EE Reviews

  • unhappy

    by Maba at 21:18 on 27 Feb 2014

    them, but they never delivered the internet on time, as a matter of fact they never provided me internet. I cancelled the subscription, called them many times, but they never took the phone, or made me wait for hours then drop me after transferring me to several agents. They owe me 10 Pounds.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by ray at 17:16 on 23 Feb 2014

    EE has been nothing short of a disaster, broadband speeds advertised have no relation to what you get.
    The broadband speed varies to such a degree and is slow at best, the technical call centre are frustrating and poor, will never entertain EE again, stay well away.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Duncan gray at 16:02 on 8 Feb 2014

    EE broadband!! Where do I start... Took out a contract last October when I transferred from Sky. I was promised 6-7 meg no problem. So I signed up to their 12 months at £2.50 per month for unlimited usage deal. No problems with connections, all went to plan. Starting using the broadband and tested the speed using Ookla. I was barely getting 3 meg. Rang to check why we were getting such a poor speed when promised double that. Response was that ee never guarantee a speed!! So basically I was miss sold the product. So on 3rd Jan this year I opened a miss sell case. Which takes 21 working days. Meanwhile I get my bills and find out they are charging me the full amount and not the promotion I signed up for. Rang back to complain and surprise surprise no record of me asking for that deal. So after many calls to complain they backed down and put me on the £2.50 monthly deal . On 2 nd of Feb I get the result of my miss sell enquiry, they couldn't find the records of me being offered 6-7 meg but as I was unhappy I could leave my contract early with no penalty. Hooray!!. Friday 7 th Feb I call EE to get my mac code to migrate to BT fibre. And told the young lady politely that EE were a shoddy company and would be happy to be leaving. I was told a mac code would be generated in 3-5 days. Goes back on the internet later in the evening. No service!! She had cut us off and the department was now closed. Called on Saturday morning 8th February and it was confirmed that she had wrongly and spitefully cut our broadband account off!! We are now without broadband until BT connect us on 21st Feb. Stay well clear. If I can stop one person making the same mistake as me, this rant will have been worth it!! Peace out........

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by senthil at 13:24 on 4 Feb 2014

    Due to moving house, internet was transferred. But the service from EE is really bad. Nobody knows whats happening inside. Initially they me it will take 10 days, later when I wanted to check the progres , they said 5 days. and now it is 20 days. They dont have a clear information. Even earlier I had a similar experience when my broadband was very slow/ similar to not working.
    And no body reported the status, even though I asked to keep me informed.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by rich at 22:36 on 29 Jan 2014

    Broadband speed from EE is awful. Completely inconsistent, but regularly get extremely slow connection at peak evening periods.

    To add salt to the wound they seem to ACTIVELY throttle BBC iPlayer streaming traffic. This is essentially denial of service.

    I happily left BT for their utter ignorance about their prices and the fact they would not replace a faulty Homehub, but I wouldn't jump to EE in the future.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Paul at 10:18 on 24 Jan 2014

    We have been with EE broadband for about 3 months now. What a joke had a problem on the first day and had to call and that is another story.

    We were promised speeds between 4 and 7mb but to keep the line stable we got down graded to 3mb. The best thing is while streaming half way through surprise nothing then comes the dial up moment buffering for the next 5 minutes. So I guess peak internet time is after 10 week days and start at 7am every day. Dam internet drops out all the time at any time I am sick of this, then you speak to someone in India who reads from a sheet telling me to do this do that. I have done this we not all idiots!

    We have had engineers out a number of times they test the line and it works great up to 3MB. My counting might be wrong but where the hell does 3 come between 4 and 7.

    If I were you I would pay extra for a better service stay far away. Now the hard work starts leaving without paying the £75 cancellation fee.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by willdone at 15:11 on 2 Jan 2014 | registered | 1 post

    I wanted to become an EE customer almost three months ago and went to an EE shop. This happened after I moved into my new home with no previous contract. Pretty clean sheet to start with (you would hope).

    I bought the 30MB Fibre deal with All inclusive calls and extra mobile internet capacity for the mobile contract.

    They setup my mobile account without any problem. However, my fibre connection turned into a real nightmare.

    First, they gave me a date for an engineer visit two months after I purchased the deal. On the day of the engineer visit, nobody turned up and nobody bothered to call me.

    I called them after 6:30 pm (which was the time I was supposed to wait until the engineer comes) and they told me that I should call the next day to set up a new day. I was already frustrated that I didn't have any internet connection for two months and now I was going to wait even longer.

    Anyway, the next day they told me that the earliest the engineer can come was 2nd of January, 2014 (Today!!). I didn't do any holiday plans so that the internet can be setup as early as possible and accepted the date.

    Today, I gave a call to EE in the morning to see if everything was allright. They told me that the engineer is NOT booked for today and there is no record of any appointments being setup!!!

    After three months I am still without landline and home broadband and continue to use my neighbour's access (many thanks Gaurav!!).

    I cancelled my order and am looking for a new deal now. Not from EE!!!

    My mobile contract was going to benefit from an extra 20GB of internet data capacity due to fibre purchase and I am left with a mobile deal with less-than-enough data.

    The people working in the customer services were kind but didn't help at all to reduce my frustration.

    Sorry EE, but you need a lot of improvement to be customer-worthy.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Rob Johnson at 15:30 on 15 Dec 2013

    EE replied massively defensively, justifying a rubbish service and dysfunctional response systems, to a complaint recently. They did not acknowledge shortcomings, or show any real determination whatsoever to address serious failings in their customer 'response' service. I would be disinclined to recommend them even to my worst enemy, so to speak, not that I have any! If they had at least acknowledged that they 'are wrong when they are wrong', instead of trying to defend the indefensible I would not have been inclined to register my feelings about the organisation here. They seem to be somehow 'quickly' becoming 'past-masters' at disenchanting their customers, including their very long-term ones. RJ

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by antney at 17:28 on 24 Nov 2013 | registered | 1 post

    I have been with EE for 7 months now and overall the internet is ok when its actually connected, when i first became a customer I pay £20 a month for fully unlimited internet and it started well i had internet for 2 weeks with no speed drops or any problems, but then the internet would drop out a few times a day then after a month it was dropping out every 2-3 days for an entire day this went on for 3 months during that time i phoned there customer service about 30 times and every time it was the same s**t connect to test socket reset router nothing ever helped then i noticed that everytime they did a line test it would regain connection until it dropped again so i had to phone them every time and go through the same s**t just for them to run a test to get it turned back on eventually the problem stopped about 4 months into the contract. Then 1 month ago i got a new bank card and the Direct debit was cancelled i tried to change the details but was unable to do so online so i phoned them up and they refused to help me there and said to go onto my account which never worked anyway after a few week of this my internet goes off and i phone them up to be told my account has been deleted??? due to unpaid bill despite having not missed a bill until then and the fact i tried multiple times to fix this with them they just wiped my account without a single word of notice absolutely no notice now i had to re register an account witch meant waiting another month to be switched back on only to get the same f**king problems i had with them the first time around and all they can do is tell me to do the same s**t every f**king time. If i could afford going elsewhere i would but to get the deal i have here anywhere else would cost me 40-50 £ a month and i cant afford that.

    If you can afford that then do EE's customer service is full of robots every single time they tell you the same s**t which does not help you and they don't seem concerned about the fact there customers are not getting any sort of service from there "customer service". If you can afford it avoid EE at all costs if your lucky you wont have a problem but when you do dont expect any help from them at all.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by erica at 16:01 on 5 Nov 2013

    Mis sold product, absolutely horrendous customer service, on hold for hours on a 50p a min line, contradictory info and rude attitude. Stay well clear. They lock you in and then refuse to co-op in any way.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Mike at 21:15 on 23 Oct 2013

    Never even contemplate joining EE you will be so, so sorry there customer service is totally horrendous and there technical dept. is even worse as far as internet goes this is the bad boy of all companies.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Chris at 13:00 on 23 Sep 2013

    Had to leave Virgin reluctantly having moved to a non cable area. Plumped for EE as £5 p/m discount for being Orange mobile customer and a whopping £120 cash back through the topcashback website plus half price for 3 months!

    Installation engineers were contractors and their attitude was appalling towards the BT engineer (yes three of them sorting out the new line etc). Got to the point where I had to step in and calm it down. EE don’t deal with complaints of this sort, just log it, apologise and forward it to BT. As a side the contractors also cocked up my TV signal having pulled the aerial lead in the wall somewhere when fitting the open reach box (which in itself is huge and sits a good 2.5/3 inches off the wall). Again EE will not deal with issues at installation as it is BT Openreach. The EE guy actually told me I’ll be on to a losing battle with them which was nice. What was nice though, having pointed out that my contract was with them, was the £50 credit to my account or the offer to invoice them the repair bill up to £50. As it was I took the credit and fixed it myself.

    Service itself is fast and as expected. Beware of EE’s broad band throttling policy mind which is not clearly stated (nearly all providers have some sort of throttling policy). At weekends and between 2030 and 2330 (peak times) downloading certain files from certain sites is restricted massively. There are work arounds to this if you know where to look mind. That said, for legit purposes EE prioritise gaming and video streaming so my 36Mb gives me a lower ping and better streaming service than my 60Mb virgin did.

    All in all and given the options available I’m happy and would recommend.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Rickybones at 10:42 on 20 Sep 2013 | registered | 3 posts

    Can believe the service that I have just had with EE. Noticed that things were slowing up somewhat and did a speed check only to find I was down to .56mb from a usual 6mb. Phoned on Monday and they did their checks, a BT engineer turned up the next day and it was discovered the router was at fault. EE phoned the same day telling me that a new Brightbox router would be with me Thurs/Friday. Here we are Friday morning, the new router arrived first thing, connected and up to speed faster than ever. Brilliant!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Kim at 16:18 on 21 Aug 2013

    Thanks all for the reviews - I was about to switch and then read the reviews and have just called to cancel my order! Even then they guy said to allow it 2 hours from placing the order as he wouldn't be able to see it as it had only been 1 hour. I asked him to check & it was there! I'm sticking with Virgin for now - no problems with them on the whole!

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Broadband Genie at 22:21 on 31 Jul 2013

    How to leave without paying cancellation fees.
    Ring tech support to say its not working.
    if 30 days later a supervisor can see that you've not declared it working, u can cancel without fees by complaining to customer services.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Denise at 14:12 on 30 Jul 2013

    The speed that we are getting is 1Mb and not what is stated on the package. We did all the diagnostics with a call centre in India... They now tell us that to get an engineer to check where the problem is, that we are at a risk of having to fork out £140 if the problem is deemed to be at our property and not at their exchange. They simply will not check the exchange without the risk of £140 being put into the deal. To cancel, after 5.5 months with them, would cost me £110. They wouldn't let me talk to a supervisor, to discuss only their checking their exchange and not our home. I told them that Sky didn't have a problem previously, and they just stuck to their guns. Half an hour on an 0844 call. Insulting to say the least. Avoid them at all costs!!!!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by steve at 01:09 on 20 Jul 2013

    bad customer service, bloke on the day of signing the contract told me if in 2 weeks engineer will contact me to install our broadband- done it after 5 weeks, unlimited broadband speed 35Mb but throttle from 8am till 2am- so if you thinking about using p2p .... even on youtube there is a streaming time, web pages opens slower than on my previous dial connection which was on 3.5Mb, they SHOULDN't advertize this service as a unlimited !!!!
    Anybody knows how to change service provider without paying cancellation fee?

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Romi at 09:04 on 19 Jun 2013

    EE have the worst costumer service I have ever experienced. there call center is in India and full with unprofessional people that don't now anything about technical support, are rode and don't listen to anything that you are saying. When I called them about an issue I was asked my mobile no. I gave it and the agent repeated a completely different no. I told her that she got it wrong and told her my no. again. this continued for 5 times because she had a different no on file and instead of listening she read from her screen. this is only one small example of what I had to go thru with them.

    My Internet broadband with EE stop working one day and I called for help. at first they 'checked' the router and said it was faulty and send me a new router. when the new router didn't work they told me that an engineer need to be sent and I will have to accept the charges for this visit on the cost of 140£ !!! I refused the charges as it should be costumer service. I live in a completely new flat and this is the first internet that was ever installed in this flat. they refused to send an engineer but continue to charge me monthly with internet service as I have a contract with them. So now I'm paying for Internet that I don't have.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Craig at 14:43 on 15 Jun 2013 | registered | 1 post

    I'm not sure if EE are even slightly familiar with the term 'customer service'. I've had my broadband with EE, previsouly Orange and prior to that Wanadoo, for 6-7 years and the complete lack of interest in the fact that my home broadband has been disconnected for 7 days is incredibly frustrating!

    After 6 years of free broadband as part of my mobile contract, I was astounded to hear that my free broadband had been disconnected because of an unpaid bill! Obviously when something is free you would not expect to have to pay for it. With no commincation at all, no phone call, no letter, no email, they've just decided to change my package. If that's not bad enough, they are also claiming that they didn't change my package, they claim I called and asked if I could start paying for my broadband instead of having it free of charge! Even though this would be completely illogical to any normal person, the customer service department don't seem to think there is anything odd about this. I feel I have been completely scammed by this mob.

    Outwith this issue, the speed of broadband and the general service provided is well below par. I would recommend staying well clear! Since Orange changed to EE it's almost as if a conscious conclusion has been drawn that the customer is always wrong!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by abdur rahat at 02:51 on 5 Jun 2013

    This company does not give what they say they are going to provide. horrible broadband i have been disconnected countless of time and clearly EE is not doing anything to fix this in fact i dont in even think they know what they are doing. im leavibg this company as soon as the contracts end.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Darren at 12:54 on 3 Jun 2013

    Decided to join EE for home broadband as my mobile phone is with them and they offered me a great deal. They sent the OpenReach engineer out as required (this was two weeks after the initial ordering date). Both myself and the engineer discovered that I needed a new phone line as the existing one had been completely ruined before I moved in. He had no trouble or arguments about working outside in the rain to fit a new line for me, drilling a hole through my house and feeding it through (I must say this was an extremely neat bit of work). The router was not there when the engineer arrived after I was told by EE it would be sent out the day I placed my order so I telephoned them. My response was that due to a high number of calls from customers who receive their router and do not realise that the activation has to be complete first before the internet works, they now send it out for you to receive it either on or the day before your activation. Router arrived via Royal Mail without a hiccup and now receiving broadband perfectly. Signal is brilliant, speed brilliant, price brilliant.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Solicitor at 15:30 on 23 May 2013

    Due to moving house, we looked for the best Broadband deal. Due to 4G, we looked at EE. The service initially was ok, regarding set-up, but as I work from home I realised my emails were not sending. I contacted EE and an assistant immediately logged in to my system. He sorted the problem with the emails sending, but as he did so he immediately deleted the whole of my Inbox, where all my work was stored. His response was "Oooops. I've deleted your emails. I'll get someone to call you back within 2 hours".

    8 hours later, I had received no response and lost a day's work. I called them to be told "the manager's in a meeting. I'll get someone to call you within 24 hours". I explained someone had to call me back immediately as I'd already lost a day's work and this was urgent. I was promised a quick call-back.

    Another hour later, I called them again and explained the problem. The person on the end of the phone kept saying "Ok, so you need some help sending emails". I became frustrated by this time as not only was I losing time and money, but they didn't even understand what I was explaining to them.

    When she finally understood what I was saying, she said "Oh I see the problem. The emails have been deleted. I'm sorry but they've been deleted from the server and there is no way of getting them back". I explained that was not good enough but I kept getting the same response.

    I immediately complained via email to EE customer services. 10 days later they failed to respond so I chased them. Their response was

    "Thank you for your email regarding your complaint.

    Our records show that a complaint was raised and a supervisor advised
    you that once emails are deleted it's impossible to restore them.

    Please go to our homepage and select Code of Practice for more
    information on our complaints procedure.

    Thanks for taking the time to write to us."

    If I was less angry, I might have laughed at their response. I've complained again but got a similar response. I'm clearly getting no where with them and they say I can only cancel the contract if I pay a cancellation fee.

    Incidentally, my IT support managed to reinstate the emails so all was not lost. But this was only done after having a day from hell in the office due to EE. It also proves EE have no idea what they are doing.

    I shall be leaving them as soon as the contract is up.

    My advice - go to anyone else!!!

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Chris at 11:40 on 1 May 2013

    I switched from BT to EE, i only initially signed with BT to to a free line (new build) with the intention of leaving as soon as i was able.
    EE offered to credit me with up to £100 to cover my cancellation fees. Fair enough.
    After BT offered me 'a package i couldn't refuse' that was the exact phrase. It was nowhere near what EE offered. I have my mobile with them, so i get the best price.
    I found the whole process with EE to be fast easy and simple. Dealing with BT was much more tricky.
    The BrightBox arrived on switch over day as promised. It was as simple as connecting it and turning it on.
    After the 10 day settling period my download speeds are slightly higher than i had from BT but they have somehow more than doubled my upload speed!
    I have had no drop outs (which i did get with BT) the range on the router is better than the HomeHub3

    All in all i have to say i am very happy with the service i have had so far, it's been so much easier than with BT, who didn't seem to know their ar*e from their elbow.

    Having worked in telecoms i know all the horror stories from other ISPs, they all have plenty.

    Personally i would say give EE a try. I'm happy.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by Amanda at 16:02 on 22 Apr 2013

    EE are completely useless. Initially set up in feb (2013) they put my order on hold with the excuse that there was still a line with BT still to be paid for, and they would take £60 to fo so. I called my landlord about the situation, he assured me there was no Bt line in place. I called EE back to proceed with my order and they told me it had been cancelled. They first told me BT had cancelled it, when I explained that bt never had a line there they changed their story to EE cancelled it because they could not get in touch with me because they did not have my contact details. This is a lie because they already sent me letters about my order and text messages and I am a T-mobile customer already!! Eventually they set.it back up but that was followed.with an email telling me it had been cancelled again at my request. I.called them again and they said it.was because.they had the wrong landline number and tried.take over somone elses telephone line!! Finally.they sorted that and I now have the router. Unfortuately I have just spent an hour on the phone to them because the phone and Internet do not work. Ive had enough! Dont touch these guys with a bargepole!

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by John Lynagh at 09:42 on 17 Apr 2013

    Was tempted by deal and signed up in store. Was told that I wouldn't have to get MAC code (as have always done so in past) and that switchover would be seamless. Received letter from existing supplier saying that existing service would go off on 10th April. Was waiting for router from EE but didn't arrive before the day. Got to about 5pm on the day and no phone line, although dial tone still present.
    Rang EE and spoke to a totally useless girl called Hayley. She said that an OpenReach engineer would have to call out and the earliest would be 30th April, as the order had been cancelled at their end for reasons unknown! I could, however pay to have the engineer come a whole three days earlier!
    After trying to reason with this brick wall I asked to speak to a manager. Not being stupid I asked when the manager would call back. "24 - 48 hours" was the reply! After a lot of threats she put me through to someone else who immediately put the phone down!
    Not to be put off from my quest I rang again (these calls being to an 0844 number and on my mobile!) and spoke to a young man who was a lot more understanding. He put me through to a very nice lady with obviously some authority. She was able to check my statement that I had a working line and explained that the order had been wrongly put through as a new line! The phone was reinstated within 30 minutes, although the broadband she said would still be 7 - 10 working days! The new router has arrived but the broadband is still not on. The EE shop sold me a £10 3G dongle with 3 months unlimited data to tide me over but this, of course, is useless for my iPad, unless I use the SIM card in a "spare" mobile that has the capability to be used as a tether. I'm sure we all have one of those lying round at home, ready to go and unlocked!
    Should have known better, I suppose. When I was on Orange a few years ago I had no service for 27 days despite innumerable calls to the helpline. When I mentioned that their contract entitled me to leave immediately with no penalty after 28 days lack of service, the service worked again instantly! Perhaps I was too naive in imagining that EE might be better. We will see when my internet is finally connected.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Oliver at 03:10 on 15 Apr 2013

    Been an Orange Mobile customer since the early 2000's, and Orange Broadband since around 2008. Was on the 8meg package up til 20meg was available in my area, Had a hiccup with being moved back onto the 8meg line and consistently told it'd get fixed. A year later (2012) I inquired about it and it was fixed instantly (Perhaps the threat of moving to Virgin was too big for them to shrug off). Once Fibre optic was available in my area (January 2013) I upgraded and the engineer came out from BT and fitted it. Obviously had no idea what he was doing via the router as he said it'd take a few days to come on but I had to manually put my Orange Brightbox into Fibre mode. Other than the poor customer service up until threats were made, I've had a perfect experience with Orange/EE. I am now happily receiving 74mbps down 17mbps up with no real issues other than speed dropping in peak times, for obvious reasons.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by martin at 22:49 on 9 Apr 2013

    IT'S AMAZING A COMPANY THIS RIDICULOUS EVEN EXISTS.
    after my recent shambolic disconnection, and a couple years of witnessing friends experiences, i cannot recommend this provider for a second.
    after being told a change of my address would take no longer than ten working days,
    i had to wait a month for an engineer to fit a landline, who then i was told went to the wrong address, and that i had to wait another month for a second guy who fitted my landline, and then was left yet another 3 weeks as they said one of their customer service technicians hadnt pressed the right button, the same of which had hung up on me several times in the past claiming my mobile signal, when i was speaking from my parent's landline.
    this was the worst of many stressful sagas, including the afforementioned £30 fee to leave.

    Report abuse
  • neutral

    by Jon O'Connor at 15:43 on 4 Apr 2013

    After being an Orange mobile customer for many years, the changeover to EE has done me no favours; I originally was sold the deal on the basis of an additional 2nd line, plus broadband option.
    My mobile fees are now uncompetitive - and I've been fobbed off when trying to discuss an overdue phone upgrade; I've been told that my 2nd line service is now discontinued (with no change in fees); EE in recent weeks have been pestering me to offer a (more expensive) broadband option than I have now found with TalkTalk - installed and working within hours of the promised service time.
    And just to cap things off nicely - EE charge £30 for me to leave their service.
    Not likely to be a recommendation from me, then.

    Report abuse
  • unhappy

    by vicky at 12:14 on 27 Mar 2013

    i am disgusted with EE, i joined EE broadband, when the day came to set me up, no turned up, i rung them saying my internet wasnt on because they had to put a phone line in, they turned round and said to me, you have already been connected, "what"? no one has bin here, no they got the wrong address, so they rearranged it i had to wait another 2 weeks for the guy to come out and fit my phone line in, all done and fitted....no internet again EE told me i would have to wait another 7 days for my internet to come even tho i have bin waiting 4 weeks. i cancelled everything they told me i would get £60 for all the hassle, i am still waiting for that money, been lied to over the phone about it, they even told me the bank could do something so i rung the bank and they even told me they were liein. am so mad, am sat here getting told aload of lies, telling me i wil get my money!!! EE are terrible. they took my bank details expecting money to go in, rung them up, no bank details on there they never even put them on the system.

    Report abuse
  • happy

    by Michael Mulling at 11:18 on 27 Mar 2013

    I am a EE mobile customer so took advantage of the discounts on offer for home broadband. I chose the £5 a month, free for 6 months offer. I had friendly service on the phone from EE, and the usual set up times. I was changing from BT because of terrible service and speeds I got from them, usually around 2-4 mb download speeds ( I'm miles away from exchange) ,more often than not, it's was 2mb.

    I received the router on the day of activation which wasn't quite what the lady had said and set up was easy peezy. I've had it now 4 months now and have to say I am over the moon. I get a very consistent 4.81 down speed and it rarely fluctuates. I've had no problems and surf unlimited with no slow down or throttling. I've recommended to all my friends that were on T mobile and one in particular is happy too, he gets between 11-16mb download and no problems.

    I am so happy that I've ordered their fibre broadband for my other home which promises my line of 60 mb download. Obviously the nature of broadband can differ countrywide and even home to home. It all uses the same telecommunications network which is serviced by BT OPENREACH. I just happy I signed up!!!

    Report abuse

Add a review

Please leave a comment
Please describe your emotions in making this comment:

Powered by reCAPTCHA