EE Reviews

  • unhappy

    by vincent at 22:51 on 21 Jan 2015

    Absolutely disgusting behaviour from customer services. Typical overseas useless staff. Slow broadband speed and connection. Once they get you in a contract they don't have any after care service!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by mr.s at 15:16 on 15 Jan 2015

    Ee from the get go, mislead to get a contract signed then deny all knowledge, then fit broadband in the wrong room and tel you it will cost 80 pound extra to have it in the right room, then take payments out early and cause bank charges and the Internet connection is very poor. NEVER in my life would I wish an ee contract upon anyone! SHOCKlNG company!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by kevin at 23:29 on 12 Jan 2015

    Stay away from EE. Useless customer services and a bunch of idiots.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Ian at 21:08 on 8 Jan 2015

    I wish I had seen these posts before signing up to EE broadband. I received a letter from the broadband team with an activation date of 8th January. Sure enough, the day came and my phone line was dead at 9.30. Five hours later the phone came back on, but no broadband. Called customer service who said that broadband won't be activated until 15th. So I will be without internet for at least a week! They promised to do all the work transferring the line from previous provider, so how difficult is it to schedule the work so that line and broadband are switched on the same day?

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Maria at 16:52 on 6 Jan 2015

    Strange! I have had exactly the same problem as the previous poster; I paid a year's line rental in advance but they didn't credit me with the discount until 3 months later. I think it is a scam whereby they stagger your account so that you have to stay with them past your agreed 12 month contract in order to get the benefit. #sleazy

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Sparklequeen at 21:02 on 2 Jan 2015

    I used to have Orange which was a fantastic service, no complaints at all. Since it merged and changed to EE I've had nothing but trouble and the last three months, December in particular it has been atrocious! the line keeps dropping,, it's the second router I've had in a year! I can't believe how many times they asked me to log into broadband again I literally feel like banging my head against my desk! And the Indian call centre I've had to ring several times I had to ask the poor man several times to repeat himself as THEIR line was so crackly and vague! It's soooo frustrating, this is apparently because they use a joint line with a couple of other providers and so they have to put caps on usage. I have today signed up to another provider who have their own lines and I've had loads of recommendations from friends and family, I hope to God it's better! I don't think it can be any worse!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by jeanette at 21:18 on 23 Dec 2014

    Signed up with EE ,three months now, told at time pay £132 in advance for linerental would only be paying £2.50 a month, I paid in cash to the assistant in the store,check my bank details taken out £8.25, goes to the shop told no proof I paid no reciet, told have pay £18, a month because they can't find out until assistant who served me back in the shop three days time, trying to tell me they dont accept cash for advance linerental, like im lying! see what happens, won't be dropping with this company at all.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Rob at 11:09 on 15 Dec 2014

    ***WARNING DO NOT JOIN EE HOME BROADBAND***
    Awful service constanly dropping speeds unable to load simple web pages or stream Movies, Patronising Indian tech advisers with little or no knowledge of anything they talk about, They do not listen to what you are saying and constany talk over you.
    3 months of this unstable service had to pay £130 to cancel early so I could go back to sky Broadband.
    EE Broadband is cheap for a reason because it does not work properly! AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Sarah at 10:12 on 15 Dec 2014

    After reading all the negative reviews on this website about EE, I was a little worried as I ordered the standard broadband package without any research (silly me!). However shortly after the order, I was sent an email and a letter with the estimated date my internet would go live. The router arrived 2 days before the estimated completion date. 2 days later, I received a text that my broadband was live - as promised. I may be one of the few that did not have any problems with EE (yet!). The estimated speed was 10mb to 19mb and with a quick speedtest last night it told me I was on 16mb which was more than I expected.

    They did however forget to deduct the discount on my first bill as it should only come up to £2.50 a month. I have called them up and was told that in the following month twice the discount will be deducted and the rest of the months should be deducted accordingly.

    Other than the little blip in the billing side, everything went well. They could improve with being able to answer account queries on the live chat system and I reckon it would be perfect after that.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Les at 08:35 on 13 Dec 2014

    I've been with this broadband account since it was Freeserve back in 2000. Then it become Orange , now EE. That's when my problems started . I'm paying for 18mb , but actually getting 0.23 ! Can't download anything , takes forever to up load even a photo , it's like going back to the days of dial up ! Been in contact with Tech , and was instructed to unscrew the main phone box and plug the router directly into the line . Then give it 24 hrs and my download what improve. Guess what ? 24 hrs later ....no change . Just a crock of s**t to get you off the line. Have told them politely that after 14 yrs I've lost confidence and will change provider . They are begrudgingly sending me a Mac code as apparently I need this to change . And it will take about 5 days to arrive . Why it can't be emailed defeats me.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by alan waterman at 23:08 on 12 Dec 2014

    last week i signed up for ee thinking i had a good deal-maybe not then?

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Henry at 23:36 on 11 Dec 2014

    EE have left a busy house of 5 people without internet for two months. We are still not connected and they have changed the activation date again for the third time, without so much as informing me.

    Do not touch this company for anything other than 4G, they should not be in the broadband business.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Radman at 16:04 on 5 Dec 2014

    As a grown man it takes a lot to make me cry, but after repeatedly being lied to by EE customer services I am close to tears.

    I was told they would pay up to £100 redemption fee by moving from my current supplier of broadband and home phone, and when I stated I didn't know what charges I would incur, I was told that their team would contact me back if it was going to be more than £100 this making it financially unviable.....they lied. They didn't contact me and the first I knew that it was £135 charge was when my current supplier sent me my final bill.

    I was also told that EE would 'pay' up to £100z again, another lie, because they reimburse, not pay. I had to fork up my £135 fine up front and then was made to 'apply' for it back, which took 2 months! They don't even pay it back, they wait till your next bill, deduct your bill amount and then give you whatever is left out of the £100!!!

    I complained that I had been lied to, and fair dos, they have me a free month.
    I wanted to make a complaint about the member of staff and asked to speak to a supervisor but here wasn't one available so was told she would call me back the next day. 4 days later I find myself calling 'her' only to be told she had tried but there was no answer. Really? Would there not be a missed call? Would you not have left a voicemail? Lie lie lie lie lie!!!!

    My broadband is slow and films are buffering, a problem I never experienced with my previous provider.
    EE, you make me so angry.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Chris at 13:57 on 4 Dec 2014

    EE handled the migration very promptly. Unfortunately my old provider, plusnet, continued to take money from my account.
    My line sync rate is higher, but I don't think the real internet experience is actually any better.
    Been going 3 months without any issues.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Debbie at 12:55 on 29 Nov 2014

    So pleased to read all these problems I'm having other customers are also having ,don't even get me started on technical support ,,I spend hours a day trying to sort my slow and then none existing broadband out..to keep being told over and over again it's my iPad, strange though never happened with my old supplier ,,as far as I'm concerned orange are thieves,they take your money each month and do not supply the broadband promised,,the salesman from orange insured me fast reliable broadband ,,it was one big lie ,,stay well clean ,,can not wait to change my supplier and be able to enjoy using the internet again

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Mark Gavin at 16:24 on 25 Nov 2014

    Well what can i say, like other EE customers on here. I can only describe the service as appalling, No words can describe the frustration of trying to get an issue resolved with customer/Technical service. I can not recommend this company to my worst enemy. from the slow broadband / dropping out to non existent customer service, Cant wait for my contract to run out to get a decent broadband provider. i have slow/ dropping broadband connection, not what i signed up for, literally less than 1mb speed. after 10 phone calls 5 of them to tech dept (which btw is in India and you can not understand a word they are saying, no bias just can't understand their English) 5 to customer/ complaint department and i am still no nearer to resolving my problem. I did get help from a guy called Richard in the tv dept who understood my frustrations, but he could not help me resolve the problem because he said his hands were tied.

    If anyone signs up to EE broadband because its cheap or the cheapest. be WARNED of their total incompetence if you have a problem, Frustration is not the word. I just want to warn others of their extremely poor customer service from long waiting times on the phone to being cut off half way through conversations ( 3 times) to techies that you can not even understand. Overall a very poor company and this will be my first and last time with them.. 0 / 10 for customer satisfaction

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Hannah at 11:16 on 24 Nov 2014

    I don't even know how to put my experience with EE and their customer service into words.

    I cannot for the life of me recall how many times I've had to call them over the same issue.

    For your own sanity, AVOID!!!

    Do not get sucked in by their supposedly low prices.

    You are not getting a bargain as you will be getting unbearably slow speeds for what you are paying. You will also be making up for it in time, frustration and anger.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by john smith at 13:12 on 15 Nov 2014

    The most awful broadband provider ever!! Shoddy customer service and technical dept useless if u can understand them. And they have a cheek to say they are fast and reliable how ofcom allows these jokers to run a business is beyond me!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by David at 19:48 on 11 Nov 2014

    Having been a customer of Orange since there inception and never had a problem with service or their amazing customer service, since the merger or whatever it is with EE it has ALL gone horribly wrong.

    Both Mobile and Home Broadband provision customer call centre staff dont appear to know what they are doing and cant understand half of what you say. Managers of technical support that give you a customer complaint ref number for them to never make contact with you again because the one call they obviously feel obliged to make is sufficient for their records even though the reason I couldnt talk right at that moment was... oh yes I was working!!!!!

    My issues with EE???

    3 months + of intermittent slow and completely non existent internet access. Tech support have tried the old 'Oh its the line, you need to get in touch with your telephone provider'. RUBBISH!
    It has nothing to do with that at all.
    My landline is fine, noise free and thus has nothing to do with the service that you are NOT providing!

    And good god, if I'm asked to turn my router off and on again once more!!!!! Grrrrrrrrrrrr
    I feel like I'm on the set of the IT crowd. This approach seems to be the only technical prowess this company possess.
    Three months of crap service no offers of compensation.
    Well EE its all coming out on here now and to anyone with the slightest idea of signing up to EE home broadband, DONT DO IT, YOU'LL REGRET IT.

    And whilst Im ranting their mobile provision has sucked since this EE merger too. Appauling 3G signal at present, and you want me to take up the limited 4G signal that you have???

    'You cannot be serious' to quote J McInrow

    We are the largest supplier of 4G? Well lets be relative to the coverage over the uk that you provide. That is only relative description to that of your competitors NOT the concept of idea that your network coverage covers large swathes of the UK. Because it doesnt!!!!!

    Good bye EE. With a tear in my eye for the good old concept of great service backed up by a fantastic team of uk customer service staff who would bend overr backwards for their customers Orange.

    EE stinks!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by kashmiri at 19:02 on 7 Nov 2014

    Well, I switched to EE from Plusnet when I moved houses and Plusnet did not want to offer me anything interesting. A £131 cashback offer from one of the cashback sites made the decision quick. Switchover done on time, albeit with four weeks' waiting for BT engineer's visit (world standard is 3-5 days, in some 3rd world countries they connect you the next day). Cashback received, happy :) But barely 5 months down the line I am fed up with unresponsive pages, blocked sites, throttled P2P traffic, and darn slow internet - max 11Mbps within the Greater London area! True, all providers do some traffic management on consumer broadband (if you don't like it take out a business package). But EEs level of throttling is unbelievable! Sometimes you just don't connect, or wait an hour for a photo to finish uploading! I am now moving back to Plusnet (with a £175 cashback!) - an EE guy called to ask me to stay, promising that they "will sort out all my issues within 30 days", but I am too old to fall for such a cheap marketing trick. Next week, gone EE, welcome back Plusnet!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Philip Edwards at 10:58 on 7 Nov 2014

    Signed up for Mobile Broadband using an Osprey. Service is so intermittent its basically unusable. Contacted EE Technical Support and was raised to level 2 then level 3 as they agreed there was a connection/speed problem. Was advised they would call within a week. No call, so called them back, now they are saying its in hand but there is no time scale to getting the problem fixed, could take a year! but I can't cancel and have to continue paying £35 a month for a service we can't use.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Jason Wells at 14:58 on 30 Oct 2014

    Ok so I run a computer cpompany and did a terrible thing TRANSFERED TO EE so far from the get go it has been a sham to say the least, BAD CUSTOMERSERVICE is one thing but total INCOMPETANCE is something altogether worse!

    So I was with talk talk (no angels themselves) and went for EE to help reduce outgoings and low and beholdf no notification of an activation date! But BAM I come in to work and NO INTERNET, by this time the bloody router fromEE hadnt even turned up yet, so I ring CS and try to find out what the hell is goiong on, "your router could arrive anytime today sir" ok fair enough, but instead of waiting I decided to set up my own router with all the settings and but nada NOTHING! Ok have to wait maybe later in the day, then the router turns up so I set it all up STILL nothing after checking around in the settings on the EE router they have it set up for FIBRE OPTIC! lol My area isnt even fibre ready yet and there was never an option to select fibre when I signed up online, so again back tocustomer sewrvice and sure enough the order has been put through as fibre optic!!! I am told error on their part (obv) and they will push the activation through and will be ready by the end of the day/tomorrow! Came in next day and still nothing rang CS again and explained to the guy NOT HAPPY I want to speak to supervisor so he puts me on hold for 20 minuted then hangs up looool GREAT CS and then a few minutes ;later I get a text saying your phone will be activated on the 6/11/2014 a WEEK now without internet WTF EE get a grip

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Jennie Sutton at 17:32 on 28 Oct 2014

    I have never, ever, been so frustrated by a complany as EE. The contact centre promised to provide a smooth re-connection from Tiscali on 6th October. This never happened. Apparently, ..'Openreach had seized my phone number' & the order was cancelled on 30th September. No-one told me this from EE. I had to find out by calling 6 days later when we had no landline nor internet/broadband connection. Since then I have regularly called EE and they have fed me downright lies. I'm so incredulous and yet it continues. I have just received a temporary tel number (yesterday) but outgoing calls only. I have spent hours on the phone. When you try to speak with the a contact centre person who you've spoken to previously, they will not let you do so. I don't know what to do. They should be accountable for the rubbish they claim. Yet, will this happen?

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Michael at 21:52 on 26 Oct 2014

    Hmm where to start.
    I opted on 21st August 2014 to upgrade my Orange mobile as it was old and unreliable. EE shop stated that as I had a contract with Orange for mobile and broadband(thought they were the same) then I would need to start again with EE and they were "kind" enough to offer a mobile/home phone/broadband package at a lower cost than the original Orange mobile/broadband and BT home phone deal I was on. Problems started when EE "forgot" I was an existing BT customer and determined that I needed a new home phone number. I was unable to stop the process despite determined efforts, so EE's answer after the change was to cut me off and inform me that I couldn't open a new contarct for 30 days. I overcame that at the EE shop I started at, and all was set to get sorted - well I eventually got my phone live and then got my original number back - hooray for small mercies! Then started on the home broadband ... well all I can say is that I still have no broadband after several weeks. To his credit one of the EE shop managers gave me a demo wireless broadband unit to tide me over and a promise to credit £40 towards the £20 per month cost of having the service. Well as I write this I'm getting near the end of the credit (which incidentally they seemed to forget when it was not shown on the last bill) - and promised that they would apply for the credit to a higher authority - so no guarantee there then! I'm still making calls to EE's hateful support area - many depatments - residential, business, broadband, mobile, accounts, Tier 2 technical, Mumbai centre etc. Same questions same or similar answers - still no resolution on broadband. EE at one point denied I was a customer! I wish I wasn't!!!
    As I have signed up for a contract for broadband/home phone and mobile and they have only delivered on 2 out of 3 - I'm seriously thinking about declaring that they are in breach of their original contract to supply the services, and that I will cancel. Not sure if anyone has had the pleasure in going down this route - would be interested to know how they got on.
    ps Latest text from EE broadband states that they will contact me at the time slot agreed to discuss problem and to be by my PC - I didn't agree a date/time for a call!
    At least they thank me for my patience. If only they knew!!!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Matt at 13:17 on 26 Oct 2014

    EE customer service is abismal! Had to wait nearly 2 months for broadband to be installed. The first problem was due to EE not being able to transfer the number however I was not contacted to tell me this! The 10 working day connection period then had to be reset for installation as it was a new order. This happened again and I was the one who had to call. The staff had no power to do anything and put the phone down on me! I wanted to cancel but by now didn't want to waste time with waiting for further connection times The final issue was they inputted my name wrong which stills shows wrongly on my statement. Broadband is adequate if not a bit slow. Overall you get what you pay for.. its cheap for a reason.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Helen at 15:59 on 24 Oct 2014

    The whole EE broadband changeover has been extremely stressful. I would avoid at all costs and can not wait for my contract to end. I was told the changeover would be within hours, I was without broadband for 11 days! I have been billed incorrectly and everytime you need to call them you are on hold for ages trying to get through. I rang the customer services at 6.45 pm last Friday was on hold waiting to get through for an hour and 15 minutes then it just cut me off saying the office is now closed. Never had such a terrible experience with any other company. Filled a complaint which is supposed to be replied to within 72 hours. That was 8 days ago and not heard a thing!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Adr at 17:41 on 18 Oct 2014

    I changed from PlusNet to EE in June via Money Saving Expert (MSE) website to save money & the promise of a £120 Amazon voucher after 3 months. After providing the MAC code, changeover went smoothly for both Broadband & landline on the dates agreed. After the usual initial 5-7 days, broadband speed was same as PlusNet (which was same as BT which I had before that)- about 14-17Mb d/l + 1Mb u/l. EE has more bandwidth restrictions than PlusNet, so if you torrent, its after 1am for you!
    (Reading some of the other comments on here, I have read elsewhere that changing FROM Sky & Talktalk to ANY other provider can sometimes be problematic, but can't remember the techi reason why)

    Occasional (weekly) problems with unresponsive page requests (either nothing happens or new page appears after 5-10 seconds). Changed primary & secondary DNS server in router settings away from Orange to faster alternatives - Problem solved! (Namebench software gave results)

    EE charged me full price for 1st month instead of offer price, after several emails & phone calls - customer support they said they knew nothing about the discounted offer but after 30 minute phone calls & call backs from managers (which I recorded for training & security purposes!!) they agreed to sign me up for a new deal, which was cheaper than the original MSE deal & assured me that the Amazon voucher would still stand....Hmmmm....my 3 months are now up, so time to start chasing MSE/"Affiliate Window"/EE or whoever for it, I can't imagine it will just turn up!

    In summary, EE's reputation for c**p customer support still seems true. I came from PlusNet which is said to have some of the best.
    Speed & reliability 4.5 out of 5

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Leon at 20:25 on 17 Oct 2014

    I have recently set up Mobile Broadband with EE (60 min's ago). During the call I was advised that I could get a 50% off my mobile phone. At the end of the call I had to get my details verified. But the verification person had no idea regarding the Mobile discounts. So I went online and tried to use the chat facility, but the person advised that they had no knowledge regarding this discount. I then phoned 150 and spoke to a young lady who had no knowledge regarding the 50% discount. Then she put me through to another lady who works for the Broadband department. She advised that due to her working on the inbound phone line she is unable to advise regarding the outbound deals which was made. This is all very strange as I would assume that should I call any department within EE they would have the required details to advise. The inbound person did say that the outbound staff may have different deals available. However, I am not sure why nobody knows the required information? I think I may cancel my Broadband contract as Virgin haven't caused me any problems in the 2 years+ which I have been with them. I'm not angry about EE's lack of service as it greatly highlights that they are very much an Arthur Daley establishment with no real solid continual customer service or any info regarding shared information.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Graham at 12:23 on 7 Oct 2014 | registered | 1 post

    I've been trying to get a fibre connection issue resolved for 2 weeks. Daily calls to people who cannot communicate in English, 6 BT Openreach no shows, and one very big headache. Avoid EE as if your life depended on it.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Eric Thomson at 13:54 on 30 Sep 2014

    I recently switched to EE and 3 weeks or so done the line I have cancelled my contract. The internet was only working about 40% of the time and issues with the phone line. Whilst I accept that problems occur with any operator, what was not acceptable was the 'service' that they provide - or complete lack of it! I made countless phone calls to their Indian call centre - most of the operators do not have an adequate grasp of the the English language and the line was so bad that most of the time I could barely hear what they were saying. I made about 10-15 calls to them and each time they went through the same process again and again and despite being told on more than one occasion that 'my next call would be to organise an engineer to come', they never followed that through. Even getting a refund for the downtime resulted in an argument and at no point in all the calls I made did anyone seem even slightly apologetic. The last call to the team dealing with cancellations was thankfully dealt with by a UK team in a speedy manner, although not much compensation for the 10+ hours spent on the phone trying to get it sorted. If you are looking for good customer service, you would be well advised to avoid these people as their technical team are utterly useless if you experience any issues with the line or connection.

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA