« back to BT Mobile Broadband

BT Mobile Broadband Reviews

  • unhappy

    by mel davies at 15:23 on 19 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    So dissapointed with the bt donngle, I have had this for some time and the service is very bleak. I travel a lot and require the net on the move. I find that even in towns, there is either non, or very slow service. In comapariaon in the same spot I have borrowed a T mobile donngle or '3' and got excelent service. The reason I went with you guys was that I was led to believe that your service was reliable. Come on BT, sort it out?!

  • unhappy

    by Stuart Cairns at 8:24 on 20 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    BT is sketchy at best. In two different offices in the centre of Edinburgh it's pot luck whether it will be acceptable or not. From mid-afternoon, it'll most likely be rubbish.

  • unhappy

    by Philip Hutchinson at 10:46 on 23 Dec 2010 Report abuse

    DO NOT GO WITH BT FOR MOBILE BROADBAND. I have never been so patronised, wronged or frustrated as the phone call I've just suffered having to make. I have an MF636 dongle on PAYG. I topped up £10 on December 17th and the following day, away from home for a few days, I looked at my e-mails online for 20 minutes - no attachments, no installations. Possibly 1MB of use. Then it stopped working, so I had to use an internet café and the next day bought a new dongle from 3G for £30 with 3GB of use (which I've now used for about 6 hours and used under 100MB of the 3GB). I phoned BT to complain and they told me I used it all. They said I used 40 units of 39p blocks in the 20 minutes I was on and refused to put me through to another department, explain, or refund, telling me it was MY RESPONSIBILITY!!! They even refused to put me through to their technical team. I paid £40 for this piece of crap that is user-unfriendly, the original 1GB credit was never used and removed by BT and I've topped up about £50 on the thing and had a couple of hours normal web surfing without any downloads out of it. Their customer service has been atrocious - they offered to replace the 1GB that was used in 20 minutes as a one-off and to make sure I didn't do it again, or at least checked on my usage! I hung up after getting the address to complain to (BT CORRESPONDENCE CENTRE, DURHAM, DH98 1BT). The worst abuse of customer rights I've ever had from a supposedly stable business. If you go with them after reading this, do it at your own peril!

  • neutral

    by phatgurl1 at 6:42 on 13 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    I have a BT dongle for work as I'm mobile quite a lot and it's absolute rubbish!! connection even in a good area is literally non-exisitant, so slow to the point I cannot access parts of my own company website and when it does eventually work I could be doing a piece of work and it then disconnects me!! I've had to complain to my IT department for all the good that they can do - I'm assuming they got a cheap deal and were royally shafted!!. The whole purpose of having this was because I'm working at many different sites and supposedly make my life easier but it truly sucks because it doesn't I've never sworn so much since having it and I would never recommend this at all

  • unhappy

    by Steve at 19:13 on 23 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I have to say that the staff at the morecambe (lancashire) shop are a waste of time. They prefer talking to mates than serving customers, and when they do deem you fit to be served it's like waiting for paint to dry - seriously I've seen tortoises move faster (and take more of an interest for that matter). They where never actually outright rude to me, but just seem totally uninterested and bored with their lot.
    I don't go in there at all now - if the rest of their staff suffer the same problems I would guess carphone warehouse will eventually go bust - it's a competative world out there !
    @A Freight .. everyone's happier in cornwall lol - I know I was :)

  • neutral

    by karen callgahan at 12:40 on 18 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    If you are a business and you contact your local office they deal with the content lock or email [email protected] and they organise the removal of the content lock,

  • happy

    by A Freight at 18:29 on 7 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    St Austell branch are brilliant. My daughter wanted a phone and the guy really talked her through everything and then told her to go home, think if she could stick to the minutes and texts and if so to come back. Really helpfull going back for her laptop for Christmas.

  • happy

    by sohail asgher at 9:45 on 14 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    i want a cheap contract for a dongle and a laptop i heard that these guys have cheap offers going just cant wait

  • unhappy

    by Peer at 11:53 on 6 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Bt Mobile Broadband Excessive Data Use Charge

    Do not get BT broadband, rather get Vodafone. With Vodafone if you go over your allowance, you will be charged £15 per GB. I have both, initially there was a fault with my vodafone dongle as I was being charged as if I was out of the country...

    Bt on the other hand charged me £0.10p for every mb I went over the limit + VAT, I know have a bill for £470 inc VAT because I went over by around 4GB in 2 months!!!

    I am waiting for itemised billing of this as I use my Vodafone dongle more than BT dongle

  • neutral

    by charmaine at 0:06 on 19 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    i currently have a voaphone dongle ,with you now and i am intrested in having a laptop with you ,please could you help me out thankyou .

  • unhappy

    by Poppy at 22:31 on 12 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    The BT dongle is as good as useless, every area I visit there is no coverage, what good is that? Make sure you check the coverage area on the BT website before you buy otherwise you'll be sorely disappointed.

  • unhappy

    by jeanz at 13:37 on 25 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    my bt contract is up for renewal so asked about dongle, told my contract had been automatically renewed at a special rate of 22.50 per mont for 12 months and i would have to pay 130 for dongle! I became quite irate and was told i would be called back within 48 hours to sort this matter out huh am still waiting... i wont hold my breath. BT need to look after its existing customers too, not just newbies! I have also emailed them but received no reply and they call themselves the largest communications company?!

  • happy

    by Dan Evans at 9:47 on 4 Jun 2009 Report abuse

    I have had no problems with accessing restricted content. After i requested the bar be lifted i had access to all content within 24 hours. I agree the bar is ridiculous as you can't get an account unless you are over 18 and providing proof of age via an email makes no sense, but BT blame "regulatory requirements". It certainly seems odder that the above reviewer wanted to cancel his entire contract because of this.

    Speed is good - much better than the 3 dongle i used to have

  • happy

    by Xavier at 14:53 on 15 Apr 2009 Report abuse

    SO far no problems with it. very easy and I love the fact it switches between WIfi and mobile broadband. Great product!

  • unhappy

    by Stephanie at 11:23 on 17 Mar 2009 Report abuse

    The staff are so rude i have never met shop assistants them. The manager and his lady friend both park their audis over 3 spaces. When we tried to complain that they are taking up so much room and we have no where to park except the disabled space they said so what. They wouldnt tell us the managers name or give us a complaint form either. When we walked out the woman whos car it was ran to the door screamed after us that we dont know what we are on about because we parked in a disabled space!!! I wouldnt mind but we didnt swear at all and didnt shout untill after 3 assistants started having a go at us. The customer service number is only 0870 so we got charged to complain and they did nothing. Do not use this place!

  • unhappy

    by Scot. Ealing at 13:04 on 17 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    Just loath going into the branch in the Ealing Broadway centre. Run by a bunch of drop outs who don't want to serve - only sell phones to you. I unfortunately bought my last phone from this branch - never again! Whilst there begging for them to return my phone for repair, a young girl 14/15 years old asked the female assistant if she would send her phone off for repair as she bought it as a Christmas present & would she be charged. The assistant replied "not sure " The girl looked horrified and said that she would need to ask her parents. Why didn't she just reassure the kid and explain that as she had bought it at Christmas it would be under guarantee! Too much like customer service - not what they do. They are only there to SELL. How many million are there unemployed!

  • happy

    by Ashely roberts at 19:02 on 16 Feb 2009 Report abuse

    samsung pixon m8800
    it is very helpful and it is apsalutly fascinating.
    i was very suprised when my husband brought it me for valentines day. it is the best PHONE EVER

  • unhappy

    by Carl Harris at 10:32 on 25 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    This is a NIGHTMARE! You get it with content lock so if youa ccess a BETTING site it blocks you. It doesnt explain why it has blocked you.

    Calling BT is a nightmare- they constantly put you through to Fixed line broadband and I was even told that BT do not do mobile broadband!

    In the end, I tried to cancel- but its not the end.! They tell you that its an 18 month contract, Although its not fit for purpose they charge you the full term.

    SO to get this resolved you have to email to confirm you are over 18, which they already know as they do a credit check on you. I have done this EIGHT TIMES and had EIGHT CONFIRMATIONS. As things stand the content bar remains. I accessed an adult learning site today only to be blocked for adult content.

    I have complained to BT. the complaints guy tried himself and told me just to cancel it and he would refund the charges.

    IF YOU WANT A HEART ATTACK and high blood pressure this is the ideal buy, if you want a useless service I have never seen anything better!

    Perhaps with it being FREE with Broadband it reflects the value of the product

    Carl Harris
    York

  • happy

    by Histon_Steve at 17:08 on 18 Nov 2008 Report abuse

    We've had bt broadband for about 18 months with no problems. Just renewed and got my free mobile broadband dongle. All good so far. Installed first time and software seems manageable enough. It tries to replicate the functionality of my wireless card software which seems slightly pointless, although no doubt useful if I ever get near a BT wifi network.

  • happy

    by ms angela fox at 18:03 on 30 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    im thinking bout going mobile broadband

  • unhappy

    by Keith G, Ealing at 7:33 on 1 Oct 2008 Report abuse

    While I've been a CarP customer for 12 years feel they do not have decent Mobile Broadband 'deals'.......e.g. their T Mobile 'PasG' dongle charge is crazy when you can buy it direct for less than half price i.e. £49.99!!

    They seemingly charge for some dongles which the providers give away 'free'. Typical example of 'ripe off Britain...

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: