« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 22

  • unhappy

    by Fed up at 22:00 on 14 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    3 mobile broadband is a joke!
    I was stupid enough to enter into a contract after being told my area 'gets superb speeds'. It's painfully slow and 3 are offering no help. I was told that another mast would be going up in my area and surprise surprise it's still slow.
    They blame the bricks my house is made of, the tree in my garden ect....... They just can't be bothered to help.
    My allowance is 3gb a month and for the last 7 month ive used nothing. Too stressful.
    I have now done the decent thing and i get my Broadband via a phone-line. I'm counting down the days till my 3 contract ends. Disgusting that they can charge for something that is unusable.

  • unhappy

    by Tom Moore at 14:53 on 14 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Agree with much of the above, I am on payg broadband and after a decent start it has now slowed down. If you go into a three shop or try to ring someone at three you would have more chance of plaiting sawdust than getting any usefull information...fortunately being on payg i am not tied to them and will be changing my provider

  • neutral

    by Lancashire Steve at 11:27 on 14 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Have had the package for about a month, at its best it is excellent allowing me to have high quality video conferences out on the road. I have measured speeds up to the rate they advertise. However on the edge of coverage the behavior is erratic. Understanding a bit about RF transmissions and data networks this is about what i expected, although I would like better coverage.
    I would however caution about their customer service and billing. I recently noticed that they had charged me an extra £1 a month on my bill, which when i rang up to question they told me was a new charge for paper billing which they had sent me a text to allow me to opt out of. When further challenged they admitted that I had not been sent the text and that I had already been charged and they would refund me next month.
    I suggest everyone check out for this and ring them up about it. I wonder how many £1 they have added to bills ...

  • neutral

    by Dreven at 1:55 on 13 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Just got myself a 5gb allowance mobile broadband from 3 and for some reason keeps cutting out while I play World Of Warcraft. Its been fine with everything else so I'm hoping its something to do with the ping. Gonna be altering some settings to check. For everything else its been amazing, but for somethings its sucked major a**.

    Its a wait and see from me

  • unhappy

    by Jamie boy at 23:32 on 12 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    All of the above, rubbish, worst attempt at being a broadband provider ever DONT SIGN UP WITH 3!!!!

  • unhappy

    by D Wilson at 11:24 on 12 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Tried this dongle on a contract first - it never worked at all.
    Next i tried using my n95 on 3 with 3gb data - painfully slow.
    Just now using a payg 3 dongle - painfully slow.

    I think the reason people are finding these so crap is that the H3G network cant handle the amount of people using these things, so what it boils down to is 3 not investing nearly enough back into the infrastructure of their network.

    Also the customer service is terrible, they all seem geared to selling you stuff you don't need to try and sort out any problems you may have. Also the main call centre is in india or something so it takes 3 times longer than needed to explain any complaints / problems.

    To give some idea of how bad they are, i payed for 3gb on my payg dongle at the start of the month, i now have five days left to use my remaining allowance, which because the service is so slow is still at two & a half Gb's. The only time i seem to have any luck with the speed of the network is between 2am and 5am, and i'm not normaly awake at those hours !

  • unhappy

    by Phil Shulkind at 23:17 on 11 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Like everyone else said... I did send mine away for repair after endless pointless "technical support" calls. Came back supposedly fixed, still useless.

    Last week I was sent a letter by 3 saying they'd fixed the problems. Tried it again, worse than ever. Send them a stroppy contact message and they called me, asked me what I wanted. Said I wanted to cancel the contract, what they sold me was not fit for purpose. They said I could do that, but it would cost me the rest of the contract, I could pass the contract on to someone I know (how to lose friends) or I could got through the tech support hoops again. Told them I will take my own option and change my phone provider when my phone contract ends.

  • unhappy

    by upset at speed at 23:55 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Awful reception and coverage- dont sign on

  • unhappy

    by Belinda at 22:00 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Terrible customer service, terrible reception. most downloads go for 5kb/second if that.

    good price but terrible service.

  • unhappy

    by kevhan at 20:55 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    my brother had a 3 mobile broadband dongle and quite frankly is a joke.

  • unhappy

    by dont touch 3! at 19:36 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    pretty much the same as everyone else has said. i was one of the first people to have one of these dongles as my landlord wont allow me to have broadband put in! it was great to start with for a few months then the speed just gradually got slower and slower and now somedays i cant use it at all. i've rang them a few times to try to cancel the contact because as far as i'm concerned, they've already breached the contract by not supplyingme with the service i'm paying for. all they do is run through troubleshooting rubbish and now they've offered to take the modem away and repair it for free. having read these reviews though, i'm not holding out much hope of this improving anything! i've got a phone on 3 too and thats not much different, it works in certain rooms of the house, it cuts out when it feels like it and there's no hope of using it in coastal areas. 3 might be cheap but cheerful does not enter into it!

  • unhappy

    by dan at 15:26 on 9 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    useless completely and utterly..the above reviews say it all...typically atrocious UK "customer service" take the customers money and then could not care less....they should be ashamed of themselves!!

  • unhappy

    by Jules at 20:37 on 6 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    STAY AWAY FROM 3....it's the most frustrating thing i have ever had to deal with. I have a phone and the broadband and both are TERRIBLE! I can't get signal on either and the hurtful thing is i am tied into a contract. I have not received a good service as yet. Because it takes so long for a page or whatever to load the usage is just ticking away without any thing being done. I have gone over my usage twice and the charges were a rip off. Please take my advice save your money and your time.....Dont go with 3!

  • unhappy

    by j grahame at 19:54 on 6 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    i have been with 3 broadband 4 months this is the worst company i have ever dealt with, they added a £50 credit limit above my £40 a month contract without my permission, failed to inform that the usage amount on the connection tool didnt work or where i could actually check my usage untill after they hit me with a £90 bill, and now the connection is terrible it disconnects all the time it will only connect in certain parts of the house and thats when your lucky, so im paying 40 a month for the laptop basically as the internet is practically useless. idiotic and rude customer service staff and terrible broadband, sadly im tied into a 2 year contract so endure anoher 20 months then never go anywhere near 3 again.

  • unhappy

    by Peter Morris at 16:32 on 5 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I must have been one of the first to sign up to this service (I purchased a modem in the month Three started selling them). For the first few months everything was fine - I never had a problem connecting and the speed was also smooth (if slower than advertised).

    However the service is now clearly oversubscribed.

    In Central London, it is almost possible to get a connection, and crawls along at a miserable speed if you do. Since I still use the modem in exactly the same places as I did when it worked, the only conclusion is that Three's network simply can't support the number of users they've flogged it to. I notice their FAQs now state that speed is dependant on the number of users in your area (which it never used to state).

    Aparrently I'm not able to cancel my contract until 14/03/2009. They argue that their terms and conditions state 'up to 2mbps', which is quite correct. I never expected to achieve the maximum throughput.

    They seem to think an average speed of ZERO is acceptable, just because they used the 2 simple words 'up' and 'to'. I wonder how many millions each of those little words has been worth to them...

  • unhappy

    by gordan bennet at 17:42 on 4 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    ive had one for 6 months and i live in central london
    it wasnt too bad to begin with but the contention ratios are appaling its virtually unusable from 4pm til 1am with even simple text pages taking many minutes to download or just bombing out
    outside these evening hours though i can get high sppeds (3Mbps) and even watch video.
    but these speeds are never guaranteed and rely on what other people in the area are doing
    so i can only assume its because of contention ratios

  • unhappy

    by Mike_H at 11:14 on 4 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    I live in central Newcastle. The download speeds are a complete joke. Absolutely do not buy this product under any circumstances. 3 must be the most moronic company of all time. Every customer will leave as soon as their contact period is up and never come back again. If you have shares in this company sell!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Rob Staveley at 10:17 on 2 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Maximum speed I've measured over the past couple of months in London, SE15 is 0.15M (a tenth of the advertised average). I'm hoping this works better out in the sticks, when I move out there. I'me using it as a fallback, because I'll miss my rock solid cable broadband (ADSL only out there) and I depend on access.

  • unhappy

    by BagginsAtSea at 19:24 on 1 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    Bought a PAYG dongle for £50 to use on laptop in campervan.

    Virtually useless anywhere except trown centres and under transmission masts.

    Speed at home barely better than dial-up.

    If you want this product mainly for e-mail or news buy a good enabled phone.

    In all VERY POOR VALUE.

  • unhappy

    by appauled and disgusted at 11:42 on 31 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    i forgot to say that i dont recommend this waste of space product to any one. a big thumbs down.

  • unhappy

    by disgusted and appauled at 11:40 on 31 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    3G customer service is the worst i have ever experienced. with all due respect to the sales reps they do not know the reality in the UK and answer customer queries from a book (so it seems to me). the 3g dongle is the worst thing i have come accross i hardly get any reception. i think all those who have a 3g dongle should get together and get the media on to them as the customer service team seems to be very arrogant and rude and unhelpful when the customer tells them of the problem. i keep telling them to call me back between 5-8pm but i think they use their local time and call me back at 11am . this company is a disgrace and people should know before they get ripped off. i have spent over ten pounds talking to the technical team and the CS team which only adds to my frustration

  • unhappy

    by Adam O'Rourke NW UK at 18:51 on 29 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Oh dear, the worst product I have ever bought.
    I'm 17 so a fixed line isn't available to me, I thought "Yeah, mobile broadband, awesome!" But in thinking that I'd be wrong.
    It constantly loses the connection.
    Using Xbox LIVE is impossible as it keeps disconnecting.
    Are we still in the stone age?

  • unhappy

    by Mark Robinson at 14:58 on 29 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I live in the north of england (by the sea) my 3 mobile is complete rubbish, i can barely get online in the evenings between (5 and 11pm). The rest of the day i get errors when accessing pages and i'm lucky if i can get a decent download rate it's anything from 5k a second upto a maximum of 150k. I'm not on a fixed contract so when i find something better i'll snap it up. It's ok if you just want to send emails and surf the odd page but if you want it to replace your home broadband forget it. Any streaming is rubbish ie youtube/video on demand and even radio (bbc) often stops and pauses. I also got this so i don't have to deal with those theives at BT.

  • unhappy

    by Suki at 23:43 on 28 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I have had problems for about 6 months. Service got progressively slower and always drops out now. I WAIT AGES FOR anything to download. Have taken out a broadband contract with VODAFONE which is costing me a little more than with 3 but is great. I am still paying the monthly 3 subscription of £15 too but it ends in 5 months. Please avoid 3 Mobile Broadband cos it is rubbish.

  • unhappy

    by Sunil SW11 at 17:56 on 28 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    It's rubbish!!! Sometime when I hover the laptop in the air I get downloads up to 100. I would avoid... Run, run for the hills!

  • unhappy

    by GerryA at 18:32 on 24 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I bought the PAYG dongle and have been using it at hotels in the home counties and central London. I have never managed to get more than 3/10 signal strength. The last time in Hemel Hempstead at 1/10 a 2Meg e-mail took about 30 minutes to upload.
    Glad I went for PAYG so not tied in. Will definitely look elsewhere.

  • happy

    by greengenie at 9:20 on 24 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    In reply to Mr Grumpy ( J J Mulder)'s post - i hope the following helps. The broadband dongles currently offered by 3 Mobile all have a max upload speed of 384Kb. There's more information about the technical spec of each USB dongle on the product comparison tables on Mobile Broadband Genie - click the More info link next to each dongle at the top of the comparison table.

  • happy

    by Mr Grumpy ( J J Mulder ) at 14:27 on 23 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I have just read the reviews, I bought the 3 gig package as we have a caravan away from home and I wanted contact when away. It has always worked even though not very fast. I upload a large number of photographs and always seems to work. I use skype so it cannot be that bad and my e-mail always comes. I have never even got close to the limit of my contract.
    Does anyone know what the upload speeds should be as I have always found the 3 web site most unhelpful.?
    I did have problems trying to buy the thing in the first place as my credit search failed due to a fault of three looking at the wrong post code.
    Last thing my BT mobile would not work where my van is while the 3 dongle does.
    A poor well done 3

  • happy

    by delboy at 14:15 on 22 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I bought this as a replacement to tmobiles 3g alternative.
    It works like a dream on EEE netbook running linux.
    Also used it on msi netbook running windows XP i cant fault it.
    Had a few minor problems, but this was network related an resolved in minutes.
    Everyone knocks 3, I did at one time too, but I think this is equally as good as any other product in the market place.
    Brand loyalty I think can influence peoples choices.
    3 offer a good service and to date I can honestly say its the most cost effective.
    If anyone cares to do a little research a lot of the companies actually share their networks.

  • unhappy

    by Gibbor01 at 14:09 on 22 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Ditto to all of the above reviews. My dongle worked (very slowly) for about a week. Since then and after numerous phone calls to customer services (who I also found to be rude, unhelpful and agressive at times), they have checked it twice for faults and sent it back both times a s working correctly. I also had a replacement SIM card, which also did no good at all. I am on a 12 month contract and have been told that I have to pay a cancellation fee to cover the rest of the contracted period. I also feel that should not have to pay for a service that I have not received since the first week of getting the useless thing. Never get this product, no matter how good the deal appears to be.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: