« back to Vodafone Mobile Broadband

Vodafone Mobile Broadband Reviews | Page 6

  • unhappy

    by Brita at 19:29 on 6 Mar 2010 Report abuse

    The service is so appalling that i decided to open a Facebook group to warn potential customers, here's the link:

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?v=info&gid=73080977435

    Please join us!

  • neutral

    by Andrew Edney at 12:07 on 23 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Vodafone seem to have dropped the "don't expire in 30 days" option so you need to update this page. I've been using their top up and go service for 9 months and was fairly happy (allows me to work on the train, for the most part) as a top-up of £15 was lasting me around 6 months - 1GB is plenty for emails, etc.

  • unhappy

    by alan gibbons at 18:55 on 20 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    I agree with everyone else. Vodafone dongles do not work. I had one for a week and didn't once manage to access the Internet even though I was working in five different locations. I
    cancelled within the 14 days to ditch this piece of rubbish.

  • unhappy

    by Angus at 22:13 on 9 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    To Vodafone users thinking of changing to 3 Mobile - don't. I usually got only 0.3mbps and in the evening frequently couldn't reach any websites. Vodafone has been giving me around 1mbps but recently it also is down to 0.3mbps and I've been getting horrendous excess charges.

  • unhappy

    by Stellauk2010 at 14:18 on 8 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    WARNING - do not purchase VODAFONE mobile broadband. It does not work. You will still be charged even when you cancel the contract. They never reply to correspondence in the post. Email replies contradict each other. When I purchased their equipment I was told I could upgrade to any package at any time. When I tried to upgrade they rejected. Then were extremely rude and infact indirectly called me a liar. Now they are chasing me for payment when in fact I terminated the contract.

  • unhappy

    by James at 2:45 on 8 Feb 2010 Report abuse

    Whatever you do... Don't get a Vodafone PAYG mobile dongle if you want to try it... If you expect to be treated with any respect once the shop assistant has your money...
    Where do I start - 13 days ago, I have many months with 3 decided to try Vodafone, 1st 10 days I got a consistant poor but usable connection on Voda's 3G+ network. After 6 months plus with 3 lets say I am patient... Then on Friday it all starts to go wrong - 3G+ turns into 3G and GPRS (Speeds on under 30Kbps at best) gave it a couple of days trying at different times... Nothing...
    Sunday decided rather than spend hours on my o2 phoen getting charged arm and leg, I'd jump on the bus and go to the shop I bought it from... Briggate, Leeds... Had it all with me, receipt, box, cable etc... Asked the former McD's staff behind the counter if there was any problems, told no (from what forum told her), couldn't get thru to customer services, so told her I wanted refund... (13 days in to 14 day cooling off period)
    Off she goes to manager - out comes the rudest ignorant woman that I have ever had the mispleasure of meeting - according to her its a 7 day cooling off period?? Asked for where it said that - online (can you see a problem?), didn't have any terms in shop (or in the box with instructions), accused of using all the credit (preloaded credit converted once you go online still had over 1/2 left), was told it had worked so that was that (even though it now doesn't), told I was trying it on... I could complain but she didn't care...
    this woman if she was manager deserves to be sacked - no customer service skills and i won't be using vodafone again...

    do not buy anything from voda - their staff are rude and ignorant and there customer services are just as bad...

  • unhappy

    by Cheryl at 9:25 on 28 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    With vodaphone mobile broadband, said 7.2mbps but mostly get 2G connection at 1mbps. No help at all from rude technical staff asking me to go into Vodaphone shop. Vodaphone shop is in Southampton, I live in Portsmouth!

    tarriff is 18mth contract 3GB limit at £15/mth. got charged for excess use in the last two months, no contact from the company, and no better tarriff available for my usage. The programme does not load with a usage checker on my Mac.

    Customer service is appalling, unprofessional, and at best my 4 times speaking to them was like speaking to a brick wall in terms of negotiating. I am about to write a complaint letter via vodaphone's website 'contact us' link.

    To me the better tarriff would be orange's 3GB for £15 with £20 one-off fee, unlimited usage from midnight til 9am. I am with orange for my mobile phone and am thoroughly happy with their service.

  • unhappy

    by Senorita at 23:06 on 9 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Please help!!!
    Bought Vodafone mobile 3GB (with "Very Good" sited as the coverage for my postcode). I can only use this in one room whilst sitting in thw window sill - no where else in the house. I got it to use Skype video calling however after downloading skype, then a dozen unsuccessful attempts at connecting a call, then one successful video call for 60minutes I have used up 3/4 of my monthly allowance...
    How can this be???
    Also NOWHERE on Vodafone site does it give me charges per MB or GB I go over my limit - how can I budget for my bills?
    They have offered to take cancel contract (purchased through "The Link" and not direct from Vodafone) but can't find anyone offering a free netbook/laptop with unlimited downloads... am I expecting too much??!

  • unhappy

    by Venkata at 12:07 on 8 Jan 2010 Report abuse

    Hi,
    My Sad story starts here...
    Once upon a time (Nov 2009) I bought 15£ a month one from Vodafone store. Before I bought I gave them my possible postcodes. They checked and said all green.
    Then one fine sunny day I used it in Bristol.
    ------SPEED IS 50KBPS---------
    I tried and tried .... it wont go more than 80KGPS.
    I took it back to shop for refund.
    His advice was, 1)Browse on roads 2)Open room Windows while browsing
    I cant do both as I cant put my table on the road for net surfing.
    I cant open windows either as COLD WINTER..
    He asked me to bring my laptop. He tried and said 'look look there is 300kbps..'
    i said where .. he said look it came and gone in a fraction of second..
    and said its working fine...
    i said please dont tell stories.... give my refund.
    he asked me to come after a week try again.
    ---
    ---
    ---
    No change.... its like old dialup connection....
    I went back again ..... he offered me a modem called sure starts ?? which costs 6 £ extra permonth. I rejected it.
    at last i succcessfully gotrid of beautiful ... useless ... cheating dongle...It took me 1 month and 8 trips to Vodafone shop...

    But they took one month charge eventhough I have been asked for trial and not used it at all.
    Any way.... Iam happy now as I dont have Pathetic vodafone mobile broadband.
    ----end of story.....
    I live happily ever after........

    So Essence is Dont TRY VODAFONE.
    Vodafone says FASTEST Broadband in UK. Need to replace FASTEST with WORST

    Regards
    Venkata

  • neutral

    by andy jones at 15:44 on 22 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Regarding the net block on the PAYG Vodafone 3565; annoying considering that I was only looking for an antique metronome, spent much time surfing to find how to unblock, decided to ring customer care line; (0870 0700 191) gave dongle serial number & credit card (1£ charged & refunded) + postcode - problem solved (now can't find the site I wished to view) A fairly good tool other than that.

  • unhappy

    by Carl at 14:05 on 12 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Hi ive had a similar prob as u guys, heres the e-mail i sent em.....

    About three weeks ago i got a message on my laptop screen from the vodafone mobile connect screen that i was about to use up my 3GB usage, so i phoned vodafone for an accurate reading because i needed to be online longer for work stuff. Only for them to tell me that i'd used over 9 GB !!
    They told me i should check on vodafone,co,uk cos the meter on VMC is not reliable.( wasn't told that when i signed up!!!) but i cant even see on there, it tells me i'm on 5GB usage ( now 5GB because i didnt want another collossal bill) , but doesnt say the minutes remining, used or anything.
    All it does tell me kb used in the list underneath but why should we all add up all the kb used, it would take a week!!!
    So i implor you to do something about my last two bills, as one of them is £70.00 + and the last 1 £106.00.
    Now im sorry but that is just disgusting and i feel like you have obtained money by deceipt from me....to let your customers run over their limit so far is just wrong and bad customer care.
    I have been a customer of yous for a lot of years but enough is enough.
    If nothing is done about these bills which i cannot afford, i will definitely not be renewing my contract for mobile broadband with you again, and the same with my telephone contract whenever it runs out.
    I hope you can see my point of view ,as i'm sure you too would be mortified if you came home to 70 and over a hundred pound ISP bills.
    I look forward to hearing from you, however with baited breath.
    Carl Stephenson

  • unhappy

    by Paul0901 at 15:24 on 11 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Vodafone overcharging scam!
    Has anybody else had this experience?
    **************************************************
    BEWARE WHEN YOUR VODAFONE PAPER BILL SUDDENLY STOPS.
    YOU MAY HAVE BEEN SCAMMED!
    **************************************************
    You get a call from Vodaphone to renew your contract.
    You ask for the existing contract to be continued.
    Next month you don't get the paper bill in the post.
    You check your bank statement. You been grossly overcharged.
    You ring Vodaphone. They acknowlege it's a mistake and it will be sorted out, and
    a refund at the next billing point.
    The following month the same thing happens again!
    You check your bank statement. You been grossly overcharged.
    You ring Vodaphone. They acknowlege it's a mistake and it will be sorted out, and
    a refund at the next billing point.
    ... a few months later you notice you are still being grossly overcharged.
    You phone Vodaphone ... this time they read back some inflated price package. They
    say there is nothing they can do about it! You need to write to them.
    You write to them. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    You write to them again. No action.
    How many stamps is that?
    ... etc ... etc ... etc ...


  • unhappy

    by peter lambert at 22:09 on 3 Dec 2009 Report abuse

    Hi, I'm from Leeds and got a vodapone dongle on £15 a month contract. I hardly ever use it because it is so slow. When I did first use it I was paying a lot more than £15 a month because the allotted time is soon eaten up. My download speed was about 150kb and when I rang vodapone to complain they were complacent about my complaint and seemed to say 'slow speed' is your problem not ours.
    I would advise people not to buy anything from Vodapone, they are so big a company that they get away with murder. This is not the first time i've had a run in with Vodapone and the last time I had dealings with them, they black listed me on my credit rating without informing me and it took 2 months to get my credit rating put right.

  • unhappy

    by Kits Buoy at 10:43 on 29 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    Poor signal & slow as snails!

  • unhappy

    by bryan merrick at 16:12 on 27 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    my voda limits box keeps on popping up as if is ready to run out on PAYG, its as if am in for a shock . anyone no how this nutty device is up to next. i am in good area covarage but to be honest am only on you-tube + facebook + some news papers for a few hours a day and it costs me 15 pound nearly every 4/5 days, like some one wrote trading standards should and will be notified as i have had enough of this little rip off device. lets face i could pay 15 a month but i feel im paying for the whole countrys internet service, even when a load a video in to my real - player its a fortune and in most you-tube sites seem to burn all your money like no the morra !!!! am loosing the plot but have not got an bank account so what do i do for internet other than get stung like this..

  • neutral

    by brenda at 17:16 on 23 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    I have a vodafone PAYG dongle & i can not get my webcam to work but it will work with a fiixed line, why?

  • neutral

    by paul collins at 18:02 on 18 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    i have bought a dongel from pc world 35 pound and i am restricted from going on certain sites could you please take the resritions of im 38 yrs old 25/2/71

  • unhappy

    by David at 17:23 on 11 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    I have the latest Vodafone wireless connection model k3670 USB stick. I have stuck with vodafone for years despite three replaced dongles and sim cards. On their website I am in an excellent area for coverage however I seem to only get a GPRS signal that relates to taking 11 hours to download a 110Mb file. Too slow to open gmail even. Despite many complaints and living in an "excellent" area near Canary Wharf the signal is dreadful. If I do get a 3G signal it will just drop it every 5 minutes.

    Be very cautious before committing to a contract maybe borrow a demo to try out your signal at home first.

  • unhappy

    by Hammond Touchere at 18:01 on 1 Nov 2009 Report abuse

    Vodafone mobile broadband should be investigated by trading standards. It should be described as mobile dial-up as even on the rare occassions I connect as 3G or HSPDA it's rarely any faster than the usual GPRS connection. While I frequently get 20-30kbs it often totally drops out. I'm not in a rural area, I'm within the M25 and think they just have an oversubscribed network. It often works ok if I get up in the middle of the night but it's no good during the day for work, or in the evening when everyone is at home trying to connect.
    I have never, ever experience connection speeds better than 1.1Mbps, anywhere. The advertising is a total lie.
    My advice is not to bother with mobile broadband at all, it's a con. Now we have a coffee shop on every street, make use of the wireless and enjoy the coffee.

  • unhappy

    by Dennis at 17:13 on 28 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    I too have had a belly full of Vodaphone customer services. My dongle has worked reasonably well for 5/6 months where I have been able to get a signal, but the last time I was away from home and even though there was a 5 bar signal for the gprs network it gave uo the ghost and the light on the dongle just went out. Many attemps later I decided the Dongle must have given up. After much run around with customer services they decided that the dongle only had a 30 day warrenty from the day of purchase!!

  • happy

    by Chris at 17:40 on 21 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    I have a Vodafone dongle model K3565 on PAYG and has performed well on holiday in Paignton Devon (3G) and later in West Bay Dorset (GPRS).

    Using GPRS is by it's technical limits slow but I found that using Ubunto 9.04 instead of Windows Vista speeded things up to a usable speed when doing general surfing.

    I have PAYG dongles for three networks and would not recommend having a contract tied to them due to dismal coverage that applies to ALL networks.

  • unhappy

    by Michael at 16:45 on 17 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Atrocious.

    The service itself works alright. It's not really broadband: most of the time it's below dial-up speed, with occassional spikes up to 200kbs or so, but I'm not sure how much of this is Vodafone's fault. Their customer service, on the other hand, is simply the worst I've ever encountered, and only they are to blame for this. Not only does their website crash when attempting to use it for almost anything, their online top-up did not work and their voucher top-up system also has errors. When I posted on their forums to get help, they simply deleted my post. Three times in a row. Until I gave up.

    Avoid Vodafone like the plague.

  • unhappy

    by Keith Mitchell at 17:48 on 10 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Bought into Vodafone because we planned to spend a great deal of time away from home in a caravan. This seemed the way to keep in touch. Occasionally it worked but most of the time we seemed to be in poor connectivity areas. So we ended up paying for alternative connections. So we decided to leave the Vodafone set-up only to find we had committed to an 18 mth contract when I thought we had signed for 1 year. Most annoyingly we find that 6 mth contracts are available. Won't be using Vodafone for anything from now on!

  • unhappy

    by Si at 1:27 on 10 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    Well what can i say... I HATE IT. Apparently ive got good 3G coverage in my area... well, so much for that. I can hardly get a 3G signal and when i do, the internet cuts off all together and it takes ages for me to get back on. The GPRS speed is like a snail, i would even advise to use dial-up than a Vodafone dongle. It hardly connects on my laptop for some strange reason, and when it does it will last for about 30mins-1hr and then cut off. When i use the dongle on my computer it drinks up the MB's so badly i gave up in the end... NOT a good buy this mobile broadband!

  • happy

    by kristianna at 5:07 on 2 Oct 2009 Report abuse

    I use a plugin called Bad Behaviour which, if you aren't familiar with it, "...is a PHP-based solution for blocking link spam and the robots which deliver it".

    It's seems like every time I try to access my blog I'm blocked by Bad Behaviour - not their fault; the plugin is simply doing its job by refusing connections from potentially dangerous IPs.

  • unhappy

    by Ann at 18:01 on 29 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    Well, I thought 3 was slow, but it's rocket-powered compared to the Vodafone GPRS 'Broadband' that I got connected to today. Vodafone's connection maps say that there's 3G to a 'good' level in my area but I can so far only connect to GPRS, which makes a constipated, crippled snail look like Schumacher on speed.

    I'm just hoping that Vodafone's customer service isn't, like 3, based somewhere abroad and manned by people who are coached with a list of stock replies to any and all questions and no ability whatever to deal with anything outside that.

    Some hope!!

  • neutral

    by Mikehallam at 17:59 on 22 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    I couldn't get an answer to what the precise Vodaphone usage conditions are for PAYG Mobile broadband. Their ad's imply unlimited carry over of unused Mb, but the comments above indicate 180/270 days and possible you lose all £15 worth?

    Their phone lines are all on hold, or if I get a live person they deny any knowledge of what happens if not used for a while. The shops only accept vodaphone mobile calls & I don't live close enough to visit & just to ask and their E-mail auto answer is predicting 5 days wait
    As it's intended for holiday use in bursts, I'd appreciate Vodaphone coming clean, before I buy!

  • neutral

    by Rob at 10:40 on 21 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    Rosie's revelation about the Content Control perhaps explains why mine won't email attachments, since I haven't yet managed to Register - as that requires Vodafone to txt me a 'code' which they will only do to a Vodafone mobile, which I don't have. They've sent me some software which will apprently enable me to read their txt on my Mac, so that I will hopefully be able to Register at last, but I haven't had the time to try it. I agree about their 'customer care' via email, which is clearly some non-human email response generating computer, 'whose' responses have been diabolical.

  • neutral

    by Julie at 22:02 on 19 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    I purchased Vodafone dongle for £40.00 with £15.00 credit. It didn't take me long, as i am a heavy user of the internet, to use the fifteen quid, it took a week. I topped it up with another £15.00 and at the moment its taking about a 5ver a day, on line 24/7. My other half bought an O2 dongle and he can not turn the pages when hes on line, it take 15 minutes min to change the pages on the internet, but again it depends where you live.

  • unhappy

    by Rosie at 19:25 on 15 Sep 2009 Report abuse

    The dongle itself works great! Its great value for money and all that stuff, HOWEVER, Vodafone customer care is awful!
    Unfortunately, this dongle has 'Content Control' preloaded onto it which can only be removed after you register the number. For the last month and a half i've been emailing them constantly trying to solve the issue of my details not being registered no matter how many times i attempt it. I received 3 emails from them saying that they'd look into it but didnt hear back from them again. And this content control just seems to block everything that has a slightly pg13 rating or above (lottery numbers, cocktails, funny insult generator!).
    And i heard that recently, due to some technical difficulties, everyone who had the content control removed, has been put back on it!
    I say if you just want to check your emails and do basic things like that, then its a great little dongle. Otherwise dont waste your money or time.

Add a review

Please describe your emotions in making this comment: