« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 23

  • happy

    by Percy Minehead at 16:21 on 18 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I have had my 3 mobile PAYG modem now for 2 months, at first I was a little disappointed with the connection and software installation but soon got togrips with its nature, ie, you have to install software a few times before system recognises the modem etc, but when it is all running good it really is as good as home broadband, and sometimes even better, as down here in the sticks we still have not got the service which people with Bt connected lines pay for. I might just add, in order for the software/modem to work properly, you MUST have a legitimate copy of XP or Vista installed on your PC/Laptop, as I had a dodgy copy of XP at first It was forever shutting down, crashing etc.
    The reception in this area for mobile broadband is seems very good even though I live on the very border of None-reception!
    I pay £10 per month for a 1GB allowance which I thought sounded a bit small, but if all you are going to do online is Email and surf then it is perfect. You will need at least 3 GB if you are downloading music, films etc.
    I would recommend this package to anyone on a tight budget who doesn't want to Pay the BT theives and who just need basic internet access.

  • unhappy

    by Your Pal Al at 8:47 on 17 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Not very impressed. It seemed to work, albeit slowly until I did a 'mandatory' update. Since that point it has been dead. Uninstall the update it seen OK ish. As for the 18 month Contract it is that - a contract. You pay for a service, if the Service is not consistent or is not provided I believe that constitute a breach of contract by the supplier. I intent to see what OFTELs opinion is. Of course you can sue through the Small Claims Court!

    Shame really because it seemed a really good deal!

  • unhappy

    by [email protected] at 20:32 on 15 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Never ever use 3!!!
    I've had the Huawei E160G dongle for 2 months now. Have never managed to get a good internet connnection and the hand up rate is every few minutes or less. This is extremely drustrating. Basically I cannot use to the interent for anythign more than a few minutes and cannot download any large files, updates etc.

    Have called Customer Services several times and they have not helped at all. They say that I cannot cancel the contract as I ordered the modem from my previous house, which I still visit and has no signal either. If I want to cancel the contract I have to pay the full 18 month contract amount. In additon Customer Servoces were confrontational and down right rude to me. I am still waiting for the promised technical servioces call backs. As a final laugh they told me I could complain on their web site... that's if I can log on for long enough.

    I think we should all get the media onto this.. I feel ripped off and extremely peed off!!!!

    No one should be using this service!!!!!

  • unhappy

    by Donna at 11:24 on 15 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I agree with all of the above, I purchased a 3 dongle and its hardly worth using. It seemed ok for the 1st few weeks. Alot of people say this, I wonder why this is? It constantly drops connection. Luckily I bought the pay as u go dongle so Im not stuck in a contract.

  • unhappy

    by sonic groove at 10:24 on 15 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    got a 3 dongle, and i'm lucky if i get 10k. i'm not joking, it is the worst srvice in the world. i have tried customer support and they were absolutely useless. i'm stuck in a contract for another 9 months....gutted. it is almost useless. i have been in areas with full signal hsdpa and still only got 10k. it makes no differenc whether it reports full signal or not. i us facebook and ebay quite a lot...or at least i did till i got the dongle. the absolute fastst i have evr had is in an airport, where i got 400k for about 20 mins. it is truly awful, don't get one, you will regret it

  • neutral

    by derek 14.10.08 at 17:03 on 14 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    purched 3g mobile broadband told wait 24hrs to recieve, did, tried
    next day no signal, tomorrow will be my 3rd day, phoned CPW
    where i bought all they could do was give me a customer helpline to
    phone will do that when i get home, but something tells me it will
    still not connect this is my first time to have broadband

  • unhappy

    by marie at 16:44 on 14 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Work fine for the 1st month, after that, that when the problem start, reception is crap, cant get anything at all. even though 3 keep telling me that i am in an area with excellent network coverage. when talk to 3 people just said you are on a 18 months contract. so cant cancelled it.
    do not recommend them, customer service is a joke. as well as 3.

  • unhappy

    by bolton boy at 10:54 on 11 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    omg i did not realise how c**p this product or company was until i purchased a mobile broadband dongle with laptop deal from them via the carphone warehouse, it did not work from day one but when i phoned mobile broadband support they told me that a reception pole near my location had gone down and to wait a few days before trying it again, tried it still nothing phoned back and was told by another person that it had gone over the 3 day period and i could no longer cancel it, i had the dongle sent away for repair, came back a week later saying that they can find nothing wrong with the dongle but if it persists in doing what i said it was doing then get back in touch. i have been trying now for almost 2 months to get this contract cancelled i have been to the cpw and they have been on the phone for over an hour trying to get a disconnection code but to no avail and cpw wont cancel it without 3s authorisation because 3 then bill the cpw for the remainder of the line rental left on the contract, the manager at cpw has advised me to write 3 an email but there is knowhere to complain to it is an absolute joke i am going to end up with a ccj because i refuse to pay for something that does not work, i am already getting the letters from the collections dept. if by writing this i only get one person to chane their mind and go for another provider then it will have been worth it because to 3 we are nothing and they could not care less whether it works or not.

  • unhappy

    by Fed Up from Hillingdon at 11:14 on 10 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    The network is abbsolute rubbish if you are lucky enough to have enough signal to make a call you know within a few minutes that you will get cut off because the signal is too weak.
    Even though they are not supplying me with a reliable network they are refusing to let me cancel my contract whithout paying them for the next 16month's.(What a ripoff) Do not fall for the same scam.

  • unhappy

    by Quasi Modo at 14:38 on 8 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    C**p signal, C**p service, Customer service is in India, couldn't understand a word they were saying, have been waiting nearly 3 weeks to get a working modem back. Staff in the shop (Portsmouth) don't have a clue, and gave the impression they don't really care either.

  • unhappy

    by Lynn Butterworth at 14:00 on 7 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    After telling the customer service guy at carphone warehouse that I wanted mobile internet, he highly recommended 3 mobile, he told me that my area was the best area to use. After repeatedly complaining about the dongle not working correctly, also having my new top of the range Toshiba laptop checked because 3 told me that my laptop was not working, 6 months later, carphone warehouse decided to check the dongle and found that there was no information inside it, so infact I was mis sold 3 mobile internet. Now 3 are reluctant to replace the dongle but after another heated moment with the 3 customer service team in India, they have finally decided to come and pick up my broken dongle and replace it with a new one. Whether this will actually happen remains to be seen but I doubt it.

  • unhappy

    by Pimpdanglydogg at 11:43 on 7 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Live in Hull with constant full 3G signal yet it still fluctuates between HSDPA and normal 3G. Once it goes onto 3G browsing stops. The amount of times it has cut off for me is becoming tiresome now and I have emailed 3 as this is only my second month.

    Funnily enough in my 1st month it had no problems whatsoever?
    Does not make sense to me now as I can barely stay logged on for more than 5-10mins, right now my signal strength has gone back to 3G.

    Wonder how many attempts it will take to post this.

  • unhappy

    by Clare at 8:40 on 6 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Had this for just over month- all fine for the first 3 weeks, albeit not as fast as it was advertised, but virtually no connection at all in the last week. Customer Service are a joke. Do not buy this product

  • unhappy

    by Peter F at 20:17 on 4 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Had it for a week now. Download speeds as low as 3 kps. Only got it because I'm over from Spain and needed to connect to the internet on my laptop. Only ever had dial up and this is pretty much the same. Certainly not Broadband as I've used on my brothers line connection. Overall, not what I was expecting given their claims. Definetly mis-sold.

  • neutral

    by ben at 23:26 on 2 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    we cant get fixed broadband in our area but 3 mobile broadband works ok it switches between 3g and hasdpa i guess this is normal its not too bad depends how busy and the time of day, i can get speeds of anything upto or just over 800 kbps if your lucky on a good day you might get 1 meg

    i would say its bad but it could do with abit more speed id say atleast 1 and half meg would be just about right or as high as possible

  • unhappy

    by Matt (Doncaster, UK) at 10:53 on 2 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Bought this as an alternative to a landline connection about 6 months ago when i moved in to my new house due to the prices BT quoted me being stupidly high. What a mistake.

    Have had nothing but trouble -

    > It connects when it wants, usually only late at night - try connecting any other time and you've got no hope even when it shows full signal.

    > Download speeds ? well lets just say if you want a new track for your ipod it would be quicker to fly to the equivalent of hmv in russia, buy the cd, fly back, have a cuppa, have a kip for a few hours, get up, rip it with itunes & upload it to your ipod.

    IT REALLY IS THAT SLOW!

    I urge anyone who's thinking of going with three or any other mobile provider - DONT. A landline connection may cost more but in my opinion its more than worth it.

    Matt

  • unhappy

    by D-Man SE London at 19:10 on 1 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    Had this about a year, and it has been the most frustrating peice of equipment I have ever bought. Soooooooooo slow it is utterly useless. Just waiting until contract expires, so I can go to fixed line again. Customer support people are nice enough, but absolutely clueless tech wise. Surprised my laptop hasn't hit the wall, such is the level of frustration at times.

  • unhappy

    by Tom M at 17:59 on 1 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    I live in a turbo area and have had nothing but problems. When its working well the speeds are ok but certainly not broadband. Generally never quick enough to smoothly stream you tube videos. The biggest problem is reliability.

    As a previous poster noted the problem is a lack of capacity as is freely admitted by their local stores. However if you call the contact centre they will take you through a scripted diagnostic, change your setup, ask you try the dongle in a different machine or postcode before they'll refer it upwards to the network team. All the while telling you that you should have excellent coverage. For the last week I've been lucky to stay connected for more than a minute or two. More often than not the port closes becuase it cant find the remote connection. This happens on average once or twic3e a month for periods lasting two days to a week.

    I've had it around six months and the service has got progressively worse as more and more people add to an already overstretched infrastructure. Frankly I think what 3 are doing is scandalous. They'll sell it as a proper broadband land line replacement and then point to the small print when it doesn't pan out that way. If your going for it try borrowing one and testing it at home for a couple of days. Never buy the contract version, there is no benefit to it I can see and you risk high charges if you go over the monthly limit. In addition being tied to a contract if the performance drops.

    Its potentially the product of the decade and they're ruining it through underinvesting in capacity. Shame really!

  • unhappy

    by Dean at 20:43 on 30 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    Totally rubbish, i live in a so called turbo area and connection speeds are c**p. When i do get HSDPA its only for a max of 5mins a time at tops 80kbps. Would not recommend..

  • neutral

    by Alex Lower at 19:22 on 30 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    Facts: this it not BB.
    I live in a turbo area and the fastest ever connection has been 1200Kbps, usually around 80 though. The connection continually drops and as a result streaming videos is impossible. Customer service is non existent and based in Mubai. Unless you want to simply check emails and you're not bothered if maybe you can't get a connection some days buy this product otherwise please don't.

  • unhappy

    by Illputty at 9:53 on 30 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    I have to agree with all the negative reviewers. Speed is a joke (I live in NW London), reminds me of the old modem / dial-up days. Very disappointing. Wanted to switch over to three with my mobile as well, but decided better not.

  • unhappy

    by esseff at 23:01 on 29 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    It's pretty dismal. Despite living in an alleged 'Turbo Area' the service is no better - and sometimes worse - than the dial-up connection I had when I lived in Africa. I use MySpeed Lite Edition to check the performance and several times the Quality of Service results have dropped to 2%. Sometimes I can't even get to open my e-mails because the connection is so weak. The advertised download speed is a joke - you can forget YouTube and Windows updates such as SP3.
    Not recommended. I wish I'd gone back to BT, despite my gripes with them.

  • unhappy

    by aziz gani at 20:33 on 29 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    3 broadband service is rubish.After getting it reparied I have to wait 21days plus 10 days total 31days.if not may be more. and the modem had not been used more then an hour after buying.

  • unhappy

    by Tom at 2:24 on 28 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    According to 3's website and customer service I am in a very strong signal area but the service is terrible most of the time. On top of this 3 have by far the worst customer service I have ever dealt with.

  • unhappy

    by Giles Keswick at 19:04 on 27 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    I would not recommend this service to anyone. Download speeds are generally little better than dial-up and upload speeds far worse! It takes forever to send photos. As already noted, the Indian customer so-called help is the usual reading from script and is useless. I shall certainly be terminating my subscription when it expires shortly.

  • neutral

    by Edward James at 20:19 on 26 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    Agree with comments about being slow and more like dial up on the go - BUT ............ I've got a fantastic deal! 5meg at £7.50p per month for 18months - that is brilliant, even if the speed isn't!

  • happy

    by Wame at 9:38 on 26 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    I am on 5meg contract which works great and it is worth the 18 month contract just to dump my BT line. I have been with 3 for years and I have never had a problem.

  • unhappy

    by Alex in Deal at 19:48 on 25 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    Always a strong signal, but the download speeds are a sick joke - if you want to use it at 4 in the morning you can get 1200Kbps no trouble, but try using it inthe evenings or weekend and you'll be lucky to get 50. The guy in my (independent) mobile shop admits that 3 don't have anything like enough capacity to meet demand, but he's still selling dongles hand over fist, so it's only going to get worse.

  • unhappy

    by Ben T at 21:34 on 24 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    I would not recommend using 3G mobile broadband. I'm on 12 month 3Gb contract. The connection is sooooooo slow just like using a dial up. They charge you ridiculously for going over the limit, about £10 per 100mb something like that. Not great for YouTube, it eat up your daily limit easily. I can't wait for the contract to finish. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • happy

    by aberdeen nicola at 13:21 on 23 Sep 2008 Report abuse

    not as good as i hoped. sometimes i cant get a connection for days but when i do generally not bad. can only seem to get a connection in one place in my house, very unreliable. im glad im not on a contract. i seem to keep getting connected to orange rather than 3.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: