« back to Three Mobile Broadband

Three Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 8

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 11:06 on 1 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    The problem with Three is they are over-selling. They now have so many users in each cell your chances outside of London of getting more than 0.5Mb/s (unless you live in the sticks right next to a mast) are not so great..

    Me: the mast is 0.5 miles away, I have a four bar signal and H+ shown all the time. The result: 1.5 up and 0.2 down consistently. Simple issue here: selling the pie to too many customers.

  • happy

    by Paul at 12:16 on 28 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I have nothing but praise for 3. I've been with them for a number of years and currently have a 25% discount on a long running 3GB a month limit paying £11.99.

    Today I received a call from them offering me 5GB for only £8.

    I couldn't say no to that!

  • unhappy

    by karoline at 18:51 on 27 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Worst customer service I ever experienced. They are extremely ignorant, they are based in India and simply don't care about their customers. If you approach managers or team leaders : they are even worse. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

  • happy

    by Robert at 2:11 on 27 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    Must say I am pleased overall with this dongle. I am using the Premium dongle which came with a 3GB preloaded allowance (around £44 UK Pounds in total). Setup was simple although I am not too happy with being forced to load the Three homepage every time I connect. Speed is fine but sometimes a little inconsistent. maximum speed I have achieved is roughly 1Mbyte/s , Average is around 250Kbyte/s. Peak times can slow down to 10Kbyte/S. If you live in an rural town or village such as I do, it isn't worth going for the premium dongle as the 7MBit/S model will take you up to an absolute maximum of 720Kbyte/S which isn't too far off what I achieve with the Premium but at a lower cost. Check coverage with an independent survey first.
    The connection supplied also requires no ID to access adult sites. This may be a good thing for some or a bad thing for others.
    Overall , I would say if your area is covered by Three then Three offer the best mobile broadband there is in the UK at the moment. £25 for 7GB is an excellent deal. Although I would like to see a monthly unlimited usage with no fair use policy (This is 2011 not 2001, limits are a very old and obsolete idea)

  • unhappy

    by Matt at 14:15 on 25 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I have never encountered a company with worse customer srvice and am advising anyone who reads this and anyone I talk to to never ever consider getting into a contract with 3.

  • unhappy

    by Gwen at 17:18 on 14 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I have been with 3 for a number of years with no problems but when I tried to cancel my dongle pay monthly plan well after my 18 month contract the man had me in tears. He was so pushy,manipulate & mean. It took me saying 'I am not going to shut up til you cut me off' continuously like a child for him to shut up & do what I wanted. What a disgrace!!! As mentioned in another review great products but they need to sort their staff out. When I left Vodafone the guy was lovely! He knew they didn't have a deal that suited me & did what I asked, I was so shocked! I was ready to fight my corner but was delighted at the ease of it all!!!

  • neutral

    by antony galligan at 16:33 on 10 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    i have been a 3 mobile broad band user on a 15 gig packagefor 2 years,i have to say apart from the first 2 months with some initial teething problems i have been fairly satisfied with the offer and service,the problems i have encounterd are irregular usage ie sometimes i have used internet alot and stayed well within my limit and at other times used it a little and appear to be close to my 15g limit,which is confusing,however if u use 3,s £15 a month pay as u go mobile phone add on u get 3000 txts 300 mins and free as much as u can use internet,simple solution is use your fone as a dongle and never pay for mobile broadband again.3 will probably try to close this gap soon as more and more people get on to it.i use it on a unregisterd sim and if my allowance runs out i can simply switch to my fone as a dongle.

  • neutral

    by Trevor at 14:38 on 10 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    My problem with 3 is quite simple. Sort out your customer service teams. The goods both broadband and phones are fine but the aggro you get when trying to cancel a contract is unbelievable despite following their terms to the letter, they simply move the goalposts time after time after time.
    I have had reassurances from senior management that they are aware of the problem however a couple of years later nothing has changed.
    Its a real shame because their Mobile Broadband is really good, but do you need the aggravation ?

  • unhappy

    by Dougie at 19:42 on 4 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I was a happy custmoer for 2.5 years when I decided I no longer needed mobile broadband. I sent a letter of cancellation to the head office as advised by staff in my local shop. I was then sent a bill 2 months later for £70+ for a service I cancelled according to their pocedures and which I have not used in the last 2 months. I am now being held ransom for a further months bill as I have to see out the 30 days notice period. I am absolutely disgusted by the way I have been treated and will continue to leave my comments on any forum I can find untill my issue is resolved. NEVER enter into a contract with 3 as they wont let you out cheaply

  • neutral

    by Martin at 18:27 on 4 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    I used 3G Mifi with 15GB for 18.8 pre month for using my Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 (the tablet I got is wifi only as it not included 3G slot) so I used mifi to link my tablet with wifi then go out by sim card that run so fast and quite cheap for 15GB allowance each monthly - no problems at all also I use 1.5GB allowance for my phone for £9.50 each monthly. The payment seem very good as it sort it out each monthly without take your payment all in one - just pay some each monthly that quite useful -- when I was O2 user and it cost me a lots so dumped it and went for 3G that prefect for me 10/10

  • happy

    by gary browning at 3:00 on 4 Oct 2011 Report abuse

    3 all you can eat data better value than the other networks payg

  • happy

    by Geoff at 11:04 on 16 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    I have been a 3 Mobile Broadband customer for over 3 years now and cant understand the amount of negative feedback here.

    I get good coverage pretty much everywhere I go. From Leeds to London by train barely threw up a blackspot. Whinfell Forest Centre Parcs worked fine. North East coast at Scarbrorough had no problems. North West coast at Blackpool was spot on.

    In terms of price, which other provider gives 15gb for £15? In fact which other provider gives 15gb at all as a package?

    People are ranting saying they have had poor service from Three but I have had nothing but brilliant service. I have only had to ring once and that was when I moved house. I lost my dongle and I rang them and received a replacement dongle and sim card the next day free of charge.

    They have rang me to advise I was due an upgrade after my first contract was about to expire, they halved my monthly bill and gave me another free laptop. They also rang me about 6 months ago to tell me that they would raise my 5gb allowance to 15gb again at no extra cost.

    I have never been overcharged, left with no service or felt anything other than a valued customer.

    I know that most satisfied customers never ring up or write to companies to say how happy they are and that for the most part only people with a gripe feel compelled to put it into words so I am writing this to try and give some balance.

    By the way, I actually work for O2 so I have no loyalties to Three other than as a satisfied customer

  • unhappy

    by deks hemelloper at 23:17 on 13 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    3 IS TOTALLY & UTTERLY USELESS. I CAN NEVER GET A SIGNAL at home or work - so where else do i need it - the train & i get NO NETWORK. Milton Keynes, Liverpool Edinburgh perhaps not the centre of the london universe but reasonable sized cities NO freakin SIGNAL! when i phone them its...Would you like to renew your contract. Perhaps the signal works in India.

  • unhappy

    by slesser at 22:23 on 13 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    i had a 24 month contract with 3 for the dongle i seen my contract thru and cancelled my direct debit after 24 months after a month and a half i got a paper bill sayin i owe 36 pounds for contract when i rang them up they said i did not give them 30 days notice they are still ringing me now they just did not get i only agreed 2 24 months the not getin a penny more from me ever.

  • unhappy

    by Nick at 16:27 on 12 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    I had a 2 year contract with 3 and it was poor to say the least, sometimes no signal for days...each time I phoned up he gave exactly the same excuse 'there is a cell down in your area'...a few months later I phoned again and yes you guessed it 'there is a cell down in your area' I got this explanation every time I phoned over the 2 year period. They ended up giving me free months 3x in a row it was so poor and I supposedly lived in a good coverage area. After 2 years of this the contract ended and I finally moved into a flat with a landline and got a 20mbps line...my god it was HEAVEN...18mbps compared to about 50-150kbps with constant drop outs...

  • happy

    by Web Dude at 0:31 on 12 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    Have been using 15GB each month since October 2008 and happy with service.

    Will probably get a newer dongle soon though.

  • unhappy

    by tracey mcgee at 19:04 on 24 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    3 signal and speed issues i have the 15 gig option,which sounds like good value but i cant use it up once i get past 5 gig my connection is allways lost and streaming really poor.SURELY done deliberatly to prevent u getting value for money,and definatly a breach of the goods and services act.dont be fooled by 3,also terrible customer service from india which are speaking broken english.

  • unhappy

    by nicole frohock at 13:40 on 23 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    im so angry with 3 they always have problems with there top up service! ive been trying to top up by card since thursday but this keeps coming up, Sorry, it’s not possible to activate your Top-up.
    Please try again later or call us on 0843 373 0500. it was fine before thursday! i just want to behable to use the internet!

  • unhappy

    by Mervyn Charlton at 16:01 on 16 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    I had no problems with my 3G pay as you go dongle last year when using it in our static caravan based near York! But the new 3G ZTE dongle I'm using this year? well it's a joke, same caravan, same location and all I get is approx 2kbps connection speeds! If I hang the donlge out of the caravan window then things are improved but it's not a satisfactory solution to the problem and 3G have still to answer my e-mail regarding the matter, all in all very poor customer service.

  • happy

    by Jack Dempsey at 11:50 on 5 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    I have used a 3 dongle on several home pc's and am very content with the service. My home is not close to a mast but the signal is always present and there is always an internet to access. On some pc's i have noticed a reluctance to accept the USB devices (about 10 or more) that are packed into the tiny dongle. Each time you want to connect, the software runs a self-check (scanning devices). If it scans - then you will be able to connect. It is not 3's fault if some computers fail to fully recognise the device, - this occasionally happens. Some pc's cannot make a good connection with the dongle, ever -and eventually you'll need to use a pc that will correctly interact with it.. When your dongle has scanned itself - you will be able to connect. Heavy demand locally can result in losing your connection for a minute or two, unpredictably. It happens to me once or twice a week. But i have no criticism of that. It helps, obviously, if the dongle is up as high as possible and is in a good signal zone. Experiment!!

  • unhappy

    by Tim at 18:35 on 4 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    If any people are stuck in a contract with 3 and are not getting the service you pay for, just say these magic words to them,,, The Supply of Goods and Services Act 1982,,, they seem to get into a little bit of a panic about that, and so they should.

  • happy

    by jeff leboutillier at 12:44 on 4 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    I have been using a 3 network dongle for about 8 months topping up 15£ per month (3 gig) on payg.
    I have had no problems with this item and use it on a home pc as i do not want a landline and tv bundle as well.
    if you only check emails and use for browsing the net (not downloading videos) then it is very good if you live in a covered area.
    I also use it for social network sites, skype calls and video conferencing when required all with no problems.
    Maybe this is because i live in the south east which has maximum coverage.
    It may not be the fastest connections but thats always going to be a problem if you do not want fixed fibre optic broadband and want to roam.

  • neutral

    by lisa Mac at 20:56 on 3 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Bought a 3 mobile broadband dongle today from Maplin. in Norwich. Basically it's a piece of rubbish. According to their own coverage checker, I'm in one of the best areas of the UK, so I can only feel sorry for anyone who isn't, cos my connection is crap. The 3 web pages are crap, the service is crap even their own site is slow using my home broadband.
    The deal I was promised doesn't exist when you log on to top up.
    I will never ever buy a 3 product again.

  • unhappy

    by Barry at 16:10 on 25 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    I've been with 3 mobile for a couple of months now. Three words - IT IS USELESS! The first few weeks were fantastic, I was really very impressed, that very quickly came to an end in week four. It's difficult to get online and then when you do, it just keeps dropping out every 30 minutes or so, and my profession is in computing so I would rate myself slightly above average too. It's the cheapest, but as the old saying goes - you get what you pay for, in this case RUBBISH! Thank god I'm only on PAYG! P.S. if you can actually find out how to contact Customer Services, I would suggest not bothering to waist your time!

  • unhappy

    by Tim at 0:31 on 19 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    If you enjoy the sensation of banging your head against a brick wall, then I recommend going with 3 whole heartedly. Because when your initially impressive speeds deteriorate, which they will, 3's crack customer support squad will try and blame anything and anyone else for their dreadfully over subscribed, congested network, rather than admit they are to blame. Example,,, I recently did a complete fresh install of Win 7. The next thing I installed was 3's dongle software, fired the web up and guess what, rubbish speeds again. Customer Support insisted that it must be a problem with my PC,,, so are they blaming Microsoft? But they are hardly going to admit that they couldn't run a bath, let alone a decent MBB service are they, would be another Gerald Ratner moment.
    On the other hand, if you don't like concussing yourself on the masonry, then avoid 3 like the plague.

  • neutral

    by Jannie Adams at 19:55 on 16 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    Download speed on 3 between 18h00 - 24h00 alternates to 1.00 - 5.00 kb per second, truely awful. Download speed after 24h00 can reach 300 kb per second, so if you don't work it is probably worth having, as for myself, I will trminate my association with thm hopefully the end of July 2011.

  • unhappy

    by samantha ferridge at 18:52 on 15 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    im on 3 internet and i pay £15 a month fora 3gig and i went on the internet for 10 hoursand i used my webcam to chat to my friend and it used it all up.im using a laptop and would like to know where i can get it cheaper for unlimited broadband without phone i only use the internet but i use the internet alot.so it would be nice to find out more.i think £15 a month is quite expensive.

  • happy

    by Joe Conneally at 12:39 on 5 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    Thanks to all of you for writing the reviews - especially with your comments on the customer service from 3. On the strength of that I will buy my sister in law's present from a more reliable provider.

  • neutral

    by andy at 9:27 on 1 Jul 2011 Report abuse

    bad experience with 3,always charge me more and connection in some areas is so bad,servis is not that great like it should be either.

  • unhappy

    by jim at 22:34 on 27 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    ROBBED AGAIN! I bought a 3 mobile broadband dongle, pay n go, four months ago. Not realizing it came with a £15 top up, I also put £15 on myself, which totalled to 6 gigabytes. Their top up lasted 90 days, and i've used about 1 gb per month, but "my" allowance has only lasted for 30 days but i've still got 2 gb worth of download allowance, and my time limit runs out today! So £15= 3 gb, for 1 month, i work that out to be £10, THREE robbed from me! So it's not pay n go at all, you do pay monthly,( if you want to stay onlne that is.) Isn't that false advertising? And while i'm at it, if you live in rural areas, service is not always as it should be, can be very slow at times. Not impressed with performance, and dismayed i've been robbed again! I doubt anyone reads these reviews, so few will benefit from my experience. Not best pleased, to say the least!

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: