« back to Virgin Mobile Broadband

Virgin Mobile Broadband Reviews

  • neutral

    by The Doctor at 19:12 on 10 Jul 2014 Report abuse

    As there's no Virgin fibre optic in my street, I was advised by Virgin to take out an 18-month contract with Virgin Mobile Broadband for my desktop.

    My advice to everyone is to have nothing to do with Virgin. Despite endless conversations with the company about the slowness of their service (it took 8 minutes to download this page!) I'm no further forward. I'm taking legal advice about misselling.

  • unhappy

    by Steve Bannister at 21:40 on 1 Oct 2012 Report abuse

    Hi There,

    I had Virgin super-fast broadband installed last September. The ensuing months were a litanty of stress for me:
    *Intermittant service, I twice received refunds for lousy connections and intermiitant service
    *No fixed IP- my own website could not be accessed via the Virgin service
    *Virgin support told me that my inability to view my own site was because of bad html coding!
    *Sometimes days without any connection- apprently a problem at the exchange.
    *Customer service no help- tried to blame me
    *Upon cancelling the account I never received a final bill. The first I heard of this was from a debt collection agency (BPO) threatening legal action.
    *Since terminating my virgin account I receive weekly junk mail from them boasting about their wonderful service- a waste of paper since I now know better.

    Since I changed provider- the new service is fast, reliable and I've had no trouble. Interestly when a virgin employee came to collect their router he told me that many had similar expereinces and they he himself changed to BT!

    All in all a lousy service- I've lost all respect for Stephen Fry for appearing on their adverts- obviously money will make him say anything. My advice to potential customers- stay away from Virgin! The worst cusomter experience I had ever had.
    Sincerely

  • neutral

    by John at 15:59 on 16 Sep 2012 Report abuse

    All worked fine until they "upgraded" me to the super hub. I haven't been able to connect wirelessly since and they haven't given me any help beyond that which I was able to try myself!!

  • neutral

    by Jane at 23:21 on 28 Feb 2012 Report abuse

    I had to go to Bournemouth due to a family emergency and stay for several days. My Virgin dongle just utterly failed, even with a booster antennae to work either in my parent's house or garden. In desperation I drove around the area with my laptop and dongle trying to find a signal. Even sat by the river outside of Christchurch - nothing. In the end I had to resort to an internet cafe. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

  • unhappy

    by joe at 9:36 on 29 Jan 2012 Report abuse

    virgin media? stay well away!
    i have had the 10mb broadband along with the (L) tv package,and i have had nothing but problems with both ever since it was installed. Right from the beginning, their 'cable pulling' team were completetly imcompetent too the point where i had to more or less do there job for them. 6 weeks i waited for a cable to put it. i lost 5 days of work because of the times they were due to come out and never even turned up, when they did there was always a problem as to why they couldn't do their job. to the point where i went out and done it, yes i pulled the cable through myself, while they stood and watched! when we were connected my internet was so slow it would cut out altogether. my T.V package was no better with the picture pixilating so bad you could almost count them, my on demand never worked. On demand movies would cut outt half way through watching them, costing between £3 and £6 each. Virgins call out engineers are totally useless and have lied to my face on numours times, they have told me they have done things that i know were not true at all. the same engineer done this twice! Vigins customer services are apauling and can not understand a word you say, i have a pay-as-you-go phone and so far have used £110 pounds of credit ringing about my issues. it has got to the point where i just refused to pay my bills untill something was done. when my account when into arreas i was called 8 times in one day and asked when this was going to be paid.never once did someone call me to talk to me about when my problems would be put right. Only yesterday did we have engineer number 14 come round to 'sort' our problems. He chopped a few cables and put them back together and THEN said it might be your modem, but didn't have a modem with him. so i have to ring yet again if the problem continues.

    I could carry on this post for as long as the page would let me, but to be honest it is making me mad just writing it, i have to ring Virgin up yet again when i have done this and my patince is running a little thin. Anyone who is concidering Virgin should know that the sevices they give you are appauling, the technical department can't understand you and are useless, customer services are even worse and the call out engineers lie to your face.
    i have never been so distgusted with a company the size of vigin in my life.

    To anyone who is reading this and wants to talk about what they have read please reply, to anyone who is thinking of maybe using Virgin media STAY WELL AWAY

  • unhappy

    by Philip at 23:18 on 17 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    Don't ever subscribe to a Virgin Mobile dongle. I asked their advice about using their internet service abroad, via laptop, and they told me the dongle was the best and easiest method. I have now been in Spain for 2 weeks and have spent several hours on my own mobile (they say they will phone you back but they don't) and the dongle is still not working! I.ve explained that they are not providing the service so I want to cancel the contract (they made me sign for 18 months) but there would still be a £75 disconnection charge! They do not understand about customer relations. I'm thinking about cancelling my whole contract (TV/Phone/Broadband/Sky sports/Movie Channels) when I get back to uk.

  • unhappy

    by Daniele at 22:54 on 4 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    I have been with Virgin Media since 2009, things where not to bad until recently when the connection has become so slow that reminds me of an old 512k, also shortages are now common routine too. Every time I have called the customer support I was bounced from one desk to another with no one that really wanted to help, actually it was even more frustrating speaking over the phone with various help desk representative that do not seem to be from anywhere near....the voice was so low and one channel only, (almost like voip at the beginning), so it was so difficult to understand what the other end was saying. virgin used to be much better, they might have much more subscribers now....also much more troubles as I can read from this web site. Anyway, today, one more time, after spending 2 hours over the phone and again being bounced back and forth from one helper to the other, (bear in mind that every time they switch the call to another help desk representative they put you in hold for no less than 5 minutes and then again the keep you asking all your personal details and passwords and security questions and how do you pay your bill and bla...bla...then finally they tell you that they are not the right help desk and hand the ball to somebody else. I was finally lucky to get the desk to cancel my account....even here I was said that I "can't" cancel because I have signed a contract until next April. Perhaps they did not take in to account that the contract states that I would pay for a service they supposed to provide.....which is not the case since I am not getting the service.

    I am going forward and cancelling anyway, it is not with regret.

  • unhappy

    by Daniele at 22:54 on 4 Nov 2011 Report abuse

    I have been with Virgin Media since 2009, things where not to bad until recently when the connection has become so slow that reminds me of an old 512k, also shortages are now common routine too. Every time I have called the customer support I was bounced from one desk to another with no one that really wanted to help, actually it was even more frustrating speaking over the phone with various help desk representative that do not seem to be from anywhere near....the voice was so low and one channel only, (almost like voip at the beginning), so it was so difficult to understand what the other end was saying. virgin used to be much better, they might have much more subscribers now....also much more troubles as I can read from this web site. Anyway, today, one more time, after spending 2 hours over the phone and again being bounced back and forth from one helper to the other, (bear in mind that every time they switch the call to another help desk representative they put you in hold for no less than 5 minutes and then again the keep you asking all your personal details and passwords and security questions and how do you pay your bill and bla...bla...then finally they tell you that they are not the right help desk and hand the ball to somebody else. I was finally lucky to get the desk to cancel my account....even here I was said that I "can't" cancel because I have signed a contract until next April. Perhaps they did not take in to account that the contract states that I would pay for a service they supposed to provide.....which is not the case since I am not getting the service.

    I am going forward and cancelling anyway, it is not with regret.

  • happy

    by Cdowns at 23:45 on 14 Sep 2011 Report abuse

    I have been usign the Virgin Mobile Broadband2go and so far it's OK.

    Average 3.1 usually all of the time but it slows sometime during big downloads of over 10 MB.

    It is a flat $50.00 and unlimited surfing, email what ever.

    It is more expensive that DSL 3.0 but I can NOT get it in Nashville,TN where I am.

    I did spend some time getting the real driver / install program from them when I upgraded from XP to XP Pro. No problems so far but only in third month of use.

  • unhappy

    by Mark at 19:25 on 18 Aug 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin’s Customer Service is APPALLING!
    My advice steer well clear of Virgin Mobile; their customer service is the worst that I have ever come across and they constantly lie ("I will call you back immediately” “I will put you through to our technical team” - THEY DON’T!).
    I stupidly have their Media service as well, which is fine when it all works but when any of the 3 services (Broadband, TV and Home Telephone) breaks down their Media customer service is as dreadful as their Mobile customer service.
    After just spending the last two weeks trying to sort out problems with my Virgin mobile service (still not resolved)… I have just been cut off again after being on hold for over half… I am now looking into ending my mobile/media contract with them.

  • unhappy

    by Liz J at 21:56 on 5 Jun 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin Media is without a shadow of a doubt the most appalling company I have ever had dealings with (and I am 50+). Their customer (no)servce team are rude, incompetent, speak poor English and tell downright lies. I have had months of stress in trying to sort out problems caused by their lies and incompetence including phone calls from a debt collector when I had no debt - they tried to say I had cancelled my contract when in fact I had just moved house and given them all the relevant paerwork which they lost. I contacted the complaints department by email and post - they never relpied to either. The only time I got any response from them was when I contacted an ombudsman online and they finally sorted the issue out. They even lost my initial order before it was even installed had to keep re-contacting them. Wish I had never bothered. Luckily my mobile contract has now ended and I have switched to Vodafone much better signal as well as service.
    Can't wait for my media broadband contract to come to an end. Inever want to have any dealings with this company again. Even seeing their logo makes my stress levels rise.
    They dont even deserve a one star rating.

  • unhappy

    by p stephenson at 14:37 on 19 Apr 2011 Report abuse

    I find it a waste of time calling the help line to complain or ask for advise as their english is appauling! i believe it is a massive backward step with their customer service when they move the jobs oversea.

  • unhappy

    by Alex at 20:20 on 13 Mar 2011 Report abuse

    Virgin, I've had with them. The service has been getting slower so you have to upgrade and what is worst they are charging their existing customers more than new customers. Eg Virgin size L broadband. After six months introductory offer new customers enjoy the service at £21 whilst they continue to charge their existing customers £25.25. Its disgraceful which is why I am leaving. The first thing is to transfer your mail from your virgin email account and then change your provider. I dislike being swindled for broadband. And they continually say I have fibre optic in my area when I have 5miles of copper wire to the exchange!

  • neutral

    by Simon at 14:13 on 1 Oct 2010 Report abuse

    I have been using the dongle for a week. I am a web developer and need upload as well as download. The download speed is not so bad, the upload speed is terrible. Slow is giving it to much credit.
    If you just want access to email and browse web pages then ok, beware the advertisers use lots of my bandwidth with there adverts, especially on Hotmail.
    If you a professional who needs to upload and download i would look elsewhere for your service provider.
    out of 10 i would give this product a 4 it losses 6 because of the headache upload speeds.

  • neutral

    by marilyn croft at 16:49 on 22 Sep 2010 Report abuse

    I used to be a virgin customer for many years, and lately. the service I got was not a happy one and they also tell lies too. I couldn't understand the operators and insisted I needed to talk to someone who spoke good english. The only time I got an english speaking operator was when I was cancelling my service with them and they begged me to stay with them. I am quite happy with my new broadband service talktalk and they are cheaper too.

  • unhappy

    by Alan at 22:45 on 29 Jul 2010 Report abuse

    Being an existing Virgin customer for TV, cable broadband & telephone when I wanted to get mobile broadband a few months ago I opted to stay with the brand and get one of the new 7.2Mbps Virgin dongles on a two month rolling contract. I was assured by the Virgin sales staff that their reception was great all over southern England. However, after three months of trying to use it in various locations, from Cornwall to Kent I admit defeat. Coverage is poor and despite paying for a 3gig/month download limit most of my browsing time has been spent swearing at my laptop, waiting for one web page to load before the thing freezes completely. After many complaints to the customer "service" bunch I managed to get a refund of one month's cost but because I'm outside the 30 day period I'm stuck with a £25 useless dongle. I know where I'd love to shove it if I met a Virgin customer servant!

  • unhappy

    by JMPATRICK at 9:08 on 20 Jun 2010 Report abuse

    We had a perfectly good virgin expensive £25 per month wireless broadband at home. Then Virgin did us a favour and sold us 18 months of mobile broadband. Its a joke took all night to see how the sim card went in then although virgin has miraculously loaded we could not tell cos there was no home page. My laptop is modern and ran well on wireless but my old c64 was better than this mobile broadband. Mis sold the sevice very upset could never recomend it to anyone else. Have seen friends with excellent results with other providers. For a bit more i could have new laptop and dongle.why do people miss sell. At work i have tiscali one gb thro bt and its instant not 5 min wait wore mouse out cos it was so slow

  • unhappy

    by Janice Blackley at 22:44 on 12 Apr 2010 Report abuse

    The worst service anyone can get cut off all the time was told it would work in a rural areait didnt had to pay for ir for a year it lay in a box to frustrating to try to use it
    WOULD NOT RECCOMMEND

  • neutral

    by Ray Sutton at 18:42 on 15 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    chris powell - e-mail me on raysutton @ aol.com if you still have the virgin dongle

  • unhappy

    by judy rravers at 13:56 on 14 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    dont buy it too slow cant even use it between the hours of 5 and 9 and disconnects whenever it wants

  • unhappy

    by chris powell at 17:44 on 1 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I would just like one that works, this was a disaster. Never worked longer than 3 or 4 minutes before laptop froze. Wouldn't even install on new laptop.
    Trying to get hold of someone to talk to - usual story - long waiting times.
    Eventually gave up, cancelled the contract, stuck with a useless (expensive) dongle which they won't refund me on.
    Bought a cheap pay as you go one, cost a quarter of the price, and works perfectly

  • neutral

    by Wendy Cross at 13:32 on 28 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    So many complaints about slow speed - do you all really need a dongle? I live in a rural area where my telephone line broadband is only 56kps on average. I had hoped to get faster speed with a dongle, but it seems I can't even get coverage.
    You people are so lucky.

  • neutral

    by Fernie at 15:28 on 26 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    I've subscribed virgin broadband for my course and research and it is really bad and overcharge my account 4 times more without anynotice. It make me cancel it for some reason. I feel they very unethical cyberbusines practice.
    They try to take it to court and i take them to CAB. It is very bad reputation for certain scammmy internet provider. I wish they know how to make the internet world for everyone using it saftely and inclusively.
    I don't need to runaround in the library cause the town i use only 1 hour a day that is totally rediculously and some people doing acadmic research and all purpose usage.
    Bless.

  • neutral

    by peggy at 7:02 on 19 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    I have the flashdrive (Virgin Mobile MC760) but I desperated the CD to download the program into my computer, while in the processing of moving we lost the CD and to use it just for storage with it 3GB is a very expensive storage flash drive, can you please help me as a broadband unit as well? Thank you for listening and hopefully for your help (I bought it at Best Buy) DESPERATE.

  • neutral

    by stuart at 12:59 on 1 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    i have a laptop and wish to receive the fastest speeds that virgin advertise. How can this be achieved, useing a dongle and which package do i go for to get 20 mp speeds, as i am not happy with connection and surfing speeds with t mobile?

  • neutral

    by Gary 2 at 19:52 on 27 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin Mobile uses sprints towers which runs on a cdma network.
    I think prepaid broadband is great but sprint does not have very good service in rural
    areas also a lack of EVDO coverage in the rural areas where only 1XRTT coverage is
    available which produces a much slower speed like dialup with the usb broadband card
    you cannot update the preferred roaming list which updates your device with any new towers in the area I think that sprint could improve their coverage in rural area EVDO coverage their best coverage areas are in major cities I experience a very slow speed
    like dialup 1XRTT coverage if you plan on buying Virgin Mobile broadband card you should check the coverage in your location for EVDO coverage you can also check sprints network coverage locator because use sprints network to provide the service.

  • neutral

    by The Dongle Truth at 16:27 on 25 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    I have worked in many dongle departments, currently for Orange, and the long and short of it, is that they are dreadful devices on every network. Do not buy them unless it is proved you can connect! And do not buy from Carphone Warehouse as in my experience they lie through their teeth! You are far better off having Broadband on your phone rather than a 18 month contract which will be a struggle to connect, then you phone tech support (me) who will not be able to help you and feed you lies and escalations untill your contract goes over 30 day cancellation period as you are contracted for 18 months.

    The reviewer should tell it as it is!!

  • unhappy

    by Not Virgin for much longer at 19:02 on 15 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin Mobile Broadband Tech Support themselves recommended I pack it in and return the dongle. They said they couldn't understand why marketing were still actively selling when there were still major technical issues with the product offerring. It's a stinking product and they have wasted so much of my time distracting me from buying from an established provider. You know what they say why £5/month seems to good to be true.

  • unhappy

    by david at 13:10 on 27 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    Virgin sucks!

    I signed up with them for fiber optics, i told them so many times on their online sales support that i need it on a confirmed date. they gave me a date which was 12 days from the date of my order. but after 7 days i got even no letter from them, no email or whatever. My current home agreement was ending and i have to move to new house where i ordered their broadband in next 2 days. I called their support to know the status of my connection and trust me I am not over exaggerating, their operators are so rude. Once she said something that i did not get I said, pardon can you repeat it please, and she started shouting. the next day I again called and the operator did the same, she was so rude and did not want to hear me. She was even not giving me chance to explain my situation. She said "all we can do is to cancel your order, otherwise it will be installed when we are ready to do it" ... imagine my feelings then! After 10 days you are telling me that all you can do is to cancel my order?!

    it is such a shame. I had 12 months contract with O2, I love their support and their staff is very very cooperative. I ran into troubles few times and called them and they are patient, courteous and helpful. Virgin has hired all uneducated, untrained and stupid staff for their support.

    I am very very very disappointed with their service and I do not recommend them to anybody.

  • neutral

    by Tont Mote at 8:01 on 11 Aug 2009 Report abuse

    Its a Shame that none of the providers offer a truly PAYG mobile Broad Band
    They all tie you to X amount per month unlike PAYG Mobile Phone which is X amount top up and when it runs out you buy more Air Time.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: