 mbps at best so the dongle was our only way of getting better results. My first dongles would get me a connection if I used a long lead and placed it in the window, not ideal but they worked. When 3 made the E585 MiFi available that solved my problems, being a WiFi router in itself I could now position it in the highest window of the house which gave me a 5 bar signal and could then connect up to 5 devices to it (2 laptops and my smartphone currently connect to it) with a 15Gb monthly allowance. Download speeds can be as high as 4.5 Mbps and Uploads 2.5 Mbps during daytime, it slows down during the evening (as I type it's 3.38 Mbps & 1.74 Mbps) Can't speak about Customer Services as never had to contact them. On the technical and results front I'm very happy.

  • neutral

    by JIN at 13:03 on 9 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    @David What kind of router where you using ? why not just use a high end smartphone like the iPhone 5 Galaxy S3 4G Model Or Galaxy Note 2 4G Model you would still get high speed and thether it wireless with as many devices as you wont ?

  • unhappy

    by David at 15:18 on 8 Apr 2013 Report abuse

    What grinds me is when you pay for a service and then you are barred from using it because of your local setup; For instance dongle + 3 SIM worked fine it laptop, place into router and internet services like web and mail is blocked, L2TP from laptop through router and all works, so this means Three as trying to block the use of routers why? This is a pay per mega-byte SIM, how I choose to use the bytes is my own concern not Three's.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: